(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi Meiling,

i have send u an invitation to u on multiply...

i hope there are something useful for u in the latest issue of the magazine... i will help u ask around if there is anything good too k..

btw, how mani of u log on to msn at nite?? maybe we can compile a list of email here

hi tinkybell,
yah i accepted ur invitation liaoi seldom log onto msn at nite...but u can add me at [email protected], can chat during office hrs
yah i found a chinese restaurant package, seems v attractive, chked wif my fh n he said d food there not bad, it's teochew city seafood restaurant, will seriously consider cos it's so cheap :P
thanks for ur offer...hope it'll lessen my headache when everything's done
if i take dat package, i can use d $ saved to buy a nice guest book, signature pens n wedding favours for my guest, den i start planning for my rom invites...
am thinking of tailor-make my cheongsum n tea-dress, wat abt u?

Meiling,

i've added u into my msn... vice versa to u, i log in onli at nite... my office banned msn so cant log in...

If u are looking at chinese restaurant, u may wanna consider lunch at Bliss Garden Expo... been their for wedding dinner b4 n thought it was not too bad... so i guess the lunch package should b quite nice n reasonable too..

as for tea-dress, most probably i will get mine from the BS n return it back at the end of the day... cos i dont think there will be a second chance for me to wear again...

saw ur pic in multiply.. u r of the perfect shape le.. dun need to jian fei... unlike me... sigh...

These thread is suddenly so active. 18 Oct seems to be really hot. Unlike you gals, i was only given one date, hence had to settle for GH. Im now looking for a BS, there are so many dont know where to start from. Any good recommendations.

hi tinkybell,
oic, nvm, we shall communicate thru tis forum or email or multiply den. where's bliss gdn expo? thanks for ur recommendation!
hmmm...i was thinking to make my own CS so dat i can wear for my pre-wedding PS shoots as casual...
no lah, i where got in perfect shape, i got flabby arms n thick waist...need to lose 3-5 kg den wld b perfect liao
aiyo, i saw ur pics in multiply too...so chio, got big eyes *wolf whistle*

hi melody,
yah lor, tis thread suddenly came alive...18 oct is a popular choice of date...wat's ur budget for BS? do u have any BS in mind? if so, we can help by giving comments...:P

Hi Ting,

I've added u in my Multiply already ...

I went for my WG MTM ard 2 months ago, Casey said will be calling me for fitting 1st week sep but i have yet to hear from him leah .... waiting for his call, excited ;p

How's ur session for the gown design with him? U did both ur WG & EG design already?

Hmm...remember take photos show me when it's ready...excited for u too ;p

Hi Meiling

Budget maybe abt 3-4K, so far i only visited 1 BS, but was shown only pictures, didnt get to see any actual gown.

Hi Meiling,

Bliss garden expo is at expo, L2, nearer to coffee bean... u may wish to contact the catering in-charge Suzanne at 9068-9972 to enquire abt their lunch package (if-any).

and thanks for the compliment... i guess the make-up artist did a good job to doll me up...

Hi Melody, base on ur budget, i am sure u can get a very good BS. perhaps u would like to shortlist afew BS, take their package n compare price, n even go down n look at their gowns b4 deciding...

oh no..

i think i better settle my March 08 date within this week. I didn't know so many ppl getting married in March. Heard that according to Chinese calendar, 08 is not a very good yr to get married.

BTW, anyone been to Orchard Hotel wedding before??

Hi neige (prettyme)

My 1st fitting will be in Nov and PS is scheduled in Nov..selected the gowns.Looking for wedding shoes now..headache..cos I need at least 4 inch high heels with a bit of platform for comfort..

I am in the midst of my new house renovations as well..just bought wall paintings for my house..going to paint the walls and do up the wardrobe and kitchen cabinets soon..do so many things at one shot very tiring..weekends are always burnt

Wow, you girls are really fast! I was still thinking of selecting ny gowns only at the end of this year or early next year. Hehe.

hey gals...
hehe... seems got quite a no. of exciting news! hi de-princess! welcome to our thread..
care to update us on yr date n details? =)

oh,, us_mei... i tink i was asking abt the gown. hehe.. gd ! exciting to hear dat he's proposed.. hmm.. muz hv been quite a touching moment for u?

anyhows, nothg much happening on the wedding prep for me too....... i tink i'll be calling my BS soon..to book a date in Oct to go down and try more gowns n prob confirm one. =)
eh... i also jus heard frm my pastor dat he may not be able to be the speaker at my church ceremony..so i'll hv to look for someone else. i dunno who to ask..really.. haha.. gosh..

hi melody,
hmm...wah, wif ur budget, shd b able to get urself many choices....but must depend if u require OTR or MTM gowns n oso if u need ROM tea-dress n other things like bridal car...
go down to look at d various BS n compare price n package...look at their gowns...if can try better, for me, i signed up wif d 2nd BS i saw...it's more comprehensive than d 1st one...
but do careful, heard dat some BS r v pushy in their sales, dun b intimidated into signing up...tanjong pagar area has a lot to offer, there r some at Sin Ming (PMB) and Ubi (WL) oso...:P
a note to remember: always bargain, pen down wat u want n get them to commit in black n white b4 u sign ok?
if u want, may even go to wedding shows, usually BS have more offers there...there's a wedding bash coming up rite? mayb u can go n take a look. for me, i signed up my hotel n BS at a wedding show :P

hi tinkybell,
ok, i'll chk it out but may eventually give up cos of d distant...
dun mnetion it...it's d truth wat, aiyo, u got v nice features leh...even she didnt do a gd job to doll u up, u'll still stand out frm d crowd

Hi folks,

It's me again! I have my date finally! It's on 26/11/08. The date I provided was a dummy date.. after consulting the geomacer, this is the date given by him.

Hi jingjing

i think u shld get stylewedding mag instead of blissful bride.. i bought both n i think it's a waste of money to buy blissful

I wanted to buy style wedding mag at first.. was waiting for it since end Aug until i saw Blissful Bride at 7-11. So i bought that first.. maybe it is my first bridal mag.. so when i was so thrilled to see so many gowns in the mag.. haha

Managed to get a copy of stylewedding yesterday... there are some repetition of gowns.. afterall, how many bridal shops are there in Sg.. haha

Hi Melody,

talking abt BS, let me share my horrible experience w u...

i signed up for a $4388 package in Dec 2004 during a wedding roadshow at expo without much comparison (only 4 outfit, 24 pics on the album, others quite standard) and this is the start of a wrong decision which cost me $1088 (which i forgo for my current package)

Meiling,

Expo will be slightly off if ur guests r not driving.. but 1 good thing is that the MRT station is jus nearby..

I also wanted to buy this issue of stylewedding mag. Have bot 2 wedding mag previously.. flip already throw 1 side.. hehe.. but still tempted to buy this issue one. hopefully will have some ideas on wedding planning.

afterall, only this period that we have the right to buy for wedding prep.. after our big day, we wont be touching wedding mags anymore. heh~

hi melody,
hehehe....my current BS costs me close to $5K but i guz after finding out frm d BTBs in d forum, d feedback is still ok...actually had wanted to change cos i cant make up my mind but guz decided against cos my colleague told me it's not bad as she was an ex-bride wif my BS...
perhaps melody, u can chk wif d BTBs or ex-brides frm d various BS u r interested in to have a better idea of how's d BS b4 u decide...

hi tinkybell,
hehehe...yah lor, cos some of my frens not driving...saw a nice venue at sentosa - amara sanctuary but d rental cost is $1888 nett, excluding food, it's a wonderful place but way off my budget liao :P i oso chked d stardus clubhouse, they oso hav such packages, seems attractive too, duno abt d distance )at river valley) n d food though :P

hi Stnov.. sorrie, today can't make it.. prob i collect from you next week.. is it ok.. i only need it b4 my ROM in Nov. so no worries..
Thank you....

no prob noreen...we din meetup today as well....=)

guess we might have to fix one onli towards end sept as mi will then fin my exam dats if we intend to meet.....keep mi posted ya.....

Hi Meiling,

my fren hold her solemnization ceremony at Amara n the food is wonderful.. u may check out Calrton Hotel too... not too bad accordingly to 1 of my friend who book.

Hi Mei,

Thanks for the info,

hopefully if we are to engage them, they are still available...

Maybe will start sourcing around next year...currently now we are sourcing ID for flat..

Hi Meiling, may i know how you get to know your VP, Christopher? I just call up to make arrange to view his work ya. Any comment or advise to take note on? Can share with me his package?

wow. your one so fast. You wedding date just 1 week earlier but your gown is ready 2 mth earlier than mine. I can get my first fitting only in Nov. hahha. I spent more than 2.5 hr at Di gio to get both gown design done.
Is your gown with alot of lace? I saw him working on a gown with alot of lace at the bottom. I am pretty excited too. Rem to show me the gowns too. But did they charge u extra for more lace or beading?

my gown top is something like this:
http://www.bestbridalprices.com/mori-lee-wedding-dress-2161-p-12113.html

blessing.. how much did Visio Workz charge u?
I juz engaged aterlier X ,they charge me S$1.7k... now a big portion they ate up on my budget so need to find a gd PG wt reasonable price one...havent pay them deposit..

I remember I watched a quite nice VG posting one.. but I lost it.. Any one hv gd VG/PG to recommend?

Hi funfun, sorry but I have made an agreement not to disclose their package price to me cos mine's a special package.

You can go to their website. If you only need to engage them for their PG or VG only, their price is there but I understand they have a special discount for couples book for a year or so in advance. It's abt 10% off package price. Besides, mine is combination package of VG and PG so think its difficult for you to make a comparsion lor.

Visit their webby, see if you're interested.

Hi gals..

Went to see M hotel and we're in love with the place for our solmnisation. Will be confirming it with Colette by this weekend. Will be having the solmenisation in J bar as the function room has been booked by someone else. Will be alittle out of our budget but it's really unique to have it in a pub.

Koyoyo: You might want to consider M hotel for you dinner. The package is good too! The have 2 different packages 1 is the function room (forgot the price) & 1 for the ballroom (898 nett) which includes free flow beer. Max capacity is 32 tables.
You can contact Colette (64216028) directly. She was very nice and showed us the different venues for wedding dinner and also the bridal suite though we're only looking at the solemnisation. Very nice lady. I don have the package as she just went thru with us on the wedding. Was very tempted of holding the dinner there but had decided in MC already.

Hee...I kiasu! But i only did my WG, EG not done yet.
Wow 2.5hr! hmm,that time when i did my WG, i was there for about 0.5hr only.
Ur gown top VERY NICE, i like it ... it looks very diffent and gorgeous!

Ya ya, my gowns got lotsa lace ... the one u see might be mine

Iam also a bride to be.
AD 25 Oct 08. Seeing u gals have already been looking out for hotels and stuff. I feel loss havent really started....believe looking for hotel should be the lst step...after that bridalshop? or concurrently...anyone can
advise really bit loss...

Info for everyone on M Hotel..

The function room costs 748nett for weekends but there is only 1 standard menu. Max cap is 30 tables.

The ballroom costs 898nett. You can select your menu from a wide range of choices to make up to 8 dishes. It's really a-la-carte dinner menu. High ceiling with a big reception area.

Both of these packages comes with free flow of beer and the rest are standard package..

Welcome Irs1025!

Have you decided on your dinner venue? I think this is the 1st thing that you need to do. Otherwise, the hotel that you like might be taken up if they have only 1 room for wedding dinner.. Do you have a budget.. We can all share info here..

You might wan to take a look at M Hotel.. haha
Coz its really a nice place. Too bad I've chosen MC and we'll be having about 35 tables.

Hi Mal,

i mus agree M Hotel has very good setting for solemnization n wedding dinner...

i have recee the place too during my banquet venue selection.. however, did not end up with them. but this is definitely a good place..

after tat will b 'Parenthood' or 'Mother & baby'? haha..

xinyi_reiko, i've gone down to look at eric's work already but my hubby said that he want to look around first...

Hi Meiling, tinkybell

Thanks for the information. The BS i visited cost abt 3K and gave me most basic stuffs. Do you all mind sharing yr package with me? Its ok if its not convenient. [email protected]

I had my ROM at MC poolside, quite a nice place maybe u all can consider.

Hi Irs1025
I think you need to decide on yr wedding venue soon. Not to frighten you but when i started looking in june this yr, most of the hotels are already fully booked.

hi tinkybell,
will consider all d places dat u recommend...thanks for d info! wah....m hotel really dat gd har? but they dun have a nite's stay in their solemnisation package leh...

hi jesl,
toking abt christopher, he was my fren's AD VG last yr n tis yr....i only got to know dat my jc fren's AD VG (d one last yr) was him...wah...q hocked dat his price jumped frm $700 to $1350 for d same thing over a span of 1 yr...i called him up today when i was at my fren's baby's 1st mth...den he said he increased his price after every 50 couples....duno wat to say...i signed up wif him alrdy last mth, sigh...juz came in at d wrong time, he still said dat they signed up early so got better deal....hello? i already considered v early to sign up for AD VG for oct 2008 lor....
perhaps u can tell me which package r u interested in, he dun seem to b not those can bargain type when i meet him, tell me ur experience when u meet him ok? :P

hi mal,
congrats! finally got ur ROM venue...im still thinking if i shd hold on n wait for PJ though i know i shd get smwhere else...
can share wif me ur package? how is it different frm d one held at d function rm?

hi lrs1025,
welcome to d Oct 2008 Brides thread! will add ur details when i go back to office on monday. hmm...yah u shd bk ur hotel venue 1st as most of d weekends r already fully booked when i booked my hotel in jun...most of d hotels r fully booked on sats esp those wif reasonable budget n package

den u can start to look for ur BS, AD PG n AD VG

wat's ur budget? no. of pax? hmm...if u intend to have a small wedding, mayb places wif many function rms u can still manage to book...
i've chosen Mandarin Mandarin...guz im d only friday bride in tis thread :P

hi melody,
oh, mayb u can pm me ur basic tuff n frm there i can tell u wat r d additionals im given cos mine is close to 5K, shd have more stuff than u in ur package...i've got 3 mtm gowns n most of it q std...will let u know in pte

i actually considered MC poolside but d rental itself cost $500+, dun think it's worth it leh...

hi lara,
i have managed to bought the blissful mag but i have not flip. i bought it because Selina commented that there are many brides who are skinny.i am a skinny person thus i am headache dont know which design suits me......

hi selina,
i also have bought the style wedding mag. do notice some of the gowns are very similar....in terms of designs....just some other modifications to it only.....

now i am waiting for her world and female brides mag.....

hi xinyi reiko,
me also start sourcing for wedding sonegs for march in, first dish presentation etc..... thking to put "Be My Guest" for my first dish presentation....

hi xinyi reiko,
me also start sourcing for wedding sonegs for march in, first dish presentation etc..... thking to put "Be My Guest" for my first dish presentation....

Hey gals.. alot of updates since I was missing for the past week on a holiday.. and more July Brides

I will be going to make my gown in Oct and planning to take photo in Feb..

hi jingsjings, have u consulted ur designer? i think they are the best person to ask =)

i've not confirmed my VG yet.. now wondering if i shld pay someone to do the photo montage for us n if it is worth paying for an animation *headache*

Lara, so how you feel abt eric's work??

Actually, for photo montage, you can try using windows movie maker. Quite user friendly. Animation will cost around $400 and above. Depends whether you want to spend that amt or not.

Hi blessings,
thanks for the explanation..so i guess it is pretty common/standard to have these two in the AD package right?..or do we have to neg with the studio?

Hi funfun,
thanks for the offer of the voucher now still considering..coz is just an idea =)

Check with you gals, what is the normal market proce for AD photography?..coz o am looking thr' some of the list, some quote per hour rate whereas other is one whole day..which is better?

jingsjings, i am also a skinny bride. I will be wear bustier ballgown. I feel you have to try different design of wedding gowns, then you will know what you want and what is suitable for you.

Hi jingsjings,

I agree with xinyi_reiko that you have to try different design to know what is suitable for you. Let your BS share your headache.. they should be able to find the gown that best suit your figure. Dont worry too much about that.

Let's look forward to our gown selection in Nov..

Hi xinyi_reiko, actually i feel that his work is ok for that kind of price.. but my hubby say still wan look around.. so i've found a couple of VGs who charge less than $1000 (that's our budget).

ya..i think animation is a waste of money.. but they r so cute! hmm.. i've told my hubby to make the montage himself oredi.. need to save whatever we can =)

my gown selection is next month! i can't wait for it to come hehe..