(2008) Brides of year 2008

cynthia,
hehehe....i oso fancy d more affordable brands....cannot afford loewe n chanel like nelle :P

jac,
so sad dat u cant join us, do remember to join us d nxt time round, by den i wld have bcome a MRS officially le....d more i update i realised dat i've incurred more than wat was expected n it's blowing our budget....hahaha, i still have to change new notes for my APs....

so who r confirmed going tm?

hahahaha... Mei, these are the few indulgence I am going allow myself! I have to save and save for the expensive stuff.
I am likely to go Japan in Mar/Apr next year for a holiday to see the cherry blossoms. Will ask you if you want me to get blue label bags.

nelle,
hehehhe.....wah how i envy cos i'll nv gona see cherry blossom if im gona to go wif my fh....it's d sch term n he cant go off....thanks for offering to help me get d blue label bags :P
miss organiser, so who is confirmed going for tm's gathering? i havent seen qinying for weeks...
1. nelle
2. meiling
3. florabliss
4. providencia
5. fionachua
6. cynthia tan
7. nec
8. sotonglet?

icic.. haha forget le..

ya lor they also complain duck tough... so i changing to crispy chicken.. wat fish u choose? i tried the red garoupa and the meat is abit tough too.. so chaning to soon hock..

hi nelle..
I am also Mrs liao.. sob... sob...
some ppl have my contact here like meiling and nelle..call me if you can't see me..cos i am short! haha

Viv,

I dun think there's anything wrong w the way the angbao is distributed...

Since your in-laws paid for the banquet, they shld get back all the angbao money (excluding your parent's 6 tables), regardless of how much the angbao totals to. Unless they wish to give you the angbao as a gift. Since you have not paid for the banquet, there's no reason for you to demand to keep the money, unless it's a gift fr your in laws.

As long as your parents get the $A into their pockets, dun think there'll be any dispute.

For my case, my hubby paid for the whole wedding. So all the angbaos are returned to us, except the 4 tables angbaos tt were given directly to my mum.

And even when my in-laws tables "lose" money, they also nvr offer to pay us back anything n we're cool w it.

I have been grumbling all along and hv been unhappy that my in laws invited a lot of pple. But at the end, I'm really glad they got to do so, as I can really see how happy they were, and it's all worth it. What's a few thousand dollars when you can make a 70 yr old man so happy and proud... money can be earned back.

But not bad sia... you receive angbaos that are soooo little, but only loss $3k-5k!! is that including your parents tables?? not bad liao wor...

btw, anyone of you provided any mooncakes during your wedding dinner?

As my wedding was on the actual 15th day of 8th month, we actually ordered moon cakes for reception and also for every table. That adds up to cost of 1 more table. In the end, not many pple eat, cos too full liao.. haha. What a waste.

And I think chartering buses is a fantastic way of getting your guests to arrive on time... keke.

Erlina, aiyoh.. sayang sayang... nvermind.. get icic's bf to take nice pic for u and ur lao gong and use the pic for ur invites instead ah....Alternatively can use ask him for 1 foto only? maybe ezier to ask just 1.. just trying the luck abit.. ^^

nathadrie, something tells me u have done at least 3/4 of the things on the list liao.. ^^

scallops a bit small lah.. portion very little..

but prawns is okie.. fresh.. can eat one.. each person eat 2..

which meat u refering to? duck ah?
actually i like the duck.. plus the sauce :D

cos we taking the chicken in the cold dish.. so dun have to have crispy chicken again..

hi erlina...
dun despair..
may be u can try some casual couple shots by either icic's bf or at JB..those pic can be ready in a few days..

The infamous MIA checking in - so sick and fed up of work, so came in to take a breather.

Mei, sorry to hear about your uncle. U take care, and try to relax abt the wedding preps, I'm trying to adopt a "take it easy' attitude.
Come in and vent whenever you need to, you know where to find your support system.
Don't you just hate the guestlist? I do, I really do. Ha ha.
Can't wait to see your new collection of bags after your HM.

Fiona, saw your PS photos, very nice.

Nelle,this parents of children's spouse is a common affair, mine is also going ahead to invite my whole SIL's family - parents, siblings and spouse. I have given them 20 tables, they can fill it with whomever they want, I just concentrate on my tables.

Jac, yeah, your PS is over, congrats, now we wait to see your photos.

Flora, it's a beautiful day today, great weather for PS, have fun.

Ok, now for the bad news - I prob cannot make it for the gathering, have fun,ok?

i agree with dor on her opinion of the AB..

So i guess its alright that the payer takes all the AB.. my mom took 0 tables, so all the ABs went to pay the banquet.

icic.. i mean the fish.. haha... ya lor scallops little.. prawns they claim can eat 2-3 per person.. bt i tin i only eat 2 also..

scallops only 1 pc nia.. haiz.. and u tin the dishes no decorations very plain?? just white plate and food in the middle..

Hi Jio Vin

I am doing something like 2-3 and 3-4 poses those kind... i already hv rough idea...

i will try to bargin...
15 more poses + same qty wif small album... or
10 poses + same qty wif small album + 2 pgs or
7 poses + same qty wif small album ..

roughly bcome 28 pgs wif 40 poses or 30 pgs wif 43 poses like tat..

looks like there is a different perspectives toward wedding dinner between children and parents which is the cause of conflict.

Hey does the printing house in JB citysquare print customized invitation card. I want to have a cartoon on the front of the card and flip open is the formal chinese and english invites as those wedding banquet invites from hotel.

JB printing house do that? How abt sgp printing house? does tdragon do this?

Lol... I only come if i dun win a FI tix.. company is giving out 7 tixs for friday. Sooooooo... ^^x.

I only can afford Chiong handbags.. original ones are too ex for me. LOL..

Talking about wedding expenses, SIGH... everytime i update that list my heart will like do a dipping feeling.

yvonne = when u gg to ur BS ah? they charge by per pose or per page? maybe u shld ask them wats the min top up (by poses or by price) to get free all softcopies? aiyoh.. BS sometimes quite blood suckers... some charge basic low but then the topup can kill manz.. but then of coz if u really like the photos and u are one of those who very seldom take photos then ok lor... my fren's HB tt time said he seldom take pics and end up top up 2K for another 18inch album 0___0 i thk they got 100 poses in all..duhz...

pinky81: ehh i got guestbook leh. Who is ur coordinator? How many tables u have and which ballroom u using? My wedding day got two weddings wor.. i very worried abt those guests who wana park at Rasa coz scared they blur and walk to the basement ballroom coz guests who reached by the chartered buses will drop at lobby, nearer to my pavillion. How many wine u intend to get from them? Mind i ask how much they offering the wine to you? Mine is $24++ which is abt $28nett per bottle lor... Me and my HB nw very troubled abt the wine and beer.. coz if we restrict during cocktail worried we seemed geow.. but then if not will end up like my brother who said his 1st barrel of beer finished by 2nd dish 0__0 and his 33 tables finished 50 bottles of wine in all.

haha.. wonder if I can find the other 2 nov, Rasa bride here. If can hor, can discuss the plan together ;P heehee...

Pinky81: I think roses deco will be nice. Tat time when i visited Rasa to get my cards hor, i saw the wedding deco in purple, cream and pink roses.. 38 tables in the pavilion and look spacious still but of coz got some tables will kena the pillar.. still figuring out..but lucky i got 30-32 tables only..

when u wan go down we can go together lah :P heehee.. when's ur wedding again ah? forgetful me... and i still thinking abt my hand corsages :p

so nervous about my food tasting today ^^ oh and i havent seen the bridal suite lor...i got peek at it la.. as long as face the sea i v hapi liao..anyway at nite is dark dark one..

are u getting any rooms for ur jiemeis? i got one dayroom for the guys and maybe booking one overnite for the jiemeis...they really help me alot...travel frm bedok to thomson to do my wedding cards on a wkday!!! *sniff*

thank goodness i got my Nite IC to borrow the projector from her workplace lor... phews... u found ur projector? is one projector enough? my stage looks small...

i think overall hor, the service is good
tho nt much goodies but then got 7 chartered buses lor... i wonder if take lesser bus can ask for other thgs.. u tried asking before? Hee...

Hi Sandy
Haha.. now we can pace each other towards our wedding to see if we miss out anythg.. wat u havent do? keke..

jo_vin: welcome back!!! hahaa i thk i nt difficult leh.. i just ermm kiasu and likes to knw wats gg on.. :p maybe coz occupational hazzard!! I in events line oso mahh :P so must make sure everythg is nice nice :P and by and by got qns will just ask lor..maybe nt every wk 1 email la.. too kua zhang.. maybe every 2-3 wks 1 email :P but e thread usually v long, can last for days..:P

and hor, i never demand for many thgs wor..i just ask for better service etc and ask abt the deco etc la... coz i got a fussy mother, sooo must be careful...

SotongLet> No lah. Maybe only completed 1/4 of the things. Anyway, not all the items listed there are applicable to me also. haha.

Xesthir> I've been to TDragon & am printing my cards there. I think they should be able to customize the front of the card, but got to pay extra. From the big pile of readily available designs, they only have one that has a cute cartoon (showing a bride and a groom) on the front. The inside wordings are more or less standard. To have your own wordings / design, I think got to pay $10 for artwork.

cynthia,
typcally how many trips do we need to make to JB from sourcing pricing, viewing 1 samplke template and collecting final invites?

Finally collected my card inserts last nite. Will have a busy weekend trying to paste 260 papers. Faints. And prepare all the cards to be mailed.

Called MUA who will be coming over to place on AD at 345am, she instructed me to wake up at least 1hr before hand so that the eyes wont be swollen.

Yippee. Finally viewing my photos on Monday. Hopefully can keep within budget, though hub says best is not to top up any $$$.

Oh, for ang bao box. Are we usually given 1 or 2? Seperate groom/brides' angbao necessary??

providencia,
oh mine....u r not going too? makes me wonder if i shd go since im out for a learning journey tm....
thanks for ur consolation! everything is fine now except for d fact dat my close cousins n their families cldnt attend my wedding which makes me feel so sad
den i've to cancel some more boxes of wedding cakes cos i cant distribute d 5 boxes...managed to cut down to 30+3+2 big boxes but still got excess

i hate d guest list....juz when i tot i couldnt make up d # den suddenly ended up wif slightly 40+ tables....tis is killing me but i guz d kite flyers will appear closer to d AD :P
yah, u r rite...im looking forward to my honeymoon whereby i can relax n do lotsa shopping if i can afford it :P

haha tanlee... i got 200 cards but i only pasted 100 of them 1st.. if nt enuff den paste the rest.. keke...

wah wake up 1hr before ar.. den i have to wake up at 2am coz my makeup starts 3am.. sob sob...

hehe so excited for u.. finally can see the photos.. u able to get the soft copies back? if can den dun need top up le lor...

i wanted to have 2 ang bao box.. 1 for each side.. but the box very big.. and i only got 25-30 tables.. so dun need 2 boxes le.. in the end i decided to just have 1 box and maybe ask my jiemeis to indicate "G" for groom's side and "B" for bride's side on the ang bao lor.. hehehe...

*nearly strangle provi*
provi, busy with work har? All the posts here will take your mind off a while.

Cynthis, not just the dinner, also the customs/traditions/habits/religions/dialects and all!

wats ur BS package like? I think if you have 36-45poses then shld be more than enough le.. but hor the BS sure will psycho u de ^^ u two got to tok abt it beforehand before the temptation sink in and may end up top up unknowingly :P

for me, i actually dont wan to top up at all but then to 'reward' the PG for the good work done and the BS coordinator for the gd service, we bought 2 extra poses...and insist we have agreed that we have no budget for more topups :P And u will be surprised sometimes its the men who actually want to topup tho they say beforehand they dun wan to topup :P keke

angbao box ah.. depends lor... normally relatives will give to the parents directly.. so the boxes are for the friends... i saw two and one boxes before
So its up to ya.. if two then 2 smaller ones then if 1, then buy a bigger one ^^

ACtually u can use PPT or the Window Movie Maker.. v easy oso.. still got time.. can trial and error..

ehh let the man do leh :P At first, i wana do de then i realised mostly are the guys who do lor..so let the HB do ba ^^

i did not have my cards printed there..but my friends so..
1st trip, select card
2nd trip collect.
they actually fax u the art work for checking.

hmm.. jane.. deco.. oklah.. i think food should be hot then very nice..

hmm.. my wines all ordered by my FIL..

oh.. cards i already done all.. wrote names for my tables and hubby tables.. this week will finish all tables.. then clean up during next week and then can GDL already..

wat?? meiling not going also.. sob sob!!!

hi nelle...
me consider lucky..traditions no problem...no religion issue cos we alll free thinker...dialects no issuse, we both family are very ignorant towards this...

tomorrow 6.30pm ok? or is it too early?

cynthia n nelle,
d timing shdnt b a prob to me....i'll confirm wif u gals tm as i'll b out at republic poly for my learning journey, let's see if i'll end up sweaty n unglam....makes me reluctant to go to town wif such a sloppy outlook....oso must depend on who else is going...bcos not fun if only a few of them going :P

wow Lost.. thats so fast... oh ya hor.. my GDL is like 2 wks frm nw oso :X.. time flies.. hw hw? i feeling so anxious nw

jane = there are alot of thgs to do other than clubbing for hens nite :p

one good place u wan have fun is Oohtique.. u can check their website..they sell lingeries and naughty girlie items and then they have a pte room which u can have some girlie affairs - learn exotic dancing together or just have the girlie chats..

or u can rent a chalet and invite a striptease - male of coz!!! hahahahahahahah...or just party all nite long if ur grp is big...

or just go to the nearest island or just a hotel in sg for great and massage experience and stayover if ur grp is small...

and many more ^^ depends on ur objective..

Jolene

if wan to top up photos need $2.4k then they return u softcopies.. that y i am only buying the softcopies wif them at $1.2k with 2 more pgs added in and 5 more poses.. i am going tml. they nv push us to buy la...

initial is 26 pgs wif 28 poses then now aft topping up 1.2k is 28 pgs and 33 poses.

nvm i will check again...

Gheez, now my mum says need MUA. I better double cofirm with MIL again and let her know, if not later she unahppy.
For myself, i chose the 6.30pm slot for dinner make up. Don't intend to show up at the cocktail.

Then FIL say why black table cloths? Hub handling him, and ask me just to 'act blur' when he nags.

Jane: hehee ya hor. good idea if hotel only gives me 1 angbao box. better clarify with my coordinator too.

My BS package does include a CD for selected photos, didnt specify how many pics though.

Ya lor, both of us have to wake up so early Zzzz. MUA ask me to sleep at 8pm day before. But so early, how to sleep???

Jane: I also yet to confirm my march-in songs, but have a few songs in mind. Looking for ideas in the internet. Now listening to the different versions for Canon in D. Got a nice guitar version, but the tempo abit too fast.

Jolene: if i wait for my hub to do it, think i will faint. He everything also last min one, i prefer to do it earlier and relax later. 2 weeks liao and i am still waiting for him to dig up his childhood photos. And he has even yet to settle his suit!

hey meiling..i am going leh...this is my first outing..dun disappoint me pls..

a few never mind..can have more interactions mah...