(2006) Brides of year 2006

Shirely, u need to give AP to all those younger than u in the family who will be offering u & ur hubby tea. That would mean, if your younger bro & SIL are offering u & hubby tea, YES. u need to give them an AP.

samkoh, well alot of APs are involved in a wedding... the standard ones where couple have to give on AD are for:
- driver
- boy opening car door
- helpers
- sisters
- brothers
- photgrapher
- MUA
- parents
- tea ceremony APs to those offering tea to couple
- nappy AP to give to lady's side
- nieces & nephews when return home

yes, u r right, alot of money are involved.. wat to do?

Diamond - the nappy AP is for bride's mum only or mum & dad. How about groom's parents? Must give them too? One more thing, if my niece offer tea to us, must give 1 AP from me and one AP from HB? Or can just give one? Lucky I only have 3 nieces and 1 nephew. HB side got more. a lot more.

sam & happy, nappy is for bride's mum. usually, there will be a red tray with 8 oranges on it & the nappy AP in it. some will wrap this up with a translucent wrapper (like wrapping hamper) for ease of bringing over the the bride's parents.

on top of that, separate APs are given to both side of the parents (token) for good luck when the couple return home.

as for nieces & nephews, if they are offering tea to the couple, APs are a must. 1 for each of them is enough. h/w for some families, a small AP is also given to all the nieces/nephews (young kids) if they are at home. same reason, for good luck

Diamond - sorry ah. but a bit confuse now. Pls correct me if i'm wrong. So the bride's mum will have 2 AP, correct? 1 is for "heng heng" another one is nappy AP with oranges.

Hi diamond you mentioned a small AP is also given to all the nieces/nephews (young kids) if they are at home.

If the nieces are already 20 years old do i need to give them AP uopn returning home?

samkoh, yes u r right.

apple, basically, when i said young nieces & nephews, am talking abt those young young kids.. 20yrs old does not quality right?

anyhow, give or dun give, still up to the couple. as long as both sides of the family are fine with it. just like, some couples will say people like photographer & MUA, there is no need to give them APs as they are paid for their services. h/w, some may feel that, they shld still give them a AP for good luck & to thank them for their services.

sam, 1 more thing, the nappy with oranges for the bride's mum. similar to GDL, the bride's mum has to return some oranges to let the groom brings back.

hi all...wah this discussion abt ang pow is good.....but sam remember u need to prepare some for the banquet pple esp the banquet mgr n those serving VIP n impt table.....tt's wat other couple told me....

318 & sam, ya loh.. lots of people to give AP to... hey hv u collected any APs so far from your guests? i hv received a few from some relatives & closer friends.. wow... quite some AP money that i hv collected so far! :P

how about ang pao for emcee? how much to give emcee if they are friends? and need to give banquet manager / captain also?

headache over ang pao list... paiseh if miss out anyone...

waiwai, u will not miss out anyone as long as u remember that everyone who is helping u will get a AP.

ya, i just received another one yesterday & AP today. will be getting another 1 tomorrow & tues..

Wow Diamond - God hah... receive AP already. don't think I will receive any so early. My AD end of the month.

Dunno wat is HB thinking. His invite haven't settle. Dunno who he want to invite. Write and gave him some of his card 3 weeks ago. Still sitting on his table. Sigh...

Yesterday got big fight over his father again. I ask him (FIL) if he want to sent his (FIL) invite by mail or by hand. Becos if all want to send by hand sure cannot make it want lor. Oso since he not well, beta send by mail cos so much travelling sure very tiring for him. Good intention taken for bad. HB come and scold me why I insist on sending by mail. In the first place I never insist. I asked. sigh...

waiwai - Not sure if you want to, I intend to have some $8 APs on standby. just in case anyone "pop" up out of the sudden, won't be caught off guard.

samkoh, yes, u r right. we defintely need to prepare extra APs on standby. b'coz we never know who we have missed or they are additional helpers who helped out that day

Thanks Samantha...yes..should prepare the extra ang pow..I was thinking for those 'pop' up wan i oldy give $6 for a token...too much money to give oldy...i feel that for those frds offer help wan shud be give more than that ppl just come and take ang pow...hahahahaha
Diamond~how much for emcee ? yes...i oldy received some relatives ang pow..some also can not cover their seat ya...

O.O so many posting, read until i blur blur liao. I just finished pack those AP on last Sunday, yes i do prepare more S$8/- on standby only.

Yet looking for my 1st dish song ...

Hello, another question to ask ya...my mum want to give $6 ang pow instead of $8 for Jiemeis, xiongdi and little kids( quite a lot kids on AD ), isit alright? Did any parents ang pow only $6?

318, it is all up to the indivdual on how much AP to give... i hv also prepared the APs last wk. i do ot hv $6 or $8 APs. my min is $12...

Hi 318bi

I tot its a token to thanks them, if they are really your good friend they don't really expecting much from you. anyway the ang pow given by your mum is on top of the ang pow given by you ma.

Diamond..oh, then good lor...no need argue with mummy
I have a big problem now..I have 22 tables and 223 ppl so I have 3 tables 11 person , I top up the extra 1 person for the food...shall I also put my PG into the table? My MIL unhappy we have 3 tables of 11 person althou we have increase the food... any idea?

318, no fret, there wld be changes somemore right to the day before your wedding.. there sure will be pp who will tell u last min that they cannot come

Ribbons~ ya lor..we pay for it wat..she said the relatives see not 'NICE' ....sigh!

If we dint give PG a seat, it would be look bad?

we also need to reserve a seat for PG & VG ar?

but do they have time for that? or jus a space to place their stuff & drinks?

my mil told me that i should use their tea-pot (my fh's sister one) for the tea ceremony at the guy house.. and use my own pot at my mother' house lei..

i think cos older pple see even numbers for auspicious events and odd numbers as for unlucky... same reason why we got to give oranges in 2s, 4s, 8s....

my PG is my friend, so i invited them, but they say they no need cos they no need to sit. ahah.. but i will tell the pple at the table to save food for them.

hi yo... im back

just had my wedding ... a crazy day... tired days before e wedding too.
do prepare extra AP ... or keep some AP packets and $$$ with you.

for me last few days still quite a bit of changes to sitting arrangement ha
and do sms your guests e day before your wedding ahhaa moi wedding on Fri still some thou is sat .

jo .. for tea ceremony.. under GDL your mum suppose to prepare 1 tea set for GDL to groom side..
at your mum side . (you can use your mum's tea set that she used for her own wedding).. if not a new one.
the tea set that you use at your HB side you suppose to keep for your future daughter to use .

Hi pinzess,
just had my wedding on last Sat, and i hoped u had a memorable wedding day! : )
Thanks gals for all the kind words and support, i had a wonderful wedding day, especially the banquet where it didnt feel like a banquet but more like a party instead. : ) It was amusing, but my groom and i were getting ready to thank guests during the second last dish yet none of our guests wanted to leave! They sat, laughed and and enjoyed themselves way after the last dish was served. Only when the restaurant started to play fast music, our guests got the hint, and started to leave. It was..wonderful. exactly how i hoped my wedding banquet would be! : )Food was good, company was great, and nope, i didnt trip on my dress and fall off the stage.(worst fear) lol.
Just to share 2 things to take note of for brides to be,
1) if you are ordering a buffet for lunch or church reception and had ordered less than the expected guest trn out, remember to bring extra paper plates and utensils. Cos for my church reception, i ordered for 70 pax about 90 came,although the food was more than enough, paper plates and serviettes ran out. Luckily, the canteen had extra, and the kind souls spared us some! close shave. : )
2) SLEEP. i was so excited and edgy the night before the wedding that i slept at 230 am. On the AD morning i was still buzzing but by late afternoon, i almost fell asleep when my MUA put makeup for me for the evening banquet. heheh. so pls, no matter what, get a good rest. : )
My wedding Photographer was wonderful, gowns and Makeup lovely. All in all, a day i"ll remember always. Between, i had excess of 10k from the banquet! hehe. : ) am very blessed.
Good luck Brides to be, God bless that everything will be wonderful on your wedding day and a blissful marriage after!