(2006) Brides of year 2006

Linda,
oic...but when will u know if the tour is on?
As for taiwan trip hor, we paid in nets too...how come they told u only deduct $100 leh? Did u ask them now the tour group got how many pax liao cos 1st ten pax gets $300 each discount leh....

SDL,
its a horror show?

<font color="0077aa">hi ladies, not trying to be spoilt sport.. but if you are getting cakes from third party and bringing them to the hotel, please seek confirmation and clarifications with your hotel.. least you are absolving them of any liabilities in case of food poisoning, etc..

i know that if you bringing food in, normally the hotel will make you sign a letter of idemnity saying that they will not be responsible for any liabilities as a result of you bringing food into the hotel..

from the face value, it seems that this only cover the food you brought in.. but in reality, this can work against you.. coz the cause of such incidents usually cannot be directly pinpt to a single cause (if you know wat i mean)... in case of unfortunate incidents, you may have to bear all liabilities coz you signed the letter or idemnity..

this was told by my hotel coordinator.. and i double checked with my lawyer frens too..

so do double-check with your hotel before you confirm.. =)

hey babybride

take it easy.. most pple here gone thro this phase i guess.. God is your strength.. look to Him instead of your busy bf.. also, you have a good chat with him.. but not flare up at him.. Love is patient and endures long remember??

hey happy

you may want to go thro the archives for VG reco. some btb here have commented on VG before..

cant help you on MC.. using my frens instead.. dun see pt on spending money on mc.. =p

wedding cakes - you mean those used during the customary kind arh? or real wedding cakes to be cut and distributed during your dinner??</font>

newbbi,
they told me this friday they will let me know.

dunno leh, think they told me is fly by SQ so maybe more ex loh.
if i really gg then i will check with them again loh.

SDL,
today you attending Irene's dinner right?
send my warmest wishes to them. she will sure look great today.

Wah Linda.. no offence but the destination change again? hehe.. I understand cuz ur hb's leave abit inflex lor

anyway, ya, its a horror show.. and true story based on a survivor..

yep, will be attending Irene's wedding cuz we have a common couple we knew
will definitely send your regards

Pink Bunny, eh...my jiemeis all young meimeis...no driving license, no car...heeeheee...xiongdis all dun have car also...
so easiest solution is to hire a bus for everyone!! :D plus give the xiongdi some chance to 'pao' the jiemei ma...heheeeheee...
S$100 for 2 way...the 42 seater one is it??

hi sam...

u getting mascular ah....did u do enough stretching n carry too heavy weights? sometimes do more reps but lighter weight will be better....n also rem to do cardio hor veli impt also...

me go california u leh?

hey happy...
if u wan those traditional cakes for distribution during guo da li, u can check out tong heng in chinatown, they are famous for that....good luck

hey babybride....see all of us are the same so dun worry n be happy okies

just watch movie "Final Destination" last sun...starting to have forbear of taking roller coaster &amp; train, very scary.

Better dun watch

Hi Stephanie,thanks for the encouragement..sigh..the prob is i dont have a sense of assurance that the dinner venue is good 'caz seems like nobody havin their wedding there...

Thanks mitzi &amp; bride...huh..u mean u doin all the work too?? sigh...

Angeldust, but at least ur partner stil bother to choose frm the shortlisted one..mine reject or cant be bother to even see my shortlisted ones..kekee angeldust, u be sure i sure su ku alot to u all then..kekek

Thanks pandalic...i know n i m tryin...

Suishi, that is Underworld Evolution lah.. hehe.. stupid show.. it's always about whose blood is the oldest and most powderfuldest, and who is the strongest can break bone etc etc.. haha.. but gd effects I must say..

suishi,
ya... stres!!!
cos have to go hm by this mth.
cos hb very difficult to take leave and later part of the year planning for family leow, so if dun go HM now, maybe no chance leow loh.

Hi Stephanie,thanks for the encouragement..sigh..the prob is i dont have a sense of assurance that the dinner venue is good 'caz seems like nobody havin their wedding there...

Thanks mitzi &amp; bride...huh..u mean u doin all the work too?? sigh...

Angeldust, but at least ur partner stil bother to choose frm the shortlisted one..mine reject or cant be bother to even see my shortlisted ones..kekee angeldust, u be sure i sure su ku alot to u all then..kekek

Thanks pandalic...i know n i m tryin...

hee.. no probs suishi.. I movie-fanatic :D

Linda, really feel for u lor.. I will get very disappointed also if they tell me the tiks fully booked.. haiz

hi babybride...
is laguna the one in yishun? i've been to one in yishun for wedding lunch but can't rem the country club name liow....food is ok but less ppls haf it there coz of the distance/convenience lah.....dun worry...

u should seriously sit ur FH down to have a chat with him, don't sound mad just be very objective about it okies....i sure he is just too tied up now coz its a busy period for him

yafang
i think it's a 44 seater

girls
very upset about my dad. he's very pissed with me cos he said i promised to go deliver cards with him to grandauntie and then to his friends. about the friends i know i said ok cos i know them too and that i would rush down after my external meeting.

but it's because of this meeting that's why i know i could not have said OK to delivering to grandaunt cos i KNOW i got no time!
i feel so wronged. now he's making it seem like he's so poor thing, i force him to deliver but eh, 1. he said he would do it (when i said post also can) and 2. i gave him way way way in advance but he's been sitting on it!

see la, this is the man who can send me sms to say 'wedding is supposed to be a happy occasion' bla bla. so double standard > : (

hi stephanie,

nope laguna is near to expo...opposite tanah merah ctry club...

the one at yishun is orchid ctry club..which is already booked when i approached them..

most of the hotels are all fully booked by the time we get the numbers of tables frm my in-laws..sigh..

anyone know of any comments of laguna golf &amp; ctry club as dinner place for wedding??

jmonster, eh for couple nowadays i think nobody really get those pails and lamps liaoz cos more things u have more troubled you will be....but tea set is a must cos of the "jing cha" thingy

hi babybride...

oh that one ah....i go there before for office retreat and had lunch at the chinese restaurant.... u having at the chinese restaurant? if i don't remember wrongly food is quite good leh....

Who mentioned transport?

I went through my "To-Do" list and there are so many many amendments made to tha column. Thought we didn't need it but we thought we'll be nice to the overseas guests (and not leave them in a lurch) and also pick up my makcik and pakcik in Yishun where I think they'll camp out in days before the wedding) and bring them to the museum.

Toyed with Singapore Trolley. Still toying with that. So stylo...that and the trishaw but dear Meraj said the uncle will die of heart attack with me on his trishaw (the cheek that man has to say that!
). Ask him to cycle, he said he didn't want to die leaving me single. Aiyoh..headache. So wrote to BusPlus and Comfort Bus. Can't get those super school bus kind cos' they'll not be allowed to come through the front pathway of Carlton Hotel. So trying to get 19-seater. Anyone got lobang for that?

Lipstar, you sure you'll be okay the next day after op? So fast? Don't force yourself hor...

Hazel, I admire your perseverance. Muster on girl. I think you really practised a lot of restraint and it's sweet of you to do give and take about certain aspects of the wedding culture. What to do, right? I went through the same headache though I dare say, not as serious as yours.

Yafang, I kpoh......how come 2 receptions? Where ah? Both at Fort Canning? Soo exciting! Get to celebrate twice...

Pink Bunny, I love the location!!! Eh...can hang the cones filled with wildflowers around the wooden "fence"....sooo pretty!

<font color="0077aa">hi babybride

my bf family held a few bday celebrations (each time abt 15 tables) at laguna ccc last year... i am impressed with the quality of food as well as the service.. relax, i think your banquet is at good hands.. also, the ballroom has a great view of the golf course.. </font>

my mom told me to get the lamps, tea set &amp; sewing basket. The groom side will have to buy dragon/phoenix candles. hmm...we are not very particular thus so simplified. hehehe...

as for 'an chuang' we have to get 4 types of fruits, plus 1 pineapple &amp; 1 'fa gao'(rice cake).

asura, i think we should be allowed to go. i don't see y not? hehe...

I will guo da li before the 7th month too...as for an chuan, maybe do it before 7th month too cos my bed will be delivered to my new house in early May.

er....if we are staying to chit chat for quite some time then pasta mania is nt possible lor....mayb swensen or cafe cartel will be a better choice....

anymore participant for this friday gathering....how abt the only 2 guys here? wan to come along wif ur wife?

also wendy, u tink we shld mit and buy the bedsheet first then go makan at abt 7.45pm or nt? coz we all are so 'chatty' scared we talk talk talk until we forget the time then aussino closed liao lor...wahahaa

This thread is moving so fast...

Hi bride &amp; maez, thanks for your info... will be selecting the gowns early April as my BS is fully scheduled this month.

Heard from the coordinator that the designers are busy these 2 months &amp; can only be able to mtm my gown in may... I had been checking out with the coordinator the availability of the designers to mtm my gown cos I need to have it done before my ps before 7th month.
She suggested that during the 1st appt in April then discuss with the designers on their availability to mtm my gown.

So worry....

tansan: mine rom is at the dinner venue. i think most guest should arrive by 730, so will start the rom at 745. by 8 can start dinner liao.

im not sure also, still in the midst of planning.

Hi Bing / Cacphin,

just noticed you gals also doing pan pac. have also just received the table seating arrangment headache leh ....
managed to already book for my dinner tasting in may, and took a quick peek at the cards. they have already given me the contact for the printing. will prob try to contact a few soon. whats the normal time frame to get it sent out? the printer collects from the hotel izit? the rest of the details, ivan mentioned that we will do only one month before the dinner so i still got some time to go look for pretty florists. btw you know which florist pp is working with?

Hi Camy,

Let's seat together if we both go!

You having food tasting? I am giving up mine.
By the way, are you taking the main ballroom?

tissuebox, i decided to engage Jasvy as they r d assigned printer by Intercon &amp; they r able to give into some of our requests. think dats y they quoted us cheaper.

Hey tissuebox &amp; nancy,I top up for extra pics too!! chosen additional 17pcs abt $1k. how many additional pics did u all top up? $1.5 - $2k quite alot leh. I dun intend to spend so much on BS pkg cos hubby n me emphasise more on AD pics. dats y we spent a bomb on AD PG &amp; VG.

hi babybride,

dun fret. do not worry k? guys will get excited only later. only we gers are the more KS ones. i guess I started off quite ok cos we started with the practical aspect - the budget.

Moring Pals!

Linda,
if really fully booked, then try going to other places lor..Where else u and hb would like to go?Have u tried CTC or Dynasty Travel?

BabyBride: if it comforts u, i attended my church friends solemnization and dinner at Laguna..
At first we thought "Wah, so far, how to get in without transport?" Then we saw in the invite that transport was provided. That put us greatly at ease. In the end, my parents drove lah, but i was usher, so i saw a large number of guest taking the bus provided. So dont worry about poor turn up cos of location.

If you are having ur solemnization at Laguna also, have it at the.. umm.. dunno what its called, but it was downstairs, have to walk thru the wine cellar/ restaurant/ pub to get there... VEry NICE!!!! I've never been to a garden reception for solemnization before lor.. It was so nice... everything was like, perfect lor...

Dinner was good too.. And the staff were quite nice too. my cousin kept asknig for the chips (very nice chips. dunno what brand) and they were nice to oblige and topped up our chips over 5 times..

During the dinner itself, the waiters were very prompt to our needs, the food was very good too.

during the dinner i went to look for the banquet manager to ask him for pamphlet. He looked busy, cos the dinner was in progress. I told him he can give it to me after the wedding or mail it to me, cos i know he is busy. When i got back to my seat, they served antoehr dish. when that dish was cleared, the manager came and gave me the brocheure liao.. very good.. another plus point. But i cannot take Laguna lah. Not enough space.

Favours were teddy bears lor.

I dunno about the view of the golf course, cos the curtains were closed and its was night already, so dunno can see or not.. only one point that i didnt like about the whole experiecne there was, there were two pillars in the ballroom. But they were quite far back lah, and i very particular about pillars one...

about hubby's being bo chup.. my one very on one. He is the one who does the scouting around and getting the details and all and he will shortlist for me to see and approve. we're the opposite of angeldust.. hee.. but that doesnt mean i am bo chup hor. I do the other things, small details. Like printers, BS, etc. which is good lah.. i am small pic person he is big pic person..

whatever it is, weddings are suppose to be fun events.. dont stress ok babybride.. If ur bf is away, rop in ur cell members or ur best friends to help lor.. I'm sure they are more than willing..

Hey ladies,

Hows everyone??? Hows married life so far?
Me just got my AD photos last nite leh... So nice and so nice to recall everything back leh....

Really wished the time just stoped there!

niacy

hi five...at least i know i am not alone

my BS got promotion.
mine is mag style &amp; the original package only have 20pages with 28 photos.
so if we top up 1800, we get 30 pages and abt 80 photos. then all photos(choose + not choose) will be given back to us.
but since it is within my budget so i take lor. if not 20 pages really very thin lei

Good morning, just a quick hello note. been dropping in and out reading some of your posts. wa, you gals really done alot hor! i dont even know what is on my to-dos list! Me and FH been so busy at work that we are neglecting the wedding! think we are behaving like there is no wedding! *panicking*

morning gals!

Linda, Irene extends her regards to you too
her wedding was gorgeous, and with 2nd minister for defence Teo Chee Hean was there too.. haha.. cuz her hb is a govt police and off-duty bodyguard of his haha..

hi tissuebox,

mine is the normal album. me and hubby dun like mag style. total my album should come up to 24 pages. worry it will be v heavy.

hi gintonic,

I took abt 26 extra pics. initially my hubby and i also dun wan to top up so much. but those photos chosen are those that we really like a lot. initally the no of photos we chose was 87 pics, reduce until left with 60+. so I should says we try our best to stick to our plan but failed. haha

hi babygera &amp; camy,

thanks for the info. my mum still very traditional and wants me to get pails, lamps, tea sets.

i'm fine with the lamps and tea sets. I'm a M'sian, so my hubby will come to my house during the "Guo Da Li" day, but then it's troublesome for him to bring the pails back to Spore... but my mum insists... Sigh!!!

anyway, thanks for help. will try to persuade my mum b4 the Guo Da Li... i still hv few mths to go :P

Morning everyone,

Stephanie - nope i not havin at the chinese restaurant 'caz too small but the food will b frm them...

Pandalic - really?? the service is good?? i havent got a chance to go there yet after the 1st and onli visit there 'caz i stay in the northwest...but dont think can see the golf course in the ballroom 'caz it will be covered by the stage..

Angeldust,at least he bother to set the budget for u..mine just ask mi to plan the budget and send the spreadsheet to him..i sent already but think he never look at details but jus the overall sum figure..or even never see at all..i also dono..sigh

Ribbons - Thanks alot...i m not havin solemnization at laguna..jus dinner onli..m thinkin where to put the receiption 'caz the stairs just next to the ballroom onli..but downstairs no aircon the elders sure to complain one...

The service is good?? Thank u..at least it calms mi down alittle 'caz i worried the service n food no good then sure pple complain all over..

yeah u right abt the pillars..but as for mi no choice 'caz no other venues that can accomodate us liao..we need 38-40 tables..they say their ballroom can so we take lo..

my cellgroup this year got 4 other wedding couples and all busy with their own preparations..

But in all, i wan to say a BIG THANK U to all of u...thanks for encouraging mi...really warms my heart...

wow..i only took extra 9 pcs topped up 675 only..
heheh..

tissuebox, i think mine will be even less than 20 pages...
mine's mag style too..will collect album this sat