(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi jocester,
my VG cost me $650 but i think his price has increased now as i booked using his previous promotional price. Oh my! Ur GDL is really v tight..

hi lissa,
i have 45 tables of guests! Till now, my inlaw has yet to finish writing the cards.. thus, she has not given me her list yet. Her list keeps on changing as her sisters tells her last min nt to invite this nt to invite tat. Haiz.. afterall, wedding is not just the 2 of us.. i also dunno since when it involves so many ppl! *faint*

girls!

another update! we're doing away with the guest book cos we want something different so we'll have little cards (that have the same 'logo' as our invitation card... which i'll post up soon as i get) at the reception table and ask guests to write wedding advice for us. after the wedding, we can frame up the nice ones in one of those big ikea frames :D yay! (ok back to work now)

Pink Bunny, yeay.......you have good taste...
--> I'm doing the same. Make-A-Wish bowl. So much easier than people making a queue to write their sentiments....this way, it's free and easy.....

Ooh..I love the "something borrowed, something" blue tradition incorporated into cocktails...

Hazel, dont' think you can rent an apartment for 2 nights.

Linda,
Aiyo why u tell him :P haha.. aiya, now he gonna aviod us liao, esp JC and her friends.. haha!!
Will bring our AD pics..

marnie

how does the make-a-wish bowl work? i've seen so many people just scribble 'congratulations!' in guest books :S say more la....

i really don't know how i'm going to incorporate something blue, something new (and what else??) into the wedding. better ask bluebunnymama for help

sure hope lipstar is feeling better...

Pink Bunny, it's "something old, something, new, something borrowed, something blue".

Your gown is "something new". You could use a nice lacey hanky from your family/relatives/friends or FMIL's family to wrap the stem of your bouquet of flowers as your "something borrowed/old". "Something blue" is easy - you could incorporate anything blue - flowers, jewellery, crystals at the bottom of your shoes to spell out your maiden name initial etc..."something borrowed/old" could again be perhaps a piece of jewellery?

Re. the wishing bowl: I'll have a placecard with a poem near the Make-A-Wish bowl. The poem on the placecard would read as follows:

"These cards are for our wedding book
A modern twist on the standard look

Take one to the table and fill it out
Giving good wishes is what its about

But weddings are more than rings and tossed rice
So please feel free to give us advice

Then when our wedding day has passed
We'll have great memories that will last

For when we look at them we'll see
Kind words from friends and family"

oh..I had seen those...
in grand hyatt...but its tat they take pic, N write it at the back of the pic & hang on the tree...

Linda,
ya lor, i will brin glor...hehe

snowy,
u are back at last =). How was you trip? manged to buy anything?

Time not cfm yet...tentatively is my, SDL and JC going....

marnie
the words are cool! i want to copy can? :P the copycat pinkbunny :D

hazel
actually i was thinking of using poloroids and asking guests to write on the space below their pics but too much hassle la! hehe

<font color="aa00aa">hmm wat style are you looking at? there's quite a few nice places. but are u considering poolside? beach? indoor? outdoor? &amp; wat's ur budget?</font>

hi gintonic
i will visit the 2 printers and 3 florists appointed by the hotel then inform my hotel coordinator of my decision in early Apr. Is it too late?

hi racherlle
long time never chat with you yeah. sorry, can't help you on that.

btw, which florist are u gals engaging? any type of flowers in mind? i like orchids and heard its cheap since its local flowers but not sure if it is doable or nice or not leh..hmm..

Gintonic, din know u went to BKK too! I was there 30 Jan to 2 Feb... found a very pretty ring pillow box, bought clothes as usual, really fun to shop there!!! Now I am considering whether to go back there in March for my PS, see got $$$ or not first...I ordered my wedding favours from BKK as well, handmade dough figurines of 2 tigers dressed in wedding clothes...kekekeke

Tonight I finally going to take measurements for my wedding dresses...

Anyone knows where to get nice wedding shoes? I have started looking cos I know I will have trouble with shoes as my size is 3, 1 week have passed and I am seriously considering going to Leaping Lizards, even though I read some bad posts about the shop on this forum..sigh...when the shoe is right color &amp; right design, there is no size 3, when there is size 3, the design/color is wrong!!!

Hazel, yeah...I love that idea too....but in my case, to have 240 cards would render the big "tree" broken....

Instead, I'll just have 2 big bowls and have them lined with orchids or some tropical fonds (to match my deco) and have a few cards filled out by Meraj and I and a few from my siblings for starters and get things going.

Pink Bunny, go ahead and use the "poem". No worries at all.

Wah! too many posts!!

hazel,

My goldstrings, I paid 10 cents for each card to my printer (inclusive of string and tying) cos when I helped my FH bro tie his the other time, very tiring and got backache. So tell myself not going to do that for my own wedding..

And what time are we meeting now and where on friday? Me lost liao...

AND I thought I saw the word "MANJONG" heheh....me also learning stage, looking for kakis to try out my skills leh...

Lipstar,
So who are you hiring as printer now? me confused liao..

And gals,

can email me your HPs and emails? Then I can make a list and we can can all keep one..

Ok here are the updates

board-post.cgi

Work here very stressful man. In 2 short weeks, I took panadol three times oredi. I remember because we purchased the 1st aid kit on 17th Jan. Today, I took it for the 3rd time. Before 17th Jan, I took Panadol from a colleague twice.

Usually, I try to avoid taking panadol for fear of becoming dependent on it. But headache too painful oredi.
kao_sad2.gif

jean
yes MAHJONG! hehe. my mahjong room is always open if anyone wants :D saturdays are the best for moi. any takers?

(i was falling asleep at work until i saw MAHJONG hehe)

Jean,
its 1st come, 1st reserve basis...
but I would reach City Hall at abt 6:45pm.
cos I shift my collection of cards earlier...

after meeting, think Lipstar would be the 1st to reach home, follow by Marnie...based on MRT route

Lipstar,
I so sian..
as I bao ka liao...
Boss chase me for $$ fr customers..customers said I kept pushing them...
I also dunno wat to say...one of them even hang my phone

yee, today network like siao siao..post liao then my msg gone..ermmm..

Hazel,

So are we meeting at city hall mrt station control? Cos I dun recognise anyone of you...

PinkBunny,

How abt others April brides? Anyone interested? Who got manjong set? I only beginner leh..so Pink Bunny must have mercy leh...hehe

<font color="0000ff">wow sharon, LOOF? Your ROM ceremony theme must be "chill"
Really cool place. I go there quite often. But can get quite crowded sometimes. I think it's a great idea to hold your wedding at LOOF!</font>

jean
keke i know hazel and adeline also play (or have played at least). i've been playing a while la but nowhere near expert level ok?

i got two sets and table and a room dedicated to mahjong (i even have small tiled with da san yuan glued on the door!) keke. ghim moh is very convenient *angelic face with blinky eyes*

((sheesh, now getting feverish liao boohooo))

pink bunny,

wah!! Still say not expert???!!! Got special manjong room leh!! Hehhe, then got 4 of us liao...ermm..must ask them when they free..heheh

Jean, dun worry...I would SMS U when I m reaching...
then I would call &amp; see whoever picks up the phone...N most likely would be U. cos I short sighted but never wear spects...
So, if I see far, its actually blur image.

Pinkbunny,
I had played once lor..which is last Sat.

Today, network really siao....in maintenance mood...last night also like tat

pls dun ask me to play....
U all r considered expert to me..
I only played once....
wait U all throw tiles at me...

kittyhello : after an chuang, only hubby n me, his parents, my parents can go in.
the rest cant wor.
so we have to lock our room doors.

christine : me left with 10days hha..
mine is 17 Feb 2006.

all : anyone got lobang for emcees and flowergirl basket?

Hi Greekgal,

Plan to sms my friends for address by end of this week...
Will be collecting invitation cards in mid feb, take 1 week to print, plan to distribute cards by mid march. Hopefully all can RSVP by mid April.
Issit too late?

Check with you all, need to indicate RSVP by (a date) in the card. How long before AD will you all put?

Will be having food tasting in early march.

HAzel,

I only played 3 times leh..hahaha...so u say I expert or not? But find the game interesting so wanna learn more ma...Next time if FH go "fly" then I can spend time play manjong...heheheh

Hi Tiki
I feel that Leapin Lizards' designs are quite normal unless you customised a pair. Did you try Paradox? I think the latter is better than Leapin Lizards but more pricey also.
Wow, your wedding favour is so unique but why tigers? Both of you born in the year of Tiger? hee..

Hi pooh
I think you are the most efficient amongst the gals here. For me, my hotel coordinator told me to inform him of my printer I've selected in early Apr so I envisage that I can only start printing in mid Apr (?) Usually couples sent out invitation one or one and half month prior to their AD right? Good to indicate a deadline for RSVP.

Wah Marnie, Pinkbunny- love your ideas lei! I thought of the same idea; have a bowl on each table and the guests to drop their well wishes into it. something like that lah. Another tradition i read was ringing bells when the couple enters and exits. i tot that was cool and am thinking of getting that as favor.

Hotel accomodation: well, i set an unrealistic target- 100 sgd per night or below. besides hotel 81, all hotels are offering above that for 100++. We tot of renting a service apartment-but that option is not cheap either. very upsetting.
pink: wah 2 weeks ah! that is long! why dont you put her up at your place???

Jean: thanks for collating the excel! my AD photographer is Ruey Loon from 36frames.

sorrie..ivy..i was one of the 'flyers'..:P hopefully can arrange another one hor.. tupid work make me sleep late every nite.. go home still have to do some workout then sleep.. panda eye like nobody business... but i can only go after my ROM which is in 11 days!! super duper dunno what to say - Kan Cheong!!

Hi purpleblur,
I'm looking at more of outdoor and romantic kinda of feel. I did consider holding it at the beach but after attending one friend's wedding at Sentosa..found that its very hot. My budget is around 3-5k for about 100 pax.

Steph, your choice of Carlton is very good.Heard that price is reasonable and venue is very nice.Good choice

Hey bride, LOOF was chosen by my BF coz he like the "chill-out" kinda atmosphere.Honestly, I only been there once just to take a peek while dining at Chef Chan. :p
Our main worry is that they would charge us a high price as 9th Dec is a saturday nite.Keeping our fingers cross.

greekgal, doesnt swissotel tied up with any florists or printing firms?? not sure intercon is tied up with which florist..but will check wif my coordinator abt it. She called me today again to reconfirm the qty of cards. most likely i b collecting 200pcs 1st based on est no of tables. The printing firm tied up wif intercon is Jasvy. Food tasting in Mid March. think inform your coordinator by April shld b in time lah..dun worry too much!!

Haha tiki, we shld hv arrange a meet up in BKK then!! i stayed in Arnoma Hotel opp World Trade. Wad abt u?? Me din shop ard for wedding stuffs(see my earlier post)....Me too went to leaping lizard mths back cos wanna MTM the wedding heels but in the end i didnt cos the price was too EX!!
U shld try Paradox...for me, i bought the silver heels for my PS @ Walking Couture. Might get a white pair of heels when nearer to my AD. White heels for WG &amp; Silver heels for EG.

Thks Jocester &amp; Rainne

Rainee: Laguna is a gd place. I find the pix v refreshing. I actually like the ones in the resturant and the room

Jo: Berry nice leh...pretty leh u
). I oso think the red gown v v nice U got chance to wear on AD? Sure a knockout. V nice
Hey where did u take ur pix ar?...the green patc isit bukit timah hill?

Evie: I am in worse state. Tis wkend going to do out MTV shoot. Next Dat then take PS...most probably like not confirm yet leh...siao liao now I cant even b bothered liao just wanna get the things done once and for all...like drag v long then alot of things do and do oso cannot finish.

Charsiew: KNow wat u mean...that's y we having 2 weddings..but q tiring...

GUess what!!! My gown not even ready...Tis Fri will oni get to see 50%...next week 70%...then the rest...my designer says she will just surprise me...

And...I havent even printed my cards...:P...v stress man...

Tat GDL hor...mine 26Feb...think both my mom and IL dunno what to do, they say they just come...dunno to do what leh...v funne one...we met to discuss the dowry thing and my IL forgot to ask...

But then again...we just nid to enjoy the process...1 over mth time all will be over...