(2006) Brides of year 2006

cocoberry dats gd, at least u have settled for your heels. one more thing off your mind.

hey dreymin,

here is the url to hbay website. u might wana hv a look n see wat they offer so that u will b more comfortable with them if u ever intend to go back. http://www.hbay.com.sg/ feel free to pm me if u need more details. my reno firm is from HBay.

AIKO, congrats. u tried ur gown. dun feel shy lah. on ur wedding day u sure look very pretty one. i also dun look good on photos. hvnt gone to try my gown. was busy with my house, n still busy with my house. still waiting for the work to complete. i should b going to try my gown on new year's day. if i managed to sneak in some photos i take n post for u all k?

DISCLAIMER: I haven't read all the posts. Read and reply another day.

Idyll: People bring casual clothes bcos they may want to wear coordinated clothes like white top with jeans, and pose with their dogs, rather than formal WG all the way.

Jean: I also want to see! Thanks! my email

hi hi ladies..
i just came back from work..today's a busy day for me..getting more stress at work as the days approach the yr end..helping out my colleagues for the mth-end closing..hope i didnt miss out too much...hee..pie-say to all brides..i will update the chart tomorrow when i m in the office..today's really very busy to submit an urgent sales report to our Japan's office..

hi hi jo..
u r surely welcome here..actually we did reply back to ur posts..maybe u can come & join us for the gathering also..come lah, very fun one..c ya..

hi hi CAT..
hehe..age isnt a matter lah, my dear..the best part is u dun even look like ur age lor..so r u awaiting any surprise from ur FH..i m sure it must be very romantic lor..aiyo..u need any lightbulbs anot..hehe..we can always volunteer our services lor..hehe..

hi hi cecilia..
nice to hear that u went back to check out the reno..must go back & check lor, at least u know how's the progress & also if the contractors did a gd job as promised..u better arrange to spend more time..esp the impt section coz it's like the base, once done, hard to get them to change for u..do hope to hear from u, k? if needed, take some photos of those part u r not satisfied in to show the designer that attended to u then at least they get to see the quality of work done..

hi hi Diana..
how's cola? ok? hope she's fine..maybe u can try to check out the AD PG/VG soon then at least can book those that u r comfy with & also at least get it off ur mind lor..very fast lor time pass..

hi hi yahoo..
nice to hear from u..long time didnt see u leh..u must be very busy..okok, will update ur details in the chart..better quickly confirm ur venue..i thot u r already looking at some venues & confirming it? how's everything? gd? do hope that u can come & join us for the jan gathering lor..c ya..

hi hi iceglacier..
how's ur leg? r u ok liao? must take gd care lor..go & see a doc if really not ok..

jennifer..
okok..will update for u, ok? u coming to join us for the Jan gathering? do hope to see u..cheers~

I am having the problem with my mother about must the GDL.

What puzzle me is that my mum say there is 3 ang bao, what is that supposed to mean?

Any gals from KL marrying the Sg husband? Can anyone help to explain how the KL GDL work?

I am so confuse 'sob sob'

Please help !!!

Hi belle,
ACM is asian civilisation museum.. that place i heard is pretty popular.. someone just did a wedding there last sat..
Havent heard the song u mentioned, but the lyric is meaningful....another thing to worry is song too.. i dun want to use conventional bridal march tune..i am thinking of a tune with less vocals..

hi summer, can u share with me the AD PG list? pls email it to me..thank u!!

hi ffbear, i'm getting more & more blur after seeing so many websites... now i'm comparing on the price & no. of photos only.. :p but i know this is not right lah becos many ppl said we must select PG by their style.. but then how? i see like sama sama....*faintz leh

cheers, not yet leh .. since now delay to jan 07, can wait until early next yr then decide ... how have u been? Long time no see u in forum...

ffbear, i sent liao. i tot of using Ron Lee from Eyedeas. There is a gal from forum using him as AD, very nicely taken... prob will decide to engage him. Anybody heard of seen his works?

any other recommendations ?

oh oh yaya..very nice place..with that old colonial touch.

the song is from a walt disney cartoon think its lion king or sthing..i m thinking could be used as one of the song for my montage or march in..headache! my hubby sugg using the song SHE arrgh i heard this song in almost every wedding so i just look at him n said 'NO' w/o opening my mouth he hee.

Tune with less vocals? urmm sthing like enya kind?

heehee..forcing all of you to remember me..true lah, if meet up will remember each other better. Hopefully i can make it on the Jan. Oh, anyone staying or work at East side like Bedok, Changi? Are all of you work in the office? Mi very shy one leh..scare later meet up canot talk..haha..

Anyway, u gals let me noe the fix date, k?

Thanks Wendy, Cecilia, Diana and CAT..cya gals then..

jo, me last time used to stay at Bedok but hv moved to hougang yrs back and will be moving to AMK after my customary lor...

aiyo....no worries abt nothing to chat...coz wendy, cecilia, cat, elsie, iceglacier, yahoo + me all beri chatty one....ok ok....ya...guess they will protest....me the most talkative one lah.....kekeke

Hi ladies, congratulations on ur upcoming BIG day! I'm getting married on 1st Jan too, like Newbbie79. but moi done list is not as long as hers yet.

Newbbie79, are u getting ROM and dinner all on same day? I am doing moi tea in the morning, ROM at buddhist temple in the afternoon, dinner at night. next night still got another dinner for frens. i've learnt tat delegating some stuff to moi sisters sure beats doing everything moiself..

I'm now looking for those big plastic piggy banks to act as moi angbow box. Chinatown dun hv so big..any idea where I can find one?

HELLO! Kisses to all bootiful Nov gals! How are you gals doin? Been quite crazy at work & really missing u gals! Glad that everyone's making progress with photographers & BS.

Silentelf & ffbear, so sorry I'm not much help with photographers - I saw & set my eyes on Ave 8 & that's it!

Hey Summer u still our lovely Nov gal ok? Frais goin to tie you up & I'll stake-out at your home if you disappear from this thread..Muah-hahaha..I know where you stay!

*BIG HUGS* to the mei dao gals - Chommecc, Nitestar, Summer, Frais, Vonn, MyGal & Storm! I'm so happy to have met you mei daos!

Missed u too Dorami, Pet (hehe, u very silent except when you update the table gal :p), Count, Cheers, Ublur, Reismion, Ivy!

Welcome to stefy & roidana! *wave*

Hey Frais, here's what you predicted..."ya ya Frais is really very very small size!" hahaha. So she has to wear min 3-inch heels man! *grin*

But gals, don't torture yourself with more than what you can get used to, coz you won't be able to enjoy yourself. I'm always totter around in 3-inch heels at work, but by the time I hit the nite spots, I usually end up hobbling home. So I'm only going for 3.5-inch max, 4-inch will be too much. Wore 4-inch to someone's wedding at Fort Canning & almost couldn't walk after that coz had to go up/down the stairs, slopes to the car park & after dancing, it's no joke!

Frais, welcome back to Nov, gal!! Soooo happy you have confirmed the date & the venue! ACM is a really good place with great ambience. Good on you!! *SOB* my FH still haven't settled on the venue since our last outing!!

Frais, to answer your question - I'm getting AD photography & videography, then doing studio/ outdoor shoot 4 days after the wedding. The AD ones are to recall the actual day as it'll probably whizz past us, the post fotos are for keepsake, so we look good (in case the candid ones show our stress, etc). Heheh, I'm vain, so want to look good mah! The albums will be for showing during house warming etc. But my typical male FH said he doesn't need fotos.

Summer, Jan 07 is only a couple of months away, can still shop for venue. Maybe consider ACM or a nice restaurant like Chef Chan's?

Attending the 5th wedding this year on Tue & 6th end of year. Can give feedback if anyone wants to know abt these venues from low to high end - Fullerton, Carlton, Goodwood Park, Hotel New Otani, 88 Restaurant, Ritz Carlton.

Ya Summer, wondering if our mei dao Chomecc & Nitestar are back from their trips.

Hi Vonn, I've also bought watch, wallet, belt, accessories, shoes (this one use voucher coz "pan-dang"), pants, surf shorts, shirts, cologne, spa treats, even socks (a necessity he requested but so unromantic!) & sexy undies (for various occasions like b-day, v-day, xmas) already. So this year I bought him another shirt - 1 for each year we're together! But each shirt is different mah, different label, different design, different price, different year. hahaha! Hey, how about cuff links - there are a lot of funky designs around & he can also wear for wedding? Or get him a foot spa you can both use -(hint! so he can also perform foot massage for you). Or sign him up for a dance class? (I'm thinking of giving him that for V-day, so he can learn to salsa with me..yeah!)

Now so busy shopping for Xmas dat FH said next year he's going to take me & run away for Xmas. Heheheh! Until we get a breather again...cya!

Err...sorry for such a long post. Didn't realize until it's up. Think I'm like pouring out my heart to you darlin gals coz I've not been in the thread for a week. But u still love me right? hehehe

Hi ladies! Now that many of us have got the main vendors sorted, I can sense the topics slowly steering towards the finer details - color themes, cards... i like! :D

Bride, my colour theme quite similar to yours - probably going for champagne gold and ivory, perhaps with splash of dusty pink or sage green (not sure yet). For my m'sian dinner - the theme is oriental so will be red and gold!!! hahaha

I have also spent the past month working on my save the date/invitation card design. There are actually lots of websites around - just google 'wedding invitation' and you'll get lots of links. For starters, maybe you can try
www.finestationery.com
they have links to some of the big names in wedding invites. If you like classic types - can try carlson craft or crane's. One delightful website is
www.paper-girl.com
I got some inspiration from her for my 'oriental' theme invites.

Nicole, depending on how your design is, you can either go directly to printers or those card design shops like Cardblanche or Ola design. If you can put your design in a ready-to-print format, then printers might be cheaper. I have corresponded with Lynette from Ola design and she had been really patient and helpful. I was very particular about the colour of the paper I want and she even wanted to scan a few options to show me... but since I'm going back to S'pore next month, I think I'll just pop into her shop.

Hahaha.. I've been so obsessed with my card designing, I've got so much to talk about now. But hor, have to remind you girls that actually designing and printing your own cards will likely end up more expensive, not to mention extremely time-consuming. But of course, the plus side is that you will end up with something truly 'you' and can coordinate with the wedding theme well. Hope this helps!

Yah, i'm also having headache over the songs now. Have to find one main song for church walk-in and 2 more songs for 1st & 2nd walk-in for dinner. Plus some songs for video montage. At least 5 songs in total...

So far i've only shortlisted one!
Long way to go...

Lissa

Yah..the last outing..everyone want to talk...must take queue no. to talk one..kek kek kek...so you imagine you got...wenn, cecilia, yahoo, elsie and diana....to talk..er...iceglacier chatty meh??

<font color="0000ff">hi misty, thanks for the website links and your advise! I don't really understand why designing and printing our own cards will be more expensive leh? Care to explain?

Your theme's also gold and ivory eh? Ya, nice combi but must have a dash of colour or it's risk looking too bland.</font>

hmmm bride, are you intending to use the hotel cards and then print additional ones to make up the rest? I think the cost will depends on your design, the paper/cardstock and type of printing. Maybe the way I calculated for myself is different from your situation. Cos if I use the hotel card, then I will only need to pay for printing of the inserts, but now I'll need to print the cards as well as the inserts.
If you're comparing the cost between printing your own design versus buying a ready made card + print inserts, then the price may be comparable lor.... sorry if I confused you. However, ready made cards are usually produced in bulk so the cost price will be lower. In addition, you have to consider the set-up charges for customising your own design, so if you only print a small number, the price per card will be higher.

cuclainne,
my hotel is Holiday Inn Atrium.

Yup, stayign at Sengkang after my wedding =D.

Hi Li Wei,
Nope..my ROM was done last year.so 1st Jan just banquet lor...

U can use those box for the photostat paper. Just use a nice wrapper to wrap it and decor it with nice ribbon...Mayb u can go to Bugis, or those gift shop cos they do have the big gift box with the slit cut....

Wendy,
Thanks for your concern.. Leg getting better but now breaking out in rashes! Ah! I think I am allergic to the thing the Chinese sinseh put on my ankle!

Cat, ayh, i know I cannot overpower you and Diana lah. The 2 of you still QUEEN!

hi ffbear, my AD PG is Eugene of CL
i signed during the May open hse.. got promo b4 they increase their price to 1.5K... it's 12 hrs photography with 300 4R prints and all images return in CD.. not sure abt current price.. but will be good to chk out their open hse and sign during tt period to enjoy discount

hi summer! yap.. i saw from the main page.. mariott having big promo for banquet.. $688 per table but valid until 31st Mar.. me still ok.. been quite busy lately.. but not with wedding preps.. :"> next mth will go to BS to discuss gown designs hehe
u lei? shortlisting which venue liao? sorrie din track back the post.. cos really alot.. haha think 1 wk also cannot finish reading wat i miss out.. hehehe

hi Sweets, u very sweet
haha ur FH gg to bring u run away .. so nice

sushi

That is certainly something different - your favours, I mean. Have you printed the tags for them yet?

Charis

I had to do all the research and groundwork on my own and just report to FH cos he's not here. I must admit that sometimes I do get frustrated because it feels like he's not helping at all .. but he can't help it when he's not here. So I'm leaving the planning of the wedding dinner to him .. hehehe. Don't worry about it - I haven't catered my food either though I have decided on the caterer.

Li Wei

Hi hi! Wah .. 1st of Jan is not a long way off .. you must be excited yah!

Newbbi79

Ooh .. have you gotten your place already? Reno now? I'm renting a furnished place so I just have to move my stuff in .. hope to be able to do it over this weekend since FH will be coming next Wednesday. Argh! So many things to do but so little time .. hahahaha.

<font color="0000ff">hi misty, oooohh... i see
Thanks for the clarification. Yeah, I'll be using the hotel cards and adding inserts for the church wedding. But the hotel cards will only be given to the older folks and parents' friends. For our own friends and colleagues, we want to print separate cards. I'm not sure what the costs are... can you help? Like the cost of printing only vs the cost of design + printing? Maybe a rough estimation will do?</font>

I'm still working on the design for my tags, hopeful can get it done by end of this week. I plan to settle all the wedding stuffs by end of this mth so i will be able to relax all the way till my AD.

<font color="0077aa">hi bride

misty is correct...

may i also add that the price per card (design and print by shops) starts from abt S$2 per card.. for min of 100 cards...

i have enquired ard coz i printing my own invites for church and day recep...</font>

Idyll: No leh. Didn’t give Mr Lipstar any TLC. Gave him a card and bought him a wallet and going to buy him earphones.
Your platinum rings, wait until when?

EL: Wah! So extravagant! Buy new rings. I also want. (*HINT ! HINT* to Mr lipstar.) :p

<font color="0000ff">hi bsproffy, thanks for the cost input! Hmm... $2 per card must be for the most basic design right? Don't really want to waste money on the invitation cards, esp for the older folks who won't appreciate it or won't get our colour theme.</font>

Hi CSI,

Ya, sounds interesting to me but not going to do this lar....lazy....heee

Hi sweets....
** hug** **hug** we still luv u lar and miss u...hee
Ya lor, buy presents till i sian liao. Mayb this year will buy him a top man shirt cos we saw 1 yesterday and i receive a mailer this morning that top shop &amp; dorothy perkins will have 25% discount for suntec card members...isnt it killing 2 birds with wat stone???

Bride (novia) - agree with you cos sending out invitation cards is just a procedure and dun think they will appreciate it...

Girls,

Actually dun spend too much on the invitation card...Since the hotel is only providing 70% of the invitation cards, check it out with hotel how much more to pay cos I think they have already ordered in bulk and is cheaper...I rather use the money to plan for other things lor...hee hee...This is up to individuals lah, if you think you like it then go ahead - anyway, just giving comments only...dun be offended...

<font color="0077aa">bride

no lar.. S$2 can get quite a decent design.. kekeke..

but now dun need coz my bf will design.. we just need to find a good printer.. else, very siong.. coz other than invites, i still need program sheet for my church.. kekekek..

not sure abt your case, but i am quite excited to have church and lunch all catered to my theme... so def must design the cards and program sheet to reflect the theme.. hahahha

my fren took hotel cards for relatives and print her own cards for frens.. thats another alternative... good intro for frens to your theme</font>

Aiyo sweets darling....your post so long leh.....take me 15mins to read n think abt wht u've said....hahaha....but i love it!!! I went ACM the other day with my Fh at nite to hv a look at the scene at nite it was so beautiful....but guess wht?? my FH said it's too ex liao....so think we're picking another venue....*sign* never ending planning n arrangement

Harloooooo.....chomecc n nitestar......Harloooo.....you guys backs????? Missing you babes......

Bsproffy - how much did you pay for your solemnisation held at the church??? So you be having church wedding follow by a dinner, very tired hor...

Snowy - May i know what is your budget??? cos if you need a so called 1-stop service, at least S$3K+ - S$4K+...normal one will be S$2K+...

<font color="0000ff">hi bsproffy, I also like you!! Excited to have church and reception catered to my theme, flowers + invitation cards and program sheets too! heh heh! Will use inserts according to my theme and the hotel's cards together for the old folks and the rest will print our own. Actually, how many invitation cards do you need assuming you have about 400 guests ah?</font>

<font color="0077aa">sam

i am having my church wedding at SAM.. not using my church building.. not sure i will spend how much yet...

the holy matrimony is in the morning, followed by lunch.. then dinner at night..

actually, dun think will be tiring for me.. coz i not required to go to my IL place or my new home.. just from my home to church then to hotel.. so quite ok lar..

bride

wow, your church so big arh? hotel cards should be sufficient for all dinner guests.. eh, i will give 2 invites to pple attending both church and dinner... think the number of cards will be depending how your guest breakdown is.. family, couple, individual?? my church is capped at 120 and most are couples.. so prob only print 60 cards.. keekek, but will print more programs..</font>

cuclainne,
yup..reno completed this year April already =D.
so u bought your furnitrues yet?

ya lor, many things to be done...yours is still the beginning =D.

Seems that you all have everything done 7788 already. Have you change new notes for your ang bao? Do banks change the money for us?

Hi Cuclainne and Charis,
Welcome aboard. When are your AD? Hope that you can share with us your preparation!

another question for all. Can I have some suggestion. As I'm having my soleminsation before my dinner, is it advisable for me to attend with wedding gown or teadress?

Hi Ashlady,
So when will urs be ready? Pretty soon I guess.. Btw, i've settled for an ID from Classic Ideas..

Sheryl: I had my ROM dinner at Peony Jade on Sep and wanted to hold our banquet there. The food was pretty good.. But after some considerations, we decided to hold it at Club Chinois.. it might be within ur budget...

Hi Aiko &amp; Popie,

Must show me the photos if u can take during ur trying gowns. I will try to take photos too in 26Dec, if i can take... Hahhaha...

Aiyoh... i also dun look nice &amp; good on photos. Me not photographic one... But, i think tat all brides will look very nice on tat day &amp; PS wif make-up &amp; glow wif happiness mah... Agree?

cocoberry, your heels v glassy &amp; nice!!

ivyalex, saw ur pics in friendster. u &amp; ur hubby really got "FU QI XIANG"
U really "FU CHANG FU SUI"

sushi

Ahh... wouldn't that be nice - to be able to rest all the way to the AD? But I'm pretty sure that there will be some details that will inevitably sprung up and take us by surprise..

Newbbi79

We're using the furniture that is provided for us by the owner .. nice stuff so we're not buying any big items. But we're definitely buying some small cupboards and a desk for FH.

StarryNight

Hi hi. I'm getting married on 14 Jan but only having my dinner/ lunch in March.