(2006) Brides of year 2006

lywong

oh, ic...late march..hehe...
panpac price is nett. me oso hope can secure the pricing for 2005. but they didnt release the date for 2006 yet. I just scared by the time they release the date, price should have gone up again.

blur,
thanks...have a wonderful night today. where u holding ur ROM?

racherlle

ohh.. NETT then it's very worth it!

haii.. waiting waiting..
hmmm ya hopefully and pray hard that the price won't increase!

yamiyogurt

blur congrats on ur rom! me also trying to get david loh... i smsed him but no reply. maybe i try calling later, but if he got ten couples today then maybe he will off hp most of the time. mine is like 7 mths away but i scared he taken liaoz :p share with us ur ROM pics ya? :p:p:p

i haven decide on hotel yet. shortlisted hyatt, meritus mandarin, MC so far. haven been to see any of them so cant decide yet.

rach, i went to attend a rasa wedding recently. its at the pavillion ballroom. the ballroom is nice with floor to ceiling windows, but the ceiling is quite low. think u will know since u visited the place. Siloso ballroom is bigger but at basement with no view... the food is quite good though :p and hotel gave candles in a shotglass that ties nicely with the 'wedding by the sea' theme.

yamiyogurt

anyone know when will hotel usually open for 2006 booking? one yr in advance??

if these hotels keep increasing prices, my list of shortlisted hotels will jus keep shrinking and shrinking....

bugbear

HAhah...Yami...i have exactly the same sentiments as u!! I also very worried that my list will get shorter and shorter...hehhe...I trying to book early next yr...hopefully hotels will be opened for 06 bookings

So your ROM most likely to be at Merchant ar?? I still contemplating if i should ROM first, or together on AD...any suggestions??

racherlle

hi yami!
yup i loved the view at the pavillion too.. except that there are 3 pillars in there.. so kinda block the views.. i'm trying to arrange the tables in such a way that all can see the stage.. hmmm...
yup i love the wedding favour too..
very special rite???? so cute..

gals guess most hotels will open 2006 booking in early 2005...
hmmmm hopefully they will still allow us to keep 2005 pricing..

bug ah..
regarding abt whether to ROM first.. have to dpend on whether u need or not.. as for yami she has to ROM first coz of her home...

as for me i prefer to have both together.. more meaningful..

yamiyogurt

yah my rom most likely at merchant...will go n meet the coordinator soon. quite excited actually... treatin it as a 'mini celebration' before my AD :p

bugbear, it's realli up to u whether u wanna do both rom n AD together. it might be a little tiring to do separately n u have to spend more money actually. but if u rom-ed before ur AD, then ur AD will be a bit less packed. if not have to squeeze in soleminsation in between tea ceromony n banquet. but i heard of pple doing their soleminsation at the banquet itself too!
so its all up to u.

rach, if u thinking of having 22 tables, i think u might be able to arrange for all tables to have unblocked views. the dinner that i attended had 37 tables i think, so some tables got blocked by pillar.

once the major hotels open for 2006 booking, think we all will be scrmbling to book... bug, u decided on hotel yet??

racherlle

hi teddie!

where r u planning to hold ur AD???
hmmm
wow which hotel allows u to book already?
geee!!

hav u gotten ur love nest already?

lux

hi ya girls!!

How's everyone's planning...

Me also planning to ROM earlier somewhere august or something next year.. Ai yoh.. I really want to have the AD + ROM same day but something happened lah! Dammit HDB! I hate this whole HDB thingy .. simply co-erce us into getting married!!!!

Hmmm looks like got to standby and look for ROM venue ald.. *bummer* there goes the savings too..

Actually me think AD+ROM together better because less leh cheh! and of course the date is more meaningful if you asked me..

little_a

just one pt to note.. if u were to hold ur solemnisation on AD.. are u going to have ur tea ceremony after that? cos u arent officially married rite?

that's one of the reason why i am doing away with fetching of bride and gate crashing... intend to just meet my fiance in church and hold tea ceremony after the wedding mass.

lux

lil'ger

Does it matter? I think the old folks dont even bother abt that piece of registration paper if you asked me..

So I dont think that will be an issue to be truthful..

little_a

ling,

if ur parents dont mind then i think it shldnt be a prob..older generation might mind..

logically, tea ceremony is for the newly wed to offer tea to in-laws and relatives ("xi fu cha").. but if u were to have it prior to solemnisation... it defits the purpose..
also how do u intend to address the in-laws and relatives?? isn't it a bit weird? just a thot my frens gave to me when i planned my AD schedule.

lux

Hmmm put it this way... in the first place the older generation ald disregard the ROm ceremony.. Most old folks I know at least think ROM is something recognize by the government only and hmmm customary recognize by them..

thus.. Older folks probably wouldnt bother. but again that's my opinion only lah..

little_a

ling,

well if that's the case then i think it shldnt be a prob..

for my case i am not faced with this qn cos i am having church wedding... so not an issue for me. besides teochew custom doesnt have gate crashing...

racherlle

hi gals..
hmm regarding abt the tea ceremony..
i was tinking of having it in the hotel room prior to the wedding banquet.. shld be pretty fast and sweet rite??? hmmmm

dun have to be too complicated..
if really can't fit in the time.. i dun mind holding the tea ceremony first before my solemnization.. it's fine w me.. basically it depends on how u see urself as "married"

lywong

yupz agrd with Ling. I'm having my AD & Rom on the same day too..guess the ppl dun quite bother cert or tea comes first now..and i thinking if having the ROM during the banquet itself...there'll be hundreds over ppl be my witness..arent that great and memorable?

Hi joy, welcome..lets discuss our wedding together and make it a purrrfect one..=)

hi teddiebear,
which hotel did u book? when's ur wedding in 2006? OMG, they start release date liao ah.....must tell my FH liao...

little_a

nicnic,

yes... going with my fiance. dinner at the brazilian restaurant har? my fiance love the food.. and he was happy that i brought him there..

for me, i am not a big eater so was feeling very full and couldnt ask for 2nd helping..

little_a

nicnic,

thanks.. nice place..

we went chinese garden after the dinner... was so packed and i almost fainted.. can't stand heat and crowds.

kekeke, saw my fav pooh bear there... so happy and i took a photo of the pooh lantern.

cindeekoh

hey gers

ya the tea ceremony quite tricky...but bf said we can get more hong baos..cos both of us hvae lots of relatives mah...hehehe....so we having it after the church ceremony at his house...then dinner...every thing settle and get it over and done with

yamiyogurt

the older folks dun care whether u ROM already or not... it's a 'govt thing' to them heehee.

After rom i think i will still address future MIL as aunite. Only after tea ceromony then address her as mother....

hee, i will not skip the gatecrashing part cos v fun. in fatc it was the highlight of my fren's wedding recently. every1 had a v gd laugh at the banquet when the video of the morning events were played. the groom told us it's the most exciting part of the whole day

yamiyogurt

rach, u can have the tea ceromony in the hotel rm jus before the banquet, but then ur relatives will have to come one hour/half an hour earlier...depending on how many relatives coming from both sides. but that's a gd way on ensuring the banquet starts on time! :p

ling, HDB insist on seeing ur rom cert ah? hee...maybe u can join us in the rom in 2005 thread :p :p dun worry, rom can be budget budget too. now u need to tell GHA u will need to rent a dress from them for ROM.... Or u intend to ask kim to MTM for u ?

racherlle

hi yami!
tat was wat i'm intending too.. hehe
hmmmm.. still got 1 1/2 years more to go..
planplan..

oh ya gals i bought my cooker hood & hob yesterday! hehee.. ks hor.. but can't resist the 25% disc using the HSBC card.. so muz make full use! :p

lux

yami..

YES! I am coerce to get married now! Anyway it be next year! I so regret of getting the flat now.. they apparent change their mind! ARRGGGHHH and worse part of the story is FH in China... and dont have excess vacation time to come back. So now.. think the MP got to come in!

Anyway I was actually thinking of going to Kim or somebody to make a CS for the ROM leh.. than i can wear again during the wedding a few months later.. Where you intending for the ROM? Worse bit.. I think I wanna keep it simple as possible!

What about you? plan until where ald..

teddiebear

Hi Racherlle & KS Bride,

My wedding date is on the 1st Jan 2006. Will be holding the dinner in Hyatt... I believe hotel will actually let book if u pay based on the 2005 price.

teddie

lux

Bugbear,

Tell me about HDB man! I sent in the receipt and they suddenly say they cannot extend.. need to submit by DEC! We were shocked needless to say.. but anyhow FH called up the person in HDB.. told them it is impossible because of work commitment thus they allow us to defer for another 9 months.. geeze..

Hmm FH coming back for ROM but not sure when because need to get a date and stuff.. FH still racking his brain because he got this project going on and cannot afford the time to fly back.. PLUS.. our exams ard apr/may.. so hmmm waiting for him to sort out his work stuff..

AD is affirmitive 2006 lah... I think we will arrange it 8th lunar month or something. What about you? got a date for AD and stuff ald?

ME have to block out some hotels again.. not enough tables.. think Meritus Mandarin seems like the likely candidate ald.. sigh...

yamiyogurt

ling, me most prob will book MC for rom. i can forward u all the rom packages i have if u want for ref
HDB is like that one....v inflexible.... tat's y i have to rom next yr too. (actually i dun realli mind lah.. treat it as another party)

as for dress, i will go to kim if i havent sign up with any BS by Jan 05. If i signed up already, then can use the BS teadress. when i was at GHA, they showed me a few quite nice dresses that are suitable for rom :p

yamiyogurt

teddieBear,

u booked hyatt already? didnt know that it is already open for booking... wow, u chose a v "hot" date.

bugbear, u also interested in hyatt rite? made up ur mind yet?

ling, we might end up bookin the same hotel becos FH seems to like meritus mandarin the most.

lywong

yami
how much is MM package per table?

I oso hope to book early and take the 2005 price. Hotel always increase price evry yr, if dun take soon...wait price increase, my budget oso expanded!

Ask u gals,
If i book the hotel package for 2006 with the 2005 package, then later part, they suddenly got a new package which had better perks and price lower, can I switch to that new package?

cutepigs

another question... what do they mean when they say attire is elegant casual? I am attending a bridal show at a hotel but does not know what is the proper dress code for guy and lady.

Can someone please advise?

yamiyogurt

KS, i emailed u the package already
it was from cindee originally. :p

i dun think u can switch if they come up with more perks.... but i dun think the prices will go down...hotel prices on go oneway (i.e UP)

lywong

yami, the one u send me is for MM 2005 package? if yes, then nicnic, you dun have to send.
If no,
Thanks nic & yami

cutepig,
what a term to define the dress code..anyway, think dun wear too casual like bermudas and t-shirt lor..mayb jeans and polo-t shld be fine?...

I didnt go before bridal show yet, mayb others can give better comments...but I dun think i will overdress just to go see bridal show..=)

lux

yami.. want leh.. forward to me whatever you have...think got to do homework for the rom thing liao.. *headache* what make you choose MC? anything special? Anyway you went to white link ald? ME maybe got to ask Jesline abt the teadress liao..

HDB Being inflexible is one thing.. but to change your stance later when you agree to the deferment is another... now FH not in Singapore mah.. so a bit.. 'I-got-to-handle-everything' burden. Stupid HDB! I should have gotten a condo instead!!

Ya huh.. when you going to see Kim.. must let me know.. looks like i got to go on diet earlier than expected! me dont like to have the ROM first because very leh cheh and waste money =P...

Anyway have you guys for company I guess not that bad lah..

lux

cindee..

mine is a new flat in 'ulu' punggol *heee*.. got it at last year DEC WIS.. We got the keys in something like Feb.. but we got to compromise with HDB.. the last time we spoke to HDB yesterday we can submit the cert in Mid 2005.. FH comtemplating to register a date at 2005 for something in August or something. so will buy us some time..

If is new.. you can at least defer for a bit.. but a resale I have heard the chance is literally zero

cutepigs

a few other questions...

what to bargain for or what questions to ask when booking a bridal package?

and what to bargain for when booking for a wedding banquet package?

cindeekoh

sighz...we eyeing at resale...sighz...wanted to get it in june so got enuf time to reno and get furniture....looks like we can only start looking in june then.

let me clarify...we hv to produce the cert within 3 mths of getting the keys rite?

racherlle

hi cutepigs!

hmmm for bridal package & wedding banquet.. it's better to wait and see whether they have any wedding shows ard.. then u can get a better package.. with all the perks..