(2006) Brides of year 2006

lywong

waa, David Loh was booked all the way till dec2005??!! I will call him once I really fix my AD date..hai...hopefully 11/11/2006 is a good date!

Blur,
can send me ur pics see see too?

cutepigs

Just wondering... does anyone know where to find "shifu" to pick a good date?
Heard bugis si ma lu guanyin temple around there got a few, but don't know where.

Can anyone enlighten me?

preci0usm0ments

ling & ksbride, u've got mail

preci0usm0ments

racherlle, mine is at 5pm but i think abit too early leh.. sun sets ard 7... i've got to wait a little longer for photoshoot, by then makeup melt liao

racherlle

hi blur..
hmmm.. okie..
tink i will set it at ard 6-6.30pm.. shld b ok rite? hehe..
hmm but u still look great!

then blur ah.. when are u planning for ur AD???
at where?????

lywong

good morning gals!

Reach office today at 6am! bet most of u are still slping.

Yaa i oso wana ask, where to find a good geomancer to help calculate date for 2006??

Racherl,
u called David Loh already?

little_a

ksbride,
u should go to you long zi at geylang. he is able to calculate a date for you without the latest tongshu. he charges $250 for that i think.

i din go to him cos my mom knows how to do it and she gave me the date.

preci0usm0ments

racherlle, i dun have any ideal place for AD yet.. will b starting my search end of the yr

if u start at 6pm should b fine..yours will b at sentosa rite??

lywong

blur,
some geomancer no need tong shu oso can calculate based on the chinese birthdate and time of birth of both u and ur FH. But i duno where to go find one leh..if were to spent $100 ovr to ask a date, think i'll just proceed to my own date liao..

I wanted it on 11/11/2006. just wish to find out if this date is suitable for wedding..No need must be a extreme good date wan...as long as its okie, then I can start book JP and hotel already...

preci0usm0ments

huh? is it? i thought must wait for tong shu.. no wonder most of the time hotel fully book liao but tong shu jus out...

ksbride, which hotel u booking?

littleger~ do you have the address to the one u mentioned? can we go find them in the evening? or weekends?

lywong

yupz, think somewhere in this forum got a ppl mention abt alot of place for geomancer wan..Mayb later i go search..

yaa, tongshu for 2006 oni be out usually ard mid 2005. so by the time see tongshu, highly chance ur hotel already book liao. So I intend quickly fix a date, then when the hotel release the 2006, I'll book the date liao..

I'm aiming Pan Pac. But will go tok with the coordinator first before signing up.still possible of changing my venue

racherlle

wow gals!
u all are early birds ah!!

heheee

ks ah.. i've not called David Loh yet..
feels that its still too early.. maybe will call him in early nxt year..

blur ah...
yup.. i'm planning to hold it in sentosa..
still tinking of which venue....hehe still can't decide even after visiting the 2 sites and their wedding planners.. sighhh.. ehhe

basically i'm waiting to see whether there's any wedding show coming for both hotels..

gals can't really help in the dates part.. coz basically both my FH and I just chose the date that we wanted.. didn't really go and consult any geomancer..

nicnic

me either take holiday inn park view or intercon.
as for e dates my colleague told we can actually go 2 kwan yin temple @ bugis n check juz gif an hongbao as a token will do if nt go 2 e flat opp kwan yin temple there 2nd level there is 1 specially help to calculate dates.

cutepigs

just like to find out if anyone is familiar with what to prepare for guo da li is the groom side is teochew and bride side is hakka?

yamiyogurt

cutepigs,
think u can search the threads for more details on guo da li n the different customs... i remember seeing them.

here's a list that someone sent to me re guo da li preparation...not sure which dialect gp it's for....
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
a
Copy of Wedding_prep-original-107691.xls (23.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

lux

blur,

Received the pictures.. I like the way the hubby is dressed! Casual!! I was thinking of doing it super casual effect as well..

thanks for the idea.. however 3k like a lot huh!

Wanna ask you abt the altivo thingy .. because I am appointed decorater suddenly instead of guest (-_-;)

Did you add flowers and stuff to the site? just to stir some atmosphere? I thought of using candles but I have never been to ALtivo during day time.. so no idea if the effect be.. hmm you know.. like nothing..

Any ideas is deepply appreciated.. oh.. and she requested for flowers at every table so I am thinking of doing a small vase at at least 10 tables.. sprinkle some rose petals on the table..

preci0usm0ments

hiya ling~ thanks for your comments, hubby was thinking he's nice very well dressed cause the outfit made him looks lagi skinny..

wah.. coordinator ah.. so fun
the event will b at day time?? i think you would need lots of flowers to make it a nice place, cause jus rental of place if very dull..
will she b using the tables provided at altivo? cause that table will b super small, like those used at starbucks.. so maybe vases will make it even more cramp.. altivo will provide candles.. so it's romantic enough
maybe you would like to consider rose petals? scatter lots of it, surround the candles.. and the 2 stairway up..

i think it's better for you to make a trip there to have a brief idea of how you would like it to b

start by choose a color theme will make things easier

lux

blur,

Anyway I think your dress was very nice as well.. Does it happen to be a knee length or full? I thought it really suit the mood. I was telling my frd that she should be wearing like you guys to get the full effect.. I mean easier to move ard and is really fitting for the mood..Romantic =)

Ya loh using the altivo tables.. worse deal right! But I thinking of using crepe paper to make skirting for the tables or something.. She wants flowers on every table lah.. so got to make a SMALL display somehow I guess...Altivo provide candles at where?

Ya going to make mental notes whe I go down to Altivo the next time... for the record I feel like I am working in an event company because I have co-ordinate 2 Hen nights and this coming ROM all within 2 months!

thanks for the tips!!

Yami... how your venue for ROM choose liao or not?

felicity

can i join in? my ad got bumped to 2006. was previously supposed to be in 2005...so now migrating from the 2005 thread...

cindeekoh

hello welcome....

considering the fact that you were actually planning for next yr...that means you have most of yr details finalized alreadi rite??

felicity

cindee
nope. we stalled and did nothing the past mths - reason why we have to postpone.

now we only start looking for hse. find it very tiring to look at hse after hse.
have you got yr hse settled yet?

yamiyogurt

hi gals...

ling, i gog to meet MC coordinator end Oct. if the date is available, i will book MC for rom then.

to kaypo a bit on the venue decor that u r supposed to do at altivo, i was thinking u can place strawberry, cherry or flowers in a champagne glass as a table 'centre piece'. depends on what the colour theme is....if it is green, then place lemon grass in the glass. n then tie the glasses with ribbons like this:

168311.jpg

felicity

yami
we looking for resale 2ndary mkt.
we not looking at hdb cos we cannot buy direct due to citizenship issue.
have you got yr hse already? where and what did you buy? any advice?

yamiyogurt

anna,

i got my place already, i bought an EC at pasir ris.
actually i didnt do a lot of house hunting... both me n FH wanted to stay in Tamp/Pasir Ris area, so we only look within this area. then we went to whitewater showroom n fell in love with the place so we bought it :p

to narrow down ur search maybe u need to list down the criteria u want. e.g. near MRT, certain facing, or newly renovated...this can help u narrow down the number of houses u visit. if dun meet ur criteria then no need to go view.

if u dun want to spend a lot on reno, make sure the flooring of the place u r gettin is in gd condition. hacking flooring is costly... hope the above helps...happi searching for the perfect home

preci0usm0ments

ling, thanks for the compliment
will let my designer know hehe think he'll float and hit roof-top already.. my frens were quite stunned that day too.. cause me usually wear shorts and slipper with no makeup to cover my lobangs

err..reason y hubby dressed up like tat cause he more of sporty person, cannot wear smart shirt and pants, will look very funny.. and we wanted a more easy atmosphere loh...

candles will be placed on each tables.. so i think if your fren wanna put flower on table hor, like very weird leh.. but without the candles on the tables, might b abit too dark? if not, maybe you can put the candles along the staircase up the upper deck?

one the abt altivo is, the toliet not accessible leh.. got to go down the long steps, then climb up again to return.. nearly roll down cause me short-sighted and can't put on contacts, so see things blur blur hehehe jus like my nick

i think yami's suggestion nice! will b able to bring more colors to the venue...can give it a try

lux

Yami.. Goodies idea!! but how to put lemon grass... she actually love yellow so she asked me to do something yellow theme .. I was hmmm!! so what do you suggest to do with yellow theme? I was thinking of putting up balloons... choose like 2 colour to make it grand! but kiddish or not?

Blur, ask you about champagne glasses?Does Altivo provide? I thought they dont actually! but the ribbon idea super nice! Thansk Yami!!

Line the stair case with candles also sound nice.. but will stain their stairs or not? later i got to stay back and help Altivo scrub the floor *faint* and if we have a guest like Blur... and kick the candle with the lighter fluid or something.. I am too going to die young! hehe

Anyway blur of course is your ROM dont expect you to go out in shorts still right! Anyway like you me also spent my weekends in bermudas and slippers! hehehehehe... maybe an easy affair is more suitable for people like us.. too lazy to do up!! heh!

Thanks girls and any ideas please feed me... racking my brains over this!

la_la

GALS..

Can i join in???

regarding you long zi..i just went to him yest becos i wanted a date in 2005 initially..but due to some clashes, have to delay till 2006.

He is not able to give us a date for 2006 yet as tong shu not out. Earliest possible is this yr end. He quote to me S$120.00. Yest we din get a date, thus he din charge a cent..

lux

lala..anna..

just feel free to stick your foot in any conversation we are having..

Regarding the dates.. I got a geomancer to see the house and to draft date for ROM and AD *although I am still upset that I cannot do the 2 together due to the stupid HDB* . MAybe you can get YU long zi to see the fengshui of the house as well.. see how much is a package mah... heheh..

felicity

yami
you are right we need to narrow down but since we just started still quite a bit to see. we have narrow down to the west area. looking for more quiet and peaceful area. not near mrt or amenities. funny hor?

the ec nowadays very attractive. i went to see quintet. how much loan did you take for the ec? i hear that can get 80% but then i think is quite a lot of loan to take though...i kind of scare of loan? do you feel that way too?

ling
<wave>

cindeekoh

hi anna

went to see quintet too...but bf was unwilling to pay for the price...cos he said hdb cheaper...it took me a long while b4 i am willing to settle for hdb...hehehe...

we also looking at resale...aiming simei...cos near amore then can go exercise often...hahaha...then again have to wait for posting of school...if kena posted to the west then will get a plc in the west loh

you ROM already? me have not ROM...gonna be same day as AD, so also having quite a lot of headache in terms of when to sign for the house.