(2006) Brides of year 2006

little_a

nicnic, yes... its Friday..

cutepigs

I am starting to prepare for my wedding in 2006.
It will be a church wedding followed by a wedding banquet.

Would appreciate any advise on all the experienced ones such as how to start preparation, what to look for.

And does anyone have the budgeting spreadsheet so that I can know how much to save for before going out and source, else very malu if not enough money.

And if anyone has tips for the wedding preparation or anything recommendations or lobangs such as brial shop, wedding banquet etc please advise!

So far from what I read about the forum, it seems that SanMike Bridal is a good choice. What other bridal shops are recommended?

And as for hotels... still don't know which to choose from.

Once again, any advice or help or tips are greatly appreciated

nicnic

little_ger,
ponnie hsu gotta go her shop if i m nt mistaken actualli i haf engaged sandy ho bt my colleague said veri dangerous coz she will be gg for delivering soon. tat y me a bit scare scare.

yamiyogurt

hi cute pigs...

there is a lot of things u can do. for a start maybe draw up a budget... just start with a simple listing of all the costs u can forsee - e.g BS, banquet, bouquet, photgrapher, church rental, venue decor etc etc... then have a column for estimated cost (get some quotations) and another column for actual cost. U can also have savings section to track ur savings and match against ur expected expenditure.

bridal studio wise, there are brides here that signed up with flamingo, Golden horse awards, Divine courture, santiago, silver lining.... if interested, u can just post ur qns here...think the brides will be happy to ans.

hotel wise, i believe only litter ger confirmed intercontinental. (her wedding is 2005). and cindee having a fairy tale garden wedding. the rest of us still considering..... maybe u can estimate the number of guest first and then narrow down to a few choice.

aiyo v long winded ah...

cutepigs

I seen in other threads that there is a budgeting spreadsheet by those who had their wedding that listed the little little things. Was hoping someone could email me a copy.

As for bridal shops, I shortlisted SanMike, Irene, Divine (though i think divine package is real steep) and jawn happy ever after.

Btw can someone please advise what is the min. savings i should have first?

As for dinner, don't know leh. Maybe around 15-25 tables.

Very frustratred... so many things...

Actually i would like to looking at divine's first but the package is really steep....

lywong

Hi cutepigs,
Savings depends on how grand you want ur wedding to be. $$ varies from BS you choose, banquet (hotel or resturant), number of tables you have, etc..

Think to play save, Min at least $30K lor.
So ur wedding is also in 2006?

Welcome to the Big Family of this thread =)

yami,
you going for the GHA bridal show? U already decided this BS ah? Due to budget constraints, think I shall shorten my BS list. Now deciding btw Flamingo and GHA..

cutepigs

Yah

I am planning my wedding to be in 2006. So KSBride, you been to Flamingo and GHA? how are their package like? and their services? can comment?

cutepigs

oops just realised that this year is 2004. So i should be planning for 2005 instead. Haha

Think i will move over to the 2005 thread

Thanks for all your advices

yamiyogurt

ha... cutepigs actually got her wedding year wrong

ksbride, me haven decided on BS yet. but i kind of like GHA n the pple i saw there seems reasonably nice. they didnt hard sell.... if not i will nv walk in again. i hate being pressurised, (asif work stress isnt enuff. i dun need pple to push me into buying stuff)

i am going to the GHA show... but haven sign up yet
me also interested in whitelink, but haven got time to go to their showroom yet

cutepigs

haiz
the people over the other thread not helpful at all one. no one even bother to reply my questions.

think this thread is much better
people are much friendlier. so i think better stick around here. :p hope you people don't mind

racherlle

hi cutepigs!

welcome to this thread!
it's fine w us.. no matter which year u r getting married.. this thread is actually for all brides-to-be to share information!

feel free to ask anyting.. i'm sure everyone of us here would be glad to help u..

as for the savings part..
agree w KS tat the min shld be ard 30k..
juz plan within ur budget u shld be fine..

have u gotten ur home yet?????

racherlle

yami..
i went past whitelink in Marina yesterday.. hmmm they have quite nice gowns.. but i'm not too sure abt their packages..

all i know is that whitelink provides overseas PS if u gals are interested..
my colleague's sister juz went over to korea for her PS.. tink she paid ard 4k plus in all...

cutepigs

nah we not planning to get a home yet.

anyway which is better? SanMike or Silhouette. These are the 2 BS that i am currently considering and will be making appointments with them soon. will like to hear some comments on their work/ services before going down

cindeekoh

hey gers

gonna try out gowns this coming thurs...bridal concept at marina square...yet to sign...gonna neg somemore b4 signing...so exciting

welcome cutepigs...hehehe...pig is my fav animal...i collected pig toys and figurines...hehehe

lywong

Gdnoon gals,
racherl,
the 4K+ include everything from oveseas PS to gowns, album, makeup, etc?? Or its only for the overseas PS?

Cutepigs,
I'vr got no idea of SanMike or Silhouette. Hmm..mayb the other gals can help. =)

Yami,
Me oso dun like hard-sell.sometimes walk pass those wedding sales-person in shopping centre, so scared get pull by them and seat there for hrs. Glad u say GHA doesnt force ppl to sign up...heard Flamingo oso doenst do that. Shall go take a look at these 2 shops.

Cindee,
update us more on bridal concept when you went there...=)

racherlle

hi cutepigs!
i've got no idea of SanMike and Silhoutte too.. sorrie can't help much!

ksbride ah..
hmm i tink the 4k does not include the airtickets to korea.. u have to pay urself.. but itcludes the overseas ps.. have to double check with my colleague..

oh ya btw i feel that flamingo is nice too!
i like the way Jacelyn Tay is made up for her wedding on the 9pm show that juz ended.. i love her hairdo and her flower bouquet!

will definitely go Flamingo for a try too!

cindeekoh

hi gers

oh the dress tt Jacelyn tay wore the other day was from flamingo?? quite nice lei...

KS
will surely update you gers...but me having a hard time deciding on the design i wan...i wan something diff but not too outrageous...have been flipping thru magazines but sighz...i kept changing my mind...hehehe...hoping to show BC what i have in mind on thurs so they can check with their designer if they can get it done for me...wanted bustier but everyone seems to be wearing it lei...then so common...halter bf said it covers my collar bone which is nice...wanted chinese collar but he said it will make my neck look shorter...dun wan straps cos it make my arms look big...so in the end still bustier...sighz...

lywong

morning gals!

hmmm, looks like TCS actress gown always got from Flamingo. That time the Happy Fish show, that Zeng Shi Mei's gown oso from flamingo..Flamingo quite success in doing advertising....

Cindee,
yaa me oso hoping for something more different, bustier so common..anyway, I still no rush into gowns yet..still got 2yrs+ for me..shall see how then...=). Now main concern is just hoping HDB release more BTO/WIS flats...

cindeekoh

hello bugbear

where hv u been manz?? guess a lot of us are neither here nor there in the planning...hehee...too many wonderful ideas than all dun know where to start ...

cutepigs
both are fine...if u found a venue then u better book loh..cos the charges go up every yr...and also popular venues will be taken up faster...some more than 2 yrs in advance...so it all depends..as for BS, if you found one that you like, then no harm booking also...think as long it is some 10 mths in advance can liao...so all the best

lywong

hi bugbear,
finally see u back to this forum again...hehe...

cutepigs,
i think venue is more impt coz if the date u choose is a hot date, high chance the hotel u choose will be booked by ppl already. And one hotel, one ballroom, one date, only one couple can have it...so u got to act fast..

For BS, many months before you sign up with the shop, its still ok as long as they can MTM ur gown in time and take the PS can liao. Some BS have a 5-10yrs warranty, so if u wan book the BS early its not a prob and the price still remain the same at the point u sign up with them.

I intending to start book my desire hotel once they open the date for 2006. Hehe...just to secure a venue,then at least I'm done with one thing off my list. =). Then I'll move on to my desired BS...Flamingo or GHA...

yamiyogurt

hihi gals, gald to see everyone back :p

i finally decided on my rom date
i asked my future MIL to look thru the tong shu for a good date and she actually went to a geomancer with our 'eight characters' and all. told her rom dun need, but when she made 'booking' already. :p Anyway it's the 1st of May. Original intention was Apr but crashes with Qing Ming. Just hope i can get the venue (most likely to be merchant court) & JP. (trying for david loh) btw, u gals got lobang for JP ?

cutepigs,
i agree with ksbrice n cindee, u better book venure first, esp since ur wedding is next year. will u be going to a geomancer? if yes, it's time u consult him/her. if u or ur parents dun believe in these things, then easier for you cos more selections of dates.
and yah start drawing up a tentative guest list, it helps in narrowing down the hotel choices.

as for gown designs, my FH always commented that he likes bustier... and actually i like it too though it's quite common. but we have 1 yera plus to consider !

Cindee, her world brides featured this gal looking for her perfect gown from silouette. her final choice seems to be special n yet not too outrageous.... u might like it. :p

lywong

yami,
ur ROM and AD on the same date ah??1st May 2005/2006? is ROM or AD? Where did ur MIL went to look for that geomancer?
My JP i oso intended for David Loh.better book him fast before the date u want got other ppl book liao.

yamiyogurt

ksbride, i rom first in 2005. then AD in 2006.
must save up for AD, 2005 too soon for me :p
my MIL actually went to Msia to ask, she went there to visit some relatives, then they went to see the geomancer. So i guess next year they will go to the same person for my AD date.

i sms david loh but no response. maybe will call him tomorrow.

yamiyogurt

cindee,

it's actually female brides...pai sey remember wrongly. from page 110-115. my scanner not working, if not i can scan. u dun have to buy the whole mag.

racherlle

hi cutepig!

i also agree with the rest of the gals that the venue shld be booked first..

BS u can take ur time.. dun really have to rush for it..

gals have u all selected the hotels u wan???? ks ah.. which hotel r u looking at??? since u say u wan to book the min they open up for booking for 2006.. hehe

yami.. i'm also trying to get David Loh.. hmmm wahh u gals having ur AD in late 2006 rite? hmm mine is earlier part of the year in 2006.. have not called him yet too.. better give him a call soon...

preci0usm0ments

wow~ seems like David Loh is really a hot favourite hor
i'll b having him to do my rom later today, will update you gers on how he is okie?
but i think it's good to b ks to book him soon.. i think he's fully taken today.. mine is at 5 and he's got another one right after that.. think he got abt 10 couples today?

racherlle

hi blur!
u r having ur ROM today?
where r u holding it? wahh muz b real excited!
geee!!

best wishes!

thanks for keeping us updated on David Loh!

preci0usm0ments

hiya racherlle~ thanks
think it's better to book him early loh.. cause quite a few others got prob contacting him.. but i know once we book him, he'll take note, and just got to give him reminder/confirmation call when date nears
hope this helps~

racherlle

blur..
i'm planning my AD & ROM in 2006..
wonder whether is it too early to book him now?
hmmmm
any idea whether he is available for booking in 2006 already?

lywong

Congrats Blur on ur ROM today. show us the pic if u dun mind..=)

racherl,
think I might still go ahead with panpac..tho rasa is oso my choice, but think of the transport wise, might not be convi for my relative especially I got guest with wheelchair..but saw from panpac thread they just chge a new grp of coordinators..worried too..but some just fini their AD, say it was great..hai..dilema!
If u going call David Loh today, can help me ask too if its possible book him for ard nov 2006??wonder am i really too KS...hehe...

racherlle

hi ks..
yup i'm waiting for blur to check with him & get back to me..
coz i dun wan to call him too early.. haha later paisay.. :p like so ks like tat.. keke

ohh u r deciding on panpac ah.. hmm shld be a gd choice..
hw many tables are u planning???
so r u going ahead with ur date in November???

me waiting for rasa wedding show.. but dun tink they will have any in November this year.. coz still no news from the co-ordinator yet.. have to wait til march nxt year then..

lywong

hi racherl,
I'm planning abt 28 now..tho panpac min is 30 for wkend..but see can discuss with the coordinator anot lor..

I'm oso waiting for panpac show, but dun seems to have any yet..and i heard the thread saying panpac next yr might increase more themes for the ballroom..so will go enquire more first.

I still wana hold in Nov, but my bf just told me he feel like carrying forward to March (my bday)..but i think Nov might be a better date coz we started together in Nov..then oso more time to save more $$ and preparation

btw, did u ask a geomancer abt ur date? or u just go ahead? I dun feel like asking one coz if they say this date no good, then i sian 1/2 liao..but my mum wants me to consult someone to calculate the date..

racherlle

hi ks!
hmmm short of 2 tables shld be fine..

so dun worrie too much.. shld be able to negotiate..
wat's the pricing for pan pac like??

heee.. ur bd is in march? mine too!

nope i didn't ask geomancer abt the date.. the date that we have chosen is the date that we started dating together too!
it's on a Sunday..
hmm both of us not really into geomancer thingy so as long as we r happy w it.. it's fine for both of us.. coz we really wanted our ROM & AD to be on tat date..

lywong

oh...so qiao...u are oso a pieces?

yaa i oso hope our AD,ROM can be the date we started together..but that date happen to be a sunday in 2006. and we wanted our wedding on sat.hence, we carry forward one day instead.

Panpac now pricing is $778 for wkend ocean ballroom. think next yr sure increase price coz they going reno the place..just hope dun increase tremendously lor..sian..everyr price for BS/hotel oni increase and increase...hai...

preci0usm0ments

hiya~ dun worry~ i'll help u all to ask later tonight
err.. but maybe got to wait till friday then i update you hor.. cause after tat i go chalet

photos should also b ready by that time

racherlle

hi ks!

nope i'm an aries! hehe.. late march!

ohh okie.. so panpac pricing is NETT or muz plus +++??? hmmm quite ok leh.. the pricing..
yaaa nxt year sure increase.. in fact 2005 prices are up already mah.. haii.. i was hoping to secure 2005 prices.. dunno whether can or not.. tat's y i dun mind booking earlier...
but no wedding show leh.. at the moment..
i'm planning for ard 23 tables.. or if possible 22..