(2006) Brides of year 2006

clouds_54

Hi maez/Van

Yup, my reno got held up too. Now a bit gan cheong liao. Dunno if can finish before the start of 7th month. Our parents sure nag like siao.

Hi Apple - we ordered our mattress from Taka. Serta has a showroom at marina square. They hv more variety there actually. Go chk the models out.

Princess - you got mail

flipfreak

we shld be using just one design for the invites because in case, there was any mistake, we can just use the same design. the printing will be paid by the hotel at their printer. dunno hw good they are though. haha. but who cares as long as they are free.

i dunno hw much to get from the hotel. they were supposed to give only 60% of the no. of ppl but i think its not enough.

my food tasting is this thurs. hope nothing goes wrong.

vaax

Thanks maez, will go to NLB to find the copy and if I do will let you know the details.
Hey no worries Panda
She's my good fren and yeah I love her to bits.. she'll be in my sisterhood!
Oh yeah I went to a wedding on Sat and honestly, what I learnt from the wedding is that during a buffet reception, don't expect to get people's attention! Everyone is just busy doing their own catching up and they don't really want a program.
Oh yeah, anyone using Ola design for wedding invitations?

stepford

Hi designfreak, thanks for the sample insert! Too many chinese words. I'm having a headache just reading them. (#_#)

BTW, what do we need to buy for GDL?

tingz

Diana, ya lar u didn't go i also dun wanna go liow lor, will miss u ma :p haha. ur food tasting is 1mth before ah, will be too rush? cos for me, we wan to use the food tasting for both side to discuss the traditional thingy, so we arrange earlier + we also haven't see the invites so thinking of one shot settle all, sentosa not so convenient ma :p

Not bad liow la, at least u get back some, not so heart pain. ya must buy 4D, buy marriage cert no., BS reciept no., flat unit no. everything also must buy, hope to strike before wedding, then can go for further HM!!! hahaha The last few match i didn't bet liow, cos hor keep losing, so wait for hb to win then i tax him better, hahaha. anyway i bet also bet small small one. so bo ba one.

xfiles_wolvie

ribbons-thanks...hehe..no rain for the whole day..yeah..heheh

princess-thank u..did enjoy..so fun..

pandali-hahaha gd term. Da-family. hahaha. okok...

maez-okok...tell us hw is it after the food tasting..hehe..u intending to change the menu?

yuki-yeah great weather..hahaha so shiok...get ready for ur PS k? dun kan jiong like me. hahaha.

ok heres the update of our PS (summarise version, will put up my site soon). hehee

although i dun really like how the BS always said "ok but..." i like the way my photog does things. I told him i wanted poster pattern and postcard pattern shots. he said ok.

we reach the place at 815am. VERY KS. hahah appt at 9am. we went up at 9am. there are 2 couples including us but heng there are 2 photogs. i tot my photog is gog to tke photos for 2 couples. scared me. hehe

da wife do make up, while me read newspapers. haha. very common right? its the mua who wanted me to read newspapers. i intend to look at hw she do MU for da wife. haha. maybe she felt quesy on me looking at how she do. fin reading the papers for that day. still not done. WAHpiang. eheh. so she still do till ard 1030 or so then my turn. my done within 15mins.

we went on to shoot photos. had 2 white gowns. 1 is wat i nick-named as princess-look and the other is see-through. i was in grey suit. then come evening gown and change MU & hairstyle again. the fusion red black gown. i wore black suit. oh yeah. that evening gown with the hairdo and MU on da wife. make her become in between beautiful and gorgeous. hehe. i like. hiakhiak. then change to customary costumes. kua on da wife looks cute. no kua shoes yet so nvr wear. my chinese costumes is so weird. gold with red. yeee.. hehe.

we din have any plain clothes indoor. so after all the above 2 white gowns, 1 kua, 1 evening, and lunch (@ around 2pm), we went out at ard 430pm. sigh really at that timing. the cab is actually MAXI CAB. not merc. i give wrong infor previously. hehe. those van CABs. bigger spacious. yeah. $30/hr is worth it. told my photog i wanna merged the routes he suggested. he said will try to accomodate my request. so in the end we did it. hehe.

Marina south, taneh merah (lallang), sentosa.

Yeah. i got my lallang as well. the weather is so perfect. wind are strong. but poky ground at lallang. da wife gt poke a few times. me also. hehe.

so all in all, it was very fun. FUN FUN FUN. pose in cool poses and enjoy it with da wife. hehe. we got back to BS from sentosa, pay the instalment again 30% of it, and took the same MAXI cab home to our lovenest. paid $105 for the cab of 3.5hrs, and $50 for 2 tubes of ampeal. both on the spot.

So for all of u who have yet to go for PS. enjoy it to the max.

P.S: the water for outdr our bs gt provide, fan gt bring but din use, da wife only wear the slippers and walk ard. other than that, din use anything else that we brought for outdr.

yuki31

princess - yap yap my PS is tmr .....wow so excited ...cant sleep last night ...hope to have a good nite rest today ..keke :p u mean Taka Level 2? but if not Serta, can Andrew get it for us?

panda, maez - thanks will have a good rest tonite :p it was raining yst n today ... hope tmr will be a fine weather

clouds - no lah coz i havent finalized my gowns for AD. I told them that the WG n EG still not what I expect for AD so when they have new arrival i can choose again until i cfm my gown.... I saw a new imported WG with embioriy which i like a lot ... I asked them if i can use it for AD n PS ...they say let me know tmr
at the moment, i have 1 WG, 2 EG, 1 outdoor gown and 2 traditional which i plan to take Japan style n spanish ...

apple - i shld be taking Serta frm Taka ... they have a showroom at Marina Square ...u can pop by to have a look

apple - i shld be getting Seta frm

yuki31

Da MAn - wow u rch BS so early ......keke :p then u took breakfast before going up? my appt at 9am too but my FH say go early bettter in case jam on the road ... keke :p so glad u n Da Wife had so much fun for PS ...hope mine is the same n good weather ...keke :p my PG ask me to wear slipper as well, he say easier to move ard n not so tiring ....if needed then i chg to my heels
i planning to go sentosa, mount faver n bird park ....tmr will cfm again ...haha

flipfreak

hi stepford. wads ur dialect group? but u will definitely need the candles. other stuff will depend already. for me, i need oranges, liquor, etc etc. but luckily my mom and mil are preparing them.

stepford

Oh! I thought we can buy the same stuff. Never knew it would vary depdng on dialect group. BTW, I'm Hainanese and hubby is Hokkien. Do you by and chance know where's the difference in GDL items? Do we also discuss the dowry over food tasting session or before that?

angeldust

gd afternoon all..

Daman - glad u had a fun PS.. wow.. da wife was between beuatiful & gorgeous.. man.. i really gotta see leh..i tell hubby i come between ugly and adorable.. then he said.. cute. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA..

Yuki - have fun tomolo!!!

kar

wow... many ppl not goin? will e outing still be on?

Elsie, u did yr PS on sat? i did mine on sat and the weather was super warm! we sweated like mad, so hope the pics will not be too obvious on our sweat. haha. But PS was fun hor? we enjoyed ourselves!

yuki31

angel - thanks ...juz saw weather forecast say tmr will rain with thunder ..so upset ...any suggestion for indoor location in case it rain? i think of SAM only leh...

anyone can help help??

flipfreak

hi stepford. you probably would want to follow the hainanese method and culture for the wedding then. for me, the wife is a teochew so we are following the teochew customs. i believe there are some hainanese weddings being discussed in the forum. u can do a search for it and see how they do it. i dun have much hainanese friends to ask abt it. haha.

xfiles_wolvie

yuki-ya eaten ya kun bread at tanjong pagar there. hehe. wish u good luck for a gd weather tmr. wah sentosa (south) mouth faber (south) and bird park (north west)? wat time are u able to lve the bs for outdr? hmm. indoor other than SAM u can go to EXPO internally? or go to chinatown? or changi airport? or the places that has the old shophouses. cant rem the road liao. my photog gt mention b4 in case it rain for mine. or go for nite scenes? at fullerton and esplanade.

angeldust-hahahaa no lah..dun tink anyone ugly and adorable. hehe. cute yes but not ugly lah.dun worry. u will be a pretty BTB.

tingz

hi stepford,

alternatively, you can jus go to the shops that sell the GDL stuff, and tell them your dialect, then they will tell you wat is needed according to your dialect. That is wat i did lor, cos we also dunno, so my mum jus tell the aunty that we r hokkien, then she will explain to us wat is needed and wat it symbolise. Then there r also some stuff that r optional, if really very tradition then need.

If u and ur fh different dialect, then think u should be following ur fh dialect. but i not too sure bout that.

stepford

Thanks for the tips! BTW, I noticed some of my gfs flinging a fan out of the car when they left their parents' place, in a very nonchalant manner. What does this signify??? I asked them but none of them could tell me what it means.

BTW, is every bride wearing a kwa for the tea ceremony? I prepared a modern cheongsam, short one though for my ceremony. Would it be weird?

maez

hahah DAman, talk abt being poked.. i was bitten by ants, had to cross this big drain wearing 3inch heels (not to mention the huge gown).. stand in the middle of the road.. climb on a wall... fwah.. PS is exciting! hahaha..

xfiles_wolvie

maez-wah so exciting. u like soldier gog thru SOC. hahaha. SOC = standard obstacle course. ur hubby should noe wats that. me din go thru that much. only the poking parts. hehe

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey daman, glad you had a good time.. yupz, no longer da man or da wife lar.. da family sounds nice!

maez, your PS sounds really exciting!</font>

sockling

daman... ur PS sounded very fun! i met my hubby in secondary sch. so hopefully can go back to take photos.. am writing a tear-jerker letter (hopefully to "gan dong" the principal) to the school to ask for permission. Fingers crossed!!! my hubby told me to write the request cos i was a better student in sec sch, so he thinks higher chance! Haha...

storm8345

sweets, thanks for the compliment. ^_^ actually thats not long aftere the op. so still look a bit round on the face. now putting on weight coz eating like crazy. FH said he's going to bankrupt if i keep eating like that... haaha...

another 3 weeks to my ps... hopefully no rain, no pimple outbreak... ^_^

wahh... so many 25 Nov brides. i'll wave at all bridal cars that day. ^_^

vvn

crystalz,
u must hate me! i still didn't get ur email leh. can you trying [email protected] ?
sorry for all the trouble!

stepford,
erm it's not compulsory to wear Kua for tea ceremony. many brides now wear short dresses somemore... so i think your CS will be perfect!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">sockling, maybe dun need to write leh.. coz hor, i went back to my JC then spoke to my tutor.. she brought me to see the new principal and she agreed right away.. now i just gotta inform her the date nearer the PS.. =)</font>

g8009181

Hi sogo... everything is GREAT... my sistas are powerful... they planned everything.... without letting mi know and sabo my hubby... den they burn it into a dvd and show it during dinner time... it's around 59 mins of sabo... haha

Many people comemted that I got reali powerful sistas....

esther378437

I'm very new to this thread. I'm also an Oct 2006 Bride.

Can someone tell/advice me where to get wedding cards, AD photographer and videographer. We are on a budget.

smurfying

crystalz, i wan see ur pics too yeah!! [email protected]

Eh i've my food tasting jus before i went for my op, every dish is simply great. Issit common tat food tasting's food always turn out fabulous, but actual day will not b as good?

flipfreak

my wife isn't going to wear a kwa for the tea ceremony. she is going to wear her WG for the tea ceremony at my parent's place and her EG for her parent's place.

btw, kwa is actually more for cantonese ppl.

smurfying

It shld think it's up to individual to wear a tea dress, or cheongsam or kua.

I should b wearing kua tho i'm not a cantonese. I'm thinking if it's not kua, would b a sweet ballerina dress or a cheong sam. But now no time for me to go make Cheongsam, or rather i dun hav that hour glass figure to carry off tat :p Then making another ballerina dress would cost me another few hundreds, haiz, jus make do w the kua provided by my BS liaoz.

maez

haha Daman, i know wats SOC.. that sounds really funny.. ok lah, i dun mind running ard so.. haha.. cos we rushing before sunset so i was REALLY running ard :p

nfllkh

Hi there ladies and man...

I'm also oct 06 bride, i chance upon this site and i've spent the whole day--> almost> reading all the stuff from Jan 06 till now.
Hope no offence coz its posted and i'm really curious.
There are so many brides in oct plus here is so active and i really find here so much information plus so warm and closely knitted....
i see alot of helpful, comfort, scolding--> that's when some brides got very concern for another bride. Most of all, everyone shares their tots without worrying tat or this.... so nice and cool and there is even a chart of everyone details, and also a Hello Kitty lady--> wendy and a gentleman--> here. i read some other forums, i didn't see so much meet up as here.

well... i talk to much haha :p .....

and for me, i just share a little of myslef first...

i'm almost done the same things like all the brides, PG, VG, GDL, book banquet, buy furnitures, everything but all in 50% to 60%.

but left PS and food tasting and print invitation card.>>>> i saw the invitation card...

i dun know if this help for invitation in chinese version.--> my card is from
http://www.focal-ad.com/contemporary_FS.htm

Can the attach be seend here? i'll post it again if not.. still trying to figure the attachment..
sorry ....

If anyone need the english, i will scan in when i go home. just let me know.

Then for PG and VG, for AD my PG is from Lightbox a free lance photographer whole day @ SGD800 and my VG from mediashock @ SGD888.
If anyone need them let me know, i'll send you the details. and you can quote my name. they can go lower if not much demand is ask, coz i aask for a lot of things.... (greedy lah)

For the AD, tea dress, i have one CS from my studio and one kebaya semi MTM. i can't wear e KUa as my studio provided 2 design only not very nice and cannot alter.

oh and the GDL i'll be going to this place to buy at chinatown, the man say can package for me everything @ $60 plus depends on the dialet group. the uncle is very modern, he will ask if u are christian then dun take some stuff, can substitue with other things, then can save money.... oh the address is Blk 4 #01-127 sago lane, Mon to sat 9am to 8pm &amp; sun 9am to 4pm look for Frankie or Alex Chang---> brothers...

Hope i've given enough help....

xfiles_wolvie

sockling-good luck to you then. hope u get wat u want. wat i posted is only summarise. hehe. cos i dun wan to make a ultra long thread in 1 post. hehe.

maez-understand that. we were walking very briskly at sentosa...trying to catch the sun. the photog also. so he has the professionalism there smehow.

once my site is up i will update u ladies. meanwhile bzbzbzbz. hehe.

nfllkh

sorry, i can't upload the PDF....of the chinese invites anyone needs it pls PM here your email address ok....
I'll send to ur inbox...

pony_pang

Hi Crystalz,
Got your pix all very nices the outdoor pictures are all very well-taken Even the studio backdrop is very nice and interesting.

xiaobai1

Hi Crystalz

Yeap your photos are very nice. All your gowns and background are very special.

Most important is both of you are very natural. For my photos, some actions are very fake. Guess that I am camera shy.

Anyway, did u take all the 71 photos back home? Wow a lot of photos when I see from the link.Hee Hee :p Anyway, a good memory for the both of u.

I think you both also enjoyed that day a lot same as me. I really miss that day.

Hi Soundez

Yeap, now I am more relaxed cause I am not sure what to prepare ler. My hubby is still editing the powerpoint slides. He is a perfectionist. I am trying to burn the 4 songs into a blank disc. Still waiting for beatrice song - under the sea.
So I slowly do, not so rush like last time. We both are trying to finish the powerpoint slides and songs compliation soon.

Then we will start sourcing for the red wine.
Hope everything can be finished by Sept. Really wish to left the last few days to go for a spa to relax with my hubby. Hee Hee :p

I guess u all are also very busy with the wedding preparation. Do take care of our health, relax, smile and be happy

Take Care

Xiaobai1

crystalz

beatrice,

ya.. their background is good! So i feel worth it to travel to and fro the custom.

xiaobai,
ya i top up $ for the 36 photos. (Actual package only given 35 photos). ya it is a real good memory... hahaha

donnakoh

Hi petrina

Pls add me too:
Nick: donnakoh
AD: 11 Nov 2006
BS: Ted Wu
Venue: Raffles Hotel
Church: Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church
AD PG: Tuckey
AD VG:Fabian
Lovenest: Whampoa

Hi nueyerdua: 11 Nov seems like a hot date!

Hi Jacequline: hope the food at RH is fine
I haven't gone for food tasting.

Hey girls, can I just ask if you bought girdles to wear beneath ur WG? I think my less than flat tummy shows sometimes.

flipfreak

hi crystalz. thanks for sharing the pics. the background of the studio shots looks good. i didn't realise the studio is in jb. but then i dun think spore studio will put so much effort on the indoor studio background.