(2006) Brides of year 2006

silentelf

Hi Jen.. actually mine is quite simple, i did not engage any geomancy to choose our wedding date. We only went to a mom's friend who understands chinese calendar in the 'tong shu'. And there are different range of timing everyday, if we see 'JI(3) SHI(3)'..means that period of time is auspicious time.. so we will just follow according to the book.. :p hee.. very chin cai rite? ;p

sandsand

clouds: me was the one who posted about the City Plaza shop for the bridesmaids dress... u all should really go check it out.. everyone i reco there, all buy dresses from there and they are so pleased!

lipstar

Hazel: Wow, didn't know there were so many Coffee Clubs. Never really been a coffee fan, Jean & I are the tea fans, right Jean?, that's why I never notice the locations of Coffee Club. And then all these coffee places always play musical chairs too. Move here and move there.

Didn't manage to see a doc yet cos yesterday my Uncle wasn't working, and Mr Lipstar's GP wasn't open after afternoon. Must go see doctor today because ever since Wed, have been having giddy spells, always after 6pm.

On Saturday when we had dinner with Mr Lipstar's family to celebrate Father's Day, I also sat there not feeling well.
kao_sad2.gif

pink: I felt so empty during the weekend...
379498.gif
No Da Chang Jin / Jewel in the Palace.

Ohh.. I didn't watch LotR. keke. Cos I have seen it so many times before oredi, maybe 2045 times. I used to play games with my LotR forum frens to guess items in the movie. Initially they are normal items like Gandalf's hat, Aragorn's sword Anduril. After a while, we will scour the movie for fiendishly obscure items like the dirt under Frodo's fingernails, the yellow butterfly in the Shire (which butterfly!!?? The sixth one that flew past?
) So we have to keep watching the movie to find and guess items. Watched til kookoo liao.
379499.gif

Mudpie! Sure! I'll join u girls after I get cured of this nasty giddy spell. Tonite I WILL go see doctor.

Idyll: Haha, I didn't watch much of World Cup this time round. My bedtime is 11pm lah.

angeldust

Gd mrg to manic monday!!!

clouds - u are welcome. agrees RO is ridiculously expensive now compared to the time i booked him. *winks*.. no worries.. slowly search.. maybe try hilarion goh now?

Bride - hihi!!! *waves* no matter where u are u are most welcome in here. we will always welcome u here right?

panda - got the mail, read it and replied u. thanks so much for the effort leh. got some bad news.. ha ha ha ha will mail ya..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey bride, good to hear from you.. *toast* to a future that will be more beautiful... =)

ribbons, what is the name of the shop you reco? i went city plaza.. cannot find any shops selling bridesmaid dresses leh.. attempting this weekend again.. let us have the details?</font>

pinkbunny

oh goodness lipstar. i don't think i've ever been crazy about any movie like that!!!

i'd like to have bedtime at 11pm also. i always try but never succeed. at 10 plus i will go lie down and read a book. then read read read, and suddenly WHOA 1130 liao! basket.

hey, your dizzyness, maybe you're anaemic.

weekend was nice. went for a cousin's wedding (tea ceremony only). they HAD to get married, know what i mean? we were the first to arrive then first thing my uncle said was 'you know why they're getting married right?' and when the bride arrived, he said 'cannot see, right, the stomach?'. i mean, what's done's already been done. just let it go la. i felt really bad for her. i said to her 'congrats and welcome to the family'. i think it was the nicest thing anyone said to her that day. i wanted to hug her when i said that but this side of the family is more chinese and traditional, not so much into hugging.

anyhow.

then we went for father's day picnic! we used to picnic alot when i was younger but now the kids all grow up already, all got better things to do. so we organised this, and it ended up quite nice actually. then we had dinner at pasta fresca at east coast. so bloody expensive!!! but we had a nice time.

then yesterday evening i went jogging by myself cos bluebunny went to watch some indian concert thingie. i was really really bored. i cooked, i wanted to watch tv but there was only LOTR, and since i'm not so interested in hats and dirt under fingernails i decided to do some housework. so i did the laundry. and when that was done, i got desperate cos really nothing to do. so i resorted to ironing bluebunny's shirts. i HATE ironing. that's how bored i was.

lipstar

pink: My LotR forum fren also think maybe I am anaemic. Cos many times, when I am lying down, and then sit or stand up, I always get that ti orh orh (sky black black) syndrome - (translation for Idyll: lightheadedness, I think)

Wow, your "welcome to the family" must have been so encouraging for her. The others probably looked at her with "that look".

Hey! What do u mean by "only LotR"?
I tok your head ah! That is the best movie in the cinematic history ok!

wallflower

morning everyone!

went to confirm my outdoor PS gown on sat, was fruitful
going to bare my back in public. gosh, may not even need blusher, as i'll surely turn red naturally hehe... also tried on my EG and WG with the only pair of shoes i bought. and they match with it! yipee! search for shoes ended :p waiting for PS to come...

joyousonline

hi antonia and phy o,
i also dunno wor...think i too stressed and not enough sleep! jia lat...i'll try to rest more but seems better liao but still a bit swollen...

yesterday i went thru the GDL...so busy..haha

sandsand

pandallic: Its Wen Collezione. 3rd floor. Go find the escalator nearest the 2nd CHance shop, take that escalator, when up on the 3rd floor, turn right and u will see a shop selling a lot of gowns.. the shop front doesnt look much, and ur initial impression of the shop may not be great,but trust me, they really have some nice gowns at really good prices. They supply gowns to some boutiques, and departmental shops.. prices are cheaper than those shops and they offer FOC alteration...

september

hi gals...me selected my photo on sat....top up another 1k for magazine style wif 65 photo vs my original 28 photo....wah biangz....heng hubby ok wif it...nv say anyting....heehee

actually we are fine wif lesser photo...but nt fine wif no magazine style lor....so bo bian....

pinkbunny

anaemia is a possible reason. esp during your time of the month. drink black chicken soup? iron tablets? but check with lo kun first la ok?

i'm borderlining on anaemic-ness also. when i was much younger i always felt like i was on a chair swinging round and round when lying down. now i feel dizzy when i get up too fast.

really la girl, LOTR just doesn't work for me. i don't know why. maybe cos i'm raelly really not into ugly balding characters with slime dripping over them.

xiaobai1

Me also wish to get a pet, but still considering. Cause I am scared when the child comes, the fur on the animal is not good for the child. So wish to seek advice from the animal owners here is it better to get a pet after the child is born? I intend to get a small rabbit from spca. Cause find that it is very sad that a lot of animals have been abandoned each month. So wish to get an amimal from there! Hee Hee

Yesterday I also went to my new house to display my mini water fountain and shoe rack. The mini water fountain was very beautiful. But it also needs our maintaince to pour away the water when not in use. And it also needs to use electricity too.
I just find the water sound has a soothing effect on me. So I brought it but I didn't consider the disadvantages. Guess I am very silly. Ha Ha.

By the way, next week I will go back to the bridal shop to see the image designing. Hope the design will turn out nice. And I can get my album in early July. Praying Hard
Hee Hee.

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

lipstar

-_- What balding characters with slime dripping over them? The girls at the LotR forum luuuurrrrve the sweaty men. They find them so macho and manry. *swoon*
379522.gif

Got drink black chicken soup occasionally. Remember my email 2 weeks ago asking u how long frozen meat can last? That time I went ahead and cooked the 3-4 weeks old black chicken.

Snacking on Japanese crispy seaweed from Watsons now. Keke.

tingz

Diana, u select pic liow ah? when can share with us? :p 1k for so many extra pic like very reasonable leh, my bs told me $65-$80 per pic!! You satisfied with the pics?

Xiaobai, have to consider carefully before getting a pet, saw a lots of my friend giving away their poor pets after they have kids, due to no time for the animal or becos of allergy...

lipstar

If our budget had allowed, I had wanted a LotR-themed wedding man. Have Mr Lippy dress like the Gondorian guards with the Jumbo-esque helmet.

379528.jpg

Minus the black mask of course.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">ribbons, thanks. will check it out again.. i hope they will have the dresses i want.. do you know if they have thai silk or dupioni silk dresses? something that looks like this..
379532.jpg

(image courtesy of charsa)
my bridesmaids will hate me for life if i put them into chiffon or biased cut dresses.. wahhahah</font>

september

cheap meh....hmm i dun no leh....but the photograher quote me dis price....actually he say 60 pix...then i bargain for extra 5....wif the 1k, we get magazine style...the album size remain same as wat we initially hv (cant remember the size but we intially thot of downsizing lah) the we get CD for all selected photo...and get back all the photo including nt selected one in the print outs which he hv developed....one big frame up photo (chuan tou zhao) and a small frame coffee table photo wif some photo developed for frenz/relative....

actually keeping a pet is a life time committment, as in the pet life time...me also allergy to my dog...me can develp rashes if i carry her for too long...and she is sickly...got rashes and got fits on and off...but still, i nv gif her up...and my whole family dote on her alot...she is the bao bei in our family....so if u cant commit dun keep a pet....bu yao hai the poor pet who did nothing wrong but only merely asking to be loved and care....

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hey panda dear,
Rem to jio me if u wanna go city plaza check out the dresses. =)

clouds,
How come your reno stop for 2 weeks? Quite long leh. Im still in the midst of meeting up some IDs, will check with u some of the quotes when we get the final quotation.And also your aircon lobang. hee. My complexion is finally looking clearer after afew days of antibiotics. Yippee. But still a long way to go before porcelain skin lah. Just hope my skin looks better when i go for my trial next week. =)

ribbons,
Thanks for the contacts. Am sure some of us here will be needing bridesmaid dresses for our galfrens. =)

bride,
U are always welcome in here. Do pop by now &amp; then to say hello!

OL,
When is your PS ah? Woah, a bareback gown is gonna be sexy!

daman,
Yah, better go check out the florists/cards first on your own, then let Gladys know your choice during your next meeting with her. =)

Stefy,
I went to laine's papetaire last week to get some stickers. They are pretty! But dunno whether i'll have time to do a whole album up for wedding. Maybe will try doing a frame thingy first.</font>

september

o...i get wat u mean liao tansy....mine work out to be 1 additional pix is abt $27 while ur is $60...

i see...wow...so mine is really quite a gd deal lor...nv notice also....hahaha

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">panda,
When i see the dress pic, it reminded me of Olive Suite kind of dresses which i would LOVE to dress my bridesmaids in, but cant afford it.</font>

iceglacier

yah.. i tot 1k for additional 37 pics is very cheap leh.. That's only $27 per pic! I think i top up 10 pics is my max already..

What is magazine style ah???

Hee.. just went for my photoshoot on Friday! Can't wait for the pics!

smurfying

Wah sibei demoralised with my pics. Some more i dun really like their layout leh. Ask them to change liao but worse design. Eh u all got any magazine style layout to share w me? Wanna pick a few style n show the designer. Pek chek, paid so much n can't match my expectation.

xiaobai1

Hi Tansy

me too going to bang head my one is one piece $50 each I top up additional 38 pictures , original package only have 24 pictures only. Hee Hee

Never mind lah, money is spend liao, no need to blame ourselves. Now we can only pray that the pictures and the album turn out beautifully and it will be s beautiful memory for us when we are old. Hee Hee

Hi Tingz

I also thinking of this matter, that is why I go to spca to see a brown rabbit and hug it last saturday. But don't dare to bring it back home.
Still considering the matter with my hubby. Hee Hee

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

lipstar

Ah?
Why you want me to blind you? kaka. Kidding, I know that British expression.

Share with you girls some LotR funny pics.

379545.gif

379546.gif

apple68

Havent really had the chance to check out all the seamstress.

Last weekend, only managed to talk to Angelique. And went hunting for shoes at Tangs studio and Aldo. Nothing fancy there. Noticed at the same stretch as Angelique, there are 2 other shops which seem to carry nice gowns, and dresses. Asian Woman and Nui Ren Xiang. Mum n I will check these stores out this Sat.

Will try to check out the Zing fashion and Essex shoes later. Haa... taking half day leave today...

Keep you gals again

vvn

ha.. tansy and xiaobai,

i am joining u guys to bang head too! i haven't collected my photos yet. but already topped up 25 photos for 1K! heart pain...

yah, must be able to committ time for the pet. i think rabbits at least 7-8years of lifespan, right?

september

wow....seem tat i hv caused a massive head banging session here liao....dun like tat lah gals....me more jio gek mah...so mayb me and my hubby click well wif the photographer + we beri easy to take pix....finish beri earlier...5 plus we back from outdoor and preparing to go hm liao...hee hee

lipstar

Paiseh.. enough of this LotR madness before pinkbunny faint.

Was just reading your blog. The pic of your Mum (?) sitting on the floormat kiao kah (prop the leg up) very funny.

Your family very close-knit hor? Very nice, always have family gatherings.

pinkbunny

my parents very sweet la. see the way my father hold my ah bu's leg while playing the card game. so nice.

my family has always been rather close, but the kids kinda drift in and out at different points in their lives. now seems to be rather ok for the girls. the boys like quite in a world of their own, somehow.

wallflower

elven ~ my PS is on 14 Jul. my AD's WG and EG are conservative, then somehow chose one that's rather "airy" for my outdoor PS haha... oso gd lah, more varied

pinkbunny

change of topic: very sian leh. so many people write to me asking about saf yacht club (where i had my wedding) then i write back sharing alot of details and i don't even get a "thank you" in return.

while i'm all for 'give without remembering, receive without forgetting', i think it's just plain courtesy to say thanks, especially if someone has taken the time and effort to share something so close to her heart

excuse the complaints, please. just that it's happened too many times and i'm really shocked at how bad bad manners can be. taking what you want and then not even saying thanks. horrible!

lipstar

Yes!! I noticed your daddy putting his hand on your ah bu's leg!!

ya, girls will always be more 贴心。(Closer to the heart)

vvn

ok, i think we should change topic! else there will be more head banging and blood on the floor...

tansy, may be u go back to your BS and ask them for sample albums? then u pick the ones with the design u like and u just point and say "i want mine like this" lor. and yes, since u paid so much for the pictures, u must get them do a good design for you!

does anyone know if u can add your own photos (like ur first date or whatever pictures) to the album?

i think the design i really hate is those cheena style ones, with 'fake' bubbles and rose petals effects. then got words floating here and there (in bad english somemore). fingers cross my album wun be like this. like that i rather do the classic style.

lipstar

Ohh... no wonder you wrote twice in your blog wishing people can say "Thank you" more often.

Those pp who asked u for advice a bit rude. Several people also asked me about my printing company, hotel, wine company .. etc and they will always reply one last email/post with "Thank you."

Mian keh qi (don't mention it) about the complaints. This is what friends are for. It is only healthy to vent out our frustrations once in a while.

Speaking of which, Adeline, how is your leg?

tingz

Wah, all banging head ah. Think i must control when i go choose pic, if not i'll be joining the head banging gang liow :p

my package only have 26 pics, seem like u gals top up quite abit of pic... I'm still hoping i can dun top up any pic.....

smurfying

vnn, i get wat u mean...mine already told them way before hand i dun wan those cheesy kind. Ok lar, they din come back with those, but still not up to my expectation. Now looking at different magazine style n gonna tell them to do according to my preference lor.

soudezne

i'll be having my ps mid next mth... gonna take magz style.. budget to top up is oni 500bucks... dun think my BS can bargain till as low as $27 or $40 leh...

smurfying

soudez, how many pics u hav in ur original package?? usually they can give it to u if u hav more pics. Economies of scale, the more u take, the cheaper per pic cost. Dun ask me how come mine so ex still despite being 50 additional, cos me n fh look like dua cai tao.

For a good magazine style, u prolly need 50-60 pics to make up 18 full pages.

asura

Long time never visit this website liao. Congrats to all who have become MRS..

Hope that we still keep in touch through this website after the wedding..

Have been really busy. Just finished with our table arrangement this morning at 2 am then got to come work... so tired.. I wanna be pretty bride and sleep early... but seems impossible cos still need to come up with instruction lists for my helpers... haiz!

soudezne

hi tansy
Haiz... my original package oni 26 leh...

to add up to 50pcs cost a bomb... i'm thinking of having individual pic to fill up 1 page or 1 pic to extend to 2 page... do u think it'll look nice?

smurfying

Erm...dun think the BS will allow u to do tat...cos it's cost for them for producing so many pages. It could look abit boring if every pages is simply filled up page. Magazine style emphasize on those small pics that captures the mood and process. They call it a series ar. U may like to revise ur budget lor... for us, we din anticipate the additional $3k at all...