(2006) Brides of year 2006

vvn

designfreak, high-5! we are piggy lovers! mine all died... so we are pet-less now. may be u put her in a cage/ basket first lor. then when take photos take her out. why run away? entice her with carrot sticks mah, then she will be good.

ok i have seen people taking at wisma, and the blue zara building opp lido. quite nice too, but i dun have the guts... imagine taking photos in the middle of a crowded street. but guess weekday mornings will be nice there.

pinkbunny

lippy, you got huat shio or not (fever)... how come you kena sucked into auntie drama? my mother watches it.

i think you can click on search and just type in the name of the show ba.

maybe your dizzy spell is because you are preggie?
kao_babydust.gif

marnie

Lipstar, I used to wear this new Helena Rubinstein moisturer good for pore reducing as well. But have since used The Proactiv moisturer. It works for me cos' I have combo skin (leaning towards oily). To curb the excess sebum, I use it --> if not, sure can fry an egg on my face!

There goes Pink Bunny with her preggie theory. Tsk tsk tsk.

lipstar

pink: I no have fa shao, I fa sao (hiao). Keke.
I know! I used to be a sceptic too! I don't watch Jap or Korean dramas, but this one is really good. I talk about it while listening to the achingly beautiful soundtrack, feel like crying again... Boo Hoo!

I went to google the chinese name and the english name, not much discussions oredi.

Dun think preggie lah. Menses just over 2 days ago...

Idyll: Aiyah! U dun say. Last time when we had lunch at Hans at Raffles Place, i put an egg on ur face, dun need to waste $$ order eggs.

kellie

i am also a Nov bride. Jus want to ask when is the approiate time to contact my hotel for the wedding preps.

also, anymore got any AD photograher for recommendation. what is the market rate for such service?

Btw, anyone have any good day spa to recommend in bangkok, be going there in this month end.

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">thanks gals!

YY, i think you mean you did yours in Oct 05 right?

Greta, i think the usual is to do studio shoots in morning then go out in afternoon/evening, so maybe I can explore doing outdoors first if it's sunny that morning... then do studio shot after should it rain... sigh. so ma fan if it rains...</font>

wyy

yup twinkle....Oct 05...no rain and i get very nice sunset at Labrado Park

norm BS will propose indoor then our door cos you MUA may onli be avaliable in the morning. so better chk with your BS if your proposal is ok.

yongee86

10Q...

hmmm.. wonder if it is common for all brides to fall sick when it is 1-2 wks b4 AD? i also fell sick barely 1 week b4 AD... had fever, cough, flu and sore throat.. everyday is drinking liang teh which helps to speed up the recovery.. so btb, drink tons of water, liang teh, fruits, etc...

oh no joyousonline, how come suddenly get eyelid infection? did the doc say why and when can recover???

wtan

Hi hi ceraine..
Welcome to the thread..will u like to provide me ur details so that I can update the chart for u?d o thks!

Hi hi designfreak..
How come u have to pay for PS at the 2nd location..hmm..unless u have an interesting place u will like to go for ur PS, if not, then I think shd be ok to leave it w/o if u r also deciding to go for PS on ur AD lor..for me, on AD, aft hubby came to pick me up, we went to National Orchid Garden for PS also..even thou not BS PS PG but we find it gd enough lor..oh, props ahh..for me, I bought 2 helium heart-shaped ballrooms, my chihuahua along..managed to get my sis to take care of our dog..haha..wow..gg down to G2000 for another suit ahh..gd also lah..can have extra suit to change along..

Hi hi Fi Fi..
How have u been?long time didn’t hear from u ahh..u went for PS already?any photos to share as well?

Hi hi skk..
R u ok?what minor ops u went for?got to take gd care lor..dun walk ard too much ba..glad to hear that u r very pleased with ur album..any photos to share with me?

Hi hi compassrose..
Ya, I guess Fate with Hello Kitty bought us together ba..haha..thks for reading my Love Story..hehe..oh, u got ur shoes..great..can try walking it at home to get used to it ba..u gone for ur PS?better dun use ur AD shoes for ur outdoor PS just in case u dirtied it b4 ur AD..

Hi hi sweet kar..
U can double-check with ur hotel co-ordinator on the collection of the wedding cards for printing..also can start to check on ur hotel ballroom deco liao..when are u gg to go for food-tasting?

angeldust

hi yuki,

happen to chance upon this at another thread for outdoor PS suggestions:

Wedding photo hotspots
• Ficus tree at Sentosa
THE low-hanging branches of this ficus tree, also known as Johor Fig, on Sentosa's Bukit Manis Road have propped up many a bride and groom.
Planted more than 100 years ago by British soldiers, the tree is a potent symbol of enduring love which makes a guest appearance in many wedding albums today.
-- Bukit Manis Road.

• City Hall
ANOTHER album evergreen, the hallowed steps of City Hall were the backdrop to major milestones here, from the Japanese surrender on Sept 12, 1945, to the swearing-in of Singapore's first independent government on Aug 9, 1965. Many cannot resist marking the momentous events in their own lives on these steps.
-- St Andrew's Road, near City Hall MRT station.

• Punggol Ave 17
LAND'S end for some, this is lalang wonderland for the au naturel wedding photo set.
Couples scouring Singapore for a fitting grassy backdrop have often found nirvana along this stretch of Punggol, near Punggol Marina.
If 'love is a rush of wild wind' to you, this field of dancing lalang stalks is it.
-- Field near Punggol Marina, Punggol Avenue 17.

• Pulau Ubin
PULAU Ubin is the new frontier for those seeking fresh backdrops, from attap houses to rocky beaches at low tide.
But be prepared for less than stellar toilets.
-- Take a bumboat from Changi Jetty, by Changi Village Hawker Centre.

• Changi Boardwalk
SO MANY brides sashay down the wooden planks of this 1.2km boardwalk along the Changi coast that it might as well be a runway. Opened in 2003, it stretches from Netheravon Road to Cranwell Road, off Changi Village Road, and is a firm favourite for its sunsets.
Careful with those heels though.
-- Alight at Cranwell Road (along Loyang Avenue) and stroll towards the Changi Beach Club to get to the Boardwalk.

yuki31

angeldust - thanks a lot for the info
i am trying to digest it ....keke :p

Da Man - u only got 150mins? i dun think u can go all 4 locations if that is the case ....but the suggestions not bad ....keke :p me was considering sentosa(for beach) n mount faber (for nite)....not sure leh ... MY FH wanted to go hotel take as well ....so now very messy the time.

talk about cards ... me havent even finalized my guestlist ... seem tat i am lagging behind ..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">aiyo, guestlist and cards are separate lar.. my guestlist now also not finalised.. but will be doing printing and the wat-not earlier.. so that dun have to brood over it nearer the wedding.. =)</font>

yuki31

haha icic ....i was planning to fix my guestlist first before touching on the card ....haha.

was planning to view n print the card in Oct ... not sure if i shld do it eariler ...

haha tat good then can settle wat u can first so nearer to the wedding can relax

lilic

<font color="0077aa">yah lor.. i am still wondering if i should sign up for nov exams too..

anyway, i dun think i will do printing on the cards.. prob print on inserts.. cheaper i think.. esp if i write salah, wun waste the card (since limited from hotel..

yuki, just one idea.. if you and your hubby meet in school.. maybe you can go back to the school for PS.. =))

i wonder if we print the cards earlier like during the 7th mth where not so much wedding biz, will the price be cheaper??? ekkekek</font>

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hi Maez!
I think i'll prob go down next mth to see the wedding card designs. Wonder if we will have many designs to choose from Hmm. =)

Panda &amp; angel dear,
I will likely be writing To Mr &amp; Mrs XX, or Mr XXX &amp; family for bosses, relatives, etc. But for friends i'll most likely to writing both names cos i know them. =) Like that ok rite? The addressing part kind of confusing. Hope i wont offend any of my ILs side of relatives in the process. :p

ribbons,
I think i will invite both parties too if i were u. I think your gal fren will be understanding enough not to spoil your big day rite? Also, maybe seeing your guy fren's fiancee might be what it takes to totally get her over him. =)</font>

angeldust

Yuki,

u are welcome.

Panda - i also thinking of inserts. my sister printed inserts its definitely cheaper but conrad hasnt called to ask us abt the cards so dunno when to start....

yuki31

pandalic - me oso doing inserts kind ... they are seperate frm the card? i tot they give inserts according to the card as well ....soory me a bit blur on this ..havent really check with the hotel.

haha tat is a good idea but me n my hubby met at work ..keke :p

haha wow maybe u can ask the printing company to give discount since is low peak period ..keke :p

angeldust

elven - leave the relos alone.. ask ur parents or in laws to address it. from my sister's wedding, i learnt that my dad will hire a "xie shu ren" to come and properly address the envelopes to relatives. HA HA HA HA HA.. so that one all I need to do is pass the invites to dad. :p

For addressing etc.. u can browse the traditional website I put up earlier for castalia..

apple68

i am back again... sorry to trouble you gals..

Yesterday, i was discussing with my mum on the dress she is going to wear on my wedding day. In the end, we both felt that it would be best to have a nice dress tailor made then buy something off the rack that is not really to our liking.

So now, i need some recommendations on seamstress. And can anyone tell me roughly the cost of having a dress made? Cos my mum said those she saw off the rack cost about $300+...

Thank you very much gals!

flipfreak

hi vvn. its pretty sad when pigs passes away. mine died from a sudden illness and i had to see him grow weak and die in front of me in a few hours.

my present pig is an escape artist. she not stupid. nvr been able to tempt her with food to do things she doesnt want to do. haha.

we also tot of doing it along orchard rd but we dun wan have too much town photos.

flipfreak

hi wendy. the 2nd location is actually a wine bar. so they need to cover their expenses. haha. we have no plans to shoot any pics other than shots of the ceremony on the day itself. haha. we are lazy ppl.

angeldust

hi apple,

panda previously posted this:

1. ted collection - good but pricy.
2. amor meus - esplanade (great if you have huge budget)
3. ms ng siok hwa - pennisular plaza #04-01 (her worksmanship is good but not sure abt prices)
4. susie - 67383379 (i dun have her address.. her shop is in orchard area. a fren's mum is regular there)
5. kym ng (zing fashion) - #04-98 far east plaza (reco by her world in the june06 issue. good but ideally you buy your own fabric)
6. mode-o-day - #b1-15 tanglin shopping centre (also reco by her world in june06 issue.. good for big budget)
7. fashion clinque at stamford court

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">angel,
Oh yah hor, im just reminded that FIL is a chinese school teacher, so i think they will prob have more 'MO SHUI' in writing such stuff.</font>

lilic

<font color="0077aa">yuki, nah.. hotel only provides cards.. not printing.. inserts comes with the printing.. unless you print directly on the cards..

aiyo, then you go back to your opic and take lar.. my fren married her client whom she was sent for consultancy job.. they took their wedding pics in opic they met.. wahhahaha..

apple, with budget of S$300, you can try zing fashion.. as named above..

happy searching.. do tell us which is good in your opinion.. i only have the list but yet to check them out.. =)</font>

apple68

For the wedding invitation card...

I had GWP sent me their invitation card samples which basically "cannot make it" type. Back in May, FSIL said she could design and sponsor us the cards. She is a designer by professional so she knows where to buy the materials and gets it printed.

Last night, my mum asked about the cards.. i said since that day, there is no news. Hais...

Sometimes, i feel frustrated with his family
kao_frustrated.gif

Like his sis, said design cards for us, now no news. Dunno is it becos she thinks there is still a long way to go.

Then HB is so bo chup. He only moves when u tell him to. So end up, I have to make sure that everything is moving in time. hais... sometimes, i got fed up, i also pretended i dont know anything. Haa.. which i have done so for the past 2 months... thats why i "disappear" from the forum.. but now, left 5 more months or so... back to wedding business again.. hais..
kao_dizzy.gif

His mum ... talked about AN Chuang the other time. Her idea was to get the delivery man to deliver the bedframe and mattress, then consider An Chuang

I asked my married friends, they said they got someone from the groom's side to come and lay the bedsheet, put some stuff on bed.. blah blah blah... hais..

Not that I mind about the An Chuang, but i really think it is very funny, to think that getting the delivery man to come, is considered AnChuang. But anyhow, i am keeping quiet on this matter. Just let his mum do whatever she likes.

inikiss

Hi Wendy,

Can add me in to the list? My detail as follows,

Nick: melody
AD: 29th Oct 2006
Hotel: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Photo: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Video: Boxset Media
Lovenest: Woodlands

Thank you very much!!
Nice to know everyone here.

yuki31

pandalic - huh? i tot the inserts is with the card ..haha coz i saw a design which i kind of like n everything is printed on the inserts ...maybe will do a check first.

huh? take at opic ...funny leh ..haha my colleague done tat leh but they say can only take outside cannot go in building ...

sandsand

my friend is older than me, so she should be more mature in her thinking... but she's.... 'special', so... well, nvm, i will see how lah... i will give my friend an invite and tell her that he will be there. if she feels uncomfortable to come, its ok lor. i totally understand..

I went to centre point yesterday.. theres this shop, angelique.. and they can MTM for u.. say u want this certain design that they have otr, but some modifications, they will charge OTR price lor, and u can change the type of material.. can take more ex or less ex one.. and the designs not bad...

Yuki, yes, hotels will only provide the cards. u can choose to print directly on the cards or print on inserts.. u print on inserts, got allowance for mistakes..

can i ask, printing on card and printing on inserts, same price?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">yuki, the hotel will show you the end product.. but they only provide the cards without printing (except shangri la).. kekkee.. not sure if the cards will come with inserts.. so far, i think all my frens gotta pay for the inserts which is obtained directly from the printers.. but i could be wrong.

ribbons, i think printing cost is dependent on the type of prints you choose not the materials.. </font>

angeldust

Hi Yuki - panda is correct abt the cards. printing cost is borne by the couple. pls do check with ur hotel venue clearly.

elven - yes i repeat my link again for u lah.. anyway yes.. cos my dad will put dunno chim chim chinese on the envelope. If invite whole family its "he jia dunno what dunno what" if invite couple, only the husband full name is stated then got chinese word "wife" on the envelope. AIYA.. panda know my CHINESE is CMI. ha ha ha ha ha.. cos OUT OF TOUCH with chinese for so long.
here it is: http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/

hi Apple, u can print the above and show ur MIL or hubby for info. use the info as a "push factor"?

Hi moongal - pls provide ur info to maez so she can update the table. refer to archives for table of all dec brides + 1 groom &amp; his wife (daman &amp; harpie).

apple68

So in addition to Pandalic's list...

1. ted collection - good but pricy.
2. amor meus - esplanade (great if you have huge budget)
3. ms ng siok hwa - pennisular plaza #04-01 (her worksmanship is good but not sure abt prices)
4. susie - 67383379 (i dun have her address.. her shop is in orchard area. a fren's mum is regular there)
5. kym ng (zing fashion) - #04-98 far east plaza (reco by her world in the june06 issue. good but ideally you buy your own fabric)
6. mode-o-day - #b1-15 tanglin shopping centre (also reco by her world in june06 issue.. good for big budget)
7. fashion clinque at stamford court

there is...

8. <font color="0000ff">Angelique @ Centre Point</font>

thanks ribbon for the tip

angeldust

Hi ribbons

panda is correct. if print on card itself, there is embossed or engrave ink printing, hot stamp printing etc. I haven investigated that area. will let u know once i STUDY abt it. HA HA HA HA HA HA...

pinkbunny

ok too much info... we donch need to know about your menstural cycle please. BUT bluebunny had a friend who was 6 months preggie and she didn't even know and she was on the pill and still getting her periods. strange things do happen

angeldust

hi elven - my FIL is a chinese school principal.. so ya.. the amount of chinese black in can drown me.. ke ke ke ke ke... so I also leave the m'sia ones to them cos they are inviting. SG ones for my relos, leave to parents &amp; the so called "xie shu ren"

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">angel,
Thanks for the link. U posted the link before issit?. Might have missed it. Its useful! =)

panda,
I know Zing fashion! Its a nice lady in a tiny shop at far east right? =) Me &amp; hubby visit her every other month to alter our clothes. Agree she's good. She has these tiny cutouts of magazine dresses pasted all over her walls. Price-wise quite reasonable.</font>

kar

Hi Wendy, i also duno when is my food tasting lei. Thought hotel suppose to contact us, so we're waiting for them to call or mail us lor. haiz. feel lost...

moninet

hi sweet kar, i initiated contact wif my hotel for both occassions! =)
will be gg for my food tasting 1st week july.. but will pick up cards only much later cos i dun need them as i'm printing inserts..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hee, princess i have yet to been to zing fashion. only jot down the details when i read the mag.. tot it may be good to check it out when i need.</font>

phy_o

Aiyo ...

eye-infection meaning sore eye? Due to dust bacteria?

Must rest a lot a lot man. Joyousonline, think u better not stare at the computer screen too much la! Go go and rest!

jennifer_teoh

hi pat..
wow... 1pm is kinda late.. u mean 1pm to leave ur hse to go over to his hse then drink tea.. then change to return to ur hse for tea ceremony before goin hotel.. u r not intendin to take outdoor shoots either on the way to his hse or when back to ur hse? .. cz my family is quite big.. so if i choose the 11am slot to reach his hse.. then veri tight.. moreover we might wan video highlights.. so too rush liao leh..

btw, pat.. no need to worry.. GST wont go up for the moment... so be rest assured.. ;p

hi silentelf... my bf is teochew but then they did not follow the custom of teochew to pick brides early early.. but rather its wat the person who calculated... my parents and his parents.. the years that they were born.. not to clash lor.. so... haiz.. result is so darn early.. sigh..

hi reismion... wish both of us luck that weather will be great for us on our photoshoot days!!

kar

moninet, got to initiate ah... hmm, maybe jus felt like they shld call us instead, as part of their service. haha... but guess no harm callin them, thanks!