(2006) Brides of year 2006

axl

Hi Linda,
I have almost sent out all my invitation cards.
I thought I have most people turning up and my tables will be just nice. Now, a lot of my GF's boyfriend or hubby will not turn up. My mum skip some relative's name, etc. My office's ang mos mostly travelling around 8-Jan. So a lot of empty tables. I have 5 empty tables! I sat down again with my hubby and squeezed out all the names we can think of. Mine is just merely 25 and I can't even fill up. So paiseh. Now I have about 2 tables empty. Will have my food tasting this WED and have to nego with my manager and see what can be done.

Anybody with this kind of problem now?

qq77

Hi AXL,

as for me, i have sms all those friends that i am inviting and the respond was rather good full attendance in fact. but have to keep my fingers cross when invitation is send out next week loh.
i have 37 currently, need to increase another 5 more. cos hb side's got so many relatives and they took up almost 15 tables.

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">hahaha my taste change whole year round! sakali next yr change again hahahaha

hey i like the bright pink gown the newsreporter wore at the stars award hehehe any idea where is it from? the one Fann Wong wore short one also nice

lilic

<font color="0077aa">purple, if i remember the news correctly, the short dress on fann wong is a direct import from paris by david gan.. i.e. not available in singapore.. kekeke.. prefer the diamond bracelet/bangle on fann wong..

anyway, the red bcbg dress is in town.. tried and i am very tempted to buy it.. kekekek

think the short dress on jacelyn tay will be good for bridesmaid..

i prefer the white dress on jeanette aw and the red gown on michelle chia.. esp chia's choker.. so bling.. hahha</font>

dreymin

as for BS, we hv absolutely no clue, but what is the norm to spend? basically we do nt need any frills, for AD, i hv frens to help for video and photo. prob need to shop around, suntec and tg pagar for some comparisons.

kaye

I realized something...
Marnie &amp; Lipstar lunch is always O'brien?
but that time I saw Lipstar buying Subway leh...

cocoberry

Hi qingqing and angel...

wow.. so we are big brides... yeah i agree with angel that noone would share the gown cos of size. but at the same time it also mean that i have lesser choice for EG and WG OTR.

Magical,
yeah... u hv a gd point there. think i shd call my designer soon to fix a date with them. cos they did mention that durin CNY some staff might be away. will try to settle the things on sat.

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">piangz.. that one too bling liao la hahaha dare not wear man!
but i dun really like her red gown..
prefer jaslyn tay's first gown.. very sexy~!!!!

the white dress on jeanette aw is very olive suite leh hehehe

huh? she mentioned it's brought in by david gan meh?? think i missed out on that..

the BCBG gown is in!!!!! where? how much is it har? only comes in red?</font>

pinkcandy

hello girls!

just saying hi to everyone here! my wedding will probably be in december or jan, and ROM? aiyoh i dunno. hahahahaha.

there's so much to be done!

apple68

<font color="ff0000">wow... purple.. u clever leh... got all the 3 BS i went to correct... but probably u didnt mean to guess the BS i went to... Not that I want to be mysterious.. but as a precaution.. instead for some reasons, ppl not happy, send me a lawyer's letter.</font>

apple68

<font color="ff0000">did u girls realise that the cadecott stars... some of them wearing gowns with ribbon at waist.. cos one of the BS i went to.. explain that it is now back to the 50s style where this is hint of elegant in the minimalistic style.. so that's why have the long ribbon

lilic

<font color="0077aa">apple - i was the one who got your BS correct lar.. humpff...

then the ribbon thing is out since beginning of the year liao..

purple, the dress is abt 1k.. only in red.. keke.. you can go paragon and check it out.</font>

newbbi79

Dear AXL,
well, i tink u can try to negoate with the hotel to see if the no of tables can be reduced lor...

or mayb u can try to invite the spouses as well?cos i am experiencing this problem and in e end, we decided to invite spouses lor =).

Linda,
wow, 37 + 5= 42 tables...alot hor...

sandsand

I am so lost in this thread! U guys are moving so much.. I shall only choose to address Maez and Kitkioko...
Maez: wah.. u can rush down that fast ah..

Kitkioko: I beg to differ on u or ur hubby's comment about the price diff between SG and JB BSs being only about SG200. It is MUCH MUCH MORE!
I can vouch for this cos i am a singaporean bride who's BS is in JB.
Malaysian BS are much friendlier than SGs ones.. And the gowns are seriously not too bad! (eh... my taste not very cheena or bad one hor) u've got to trust me on this.. the gowns and photography are quite contemporary. And if u dont see any certain kind of gowns u want and u only want OTR, they will keep a lookout for any such gowns that u like.. Becos many SG couples go to malaysia nowadays, they know what SGreans expect, and we got a lot of good perks.
And whatever is offered in SG pkgs, we have them too, but 1 or 2 more smaller albums. (SGs one only offer me one big album, one niang jia ben and one portrait. I got quite a few albums and table tops from mine)

Most enticing thing about JB BS is... the exchange rate!!!! As i said, their package is comprehensive as SG ones, price also the same. Eg: SG is SG3800, JB also 3800... RM! If i take yesterday's rate of 2.2, a JB package will cost u SGD1727. We didnt take the car/MUA/flowers/, but even if we rent all these in SG, it is stil lquite a savings.

We also took JB BS cos they are much much friendlier than SG ones.. And u know, i really appreciate the couple bonding time we have while making our way there and back. (Thanks to the traffic jams at times too, we are stuck in the car, we get to talk a lot)

So to me, yes, the grass is greener over the other side. (for now)

Going down to my BS next saturday to take a look at the gowns, didnt see all that time cos it was lantern festival, good date for weddings, all gowns taken out. Will update u guys of it..

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">eh, ribbons i think when kit says abt the little difference, u have to consider that she dun stay here leh..the cost for her to fly back, then to JB.. and if the stuff she's looking at is different from yours?

those BS that offers big album, niang jia ben, portrait &amp; table tops are usually those taiwanese style BS leh.. if u check out studios specialize in photography, they only offer 1 album and at most 1 portrait.. no use thing as "niang jia ben" *faint*

wow~!!! my guess are all right!!! i pass liao!!! hahaha finally graduated hahaha now can tell the styles apart

duckling78

HI Honey

Yah the package at JB is definitely cheaper and u can top up pixs that u like and also have unique OD PS location.... However must take note that you may need to travel quite a few times to try your gown.... so your MUA will be coming to SG on your AD?
So no car from them right....U need to provide your car then... Did not really research on JB bridal?

snowy_casper

Linda,
hehe i am like u hv not send out my invitation card yet.... will send by tis week lor.. coz scare later alot of empty tables too... although i only hv 20tables.

marnie

No lah Hazel. This will be the first time with Lipstar at O'Brien's. Last time, we ended up at Han's.

I'm not into Subway sandwiches.

newbbi79

Linda,
ya lor... things are getting nearer and nearer lor...Me doing my AD schedule and responsibilies of my JMs now lor...

Snowy,
how your wine tingy?

tingz

6th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia,Diana (but me will join u gals later gng)
7th (Wed): - cecilia,
8th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia, (tentatively ok)
13th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia, Elsie, Diana, Tingz
14th (Wed): - cecilia, Elsie, Diana, Tingz
15th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia, CAT , Elsie

jan193

hihi reismion.. saw ur pics.. nice!!!
u n ur hubby look so xin fu

kinda miss my ROM nw too aft lookin at ur pics hehe

apple68

<font color="ff0000">oops... was it proffy got it right? now.. i also blur... keke..</font>

<font color="ff0000">realised monday.. the thread moved a bit slower.. guess it is monday blue...</font>

axl

Linda,
Rush for your cards. Get all yr mailing addresses ready. So fun to send out invitations.
42 tables are a lot!

Newbbi,
I'm gg to nego with the hotel manager and see if we can reduce or else I chiam. Lugi $$.

count

reismion,
share pics leh! [email protected] =)
so fast mrs already... heh

chomecc, on! we must diet together. motivate each other haha

frais bleu, chase ur FH so u can be nov bride as well lah!

wah biang, my exam was so tough! don't know how to do and just stared at the questions! bah. 2 more papers on wed and fri then no need to study already *evil laughter*

junebridetobe

Hi Huan
That coincidence me on 24/6 june 2005 you?I hope its the same day..haha
actually mine same date is a sat but the shifu never mention this date at all...so sad....but anyway happy cos if not will be too rush..I will go chose my design maybe end Dec, i don't have the mood yet cos still very fat to go for the measurement.what your fren protographer and MUA?
I got no ideas who to book...

tulipz

hihi.. welcome ffbear!

frais, i think u could try hotel rendevous, perhaps goodwood park hotel, grand mercure roxy hotel. If not u could always use function rooms.. they can actualy look quite cosy..

chomecc, i think europe too ex for me.. i heard states a little cheaper dunno true anot..actually i also tight on budget but like wedding one of my only chance to go far and for 2 wks so thot go now lor... bali etc still can go other time.. duno if my FH can take enough leave but hopefully wedding they will let him take leave...

whiteangelz

Hi Honey,
So wich BS did u sign up with in JB? We kinda wanted too also, but decided against it, coz got to travel quite a few times in n out, n the one we saw is at Taman Sentosa, not City Sq, so slightly further in JB.

Hi Diana or iceglacier,
May i have a copy of hte emcee speech too?

kittyhello

Hi starbear,

We had taken our PS during Oct. And in the process of doing the artwork. when r u taking yours ?

We choose Bontanic Garden, Sentosa and fullerton (Night View) - Very satisfy with the result -

It will be better to talk to your photographer on wat theme they will focus ... Our locations are suggested by the photographer, guess they know better where can take good photos

kaye

seems like the thread getting slower.
the 1st posting on this pg is last Wed...
mostly its my nonsenses....

kittyhello

Hi Rachel,

think no market rate for brothers &amp; sisters - it all depend on your budget - guess if they can be our brothers &amp; sisters, they should be more understanding than anyone

jan193

reismion.. hehe.. still floatin on cloud 9 eh?? :p

count.. work hard.. ur exams wil soon b over.. then u can PARTY!!! hheheh

merryberrys

v long did not come in liao..v bz at work...
how all the 8 Jan brides? linda... u must bug the printer to give u the cards by Sat.. u try to send out the cards by Sun...dun worry still in time since u have pre-alert your friends oredi... i nt giving cards to colleagues so early..maybe nxt wk... u can buy stamps first &amp; get all the mailing addresses.so when u receive the cards,u juz write the addresses,name den u can send out...
i juz sent out the cards last night.. but i oredi know some friends r nt comin majority going hols coz 10 Jan a PH...
linda..i guess u will have a hard time planning the guest list &amp; tbles..coz u have alot of tbles.. i only have 25 &amp; having headache allocating seats oredi...

angeldust

purple &amp; bsproffy,

i watched star awards!! loved michelle chia's GOWN!! but no shen cai lah me.. jeanette aw's dress is so YUMMY!!

Fann wong not my fave but her dress really accentuates her tiny waist i must say..

apple68

<font color="ff0000">okay lah... both proffy n purple got it rite.. so complicated.. u two can also guess.. keke

<font color="ff0000">welcome back angie!</font>

merryberrys

AXL,me may have the problem same s u..becoz all our tbles given to relatives... me &amp; hb left with only 9 tbles..but realise alot of friends going holiday... tats why cant turn up..so we turn to invite more colleagues... sigh.. i even had 3 friends attending another wedding on 8 jan tats y couldnt attend mine...can u imagine tat day so many pple getting married!