(2006) Brides of year 2006

rachiru

Hi lovestory,

i can't make it on 28 Dec leh cos my furniture delivery on tat day.. then wat abt 27 dec??

Hi Christine,tweetywee

Actually I oso think they can share my room.Somemore I'll b married off in late morning.I think should b a problem if they come to hotel in the morning hor???

Btw,i'll like to check out wat's the market rate for jie meis & brothers?? Currently I'm planning on the red packet $$$.Pls advice

count

Hey tulipz and ivy, i am having a church wedding too! Cool! We can plan and discuss ideas together! Hahah. Ivy, i think GHA is quite value for money from what i've heard. While cost concerns are impt, must ensure tt u can trust the 2nd BS to do a gd job. Cos if the coordinator is very scatterbrained or sloppy in terms of attitude, there will be more to worry abt as our AD draws near. Maybe u shd try changing coordinator at GHA? Forfeiting the deposit seems like such a waste...

Sorry girls, haven't been popping in for a while cos i'm in the middle of my exams. 3 papers in the last 5 days and 3 more in the coming week. So dead cos i haven't finished studying. In fact I'm printing out notes the day before the exams! Biangz... Hope to join u all for the outing but must keep fingers crossed. Cos tt will be my first day back at work and may have a lot of work to deal with. Sob sob

All the talk abt budget is making me worried again. Used to be quite scared of making losses cos i heard horror stories, so can understand how u all feel. Any idea how much we shd set aside for banquet losses? Somemore our venue at Shang costs more than $1K per table. Ugh. Would have been perfectly happy with a simple and sweet church wedding but the older generation insists on a dinner! Petrina, for restaurants, it seems that recovery rate is very high. in fact may profit so don't worry so much. Think it's more the hotels tt are a problem! Ahhh... Regret

Somemore after looking at Dorami's wedding cake and the pretty dresses of some brides i really would love to make more dresses...

count

Ivy, don't be too sad ok? Pray tt God will provide and trust tt it'll be the case. Just set aside some cash for expected losses, and cut down on "excesses" tt u don't really need. Getting married in Singapore is so very expensive! =(

Welcome meowmel and silentelf! U girls coming along for the outing? Btw, who is in charge of coordinating the outing? =)

marchbride

Hi shelyn,

planning to go spain but now got some budget constraint so yet to finalize... hmmm.. are you planning to go bintan resort or banyan tree? There is also Bali which I think is a very nice place (but not advisable to go now lor)

deremi

<font color="aa00aa">hey rac,
i cant on 27 dec coz got class loh...haiz...hw ah? any more suggestions?

hey all,
ya! we should depends on our budgets, izit necessary to spend more on jiemeis.</font>

prettyangel

hi cocoberry, dun be pissed off. Initially i was abit upset wif them too. You should try to call them asap. i signed up at Tampines branch. My designer is JC (dun know call her right anot) A very nice lady. Actually i called them to confirm my wedding date cos that time havent confirm. Then i tell them i wanted my photo shot on Jan before CNY. But i am not sure whether you will be able to make it on Jan cos my 1st appointment is on Sept and my 1st fitting is 2 weeks ago. I chose a OTR EG cos i find it very nice and exchange for more pic so now only left final fitting. Like what Jam Choo say, must remain cool with them cos we need them to make us Mei Mei.

storm8345

welcome CSI Fan...

Count, good luck in your exams. don't worry. everything will be fine. you are doing your banquet at shang? mainland or the one at sentosa??

well, i think money is the impt factor for all. i don't think wedding will have much losses. jux make sure that you have some spare cash... i'm planning about $5000 for losses lah... but hopeful all the uncles and aunties will be nice nice... heehee...

i wanted a church wedding oso but my church looks a bit like a CC (many people say that too) so when i saw shangri-la rasa sentosa, i planned to do it by the beach. ^_^ but hopefully it will not rain.

trina_wys

hello gals!!

ok ok.. we've got lots of 'new' members here.. so can u all please give me ur details so that i can upload it into the table? thanks gals and welcome!!..

hi CIS fan!!!!

hey! so surprised to see u here besides the catholic bride thread! when's ur AD? earlier than mine right? if i never remember wrongly.. hehe..
yeah! we can talk about church stuff here too.. haha..

gals,

want me to add another column in the table for solumnisation area too? coz i realised that there are a few brides here who might have church weddings.. will that be good?

chomecc

hihi pet..

keke..me greedy mah... keep wanting this and that.. and i think you have no worries.. shld be able to cover.. we are like giving the worst scenario for my dinner to be $10K... hehe

hihi meowmel.. oohhh u have a very considerate FH and i am glad he recommend this site to you.. kekek.. tot if you be having eugene as your AD PG.. then you and me and cheers will have the same PG.. heheh

hey dorami.. yah... seems like nothin much for us to do till next year.. but its coming its coming.. next year.. kekeke

hihi ivy.. ohhhhhh.. i heard from some gers from this thread that santi can b relatively pushy and hard sell but i have no personal experience with them though.. but i think it will be better to go down to have a talk with santi if you are really considering them and see what they can offer and if you will be comfortable with them.. the most important thing is that you must trust the bs who be doing the gown for the most important day of your life.
i heard some good reviews abt GHA yishun too.. one of my hubby's fren uses the GHA yishun wan.. maybe you can also go down and have talk with the coordinator.. if they are still not able to meet your requirements, then you may want to then look at other options...but i do agreee with you that they have not been very professional so far and that its fair to feel uncomfty at the moment about them..

hihi jacq..
hehe.. i work in changi south .. very very near to u..
kekke.. both of us need tulip and pet to remind us of our budget... if not.. we will be so tempted to get this and tat.. heheh...

hihi silentetf,bumbee and csi fan.. welcome welcome to the pretty and kawaii family of november brides (psst pet.. i have to think of smething different leh..
)when are all your ADs?? mind to share mah??

hey count.. dun stress out okie?? good luck for your exams and study hard. I am sure you will do well

hey GERS.. i just realise something.. this time next year... think all of us here will be MARRYED and should be having or had our honeymoon and enjoying marital bliss.. kekke.. less than one year.. (rubbing hands in anticipation) soon we going to see the start of 2006 le.. :D

tulipz

allo CIS! welcome!

allo count! hee sure can discuss ideas! wah shang ah.. well u can count as each person give u $80 then get an estimate on the max u will lose bah.. try not to invite too many of the same ppl to church and dinner cos church got recep also so even harder to break even...

hee my church also dun look like church but cos member is cheaper than rent other church n i would like my wedding to still be in a church cos got significance so will still have it my dun realli look like church church =) hehe

count! u are a student?? what exams u taking?

wtan

hi hi cecilia..
okok, thks for adding ur name in for the ktv session..c ya soon..cheers~

hi hi CAT..
okok, updated ur name on 15th Dec..is there another day that u can make it as well?

hi hi Diana...
did u mention earlier that u cant seems to make it on 15th due to a dept dinner? do hope to hear from u ur availability..cheers~

wtan

KTV gathering at PARTYWORLD ORCHARD-Hello Orchard (7pm outside Poh Heng, ok?)

6th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia
7th (Wed): - cecilia
8th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia
13th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia
14th (Wed): - cecilia
15th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia, CAT

marnie

Lipstar, so what did you do today after work?

I'm having a blast Girls! Though missed you girls. Had a superb dinner at Sakae Sushi on Sentosa. Booked myself for a massage tomorrow - a happy camper! Though I suspect that I would be in pain after so dare not go to the other corner of the island for dinner. Then Monday got to go work...Bleh....

cocoberry

thanks for the console. they have actually fixed another date for me but think for my case cos it's first fittin and i expect them to be on time so didnt expect such things to take place. my eg also yet to design as they say durin first fittin then design.. for me, OTR is kinda tough cos i m a biggg bride, size UK18. so sure have to mtm one. anyway, think the nex time i visit them i shd let them know tt i wan my PS in mid feb. to prevent them from delayin..

kaye

Hi ladies, my microwave arrived today….HN said the delivery time is from 10am~3pm….*arrrghhh….Luckily, the driver called up to say will arrive at 1:30pm….but till 2:30pm still no sight of him.
I only knew that it arrived b4 3pm. N I went to my neighbour’s hse to c. They ve exactly the same layout as mine &amp; the design is almost the same.
Then went expo. initially tot of choosing the dining chairs only but in the end, I bought a sofa &amp; coffee table instead. Mine is also a 2 seater sofa like Lipstar.
The main question now is:
my floor is beige. I had chosen a blue sofa. I dunno if U ve seen Care bear. It’s the Grumpy bear color. Now, I was thinking if I shld chose yellow or others to match my beige flooring.
Cos I went to Casa Italy..their sofa quite reasonable. I found one I liked. Display set at $999. Its 3+1 L-shape. N the material is the one I liked but its too BIG which is a gd thing too. Else I would regret buying the 2 seater sofa

patali

HI shelyn
me too going for short trip...but it'll be after ROM on 22dec...on 26th dec...most prob bintan too..thinking banyan tree
...but FH thinking of a resort in some rain forest jungle like tree top resort in malaysia...with his big adventure bike...haiz....can't go HM until 2007....cos of 1yr full time course

kaye

marnie,
When did Sakae Sushi move to Sentosa?
Never see it b4...
think I m too outdated...

I would be going for another facial tmr.
Hope that at least I can look better....other than using concealer to cover my pimple marks on my face

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi kit, hope you can have a better idea now.. i agree with angeldust wholeheartedly.. kekek, so not going to repeat myself..

By the way, Ted Collection is charging 2.2k for a WG, EG and CS (all MTM).. their worksmanship is recommendable.. was thinking of using them previously when i wanted to do ala carte.. keke

oh, i may have lobang for your PS shoot in Aus.. if you really keen, can PM me.. =)

hi hilsywong, welcome... i see that you have done your homework well.. do share your expertise with the other btb here.. keke, we are a noisy lot.. hahhahah

hi sam

i have talked to my hotel regarding all the misc you listed above before i signed on dotted line.. all are perks given to me as part of my package other than corkage waiver.. but i did have a reduced corkage charge.. actually you should have negotiated all these with your hotel before you sign up to prevent additional costs.. try now lar.. wish you luck .. </font>

marnie

Hazel, where are you going for your facial. Think I need to start on my sessions now. My face is really horrible T-zone combination. Irks me to bits!

Got lah. They just opened apparently. So I whacked quite a bit of food. Ebi tempura. Sushi from the conveyor belt, Chicken Katsu Don and Meraj had all what I had plus his chicken teriyaki bento. Then we went nextdoor to have our New Zealand ice-cream - we each had our own! *greedy Idyll*

Lipstar, ooh..you had a productive weekend! Um, personally, the grumpy care bear blue sofa is perfect for your living room. Yellow would just not stand out. I suppose the rest of your living room colour is built around your floor colour, beige scheme? Then it'll be perfect that you have only one focal colour point in your living room.

kitty_li

Hi, thanks gals!

my AD is 18 Nov, dinner on 19 Nov (we want to take it slowly and easy, so that we can "try" to really soak in everything on both days...hahaha)

Petrina, good to see you here too...heehee...

ok, my details, so you can add to the list:-
AD: 18 Nov / 19 Nov
Venue: Marriott
BS, AD PG, AD VG: still searching

yah, chomecc, next year this time, we'll belong to the MRS club loh....it's kinda exciting...

qingqing

Coco i am oso a plus size .... i have prob in OTR but still manage to get one nice WG ... but for my EG i mtm cos i dun see any nice one OTR ......
my bs is thomson its kinda depressing but it is really fun .... esp when u try on the gown is very different!

kaye

Marnie,
Its me who asking abt the sofa...
Lipstar's sofa is a black or grey 2 seater...
while I had chosen a blue grumpy bear sofa...

I m going to LD at Ngee Ann City for a facial...
my skin is dry..they always say its de-hydrated.
So, alot of clogs.

Food
I went to Siglap after the purchase of my sofa.
Then to Katong....
So, its like I m eating while walking whenever I see something I fancy.

Lipstar
I had burst my budget on my sofa...cos initial stage no intention to buy...tot of jux buy a few bean bags...think there goes my front load Electrolux wm.

Found out that Panasonic wm is the cheapest...Less than $300 for a top load.
U may conside that...
else if U want a front load may consider EF/Elba...slightly more than $300. for a 5Kg wm.

prettyangel

hi cocoberry, i am also plus size. I told my fh that i am not very worried that my WG will be worn by another lady cos my size is too big. haha anyway, glad that they have fixed for you another date.

kaye

actually, I m wondering abt my dining,sofa &amp; coffee table..
actually, the design is quite outdated...
its like 2004/2005 design...
esp my cofee table...
I saw a few I liked in other places but has a glass top...which I dun like as
I dun like the sound when things r placed on top
also the marking.
So, in the end, I chose all the wooden material.
wanted to ve laminated kind..but FH said it wont last long.

Therefore, I chg my dining table design.

initially my dining tb got 2 colors.. the leg &amp; the top color is diff...the leg is using laminated...now, its solid wood...
Only 1 color...so sad....
Not outstanding.....

as for my dining chair is the zig-zag design.
So design quite old too lor..
Actually I ve a choice to choose the fabric chairs... very comfy. but my FH wants the solid feel.

hilsywong

bsproffy, I'm no expert lah... just a self-confessed bridezilla...kekekeke. Hey we're both using Divine *high5* ... and kawaibride too... and we're also having the same wedding date!

hilsywong

Hi angeldust, yep my FH also m'sian. He's from a very small town and there arent very many venues to choose from. In fact, their idea of wedding is very stereotyped - everybody gather in the chinese restaurant which is very big and unless you have 60 tables... you'll have to share the place with other weddings/customers. And they have "wedding singers" who sings ye lai xiang typed songs.........
Okay, so that the moment, I've convinced FH and FMIL to have it at a hotel/function room.... but FFIL still rooting for that restuarant... hahahah
Also, the hotel charges around RM400++ per table so I told FH that anybody that can be invited to M'sia shld go there....hahahaha *evil*

jeso

Hi Gingercat - yuppers. Had my rom at the Singapore Zoo.

Hi Ting - I'm no longer with TWD. You selected your WG and EG gown yet? You doing MTM or OTR?

danlian

KTV gathering at PARTYWORLD ORCHARD-Hello Orchard (7pm outside Poh Heng, ok?)

6th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia,
7th (Wed): - cecilia,
8th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia,
13th (Tue): - Wendy, cecilia, Elsie
14th (Wed): - cecilia, Elsie
15th (Thurs): - Wendy, cecilia, CAT , Elsie

kitty_li

Hi tulipz,
yah, I just saw in the table, up there, somewhere in this thread...hahaha. We have the same AD, but dinner different...heehee.

Honeymoon ah...FH and I were thinking of Rome, but gotta see how lah, see whether got enough $$ first or not. Otherwise, just a short trip to somewhere nearby lorh...

apple68

<font color="ff0000">Hello gals....</font>

<font color="ff0000">Back from yesterday BS shopping which I would say not so ideal. The first BS we went to was around the fringe of Outram. The service was good and the gown, according to hubby is good.

The 2nd BS I went to was very disappointing. I made an appt. Went there before appt time but made to wait 30 mins. No one came to bother about us or tell us why we need to wait so long. In the end, we were just brought from one room to the other room to wait. Was very disappointed with their service. Hubby actually fell asleep while waiting so I think it is really bad. We walked off after 30 mins later.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Surprisingly, in another BS we decided to try our luck to see if we could just walk in. The designer apologized profusely that they were closed for the day and she could not help us. And even readily offer to let us have their package list first and ask whether we want to make another appt on the spot. Before we left, she apologized again. Which I really think their service is very good. Cos it's not their fault!</font>

<font color="ff0000">I personally feel that some may say 1-stop BS trying to do hard selling all the time and designer BS is better in service. I think service is not on its brand rather on the staff. Experienced lousy service in 1-stop BS n designer BS. I guess it wont be long before our BS choice is confirmed...</font>

apple68

<font color="ff0000">hello kit.. small wedding dinner is good.. cos u could really then mingle around with guests.. making ur wedding more memorable. I guess 13 tables is the min for the BR of GCW. And 16 is the max..</font>

<font color="ff0000"> hello sam... from what i have gathered so far regarding additional print of PS shoot.. it ranges from $75 to $85.. thats why BS can shoot up to more than 5k if not careful here. For myself, we are adamant that we are not going to pick more photos.. just take whatever is givem. Cos no point, we are not going to flip the album daily, after 3 months, will be collection dust somewhere in house.</font>

<font color="ff0000">For hotel perks, we asked for perks before signing to maximize our dollars..</font>

Hi sugarylily

The details of the package are with my FH. All i can rem is i have the standard package which TWD offers. But you can asked for more photos.
When is your AD?

Hi Jes
How come you not with TWD anymore? Then which BS are you in now? I've not selected my WG and EG yet...stil procastinating...haa... I've got one gown MTM only.

lipstar

Idyll: We had a most unproductive weekend cos I was too tired yesterday. After work, we went to Robinsons &amp; Taka to look at toilet accessories. Then 4+ went back.

Today had a headache, so went home.

You ate a good meal at Sakae Sushi. I also just had a great meal - 8 sinfully delicious Ferrero Rocher and 4 Kit Kat. (Slurp)

Hazel: It's like that one lah. We also exceeded our budget on quite a few things, including our sofa which exceeded by about $300. It's ok lah. Nice, like it, buy.

I think blue would be nicer than yellow. Wouldn't really fancy a yellow sofa.

lipstar

Yalar Idyll tok your head ah! I already bought my sofa long ago. It was Hazel who bought her sofa yesterday!

As I'm typing, I just downed another 2 more Kit Kat &amp; rocher. Mmm... I am unlike most people. I would rather eat 800 calories of chocolates than proper meals like say chicken rice.

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">hmm apple i thought you had you had appointments, and wun b visiting BS? suddenly pop into 3 ah hehehe
eh, if u dun mind, can u hint hint to us which are the 3 u went to? i'm very curious

kitkioko

Thanks for the advice. I think at this moment, I am doing spread sheet like you all suggested, Weighting which is more $$. After a day doing it, realise that the biggest killer is the air ticket which is AUS $900/person each trip.
Even try to squeeze to the max 3 trips already coz us Aus $5400.
The 3 trip breakdown as below:
Trip 1 (2 person),
PS, choose gown, choose layout
Trip 2 (2 person or alternatively just 1)
Choose photo (a bit silly have to fly back just fr choose photo)
Trip 3 (2 Person)
collect album, deco &amp; AD
Anyone can thought of shortend the flyin?

Misty,
Wellcome to December Bride Family !! :p

Misty and Angel,
Can share how you cordinate the malaysia wedding or dinner? As I got one also.

Apple,
Too small a wedding like nothing to do leh? I think maybe my dinner will be finished quite early.

Hmh.. I am thinking to get the gown here in Aus, for the same price rental in Singapore can get quite a decent one here. Oh, well this is the ala- carte way lah. Any suggestions ?

Can anyone share the AD itinery?

kit

apple68

<font color="ff0000">hmm.. purple.. the 1st BS has a shop in it that deals with ROM dresses... the 2nd BS which made me wait for nothing .. if u read my friday posting.. u can guess easily... for the 3rd BS... ur good fren.. *wink wink* offers her companionship... located in one of the orchard hotel shopping gallery...very "bright" hint.....keke</font>

apple68

<font color="ff0000">hee hee...kit... i would want the dinner to end off quickly so that we then can go celebrate in our own style... keke.. so i dun mind small dinner...</font>

<font color="ff0000">i've an AD itinery in mind... something like this</font>

<font color="ff0000">830am-groom arrive at my place, gatecrash till 9+.. set off for outdoor photography. Return to groom's place for tea ceremony around 11+... then about 1+ move off to my parent's place for tea ceremony.. by that time.. about 3-4pm.. ready to move off to hotel.. get some rest and get ready at 6pm... so that 730pm.. i can go down for the cocktail session to greet the guests...</font>

<font color="ff0000">this is my idea of AD.. not sure if it works this way... keke</font>

sunniegal

I'm new to the thread. My AD is 18 Dec. Venue is at Grand Hyatt. Love nest @ East Coast. Other than that, everything else is TBC. I can see that a lot of you have already confirmed most of the things. Really don't know where and when to start.

ffbear

Hi, beautiful ladies,
I m new to tis thread... juz finished ROM not too long ago.. now preparing for AD...
my AD is 25 Nov 06, Orchard Hotel, BS is Sophia Wedding Collections, lovenest is @ Depot Road, email is [email protected]

the thread is so active, couldnt catch up with all tat is written here.. so shall start from today then.. keke..
Juz wondering how come u gals can booked PG &amp; VG so early... My fren AD in Oct 06 called up some of the PG.. they say they dont accept so early appt... ??

Hi, Dorami,
see u here again... can I see ur ROM pics? thanks alot..