(2006) Brides of year 2006

angeldust

hi proffy,

talk rot lah u.. ha ha ha ha i only can do simple grouping...

I heard HI also renovating cos the last time I asked.. the lady said the gonna reno during the 2 lunar 7 mth next year.

apple - paiseh cant help much cos i haven been following on bridal shows. U can chk out magazines like her world brides, female brides and style weddings mag etc. or pop by the bridal show thread in SBO.

Whitepearl - i like goodwood park also but then the pillarless ballroom can fit 25 max - i think and parking is a HUGE issue there. I expect 70% of my guests will drive.. considering how many that i know owns a car.. so goodwood was out. me like colonial, english feel..ha ha ha ha but Raffles Hotel and 4 Seasons too exp for me lah..

cecilialim

Yup ROM in Feb 15... after valentines' day...
AD still to be confirmed, FH was thinking postpone to 2007, so that have more time to prepare and save more $$. i also think it will be better... but not sure yet....

tazy

<font color="119911">hi gals,

nobody seem to notice this: FYI. GWP is renovating their ballroom which can accomodate more tables but pkg out only in late Nov 05.
kao_cry.gif

hi apple68 &amp; whitepearl,
GWP is renovating and will have a pillarless ballroom tt can accomodate more than their existing no. of tables</font>

september

haha...paiseh lah....no wonder i tot jackrussell look familar...
Jackrussell, dun tink we will move in until our AD but will take as weekend getaway hse first ba..anyway, we still waiting for my uncle to start the reno mah...
cecilia, actually even if u start searching now for Oct 2006 is still in time but first ting is to settle the banquet...but if u wan to save more $$ then postpone but go get the date for 2007 then u can start the search too...
honey, so u r a whitelink bride to be too...

angeldust

proffy, ok lah.. thank u thank u

hi Jy, we noticed but i was saying that at that time when I was sourcing, gdwood was only 25 table max. main reason why it was out of my consideration was because of the parking + my hubby say he dun like orchard road area cos X'mas period got traffic jam. All pple drive past slowly to see X'mas lights mah..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">jy, think you a bit sensitive here lar.. sure the rest notice as well.. thats why they are talking abt GWP.. and the ballroom after its reno lar...

honestly, until after the ballroom reno is completed, no one will know its state..</font>

kaye

Lipstar,
Since ancient times, directors, managers can come late, go off early....

As for the curtains, if its jux $50 fr Ikea, I rather custom made it...
U save the cab fare to bring it home...at least for my case...my cab fare to home is $15.
N if U measure incorrectly, there's no refund as the fabric is cut.
But if U "hardworking", take bus lor...then its really cheaper...$50 can buy kettle or rice cooker...

springbride

Hi augustina,
Ya, I'm thinking of taking my PS in HK, so gonna check out their rates when I'm there next week. I also have to check with my current Photographer whether he wants to go there to take for me.

Hi Shizuka,
What is LDR? Where will be u be be moving to? I'm looking forward to the shopping there...but I can't shop everyday rite? Otherwise I'll be broke very soon. Hee...

Hi marchbride,
Sorry, was too tired last nite when I reached home &amp; forgot to measure the cloth. Promise to do it tonite.
\
I agree with u that u can't really see the french mani from photos. The only shot that can see my nails was when my HB put the ring on my finger during ROM. Guess we shd pamper ourselves, not does not matter so much whether can see or not...

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">ok... i admit... i din notice abt the GWP renovating news hahahaha

but yes, Dec banquet in Dec can really b a headache leh.. so better take note k?

think lots of hotels will take the good chance for renovation... hopefully Sheraton will b more presentable by then hehehehe

i like Colonial too!!! Raffles Hotel &amp; Chijmes were my dream venue!!!! but hor, i heard service at Chijmes not good.. and most of tables would b blocked by the pillars.. not wise choice...
Raffles too ex

angeldust

purple, as usual.. u BLUR.. ha ha ha ha ha

Chijmes - I attended a wed dinner there. very nice chapel. but sound system is no good because the place used to be a chapel so its echoey.. March in was nice but cos the tables behind the pillar, kanna block. heng I not sitting at table that is kanna block one.. The food was catered cos Chijmes no kitchen. I had Kriston Catering Western Dinner. Ok, not nice to my std and food was either warm or cold.

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">eh, no more catering for Chijmes liao.. and ya, lots of pillars.. so i thought will have lots of complainings since the guests would have to "mian bi si guo" on my wedding hahahaha no good la.. rather them see me than the wall

eh, cannot blame me la.. my window have to b super small when i read leh... else i kena caught surfing net hahaha</font>

apple68

<font color="ff0000">hey gals... one of my reasons of choosing GWP is for its colonial look... keke...i want to have a princess/ prince theme.. keke</font>

<font color="ff0000">hey jy.. sure we all note ur input.. plus my coordinator had told me so too.. but cannot confirm about it being pillarless.. bigger ballroom in GWP is for up to 40 tables... current tudour ballroom is 18min n 23 max.. </font>

marchbride

Hi spring,
It is ok. Take your time...
hahah.. ya, we actually should but when thinking of forking out the cash, abit heart pain wor... since the wedding itself already cost a bomb.. :p heee.. so now have to save abit for my next mani &amp; pedi liao...

wow, you wanna bring your photographer to HK? Then you would have to pay for his air tic and accomodation and food leh... it is gona cost alot!!

marnie

Hello hello bellas!

I'm extremely busy today so have no time to post.
Will catch up with you girls later tonight.

Lipstar, you never sayang me like you sayang Hazel and Snowkat.

Hazel, we must band together and tok tok Lipstar for sayang-ing other people and not us also....

Oh dear Snowkat, take it easy girl and drink lots of water. Vit C with zinc also helps to build your immunity up.

tazy

<font color="119911">hi gals,

hahaha...no need to apologise lah...think maybe green colour not tt eye-catching
i love chijmes too but heard alot of costs incurred, the sound systems, need to pay deposit for outside catering etc etc </font>

augustina

hello lovestory,

Happy to see a teochew gal as me. Hv u done ur GDL?
mine hubby is cantonese. it seem like many thing to prepare, start to get abit lost....

augustina

hi Spring,

I agree with marchbride, it will cost alot for bring ur photographer along. wat abt check photographer at HK. maybe it will be cheaper.

Hi magical, I don't know about paradox cos we didn't manage to find the shop, thinking it was at the same building as Leapin Lizards. In the end, we just got the shoes from LL. Personally I find their shoes comfy enough. They should have other colors for making EG shoes as well.

Hi Gintonic, will update it the next round. Btw, anyone to recommend from Northpoint PINC? How long does one session take? I will be visiting the NP branch since it's near my house...hehe

frais_bleu

Hey Chomecc...thanks a tonns....be waiting for your hotel list...hope i can get a venue on the day we want....if nt i'll kill him!!! and we'll sure be glad tht you join us for our BS shopping....hahaha....afterall 3 woman makes a market!! can bargain more!!!

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">eh.. out of topic.. i jus saw someone having same date as me.. Elton John hahahhahaha faint!!!!!! told my hubby tho same date, but sooOOO different..hahahha not only tat.. he's having castle wedding leh.. so dreamy.. sigh.. wasted

for my venue, all those i shortlisted initially all very colonial, i simply love old buildings hehehe but...
i dun like the idea of walking pass the shops for GWP..
Raffles too ex...
Chijmes, package not worth, the sales lady not friendly, too many blockage

so there goes...</font>

snowy_casper

shishi,
i will be staying with in-laws too...Hope we both are fine staying together... not broken into pcs... hahaha

eileen,
wah great!!! tik most of us hv an chung on 4/1/06.

daphne,
wow!! than can celebrate birthday as well...
on tue, i jus had mine food tasting... everything quite fine... on the spot, the coordinator ask us to decide on the color of flowers, tablecloth etc....

i wil ask them to send direct to the dinner venue.. cos they got chiller to chill the wine.

i wil get a friend to in charge of the consumption of wine... if not disappear a few bottles also no1 knows ;p
hmm... gd idea to serve red wine after 1st dish.. can save a few bottles.. hehehe

newbbi79

suishi,
Walnut cake is $7 each. Other bings tink cost less tahn $10 lor...my si sei bing is abt $9...

The butter and walnut cake is round lor.

Lovestory,
oic..tehy have alot of diff traditiona lbings there hor ;p.

Augustina,
Me a cantonese also lor...Cantonese alot of customs lor..haiz... so u bought all your GDL thing yet?

deremi

<font color="aa00aa">august,</font>
<font color="aa00aa">me too. hvnt done my GDL yet coz my AD on feb 06. mine hubby is a hockchew leh. ya loh...
lucky my MIL know some the GDL stuffs...or else i will be *faint* there.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">newbbi79,</font>
<font color="aa00aa">ya! they hv alot of choices.</font>

kaye

Marnie,
Lipstar got excuse saying Snowkat is a newbie...
what can we do?

oh yes, think I would be going to 2 places for wine tasting on Sat..1 is recommended by our frenz..he said alot of ppl buy consignment..balance fr wedding also dun want to return cos its still cheaper than outside..&amp; the quality is gd..
anyway, I m not a wine drinker...so none of my biz..heheeee
1 is Rochor...the other forgotten...

I only like to drink cocktail...SNOW BALL or they called it FLUFFY DUCK...If I got buy that "avacado" if I remember correctly, I made some for U all when come to my pl...or U all prefer coffee/tea...or ME!!!

duckling78

aiyoh gals. I dun like this feeling.
I hate it when pple asking me why u not holding at hotel....

I dun mean hotel not good. I just dunno why pple now see wedding in rest like cheap skate. I think otherwise leh, They provide better food and service.

preci0usm0ments

<font color="aa00aa">YaYa, i know wat you mean.. btw, which rest are u eyeing har? it's really up to individual la.. for me, lots of my fren would ask me to hold at rest hehe cause they agree that rest serve better food

well, jus go with wat you like
it's ur wedding ma
if they insist on hotels.. tell them to hold their in hotels loh..

whitepearl i dun have their number..maybe you try again later? or u can search thru their forum for other contacts

kelly_pink

Hello Ladies!
So cool!! Got gathering!! I also want to join too! But is it really going to be next friday? Next friday I can't make it leh..

apple68

<font color="ff0000">whitepearl.. i have GWP no. but not here with me.. let u know tonight if u still havent got through. Actually might be better if you email them.. the response time is quite fast.. oh by the way.. can you give me the contact for GPPR wedding show? not convenient to fax over.. many thanks</font>

tazy

<font color="119911">hi YaYa,

don't be too upset by such comments/ questions. just do it the way you and your hb like it. coz it's hard to accomodate to everyone...and no matter where you hold, someone is sure to gv some -ve comments de.

it's your wedding mah, so make it memorable for you and yr hb. i feel that no matter where you hold it, friends/family will give you their most sincere blessings de and will not be too bothered about the location or what-not.

so just enjoy the process of preparation and be a happy bride.

i also had the same problem, when i wanted to hold in sentosa, i got feedback that it's too far out. when i chose a central location (read:eek:rchard) i got pple comment tt will kena traffic jam and ERP. then where? like that my void deck best lor. i was so fed up and in the end i chose to ignore. i mean it's good to have constructive feedback and suggestions but not let yourself be too affected by them.

dolphin48

newbbi, no lah, not going for wine tasting every nite leh..... maybe just go for one more then decide liao. but i'm keen to get the sacred hill still. since i'm going to spend $16 on wine, i might as well top up a bit more and get better wine that leaves a better impression..... just my tots....