(2006) Brides of year 2006

ooshie

hi gALS!!
Just came back from Phuket. quite fun....prob my last hol before wedding haha gotta save money liao

hi Ginger,
Yah we can all start discussing about themes once we settled the bigger issues i think themes maybe like nearer the date ? i also not sure either take the hotel's theme or choose ourselves right? i checked i think to hire a florist to perk up the place will cost like another 1 or 2 K

hi Hazel!
Welcome welcome, the more bTb the merrier ....can share more ideas also .... there are several geomancers in fu lou shou and chinatown those got shop one.... you can also consult those like outside the temple one i think they just want an angpao thats all you gotta have you and your FH ba zi and some want the parents' also

hey chaiyo!
must tell us about the show! got win any lucky draw prizes?! hehe

ooshie

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Bridal Boutique</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Banquet Theme </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zen</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Balinese </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>6/6/2003</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>keh huier</TD><TD></TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ooshie</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>22/6/2006</TD><TD>The Wedding Present </TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gini09</TD><TD>28/6/2005</TD><TD>23/6/2006</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>GingerCat</TD><TD>24/9/2005</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Furama RiverFront</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsSoh</TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chaiyo</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebubbles</TD><TD>23/3/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

jeanng79

Mind I join this thread? I am an april 06 bride too
My wedding date is 29th april 06. When is qing ming anyway for next year? I only know mine is the second day of the lunar 4th month. A geomancer picked this date for us. In fact, April seems to have the most days for us to choose.

marnie

Hi Jean,

I'm not Chinese but when I was "researching" for a suitable date, I read somewhere that QingMing starts on 5 April 2006. That is what I remember, even if I remember correctly seeing how my memory is failing me for the life of me...

chaiyo

Morning ladies!

Hi Ooshie,
How's things at phuket after the tsunami? I rem i went there abt 4yrs abt wif FH, dunno things got changed anot? I rem phuket is a nice place to visit .. Nice beaches ... Great seafood ...

Nah .. Didnt win anything in the show ... Even when i guessed the correct winner for the "beautiful couple" contest. See pple walk away wif $12K of bridal prizes .. *envy envy* But nevertheless, it was a great show! Nice buffet. I was very bz taking photos of celebrities, gowns n such until my fully charged camera went died right after the events!!! wahahahaha ...

kaye

hi..most likely will be in this thread...cos went to calculate the date..best is either 29 Apr or 18 Jun...my FH prefers Jun...
true lah..can save more money...

U may want to put my details in.

Now, looking for my banquet venue...I want something that's less than 800per table for weekend with great food..quite greedy hor...
I had shortlisted a few, Furama, Plaza Parkroyal, Amara &amp; Holiday Inn.
any other suggestions for me? *blink

pebsb

May I join in? I'm a Feb 06 bride too! Will be doing over 2 days - Sat 18 &amp; Sun 19 Feb. 18 is the trad'l with din for family &amp; relatives at Le Meridien. Solemn will be at hotel, b4 din. Sun 19 is dinner at FCP with friends

AD is Chris Ling. Rest not done.

Rgds
Pebs

dolphin48

Hi Elena

Have you gotten your venue? Cos if not, i think Marriot may have available slot as they called me just last week to let me know that the other party has cancelled their booking. But they were one day late as I had just confirmed my own venue then.

krisjon

Morning Ladies!!

Hazel > Welcome to the thread!!

ooshie > Wah... so is the Style Mag Show good?? No chance to go cos having exam n just got my wisdom tooth surgery. Eh.... I think the banquet venue is wrong in the table, should be Meritus Mandarin Orchard for my dinner banquet. Lolz...

Today at home studying and resting... now my face look like dumpling.

taregal

hi sk2,

thanks.. my info is as follows:

AD : Jan 14 06
Hotel : Holiday Inn Park view
BS : White Link
Hse : Tiong Bahru
PG and VG : still looking around

thanks amy, i will go see the website...

for PG and VG, my total budget is abt 1200, i am focusing more on the PG as i think the videography quite standard as they captured the whole process on that day..

any recommendations for PG and VG which are good?? thanks in advance...

preci0usm0ments

Sel,
GWP=goodwood park, but i think the room is quite small..better not get jus in case no space if i wanna increase the tables..

as for Hyatt, i agree it's quite ex and alot of rooms together..but the overall setup very nice

i think will only consider stamford room.. that's the only individual room other than grand BR??

most impt factor is still $$ keke afterall, with all the BS package, photography and videography also going to cost a bomb.. dinner only to let ppl see see.. think dun need to spend so much la hor

i dun mind going to have a peek at PP's BR
anyway, that was one of my inital choice :p

wyn52

thanks Deremi for the advise!!

I've selected my AD (25 feb 06) n in the process of cfmg the banquet venue. probably sherton.

now starting to look out for BS. hv not visited any yet. shortlisted YC, J &amp; C, PMB base the gd feedback in the forum. anyone thinking of using any of of them too?

deremi

hey wyn52,

i oso chosen 25 feb 06 for AD leh. hehe...

hmm...my frenz took YC b4 her feedback is not bad the services n gowns.
as for J&amp;C &amp; PMP i nv come across so dun hv any idea abt it.
im sorie cant help much.

janf

taregal

u can try alan D or jacky kok for PG. find both are good in their own works.

sk2

i will provide updates at a later date ya.

thks!

zenith

hi ooshie!!!
good news! now my FMIL says can get married in June! so i can still stay in this thread. haha! yippee!!!

pebsb

Deremi - yup, looking for BS. Kinda shortlisted a few. Will be taking PS with Chris Ling. Havent found AD photographer, videographer.
Now headache is the flat. Still searching around - want to get brand new but so limited choices.
I wanted Feb 25 initially but the venue not avail. Think its a good date that's why so fast snapped up. So we took Feb 18 since family not particular abt date.

deremi

pebs,

oic...yup! that time b4 i signed up a banquet that date almost taken by someone. lucky i get it 1st...if not i oso will be searching a gd date again...so sian...

so u just look ard 1st lah...no hurry to sign up BS so fast...i know nw sengkang there got BTO flats u got try to apply?

pebsb

Deremi, the SK BTO is only ready in 2010 - cannot wait so long. Considering just walk in &amp; buy something. HDB say only 5-room executive available in a few areas.

kaye

hi zen,
congrats to U...my FMIL wants to chk the date again...So, dunno if i would "stray" to another mth or not.

jeanng79

Hi la la,

his name is Joseph and is english speaking, maybe u should give him a call first cos he needs time to calculate ur ba zhi before he arrange to meet u. Maybe u can give me ur email and i email u the no.? He is staying in ang mo kio.

jeanng79

Marilyn,

By the way, saw ur eariler threads that u looking for BS in JB, u can try MILAN at tamah sentosa...not bad..5k ringgit can be very comprehensive with actual day photographer.You can ask the boss Danny to be ur photographer cos i find him not bad. Only thing is they dun provide bridal car.

actually, I wanted to sign with them initially but happens that my fren's dad is working in one of the BS in singapore, so I got quite a gd deal from him. so end up signing a ingapore package

ooshie

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Bridal Boutique</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Banquet Theme </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zen</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Balinese </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>6/6/2003</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>keh huier</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ooshie</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>22/6/2006</TD><TD>The Wedding Present </TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gini09</TD><TD>28/6/2005</TD><TD></TD><TD>23/6/2006</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>GingerCat</TD><TD>24/9/2005</TD><TD>Furama</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsSoh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chaiyo</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebubbles</TD><TD>23/3/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

pebsb

Deremi
Am looking at 5-rm - SK or Punggol coz in between both parents. Just called HDB. They only have 5-rm execu for SK.
In fact whole of Spore only got 5-rm execu and the other areas are woodlands, sembawang, jurong etc.

deremi

pebs,

oic...i think sengkang will be better...
coz i think punggol quite far frm town. (just my opinion only)
so u choosing SK?

so wat banquet u signed up?

ooshie

Hi Chaiyo,
Phuket was great just that the beach front is abit different now. We go there every april (4 yrs already) but this yr the beach front's not buzzing with activities anymore coz the shops no longer there. In place of the shops are temporary make shift stalls ( but not many also) The beach's cleaner than usual, overall we had a great time.
did you manage to capture any nice gowns? maybe can share the photos i've been reading the mags over and over again until i have no idea what i want for my gown anymore haha

hi hazel,
good to know that you'll be a june bride! you can try sheraton? heard the food not bad how about m hotel? think the weekend quite reasonable also when i think of anything else i will drop you a message again!

Hello GingerCat,
you feeling better? i havent got wisdom tooth b4 but noe its quite painful right? luckily its not during the wedding hahaha
sorry realise i read the message wrongly i also blur when you say you change to furama now realise its for ROm haha i aso still looking for a ROM venue leh any ideas
i never go Style Show leh , its chaiyo!hehe

Zen!
you must be happy to know that you have finally confirmed the date stressful right ... altho i have not double confirmed with the geomancer regarding the current date ... i decided not to bother anymore just went to the websites and make sure that it does not clash with our ba zi and its not a bad date ... otherwise i keep stressing about whether the date good....

ooshie

Hazel!
Saw you in the Empire thread! was also reading about your bad experience with your BS so are you going to be a Wedding Present Bride?? wah so exciting ... then we can tok cok about TWP!! found the name so familiar then it occurred to me its you also in the June 06 thread. Going to give my Empire tea dress to my sis as her bridesmaid dress.
btw how was your rom?

ayane

Hi racherlle,

i hv not booked any BS!! argh, dun make me kan chiong!
we are trying to settle our venue now.. hv u booked yrs yet?

zenith

now i'm really confused... my FMIL says she dun need anything frm my side &amp; jus let her know what my side wans. then i ask my parents what they wan &amp; they also say dun need anything. so waht shd i do?
i ask my mum what abt pinjin, she says jus tell FMIL give a token can liao. then i ask what abt si dian jin? she says we not supposed to ask. if FMIL wans to buy for me then i accept. it's rude to ak for si dian jin. btw, my FH is a cantonese &amp; i'm a hainanese. dad hainanese &amp; mum hokkein.

kaye

hi Ooshie,
Thanks for your concern...not going to be a TWP bride. went to SWC instead cos feel more comfortable with them.
My ROM is fine except the MUA is late. After the dinner, then I realised my JP arrived very early, 40mins earlier.

For my dinner, I called Pauline fr Holiday Inn today since she replied my email this mornings..sounds not so friendly..

Zen, understand yr part...just like my FH asked me how many tables my parents want &amp; the pin jin etc..I would ask him to ask his parents first before asking me. I said this neg part is not our problem..sounds bad lah. but I can understand fr parents pt of view, is that my daughter getting married, finding auspicious dates, dinner, BS everything by us but the other parents side havent make the first move very bad lor. cos we just keep passing msg. We might as well ask them out for a meal &amp; state all the conditions..if both dun want to say anything, U have to make the first move by asking them. else both parties would say how come dun have this &amp; that...like tear face not nice lah

ooshie

hi zen,
we have the same problem!
i think normally the FIL will just give like a token eg cash then our parents suppose to take and maybe just keep a portion for yi si yi si
as for si dian jin, i think it is a must for the FIL to buy no need to ask one. maybe you can go to the hokkein / cantonese thread and check it out

racherlle

hi ayane!

hehe i've placed a tentative booking for my banquet venue already..
as for BS.. most likely I would b choosing Flamingo..

ooshie

hi Chaiyo!
thanks for the pics. can see the dresses can liao ... the face blur never mind haha
anyway is Thomas Ong handsome in real life? just curious!
you took so many pics the show must have been very long..... i went to the divine couture show last week it took like forever to end !! and the worst thing no pics allowed they even say they will confiscate our cameras! so horrible right

schnauzie

ooshie >> hee not technically..plannin to ROM in June 06 then AD in early 07 ;)

I am a schnauzer LOVER! ;P I got 2 MS, one black n silver n one salt n pepper ;P~~
Do u have any MS?

chaiyo

Hi ladies!

Ya. It was a super GREAT show. Wif nice gown, pretty models (and also handsome guy but didnt upload cos tot u gals might be interested in gowns only) and celebrities!! I took more than 100 photos!! Thomas Ong is ultra handsome sia. Didnt expect him to come out at tat time no couldnt make it to take nice pictures of him. My camera take ages to start up. I was so upset when his pic so blur one ...

U went divine conture show ah? I like their gowns leh. First few pics are DC's gowns actually ... Did u find them familiar?? hehehe