(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Matilda,
The person says there will be other people sharing the the same ballroom. So it's not that private. But we say we don't mind actually. Maybe padang or canning, I am not very sure. I just knew that I get only 1/3 of the ballroom.
Where will yours be? Which ballroom?
I am going to sign the contract too this Saturday. I should think that they will not give any extra perks. So we will have to pay for it then. Sigh... Wedding needs alot of money.

Hehe thanks for the advice

I'm with Raffles Town Club and Whitelink

YYBB,

Checked wz a GF of mine. Hope it helps.

“Well, depending on the no. and type of guest invited, so its quite hard to determine. Otherwise, for a 35tables, 2barrels of beer, few bottles of hard liqour, 2dozens of wine (especially red)

Red wine is a popular beverage in wedding dinners these days especially young generations.(friends, cousins, etc)”

ohhh jelly, OT again eh??? I am so tired today... not efficient at all today..got so many prob at work.. feel so shitty..

Hi josie
he told me the rate for now is $680..haha..dunno whether he will increase his price for next yr anot...

Hi jellythots
ya..i remember to bring lotsa of seasick pills, coz i always suffer from motion sickness one...wait puke all over my fh, then die...haha

Hi smp,
Thanks for the info. I've asked a few hotels too, they said actually hard liquor is not in trend now. Most people go for wine instead.
So you are havinng a church wedding? There should not be any alchohol right?

Have you decided on your wedding gown design? I am still looking around? Doing research here and there from the internet.

nothing much, jus tt got soo many things to do today.. wat abt u? do u work that late everyday?? wat time do u go to work usually??

oh.... think everyone also have alot of work to do lah... so dun worry cannot finish next day then do loh.... hmmm.... well i do stay most of the time cos i prefer to work in a quiet environment.... furthermore go home so early also nothin to do........ well my work time is 8.30am.... usually in latest by 8.45am loh....

Hi Tarepanjo
we are ok with the pillars, coz after all the guests are sitting down, no blockage at all if u have less than 36 tables..part of the reason why we chose them is of the comprehensive package, and oso partly of the special 5% discount for their wedding dinners...=)

videographer oso depends on which range loh...think from $500 up to a few thousand onli have...

so where's ur lovenest? ours at Bt Gombak, havent confirm ID yet...which contractor did u use?

hehe..fh and me place more importance on ROM coz it is legalised, whereas our AD, is more for pleasing both side of parents...

Hi germ
for our AD&D, we had more than 70 tables, so the food is not that nice...i had a colleague who got married there as well, but she had ard 90 tables, so the food quality not quite up to standard loh..coz difficult to mass produce mah...but i think with 40 odd tables should be quite ok lah...

ours is in the afternoon, having high tea after tat...our centrepieces are tea-light...hehe...

yup, we confirm having our AD in Mandarin liao...just tat havent sign and pay yet...

wow... then u should go back early to have a good rest, then accompnay ur FH or family.. it's friday my gal.. u should take a break n enjoy!!!

well my FH working nite shift leh.... anyway even if he not working nite shift then he still have to work on Sat.... and so i will let him rest early.... so to me Fri or not Fri actually not much diff... is just tat i can go out only mah... kekeke....

YYBB,
Wine, beer & hard liquor consumption have to depend on the guests u invite. Older generations like our elders will prefer hard liquor & beer. Young generations ard our age will prefer wine & beer. Don't forget ur wedding falls on saturday, consumption will b higher as ppl no need to work on the following day. wine will need to prepare more coz 1 bottle serve 4 glasses. Based on my experience during last yr company's D&D, juz the table i'm sitted, 8 ppls drank 5 bottles of red wine, quite "xiong" lor.

hi YYBB,

Regarding the wine and beer, like what garfield had said, it depends on your guests. For me, I got free-flow beer till 11pm so my guests can drink all they like. For the wine, maybe we'll cater 2 bottles per table? I think will be enough ba?

Hi Sweet,

My lovenest at Kim Tian Rd (Tiong Bahru area)...got it thru balloting on Nov 2002...Our contractor is Kawai...their showroom at Kaki Bukit...they actually provide design service..we can c how our hse look like b4 they start the reno as they hv computer graphics software..,did u go IMM ? there's alot of reno coy...

ya, i guess everywhere is the same in term of mass produce...even 4 services...the more pple u hv...the more difficult 4 them 2 focus...

Wow! Just 2 days, I have alot to read.

cristalle, I am in the same position as you. I am currently oversea and wouldnt be back until Aug this yr and I want to have my wedding on 12 March 2005 because my ROM date was 12 March.

I couldnt confirm the hotel venue or BS right now and i have wait until Aug. This kinda of makes me worry that I couldnt get the hotel we want and we have to change our date.

But, I am glad that this forum provided me with a lot of information and the gals here are very helpful. Thanks Gals! *two thumbs up*

Hi YYBB,
I'll be taking the Raffles Canning Ballroom. The other 2/3 of the ballroom is booked for corporate event. DUn really mind sharing the foyer so long as its not another wedding taking place side by side, otherwise guest might be a little confuse.
As for the beer, wine and liquor, another point to consider is whether to serve wine or beer during cocktail reception or just soft drink & mixers as we dun wan our guest to get drunk b4 the dinner start, 8).....
And we also need to determine how much wine to pour, half glass or 3/4 glass... this is to avoid wastage of wine as some ppl just want to try... but after taking 1 sip.... they just leave the wine there.....
I think i will just be taking 1 barrel of beer, 12 bottles of hard liquors and probably 80 - 100 bottles of red wine..... if the beer run out during the event, ask the hotel staff to check with our coordinator if we want to open another barrel, if it halfway thru the event, then yes but if its towards the end, then maybe just serve by per glass instead of opening another barrel or can go for the 20 litre barrel.... as for the wine, I budget 2-1/2 bottles per table, but I understand that you can get wine that is on consignment, in this case, we dun have to worry having excess or not enough wine for the event. Hope the above helps 8).....

good morning ladies..

its a good sat morning so here i am to wish all of u a happy weekend first b4 i go MIA

josie..
'high five' man..u got matt finishes one too...at soo kee too...me too yeah...but dun think its the same lah..cos very seldom ppl will wan choose our design..hee (cos it usually look nice on the guy but not the girl...not very demure)

qiqi

what mail?smile nev receive any mail leh...
94697.gif

josie
cannot help u on the guo da li...cos me not hakka...and me also blur blur for my own...only roughly know a bit...luckily i got those kaypo kaypo auntie to ask around...

as for an chuan ri...sometimes ppl will seek the advice of those geomancer as well to get an auspicious date...me prob will do that too when my time comes...

have a nice weekend gals

94698.gif

Hi Tarepanjo

wah, u got ur lovenest so long ago liao...was it veri ex back then? coz tiong bahru considered as veri good location and veri veri near orchard, can go shopping veri often..hehe...so urs is a 4 rm or 5 rm?

hi ladies ,

My rings actully half matt and smooth finish .

hmm ...what you ladies up to for this weekend ?

Any dog lover here ?
94703.gif

Thanks for being so helpful and answer my question promptly. I find your feedback very useful and make it easier for me to plan for my wedding dinner.

Hi Garfield,
I think most of my guests are old people (my FH's family friends and relatives). Then I have to prepare more hard liqour.

Matilda,
I've just checked my contract. My wedding will be held at Canning ballroom same as yours. But I am not too sure whether the other 2 rooms will be having wedding dinner as well. It would be better if it's for corporate function. Hmmm I must ask the person in charge later.
Currently I have contact for a company that provide consigment basis for wine, the price is around $20 per bottle. Do you have any contact for wine purchase on consignment basis? I was thinking of serving beer after the cocktail too. Don't want it to be an alchohol affair. Keke. Thanks for the tips on pouring 1/2 or 3/4 glass of wine while serving. Are you planning to have the option of pouring 1/2 or 3/4? If pouring 1/2, will those old people think that we are not sincere in providing the wine consumption?

Hi josie

nothing much planned for this weekend, relaxing for the big day next Sun! =)

hmm..me not much a god lover, more of a hamster lover, got 5 hamsters at work...hehe

Wow, the thread is getting fast. So much to catch up now.

Thanks Fates for the professional work in the table. I think we miss out Cristalle, but she has only say that her wedding is in March, no dates.

Hello YYBB, can I have the contact for the wine? However, isn't it too early to order wine since our wedding is still some nine months away?

Thnaks Matilda, now I understand why my glass is only half full during the wedding dinners I attended. But, would the banquets follow this instruction? It seems like more work for them to do.

Hi Evelyn, you may be rite about not getting the venue or may change the date. Aug is a bit late, whyt dun you try to do a tentative booking on some places first.

hi ladies.... so free today huh...

gog dinner with my family later cos dad birthday... tomolo morning go "Hong Xin" for dim sum.... wow me food for weekend.... so sinful....

wow

seems like a lot of us here bought our rings from soo kee...and with matt finishes too...mayb one of us will have the same pair..

hi jelly/sweet

think i am the worst...i just had two big fried chicken for supper....going to put on weight very soon if i goes on this way

nothing much on this weekend..going to pick up my books and start studying..exams soon....most prob give up liao cos dun know what the teacher talking about..sign..think i better go hang myself first..hee

josie
i am a dog lover...
but no dogs at home cos no one to take care...i only like to peek and 'molest' other ppl dog...hee

ok me going to bed liao...yawn....good nitez gals
94732.gif

Just signed my contract with Raffles the Plaza this afternoon.....two tumbs up for the banquet director...very professional and I can rest assured that my wedding will be well taken care of .... 8)...relief....
But according to his advise....we only need to budget to 1 bottle of wine per table...unless u have a lot of wine drinker..then 2 bottles per table..... he say 3 bottles alittle too much....only for power drinkers...but then again...its really up to you to judge how much your crowd might drink...he also comment that now ppl hardly drink liquor....I told him i got 12 bottles and he says tt its more than enuff .For the beer, his advise is 20 litres for 10 tables and he commented that usually oni during cocktails reception, they will fill the wine half full and during dinner the standard usually 3/4 full and they assured us that their waiter and waitress will not push the wine and will only serve on request and they dun pour at the table, they will pour the wine at the bar counter and bring to the guest ...like tt will have better control.......

hi gals.... morning... me so early huh.... cos gog for my dim sum soon..... kekeke.... oh food again.....

yo sweet/smile.... yap we all sin together.....

oh ya.... thick skin again.... check out the jun issue of style.... got my pix again.... ha ha ha... now really super star man....

Hi decimal,

Welcome here. More 12 March brides.

Happy for you Matilda. I kinda felt a sense of relief when I confirm a venue, one more thing done. It will be another few months or three months before the AD - maybe Nov or Dec that the hotel will contact us for food tasting or decor matters. Am i rite?

decimal!! welcome

Matilda
Yup. Second the banquet manager's recommendations. Actually 1 bottle per table is good enough.

hey girls since there are so many March 12 brides, one question......have you all contacted you BS yet for first appointment??