(2005) Brides of year 2005

chatterbox ~ i also dont know leh,, until it give me problem

jellytots ~ i think is best u check with yr parents do they need to have the ti qin thingy or not

Jelly - think both side need to meet up to discuss like the Guo Da Li stuffs, how many tables from your parents side etc.....

Leeds - From the groom is to give your parents or your mom, and from your mom is for yourself and not for the groom.

von
ti qin is to discuss the guo da li and other stuff
guo da li is to take place like 1 - 2 weeks before the actual day where u bring cakes,liquor etc

stupy, leeds ~ sorry me feelin so angry just now, so went out for a breather.

topic still on pin jin ar? Me too....I still give allowance to my mum

hi dragongal,
thx for ur advice.
have not chosen the WG or EG yet.. dun thk bustier is nice when arms r flabby hor? m/o shoulder qte broad.

jelly - for the ti qin, u have to ask yr mum if she wan a "mei bo" to come with yr PIL to tin qi... if she's not particualar then can juz ask yr MIL to go up ti qin lor... coz I thk if u ask mei bo, muz pay 1 lah...... For my case, my mum say dun need all the hassle, so my MIL will go up my mum plc to ti qin lor....

tot guo da li is that day u distribute the cakes, and canned pork to relatives.
and ti qin is to ask the bride side how much tbls, n blah blan blah thg....

von
ti qin is to discuss the guo da li and other stuff
guo da li is to take place like 1 - 2 weeks before the actual day where u bring cakes,liquor etc

oh butter... hvn sign lah.... latest deadline by ZWD is 25/05 loh....

yo chatter.... oh cos my deadline with ZWD is until 25/05 loh.... so will u be gog down with me on 25/05.... so next Thur or Fri u 1 2 go where... cos next thur i will be gog Paris leh... u coming with me and butter...yap vela my old friend i intro her to this thread 1....

yo stupy.... not BS hunt on 18/05 leh.... is 25/05 lah to ZWD leh... u blur or i post wrongly...

yo cutie... went to silverlining already liao... but quite ex cos gown all make to measure... then photo only 8R 20 pcs leh... if 1 big one have to pay more $$

touraco..oh i see.. dun think ti qi is important nowadays rite?? .. u know hor..my sis husband family is the traditional Hokkien type and during guo da li..they brought all the traditional stuff..cakes liquor candles orange sweets etc..my parents oso go blur..so in the end.. still need him to teach us what to keep and wat to give back..

humm.. I would rather do without this..moreover.. me and FH different dialect group.. so during guo da li follows whose traditions??

fates
why angry
oh you also give $ to yr mum?

touraco/ blur/ fates
how much allowance do you give to yr mum each mth? is it a lot? seems like it is quite the tradition here... me curious..

stupy
ya eat and grow fat. not everyday eat gd stuff la.. but me very greedy always eat eat..

von ~ different dialects got different traditional stuffs to give during Guo Da Li too.

anna ~ AMI results loh.....................
nt alot lah..about $500 loh.

Talking abt giving home allowance for mum, my mum also want abt 1/3 of my pay. *sigh* Her very first reaction is talk abt $$$ when I told her i getting married, so disappointed.

jellytots,
How is ZWD? who talked to u? I pm u regarding this. :D

von
once again...my mum already specify what she wants during guo da li...down to the kind of liquor and the shape of the liquor bottle...so particular,right?
for us,ti qin wld be just a casual dinner or lunch with each other's parents ( i shld think so, think my mum mention something like this before)

anna
i give 1/3 of my pay to my mum

icy
think ur mum and mine the same leh
she everything also money wan leh
can u imagine if i ask her to help me buy papers or food when she's going downstairs...she wld ask me for money

Fates - Angry bcos of AMI? Me too!!!

Jelly - Forgive me (this old lady). I blur liao. But still can join you anot?

Anna - hahaha.....my colleague ta pao sashimi for me now.( dun mistaken...it's my lunch )

Cutie - Sashimi ok hor?

touraco ~ is all this money things that keep stressing us right!! i also have the same problem as you,, is always money money money!!!

touraco ~ oh dear but nevermind la.....it's yr mummy after all

stupy ~ yaloh....I think I gonna have high-blood liao....feel like slapping that ah huay's face. Can grin somemore......

touraco,
Ya, that is my "family culture" too.. sometimes buay ta han.. but I tried to be generous with her by not asking her for $$$ when I helped her to buy food then sometimes she will also do the same. Father and mother also like that..

so i had a culture clash with fh family when they are : my $ is ur $.
she already getting 8 tables from my fh, dunno what other requests she will have, I very scare too.

stupy
wah only sashimi for lunch? very healthy and very diet le.. soon you become very slim slim like chio chio...

touraco
thats quite a lot hor..
hmm..maybe you can take my suggestion for the pin jin thing, just put 888 in the ang pow ...dun need to put so much cos it come fm fh so you can act blur right?

talk abt guo da li. i also dunno wat is needed. in my case i think some pastries and cakes will do? my mum dun seem to mind le.. family not very chinese traditional... actually i am hoping it will be those nice mordern mini custard tarts but guess i dun get to choose on this...

icy ~ is best to asked what exactly yr parents want lor,,, if not last minute how are u gog to arrange for the stuff for them??

touraco..but the parents should have already met during your ROM rite?? wouldn't it be very awkward for the parents to be discussing pin jin over a meal??

me on MC today.. was hvg gastric since yesterday afternoon.. last nite in the middle of the nite, my gastric was churning last mad.. sigh.. jus taken medicine.. so now feeling better, that's y login here to c wat u guys discussing.

cutiebear, so it's yr turn to go for tooth extraction ah? told u right? i went for 3 molar tooth surgery 2 wks ago.. now perfect! has recovered!

jelly, i sms u my orders later ok.
thks so much!

touraco, as for me, my mum has not discussed abt gua da li yet.. but she has told my hb abt banquet.. she wanted 20 tables & guessed what 10k for dowry.. but realised she was trying to scare my hb.

fates, cool down already now? hehe.. btw are you planning to continue giving your parents allowance after wedding?

duffy, aiyo now better already. go rest well lor... btw, you are joking right? 10k for dowry can die leh....

duffybuff ~ Take Care huh!! drink barley is good for you!! i have very serious gastic problem before,, understand what u gog through now!!

icy
my FH's family culture is totally different from mine. they are not so hung up on money and they don't know anything abt the customs etc so everything listen to my mum lor

anna
better dun risk that else she will hate my FH for life man

von
i think it will just be a formality lor...still have to go thru it...i really have no idea what will they be discussing

duffy....
take care...u didn't eat is it?
20 tables???? wow...

duffy ~ please take care of yourself.....

leeds ~ hmmmm more or less :P contemplating whether to watch tonight's episode......I dunwan to see that Ah Huay's face..

Yes I'll still give my mum allowance after wedding

touraco
aiya you can get yr fh family to give the ang pow. fh dun give then it is not yr fault... and even if she hate fh family also nothing can be done..

thks for yr concern! me better now! tat's y can wait to log on to chat w u gals.. hahah..

leeds, ya lor! i got a shock when my mum said tat! thk my mum knows our situation so she mellow down. cos' i told her me not marrying a multimillionaire or smthg!

fates
how much will you still give yr mum? i dun give any allowance but was contemplating giving after wedding cos i plan to go home everyday for dinner.
my family belief is that if not married yet it is their responsibility so i dun need to give any allowance.
mum ask me to save it... but granny very concern over my spending...

cutiebear,
I ask my mum before but she changed her mind here and there, she not listen to me, but those relatives etc.

i think everything will only be finalised when fh's family come together formally to talk abt what is needed by both parties but i think will not be so soon.. perhaps that year.

touraco,
seemed like we are both in similar situation. *sigh*

icy
aiyo... i can undertstand how it feels when run into a wall over preparations cos i so sian now can't be bothered to prepare already...anyway i concentrate on exams.

in my case is not the wedding or pin jing that is a problem. its the hse cos my family expect fh to buy a hse on his own without my help. quite impossible here in sg le.. the hse here all so overpriced. fh also thinking of not buying cos he may not want to stay here long term...so now hanging in a balance i also sian already...

see stupy, not everything lucky la...

butter
oh my family mentality different ma.. i dun think it is standard le to give allowance although i see a lot of ppl do it here?

anna, touraco,
ya lor, can u imagine 20 tables.. in the 1st palce.. i only plan to hv all together 28-30 tables.. hahah.. if she wants 20 tables then i dun hv to invite any friends lor.. aiya, my mum is 1 typical 'want-face-auntie' but in the end, we promised her 5-8 tables and as for dowry, my hb has set aside the 10k jus in case she really mean it. but my dad was cute, when he heard my mum asking for this much, he scolded my mum saying that he's not selling her daughter(me). hahah

anna, gd for u ! at least u dun hv to worry abt bring $ bk home.

Anna - how I wish I can be as slim as chio chio or even like you gals....( Dream on rite? )

Fates - I confirm not watching tonite cos I know that Ah lian of yours will show a pathatic face for Latoya.

Duffy - Do take care ok? Dun forget you worth 10k leh.....hahaha....

touraco..cheer up ya *pat on the head*..she is still your mum afterall.. sometimes..being accomodating is better than risking the relationship..

touraco
no la.. bitter also wun show on surface right? but if you think its better to give in then no choice lor.. n mind la... $ can always make back.. yr future happiness more impt.. besides when yr mother pass on (choy hor..touch wood) eventually she will let you inherit one.. ;p