(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi karen,
i have been to marina mandarin for countless times for wedding dinner....i love this particular dish with brocoli and crabmeat gravy...yum yum

Hey all,

Is there a list of the chinese customs? WAs going through the thread and forgot who got them? Can that kind soul send it to me? Me quite ignorant of all these stuff lor :>

Icy,
Please update my details as got some changes. AD will be 22nd January, Orchid Country Club.

This thread moves really fast...I'm getting lost already here, trying to catch up with all your previous posts...

Hi celtricia,
hehe... so coincidental, we share the same AD!!! btw, have we "met" each other before in some reno thread on Joop here on this forum?

Hi Joyce!
Welcome... actually I thought you might be someone I know, then I looked at your surname and I think you cannot be...

As for the relative positions of the e-ring and the wedding ring on the finger, the wedding ring is supposed to be worn on the inside -- closest to your heart -- with the engagement ring serving as a "guard" for it.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning my dears.....
What's this abt food again? LOL!!

Jit Pong ~ thanks..will check email later hor....</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nickname</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BD/AGE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">FH/FW
</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">ROM</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD photoshot</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Claire</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">22 May 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">2 Jan 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Sheraton Towers</font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Santiago</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">cutiebear</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">8 Jan 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">8 Jan 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Pac Pacific</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Irene's Creation</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">leeds</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">9 Jan 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Four Seasons Hotel</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Bridal Zone</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">duffybuff</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 9 Mar 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">19 Jan 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">ROM - china club
AD - Conrad hotel</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> -</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Matthew</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">31 May 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">22nd Jan 2005</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Orchid Country Club</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Golden Horse Awards</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">jitpong</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">19 Feb 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Meritius Mandarin</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Everbliss</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Joyce</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">19 Feb 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Pan Pacific</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Whitelink</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">elaine</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27 Feb 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> Carlton</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">alvinanna</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">3 Sep 98</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">6 Mar 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Conrad Hotel</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Bridal Veil</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Fates</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">12 Mar 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Golden Horse Awards</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">dinah</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">35</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">19 Mar 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">19 Mar 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Grand Hyatt</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">touraco</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">28</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">30</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">20 Apr 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 2 Apr 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> The Sentosa Spa and Resort</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> Seletar Broadway</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">kysha</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">25</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">7 Nov 03</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">22 to 23 May 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">The Bridal Wardrobe</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">icy</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">25</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">28</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">20 Nov 04 </font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">3 Jun 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Pan Pacific</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Z Wedding D'sign</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">celtricia</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">18 Feb 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">18 Jun 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">St. Mary's of the Angels
AD - 88 restaurant</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Frame Bridal</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">cookies_gal</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">25</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 10 Jan 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 18 Jun 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Church - St Andrew's Cathedral
AD - Raffles Hotel</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> Bridal Concept</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">josie</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">1 Oct 03 </font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 1 Oct 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Golden Horse Award </font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Sweet</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">30 May 04</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> Oct 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Milan</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Karen</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">26</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">28</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">5 Nov 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa"> 5 Nov 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">ssmilezz</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">25</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">31 Dec 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">31 Dec 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Church - St Francis Xavier</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">anna</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">34</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Dec 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Dec 05</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Church - Wesley Methodist</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">jellytots</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">26</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">20 Mar 03</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Paris de Brides</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">starz_galaxy</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">Golden Horse Awards</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="aa00aa">-</font></font></font></font></td></tr></table>

I realised slowly, most of us are having our venue already. :D

Hi cookie_gal,
So actually wearing e-ring and wedding band on the same finger right?> I saw some friends doing that.

hello germ,

well, west side is a little town on its own. it has got all the necessary amenities. but if u r talking about going out of jurong to town, i would say its very far. cos it takes about an hour plus minus to reach boon lay from orchard, including all the waiting time.

i am not sure abt yew tee, cos its more north west than west... it is about 15 min drive away from my house via KJE. but i would say that it is quieter n more serene over there. jurong west is really quite congested already, as there is really alot of flats here.

gd morning
i'm on leave tdy....

so happy

wil be yakking with you gals fm home...

karen
marina mandarin
better than oriental but i din really like the setting. prefer brighter, airier settings. guess if you like cosy, dim (adds class?) atsmosphere then its gd.

fates ~ yes ... am leaving at 6pm tomorrow for india for a week ...

sigh .. am so addicted to talking to all of you .. hopefully the network there is fine and i can log in once in a while to catch up and chat

Hey Fates,

Hmmm Becos I was putting 35 tables and above, so find it a bit cramp lor :>. Was deciding between both, the two places got their pros and cons. Even brought my FILs and my parents to view both places. And they liked both and just said let me decide.

Noble Hse is good in fact as the staff were friendly and I tried their buffet dinner, power man :>. Decor is quite nice for a restaurant. Price is also reasonable. But no hotel room provided and diners can come in.

So it's just which pros and cons u r willing to go for and sacrifice. I had sleepless nights :>.

Icy,
My FW age is 26 and mine is also 26. Next yr will be 27 though :>

Dinah ~ wat??? u going off so soon...*sighz* so sad..one less kaki hor....u try to log in after work if possible yah? We will all miss your company.......

Cookies Gal ~ yo woman! Busy lately?

Celtricia ~ welcome my dear to this rowdy thread.

smilez ~ yah lor ... from the other time i mentioned i was going away, that was before i even started all my BS-hunting .. and now it is over ... sigh ...

will try to log in lah .. but india is 2 1/2 hours behind singapore ... by the time i log in .. the 'peak hour' hour here over liao ... sigh

matthew
just noticed yr nick is mahjong!!! <shock>
haha you must be a mahjong king...

dinah
no need to envy... haha. can take leave oso... going to india sounds fun. will hv liked to go there bro biz trip then can see see look look at the place ...

Dinah,

I think it's "auntie"/"tai tai" looking on me coz my fingers are short and fat

I suggest that you wear your e-ring with you when you go out and select your wedding bands. If you are having custom-made wedding bands, then you can show the designer your e-ring and ask them to design a wedding band such that the 2 rings sit nicely next to each other. I've read of brides who had to re-set their e-ring coz it didn't sit well with their wedding band...

anna ~ how come on leave......fates jealous....LOLzz

ssmilezz ~ ya food glorious food!

cookiesgal ~ the 'speed' of the thread now is considered slow already...btw you engaging Joop is your ID??

icy ~ ya all of you got a venue already except meeeee

<font color="0077aa">~ Dinah ~ can lar..u log in at night or during lunch lor..better than nothing!

Yeah, can't believe we were talking abt all your BS visits just two weeks ago!! :P

Time flies hor.....

Touraco ~ wei...how's your knees now? Better?</font>

anna ~ it's my first trip to india .. so a bit scared and wary lah ... i will take many picture to show you guys on the 16th gathering too ... hehehe

don't know what is there to buy in india and where to go to buy things so can't offer to take shopping list from you guys .,... pai seh

ssmilezz, yah lor... a bit busier these days coz of meetings/discussions, so cannot spend that much time at my desk but I'll try my best to keep up!

<font color="ff6000"> Fates ~ yah lor..food food food....i'm feeling very hungry now. shucks. hee..so what's new hor...

Icy ~ u around?? *looking around*

Anna ~ yah...there's alot of Mahjong fans here!! I'm one of them!!!</font>

fates nope... we did talk to Joop but it was a bad experience ... my ID is The Interior Place. Going to see my perspective drawings for the first time this weekend... quite excited about it!

<font color="119911">Cookies Gal ~ don't overwork yourself hor?? Hee..must be very fun to look at all the different designs for your new home! Have you been doing alot of research? (buy mags lar..surf net..?)</font>

fates
me too me too. i oso no venue yet... fh not in any hurry and fpil say so early book for wat...

but anyway no choice... cos forever waiting for that tong shu...sum more they must consult their geomancer.. haiz.

dinah
ya...make sure you bring the pics hor.. you travel often for work <envy>....

<font color="0077aa">Anna ~ aiyoh..don't tempt me leh...i'm already thinking abt what to eat for lunch and have decided to chiong downstairs at 12 on the dot to tabao. haha..

What are your plans for today since you're on leave and so "eng"?

Icy ~ haha....talk abt MJ makes u so alert and excited!

:P

How big do you usually play arh? Got suan4 tai2 kind or not?</font>

cookies gal ~ huh? really re-set e-ring ... erm i don't think i will want to do that lah ... we'll see about the w-bands later lah ... think we'll just order them from the same place that FH got the e-ring ...

smilez ~ hehehe ... yeah and i will have to trawl through all those archives ... hehehe ... since we manage to always do 2-3 in a day ...

Anna and Smilezz,

Yes big big mahjong fan but hands very itchy as 2 weeks never play. Hope this weekend got kaki lor :>.

It was a big headache choosing the wedding venue as must think of this and that!

U all were mentioning the wun tun mee yestetday. The Dunman Hawker Centre one is shiok, got Seng's Wun Tun Mee and the rojak stall next is also very power. Know the Wun tun mee owner as Dad goes there well and the rojak owner stays in MArine parade only. All old friends :>.

If u all wanna go, make sure u all call and order. The Rojak guy will tell u to come the exact time:>

smilez
wat you aiming to eat this lunch?? what do you usually hv for lunch?...um too many posts sorry i forget where you work...

i plan to tidy up my messy messy rm, take stock of our plans to buy apartment - tidy up brochures strewn ard, glance thru the classified and plan my syllabus to start studying...

anna ~ about at least once every two months on average lah ... sometime more frequently, sometimes not a half a year ... so depends ... initially i used to think quite fun but after a while, it is very tiring ..

cookiesgal ~ oppss! what happened? we talked to them before but didn't engage them too :P

ssmilezz ~ thinking of what to eat already ar?? hehe...

Hi ssmilezz,
I thought u looking for me mah...

recently play with a couple, got suan tai lor.

But is play Bao one, so who let the person win will have to pay the whole sum.. fairer for couples mah.. minimum 2 tai lor.

money count as $1,$2,$3,$5,$10,$20 lor. max 5 tai.

anna ~ FH got the ring from this jeweller at shaw (isetan lido) called chew cheong. it is more or less mtm ... in that he specified the type of stone he was looking for, then bought the stone, then told them how he wanted it set (or rather i wanted it set) .... is that what you are thinking of in terms of mtm?

ssmilezz,
knees har...itchy but much much better...waiting for the thing(don't know what u call that) to fall off and heal lor...so ugly now

pple stare at my knees when i walk...

touraco ~ oh remember to put moisturizer on your knees!

anna ~ wow so many things to do on your off day ar? envy envy....

icy...wow you play so big ar? $1/$2....

Fates,
Only play with that couple then so big. I dunno leh, cos normally the money win or lose, I also give fh.. hahaha.

Unless win a lot, then I get some commission. Think previously, just play 10 cents/20 cents.

Hi Dinah,
All the best for your trip! Maybe can find nice unique things for your wedding there.

Hi fates,
Me also no venue yet...but your AD in early 2005 right? better 'jia you'. What are you considering...let the gals here help you lah.

Confession:
Actually I love MJ, learnt while watching, knew how to play since P3. But I can't bear to gamble leh..dunno why I can't even play ten/twenty cents blackjacks during new year...very sim tia..not worth the winning feeling leh... but then I can spluge on taxis and food...

Icy ~ wah..u really expert boy..i have never play those tai kind before lor..and play so small kind..like 40 cents - 60 cents the most. haha...so only make or lose a couple of dollars lar..not so heartache.

I was looking for you mah..to chit chat..hehee...:P

Touraco ~ u mean that scab issit? It's very itchy hor..and sooooo tempting for u to peel away right? Then if it's not ready to drop off yet and u peel it away, it might bleed again or leave a scar. :P Control yourself my dear..hehehe

no lar, i don't think ppl will keep staring at your knees....:P hehee..
i promise *not* to look at your knees when we meet ok?

Fates ~ yah lor..hungry already. I think i will have tom yam noodles today.....slurp...nice nice...but it's always so crowded! Have to go down earlier.

U have any plans for lunch?

Matthew ~ yah, that rojak stall very crowded. hehee...i stay very near to the food centre (walking distance) but i hardly go there to eat cos i don't really like their wan ton mee. hee....i usually eat the duck rice downstairs.

So u found MJ kaki for this weekend yah? hehehe