(2005) Brides of year 2005

cutiebear,
when i send a complaint letter to lee hwa, the person who replied is just as rude...i don't know what to do after that...sigh

cutiebear ~ oh gosh ... that is very very bad customer service. i remember a year or two back there was another complaint against them in the new paper ... about wedding bands too ... can't recall the exact story but i do recall the customer service then wasn't that great either

hello Ladies
wave wave !!!

Good Morning!!!

CUTIE BEAR!!!
heheheh ....

I was really busy for the past few weeks... in the midst of year end closing ... panda look-a-like now

I think I have heard of Lee Hwa willing to buy back old diamonds. I am not sure .. do you think they might try to re-set these diamonds and resell them at a cheaper px? so explain some of their poor quality/workmanship

claire,
but even if they reset, they have to ensure they have good workmanship....their stuff so expensive and yet poor workmanship and even poorer customer service....really don't know how they can get award year after year

Yo! Hi claire!
Long time no see eh!

anna ~ your sis so poor thing, if it's me, I don't know what will I do mannnnn.......sue them?

my geomancer is the one who charge $80. My facial $42 at Beauty Express cos there is a promotion.

touraco,
0.75 still small??? mine smaller leh..

anna,
also depends on ur finger, if ur finger very slim then dun wear too big diamond, could be too much.

fates,
1 week, some people may feel too rush, cos on that day, you still need to distribute the cakes as well as give out invitation.. so perhaps before that ur parent have to tell ur relative abt the invitation verbally. Gup Da li, also known as "Wen Ding", not 3 characters.

Hi girls, when is ur guo da li?? how many days away from wedding day? Mine is only abt 6 days.

oh dear
i think i better avoid lee hwa.. how abt goldheart any complaints so far??

actually come to think abt it claire i think you are right - i mean if they buy back old diamonds of course they can't throw it away right? so it means they resell? after all diamonds are forever and you can never tell if its a new or old one... so they can actually resell at original price.. or even higher if the current price of diamond is rising due to the usd.

icy,
yah...my fingers quite slim so my FH says a big diamond will look fake on me. dun know if it's his excuse for not wanting to buy me a big one or not...heehee

anna,
the diamond that dropped from my pendant is from goldheart

icy ~ i think mine is also about a week or two before AD. my mum didn't consult with a geomancer for this date .. she says any date is fine with her for this ... so am letting FH and FMIL decide

<font color="0077aa">Claire ~ heee..yah, better finish your work first hor....:P

Icy ~ wei..u seem very experienced with all these gua da li and all that. Can just explain to me what do these terms mean? *scratch head* U should know my chinese very bad hor..hehee...

My mom and FH's parents are all very blur abt what to do cos we are actually the first in the family to get married lor....so i think everything will be very simple or at least i hope so. :P

touraco ~ never mind ... hehe e... just agree with your FH that for now, too big a diamond will be OTT ... but later on, you can carry bigger and more diamonds ... hehehe ...rings, pendants etc are upgradeable ...

hey gals
wat do you think or diamonds with certs? how impt are the certs to you?

i hv one with a cert but nvr take out and see the cert le... now i oso dunno where the cert is...must go home and search...

um re: the guo da li thingey - still waiting for tong shu... oso dunno if need to get date or not for this as well?? depend on fh family...my family not so pantang.

Dinah ~ actually hor..i would prefer the diamonds on my erm..necklace or my earrings to be bigger.hahaha...at least they don't get in the way mah. Agree?

anna ~ the cert is actually quite important cos if you want to, ever, trade-in and change your diamonds etc, you would need the cert ...

smilez ~ agreed ... i am still keeping my fingers crossed that i get my earrings this year ... for my b-day or xmas or something ... hehehehe

hi anna - my rings are from goldheart. No complaints so far, quite happy wif quality and service. Occasionally, I'll bring the rings to any outlet for polishing and get treated to a free drink as well

icy - yar, do share abt ur knowledge on guo da li and the customary ceremony preparations. I'm not too concerned but have to respect the parents.

Icy ~ Wen Ding??

Hmmm diamonds diamonds...I wish my hubby will buy me a 1-carat diamond, but I don't think it's practical leh! I rather he buy me a CAR

I was on MC yesterday...FH did not eat lunch coz of the Regent show...then he had craving for meat and dragged me to Seoul Garden buffet. I had too much beef...got heaty and slight fever on Sun nite...arghh...put me of meat the whole of yesterday...told him this is the last time we eat Seoul Garden till after wed.

Hi Dinah,
Ya...no lucky draw, quite disappointing right... Yr FH's OK, I can understand that not all guys are interested in all these forum chatting

Hi Ssmilezz,
Ya, I found dinah thru her bag. I was at the 2nd floor and spotted her thru her bag from upstairs.

Aiyoh so many posts, have not read all yet.

Hi claire... so nice to hear from u... yap me will also be bery busy from today till end of thw week cos month end closing tomorrow already... hee hee.... now still chating away here in the forum....

Hi anna... cert important meh... i also have 1 for my wedding bands... also duno throw where already... hee hee

<font color="ff6000">kysha ~ i also bring back my earings/rings to Goldheart for their polishing very often. :P I frequent the Parkway branch and the ppl are quite ok lar....anyway, my aunt &amp; mom also their regulars.

those with certs will cost more...
mine is without cert though...

i have hinted to my FH that i need a pendant,earrings and bracelet to match my ring...hahahahaha

karen ~ hello ... oh dear .. on MC? you ok now?

touraco ~ do those with certs really cost more? hmmm ... never knew that ...

you're even better than me .. hehe e.. i can't ask for pendant liao cos he got me a cross for the previous xmas ... and i don't really like bracelets .. so now hoping for simple pair of ear studs lah ... ehehehe

Karen ~ wei..u feeling better? *sayang sayang* Aiyoh..overate issit? heee...I seldom go to Seoul Garden cos it's quite smelly when u walk out lor...and the staff there very cute.:P There was once we asked for butter to cook the meat, and they told us..."sorry, no butter due to safety concerns?" huh? Butter = Fire? Er...very strange...

smilez ~ maybe they are scared that the butter will splatter and will hit you ... hehehe ... then they kenna sued by you if you were injured

Hi touraco,
I am starting to think that the diamond a bit too big for me already.. anyway mine just 0.4. Personally I think below 0.5 is good enough, cos since want to wear everyday, better wear more comfortable.

Hi ssmilezz and kysha,
Guo Da li is when the groom will bring pin jing, xi pin and those other stuff to the bride house. Then the bride is like formally "engaged" already, so she can start distributing the invitation cards and cakes to her relatives.

An chuan, is suppose to be the day, you buy in a new bed and set it with all the "RED" colour matress cloth.. and start throwing those "good stuff in" like lian zhi and maybe even get a small boy to roll on bed.. But now a days people, just buy bed earlier, then just set the matress and put the bedsheet to set in. After an chuan, no one suppose to sit or sleep on the bed (except boys, if u wanna give birth to boys). So it is better to be just few days before.

Hi anna,
I think the cert is to show trade in value of the diamond.. but then I heard those diamond also have depreciation value.

Hi fates,
Yap. Wen1 Ding4. Some people call that as Gup Da Li.

Karen,
Take care o, nowadays very heaty..

icy ~ waaah you are very knowledgable about all these ...

so essentially if the invites can only be distributed along with the cakes etc after the guo da li, then shouldn't the guo da li be like a month before AD?

Dinah ~ no ba...butter is so dangerous meh? heheee....

Icy ~ Ping Jing is the money given to the bride side by FH? And what is xi pin? *blur*

Yeah,i alos like earings alot lor...i have a matching pair of earrings which is set similiarly to my enternity ring. hee...cos i have more than the usual two earholes, i have a couple more small tiny diamonds (very small one lar) that i wear to cover the remaining holes. :P

hi icy - when does the GDL take place? juz b4 actual day? or at least 2 mths b4 since u said that can only start distributing invitation cards after GDL.

Hi anna and smilezzz..... hee hee good idea must check whether mine got that good service cos mine from Soo Kee leh.... must go and check it out man...

smilez ~ erm i am just speculating lor ... hehehe ... but butter does splatter on a hot plate / pan though .. so maybe they are just being careful .. hehehe ...

waaah .. so you can tell your FH .. more earrings the better ... heheheheh

cutiebear ~ ^5!! Ye I'll ask my in-laws/relatives to buy me diamondsssss :P

Dinah ~ LOLzzzz....

icy ~ wahhhhh errr but 'RED'???? Yeekks.. And for wen1 ding4, different dialects got different kinds of goodies to bring one righttt??

Karen,
do take care of yourself hor...

dinah,
that's what my jeweller told me.
he got me a cross pendant last christmas too...
heehee....
one of my colleague's husband gv her a 1.02 carats diamond ring when she pregnant with a boy...heehee

touraco ~ hehehe ... so coincidental ... where did he get yours? what does yours look like?

hmmm ... looks like we must find occasions for our FH to upgrade our little sparklies .. hehehe

Fates ~ u mean those goodies can makan one arh? I heard that for Cantonese they sometimes give roasted pig! Yikes...and also send someone to cut the pig up...then the centre part of the roasted pig will be filled with a pair of pants for the groom? Strange....strange....my mom will flip if she sees a pig delivered to our house ! hahahaa!!

Dinah~ LOL

jelly ~ wei..soo kee is quite ok lar..their tea very nice leh. The last time i went there hor..i commented that the tea was very fragrant and they gave me a few packets to bring home. hahaha...very cheapskate right? LOL!

Hi dinah and kysha,
Me done too much jiemeis, and I did ask around those brides. heehee

That invitations only for bride side relatives, all those friends and colleagues can long ago start distributing. Bride's parent can long before hand tell them abt the wedding dates to check whether they can make it before giving them the wedding card mah.. so it shouldn't be a problem. Most Guo Da Li dates I see is one week or two weeks before wedding day.
My wedding on friday and my gup da li date is on the sunday, only abt 5-6 days before.

ssmilezz,
Pin jin is the money given from the groom to the bride family, that depends on how much the bride request for already. If I not wrong, si dian jin also given on that day.. (this one not very sure)

Xi(1) Pin(3) - those cakes u distribute to relative, groom give bride one.

fates,
can be pink also lah.. hahahah I heard Aussino have nice "Shuang Xi" matress covers. I have their membership.. can apply online.. (dunno still have or not) can have 40% off one month from birthday. :D

Dinah / Touraco ~ heee..ladies, i also have a cross diamond pendant which i wear everyday. :P It's my fav compared to any other designs. hehehe

hey ssmilezz - u always go parkway? I was juz there on sat. went to aussino to buy their discounted bedsheets....not bad....one colour queen size fitted sheet set with pillow and bolster cases for $12.90 only. And there's a new food stall at the main entrance near the waterfall giving out free potato snack. hehehe...me always happy to get freebies

dinah,
he got it from soo kee....just a very simple cross in white gold...

ssmilezz,
find that the sales staff at soo kee not bad...when i was there...to see see look look (my FH fears it when i walk into a jewellery shop...hahahahaha) and this girl actually tells me a lot about their don't know what frego diamond....and even give me a CD on brillant rose and a booklet on the frego diamond...don't know where i put it liao

icy ~ hehehe now i know who the expert is in our thread ... can tap on expertise ....

thanks for all the info ... i'll let FH, FMIL and my parents know .. hehehe ...

ssmilezz ~ Yeekkkss! won't the pant be so oily?? Ya the goodies I referrin to is the Xi(1) Pin(3) icy mentioned :P

Dinah ~ ya upgrade till we can wear a different one everyday

icy ~ you're really an expert mannnn..must bai ni wei shi....

icy and fates - u need to pay i think $15 membership subscription at Aussino now. last time was free. but i think they r giving away a free spa treatment worth $200 over when u apply now.

smilez ~ you too?

touraco ~ oh i think i know which one .. at one stage i was hunting for a new cross cos my old one was very tarnished and the chain was giving me rash problems ... so i did see that one ...