(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Ying,

I'm a Feb bride....and still in the midst of my prepartion.
Have just signed up with Pan Pac for our wedding banquet...am rather pleased with their package, very reasonable

ying
which bs you with?

slim down? no le.. dun think its me...me nvr try any diet before. um... i think some of the gals here hv a detox list diet...can't rem who...is it icy? um...you can ask fm her?

me dun hv the patience to slim..haha. helps tt i dun hv much of an appetite generally though i dun mind being thinner. me is 44kg for 158m. how abt you?

jelly
grand plaza? whats tt?? hotel? where?
oh um..maybe can get meow's actual name and tell them yr fren buy @ this price etc? then they will likely relent?

i'm back fm househunting...

so impressed by starville. but we a bit too late. most of the units gone.. do you think there will be resale?

mera east had gd layout but oso all gone except those fronting the main rd.. we saw a couple other smaller developments including dunman heights...nothing to scream abt and some were overpriced...

blue horizon has ugly orange structures ard the pool plus ugly windows tt open like those toilet open upwards windows...

we are kind of out of ideas by now.. ;(
dunno where else to see anymore...

Hi anna,

I very fat. Too embarrassed to disclose my wt and ht here. Wow, is your house hunting fun? That time, I was looking for a new house, so tiring. Agents bought me to a lot of places for a couple of weeks before I finally decided on one.

Which area are you looking at? Are you looking at all condos? I know in the west side, Lake Homes and Lake house are coming up. Have fun in your house hunting!

hi yings
yup. we looking at condos or apartments but not those super luxury high end type ... tts too much to afford.. i figured we better off not commiting way too much into housing...

so what did you decide on in the end? which development? which location? how did you come to the decision? care to share? we seem to be going noweher seeing everything and deciding on nothing plus it is so tiring...

fat? um...dunno how fat you mean cos most gals tend to think they are fat <me included - fh so fed up hearing my complaints> but there is this post on the big sized brides thing and there is this gal who claims she is big but however the bs did very gd pictures of her and looks really nice and not fat at all... if you really big frame...can consider her bs..

ying
where's lake home and lake house? is it in boon lay or jurong?

we hv preference for upp bukit timah, possibly woodlands but will consider anything west coast and central like kembangan, eunos, katong. no east side for us though...

Thanks ying11... will try to neog with them when I confirm everyything loh...

Hi anna... ops is Grand Plaza Parkroyal Hotel beside Funan

Anna Lakeshore is beside Lakeside MRT station... I think will hv the view of the Chinese Garden and Japanese Garden if u manage to get the view

i just got back from another long day gown-hunting ... before i start on my 'report' and run-down ... i must say this has been the most exhilirating day and also most 'fan' day for me ... i found the perfect gown fit, cut and almost close to perfect design and designer ... but ... sigh ... read on ladies

my first stop was at kai this morning
good things ~ kai has very interesting use of lace with beading on a gown which gives the whole gown a very romantic look - even for me who doesn't like the lace look, i tried on an empire cut with a longish train, organze base with full lace overlay and slight pearl beading on certain parts of the lace, like at the edge of the bustier and the edges of the skirt .... it looked beautiful .. very sweet, romantic feel to it

bad thing ~ nothing really bad to report, except just that while lace is not really my thing, i didn't really see any other gown design which made me go 'wow' .... but otherwise good designs

price ~ for the MTM WG, MTM EG, flower package and hair and makeup it will be $3700. this is a current promotion price

my second stop was at this boutique called lezen creation, located at mandarin hotel
good things ~ if you love the romantic organza look, especially with a different type of detailing, this might be a great stop. ivy, the designer, has a special type of skil screen printing organza ... meaning like small flower patterns are printed in very very pale pastal colours (off white, off green, off pink) onto the organza. she also brings in satin and organza that has coloured floral embroidery on them ... a bit like those gowns you see in australian or us magazines.

bad thing ~ like kai, nothing bad to say about lezen ... just that her gowns are pretty standard

price ~ lezen's price is very attractive - you can choose from her inhouse photographer or other PS that they work with, but prices, including photshoot, MTM WG, MTM EG, MTM suit, make-up and hair, flowers start from $3588

my final stop for the day was toa yoong and that stop was the cause of my joy and frustration

good things ~ i LOVE his gowns, if ever i felt like a bride, it was today at his shop. his handiwork is exquisite and so is his cutting ... for example, when you layer organza over satin, very often you can see the two layers of material and the different seams ... but for tan yoong, you can't tell from organza and satin and his seams are almost invisible which gives you the illusion of a perfect 1 piece ... his use of organza layering is so beautiful and the gowns are so light, not at all heavy and i felt so beautiful in them ...

tan yoong is also a great guy to talk to .. no pretences .. he listens to what i want ... and showed me how his gown can work to my advantage.

bad thing ~ price ... what else ... tan yoong is on the steep side .. his MTM WG and MTM EG starts from $2680 ... and that is gown only .. of course he has packages which includes the gowns, accessories, flowers, hair and make-up and PS, which start at 4980 ... but this does not include the top-up for extra handiwork.

sigh .. i am so in love with his gowns .. and how they made me look and feel ... there is this one gown i tried ... and save for the embroidery being not where i want it to be, everything else is perfect ... i felt perfect ... sigh ... so 'fan now ... cos he is going to cost so much ... on one hand it hurts to pay that sort of money .. on the other hand, i can't stop thinking about it ... sigh sigh sigh ....

well ladies ... i have one more stop tomorrow and that is the regent bridal show featuring blush blush ... but if you ask me now, who is on my final shortlist, it is tan yoong, silhouette and kai or flamingo ... honestly right now it is between tan yoong and silhouette .. hehehe .. cos they both also can offer me the PS that i want

ying11,
not working today but just happen to login

anna,
i love to visit showflats actually...heehee...i find that blue horizon is too small. u can check out the developers website...they wld showcase their condos on the website

dinah,
that's a lot of BS you went to. tan yoong one indeed is very expensive....i was at allure charix the other day...the gowns are pretty standard and nothing to shout about.they only sell gowns and don't rent them.

I'm also a May'05 bride, still sourcing for a venue, mostly likely will be using Oriental if not our next option will be Carlton

<font color="0077aa">Dinah ~ Great report.
Can see u have been a busy little bee yah? heee...seems like your heart is already with Tan Yoong! Did u do a rough estimate how much it would cost to take up his package?

Anna ~ erm, i used to be stationed at those showflats all the time when i was still doing personal loans. LOL~ I agree that some of the showflats are really very nice.
If you need help on say caculation or just basic info (financing requirements) on purchasing a property, can PM me. I can help you out there. No worries. I don't do housing loan sales now, but am still doing related to credit work so very familiar with this aspect yah?

Out of all the WG pics you posted today, i like no 3 &amp; 5 (last one_ the best. It's the cutting and the details that draws my attention. heheee

Touraco ~ yo! HOw's your weekend coming along?
I understand for MTM WGs that there are times that the BS requires topping up lor..when there's too much embrodiery or maybe a lot of detailing done. :P

Ying ~ yes, Icy has the detox list. You can get it from her and see if it works for you. There's quite a few of us who are very "ON" abt exercising...we can always motivate one another ok?
Don't give up, there's still time. Jia You Jia You!

Jelly ~ hello!!

Phew, really late..or should i say very early in the morning now. LOL!

No MJ to play this weekend...fingers itchy! LOL!

touraco &amp; smilez ~ yes .. so far no gown has had that 'WOW' factor when you look and it .. and i admit my heart is with tan yoong ... sigh ... trying not to think of the final figure or adding up everything yet ... until i see blush blush today at the regent show ... also i thought while i am away in india later this week, i can sit down and have a good think about things ... hehehehe

probably by end next week i'll have my BS in place ... PS and AD photographer in place as well

sundays are quiet here..just back fm my sunday binge. ampang yong tau foo. yum. think i ate too much if you consider the potato chips and misc yummies (including icecream) i had for tea... <sin>

dinah
yup.got it all fm the knot.. tan yoong - nvr heard any complaints abt this guy...think its all abt affordability - $ and cents here...
do keep us update on yr choices k?
touraco
blue horizon small? i tot its standard condo size?

smilez
thks. dunno wat qn to ask for now but do pm me if you hv any advice or info on loans? thks.

um gals
no opinions on the hairdos? no one likes any of them??

hi poppie!

eh, don reveal where i stay leh!! hehehe... btw, im not staying 900+ but somewhere ard there!

btw, u say u can c e blks im eyeing on from ur hm, hey, tat means i also know where u stay oreadi!
oh yah, u know e 3 new blks near e entrance from PIE n opp e nursing hm? im actually also quite interested in those blks cos think e view from there is v nice... but i wonder y most units r vacant, i think oni 20% occupancy rate.. know any particular reason y?

hi shermaine!

im also planning my AD to b in dec 2005! im currently sourcing for venues n getting price qoutations from e venues tat i like! i always think its never too early to prepare.... esp since its ur BIG DAY!! i agree wif germ, its better to book ur venue ealier since dec is such a popular mth! think its better to book ur venue by june or sep e latest! then after settling ur venue, u can then start sourcing for ur BS!

hi germ!

bingo, i am rite!! hehehe.... i think e montage wil usually come together in a package wif ur photoshots... i think e price is easily 1k+ to 2k at least... btw, my hubby n i r also v interested to do this... so now i know its call a montage!! all thanks to u!!

btw, u mention tat ur love nest is in e west... mind telling me where cos im also looking for house at west side as both my hubby n me stay in west... poppie stays in west too!

hi dinah,
since u getting MTM pkg, then at least u can hv a choice of the gown design..do more research and probably u can find a design u like..then u can get yr BS to do it for u.

hi anna,
as for hairdo, it's really up to individual. like for me cos' i hv ROUND face so i prefer not to full bun my hair..cos' it will lagi show the roundness! hahah. so i prefer half bun..if given a choice.

oh ya, btw, who's the one who's going to my beautician's place for facial? hehehe..can't remember who's the one who asked for the contact..

Hi All! *waves*

Wow dinah ... you gave tan yoong quite good reviews eh! Hope you find one you really loves. Btw how's the regent show??

anna ~ I like the second hairdo! Better leave my hair long then........

jelly ~ how's the Grand Plaza show??

ssmilezz....hands itchy eh? maybe we can organize our little MJ session after we met...

Sigh such a short weekends, and it's back to work tomorrow....

hi ladies ....

anna &amp; duffy ~ yeah ... at the end of the day it comes down to this choice: it is for one day only, do i want to spend that much; or because it really is that one special day and i do want to be perfect ... sigh ... hehehe i can go on and on and on about this ...

but i have been talking to FH about going either for silhouette or tan yoong ... so i will take the next week while i am away in india to do my math and carefully think about things ...

fates ~ yes i did give tan yoong the best review ... cos i guess .. his gowns were the ones that made me go 'WOW' and weak in the knee ...

anyway ladies ... here goes the regent show reviews:

karen and i met up at the show ...

ballroom ~ quite a nice ballroom ... ceilings are a bit low, esp if you compare it to the ceilings at pan pac's pacific ballroom ... comfortable ... although regent claims to be able to set 50 tables, karen and i thought that it would be a definite squeeze

blush blush ~ blush blush BS was featured during the show ... and it is their typical trademark style ... beautiful ballgowns and exquisite embroidery ... they don't go for the over the top things ... they keep their gowns pretty simple and clean lines ... very elegant and romantic ... but then, karen and i also agreed that nothing outstanding ... no WOW factor but just nice ... although we felt that blush blush's package pricing was quite steep .... starts at about $4800 ...

anna ~ i actually liked the first hairdo with the simple flower the best .. very simple ... very beautiful ... nothing over the top

Hi dinah... what a detail reports u have huh... u a really hardworking bride doing so much research... me will nbr be so hardworking like u man.... oh bet u hv a tiring wkend... tell us abt ur regent BS tomorrow then.... any luck on your lucky draw

Hi duffybuff... its me that going to your beautician... so dun forget huh... i knw this thread move bery fast....

ops anna... the lakeshore condo is opp lakeside mrt not beside... pai sei... give u wrong info... hee hee... road direction idiot is like that 1... forgive me...

yaps... girls... give u a topic for Monday... did anyone watch the Darren and Evelyn wedding on Channel U today.... wow....

btw... i hv been to the Grand Plaza Parkroyal BS yesterday... place was nice and the perks were great... alot of couples sign up for the wedding package... i think is this year 1... nxt year wedding package not out yet... me love their bridal suite... got outdoor jacuzzi.... wow wow wow...

jelly ~ hello hello .... no lucky draw leh ... or maybe there was but i didn't know about it ... hehehe .. must check with karen when i see her online here ....

anyway i am done with all my research with the BS and PS ... so now it comes down to decisions and the type of package i am going to take .....

As for the gown is from J&amp;M... well nvr fancy any gown of theirs... so nbr really bother abt their package.... think they give 1 free montage when sign up on that day....

oh talk abt the lucky draw... top prize is $10,000 cash voucher and the second prize is 1 pc of MTM WG worth $1,500.....

Guess what the lucky winner for the gown goes to no 0038 and the $10,000 voucher goes to no 0034.... guess what is my no.... it is.... drum rolling... it is no 0036... is 2 no different.... aiya so wasted if not i will be a happy woman this weekend man....

ok gals... me going to sleep already... btw Dinah when will u be out of twn...

oh last thing... icy remember the receipe what is the veggie that need to be blended...

bye and goodnite

jelly
yup i saw the part of the evelyn wedding but only the frnt part before my parents and fh lost patience (at the point when they were stripping into underwear) ...didn't go down well.. only saw the ted woo bridal dress... not bad but i was expecting better..
actually i tot the bride didn't look very pretty..??
wat do you all think? is my std too high?

dinah
my fav is the first too. simple and plain. plus i am more a fresh flowers in the hair gal than a tiara person... anyone planning on wearing a tiara for ad?

duffy
u didn't look like you had a round face - at least not in the rom pics??

jelly
no probs abt the lakeshore thingey. dun think we will check it out anyway cos fh not keen on jurong or boon lay - no resale potential. we started looking at resale units 29.. so many my eyes already feel blur.. resale offers a better price. figured if the unit fits we can just spend more on reno... the coming wkend, we'll prob make appts to view some units in up bukit timah.. come to think of it, now wondering if its more worth it in terms of price to buy landed property since there is no maintenance fee for landed units...

oops maiden. sorry. hee. most of ya addy still not revealed. so its ok. hee... anyway, opp nursing hme got 3 new blocks? jus newly built? is it near the primary school? could be due to air craft flying n prob its still considered very "ulu" compared to the rest of the parts of jw bah...

germ is going to live in the west too? hello germ... so which part of west do u intend to move to? wah...10K for ROM? u had an outdoor solemnisation?

Oh yea..finally a May 05 bride over here. Wah, Oriental is very good. I had my solemnisation at Oriental. Used their Taeping &amp; Ariel suites and their room is simply wonderful. Too bad, way above my budget, so have to stick to Pan Pac.

How are your preparation thus far?

This thread really moves fast. Some of my thoughts for the day..

Hairdo: Wow, I really like the third hairdo that anna posted. Very nice.

House: Anna, indeed it was reallly tiring to go for house hunting. For me, I am very clear that I wanted only areas in Jurong East or Toh Guan. I do not mind resale flats. Jurong Point is definately out for me as I have heard a lot of bad comments on it. So, agents arranged for us to see a lot of houses but nothing caught my fancy. Finally...one does and its within my budget. SO, there I am, staying at this flat now.

Evelyn's Wedding:
She is alright lah. But i though the briefs thingy was a little inappropriate. But Darren is very emotional. I cried when he went into the bride's room to kneel and pick her up at that time. Quite touching.

Hi anna, maiden &amp; popie,

10k on ROM is becuz we spent quite abit on the favors. We gave a pair of champagne glasses in a box with personalise tab and a pair of shot glass for our close friends. The kunch also cost us quite abit cuz we have about 70+ guests. You know when a couple plan for such event....everything juz got snowball. Still feel the pain now....and my mtm ROM dress are still hanging in the cabinet....kind of waste right? We told ourselves not to make the same mistake for our customary.

Me brought a unit near Yew Tee MRT....l'm not a west perosn cuz me living in NE side. Is that area good? Where u staying , popie?

morning ladies ....

jelly ~ am leaving on Thursday evening ... back next Thursday

anna ~ not sure what i will put in my hair for the PS or AD ... will figure that out when i get there i suppose ... and a lot of it also depends on how the gowns finally look and if flowers or tiara would look better

hi germ. that sounds like a good location to me. think its less crowded over at the NE side. hv always liked the place there. but a little too far from my parents n in laws house.
i'm living in jurong west. jln bahar side.

Hi girls!!! Morning!

Hi Fates and anna,
for Pan Pac, I am thinking of getting the garden theme on the stage with the "tent" and candle theme at the tables.. just like what I saw on last saturday. :D

Just in case u dun know, these theme are only for Pacific Ballroom and not ocean ballroom.

Ocean Ballroom will be further away from main road, since it is on the 2nd floor, so have to give and take.

Hi ying,
I am the one who had a detox diet before.

Hi ssmilezz,
I just MJ on sat.. hahaha

Hi Dinah,
detail reporting from you. my friends love tan yoong too, and asked me to go there before I choose any BS. But I din go, hahah cos I know I will be disappointed abt the pricing and might just go all for it.

Hi jellytot,
I mean 2 weeks of detox during lunch and then that all, continue ur normal diet, ur appetite should get smaller. Blend with carrot and celery.

My friend just book Grand Plaza Parkroyal last sat for her wedding in july this year, I saw her package, very attractive.

Hi queenie,
I will be going for the style wedding show.

<font color="0077aa">Icy ~ hee...me too..i had time for a short MJ with FH + his parents.

Anna ~ good morning! I'm quite busy today too...I hate mondays! *grrrr*
Just PM me when u have any questions lar..i'm sure u can't think of anything right now but when u do, don't feel shy to ask hor....

I am not a tiara girl too....flowers in hair? Can consider but at the moment, don't really have anything in mind. LOL!

Ying ~ you cried while watching Darren + Evelyn's wedding?
I didn't get to watch it but my sisters told me it was quite touching. Well, i guess it has to be hor..afterall, it's a TV wedding mah..the more drama the better!

Evelyn's parents place at Joo Seng is just opp my FH's house. But he was so blur, didn't even notice the commotion. LOL!!

Their new house is at EC at Pasir Ris....bet they did up the place so nicely. :P

jelly ~ alamak..u just missed by two digits...wasted man...:P maybe u have better luck with 4D.hehehehe...

Fates ~ ok lar....hands not itchy already. Managed to have a short session last evening. :P

Dinah ~ So did u have any problems looking for Karen on sun?

anna,
think those that i can afford are the smaller units and those bigger ones...no money...heehee

ssmilezz,
their place is where at pasir ris? u mean it's an EC at pasir ris?

<font color="aa00aa"> Touraco ~ yah..EC..it's called..The Esp****. If u are familiar with Pasir Ris area , should know which one i am talking abt. hee...

touraco
you bght an ec too rite? scarely is the same one as evelyn then you can see her everyday..

i think she seems like a very nice and sweet gal...not so bitchy or put on airs like the other artistes? but someone who knows her say tt she is not as sweet as she seems...so dunno oso... but guess stars hv image to upkeep so if she's ye neighbour shld be quite ok...wun give trouble. haha.

how big a unit did you buy? how many sqft?
for us, quite fine even with a 2 bedrm..

icy ~ hehehe ... you are clever girl .. and right now i am very very tempted to go for it ... FH said that we can try to re-work our budget cos he and my mum thinks that i won't be as happy if i did my WG elsewhere ... but we shall see lah ... i really need to sit down and think about it

smilez ~ karen found me ... by my bag ... hehehehe ...

icy
ya garden theme is gd... saw it. very impressed. you mean pan pac allow you to combine garden and candle theme at no extra charge?

smilez
thks.. ;)
hv you bought yr new place yet?

<font color="0077aa">Dinah ~ no joke! It was really your bag?
haha...so looks like u must bring your bag along for our outing leh....if not, we can't recognise u. LOL!

Wei, if you really like Tan Yoong, go with your gut feel lar..
I'm sure there are other areas which u can cut down lor...Afterall, everyone wants to be a pretty BRIDE yah? mei mei....</font>