(2005) Brides of year 2005

janice,

I thot of some ideas if do ps in Sin.....go to Petain Rd off Balestier Rd. got very nice and quaint pre-war style peranakan shop houses....nice and quiet....my grandpa used to stay ard there....but they tore down the place liao.....then again, there became a red-light district....but thk if u go day shld be ok....it's 1 of those places I wud do mine....other than doing at my AD htl....

another place I wud go is near kranji, where the railway eats into the road....dunno how to describe or actually name the place....but there the road merge from a 2way traffic become 1way in-betw for a short stretch then 2way again 1.....next to it got some old run-down barack camps sort....can create a very rustic feel if lighting done nicely....i like these places coz likely no disruption....may even dempsey road???? oso not much traffic there....quite outdoor....very nature....yet hard to guess actual location sort.....

just some ideas, hope useful....coz dunno what kinda effects or background u looking for.....for me, I prefer places that others dun go....not so common mah....

jelly,

I was once called a PPS....in SQ term....effectively refers to Priority Passenger Service....but in our liitle mockery, it refers to Pui Pui Stewardess.....keke.....been there b4 and was labelled for a long time.....so really dun 1 to get back to that stage.....:P

as for the wines.....me no pro yet, coz haven;t even gone for the tutorials and yet to sit for the exams.....right now oni got basic knowledge.....so for the time-being wud leave to my hubby, coz he's a full-fledge wine sommelier....as a personal preference...for easy drinking, I always like to suggest a merlot or a blend of cabernet merlot for reds, as they oso go well with most chinese dishes....more medium-bodied, fruit-driven....I was at 1st thking of OZ reds but wanted the wines to even go with my theme....so likely to take a french selection....likely a bordeaux, coz its made of cabernet sauvignon, cabernet franc and merlot blend together.... that's as close as I can get to my preference...hopefully able to find something below $25 though....it's definitely cheaper to get in Europe....but got to pay tax....and local supplier dun charge cheap....comes up to abt the same I thk...anywae,still got time, wud source ard.
As for whites....my all time favourite wud be a NZ sauvignon blanc....but then again, if have to choose french....a bit headache....may go for a pinot grigio....coz I simply hate chardonnay/chablis....I like sweet white....more towards a muscat....but wun go very well with chinese food.

thk generally, if u choose OZ wines, can't go wrong coz most local palate adept very well to OZ wines....less tannic I feel....no siap siap after-taste.....

keke....just a sudden thot.....future gathering can do a session of wine tasing somewhere....any suggestions?

seval,

1st yr after customary still can receive ang pao 1.....have to give lah...but still entitled to receive.....
so next yr then truly last yr.....kekeke.....so within this yr and next yr must try to collect more.....alternatively, and start to make baby, then by next cny can collect!

josie,

long time no see 2!! big giant hugz hugz and kisz kisz 2!
ya lor....lately like no time to seat the butt down even for more than 5minutes.....but I noe if I dun come in soon....I wud totally lose the momentum and drive for the wedding prep, coz no 1 else to share with except u wonderful gers here mah.....really appreciate having all of u to keep one another on our toes and remind what needs to be done! muaks!!!

sihui,

me no take ps yet, coz gowns wun be ready till end April....likely to do in June...wud be gg to Paris to meet the local Parisien photographer in March to see his works....if hubby and me both like, may go there in June for PS.....reasonable chrg....abt s$800 total, but make-up, hair-do DIY, no hard copies, all photos in cd-rom....I not having an album...may DIY my album....so i'm fine if not hard-copies....now getting a bit woried coz nothing finalise....

as for the SDJ, thk as long as it looks da4 fang1, thk these days shldn't be bothered if it's not yellow gold.....coz giving SDJ symbolises that u married well into the other family, ie. ur pils are well-to-do....and if that's the case, as long as gold, shld be okay.....guess it depends on ur pils....for me, my mil say up to me....but actually it's hubby who wud be buying....and I decided on Jade on white gold, maybe with simple loose diamond settings....( I noe sounds kinda old, but I dunno y I just like jade....and my hubby has been headache for a long time dunno where to find nice genuine 1s)

somehow, gold very ching chong, though dun have to wear on that day, chances are u wun even 1 to look again and it wud 4ever be in the safe....20 yrs later end up trading it for something wearable then not so meaningful liao......so if ur pils can cham xiong, i thk white gold wud be nicer lor....more modern and younger designs to choose from as well....

dun thk it wud be any inauspicious.....

janice,

thk probably pearls wud go a longer way then gold......pearls are very elegant....can even wear on normal days....I do sometimes ( or maybe I old liao :P),can be quite classic lor....and when u wear pearls, no 1 wud say u obiang, but if u wear gold....more likely pple wud say it's obiang lor....

but of coz si dian zuan is a better idea!!! these days, si dian zuan not necessary ex, but the bling bling effect it can create when u wear on ur wedding day wud definitely cause a stir.....and si dian zuan can possibly save u the hassle of looking for another set of jewellery to wear to go with ur gowns....

keke.....anyway....above just some personal 2-cents worth.....:P I just super agst yellow gold, and can't imagine myself wearing it.:P

late liao......din realise time past so fast......going to orr orr coz got to wake up early bring my rabbits go grooming for cny.....

it's gonna be weekend....have a great 1 gals! me wud drop in again ltr.....

ciao!

sgn...u still awake ah..

i juz finished watching my 1hr45mins unedited AD DVD....am so happy abt the whole thingy...be it the DVD quality (esp mine is a outdoor nite event where external flash cannot b used), the deco, the whole event....GREAT...so happy!!!

Me 30 liao.....next birthday 31

Very excited, Lynn this is my wedding cake..kekeke... Wait till I recieve all my fotos frm AD photographer then I share more k ;)

Hmm...the file very big so after re-sized become so small
Wanted to show u gers the chocolate figurines that my BIL crafted. He crafted 4 doggies (same like my dogs) kekeke....make me so touched

243666.jpg

just a thot on si dian jin/zuan. i personally hate gold and would never wear it. but the older generation may not like giving white gold cos inauspicious. so it depends on your folks. otherwise just keep the gold for momento, and its value is well preserved.

as for pearls, yeah agree with WW that they are very elegant. in fact, i may wear a simple string of pearls with my WG.

of course if can get si dian zuan even better lah. anyone seen the SK ones? any other to share?

Hi Tan
Wah!! u post to so many of us at one shot.. Ha Ha
Ya.. decide to get one videographer as wedding only 1st in a lifetime ma.. Hee hee

OK..I am actually fine with weekdays but just cannot chat till late night like we normally do..17th(thur), 24th(thur), I can make it!! Lets see the other girls....

Wah!! going paris for PS? so good n so envy....
But DIY, u got to be careful and specially when you develop the photos. Some not professional labs may not develop out nice photos colours.. I think your Photographer should be able to advise you. If not, i can ask my friend too for you..anyway i also developing to DIY my guestbook.

The SG PS , i heard b4 and ever saw some photos take at the railway track..Seem very nice..

About the wine thing, i m blur..I got a friend working in wine company.. maybe can get her to sell cheap? But I dun intend to get wine for my dinner..

I also dun like yellow gold. hahahha...
Same as you, hubby will be buying for me too...

I can make it on 16th(wed),17th(thur), 21st(mon), 28th(mon)

I don't wear yllw gold as well. I asked my mum to tell my relatives politely not to buy me gold. I just hope my mother in law don't get me any also.

Witch - Issit? Still can get ang pao after married meh? I don't know leh but I don't mind lah... haha

Hi rina
hav u prformed beofre? since u cn sing well everthotof singing for ur hubby on actual day? i would love to sing for him...but cant pass
FH sings better than me.

Hi Impulse and garfield,

I have sort of chosen my bridal shop- Justin and Agnes at Sim Plaza (if i remember the place correctly) still deciding on the design of the dress. Other than that i have settled for anything other things yet.

Hi little-ger, thanks for the invite, think I wil have to give it a miss this time. got something already.

:-)

good year or not, it all depends on individuals. for me n my FH, the fortune teller we went to said 2005 is a good year for both of us... can get married almost any mth, except nov.

n i believe that, for a good marriage to work, it takes much more than juz getting married in a so-called "good" year. it's the life of the 2 of u r sharing togther that is the most impt.

Wah, you guys really moving fast
Me just verifying the artwork today for invitations. Just popped into EB this afternoon and have settled the flowers for hand bouquet and car. Still headache about venue decor. btw, pink roses as a theme not too boring, isit? Finally decided on it coz the restaurant backdrop and stage decor mostly pink so thot just match it lah!

Yuuri,
How'd GDL go? What's the procedure? Did you go out and give invitations after it? Any advice or tips for GDL will be very welcome...mine's next sunday and keeping fingers crossed the invites will be out in time...

hi coyote!
yr cake look DELICIOUS!!! can recommend me yr BIL? he specialise in making cake is it? cos at 1st wanted to find people to make those chocolate cupcakes for me. those when u bite it, the chocolate fudge will ooz out that kind but can't find anyone to do it. wondering if yr BIL makes it. if not,i copycat yr cake liao.

I think I moving the fastest here! haha...almost everything settled liao..

Claire,
Must go EB to settle flowers? How long in advance? They call you to go? Or you call them to make apptment? No one tell me!!!
For GDL, we all very chin chai one...just hubby and his siblings bring all the cakes, wine, oranges, sdj, blah blah blah...then after that my parents go out and give invites.
I very senang actually!

heh, so much of my dream wedding prep gone liaoz... now just wanna get the dinner over and done with...

we not going to buy pajamas liao, just new tee-shirts and bermudas and watever can wear to sleep one can liao... can't find matching or cute pajamas...

today go visit MIL, she complaining FIL haven't do table arrangement, wants 'free-seating' and forgot to add another 2 tables of his frens! and he said still one more week, why so gan-geong!

hengz ar, not we paying for it. if not i sure lying in hospital liaoz...

great, my hubby's "fren" who's supposed to be emcee for the night just sms him and said 'cannot make it' - my hubby also say wedding dinner can tell who's your true fren... asked before giving invites, after giving invites still confirm, and then now 1 week before AD sudden;y 'cannot make it' and he also agreed to be our emcee somemore...

anyone has the list of wat to bring for AD? like handphone batteries, makeup remover, red wine and liquor and wat not...

Hello ladies

Tks for your advice & comments!!
243791.gif

Personally, I prefer Si Dian Zuan, but it very exp leh ...

My PIL wanna me to wear the SDJ on my wedding, if I buy liao don't wear, they will feel sad ... that why ask me to get something that I like & will still wear it. No point getting for me, then I don't wear it .. so I oso headache!

My mum suggested that I get mixture of gold & white gold ... been to Poh Heng to see liao ... well, if given a choice will go for diamond ... but if can't .. maybe choose mixture of gold & white gold ... anyway, my PIL already given me the option to choose what I want but I still feel a bit bad about it.

Well, think my MIL wanna accompany me go & see, maybe bring her around & show her ... ...

Really, SK have SDZ only @ $599, that really cheap leh ... to get SDJ maybe around that kind of price. Hee hee ...
243792.gif

Witch: Wow, going to Paris for PS, very romantic!! Must share your photos when ready hor ..

Tks ladies for your input on SDJ ... will bring my MIL to see see look look ...

Keep you ladies posted soon.

Happy weekends!!
243793.gif

yo gers!! hows ur weekends??

well Tan, i dun mind pearl. In fact, my designer has made me a nice choker made of pearl. but the thing is me n my hubby know my MIL taste. scare she anyhow buy something like auntie design then it wont be suitable for me already. PIL going japan for holiday n they dunno hear fr who tat the pearl in japan nice nice so say wanna buy for me fr there.....

Seval, my hubby has also tell his aunties not to buy any gold or jewellery for me...kekeke....must be practical...ask them to give big red packet can liao.but think they will still buy jewellery. cos his aunties still ask me when i free to go wth them to buy diamonds jewellery for my wedding...kekeke....lucky its diamond which i like.

not bias towards gold but think now if wear pple may say its obiang....my mom bought a nice gold bracelet for me for my bday last yr n the design is nice.....so i think prob ultimately, it still depend on the design of the jewellery.

For PS loc, my bro suggested Kranji too. but its the nature park at Kranji there. He say the scenerie very nice n not many pple know abt this place. Some time he will pass by the place when he go homw fr work.

hear something eerie fr my sil just now. She say that her fren who took one of her PS shoot at Changi Hospital. N the pics all turn out cannot be used cos every single photo has a long shot of light in the background. So all the pics at that location cannot be used. eerie sia.......

jtan,

ya.....thk a simple string of pearls wud go very well with wg.....and it never go outdated.....always remain a classic....thk it is a very good choice....me wore pearls with my bustier dress for rom, dat's y not gg to wear anymore pearls for AD.

zoeanne,

ya lor.....somehow at nite seems to be the oni free time,w/o anything or any1 else to bug me.....had a long wait today the the pet grooming centre, coz my rebbit super dirty, need a long time to clean him.....1 down, got 3 other rabbits to send slowly for grooming for cny.....headache....and pocket kena burn big hole....

as for ps, actually paris thinggy not fixed yet....just in the process....got to meet the photographer there 1st then see how.....scarli can't click with the photographer then no good..... but likely even if my fren were to be the 1 doing the ps for us, i oso wun be getting hard prints....but my MUA's bf used to be free-lance photographer, so thk my MUA shld be able to help me with where to get the photos develop nice and good. wun thk abt that for now......chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zhi4 ran2 zi2......somehow, somewhere, shld be able to get it done....[super optimist!
]

as for the wine thinggy, maybe ur fren can help us with a wine tasting session? this 1 for the moment it's my hubby's territory, so for now I wun bother, unless he ask me to handle it....coz me got too many things to handle liao....

so since ur hubby oso the 1 getting u ur SDJ, looks like u can decide and tell him what u like.....
that's good.....at least it wud be something that u wud wear....

seval,

lucky u reminded me.....thk I oso better go remind my folks to remind the rest of my relatives not to get me any yellow gold.....lucky my MIL very modern sort, she oni but white gold...the year b4 she bought me a white gold pendant with little diamonds....she say she noes better not to get yellow gold coz she noes that our generation dun wear yellow gold anymore.....whew!! now just have to sound the rest of the relatives out...

it's true, really, 1st yr after customary still can receive ang paos.....but oni 1st yr lah.....some pple may not give lor....but if pple do, its perfectly alright to accept it.....

sihui,

thk it depends on where u get ur SDZ.....places like taka jewellery, SK, shldn't be too ex.....can chk out diamond industries at scotts too.....unless u are particular abt the grades and cuts and colour.....usually SDZ made up of little bits of diamonds, wun cost too much....quite comparable to getting yellow gold....even gold oso have to go by weight...and end of the day, whether it's a set of SDJ or SDZ, the cost wun vary much.....

or maybe u can try rose gold? it's a very trendy colour, but of coz in terms of value.....wun stretch very far....but the combi of rose and white gold looks nice.....now that ur PIL has given u an option....go browse ard urself 1st..so that u roughly have in mind how far u can stretch their budget and how much diamonds u can throw in....after u done ur homework then bring ur MIL....i oni worry so happen if ur MIL now give in, and really get u a set of SDZ, but design not to ur liking, difficult to turn down.....u chk out 1st then show her the type u like mah....keke....

wud share the photos when they r ready....but gonna take a while, coz ps likely to be earliest 2nd wk of June....

good luck for ur SDZ search!!!

janice,

good for u if they getting pearls from japan....not cheap leh....and chances are, designs from japan shld be quite nice and chic.....not the auntie sort.....so if they really get pearls from japan, it's not a bad thing afterall....me so envious....even ur hub's aunties getting u diamonds....my ILs side so far nobody say anything leh.....in fact, they hardly even ask me how's my prep...haiz....

kranji the green scenic side oso very nice....I go there pretty often coz my hubby like to go look at fishes at the fish farms ard there.....there oso peaceful and quiet.....1 side of the reservoir can even see malaysia border and skyline.....

ur sil's fren's case sounds really super eerie leh....even as I read ur post my hair still stand!!!! but odd hor....y they choose to go to changi hospital there to do ps?????? very creepy lor.....actually, another place to go is punggol end.....or maybe changi village.....near the bridge there.....

slowly look ard lor....singapore got many places, but too many choices lagi headache......stick to the effects that u like to achieve, then narrow down the locations....

Tan,

how many rabbits u have ah...some more super dirty ah...kekeke..got smelly smelly anot??

i like to pet dogs, rabbit etc. but i dun think i have the time n energy n patient to take care of them lo. somemore i scare they will suffer n die in my hands....kakakaka....dunno how to take care ma....

last time my parents went for a week holiday. my dad ask me to feed his fishes daily n i totally forget abt it. gosh...they went without food for 2 days .... till when i was eating magee mee in the living room n facing the fish tank then i remember. poor fishes. they were so hungry by then.....

as for the gathering........so far, seval and zoeanne can make it 17th Feb.....

SEP BTB GATHERING IN FEBRUARY
=============================

DATE : 17TH FEB (THURSDAY) subject to change according to majority.
VENUE: TBC
TIME : 7PM.

any suggestions this time where shld we go?

hey......janice....

where to get those shoes????me looking for wedding shoes to match my wg leh....my designer say I got to get ready my shoes by end april, which is my 1st fitting.....I like the 1st and 2nd and last pair!!!!!!!

everytime I shop have been keeping a look out for shoes like this but dun seem to be able to find any......was hoping to find cheap and nice 1s when I'm overseas, but oso dun have leh....but those that u posted very nice!!!!!

Hi gals. How's everyone?

I just have my first fitting today for my WG
Overall, it's good
But the back of the gown is not quite put together yet so hopefully by the second fitting on Sat it will turn out as great as the front
I will send you gals the link by tomolo or Mon. Those who are interested, please let me know, k?

Hi Sharlene and Minky, any further updates on your gowns?

Sharlene, how did your EG turn out afterall?

Hi Icy, the weather this 2 weeks is fantastic, for photo-taking that is. Think your PS will be great with clear blue skies
But it is a killer for normal people walking in the streets. It's weird that the weather goes from totally rainy to HOT HOT HOT

Gals, are your hubbies getting tux or normal tie and suit? Have you started sourcing for his clothes yet?

Tan,

i chance upon them when i search online. search under yahoo for wedding shoes. but have to order online one lo.....cant remember which site but its on the first page of the search result.

i also looking out for shoes now. u been to Tangs?...saw from the magazine that Tangs have some nice shoes but when go there personally to see cannot find.

there is alos this boutique called Seven. nice design which i saw fr the wedding mag but dunno where is the location.

also wanna find nice n cheap one....hehehe....so gers out there if know any boutique has nice design must let us know

janice,

me have total 4 rabbits...but I put them at my parent's place coz me no time to look after....

2 yrs ago, bothe my mother rabbits gave birth, and it was a mess coz with cny visits during that time, it was a tough time looking after a total of 16 rabbits.....

I like pets, initially wanted a dog....but my hubby keep telling me how much attention a dog, need, got to walk them, bring them out to poo everyday, something which we both can't commit, so in the end, he bought me rabbits.....from 1 become 4 coz we felt 1 was to lonely....then they started to breed like nobody's business...so now we seperate all of them in individual cages, so that no accidental births happen....incidentally, I still got other pets to care for, like my hubby's 9 kois.....I oso always forget to feed, but fishes are ok, they can dun at for 2-3 days its ok lor....then got lots of plants to water and take care of.....haiz.....

hmm.....online purchase I can't leh....coz need to try the fit b4 buyg....I got cheapo feets, most shoes, esp expensive shoes, I can't wear coz somehow sure get blisters, no matter how comfy others say.....

went to Tangs a few times, b4 xmas and after xmas....thot xmas season sure got alot of glittery shoes, but me no see lor....when I dun need them, I used to see a lot of this kind of shoes there, now I desperately looking for them, none to be found....

i noe got other places may be able to find, like on the peddar etc...but these places shoes all very ex mah....and chances are, we wun get to wear these shoes much, no point spending so much...me budget no more than $80......u thk can find????

I am tired.. So envy that janice can go search for shoes and shopping . I have been spending my holidays and weekends at PIL place painting and cleaning... aiyo.. so tired and dirty.. my rashes popping out soon. PIL went holiday with my SIL, throw whole hse to hubby n me.. wa lau.!!!can die..

I like the 3rd n 4th pair ( about same design right?) my toes not very nice, so i think wear close up will be nice.

why of all place choose changi hospital leh??
hee hee... so errie....eks!!! goose pimples all out..

Janice, so nice of your PIL to go Japan and buy for you. U know, my MIL did not even mentioned about SDJ, let alone SDJ..its my hubby who mentioned it himself and say he will buy for me..
SK is actually abit lower quality rated diamond, but for me, as long as design nice, i wear la..anyway, dun think hubby can afford too ex for me since we are both broke after the house reno and wedding..

Ya, i also wanna ask my mum to go remind my aunties no gold jellwery or dun even give me any.. a BIG angbao will do.. haahhaha... cos ah, i dun wear leh.. I heard all my aunties saying they will buy for me jewellery lor.. Haiz..

Hi witch
actually hor, i like secret gardens.. maybe we can return there again?? hee hee

zoeanne,

keke, I oso like secret gardens, but hor, cannot stay too late....that time we ended up cudn't drive out to the main road coz they put 2 barriers to block the access to the main road when we left.....remembered that nite drizzling, and we had to get off the car to push away the barrier so that I can drive out to the main road! haha....was so drama...nvr had to do that b4.....

hopefully no rain this time....if i's agreeable with every1 else, we can fix it at secret gardens then....

SEP BTB GATHERING IN FEBRUARY
=============================

DATE : 17TH FEB (THURSDAY) subject to change according to majority.
VENUE: SECRET GARDENS
TIME : 7PM.

Tou,
Glad that ur fitting turns out well, so when u going to JB for the other fitting? Can email me ur pics? [email protected]

My second fitting only on 1st March, by then, i will be able to see more details.

My EG turns out better with abit of details on. This time that I look at the color, its not really that bad la, slowly able to accept already. But just worried my CS and EG color all pinkish and reddish tone, dunno will be confusing and too bright or not leh....
Still nagging my HB to load the fitting pics but he very busy recently.

My HB will not be getting tux, will be coat. The BS designer did mention that tux will not be able to wear again in future thus not advisable. He will wear a more formal coat. He already had a first fitting of his suit during the last fit. Ur BS din provide?

Hi zen, the cake is delicious...all my frds said very very sinful but super nice..guess many are on diet...hahaha. My BIL is the one at Don Pie Club, he specialise in making chicken pies, kuah lapis, cheesecake n chocolate fudge cake. He dun do wedding cake. But if u keen, let me know ur budget n requirement..i can check whether he keen to do it.

Those chocolate cake wif oozing chocolate (liquid) u can only find in restaurant where they make at instant n serve hot....if I din mistaken ur meaning of oozing chocolate cake. Not practical for wedding cake.

Lynn....is like dat one...my invite wrote RSVP by when n only a small fraction of ppl bother to RSVP.... The pyjamas hard to find lah, I oso can't find. Get matching tees loh...hehehe... got those instant printing shop like "Gift a name" Causeway Pt got n get 2 tees...one as "Bride" n another as "Bridegoom"....so interesting n affordable n fast.