(2005) Brides of year 2005

sun96,

Perhaps not immediately after our wedding, but a few days later. Need a few days to settle after-wedding matters and all that. Have you had your solemnisation already? Jeanie informed us that tomorrow's solemnisation by the Mayfair Pool will be held at 3pm. A bit late for us as we'll be preparing for Christmas Eve dinner. The next solemnisation will be held Jan 9th, I think. So, hopefully, we'll make it to see them setting up.

I'm open to other honeymoon spots, but my fiance insists on taking me to the Maldives. So, ok lah. Go along with it. I've never been there, so this should be fun. But, of course, plans can still be changed from now till Nov. 2005!

hehehehe... Honeygem, dare to talkback! *Smack!*

wahahahaha.. crazy coyote B2B, gng bonkers v v soon....

let me see how's my schedule for the day:

2.00pm Check in hotel, deco/rest/MUA @ work
5.15pm Private tea ceremony in hotel room
6.00pm Guests arrival - Jazzy cocktail party
7.00pm Ready for march-in, thank you speech, best frd's speech, cake-cutting (if any)
7.15pm Buffet dinner
9.00pm End of session

I have yet to tell hubby he needs to deliver the Thank you speech, think tat alone will freak him out!

ya lor dazed, urs very happening liao...

wish i have something like yours liao... wish had taken the banquet from hotel and have everything nicely planned...

celtricia, i also thinking of using the polaroid liao lor... but think only frens and colleagues would wan to take the polaroids with us :p can't imagine the oldies doing tat... so the amount shouldn't be too much rite? i also have 450 plus guests, but only abt 100 frens and colleagues...

i also think won't have the movtivation to do the scrapbook, but i must persevere

until now i haven't arrange my PS rejected photos nicely in sequential order...

coyote, u sure can start so early? mine is standard sit-down dinner... i'm prety sure the oldies will 'arrive' v v late...

so i'll be starting the cocktail at 7pm...

also damn cheapo, not going to serve wine during cocktail... only soft drinks and beer and stout (anybody drinking tat?) cos free flow FOC

lynn cheapo cheapo

Any idea how fast will the photo b ready after taking the polaroid shot? 1min??? Need to prepare double-side tape for my jiemei to help stick the foto to where my guests signed. One thing hor, the pages of my guestbook quite light leh....wonder can it withstand the weight of those fotos... sekali flip few times n everything juz give way!

Lynn, my wedding no oldies. Only immediate families n close frds. Frds oso asking why earlier than norm wedding and I told them is outdoor loh, if go too late can't enjoy the dayview n oso mine is on Sunday, end early den ppl can go home to rest mah. Some gers even said want to go in the afternoon for drinks when I was still with villafrang.

Got beer still cheapo meh? Imagine how much u r gng to spend on the dinner hard liquar. I am sure your guests won't mind and anyway many times the guests will proceed to their tables n sit down to chat rather than mingling ard at the cocktail reception unless u close the function room door.

Honeygem, tks but not feeling better..SICKENING!!!

sugar, i will be having a guest list of 65. How much wines shld I prepare for 3hrs session? 6 botls? 12 botls?

Imagine..corkage charge is $20+++ for 1 wine botl. Taking 6 botls wld cost me $23.20corkage + $18wine x 6botls =$247.20 WOW!!!

If 12 botls will be $494.40 on wines alone WOW WOW WOW!!!

Hi Sasha

Thks for the ideas.... hehehee... quite similar to what I proposed to my friends also...

Except the loser will clean up the hse... hehehee... then I dun have to clean up after they left mah..

How is this 'guess the murder' played?

We have 10 pple... so difficult to watch DVD or dai di or mahjong... but being chinese... I still suggested gambling like in-between, black jack & poker of course... hehehehe...

Hi Novgal

It's a board game with lots of cards... but think if u creative enough... can make yr own lor... in fact, for me, I'm thinking of each of us doing 10 cards with words u have in mind and played charade using that... otherwise, those who has played the board game before might roughly know wat words liao...

this is the standard calculation of wine consumption

1 bottle - 5 glasses (full pour - meaning full glass not half a glass)

At least allow one glass per person

65 pax x 1 gls = 65 glasses
65 divide by 5 = 13 bottles

This is on the basis of 1 glass of wine per guest per hour.

So if you want to do the calculation of 2 gls of wine per person,

65 pax x 2 gls = 130 glasses
130 gls divide by 5 gls = 26 bottle

The above applies for 2 hour ccoktail.

coyote, since your corkage so expensive then why not get the wine from them... should cost less than to get from them then provide your own (corkage charge + wine cost)...

then can sit back and relax liao... no need to think how many bottles to provide also...

But i have to admit. that's expensive for the corkage of $20 per bot.

Essentially, you are paying $40 per bot of wine. What is the cost of housepour wines being sold at Amara itself? Compare from there and decide. If Amara's housepour wines are cheaper then go with them. Can you not renegotiate without wine corkage. Just let her know you are bringing only 13 bots.

icy ~ my PS is on 10 Jan .. in a few weeks ... timing a bit tight but no choice ...

yes wedding is in march ...

how are your preps and everything?

aiyoz lynn.. if u say u cheapo.. i tink i more cheapo leh.. kekeke.. me dun even serve wine or beer for my lunch buffet.. juz fruit punch.. kekeke.. coz dun wan any rowdy guests.. if u noe wat i mean.. kekekek..
mine juz church wedding den lunch buffet den tea ceremony den dat's it liao.. end of whole affair.. kekekek..

thanks aqugar, maybe i borrow from you or dazed can???

gotta break the news to my surely-shocked hubby first

thanks all very much

hi jen
dun noe y my hubby fancy abt NZ, mayb due to Lord of e Ring movies ba...
234644.gif

my hubby's uncle stays in japan so much easier for us to tour there as he can bring us ard... will pay him a visit when we hv time...

hi LS
i had my solemnisation liao in Feb tis yr...
ya lor, a lot of stuffs can chg fr now till nxt yr nov... do update us if u r chging HM spots, mayb yr HTB oso lyk NZ...
234645.gif

Dear Novgal:

It is a board game like thing, except there's no board, just a box with the taboo cards. Like what Yuki said, you can simply make ur own, just that u cant play in the game then!

It costs abt $60 at departmental stores. The last time i saw was at Metro last year... Did consider buying, but like what yuki mentioned, i'd be super familiar with the words lo.. Overseas somewhere hor, got sell new packs of the cards le! hehe..

Dear Yuki:

The 'guess the murderer' game is more of played in darkness if poss. If you have 10 pax altogether, then have 10 poker cards. Let the one who take card A (eg spade king) be murderer, then the one who take card B (eg heart ace) be the detective.

So in darkness, evryone would choose to do whatever they want. Set a time limit, The murderer is supposed to pinch the victims, when the vistims are pinched, they would 'die' either immediately or later (this can be very dramatic!). Then the detective would try to catch, see who's the murderer. All will not know who is the detective, and who is the murderer.

A simpler way to play this is for everyone to sit in a circle, then the murderer will wink at his/her victim. Victim would 'die' immediately or slightly later. Detective try to catch lo.

Hehe...

Clear enuf?

i'm back, went for a bit of grocery shopping...

lynn mine is fujitax mini 20, the credit card size print one... not from polaroid...

coyote/honeygem, i prob will drop the polaroid idea cos too ex liao... and hotel guest book is the chinese scroll kind...

hi dazed...

oh i dunno got different kinds of polaroid cameras leh.. how different is it from the polaroid one huh? strange hu, you have the camera but u not using? very ex meh?

i think i just intend to get 30 to 50 exposures lor... if not guest book also not enuff liao... my free guest book also the chinese kind, i dun like it so got my own

zoe zoe ,

welcome back !!!! What a fruitful trip u have ...soo envy :P

ladies ,

I wish all of you merry christmas and happy new year .....n be mei mei forever ...hahah at least on our BIG DAY !!!Enjoy this holiday !!

dazed, if polaroid is too expensive, why not place a disposable camere, the instant one for each table for guests to take pics of themselves or moments that your photographer may not be able to capture.

Having said that, i forget that you girls have the banquet sort with 20 tables and more, so that'd be expensive as well...

scrap that then

If i have more ideas in the next few hours will let you all know.

instant camera/disposable is around $16 each. But i suppose to develop them all are a different set of costs to take into account as well.

sun96,
WOW! You had your solemnisation done by the Mayfair Pool.... Must have been great! Please, tell me how you felt about it. Were there any hiccups on GWP's side? And was the flower arch in the photo on the GWP website included in your ceremony? Thanks.

hee, i only intend to have like 30 to 50 exposures for polaroid, so limit my cost lor... anyway, can't paste tat many into the guest book... if the polaroid finish liao then i'll just use digicam to take lor, then develop them later...

think i have 2 digicam lying around somewhere.. outdated ones, not so good but to take fun shots only should be no prob

u gers can consider tat also?

honeygem, i have 37 tables, then * by $15 for each cam, + developing fees... = pocket big big big hole...

my bf had the idea too, use digicam then direct link to notebook for signoff. but hor must have enuf resources and helpers... also might have long queue leh...

hi i'm back,
Lynn,
to bad my polaroid is those small pic hardly see the person only their face. if not can lent to u.

oh coyote,
is it? over used liao, btw my friend who had her wedding recently said nobody will take note what
music u play esp when u march-in.

lynn, i just bought the cam, never try yet... anyway bought on offer so din use also ok... is the film lor, cos each pic is $1 leh...

sgn, if the song is a nice one and not very common, they will take note

My humble opinion is that the little little details are those that make the day unique & memorable.

honeygem,
ya i'm having headache in chosing the songs.
me always listen by never take note the title unless very popular. me mountain tortise!

i haven't even think abt songs yet... eh. i looking for instrumental only, dun wan singing one... any recommendations? light-hearted and cheery one pref

so we need songs for both march-ins and the first dish entrance huh? i think the fanfare for the first dish is super tacky, i dun wan tat
so will ask them to just walk in without the wayang... will prob have music for tat though... me thinking soft candleights and soft romantic music, not the wayang loud ones...

dazed why dun just limit your polaroids? i mean really the old people are not likely to be interested so can cut tat out. i'm just thinking of using tat to take fun pics with whoever turns up early in time for the cocktail reception, not going around tables with the polaroid... you should have those standard table shots stuff by your AD photographer already mah...

hehehe. I was telling Coyote (when she was with the garden wedding plan) that she should go for the song "Kiss Me" by Sixpence none the richer. I dont think it is used much for weddings but I like it. heh. Not too cheesy and it's a cheery song.

<font size="-2">Kiss Me
( Sixpence None The Richer )

Kiss me, out of the bearded barley
Nightly, beside the green, green grass
Swing, swing, swing the spinning step
You wear those shoes and I will wear that dress

Oh, kiss me beneath the milky twilight
Lead me out on the moonlit floor
Lift your open hand
Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance
Silver moon’s sparkling, so kiss me

Kiss me down by the broken tree house
Swing me upon its hanging tire
Bring, bring, bring your flowered hat
We’ll take the trail marked on your father’s map

Lift your open hand

[break]

Lift your open hand

So kiss me
So kiss me
So kiss me</font>

any CDs (instrumental) to recommend? need to get to play for the whole dinner duration... like backgroung music... i had a fren who's music very loud during the whole dinner, and i dun think tat's a very good idea leh... but then her dinner is rather noisy one too, maybe more fun?

but dun think i can take it...

anyone has any idea if we should go through the dinner 'procedures' with the co-ordinator before the AD? cos i super blur, dunno the first march-in the do wat, when to do the silly cake-cutting and champagne pouring and toast... and when to do second march-in?

Juz woke up...hehehe...

sgn, march-in song is very special &amp; ppl will rmember if chose a suitable one ;) My gerfrd had her wedding I think 5-6 yrs ago but I always rmember her march-in song
Another gerfrd of mine using SAY YES n i rmembered . Like wat honeygem said, little details make the day special

AG which song u want n ur email pls?

Amara's wine range between $40+ to $60+, event planner told me is cheaper if I get frm outside. Tks honeygem, I din know I need tat many bottles. Just curious, normal service staff dun serve full glass of wine rite? Tat is wat I noticed when I attended past weddings... Normally is less than 3/4 full. Correct boh? Coz some ppl juz wan to try the wine and if they dun like after 1 sip they will stop drinking. Kinda wasting the wine. Gers, any idea how much to pour per glass for weddings???

dazed, i think Lynn's idea is good. Capture frds only coz the elderly dun appreciate n they may find it a hassle to wait for the foto n sign their names ;) And frds come in groups esp. couples ;) And even if u drop the polaroid idea, can always do others like the willow thingy i considered b4. And later paste the willow note-card my an album together with the shots ur AD photographer took

celtricia, its ok not to serve wines. Coz most church weddings I went dun serve wine. Ur guests will still be happily having their buffet ;)

Lynn, can get CD by Kenny G (sax) by Jeffrey Michael (piano).....there are simply too many instrumental CDs around, u need to choose those u like ;)

Cafe del Mar - they have lots of series. There's many more but cant remember the titles with my blocked head. These CDs are great for home entertaining too!

Go to HMV - chill out/lounge music section. Loads of instrumental music. I have a few at home and will let you know the CD titles.