(2005) Brides of year 2005

yo zoe... ya lor u so cute hur... date ur best friend bro man... agree with josie like drama series man... hmm well think isit bcos ur best friend jealous tat why everything also tell her mum... i duno... sometimes is like tat one lor... anyway... hope u all can still be like in the past man... is best to hv both worlds rite...

yo unicorn...welcome to our family... u 1 2 come to the gathering no problem... we love to hv many ppl ard... location still hvn decided yet but should be PS lor.... so hv u get ur AD already...
so i confirm u coming hur... register u already... so mind u PM me ur real name, email, HP no 1st....

yo audrey... yap yap gathering confirm lah... dun scared... nxt week will send out the contact list for those coming one....

Gathering for Sep2005 Brides-to-be in Sep’04

Date : 17/09/04
Venue : Tentatively @ Plaza Singapura
Time : 7pm

Confirm Attendants :

1. Jellytots
2. Audrey
3. Piggerous
4. Jnj
5. Smilemelody
6. Josie
7. Cu2nite
8. Butterkiss
9. Unicorn

Not Confirm Attendants :

1. Zoeanne

hi princess

I'll be getting tea dress. kua's material is quite thick, & dun really like cheongsam. my bs offer OTR kua or tea dress, if I can't find anything suitable, then I'll go out & source myself

Hi Jelly
Now relationship is ok la. Sometimes cannot have both worlds leh. But we actually learn what to tell and what to keep secrets.. My SIL is not jealous but she cannot keep secrets type. Ok. drop her off this forum :P

Unicorn, welcome to the forum.. Like what josie said, do u have a date in mind? If so, u can try to source for hotels or restaurants etc if u decide for a dinner.
From the same thread here, in those archive files above, u can see the posting of everyone dates, venue, BS etc etc. All thanks to Jelly.. She consolidated all.
Once venue is booked, u can start searching for other liao.

Beside, to pm, just click on jellytots's name on the left coluum.

Hi judy,

thanks for info on bridesmaid's dresses.
I'll go check them out when I have time.
But i wonder if camellia will quote me more since my gown not from them...

Hi Honeyjul,

Nope, I'm not having my wedding in chijmes cos I'm catholic and I'm not allowed to have a wedding mass outside the church itself. So I was only there to try out kriston's food quality. Quite like what I tried, esp the cheese cakes. Did u try the oreo cheesecake? It was yummy!!!
Will prob cater from kriston.

Glad u managed to get ur dream venue! =) I think since u sign up that day they will replace the silk flowers with fresh flowers. Cos the director told us that if if didn't sign up that day then we will only get silk flowers.
I dun think I will use kriston's silk flowers cos I dun like fake flowers. My church decor thinking getting frens to help cos budget mah. Everything in the end depends on budget. In the end if no choice, I may still have to do with silk flowers...

But my dinner decor I think I will get Poppy Flora to do it, think they are very creative. but thinking of checking out steffi's and greenpoint flowers first before deciding. I gonna do all this in dec cos now as u noe, no time...

Hi Rosalind

Agree that the HW Brides' floral bouquets are nicer. Very sweet and simple. Have you any different ideas for your gowns after reading the mags?

tks zoeanne, no part. date in mind yet. guess need to settle on PMC (pre-marital counselling) course n book church chapel first. anyone here has any good christian PMC class to recommend?

Hi princess,

I'll be getting the "afternoon' tea dress too.
That way, I can reuse when i attend other people's wedding or other functions.
But I think cheongsam quite popular too. I did consider a cheongsam before too. But it was too ex and I dunno where I can wear it to in future.

And I'm not sure but I thot only cantonese pp are particular about wearing kua?

And u mentioned the shops on levels 1 and 2. May I know which building they are in? Thx! =)

hihi all...
wow, i'm not the only one having prbs with parents :P

so troublesome, everyone has something to say abt the wedding, but no one is giving the solution. sigh, so troublesome rite?? it's supposed to be a happy thing!

another way of seeing it is, this is the "1st" project together with hubby. this gives u an idea on hw u both handle problems and situations together to achieve a common goal. gives a good indication of how u can do this for the rest of your life

say, 17th sep, wat's the plan for the gathering? seems like a lot of like-minded ladies going hehe..can share tips and experiences

Outing for Nov 05 Brides Tread (combined outing with 2006 Brides Tread)

Date : 17 Sep 04 (Friday)
Time : 7.00 - 7.30pm
Venue : Baker's Inn @ Plaza Singapura

1. little_ger
2. Blush
3. Garfield
4. Carole

Need some advice from you....

I'm currently looking at contractors to do my hse reno. I have 2 choices. 1 is a contractor highly recommended by my fren and the other is my future SIL who is starting her business in designing and coordinating hse reno.

Both prices are competitive and workmanship are comparable. HOwever, I'm worried that relationship may sour along the way if i take my FH's sis....cos I'm rather fussy abt quality and price. I have also heard many stories about how relatives and friends who do reno end up enemies...

The other contractor has been very accomodating and i feel bad not taking them. Also, i think the other contractor's workmanship may be slightly better....but i'm not an expert in assessing their workmanship...

But if I dun take my SIL's...then it's not giving her face...she also not happy...

Sigh....very troubled...no matter i take her or not, we may sour our relationship....

Any brilliant ideas on how to prevent conflicts or which should i choose?

Hi Uni
U are welcome. I do not know any PMC course

Hi Sierra
long time no see u here leh.
Yup, i guess everyone is the same.Ha ha...The next step to another part of life....

158059.gif

Hi Matilda

Just pulling your leg. Have to admit that I'm a slacker. ;P

Thinking more of a restaurant than function room at hotel, though Conrad indeed has very nice setting.

Banquet is for friends... and yes, thinking of booking restaurant which need not serve Chinese food. Also preferrably not poolside... cos dun want my makeup on that day to "rain"... kekeke... Paiseh hor... so many "restrictions". ;P

Hi Kero
This is headache.
From a 3rd party view, can i ask?

Since your SIL just started, how is her experience in handling the coordination from you? Unless it is really much cheaper?

I get my god daddy (uncle) to do all renovation things for me..I know there will bound to be some sour things, but on money wise, my uncle can provide me the best rate without earning profit which i cannot find from those designer company. Besides he is my god daddy from young.So not scared lor.

I can see u already know your priority and your character, knowing that you would be fussy and mind the quality..However, getting ur own ppl, sometimes there is pro and con too.. Maybe more room for negotiation and change things?

Brillant ideas? I dun know.. why not tell her straight that u dun wan the relationship to turn sour and appreciate her help? Get ur hubby to say to her...not you lor..

Hi Tou2
158096.gif

have lor... like I said earlier... my FH prefers the frills that SL has... which is similar to wat I tried in SL earlier... remember...
158097.gif
those wif lots of frills behind...

But the front probably will be like HW... The gown featured under 'True Blue' and the back (top) would be bare back wif criss cross lor...
158098.gif

kero ,

Ya i fully agreed wif zoe ... hahah HEADACHES ah ...hee hee can see you are screaming for help kekek ! That what zoe said let hubby do the toking hahaha ... not you . It will be better than you open your mouth .

Hi sierra ,

how thing for you ..long time no see you here !Welcome back

hahah ya nowadays we are toking abt parent and PIL problems hahah !

Zoe ,
What our next following topic hmm ? kekek

hi gals!

I'm finally back....from my trip!!!Shack! Been slpg non-stop since I got back SIN,too groggy to log in, realised that 1 wk away, I'm oredi missing so much in this thread....looks hyper-active.

silk/artificial flowers can buy from Tan Quee Lan street( opp Bugis Junction), cheap and nice, Far East Flora have them too, but selection not too great. The 1 at Tan Quee Lan does wholesale supply but does retail as well. The guy also very helpful.Let him noe what you using the flowers for and he can give u suggestions.

the website dun have a colour version of my hand bouquet, can't post the URL here leh, dunno why, certain words in the URL reject by System Admin of this forum. Any1 interested to view the pictures of my DIY hand bouquet can gimme your email address, I can email the URL to u

Janice,

hehe,me had the thots of a cruise wedding too,just that afraid senior citizens cannot tahan, so cast aside this thots. but lately, my hubby seriously reconsidering this thot, after checking out so many hotels and restaurants, none really fit our ideal, either over budget or can't meet min table requirements.

any1 know of anywhere to rent a cruise for 200-250 pax? think if I cater chinese sit-down dinner and charter the cruise ship, would it be more savings? now regret nvr save much, all $ gone to house, and more shopping for house. hub not worry, but I very worry ang bao not enuff to cover...

Does any1 noe when 7th mth end? Can't wait to settle my venue, coz some restaurants and hotels I eyeing at oredie got tentative booking, and most can't confirm anything with me, coz guess the other parties also dun 1 to firm anything durig this mth...sigh...

me would be having a little bit of difficulties following this thread this week, coz heading out of SIN again 2nite to China. Really want to spend some time here and seriously pick up tips from all the powergals here....

Is there a particular time that u gals all log in the same time to chat? Would love to join u all, hehe,, I so slow, always have to search thru archives to go back to where I was b4!:p

Anyway, gals hang out there ya!have fun in all your prep. I would be back again this sat,would sure tune in here right after mid-nite. hehe!

hi josie,

mi still stuck on banquet venues leh, hotel got so many extra charges for corkage etc...hopefully i can work it out soon!

i think pil and parents problems at the wedding is just the beginning...more to come....
anyone staying with their PIL or going to stay with PIL??

Ladies ,
Read this ...do your guy behave like these ?
A sad true and touching ..dun cry hor

It was first day of the mid-year exams, therefore i finished school a little earlier, i called him,
:Hey, i finished school earlier today, would you come by and pick me up?

:Alright, give me 5 minutes.

:5 minutes? But my school is just beside your house.

:I need to get ready.

:Alright, make it fast then.

2pm in the afternoon, the sun is extremely hot, I stood under a shaded tree and fan myself.

Although it doesn't make much of a difference, it was better that I fanned.

5 minutes have passed, he's still not shown up, I was a lil' unhappy while looking at my watch.

10 minutes and he's still not here....couldn't be that he was met with an accident?

15 minutes passed, he finally shown up.

:Why are you so late?

He wasn't even a lil' bothered: Nahz, was watching TV.

:What?! TV?! Why don't you sleep, bathe and eat before you come down then?

I haven't got anything else to say for that, didn't take the helmet he handed me but stood there and stared at him.

:Sorry.

This was the first time he said sorry to me...

He is an egoistical person all along and has never once apologised to a girl.

I looked at him, Alright, took the helmet and let him sent me home.

He is always acting like this, no explanations, no friction, no quarrels.

The only thing he does is to apologise. To me, somethings can't be settled with a sorry.

I would never go on asking after everytime he apologises.

He told me, that was the first time he said sorry to a girl.

Although it take courage to admit mistakes, he never once correct his mistakes.

Saying sorry became a word to shut me up instead.

Tears flowed down my cheek on the 59th time he apologised.

I dropped my head: you don't ever need to say sorry to me again.

If you can never change, then don't let me keep giving you chances again and again hoping and believing that you would change each time.

He held me lightly, and said the 60th sorry.

Even then, he did not change, and there was no explanation whatsoever.

I began to worry if there was something he was keeping from me.

:What's wrong with you these few days?

:Nothing.

:Then why are you acting so strange?

:I am not.

:What can you say other than this answer?

:Do you know I'm very woried, very insecure,

do you treat me as your girlfriend?

:I'm sorry...

:I don't want to hear you say sorry again.

I put down the phone and he did not call back.

He doesn't even care about me. Maybe we should....break up.

....this was the 99th time he said sorry...

From that day onwards, I never once called me or went to look for him.

Sometimes I get an anonymous phonecall

but everytime I said hello, it was dead, i think it's a call from him, but why don't he speak up?

After one month have passed, I couldn't contain the feelings I still have for him anymore and went to his school to find him.

I went outside his classroom and looked around, but there was no sign of him.

:excuse me, is XOXO here today?

:I'm afraid he already stopped schooling.

:Huh? Why? When was that?

:He hasn't been in school for a month already.

h erms...thanks.

One month....not in school for one month...why is that so? I stumbled home.

Called his hp: Sorry the caller is currently unavailable, please leave your message after the tone....

I put down the phone, and called his house next, but there was no answer.

How can it be? The whole family migrated?

It seems as though he has already disappeared from the face on the earth leaving not even a single trace.

I couldn't find him....just as I was feeling distraughted, the phone suddenly sounded, it was my friend.

He was one of his brothers and also my good friend.

:Hey, what have you been doing? XOXO is in hospital.

:REALLY? WHAT HAPPENED?

h he is in ZZ hospital, the one you stayed in last time.

:I'll be right there.

I used the fastest speed my legs could carry and when I reached the hospital I saw that his parents were already there.

I asked them for the room number and flew across the hall.

He was lying on bed, looking at me, not saying a word, not moving a muscle,

:Hey, what happened to you? Why didn't you contact me?

He did not answer, and used the same stare on me again.

:Come on answer me...why don't you speak?

A tear flowed down the side of his eye, and it looked as though he used the greatest amount of strength that he could master to say...

:I'm...sorry...

After that, his eyes went shut.

:Hey, don't fool around alright...why say sorry to me?

:Don't say sorry to me....please wake up....answer me please.

I wept and fell down on the side of his bed, pulling his shirt I cried out..

:Why do you have to apologise? Why don't you give me an explanation instead?

:I won't forgive you, wake up, saying sorry is no use...

:If you don't wake up I'll never ever forgive you in this lifetime, please I beg of you..open your eyes.....

That was the 100th sorry

A group of medical staff, doctors, nurses pulled me away and tried to revive him. I had no strength to stand up...

My mind was a blank.... my eyes could only see a sea of black.

He did not leave this world...I merely lost the chance to touch him anymore.

But he would appear in my dreams sometimes, telling me how he was doing.

He's still accompaning me, still alive, in my heart.

would still laugh at my silliness, and call me his darling....just that...he never apologise to me anymore.

After a month, his mom came to look for me, and gave me a box...inside was

a 100 photographs, everyone had a story behind them..the reasons why he made me angry.

The first time, my dear, I did not purposely arrive late to pick you up.

I know this excuse is really lame, but I didn't have the heart to tell you the truth then,

before I stepped out of the house, I felt a pain in my chest, but I still made it a point to meet you, please forgive me?

The second time, my dear, I...

The third time, my dear, I...

The 100th time, my dear, I didn't mean to leave you alone in this world,

It had to be so because God did not give me the chance to say I Love You for this lifetime of mine, and to put the ring on your finger....

You are the first girl I apologised to.

And also the first girl I want to be with for the rest of my life...

Forgive me for not able to bring you happiness but I have thus become your angel, always looking out for you...

Looking at you while you find your happiness...promise me...don't shed a tear...

I don't want to see you weep like this for me, I Love You ~XOXO

How can I not cry? What you said was just too impossible.

The last photograph was of him in the hospital,

Although he was skinny, the smile on his face was bright as ever.

His face was white and yet he tried his best to give his last smile on the last photo, the 100th.

At the time when he needed me the most, I wasn't with him.

:I'm sorry.

I held the photo tightly and cried for us.....

So Guys out there... Explain to your girlfriend... Always......

And girls... understand your boyfriend... Always...

Tan Y W ,

wow ..you realli veri long never see your nick leh ! Bzzzz ...hee hee where is tan Quee Lan huh ? JellY ...know where is it anot .. we might want to go there to take a look ?

Anyone ... know ?

sierra,

Where about you have shortlisted .. maybe you want to name it n maybe we can help you loh !

hi josie,
it's really touching....i can feel tears welling up in my eyes liao....

sigh, it's always when we lose it, then we appreciate the things and ppl that are around...

Hi Sierra
A few of us are going to stay with their In-law. Janice is one of them. But seem her in-law quite nice cos she got no complain.. Ha ha

Hi Tan
7th month end this 13th Sept , 14 Sept is 1st day of BA YUE.

For cruise, there is pro and cons. I held mine at the Chinese junk. Be sure that ppl are punctual . I gave my guests arrival time 1.5 hr b4 the actual boarding time. Plus some time for you to take pics around the pier on the guests.

Please do not go to CRYSTAL LEISURE CRUISE Though my ROM is fun and nice, but in between, we got cheated by them. They promise to decorate my boat , in the end, i buy all stuff and decorate myself and food wise, I catered for 80 guests, the portion only for 60 guests. In the end, my family plus in law family all no eat. We leave all food to the the guests 1st..

Another cruise which is not bad with chinese dinner, i think is call " ZHENG4 HE2", u can try.

Make sure, they provide u medicine for sea sick for guests

Oh, i knew the Tan Quee Lan st. There got one shop selling lots of flowers..

Can u email me ur DIY flowers to [email protected]?

sierra ,

the problems with them are that they dun bother or lazy to explain ..make us worry and wonder ...hmmm sigh !

hi josie

these are the few that are still available:
- Qian Xi Restaurant (Farrer Park)
I like the layout (no pillars), but dunno abt the food and service

- Guilin restaurant at CDANS (Bukit Gombak)
The menu looks good and reasonably priced, but stage quite small and location may be a little out.

- River View hotel
Like the ballroom (the entire floor wld be yours if no one is using the smaller function room) and the bridal suite.
location more centralised, but price wise, more ex than the 2 restaurants above + no waiver of corkage for wine or free flow beer...

any comments?

heheeh, not that i wan to say, but the real deal only happens when u start staying with PIL. no matter how nice they are, there's a period of time required for adjustments for everyone

good for janice

I do not have any future sis-in-law... but I think my future brother-in-law is just like a girl... and the father is like a woman also... sigh...

zoe ,

oki .isn`t near bugis ...are there any resturant which is nice for the gathering ?

I realised that you may not be joining us ..hmm why ?

sierra ,

Heard thast Qian xi resturant food quite nice ..firstly my mother in law wanted us to have there but .....we want hotel as we look into the amphere is veri important to us . Luckily she accept the hotel we selected as the food is nice too !

River view ...my gal frez said that the ballroom is nice and have many perks ..of course it will be slight more for hotel . By the way how many tables you expect to have huh ?

butter ,
:P ...we like quite bad leh ..talking bas behide pple back .....kekek ...

I cannot confirm cos i might have something on with my friends..but mostly can go for the gathering.. Unless something crop up.. Cos i dun wan to say confirm and later cannot la..Too disappointing if like that...

Hi isabelle,

I dun knw abt that.Call her and check it out.I din sign up with her leh...I just ask her how much she charge for 1 bridemaid dress...that's all.

Hi princesswed13

I will be wearing kua for my tea ceremony. Me cantonese mah somemore I like kua!

Cheongsum not suitable for me at all!...My figure cannot fit cheong sum. I tried before...I look very big size.

Nowaday, modern brides will go for tea dress.Is all up to individual.

Hi isabelle,
I dun take cheese, cream or any food made with dairy products so I didn’t try the cheesecake.
I think you will get real fresh flowers as long as u chose kriston for your church catering. That’s what that is stated in the main contract. Its not only for the event.
I also finalizing everything in December, now so busy. I can share contacts for florist with u. coz my colleagues gave me some contacts that they often order for functions so may give big discount. But I check that florist décor should cost around 500. Spellbound florist at the kriston workshop that day quote me 650.
I also looking around contacts for invitation cards, program bklets, videographers n photographers. Have u decided on the above?

josie,

i'm looking at 26-28 tables...nw a bit concerned cos it seems like many ppl getting married on that day, wonder if i'm so "lucky", frens who are oso attending another fren's wedding tat day...plus oso it's zhong qiu jie, some ppl may have the own family celebrations...

i like river view oso, quite cosy...but we are concerned abt the costs..alcohol ex leh!

hi sierra
how abt the 2 restaurants at HarbourFront that side?
U been there to see see look look already? 88 Restaurant and Dragon Gate...under same management...

Hi Zzee,

No worries, off hand I can only think of these few places, you might wanna check them out :-

1. Gatsby bar & restuarant - Chijmes( ptc : Pearly Tan @ 63373533)
2. Esmirada bar & Grill - Chijmes (ptc : Jacqueline Ang @ 9455 7372)
3. Grand Shanghai - Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Hope its useful! 8)....

hi butter,

yup, i've attended weddings at dragon gate before too, food so-so and i dun like it tat the entrance is facing the car park. hubby dun like 88 restaurant, so that's out too

Hi josie
saw the long long post.. Pls leh... about make me cry liao..Ha Ha..True enough, sometimes girls got to be more understanding abit. I learn alot from my past relationship.. But guys also la.. try to understand girls.. I recommend a gd book.
" Man from Mars, Woman from venus" this is wonderful and help alot..My hubby is the one who ask me to read it when I had problem with my ex... Blur ah.... Last time my hubby is still kor kor to me la.. Ha Ha...

From what the book said, he said guys keeping quiet are in their retreat, in their own cave and need some space for thinking. Woman however need to chat and talk to another person to get their thinking thru... THATS WHY WE ARE HERE....

I ask my hubby how true is this book. I said for woman , it is quite accurate though not 100% cos all ppl are different.. He share his thought with me when we read the book again after we went steady.. He said quite true too....So sometimes, when i am angry, i just fetch the book and read...hopping to see if i can understand abit more and remind myself about such behaviours of guys..

Cos married liao.. We got to share the same "umbrella" hahaha

158160.gif

sierra ,

ya maybe can try butter suggested ...the food there are good too .

hmm zoe ,
Oki loh ..hope that day you can come loh

zoe ,

me reading the book now hahah ...
HI FIVE ...when we are in argument ...i will always pick up the book again to read hope to understand him more . hmmm ...he have read that book yet .
I will try asking him to read :P

I would say that the book really good and accurate abt us women !

Hi Sierra
I got a stupid idea. If u have the New Style magazine, behind there are many many restaurants as well as hotels. Why not try and call the one u like?
I never know the date on 18 Sept is so popular. My M hotel also do not have rooms on 18Sept , so we have dinner on 19Sept..Custom on 18Sept lor..

Hi josie
I will try.. Thanks

zoeanne,

both..whichever is available. budget is abt 400+ range per table. Actually wat i think is by looking at the overall amount, cos looking at the menu price alone is not sufficient cos there's a lot of miscelleanous costs e.g. corkage charges.

we are planning to pay everything ourselves, so hopefully can recover

zoeanne,

lol, i've called up many places liao...hahahaaha...sometimes u see the pic of the restaurant or hotel very nice, but go there actually it's not as good. oso by looking at the actual packages then can really tell the true value.

partly becos i've been to too many wedding banquets at various places (hotels, restaurants), a bit jaded liao....it's like std operating procedure for every wedding...but when it comes to mine, i end up following cos no big budget to be creative about the venues, so work with wat i have