(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Gathering at TEA's Lovenest
Location Bukit Merah View..
Date : 3rd or 17th dec

1) Sue (either date is fine)
2) weixiong (10dec) (no more 10Dec liao)
3) Ah Bear (either dates are fine)
4) cacphin (either dates)
5) queenie (3rd only)
6) DH (3 or 17 Dec)
7) Maruko (either date is fine)
8) joyousonline (either date is fine)
9) Anna (either date is fine)
10) Anise (either date)
11) Supagal (17 Dec

Rachel,
waterbed prices depends on size & quality.Mine is less then $2k queen size.

My mum been sleeping on waterbed for more then 15yrs & no complains but let me warn u tt once u tried a waterbed,u dont wanna sleep on any other mattress.

anna,
i did the curtain for the a/c ledge window to make sure my room is dark but it's totally unnecessary.If i were to put a roller blind,it wldnt have matched lor.

anise,
C&K shoes r cheap.Period.
Wear boots for wet days,safer & keep ur feet dry.

My mil was fast to gv my bil her tables & so he cld book May 2006 at Beaufort at least more than 5mths ago.Looking fwd to tt caz bil & sil will "jing cha" with my hb & me.Hahaha!!!
Other then all tt,i cant really relate to ur headaches regarding AD,wat a big hassle.

Hi hi everyone, am wondering if you are all ok if the gathering is fixed on the 3rd dec? I think the 17th is too close to xmas and most will have family committment or needed at home. any objections???? Let's do potluck. Can you all list down the food you are bringing?

gd morning everyone...tink we set on 3rd Dec rite? date set so now talk abt food...guess we shld b able to hav a better gauge on the amt of food to bring...

Date : 3rd Dec

1) Sue
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
7) Maruko (cheese hotdog)
8) joyousonline
9) Anna
10) Anise
11) Supagal

Gd morning..

Super busy... Why are we so quiet? haizzz all of us busy with work?

Tweety, u book ur chalet yet? any news abt the approval yet?

Wah Sue, separate wedding dinners ah? u sure or not? why dun u take a bigger venue like Copthorne Waterfront? cos i feel that its gonna be more ex... then ur parents have to go for both dinner? will this make things worse instead? Tell ur hubby to tell his mum that ur parents already taken 25 tables liao.. if she dun say some more then she might be only left with 10 tables.

Abt inviting the old neighbours thingy, i feel that ur MIL is right to do so.. Wait, hear me out. Like it or not those old foggies feel that u are marrying in. In 'olden' times its the male side that does the inviting. So ur MIL can invite whoever she wants. plus u mentioned that ur hubby is the only son etc etc, so they would wanna show off (whether u like it or not). All u can do is to limit her tables. the rest leave it be. I still think u dun need a list. just the number will do.. but must drill into her thick skull that the number of tables are FIXED! Ur hubby needs to be on ur side too.. Has he spoken to ur MIL?

3rd Dec is ok for me for now. Rojak anyone??
) Sue
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear (rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna
10) Anise

Me got nightmares on choosing of tiles and colours... so scary... me scared i choose the wrong colours... then my house would look really dumb...

thanks dajie... cause me wondering to do or not to do dunno got std procedure or not...

wow 3rd dec next saturday... think will be able to make it...=P

1) Sue
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear (rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
10) Anise
11) Supagal

supagal: oh no, we are missing you again. think we got to have another one begining of next year. catch all those who are not able to make it for previous gathering.

Hi.. so long didn post liao.. haha.. rushing on my 2 reports.. now all hand in liao.. what a relief...

Bear.. I haven book the chalet leh.. We'r not civil servant, so now too early to book. they gave 2 mths advance for public. Civil servant got priority of 3 mth in advance. Looking 4 ppl to book for me leh... And no news from the application yet arh.. so sianz.. haiz...

Sue.. u wanna do it in 2 days?? i think it's quite tiring rite?? look for bigger venue lor..

For the gathering.. I cant confirm now leh.. will get back later k..

Queenie... mi no boots lei.. hehe.. Might stop buying CK.. easily spoilt.. hehe.. wanna switch to other brand liao hehe...

sue... i agreed with wat bear said.. since ur hubby onli son, its normal parents wanna invite the whole kampong.. juz like my parents esp dad.. for my bro wed, he invited the whole market.. dat total up to 35 table juz for them.. so juz ask dem roughly how many tables.. fix it n tell dem.. no extra.. den they juz haf to plan n invite according..

Bear... i m ok.. thanks for the concern n oso apply to queenie.. mi din hurt my back.. juz feel my body aching.. guess it coz of work.. The floor not wet i still can slip.. the stupid heel sore wear off liao.. I noe y u ask mi bring cheesecake.. coz of weixiong so dat he can msg mi when he got the hdb alert rite.. hehe he cheesecake for the gathering! heehee... I noe u bear.haha.. guess i too lazy to bake. hehe.. getting other stuff..

Tea.. the location n date fix.. how abt the time?? haha.. everyone juz agree without knowing wat time huh...

1) Sue
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
10) Anise (Jap chicken with seaweed)
11) Supagal

No no my hb not only son, he is the eldest son and grandson of the family, he got 2 younger brothers.

Either I get and avg venue that is not too ex or I need to seperate into 2 days to be cost effective. Cos those "san gu liu po" are gonna give miserably pathetic angbao like wat they always did for hb's cousins.Those old neighbours invite for wat, I mean his grandma ald nt ard lei....By the way its my mil side again....Its not her side of the family affair lo...My fil oso nvr invite the whole list of their family tress, I dunno y my mil wanna do dat. They nvr even meet up for like 10 yrs ald lo. Nt as tho they know who my hb is la even.... Sometimes no choice gotta prioritise who to invite n who not to.....my mil dunno hw to prioritise! Or maybe she is intimidated my my family or wat. My hb dun mind , he jus wan everyone to be happy but dowan to make a big loss (which definitely will if we are getting 4/5 star hotel). He is very vexed over it.....

Imagine my hb's uncle who had wedding like 10 yrs ago made a loss cos of those ppl....N his banquet was at resturant n per table only like $300+. I doubt those foggies will be updated with times n give bigger angbao. Imagine go goodwood park hotel wedding they give $24 angbao for 2 person kind n $200 for family of 5 kind.....

Its hard to be optimistic abt it. Even my hb ownself oso know we will "die" at their hands.... I m sure my side will at least cover. My parents ald sieve out those "unnecessary and not close" ppl.
Everyone ok with me bring chicken nuggets?

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
11) Supagal

ops, forgot to mention the date. Let's do it at 5pm.
I will get the drinks.
anise, you not bringing cheese cake ah. that one is a hot seller leh.... hee.

Pple, sorry if i seem a bit scattered... been rather stressed up with work... but definitely looking forward to seeing everyone during the gathering.

Time: 5pm

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
11) Supagal

morning... so sad, got to miss u gals & guys again. really wana put a face to all the names.

bear> hee, me had the problem too... was so stress and worried when choosing colors for the house :p my bedroom walls ended up too purple/pink, but other than that, everything is quite fine.

sue> better to choose a not too ex place... my gf had the same prob, her hb side is peranakan and they are very strange (keke no offence to anyone :p), some gave them mircowave ovens and vcd player instead of ang pows!!! i almost fainted as i was doing the reception. they made a loss and had to delay their honeymoon which was quite upsetting...

got to take my name out...

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)

Anise.. u may like to try heatwave or URS.. i think theirs not bad leh.. heatwave is cheaper n the design also not bad leh.. URS will be slighly higher lor..

Sue.. I can understand that.. those old aunties n uncles won give different ang pao at different location one.. hotel or normal restaurant, i think the ang pao will be the same.. If you really scared to make big loss, it's better to separate to 2 days lor.. but will be tiring for u n yr hubby leh..

morning...
tweety... thanks for ur suggestion.. where can i find heatwave?? never heard of that brand lei.. URS not bad but ex...

gals/guys... u wan mi to get cheesecake?? hmmm if so i got to bake again... haha... cheesecake is hard to bake n troublesome = p..

bear> try to choose neutral colors.. at least safer.. for me, i haven't choose paint yet but settled on the color of the rest, so that it is easier for me to choose paint color later.

supagal,
to us maybe strange but like the ang mohs,they usually buy gifts for the newly weds which is suitable for the house instead of gvg $.
Also,i think those aunties tend to gv less also caz they r not working,either retired or nvr worked bfe,where got so much $ to gv according to htl.To them,gg to weddings is like an excuse to dress up,go out with frens.My mil is a gd eg,her frens invite her to their children's weddings,i knw she only gv ard $60 even at Beaufort.U all will understand if u hv pil or parents above 55yrs old.I think most of ur parents r below 50yrs?Caz u all r so young.

hehehe... not really so.. my parents alreadi 65 plus liao.. what queenie says are rite.. even when i was young, my parents brought the whole family to dinners, also gave very little.. not to say now.. sigh.. that's why pple say chinese wedding troublesome and waste $$..
from what i see from my fren's wedding, the old folks are there like eating charity food, then go off... talked to a few old frens.. even the couple dun even noe their existence.. what to do??
accept lor..

Hello hello...

Hrmm i think breaking even for the dinner isn't my first priority. For me what's most impt is that everyone is happy including me. If i break even then its a bonus. its a happy occasion mah, why wanna pick such a small thing (well, to me lah). That's why i m putting abt 5-8K aside just in case i dun break even. That is the standard lor.

Dajie my parents are abv 55 yrs old too. My mum would probably give a lot more cos her face is very impt to her. For my dad, he would most prob give the min... Hahaha.. same mentality as u described. But honestly wonder is that the meaning of a wedding, worrying abt losing money and not knowing half the attendees? get what i m driving at? heehee.. i m pretty much ok with whoever my parents invite.. to me the more the merrier.. then again i must be a bit crazy... :P

Anise me dun get what u said abt the cheesecake and Weixiong... lost lost... heehee.. whatever u bring i eat can liao...

Nihpcac, what's neutral colours? me dunno....

Tweety, aiyoh why so long man??? ur ROM confirm on the 14th of Feb?? means u can book the place in 2 wks time!

Anise.. u can find heatwave at far east plaza, lucky plaza and china town.. i like thier shoes.. quite comfortable...

Dajie.. i know what u mean liao.. those ppl normally don work, they don hv much saving.. so it's v hard for them to give u big ang pao..

my parents ard 50.. that's the reason y i nv think abt those that really v old liao..

Bear.. ya lor.. so sianz.. so long liao still no news leh.. haiz.. if we fix on 14 feb then can book on 12 feb midnite.. haha.. coz wanna book 2 days on 13 n 14..

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
11) Cherz

MIA for a wk.came back fr Bintan last wkend.now taking a break at home before i start my new job on 1st Dec.n my home computer is still down.

tweety,i stayed at a room for 3pax.din c the villas.the food r not bad.we ate at a place call kopi-O.U can swim there.there is a bar at the pool too.can massage,play pool,table tennis,sea sports,suntan,ktv there.

tweety> tiring oso no choice, my pil's not rich, else they wld not need to downgrade their 4 rm flat ald.

bear> yah agree wedding is a time for all to be happy. But I doubt I can if we are in debts cos of tat lor. Maybe I m being pessimistic or wat. The reason why we plan so advance is becos we really cant afford to suffer huge losses. My pils are really bad in managing finances and jus less than 1 yr ago our plans were almost halted becos of them. (tink runted in the thread b4)I dowan history to repeat itself again and this time the cost of the wedding is like more than 10 times of our rom.

Ok nvm me, just ranting...

I'm able to attend the gathering....hehe!! Missed the last round & tis's the first time seeing ur gals!!Very excited

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
8) joyousonline
9) Anna (Fishballs)
11) Cherz
12) Rachel (Sandwiches)

anise,

I oso buy my shoe fr c&k! I like their design.Normally their shoe will last abt 3 months! Dun knw y everytime is my right heel worn off... & throw away!!When it spoilt then able to get their new design!!

Cherz,

Welcome back again!! Muz b having a enjoyable trip rite??I haven't been to bintan before.i have a ntuc policy,their have a offer at bintan 's villas at a very cheap,it has 3 rooms... but always couldn't find many pple goin with me!!

suelynn,

I agreed wif them tat throw dinner at diff date will b very tired!! I had booked 30 tables & nw my in-law side not goin to invite their frenzs!!Now will b my problem cos dun knw how to cover!!

rachel> invite friends and colleagues lor...
bear> neutral colors e.g. white, cream, pastal colors. Is good to be daring, using bold colors but take note of the evenness of the wall... dark colors will show the unevenness of the wall.. all HDB walls are not even.. use ur hand to go over and u know my meaning..

Harlo all... its weekend again...... this time gotta try and keep my postings as short as possible :>

Tea> Sorry I would be late for the gathering...have an appointment at 4. Will rush there after my appointment. Btw is Weixiong going? If not, gotta consider postponing the gathering liao wor

cherz> Welcome back... sounds like lots of fun there sia.. when i was in bintan nothing much to do leh..keke

bear> I agree with you... breaking even will be a bonus... if not also never mind as long as everyone enjoyed themselves.

suelynn> Most importantly is to set a budget and keep to the budget strictly ..it is good to plan ahead...

anise> Hope you are feeling better... you still staying in BB?

anise & rachel,
i also wear C&K but so far my shoes dont get spoilt leh but i dont find them comfortable.They tend to bite even if i "bit" 1st,hahaha!!!The sandals r the best for me.My other shoes r either fr Aldo or xodus.Though they r more ex,they r feet friendly.

cherz,
if my hb & i spent 1 wk in bintan,we wld hv rotted & maggots wld be feeding on us.Amazing u can jz do all tt.The most i'l go there is 2 nights then i'll get bored.

sheryl,
u r right dark colours brings out the uneveness of our hdb walls.but tt didnt stop my hb & me to still get dark walls.Light colours shows dirt.No ideal.

sue,
if i had to do a big wedding dinner with tons of ppl i dont knw.I wld still go for buffet style.Thing abt typical sit down chinese wedding dinners,one dont even get to mingle with their guests,very impersonal.I'm surprised tt in our ever so modern lion city,ppl of our caliber still put ourselves thru such boring tasks when we hv so many options out there but nvr gv them a chance.I wonder will we wanna our kids to go thru the same punishment?Maybe,it's our mindset,we dont think outside the box.

rachel,
ya charles n keith heels super easy worn off.

dajie,
haha i din spent one wk in bintan lah.only 3days 2 nights.if i stayed for one wk, i wld b bored to tears too.but i went on my company trip so we had lots of fun playing taboo, card games in the room.in a big gp, there r more things to do...

queenie> dats the thing lo, I suggested buffet for those relatives cos I jus dunno who the hell they are. Well the elders opposed....For my hubby, he jus wan to pls everyone.....Wat to do, I felt like I m the bride on the wedding cake liddat...Jus there for show!

Today is another sad day of my life, I jus sent my pet to be euthanised.....Felt like a murderer....

Looks like the best plc nw is Orchid ctry club nt too ex n its fits wat all the parents looking for!Well, gonna shelf this banquet thinggy aside 1st, xmas coming!!!

I have lots of C&K shoes as well, they are ok with me, jus tat some of them the rubber thinggy gets worn off easily. I have some heatwave shoes too, 1 of the sandals lasted me for abt 2.5 yrs! Wore it to many ctries. Cheap n gd!

da-jie> i know its common for ang mohs to give wedding gifts instead of $$ but the electronics stuff my gf received isnt exactly up to date. some pp will jus take advantage.

for me, i dun really mind if my not so well to do relatives give smaller ang pows coz i really wan them to be there. however its kind of irritating if my parents or ILs invited pp i dun even know, like those san gu liu po....

i find C&K ok, the slip ons are pretty comfy... there are quite a few good local shoe shoes recently, like gripz, pazzion and shoeloft. go check it out, really love their shoes

Gd morning..

Went to Lei Gardens yesterday for dinner.. Nice food, but dunno ate wat wrongly got hives outbreak. :P

Ya Dajie, funniest thing is that the wedding dinner is the biggest hassle yet we still insist on doing it. personally i find it irritating BUT i would still wanna do it. Cos not doing it is like not having a complete wedding, get what i mean? heehee.. the KS part of me would wanna have a wedding like everyone else, despite the hassle... So hao lian hor... heeheee...

I dun wear C&K shoes at all. Not lasting... i wear URS ones.. a bit hard to break in, but once u are passed the blister stage its rather comfy.

Yes Christmas is coming.. what are u giving ur better half??? me got no idea.. well actually i got no $$$ :P

Nihpcac, orh i know liao, but i saw ur msg too late, chose my tiles liao.. All the tiles i chose are yellow based. Light yellows, beige and dark gold for the floor... but i think i might change my mind...

Cherz.. welcome back.. hehe.. must be v relaxing there ya.. wah.. bar at the pool arh.. must be v nice then.. did u play the water sport?? fun?? hehehe... IS the food at kopi-o v ex?? heard that it's quite ex there..

sue.. may be u would like to find some nice restaurant instead of hotel.. else 2 days really v tiring..

I find C & K shoes ok too, just that the rubber wear off really fast.. after that, cant wear liao.. else v slippery lor.. Heatwave's shoes are better i thnk.. i bought 2 shoes from same model leh.. haha.. coz i like it v v much.. n the price are good too.. hehe... I find Swanks's shoes not good leh.. not comfortable n the heel v slippery leh.. nv go there again..

morning pple.
i gave up on C&K shoes. my sole always hurts after walking in it for a while. but then, for that price, we cant complain too much right.

looking forward to our gathering this sat. :D hee.

DH: weixiong never take out his name, so i assume he will be coming. WEIXIONG, where are you??? Np, just pop over, I will email you guys my contact number and address.

gd morning to all...

I find C & K shoes quite ok too...most of my purchases r from there...mayb i seldom wear them dats y they dun wear off so fast also...still wearin a few dat i bought yrs back...

anyway got a bad news 4 u all...wont b able to make it for this sat's gathering...juz realised me got a wedding dinner to attend on dat day...

Here's the list again to remove my name...

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
7) joyousonline
8) Anna (Fishballs)
9) Anise (Jap chicken with seaweed)
10) Cherz
11) Rachel (Sandwiches)

Pple: i am trying to send out emails but not sure which email belong to who.

I managed to identify the following:
weixiong, cacphin, anise, joy, queenie, bear and DH. Can rest of you leave your emails here?

harlow ppl, was on leave since last friday. went for a kelong trip with my inlaws and wife. quite a nice experience and surprisingly the hospitality of the kelong was good. 4 meals per day, gain a few pounds these few days. and gotten a tan too(now suffering from pain and itch) actually fishing is quite fun too, decided to take up fishing as hobby since wife also like it but she dont like the handling fish part.

1) Sue (nuggets) ?
2) weixiong (unable to make it)
3) Ah Bear(rojak)
4) cacphin
5) queenie
6) DH
7) joyousonline
8) Anna (Fishballs)
9) Anise (Jap chicken with seaweed)
10) Cherz
11) Rachel (Sandwiches)

dh> why if im not going got to postpone??? -_- suddenly the maid image pop into my head hahaha but i really cant make it coz i already to plans liao.

bear> aiyo pls take care of yourself. find that you fall ill easily leh. got go do full body check up or not??? i did not request anything from my wife hehehe got nothing that i really want anyway. im getting her a year worth of bird nest(paid in monthly installment lah LOL)

tweety> we are now looking at orchid country club. Restuarant wise ah, tink sichuan douhua at uob plaza is really nice. But I need to find a venue that fits abt 50 to 60 tables. Need to make everyone happy....(except myself...)Hw ironic kekeke

tea> my email is [email protected]

Weixiong,
If my hubby saw ur post,he sure make noise & wanna go kelong.My hb onli hobby is 'Fishing". Normally he'll go to paris Ris park fishing pond but I onli allow him to go there once a month. The rest of the fishing trip will b at those swamp.

Suelynn,

If u r goin for a restuarant,I'll like to recommend a chinese restaurant @ allson Hotel.They'r food is nice.If u have more tables,they allow u to have it in the hotel's ballroom w/o any extra charge.the restaurant is "New treasurer"

sue,
u only gonna have 1 wedding in ur lifetime, gal.If this is the way u will be remembering it then u gotta talk to ur hb bfe it actually happens.If he wants to please everyone then i think he has forgotten the most important person he shd be pleasing,u!

ah bear,
cld it be some seafood u had?Think u oughta get urself some kind of jab to immune urself k.I got all sorts of jabs!Yeah,i love needles!!!

Morning gals...

Cherz.. wah.. the food yummy?? oh.. make me drooling.. haha..

Sue.. Don be unhappy.. u shld be the happiest person in yr wedding party.. try to talk to yr hubby k.. there's always a way out.. what if u hold in 2 days (2 location) as u planned?? then u don need to worry to burnt a big hole in yr pocket... Orchird CC is nice.. I saw from the website.. but the price also quite high rite??

Joy has got hers at harbour front, 88 restaurant, i think the price is quite ok leh.. u may like to ask there??

Queenie dajie.. u love NEEDLES???? OMG>> i scare leh.. still rememb that time need to go for blood test when apply PR, my face just change when i saw the needles.. N the ppl ard me are "un chio" (laughing secretly) le.. I so pai seh.. haha...

tweety,
why fear needles when needles can cure,beautify, heal & s'times even make one feel oh so gd?Heeheehee!!!It's amazing tt s'thing so tiny can do so many things & tt so many ppl r afraid of them.I still vividly remember tt as a child when i needed to take jabs,i alwayz looked at wat the doc was doing & where the needle was going & later seeing the skin turn red & swell up.Until today,i still do the same.I find hepatitis & tetanus jabs r the most painful of all.Think caz they go in deep & alot of med inside then later feel arm very tired.

Dajie.. I don know y.. whenever I c a needle, my muscle will get tense then v painful le.. haha.. I think going for blood test also quite painful while they need to suck out yr blood.. u know what.. we went for blood test at poly. the nurse,who need to take some blood from my friend cant find the vein so she inject the needles few times till can find blood leh..