(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Bear.. I haven booked leh.. Intend to go down this sat to view the place then book.

Anna.. which terrace u talking abt ha?? Is it the one that I mention abt same no of rooms but different price??

Jannie.. I not sure leh.. u know sg's hotel n chalet all must booked early one, else snatched by ppl liao.. haha... ya.. i think after viewing I'll book first.. if really suay suay then I take like early birthday celebration for fh lor.. hehe...

oh ya.. 4D company gives me prize last week leh.. hahaha... i won 4d for $60.. was so happy even though just a bit.. kekeke..

sigh..been so bz n stressed lately!!

hubby cousin will b hving his wedding in dec..and his cousin parents just booked for him in the CC without asking his cousin also...fine...that is his family...

now MIL says she is giving us due respect by asking us to see the places liao..me so pissed off by her comment...think my patience will run out also ma...why i cannot make decision...hubby asks me to give in to him lo....coz he dun wanna confront his mum...waaa i say no way lo....my wedding...and he says i so stubborn leh coz i dun wanna consider other venues...i say i know wat i want so i really dun like ma....his mum suggests yunnan garden in IMM, chevrons in jurong east etc etc....sigh...and keep nagging us to go see the venue...after seeing we wanna consider ma...keep asking us whether ok or not...it's not ok...

chevrons is ok..but no more ballroom..only left multi purpose hall...decor wise is fine..but just like a school hall where u can see our president's n his wife photo ar...sigh...so dun look nice at all....yunnan, the decor is so so only..so normal leh..nothing at all..no red carpet etc...sigh....

MIL even says hubby not respect parents n grandma coz the venue should be chosen by the guy's side..and that he always listen to me..

then later MIL asked the youngest sis to sms hubby saying," i dun want to bother your marriage already, you n ur wife decide on your own. i say too much. makes you a troubled middlemen. wat i said just now. treat it as wind blow. i got no money. i dun hv much say. i hv fed you till your matured age. i dun have much demands from you. okay, let's not say it, it'll only make me more vexed. im tired. i won't say joyce. you are in a tough situation, i dun want a problematic family. peace."

i know hubby in a difficult position too..but no choice..to him, any place is fine..been quarreling with hubby over this issue..sigh so sian...i also in a dilemma..some ask me to give in..some say go ahead..

Aiyoh Joy, why like that?? haizz i know what u are gg through, i also got one MIL.. haizzz... if i were u, i WILL NOT give in. sorry but life's too short to live the way other ppl wants. i sound very selfish, but its my life... I think Dajie will agree with me... (we have been quoting Dajie when she is not around!!!)

Ya agree with Tea, she is trying to make ur hubby feel guilty so that she can have her way.... haizzz.. poor u...

Only think i can advise is to have a heart to heart talk with ur hubby... and bring ur MIL to other venues that u would wanna hold ur wedding at... when's ur AD?

Joy> tink we have discuss this alot of times hor. If she dowan to care ald then y is she keep askin u all wan or nt? But who does all these MILs think they are huh? The brides huh? I dun understand y they are so insistent on certain things. They shldnt make use of this event to make it theirs lo. Ask them walk down the isle la! hahhaha! Best way is to seperate the dinners for 2 sides. Tell her take it or leave it, giving her due respect ald. Tell her u cant bring urself to invite ur frens to a plc which ppl cant park n the deco sux!

I quarreled with HB b4 our rom over the guests mil invited. Ald made it clear to him, AD there is no way of ppl callin us if can bring kids cos no one at hm look after AD is not cheap. No chance to re-enact the whole thing again cos touchwood who wants 2nd time rite? So everyone knows I want tings my way cos its my wedding,who is to tell me rite since I m oso paying.Its betta to be selfish than to regret. So consider carefully with ur hb

tweety, wah...so lucky of u to strike 4D...seems like its a "luck" b4 marriage for some of us...dat time i also got strike...

joy, ur MIL quite power leh...somehow i feel dat she abit like my mum when she ask the youngest sis to sms ur hubby...dats wat my mum told me to do at times when she cant get my elder bro or sis...
abt ur issue, i tink its best dat u calm down n hav a talk wif ur hubby...as ur MIL said, he is in a difficult position...ask ur hubby to tink in ur shoes...u oredi noe how u wan ur wedding to b...tell him how u feel abt the venues dat ur MIL chosed...like wat bear said, u can bring ur MIL to the venues dat u hav in mind n c wat she feels abt those places...explain to her the difference btwn the ones dat u hav chosen n those dat she suggests...
try not to hav a "stiff" relationship wif ur MIL as u gonna face her very often in the future...

hi tea,
yeah think she is trying to make hb guilty lo..

hi bear,
chosen date by MIL also..24th june 2006..and talking about this..i also angry...she only took ours date and her date n PIL date to find the best date for our AD..but she din ask for my parents date as well..saying coz i m marrying into the family so its more impt that the dates dun clash with them..win liao!

hi sue,
yeah i know..we've discussed this..heeee dunno her..maybe cool down for a while b4 i make any decision...and i need to settle this with hb 1st..

hi maruko,
yeah lo..so power to say such things...as if now i m the bad guy..chinatown she also says far..then wat???

joy, chinatown is quite centralised leh...cant possibly choose an area at west side den ur guests from east side gotta travel so far to attend ur wedding...u need ur hubby to stand on ur side on this matter...if not it will b hard on u to hav a venue dat u prefer.

Been very busy lately...did come in to see see look look but always no time to post...Boss is out of office liao and so here I am busy surfing net *evil grin*

Joy > Hugs! Dont despair...your MIL sounds very difficult leh...and for just 2 seconds, it made mine appears like angel =P

I feel that couples should have the say in how their wedding shd be, though it is just a 1 day affair, but the objective behind it -- the marriage is a lifetime thingy and is definitely something between the couple only.

However, if anyone should suggest that the marriage is not just the couple's business, aka bringing in parents or grandparents...then I would make sure BOTH families have equal say and receive due respect.

Your MIL's SMS really powerful. Very obviously, she is trying to make your HB feel guilty and paint you as the bad guy. If I'm in your shoes, I wld prob be hopping mad yet stressed and sad at the same time. Your HB is really stuck in between I guess. Can you all get the younger sister to talk sense into the mother then? Try to be patient, keep yourself cool. The main point now is also not to further stress your HB so that he can still think clearly and not submit to pressure.

I was abit pissed when my in laws suggest things before discussing with us. So what I did was to patiently aka sweetly put across my points or suggestions to HB, once he is on my side....He usually can convince his parents easily while I continue to keep my mouth shut in front of them. But luckily for me, they have not been too bad, usually the suggestions came about because MIL gets too excited and makes alot of BIG plans...so no harm done so far...

I find more prob with my SIL leh...praying hard MIL wouldnt turn evil also else my life will be miserable.

anna> u power leh, can work until so late. I work until 7+ already complained like crazy hahaha

joy> that's emotional blackmail!! dun give in, if not she will expect u to give in all the time. can u imagine, first ur AD, den ur house, den kids. wat if she everything oso wana kaypo :p keke... i am not the ideal dil but who cares :p btw r u staying wif ur pils? or near them?

jus make sure ur hb stand by ur decision. am sure ur mil will back down if she knows she has no support.

hi maruko,
yeah lo..i wanna convenience for both sides ma..is that considered no good??

hi kyra,
she seems like those easy going mother..who would expect she would say such things..colour all come out! the main star is the bride n groom who will walk down the aisle not the PILs leh..yeah paint me as the bad guy!!!! i also hv grandma leh..not only his..and fancy her at age 48 say such things, like a small kid..and she din even sit down n discuss with us and take things into her hands..but ur hubby so good, still can convince his parents..not like mine coz he has no preference..which really makes me on the weaker side..

hi supagal,
yeah lo emotional blackmail..yeah i m afraid she would wanna also kaypo..sigh..no wor not staying with PILs..but in future might leh..in the same area but not exactly that near..i hope so my hb stand by my decision..

hi morning everyone... this week coming to and end again.. so fast..

joy... saw the msg u typed.. gosh!! cant imagine tis kind of msg was received from a mum.. marriage is between a couple n not parents.. u 2 haf more says than anyone else.. hopefully ur hb will stand by u.. den it will be much betta... dun worry.. gals here will support u.. RITE GALS!! =)

tweety.. congrats u win $$.. can feel ur kind of happiness tho it's onli veri little ya.. hehe.. i haf that exp as well before.. =)

bear... good den u bought another pc of furniture u like huh.. must be real fun setting up ur lovenest huh.. when den will be my turn huh.. sad =(

Joy.. I think the best solution is to convince yr hubby to stand on your side then have a good talk with yr IL.. as i mentioned in msn, unless u wanna "she phuo lian" with yr IL to go ahead..

Jannie.. hehe.. ya lor.. won abit also v happy alr.. keke...

Anise.. u just come back from where ha?? holiday arh..

tweety, i talking abt e poolside terraces... keekee last time got playground terraces also jus in front of e playground now think no more playground liaoz... 1yr+ never go liao dunno if change alot...

joy, oh god... ur MIL actually said something like tat??? shouldnt she jus follow wat u guys like??? For me luckily my MIL dun ask too much or give much comments... she jus follow suit lor... if i'm u hor i will stand by wat i want all e way... firstly muz convince ur hubby hor... dun worry we gals here will support u always... life's too short to follow other ppl's wishes like wat ah bear said...

morning peeps, wet wet morning. so nice to sleep late...but got to work.

seems like joy is in a tight spot. your mil is not an easy person as it might seems from the way she handles this issues. if i were you i prob be cursing and swearing inside liao. but this kind of battle you got to have ally. hope your hb will know that this event-of-a-lifetime is for the both of you and it really makes a big difference when it comes to pereference for the wedding. Some things can give in but some cannot and sometimes arguments(no matter between who) cannot be avoided one. i also got small arguments here and there but everytime i juz wait till everyones' heads are cooled then i reason it out. if need be i even write it down but so far not to that extent lah. so as long as your hb can realise this he will be your most powerful ally and the war is half won liao. think of a convincing strategy in the mean time and when ready to talk then let it rip. Its you and your hubby's show!

bear> hows the furniture shopping?? your reno budget damn ex worrrr. i thought got your mum's "sponsorship".... anyway furnitures i think must get good ones coz can keep for a long long time(my home ones......every since i was born) but the electrical appliance nowadays seems to break down very easily...unlike the antiques we use to have. now everything is brand brand and more brands....
rather spend more time to chose then make rush rush purchase right(so don complain hehehe*evil*)

ps:did not know you so "chicken" one leh. you look like those "gung-ho" gals like da jie hehehehehe *cluck cluck*(man im evil)

as for the gathering the first weekend of dec i wont be able to make it coz already decided with my wife to spend the weekend at rasa-sentosa liao as she got 350bucks allowance for overseas holidays and sentosa considered overseas hehehehe

Anna.. i intend to book the poolside, but under renovation leh.. I think i'll book the seaview bungalow as all the 4-room terraces under renovation.

wanna ask u all ha.. for outside solemnization, is there a limit for e-file?? i heard can get the date liao leh..

morning everyone...wkend is nearing...gonna b a bz one 4 me...

Joy, in this case, i tink u realli need ur hubby to stand by ur side...try to explain to him dat u r not tryin 2 b the "bad" DIL but u juz wan ur wedding the way u like...im sure ur hubby will wanna listen to ur MIL's "orders" after she sent dat emotional sms...so best is make sure ur hubby still stand by u...it will make things easier if u r able to let ur MIL get the msg dat a centralised location will benefit most guests...

tweety, tink no limit for e-file if u solemnize outside...haha...my bro gg to ROM next Feb...so happy 4 him...hurry bug ur FH to get approval from the army...

Jannie.. my fh has been having alot of pressure in work.. so don dare to bug him now.. haha.. u know what there is this warran officer keep eying him leh.. so sad..

tweety, wat u mean by this warrant officer keep eyein him? warrant officer==she? she likes ur hubby ah? wah...did ur hubby tell u how he feels abt her? dun tink so much lah...

Hi all.. HDB launch NOV WIS at Ang Mo kio, Bedok, Bukit Merah, Central, Geylang, Kallang Whampoa, queenstowan n toa pa yoh leh...
faster go n grabs.. hehe...

Jannie.. I mean he keep bully my fh lah.. haha...

tweety: haizzz that is life in the army. they are too free liao thats why they got the time to pick on others and "make small report" they see everyone as a threat to their career esp when they think the other party is good. in front will act friendly and behind stab you. ask your hb to be careful and take extra caution in whatever he is doing. prob can request a talk with the commander about this issue. which camp/unit he in again?

weixiong.. ya lor...actually most ppl from camp don like him, cos he's those typical ah pek army who act like he v "khiang" like that.. I don know what's his camp name leh.. only know that it's at bukit timah area.. hehe...

my fh also request for post out coz he don like there anymore. all the gd high rank ppl left liao, so now they suffer lor.. but no response leh..

haha...tweety i tot otherwise... :p anyway dats how it is in the army lah...eyeing here n there...ur FH gotta b strong lor...if not sure kena eye one...

DH, tks for typing out the quotation for me. May I noe who is yr ID and wats yr total cost??

Tweety, ya in the army its like dat. My hb aso regular last time but all those stuff dat u n weixiong mentioned made my hb feel sick of army n no longer hav passion for the army any more. Dats y he quit after his bond ended.

U can efile as long as its 3mths from yr rom date. No rush to efile aso coz u dun need to grab the time slots to register in the rom place itself.

Joy, hope things r better for u. No chance to chat wif u on msn at night recently coz my comp still down. Hai y yr MIL family like to hold wedding at CC? Its yr wedding once in a lifetime n not yr MIL. So stick to yr stand k. some things cant b compromise.

Supagal, wahh 7plus considered quite early leh. Sometimes I OT till midnight n cant claim one.

Today is considered my last day wif my present company! Yeah yeah! Tmr I goin on company’s Bintan trip. Haha muz seize all the benefits of the company be4 I leave.

Jannie.. ya lor.. but like what cherz said, it makes him sick of the army life.. but no choice he still under bond...

cherz.. wah.. go bintan arh.. which resort u staying??

Aiyo Joy,

I think ur mil is realli too much liao.never think of ur & u hb's feeling.I think u better have a gd talk with ur hb instead of ur mil,but dun throw temper at him. Instead talk to him nicely & make him feel he's letting u dwn.U have to do all the ground work then let ur hb do the attack.I oso do it in this way!

My in-laws r those "frog in the well",know nothing except work & home! All my ROM & AD stuff r done by my mum,me & hb!Can u imagine my mil can late for our ROM & parents meeting??I had stated very clear tat since ur family "Bo Chap" then I'll settle it by myself & they have no rite to give comments.They dun sponsor a single cent,y have the rite to talk rather than action!!

Bear,

I dun have my quotation wif me nw,it wif my hb.Think by next week able to send to u

hi Pple, no prob, can come my place for next gathering. I am thinking of early dec. either 3rd or 10th dec. what do you guys think?

Jannie.. i think about 5 or 6 yr.. still long arh.. hopefully he can post out lor..

cherz.. I'm going there in dec too leh.. yrs villa or what ha?? must update me on the place k.. hehe...

tea.. thks for letting us to go yr place..

tweety...wah still so long ah? pray hard dat he can post out den...

tea, im fine wif either dates...thx for lettin us over...

tweety> do not fret, still got chance one. coz all those posting out is done by the S1/admin branch one so if he is on good terms with them prob might be of some help lah

tweety.... u so blur lei.. i din go anywhere for holiday lah... on monday nite i posted a msg before i out for work.. hehe..

juz now went down to hdb at ard 10 plus... guess wat the q no for the WIS is already 700+... n when i left at ard 11, the no reached 1000 over.. gosh!! haiz no chance this rd again.. wonder how come so many pple noe.. must be from insider's new... sad i should haf on line earlier den will get to noe the WIS earlier... anyway... this rd alot of bukit merah one...

as for the gathering, i will check if i can make it den let u gals noe...

anise> i got subscribe to the yahoo sms alert mah and i receive the sms on the wis very early this morning le. don worry lah will have another chance one.

Jannie & weixiong.. thks for listening to my complain leh.. haha.. Just hope that everything will be smooth..

anise.. pai seh hor..hehe.. I not only blur.. I always think that if I getting senile at this age arh.. hehe.. keep forgetting things that I need to do.. haha...
So many ppl arh.. ai yo.. so many ppl wait for flat nowadays arh.. normally what time HDB will send email to tell us abt the WIS ha??

annise: yeah, sometimes i really wonder how come so many people applying for flat. I gave up after unsucessful ballot and walk-in. but 700 still got chance, cos there will definitely be pple dropping out of the queue. Hope you can get a unit you like.

3rd is fine for me.
if there is any changes will let you guys know.

Hello..

Weixiong, u disappear for so many days! heehee.. i where got sponsorship from my mum?? i wish!!! haizzz... today contractor came to do the measurements. should have the final quote by this wkend... then see how lor... hee... Oh i m a chicken! borned in that yr too!! me not gung ho enough to watch horror shows but if reading scary books still ok... heehee.. gg Rasa Sentosa? u all so gd, Cherz go Bintan u go overseas.. Me only can go home to slp! haizzz..

Anise, miss again? haizz ur queue no so big ah? then how? may be u shd subscribe to yahoo sms alert. then they can notify u early in the morning!

Rachel, thanks! will be waiting for ur mail.. how much did u spend on reno? hack everything?

Tea ah, me either dates are ok for now.. but if reno starts then i might not be able to make it... tell u first ah...

Joy, how are things gg along? any updates? Wah June 06 pretty near liao.. ur BS everything settled? I dunno if there are still empty slots available in the hotels or not. cos next yr got 2 7th mths so a lot of ppl rushing to get married before and after that... i also dunno what to say to u except i agree with Anise, will be behind u all the way. So chin up ya?

Tweety, well as i said u book first lor.. if ready still cannot then u use the chalet as a mini-hol.. but u will be disappointed all over again... haizzz.. anyway to complain???

So many post tdy again ah? hee hee, so busy n no time to read. On Mc for 2 days, n tdy go bk wk kanna scold liao. Sianz....Anyway I learn to be thick skin ald. Heck care!

TEA> thanks for inviting us to ur hse!

Shall we poll? I am fine with either dates. I vote 10 Dec cos I not working, hee!

I shall start:

1)Sue (10 dec)

morning... it's friday.. guess everyone must be looking forward to this day huh.. hehe

bear... i tried subscribing to yahoo sms but den onli for starhub. Mi a M1 supporter wor.. hehe.. Anyway cant get any flat under the WIS yesterday is fine.. Coz those r left-over.. Haf den take dun haf den it's fine.. I can to wait.. hehe..

sue... wat happen to u?? sick?? y kenna scolding.. u r certified sick k..

tweety... there is no stated time whereby hbd will tell us lei.. so depend on luck i can say.. wat to do..

tea... Tink this is the 2nd time i tried WIS.. this rd i m earlier slightly by 1/2 hr however my Q no getting bigger lol.. 1St time 600+ n 700+... haha..

tea> wher do u stay? is everyone bringing ur hbs & wife?

cherz> my company dun really work late lah. at 6, everyone gone liao... only the advertising & promo side work late keke

if the company wans u to OT everytime, it will be v tough to do family planning wor.

good morning peeps!

ah bear, i not disappear lah juz busy lor. yest went to the bridal shop. wahhh really very different from the previous bs i used. cynthia(the boss) was very friendly thou did not really chat coz first meeting mah but overall very good service. alot of suggestion from them and even explore on our own suggestion. they know wat my wife wants and chose a range of suitable gowns for her to try and even try out some different ones to let her feel the difference. yest we chose the type of gown for both the day and night one. and also chose the material. and we also talk abit on the photoshoot hehehehe
i not really overseas mah since im at sentosa only. don be upset lah, after you struggle thru this period then you can really go have a break liao mah. must endure!!!!

sue> must take care hor.

1)Sue (10 dec)
2)weixiong (10dec)

Bear.. don know how to complain leh.. u know those gov sector no negotiation one lah.. just pray hard lor.. ya, we intend to book first.. tommor go n c the place.. then can book liao..

Sue.. u sick ha?? how r u now.. sick also can not meh.. ai yo...

Anise.. yr no is 700 but got how many units?? still got chance lah.. don worry..

Hey everyone!
Missed y'all!
My trip was ok,slept quite abit,shiok!!!Save $ trip.

ah bear,
sorry to dissappt u.U see me so up ah?I fear asian horror movies esp aft The Ring as well,my imagination is so superb tt esp when i'm in hotel rooms it goes berserk.Anyone who feels tt the movie aint scary then hasnt spend time in a hotel room alone esp in Japan.I saw The Eye on vcd with the volume off!Hahaha!!!Sound effects is 50% of the horror it inputs!English horror films arent as scary maybe caz the set isnt close to our surroundings.

joy,
seems like u hv a very high price to pay to take ur hb family name.Ur mil wanna show u tt though u hv married her son,u hv no power over him.Then she tries so act like a damsel in distress.Geez!Tell her get a life!Oops,her son IS her life & u hv just got into his pants,poor old lady is lost.Better tell hb to get his act together or it's gonna be a hell rd.Can u keep tis up?If yes,then it's ur way or the highway.If u feel,fighting is too tiring then bow & gv in.Decide & we'll help u along the way k.
If it's my mil,i'll tell her no $ no talk.If i'm paying cash to get in,then it's all my way.Lucky my pil didnt say a single syllabel or else!Yes,i'm proud & so wat i think tt i have some money & i can say anything.They lucky tt they did get to attend our wedding caz my dream is actually no one except hb,me & the JP but too bad we married in sg & not in some deserted island.To me,a wedding is a private affair to unite the couple & not the whole bloody ching gang!Well,i wld hv said all tt if push came to shove.

wxyang,
mini honeymoon ah?

DH,
thx ah,i really hope ur wishes for me comes thru...heehee!!!

da jie you are back!!!! welcome home!!!!
good that your trip is fruitful hehehehe. am surprised that you are also fearful of asian horror shows....thou it is scary but when you think about it...its really bo liao.
agree with wat you say regarding joy's dilemma./nod