krisjon

Hi There!!

Anyone going to ROM in Sept 2005?

I will be Getting ROM in 24 Sept 2005.
Venue : Amara Hotel

krisjon

Hi Cherz...

My preparation still in progress... till now have yet to choose a Bridal shop.

How about you? Have you chosen your bridal shop? have you signed the agreement letter with Amara?? Can share with me how much are you paying in all??

cherz

hi gingercat,

i am not committing to a bridal shop now coz having my AD only in 2007.i bought my gown already n sort of bk mua liao but she can only cfm 3mths in advance.

i signed the agreement last yr.its $999 for 30pax.but i am having like 50pax now.headache...

krisjon

Hi cherz...

50 pax seems a lot of ppl... Dun forget that most of the solemnization ceremony, it is also lugi... My FH wanna me decide a better gown or want a grand solemnization ceremony...

Think I will op for the WG.. .

Actually Furama waterfront offer good package...

Check it out!

cherz

yup.i am trying to cut down my guest list already.

heard abt furama after i signed the agreement wif amara.but i like the fact dat i can hav a mini march-in for the solemnisation at amara.

so which BS r u checking out?

suelynn

I am gonna rom in sep 9. Havnt settle on the venue yet. For my case, FH and parents ask me to choose between grand solemnisation or honeymoon.

I want a bit of both, kekkeke. Not really grand la, but away from the registry hopefully.

krisjon

Hi Gals...

Cherz - I have a few ideal BS in my mind already. Silhoutte, Silverlining, Camelia and Divine Couture. But there are a few others (not in my list) that my FH wanna me compare. Like Graceful Image, French Bridal, Amanda Wedding etc. Hiaz... Basically he wanted me visit more of these BS. Somehow or rather, I feel that most important thing is that we should be comfortable who we are coordinating with and if we like the design they are offering base on the OTR.
So how abt you?? Have any BS in mind??? Btw, there is a wedding show in Oriental Hotel somewhere ard 11 Mar 05. I have signed up for this exhibition.

Suelynn- Welcome to this new forum...
So you are going to be the earliest to get ROM in this forum.
ConGratulation!!! Wah, you are going to have ROM and then honeymoon.. Your FH is really generous...
Have you chosen your solemnization venue already? How about your BS?

cherz

hi ginercat,

i went to a few bridal shows n i like the gowns from emanuel b. couture and divine but divine is a bit ex.hmm never heard of camelia before....u hav to go down to the BS to talk to them n mayb try their gowns to decide. =)

wat BS is featured in the wedding show at oriental hotel?

suelynn

Congratulations to all!

My fh generous towards me one most of the time, but we have other commitments so our honeymoon is like a mini one, gotta be somewhere near, maybe bali, taiwan or shanghai. Going for real honeymoon after Ad which will be yrs later.

I havnt look at any BS as yet, still looking ard, interested in white link, bridal concept and golden horse awards. I like silverlining, wedding present and silver cloak but they are on high side. Looking at mid range BS,still doing my homework on them.

krisjon

HI Cherz,

I already make appt with them to view their gowns and etc... Busy period for me after CNY.

Camelia couture is a o9ne man show BS. Nicole is the person who is in charge of everything and I think her WG design not bad too.

Bridal Veil is featuring in the Oriental Hotel Wedding Show. But I heard many complains about Michelle Huimin in her service etc.

Hi Suelynn,

Your FH really dotes you a lot...
Bali is a nice place and for me, after ROM, my FH may want to bring me over to Perth for a week.
Really hope he does... cos his workload also very heavy...

Actually depends on what you require from the BS. I understand that Siloutte caters the package to what you need. No standard pkg.

I am also looking at the mid range BS cos if I can save money over here... Can go for a better honey moon pkg.

cherz

bridal veil is veri ex.i went to one of their wedding shows.they had this pink WG which is so sweet.heehee i luv pink.

wah both of u goin so far ah...still say near.hmmm i had no plans yet.

gingercat,

do share wif us yr bS shopping ya.

suelynn

cherz> at least ur venue n jp settled mah. Mind all just an outline of plans only. Nothing is fixed yet. I set up a deadline n budger list for ourselves. Today then we realise we forgot to the cost of revampin his room. *Headache*

krisjon

Hi Cherz,

Yah, that is what my colleagues told me yesterday and they said that no point going to the show. Her WG is very simple and plain that other BS can do it too.

Dunno my FH... maybe he will get a shock upon knowing the price for the package. Heehee!!

I agree with suelynn... you have your venue and jp settled... at least you make some plans already.

Sure sure,.... will share the BS shopping with you all...

By the way, do you have any idea what is "si-dian jin" My mother said that my FH had to give me this? And is a wedding ring pillow a necessity for ROM???

cherz

haha wedding is really a gal's affair where we got a chance to doll up once in a lifetime!!

tink bridal veil package is ard $4-5K.they r more into adding crystals details to the gowns.

ginercat,

hav u signed wif amara?n jp??

hmm only noe "si dian jin" is 4 pieces of gold jewellery.hahaha havent find out those wedding customs yet.i tink its depends on the dialect gp u r in izzit?

ring pillow is not necessary.juz an additional costs.of course it looks nicer in photos.but if u got nice rings box or not so particular abt it then u can juz use yr ring box.

krisjon

Hi Cherz

Yah, wedding is really a gal's affair... but then hor.. My FH is a TYPICAL CHINESE MAN.

Have already signed up with amara... think over there is still best... top up another few hundred to upgrade it to lounge for solemnization... I see, so ring pillow is not a necessity... kekekke
so how about your preparation? Everything done up already??

BTW HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR AND GONG XI FA CAI!!

cherz

hmm where is the lounge?sounds very cozy.din noe of tis place.

so far,i only done the following:
-bk the venue
-got the JP consent form
-got my gown
-got mua(but she can only cfm 3mths in advance)

will shop for wedding bands n my FH suit in june.

happy cny!!!

krisjon

HI Cherz...

Actually, some typo error... the lounge is the ballroom... top up another 400 dollars on top of the 999 nett.

Our wedding band... probably using the one pair that we are wearing now... He said that it is more meaningful and since it is still so fitting, may as well use it. ( His meaningful is because this is the first pair of the rings that he bought and first time that he had actually given to a gal )

Don;t your BS include your FH Suit???

Me will start scouting for BS after this week.

cherz

hi gingercat,

y did u choose the ballroom?r u inviting a lot of ppl?hmm $400 seems quite a bit to top up considering can invite 9more ppl.

i dun hav a BS n dun intend to commit to one currently.

krisjon

Hi Cherz,

My FH said that if poolside, what happen if suddenly rain and I will be drenched. Heehee!!

After a discussion with my FH, dun think will source for a BS until May this year...

Think got better plan... may used my WG design that I have sketch for my own. Waiting for the materials to arrive from USA for the WG. My friend is sending them over.

cherz

ya...mayb can look ard 1st then sign up during wedding show....may hav more offers.

wow u r making yr own gown!!!

suelynn

I oso ard may to june to sign up. Cos he say wait we regret, look ard 1st. Will be looking at those BS we shortlisted

Any wedding show must update ah, ;)

krisjon

Hi Cherz,

So when will the new bridal mag be on the news stand?? Me also waiting until neck long long already.

I design my own gown... prefer it to be this way cos I study fashion and it will be meaningful for me to do up my own WG.

dunno what wedding show is on now... hiaz...

suelynn

I jus saw the newspaper today, there will be wedding show on end of feb wkend! By Style wedding, tink I am going! There is a few BS which I shortlisted being involved, its at taka.

cherz

yup suelynn. saw the ad today aso.me aso goin!!but too bad they din state which timing is which BS.

suelynn

Cherz> the booth will be there whole day so jus pop by n see, the fashion show sure to feature all the bs gowns i tink.

We found a pair of wedding bands we like at tainpo n they are having discounts till end feb. So many things to do in feb!

cherz

hee i know.i like to watch the models wearing the gowns...easier to judge if u like the designs of dat BS.

wow i havent shop for wedding band yet.care to care abt yrs?

summer_gal

hi cherz,
just like to check with you, what time and which venue in amara hotel will u be using?

As I thought of getting my ROM on the same day at the same venue too.

how lond do you take to discuss with the wedding planner about all the details?

any advise for me?

krisjon

Hi Cherz and Suelynn,

So where will this wedding show be held? I am also interested in it.

Never read newspaper at all recently so dunno what is going on.

Actually I find that Soo kee wedding bands not bad... and the other one is former Lee Hwa jewellery. I can get 40% off if I buy jewellery from lee hwa.

Have you gals ever heard of Wedding Present and the white link?? Can give some comments?? Kekeke

Cherz, I may be having the same ROM date as you... Now waiting for Amara side confirmation... :p

What time is your solemnization? Have you confirm with Michelle?

cherz

hee seems like my rom date veri popular yah!!!coz its 8mth 15!!!

hi lynn,

i am having my rom at 1pm at the poolside.i already signed n paid the deposit last yr wif michelle.if i din rem wrongly, michelle say dat we cld stay at the poolside for 2hrs.

hmm i went down twice to look at the venue n set up when a couple is having their rom there.coz the 1st time i went, the floral arrangement was not there yet.after dat,took abt 2wks plus to decide then went to sign the contract.bascially there is nothing much u can bargain for except for a few complimentary carpark passes which will not be stated in the contract.

hmm as per my research last yr,amara is having the most reasonable pricing for hotel rom.my2nd choice was oaks n grill.but my FH prefers having hotel stay.i went carlton too but din like the poolside area n their buffet is in a function room.

hope tis helps.

hi jaslyn,

not sure wat is the rate tis yr coz heard there is a price increase.its best if u call up amara to check.or anyone noes the rate?

hey ginercat,

wat time is yr solemnisation?hee if on the same day,we sure hav the chance to bump into each other at amara!!!

suelynn

GingerCat> The wedding show is at Ngee Ann City, next to Taka.

Yup, heard b4 both BS, but wedding present is much more ex, its abt $1k diff fr white Link. White link is one of my shortlised BS.

I like Soo Kee's too but the one we like are far too ex, abt $2k+ for a pair, our Budget is $1.5k per pair. Wah, y u so gd can get 40% off.

The tianpo wedding bands I like is top matte n the lower hidden part is normal, the matt part has dunno 6 or 5 princess cut diamonds, really small ones, total per ring is abt 0.2/0.3 something carat, after discount, its ard $600 plus per ring. Its like eternity style

summer_gal

hi cherz, really thanks for the info you provided.
infact, for my case, I love to drag things hehehe...
so by now even though I would like to get ROm on mooncake fest, but I have not even select a JP, not even to mention booking a place. keke

hopefully by the time I decided to book the place, amara still has "vancacy". any idea if I opt to have it at one of the function room instead of poolside, will there be extra charges?

thanks...

cherz

hi lynn,

for the amara package, can choose either the function rm or poolside.

hee better decide fast since its a hot date!!

gingercat,

din really noe abt wedding present.but i got a frenz who signed up wif white link.she is having her rom n ad in sept.tink their package quite comprehensive.

i guess u hav to go down personally to get a feel of the BS n whether u r comfortable wif them.some gals may b particular abt photography aso.white link has in-hse photographers.not sure if its better to go to BS wif in-hse photographers or those dat tie up outsiders.

suelynn

The wedding present is sister shop of empire. They tie up with outside photographers n some well-known photographers, thus its ex. Their gowns are great, modern n chic kind of pretty compared to most bs which offers those classic but beautiful type.

But whitelink is oso nt cheap

suelynn

whitelink is considered mid range ald, I shortlisted it, bridal concept n goldn horse awards. Initialy wed present also in but budget too tight ald, close to $5k for comprehensive package. Whereas those 3 I mentioned is ard $3.5k for the similar items.

suelynn

Cherz> was hoping to get a BS for my PS n AD, they will throw in freebies which can use for ROM. So we go down n see hw, if can they sign up with BS then rom save the cost. On the other hand also restrict us in future if there are betta BS with betta deals for PS or AD.

krisjon

Hi Suelynn > Thanks for your information.
Heehee... I saw the advertisement that my FH cuts for me ( Style Wedding ) So touch
He will be bringing me to this wedding bash so that I will be able to see what is presenting from White Link and others. Make a comparison.

Hi Cherz > so will u be going to this wedding bash? And as mentioned about this ROM date 18 Sept 2005, todl Michelle to check on this date and available time slot for us. She said that she will get back to me by today.
My FH said that what he is worrying now is the Justice of Peace... If this date is so popular, later all the Justice of Peace will be "CHOP" and how are we going to get our solemnisation done???

I have also checked with Furama Waterfront, they have the availabilty time slot that we want and see how... if Michelle side do not have it, then may consider to switch to Furama Waterfront.

suelynn

Gingercat> u are most welcome, u can join the Bs threads n request to see the various fotographers' work. Cos to me the style of the fotos very impt, followed by the gowns. Somemore need it to be comprehensive oso......Thus, need to do lots of research b4 committing.

U dun need to restrict to only JP to solemnise, u can get grassroot leaders/ or religious leaders to do it also (unless u are christian/catholic, else buddhist very hard)

cherz

hi gingercat,

hav u selected yr JPs?u can booked them 1st n inform them abt the venue ltr ya.

i shb b goin down on sun.

krisjon

Hi Suelynn and Cherz

Suelynn > Thanks for your info. But sometimes, I feel the BS thread ladies are not replying to my questions... so a bit giving up hope already.
Yah... time to do research for all the BS... cos I wanna my ROM dress to be in bundle too.

Cherz> Sunday you are heading down to the wedding fair??
Have not selected my JPs yet... This supposed to be my FH job... A bit angry over him... It seems that he take things very relax... Are most of the guys like this?? Sometimes, I just ponder why should I get so excited over this and when he is not... hiaz..

cherz

gingercat,

hee dun worry.my FH is aso like dat.i do most of the things like gathering info.i am even the one who call up the jp n got his consent form.

yup goin down on sun.any info on which BS is having shows at wat time?

krisjon

Hi Cherz,

Think White link, Yvonne Creation, bridal concept etc will be participating in this event. Timing should be from 2.30pm to 4.15pm and from 6pm to 8pm?? Approximate timing cos I forget liao. Have the newspaper article at home.

My FH only knows how to plan his room layout and last nite even taking measurement of his rooms furnitures etc... hiaz... and start drawing layouts and deciding where to shift his furnitures... Well, probably guys prefer to do all these technical stuffs..

Last night when I am asking him about the JP, he was telling me that he have not find out yet... But he had confirmed something with me... He does not want to use Amara Hotel... he wanna forfiet the deposit SHOCK!!! He wanna use Furama Waterfront hotel... They are giving a better package... Hiaz...

Guys... so frickle minded.

suelynn

gingercat> hw much ur FH plc deposit? He wanna forfeit? But amara n furama is almost the same price if u are taking buffet lunch. Cos we went to furama b4. Further more amara more convenient.

Anyone going on sat? Can update first nt, cos I dunno wat freebies they give if we buy the mag there....

cherz

ginercat,

wats the reason yr FH dun wan amara?izzit it a waste to forfeit the deposit?

so u r staying wif yr in-laws ah?

suelynn

gingercat> all the guys are the same la! Mine oso, everything I tink n I find out, the only thing he find out is wedding bands and the date.....

The rest oso I suggest and find out....

krisjon

Hi Ladies.

Suelynn & Cherz> He paid only $300 for the deposit and he is not taking the buffet lunch. He said that Furama Waterfront will be cheaper even if he throw in the buffet lunch. It is only an additional top up of $3.00 per pax and moreover, the manager will be throwing in a room candlelight dinner for 2 on the solemnization day itself.

Amara > $999 nett ( additional of $15 per pax if for buffet lunch), poolside, only can use for 2 hours, one night stay in tropical room.

Furama > $888+++ ( additional of $3 per pax to upgrade to buffet lunch style ), hotel lounge, one night stay in the bridal suite, candle light dinner to be serve in the suite, fresh floral arrangement and a guest book.

I don't know what he is thinking... hiaz... leave it up to him.

Suelynn > I will be going on Saturday and talking about the freebies, guess should be those kind of wedding packages vouchers etc.

Cherz> Ya, he seems to be in favour with Furama Waterfront. He thinks better and moreover they are serving more food. This Saturday morning, we will be heading down to this hotel and see what sort of stuff I can find fault with that hotel. Staying with In-Laws for the time being because he said that there are extra rooms and they are going to combine 2 rooms into one for us. Reason very simple, he is the only son in the family.