(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Suelynn > Well, most bosses will want to hear from your heart - sincere, willing to learn and positive attitude.
Try to be calm and professional during the interview session. Have you taken any medicine to curb your pain?? Good luck for your interview tomorrow.

Bear > wah... now bear forget about cat. LOLZ.. kidding... maybe I am not as pro active as you gals here. Heehee!!
Kerbaya, you can try Tanjong Katong Shopping Center or Malay Village. Actually Camelia Couture also do Kerbaya, my friend evening gown is a kerbaya and was made by her.

Thanks so much gals!

I always very ganchiong during interview. I always end up eating into my words one lei...Tink I need speech theraphy hahhahah

From my heart ah? But I tell them honestly I got apply for similar positions in other companies lei. I dunno wat they want to hear man

Suelynn: actualy job not chim. just that no one knows what i do from the job title. nothing glam, just need to roll out and manage program.
hee.

Hi tulipger> I oso cant perform well during interview.

Thanks all for the encouragement!!!! I hope to get this job after so many interviews, this is my 2nd one at the same company. Hope it goes well....

I so busy reading I din noe got a few newbies kekekek got guy somemore! Welcome all!!

afternoon ladies!!

hmm queenie is an air-stewardess???

suelynn,

gd luck to yr interview tme ya.i aso very kancheong during interview....but most of the qns asked shd b quite standard ya.

any1 still goin HK?i saw tiara (small ones)selling at only HK$20-39.but duno whether will tarnish.they aso sell wedding gloves at HK$39.super cheap lor!!!they hav gowns at HK$300 but not very nice ones lah.

haha HK a lot of food to eat.getting fatter liao when i hav to lose wt for the rom gown.

back to wk.cya

cherz> U into kua or nt? Can go hk see their kuas lei, I tink the gold ones are really nice. U free go see la. But I dun like wearing kua tho....

Kris> i didn't mean to forget u lah.. i still new so still can't rem who is who lah... heehee... thanks for the kerbaya tips...

Tulipger & Suelynn> i m totally the opp. when i m with my frens, i will eat my words. But for presentations and interviews, i perform very well (according to frens and cols). heehee... training i guess... i was in the sch debate team once so had to go for a lot of speech courses. Just relax and concentrate on what u WANT to say.

Tea> glam or unglam as long as the job pays for my bills i m happy liao... this job also not very glam.. a lot of hard work in the sun... always sweaty and smelly...

suelynn,

i dun mind wearing kua for tea ceremony but AD still a long way to go.mayb be4 AD can go HK again.but no use buying kua leh.if BS provides i dun mind.

Cherz > Did you go to the lady street?? is the thing over there really cheap? Dun eat too much... heard my HK colleagues tell me tat the things there are mostly "heaty"

Bear > I am just kidding with you.!!
Anyway, why do we need to wear KUA??? Find a bit no logic.. cos Singapore's weather is very hot.

Going for some apartments viewing next weekend... seems that property price had went up a bit.

Kua is actually more cantonese tradition lei. I tink up to individual, I have borad shoulders I tink I wear ald ugly hahhahah

HK Kuas much nicer than sg, house of ettiqute has the silver n gold ones, I saw when I pass by. Theirs definitely fr there I tink. Some BS's kua only s, m n L no variety one.

Anyway, Kua is out for me, I rather wear casual wear to take, kekekke

i'm not planning for kua. will just wear cheongsam for the tea ceremony. ;) hee. But a lot depends on yourself and also the elders. Play by ear. hee.

oh my god, i have a hard time reading and keeping track of who to tok to...... so many posts!!!

well yest nite juz accom my wife to the hospital coz she was in extreme pain. its been bothering her for almost 2 weeks. seen 2 doc but they were all crap. gave the wrong diagnostic. went to the hospital see the doc, did an xray and found out it was severe constipation. haizzz seeing her in pain really makes my heart ache....

bear> sweet? nah im sour coz i get jeolous very easily

nooo i have not source but actually saw a few ideas from mag (me and my wife always buy style weddings) but all quite exp one. might juz have it at the registrar itself. coz we decide to set the date on sept 18 which is the chinese ba yue shi wu. got to pay first 10% this coming june/july so budget abit tight lah. still feeling heart pain about your car?? be more careful lor, treat it as a lesson ba. fyi im working at ibm service centre, cust service

ginger> hihi
nie to meet you and the rest of the gals.

suelynn> hows the interview?? hope it went well.

oh yeah we actually sign up with santiago during their roadshow at bugis coz we find their package not too bad and most impt is we feel comfy with the two ppl who will be helping us. feel like can trust them. anyone sign up package with them???

Hi everyone!!!

tea,
check out http://www.amormeus.com/cover.html

suelynn,
all the best for the interview.Imagine the interviewers r naked!

I guess I'm probably the oldest here whose gonna get married.....

cherz,
jackpot!

gingercat,
i thot the prices for property went down due to the new law starting 1st Apr regarding the "cashback" thingy.

My FH works in China mah,bo pianz.I think if anyone gonna go astray,doesnt hv to be in China,can be anywhere.There is no perfect person out there.

bear,
do u have any pets?

Anywayz,i knw heart pain abt ur car but worse things cld hv happened so be extra careful k.

Think u can go to edit profile to chg PM option.

wxyang,
we ROM same day.It's a sun & i dont think ROM is opened u knw,better check.Think it's a hot date to marry.I saw someone for tt date.

Abt kuas,
my fren's was her mum's & it was rather heavy caz it was sewn with gold thread.Beauitful though.

Wah, so long the thread, very hot today the thread kekekekke

wxyang> tml then interview, let u all noe okie ;)

Thanks all!!!! Lend me the luck okie, after interview I will return to u all, hee! I betta pray to my ancestors and all the gods n deities b4 I go, kekekek!

Queenie> nt old la, we all as young, havnt become auntie yet, after married then become auntie kekeke

Thank u so very much gals for ur encouragements, very very sian of interviews ald.... Wish me luck okie! ;) They jus inform me interview pushed to friday.....After all the excitement...

Suelynn:
good luck. I hate going for interviews as well. never seems to do well. I just change my job 3 months ago. hee.

Queenie: thanks for the link. hey, don worry about age, I am not that young either. hahaha.

Hey, how far ahead can we book ROM date? 3 months?

Oh, i went to satine BS at tanjong pagar 2 nites ago. they actually have really nice gown. quite a number of 2 pcs and with nice embrodiary. hee. thought of trying out their gown. was there too late that nite, if not will try it then.

morning.. seems like i m always one of the first one here! heehee.. i work in jurong but stay in balestier! supposed to start work at 8am, but i m always in earlier to beat the jam.

Weixiong> Hope ur Lao Po is better. tell her to drink more water and eat more fibre (if u haven't already). Rem jealousy gets u no where. only makes u look silly and petty ok? try to me more generous. ur Lao Po will appreciate more! hee... So if the registry is closed then where will u hold ur ROM then? And what is the 10% thingy u was talking abt???!

Queenie> hee.. old on the outside but young at heart can liao... to me much better to marry than not married at all right? And yes i have 4 guinea pigs... love them very much. If anybody has a multiply account, u can send me an invite to jacelau.multiply.com. there u can view my pixs! and i changed my profile to accept PMs liao!

Abt the scratched car> well my FH says its just the rim scratched so nvm lor. i will try to keep awake lor.. just take i have tuition for 4 wkday evenings that's why not enough slp and rest.

Suelynn> well just think its another day more for u to prepare. better bomb Kris with more qns! heehee..

Kuas> a big NO-NO for me. at first i don't even wanna wear it for my PS, but the wedding coordinator at IC said something logical: its once in a lifetime, wear for PS and take a few. if u don't like the photos can always don't develop. My tea dress is the Kerbaya.

Tea> Yup 3 mths in advance no matter where the venue will be.

FYI
1) auditor - Cherz
2) Manage rewards for programs - Tea
3) Aie stewardess- Queenie
4) Potential financial consultant - Suelynn
5) Biologist - Bear
6) Kris - HR exec
7) Weixiong - Customer service exec @ IBM

Tea what do u work as?

morning bear, i work as a sales operation consultant.
I also start work early. 730am. but i get to go off early as well.

I used to have 2 ginuea pigs and they gave birth to a baby. so cute. hee, but the amazing thing is no one knew mama pig was pregnent... it was only when we were cleaning out the cage that we saw an addition to the family. hee.

I still have a jack. hee. very playful. thou of bringing him for studio PS with us. hee.

morning gals!!! firstly wish you all have a nice day ahead!!!

queenie> that day is suppose to be the lunar aug 15 if im not wrong so quite a hot date. im im having it at the registrar then it wont be that date le.

bear> thanks for your concern
the 10% thingy is the payment for my flat lor hee hee hee

suelynn> best of luck for tmr!!! i'm sure you can one!!

1) Auditor - Cherz
2) Sales Operation Consultant - Tea
3) Aie stewardess- Queenie
4) Potential financial consultant - Suelynn
5) Biologist - Bear
6) HR exec - Kris
7) Customer service exec @ IBM - Weixiong

Tea> pigs are lovely. Wheeking non stop for food. alas i have a rather sick one so its a lot of time and $ spent on him. I actually wanted one of my pigs to be my 'ring pillow'! heehee.. tot of tying a ribbon around him with the rings attached. but cannot bring animals to the zoo so had to abandon the idea. heehee... of cos if all my pigs live till my PS day then they will be in my photos, guarantee!

Weixiong> u can hold ur ROM outside mah, then u can have the date u want lor.. some hotels have quite ok ROM package. abt $1K. oh the 10% is downpayment ah. Ur wife must be a civil servant right? teacher???

bear: how many pigs you have? yeah, they 'wee' non stop for food. faint.... they just keep 'weeing' non stop when you open the fridge door or when they hear sound of plastic bags... but come to think of it, they are really smart. they know who to 'wee' to for food. Hee.

Thanks all,

So eng n sian, nothing to do......

Tea> I like Sattine's gown oso lei, so pretty rite, fr the mags.

I am so damn eng, everyday I surf net n look at bridal stuff. I saw a sophia wedding bride's foto, so nice!!!! Gosh, I tink I mite wanna go down n see eventho I noe the price tag is not cheap.

Well, I paid 10% of the downpayment for my flat oso, but its like i pay 2% only, the rest my Fh pay. wxyang> where u get ur flat?

ok, when I finally get the job, I let u all edit the occupation part okie? kekekke

Queenie > My FH told me that the property price went up... for private apartment. I am not in to properties this kind of things.. .since he wanted to view than view. Hiaz...

Bear> my auntie jus called n ask me help her teach her fren's kids lei. U help me see worth it or not okie, $300, twice a week, teach both pri 3 n 5 together, 2hrs per session, eng, maths, science. Was tinking after work n weekend can go n teach. So ok la

Manage t find this thread abt ROM on Sep'05
I am gg to ROM on 23rd Sep'05.
I am doing it outside ROM premises..My venue is at Raffles Marina (Tuas).Really looking forward & excited abt it.Me not yet went down to my BS to choose my ROM gown, actually ROM gown not need to be white one right?

Care to share stuff like eg: photogarphy/videography/bridal shop...

Hihi!

Tea> i have 4 pigs, 2 males and 2 females. one peru, one rex and 2 short fur local.

Suelynn> aiyah enjoy while u can ok? next time work liao will be very stress.. no time to rest.. me now down with a bug.. runny nose but no sore throat though..

How come u also pay 10%??? ur FH civil servant? i wish i was one too! i m a public servant, all the policies all follow civil service, except when it comes to buying HDB flat. Me looking for resale.

will go and see sattine's gowns too.. so can tell the designer what i want for my MTM gowns.

$300 for 6 hours a wk means per hour u are being paid $12.50!! that's very cheap! advice to u is to split both of them up cos very hard to teach. instead do 3hrs for maths and eng, and 1 hr for sci. and u should charge a flat fee of AT LEAST $25 per hr esp if u are a grad. Undergrad charge $25 per hr too... I charge $30 per hour...

Hi Summer!!! Welcome.. so far there are 7 of us that is active in this thread! care to intro urself? eg, what do u work as and if u have BS in mind?

Raffles Marina! I did my Honours and undergrad proj there. if u go to dock E berth 1 think u still can see my experimental stuff there! heehee... i spend lotsa time there doing hard work. fond memories... Anyway, how much does it cost to do it there?? u ROM the day aft me... heehee..

So far i have signed with Bridal Zone. Think Tea signed up with Ted Collection (not Ted Wu =P). that's abt all....

bear> no no, twice a week, so its 4 hrs a week, then 8 times a mth. I long time nvr teach tuition ald, dunno where to find lobang oso lei. Gosh I am a grad lei, then liddat shld charge $400 ah? Dunno hw to go abt doing it oso, long time nvr teach ald... Cos its my aunt's fren so dunno if its reasonable or nt lei......

I was tinking i either have to teach 1 hr for 1 person or 1 session per person per wk, cos I honestly dunno hw to teach man 2 hrs 2 person n 3 subjects

I tink they jus need someone to help with their hmwk or something, no one to help ba. Cos its like a mixture of all their subjects so I tink is like they have qns with hmwk they ask.

Where to find lobang for tuition huh? I havnt done tutoring for a few yrs ald...tink abt 6 yrs ba

Suelynn> total u teach 16 hrs issit? still too low $18.75 per hr... up to u lor.. u are a grad leh, wanna find tuition just call up tuition agencies. they can help, plus pay is much better. u can tell ur aunt's fren lor, see what she says. Cos i think the kids not all 3 subjs all lousy. just need to tutor the weaker ones. that's why when i teach Pri sch kids the same 3 subjects, normally its Eng and Maths more impt so 1 teach 1.5 hr per subject and 1 hr for sci. total i teach 4 hrs a wk.

I ever once teach P6 sci, at 2 hrs per wk, $200. so u gotta see urself lor.. if u know u are gd, then u gotta push for higher prices.

My FH runs 4 tuition centres... and also do referals.

Thanks bear, tink I try out first as a favour 1st. If I really can help them n they improve tink I ask for more.Since I am eng at hm mah...

OOps, sorry miss out the qns earlier. Me n FH nt civil servants, we got a build-to-order flat so need to pay 10% 1st then when the flat is built we'll need to pay another 10%.

BS so far interested in bridal concept, gha n whitelink. But now after seeing a sophia brides's foto I tink I wanna go down n see them too!

hi summer, welcome. I have signed up to have a cheongsam made with TC but they told me I can decide if i want to sign up for the 3 gown package when i collect my CS. most likely i will.

Bear: used to teach tution.... but have stopped for so many years. yeah, tution is a good source of income during those schooling years. ;)

i don know what species my pigs were. They all have this bad hair day hair style. very messy. hee. they are all white / brown.

Yes, go to satine to have a look.
quite nice.

hi summer!!ti thread is juz so happening juz.initially it was like 3 of us only.

paiseh only can scroll thru all yr msgs coz working ma!!

any1 got mua to recommend?

Suelynn> up to u lor... heehee.. but u will be tired once u start work trust me... i m doing 10.5 hrs a wk currently.. can die... now down with a bug, shivering in the office...

So u bought a BTO flat? 5 rooms right? what's the sq area? when will it be ready? i don't really like the new flats nowadays cos they are very small. I have to stay with my in-laws so need a big area to hide! =P

Tea> if ur piggies have long curly hair then they are texels. i m quite a pro at it (hahaha!) and go to pets.com everyday... u can go there if u want me to identify ur pigs' breeds.

May be this wkend will ask a gf to look at Tanjong Pagar BS. Must make a list of BS to visit. see the gowns so that i can have some ideas.

Hi summer> pardon my delay in welcoming u cos I busy trying to decide if I shld take up the tuition deal. Welcome!!!

Cherz> tot u going for sandy? U dowan ald ah?

Bear>I told them I looking for wk lei, so when I wk maybe can teach on weekdays ald.I dowan to clean a big hse so small one gd enuff, mine 90 sqm only, 4 rms flat. Small oso gd, scully in laws sell their plc n stay with us, eeeks!

Fun to go BS shopping rite? I tink I jio my frens go BS shopping with me 1 day oso kekekke. Bear> if u pop by Sophia can help me roughly see wat package they have nt? Thanks ah!

Suelynn> hahahahaah!!! then if ur in-laws stay with u, u will find the space too little!!! hahaha....

U can teach once on wkday, other on wkend morning. May be Sat mornings lor.. not nice if 2 out of 5 days u have to rush back for tuition right? i m doing 4 wkdays but my boss doesn't mind... some more i start at 8am...

I don't mind looking for u... if u give me Sophia addy... issit at Tanjong Pagar? i also wanna look at the gowns to get some rough ideas...

suelynn,

u got gd memory.rem she cant cfm wif me so soon so i hav to hav back-up.

hee BS shopping very fun leh!i havent got chance to try yet.all my frenz are either had BS or havent got bfs yet.

Hi Ladies.

Welcome to the Thread Summer!!

Suelynn > Confirm my manager will be calling you up next week. Now they are rushing for closing. But need to tell you first.. this is a yr contract to perm. For a graduate, you can charge higher in your fees, by the way how is your cramp?

Bear > Seen bad comments about Sophia Wedding in this thread before but dunno how true it is... They are all going after money only. That is one of the posting in the Bridal and Boutiques services...

Cherz > Are you in one of the big 4 auditor firms?
Are you looking for a freelance bride MUA? Her charges very reasonable. If you want... let me know and I send you her contact via email.

Hi Kris, i cannot sign up with Sophia liao.. me signed up with Bridal Zone liao rem? Just thinking of going to look see look see their gowns and get some ideas.

Oh ya Queenie> got ur PM liao!

Bear > Sorry arh.. old woman very forgetful now and then... cos exam coming too... next week on long leave preparing for my exam.

Bear> Yah I tell them b4 hand everything ald so they understand oso, somemore charge them so cheap, dun tink dare demand too much out of me la.

Here goes the add: 43 Tanjong Pagar Road
Singapore 088646

Yah, sophia got some legal case, but which shop nt out for $ rite? If they are gd then ppl willing to pay we got nothing to say. If nt nice oso ppl wont get so much fotos. Their fotos really nice dats y.....Gowns oso nice! But I got budget so gotta keep witin it. Gd to go down n see wat style u want oso. No harm mah rite? hee! I'm very into fotos so once I saw tat fotos I melt ald... hahhaha!

Told my FH abt it, he say he will tok to his fren n see if can get her to rec her coordinator n give us discount.

i hav a frenz who signed up wif sophia.she juz used the free ROM package last yr.her AD still not confirm yet.i juz noe dat sophia's photoshoot will turn out very well so ppl tend to top up a lot for photos,even up to $10K!!!

gingercat,

me not in big 4.too stress liao.actually i tot of trying for air stewardess.but i will hav to start fr stratch next time when i re enter the wk force.u working in recruitment agency?

i wanna the contacts.my email is [email protected]

Welcome summer!

We chat abt everything under the sun,not jz our ROM stuff.
Raffles marina not too far fr my place.Hahaha!

Gingercat,
where r u eyeing for the pte apts???

Also,all the best to ya examz?Wat r u sitting for ay?

Talk abt leave,my leave ends on sunday.Sianz!Back to work liaoz!Hardly like leave,everyday wake up early & got sooooo many many errands to run.

tea,
my FH used to hv a brush coat JRT too but tt fella so hyper,MIL cant take it then gv away.When we move,I intend to get a maltese but FH dun like "girl" dogs.ARGH!!!

PMs goes to ur email.

bear,
I live in Jurong leh.Which part of Jurong u work ah?
Ya ya,super young at heart.Luckily look young too!Heehee!But organs inside all over 30.Sigh...
U nonya ah?
If I tell my FH once in a life time stuff,he'll say everything also once in a life time.
So no PS for us.
Both of us getting OTR,very casual.No gowns or suits.Photograher & mua r friends who r pros,i think/hope.Flowers another friend.Got a gd gf to organize hen's night(hopefully she can get a male stripper)

Personaly,i wanna keep my ROM a pte event & not hv too many strangers involved.I like to get my friends involved so they feel they r really part of our big day not jz come as guests,eat & leave.

cherz ah,
u wanna be a flt stewardess?Hmmm...muz be very service oriented lor esp with our national carrier.If other airlines,u may be based overseas,not a gd idea.But once you're IN,it's very tough to leave caz of the lifestyle.If u jz wanna experience it then 2 yrs max.The longer one stays,the harder to leave.
I've seen so many who wanna leave but no courage caz those who left aft working for awhile,regretted & wanna come back flying as they told us "tt it's so different out there on ground."

suelynn,
if u wanna jz kill time while waiting for ur nx job then tk it esp if u have the passion for it & also no harm earning some $,can save for tt extra whatever u may need for ROM.

wxyang,
if not 18 sept then which date ah?If outside then need more organizing lor.

Long post Queenie!

I work at Toh Guan. very near to IMM. zzzz so tiring to travel so far! Yes i am half nonya (mum is). I guess it depends on indiv FHs. Mine wants to do everything nice nice cos he doesn't wanna live with my complains for the rest of his life! heehee... but also, marriage is once a lifetime mah, big thing leh! true, normally everything u do is also once in a lifetime, but they are not as impt as getting married. And if u do these things wrong, still can redo right? but u can't redo ur marriage! Unless its those golden and silver anniversary.

Cherz> just wondering, air stewardess earn as much as auditor?

Today is Suelynn's interview. Gd luck gal!

wow, so many post.... took me a while to go thru all of them.

hee, going to try out a few BS this weekend.
so far i have been to Mr & Ms Wedding club, Dang, Kai, Mandarine duck, satine... but it was more to find out the package... didnt try any gown... cos i always go there when pple are going home.
(unintentional)

Queenie: my JRT is the bao bei at home. haha, he has toned down a lot compared to 2 years ago. (he is 3 now) I totally agree that they are hyper and can drive you nutz.

Hey, curious, how different is the lifestyle of air stewardess? don have close friends are are flying... so very curious....
can share?

I thought of looking for a freelance to do the photographs but worry it might not turn out nice. I kinda like Photolanguage style but it is on the high side... so might need to relook. BF never comment much... but he prefer ChrisLing, kelvin's style. hee, good thing is AD so far away, can take own sweet time....

Morning Ladies

Cherz > No, I dun work in a recruitment agency. I am working in an IT firm.
But I do work with many recruitment agencies and headhunters. I will email you.

Queenie > My FH is looking at the TRUIMPH ( hope I get the correct spelling ) and it is opposite Kembangan MRT station. Nice area though because it is near Frankel Avenue and my in laws house. Next week I will be having my 3rd paper for my HRM. The following week, will be my 4th paper. Hiaz... Total I still have to go thru 6 more modules before I graduate.

Agree with Queenie, my friend is working as a air stewardess in SIA and now she is working as an administrator in a small firm. Had been complaining that she is not used to the life working in the office and she will prefer to be an air stewardess again. One on ground and the other on air.

morning gals!

bear,

i am not really sure how much air stewardess earns...abt $4K including allowances?
hee the pay of an auditor not dat high leh.u muz work at least 4yrs for a $4K pay plus super more responsibilities.