(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Bear> woooo you are darn good, gal!!! actually i source for the ring already also from LW one ard the 2.8k coz my wife dont like big big solitaire. and yes im really sourcing ard. been surfing the net while attending to cust LOL like wat im doing now hee hee hee.

wats the "hearts on fire" suelynn??? (blur)

well as for myself, i kinda propose to her in a casual way while we were walking (juz ask her would she wanna marry me
) but that was without the ring lah. intend to do it again (the right way) with the ring

wahhh if got frens work at LW even better, 40% discount!!!! LOL

Hi Cherz...

Today forum like a bit slpy hor...

Suelynn> i think right now the ring my FH bought for me is sufficient cos we are both saving lor. next time he can always buy me something more ex when we are financially more stable.

My FH brought me to choose the ring. i knew he was going to propose on our 4th yr anniversary so not much a surprise. the surprise was the extend he went to make things perfect from morning till evening. actually hor, he started giving me little pressies 3 days before hand liao. he wrote a little note for every single pressie he gave me. on the day itself, he ordered flowers and got them to send it to my doorsteps. he bought a FF bear holding an envelope. Inside the envelope was a card asking me to marry him. Then he held my hands and said a lot of things (can't rem liao cos was too emotional liao). ended with him looking sincerely into my eyes and said he wants me to marry him. will i? heehee..

we got the proposal ring a few days later (it was sent for resizing and also to change the casing to platinum). he knelt on the carpark of Far East Plaza and proposed one more time... heehee...

Weixiong> why am i darn gd??? did i do anything gd?? i didn't realise.. heehee..... do ur proposal in a nice way that she will rem for the rest of her life. 2.8K for a ring is reasonable. aft discount will be 2.3K abt there right?

Bear> more than enuff liao, I know some guys dun even bother to propose lei...Sickening rite?

Thank god mine did, he went n plate the eternity ring he gave me long ago, I gave him back when we "broke up" some yrs back. Got lots of meaning to it la.

Urs very romantic enuff laio, mine propose in his room ok, he paiseh dun dare to do it outside...But Vday he brought me flowers n propose again cos the one last yr like nt sincere enuff, he bought flowers n bring to my office. I so paiseh i bring hm in plastic bag. hahhaha! He asked me again during dinner n he said its the last time I'll be getting flowers fr my bf . I was shunned for awhile...He said next time wld be fr my husband.... He very lao tu one.

Really ah, if fren work in Lee Hwa got 40%? My FH's fren's fren is working there lei. Maybe get him to ask her to help us get, ekekkek. Well, shelfing the wedding bands till ard june

Weixiong> its the tot tat counts, I was very particular abt rings, flowers, dinners etc one who noes when he proposed I realised it doesnt really matter. So I said yes even he propose in the way which was nt wat I had wanted la. Hearts on fire is the "perfect diamond " fr Tianpo.

Suelynn> ya u are right. i wanted a tiffany ring for my proposal ring. he even brought me there to choose.. but u can see from his face how he was trying to figure out how to pay for it. totally melted my stubborness... in the end he got me the best clarity and colour diamond he could afford.

But got propose better than never right??

Yup CHerz, brillant rose is from soo kee while destinee is from LW...

How did ur FH proposed to u?

opps....hee i dun really pay attention to the names!!!

suelynn,

hee i aso broke off wif my FH some yrs back.guess it made us cherish each other more.

Gals, got anywhere to suggest not to bring my Fh for dinner, his bday coming....

Bear> mine oso lei, dat time bring me to choose fr tianpo, I dunno he wanted to get for me.....I jus try for fun cos we need to see wedding bands mah, who noes he ordered....Then on xmas oso he ordered the tiffany bracelet for me from DFS, I made him cancel the order cos he kept saying he got surprise for me etc. I demanded I dowan surprise cos dowan him eat grass.....

My mum ask me dun be so wilful ald, my dad try to give me everything in the world I wan so I shouldn't behave the same way with my FH.....

Cherz> nvm, nw u noe mah.

He is not rich, dats the problem! He saving very hard for them, it was b4 his family have financial woes la. Those incidents I mentioned were quite long ago...... He intend to use credit card to pay off lei...I dowan him to be so ke lian

Hey Suelynn> my FH's bday is next fri! intending to take the day off and spend it together... planning to cook for him... heehee..

Cherz ah, u haven't tell us how ur FH proposed to u leh...

bear,

i cant cook leh.no interest in cooking leh.how??next time my FH very poor thing!!

my FH proposed to me when we went KL during dec 2003.one of the nite we went to the hotel swimming pool see look.then he asked me close my eyes then he knelt down n proposed lor.i was taken back!!!shouldnt hav agreed so easily...haha tis was very long ago horr!!

bear,
nope i dun have THE RING yet!ARGH!!!My FH hasnt proposed like ur FH has.Think he's one of those who wont.U see,we've been together since 1997 & yup broke off once too.Been talking abt marriage since we got back together.So it's a natural process to buy a flat etc...Aft signing so many papers the other day re flat,we're already bounded caz of flat.Sad to say in sg it's this way.
He got me a 0.30carats afew yrs ago for me bday.It's been up hill for him since starting own biz so I've not gotten anything else fr him since then so 0.70carats is the promise esp aft profitting fr selling his current flat.

wxyang,
ur wifey gd dah,dun like big solitaire.Even my fingers not tt big,I'll not take anything less than 0.70 which is the average size in sg.
With any luck I may get a bigger rock!

Bear> hee hee hee i know i know. got a few ideas which will definitely let her rem for life one. your hubby is really romantic leh, can learn from him sia. hehehehe the ring actually i brought her to go see one and choose first. at first i point at the big one(0.7) and she goes TOO BIG. then slowly narrow down to the 0.3 one. hee hee hee then i think to myself wat a wonderful wife i got, help me save money coz she said not to buy too exp one hee hee hee.

suelynn> wahhh perfect diamond.....must be very exp lor!! your hubby must have really love you. heheheh he also quite funny but sweet in a way. for me sometimes i can be so forgetful like a few days ago my wife's "big aunt" came and i forgot that she cant drink cold drinks(bought orange juice for her)

wahhhh have to edit my post. coa by the time i can post mine a few other msgs were posted. so busy juz now, alot of cust!! haizzzz..

queenie> wahhh gd for you lah, your FH is able to give you that. for me, my resources is limited.... would have like to get her a nice ring too

hi there, wow, now the topic is on rings and proposal. :D out for training these few days and have no access to internet.

My bf have not proposed yet.. i'm still waiting... wonder if he will do it...

My FH bday is in 2 weeks lei, if I get the job tml n start in may , I'll miss his bday. He has done alot for me n been working very hard for our sake. Wanna do something for him.....Dunno where to bring for dinner lei, my kitchen nt free so cant cook. I ald made him a present so its jus the makan part. Gals n guy if u all got any plc to recommend let me know okie!

Teacup> u hint hint to ur bf la, see wat he says kekek Actually its not hw he do it rite? Its as long as he does it gd enuff ald. kekekek!

So gals wish me luck for tml hor. NITES!

gd morning!

Tea> was wondering where u were cos u r in normally abt the same time as me! U must hint ur FH lah! tell him if he doesn't ask then why marry? u are going to be his 'maid' for rest of his life, but u only request once for him to do his proposal nicely.

Weixiong> Hey i check out the discount card liao. only for regular priced items. and also not for Destinee Diamonds. so how u still want? u wife is also like me, don't like big solitare. hence the 0.3. but now hor, i wished i aimed for a bigger one! heehee!!!!

Suelynn> What type of food does ur FH likes? do u guys have a fav restuarant that u visit????

Queenie> HINT! heeheee...

hello ladies!!! gd morning!!

bear> thanks alot
but will not be needing it now lah. when im buying then i request from you okie? hee hee hee anyway we tok about the rom the other day and we both feel that having it at the hotel too common liao. so were thinking of other places. even thought of having it at our sec school LOL

Suelynn> best of luck for today!!! well if you do not have any budget prob having dinner at the restaurants by clark quay would be nice. the atmosphere at night quite good one leh. im sure your hubby will get you a bigger one hee hee hee

queenie> hee hee hee try hinting him lor. once in a life time leh.

Hey Weixiong! u just reminded me! GOOD LUCK SUELYNN!!!! don't think she will see it in time though...

Ok when u want the card can let me know.. think Queenie has it too. its the green aspial card.

Holding it at ur sec sch? wow! rather unique right? actually why not, just approach ur pricipal, get caterers, that's it!

Hi all thanks for all the blessings etc! kekkeke

I dunno hw this interview goes....The interviewer keep telling me its a very stressful job, I din say much when she said tat, dunno hw to ans oso lei...

Went to pay for my tix ald, will be flying off on next sat's nite! Diverting my attention to the trip, tired of interviews etc ald...

My FH likes alot of things lei. Tink I bring him to try something new, thinking of Kushin-Bo

haha, you guys wont believe this. actually my bf already bought the proposal ring (we bought it together). after that, he kept the ring and didnt do anything.

wonder when he will do it.

wxyang: I have goldheart card if you need it. but I think there is no discount for wedding bands. Oh, goldheart have this series of south afican diamonds from the factory. (that is what they claim). I assume the price is cheaper.
you many want to take a look.

If you want value for money diamonds, go to TAKA and ask for their loose diamonds. It all comes with certification. You then pay additional ~$200 for the white gold setting. I only know about this after we bought the ring... a bit too late. haiz.

It is more secure to set diamonds in white gold cos white gold is softer and it is easier to 'mould' it to hold the diamond. If you are buying a big diamond, don use the tension setting, it runs a higher risk of losing the diamond.

okie, that is all i know.... good luck in your search.

Suelynn: hope you will hear good news from the HR.

Hiyee!

tea,
watz tension setting?Any pic?I like 4 claws leh.

suelynn,
I'm sure u've done ur best so now go R & R k.
Wat kind of cuisine does he like?Mine anything Japanese.He shd have gone for a Japanese gal instead.

wxyang,
I dun need to hint.I jz told him straight tt I wld like it tt he does.Guess wat?He jz kept quiet.So does it mean he will?Tell me,ur a guy.
Anywayz,yup,I hv e card too if u wanna borrow.

cherz,
I dont cook either.Dun like it but dun mind learning 1 day.Do u knw if they hv cooking lessons for ppl like us?

Wonder where's gingercat?

Anywayz,I'm thinking of chg my venue.Scared will be an impossible mission since it's a HOT date.Spoke to e banquet mgr,he was quite a jerk.The lady I've been emailing has left.Sigh...

Arrgggh! typed a long msg.. gone liao!!

Tea> tell ur FH sept is round the corner... keeping the proposal ring won't increase its value! heehee.. =P I also dunno what's tension setting... tot if its done right, it should be ok?

Queenie> mine is a 4 claws too! like it very much! Why are u changing venues? change to where???

Aiyah, ur FH may be shy lor... is the proposal necessary? u gotta ask urself.. for me is necessary or i will never buy a flat with him!! =P if u can live without it then try to lor...

Suelynn> keep us updated on the gd news! go and enjoy ur hols! wish i could go along too! My FH and i both hate jap food.. prefer hot and spicy food.

Where's are u Kris????

hi hi. this is tension setting.

269487.jpg

Wxyang: I found this site after we got the ring. This guy shared a lot of information on finding a good diamond ring. I was really impressed by it. Haiz, I found it site after we got the ring.

Strange, I cannot post this link. If any of you like to have the link, please PM me. I have to email to you... this site don allow me to paste any link with the word, Proposal Ring....

By the way, correction, White gold is harden than Platinum. Sorry about the mistake. OPS!

Queenie: the ring my bf bought is also a 4 claw. I like 4 claws.
hmm... come to think of it, i cannot remember how the ring look like now...

hihi morning galsss, weekends coming soon le!!!!
anyway any of you been on a diet before? coz yest my poor wife was upset wif herself coz she gain weight(quite abit coz i keep feeding her) so now i got a exercise plan for her liao juz need some food diet advice

teacup> sent you a pm liao. really thanks alot!!!

queenie> actually it can mean alot of things leh. have to see his facial expression lor. coz could mean that he felt pressured or being pushed meaning that he feel that you are being impatient or pushy. if he is very egoistic or mcp, he might feel that "hey its my decision when i will do it so juz wait". he might also be keeping silence to contain the surprise he have in store for you. he can be also too shy also and still trying to pluck up enough courage to do it. hee hee hee but don worry that much lah coz if he really loves you, he will do it one way or another.

suelynn> have a great trip ok. the last time i was there i kinda enjoyed it. went to melbourne about 2yrs ago. ppl there are friendly and its kinda fun when you go "hey there" or "good day" and they reply the same way and strike up conversations hee hee hee

bear,
jz had a lousy conversation with the manager so was rather pissed off.Jz gonna wait for his email bfe deciding anything.

tea,
tt's a lovely ring.Pls PM me the webite,thx gal!

wxyang / queenie: have sent you guys the link.

yeah, the way that ring is set is called tension setting. It is a bit risky if you accidentally hit the ring against the door or wall... etc. the ring might just pop out cos it is held there using tension.
but it is the only setting whereby you can view the whole diamond. hee.

Thanks all for the encouragement!

Wah, the ring nice lei!

I went there a yr plus ago, not very excited abt going there cos I kept going to the same cities in Asutralia, was hoping to go perth or Tasmania the next time. Din expect I m going so soon to Australia again! I have stayed there b4 so no worries lo, kekeke! Am excitied abt leaving sg, cos I felt so depressed whenever ppl ask me got job ald etc...

Queenie> try n source for other venues, u got hw many guest? Try orchid country club, we din have enuff to meet their min so O strike tat plc out n its pretty ex per head, tink its abt $60 plus.

wxyang,
thx for the input.I'll jz wait & see if he does when we get all the rings in May.If he doesnt,no biggie lah.

suelynn,
go shop in Mel lah.Their local labels along the small streets very nice leh.

bear again,
i love hot & spicy like Thai.Yummy!!!
Chilli crabs-hmmm....til backside on fire!!!

Queenie> I dun dare do too much shopping lei....wait come back I gotta chew on the grass how? hahhaha! I will fly to bridge road to buy their factory outlets stuff...Yu pe Yu qi I am on budget shopping tour lei...

I like Korean kimchi soup! Tom yam kung oso!

suelynn,
perth is nice too.More for sight seeing.
Tasmania,got devils leh.Heehee!!!
U studied downunder?Where abts ay?

OCC is at yishun?maybe not...thx anywayz gal.
Our guest list growing,keeping it at 60 max.

There r 2 types of 4 claws right.1 is where the claws r at 12,6,3 & 9 o'clock,i prefer the other tt makes the diamond looks like a princess cut instead of brilliant.

tea,
have not gotten ur PM leh.

tea,
I got it.Actually surfed into the site myself while waiting for ur PM.Lots of useful info there.I muz say,the author's choice of diamond is very unique at 0.62.

Wat u gals think?

i think the author really did his homework before he make the purchase.
the info on his website is really useful. he almost cover all aspect of it.

If i am not wrong, 'magical' carat size are usually more expensive.

example:

if you are thinking of getting a .5 carat, you may want to consider a .49 or .48 carat cos there is a big jump in price when the diamond hit .5 carat.

same goes for 1 carat.... going for a .9x will be much cheaper and the difference in size is almost not visible.

not sure about .7 thou... hee...

but queenie, are u particular about certifications / whether it is H&A / colour / etc?

Hey!

Lotsa posts today!

The tension setting looks scary! what if the diamond pop out?

Tea> PM me the link can? i wanna see too!

Suelynn> anywhere is better than staying in Singapore... go there and enjoy urself lor... when u come back u have to join the rat race liao.

Don't talk abt food! i m famish!! gotta wait till 1pm for lunch!

Queenie> u like the same ring like i have! the 4 claws make it looks a bit squarish! Why are u changing ur venue? anywhere else in mind???

tea,
i see... i see...
yeah i am particular.Sounds like I'm a fussy pot.
Anywayz,now i'm wondering shd my rings be platinum at all as they wont hold diamonds well.White gold,I'm allergic to nickel.I'm so problematic.

White gold contain certain percentage of nickel and other metals if i m not wrong. to make the gold harder....

Ya Tea is right.That's why my FH got me 0.3 carats.... 0.5 too ex liao!

bear,
i'm thinking of sentosa,Raffles htl or anywhere outdoorsy or poolside.But my FH still prefers RSYC.We'll see.Any suggestions??

If u like beachy type of thing then RSYC and Sentosa is gd...

Raffles Hotel will be ex leh.. any hotel with a pool is ok....

u want a garden type or a watery one??? u gotta know what u want. if not u can see which one has better menus and the cost too!

Anyone of you knows where or can recommend air ticketing office to buy American Airline ticket?

Bear: have sent you the link. yeah, if you have the tension setting, then you can tell your FH that you canot do housework in case the diamond pops out. hee. ;)hee, the ring my bf bought (and still keeping) is also 4 claw that make the diamond look like a pricess cut.
oh, it is also a .3 carat. No H&A. i think on first look, our diamond will probably look alike. hahaha.

Queenie: why dont you buy loose diamonds and do setting? honestly, the price is about the same as those pre-set ones.

i am not comfortable getting diamonds online, but from what the author said, it seems to be really cheaper. well, there is never a perfect scenario.
hmm.. seems like you have to go for platinum if you are allegic.

I oso like 4 claw, I have one 0.32 oso fr sookee. Its certified oso. But forgot its GIA or the other...Too long liao n I forgot. Its my bday present, not proposal ring fr FH.

The tension setting is very unique!

Queenie> I studied in Newcastle in Sydney outskirts for a credit transfer programme in my poly,was there for 2 mths. Gd chance to experience hw its like to be studying there. Well, only 2 mths n I cant take it ald, so nvr go there to take my degree, choose to do it here. I actually got a placing but I dowan to go ald....So when I took my distance learning degree here,I went over to Melbourne for 1 mth as required by my course.

Yah la suffer fr jobless depression, so anywhere is betta than sg. Go JB oso happy kekekke Rasa Sentosa is nice!!!! Yah raffles hotel ex lei.

hee bear, in a way, our diamonds have a few similarity.

both are from diamond industry / .3 carat / colour D / Brillant cut / GIA / 4 claws, squarish type. hee. :D

Main difference is the clarity. WWOW... yours is VVS1. hee.
. mine is VS2, have crystal... thus the VS2 rating.

such a coincident.

ah bear,
ur 0.30 is very very gd leh.I wld love 0.70 with similar C's.Aiya,cant help it,to me size matters.

tea,
wat u mean have crystal??

suelynn,
why cant take the lifestyle there is it?Too laid back?I would love to live there 1 day esp Goldcoast or Sunshine coast.Everyday,hang at the beach til get skin cancer.Hahaha!!!Hope to go there for HM.

Tea> heehee... ya lor, cos my FH only wants the best for me... we were considering another diamond, E colour and IF. but in the end chose this one instead...

What's crystal? u mean inclusions?

Queenie> tell ur FH to start saving now!!! heehee... and give it to u in 30 yrs time! 0.7, IF, D colour! heehee....

Girls and one gentleman:
Will u guys engage a photog for ur ROM? i m thinking of it leh?? worth it or not???