(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

dajie: try again.
will pass one. :P

tweety, ya checked liao its available... haahaa but i think they very fed up with me liao cause always change date... i also very fedup always gotta be e bad person to inform them...

sad to miss out the gathering.. but anyway there will be more to come huh.. =) bear i will try to organise.. => so bear u feeling betta already?? wah the jumbo seafood made u fall ill huh..

queenie.. dun be sad.. add oil.. u can do it =)

anna.. wah ur fil wanted to change and father wanna add more table.. guess arrangin for dinner is kinda stressful huh.. tink of it kinda worried.. by then when it's my turn, i will ask u gals for help.. hehe

sue... dun be sad.. life is unpredictable.. n ya must always treasure the love one ard u, u never noe wat is gonna happen next..

bear> my album don't have 100 pcs.. what i meant was we chose approx 100 pcs out of 400.. but because 100++ mens more $$$.. hence we stick to our orginal number and top up 3.. if really given 100pcs.. why should i bother to top up some more..

anna> think i'm in the same situation with u now.. when i first booked the hotel, and i told him i allocated 6 tables for him, he said more than enough.. now wanted more tables.. worse.. the ballroom can't take in so many more.. even in-laws side are adding tables.. how to die...
was screaming at my dad.. so angry with him..

sheryl,
dont scream at ur dad k.I know it's so frustrating.I'm sure u've explain to them tt the ballroom has a limit to the nos of tables permitted.Can they squeeze in chairs instead?No point getting angry.Stay calm.

I dont understand why chinese wedding dinners alwayz hv all the predictable problems rising.Knowing tt most of the time,someone,somewhere may get upset with someone else or something.All these r unnecessary stress when planning for a big supposedly happy occassion.Wat is the whole objective?

harlow ppl...im back online...sorry i couldn't make it to the gatherin...hb not feelin well over wkend...den today while movin goods hurt his back also...sigh...

bear, u on MC ah? wats wrong?

dajie, failure is the mother of success...er...is dat how its said? :p im sure u can do it the next time.

sue, sorry to hear abt ur hb's granny but at least she went peacefully n fast...dun take it too hard...

sheryl, dun scream at ur dad lah...these sorta things bound to happen one...but juz tell them calmly lor...

Hello, i m back! slpt a lot yesterday.. surprisingly i could slp last nite.. think i too tired liao...

Dajie, try again the next time lor.. i m sure u will pass on the 2nd try one... when is ur next test date? must wait very long?

Tweety, late menses???!! ermmm could it be....?! got see doc?

Anna so u confirm changing to the 28th?? was there a reason for you to change?? u talked to ur dad yet? i hope my parents won't spring something like that on me!

Anise, ya i m better.. tummy still hurts but no more rushing to the loo...

Sheryl, then ur pkg got how many photos?? choose 3 like very little.. why din u choose more ah? sorry i m repeating myself.. i m getting old.. can't rem if i asked u before... don't scream at ur dad.. really no point.. just ask him how are u going to magick out the extra tables for both ur inlaws and him lor... u are doing it where? Pan Pac? what the max no. of tables?

Dajie the whole objective of a big traditional wedding is for our parents to show off, for the couple to show off, for everybody to show off... seriously, even if u dun wanna admit it, deep down inside we all wanna tell everyone that we are married, in style some more... then our parents wanna out do so-and-so's sons or daughters so that they have the final laugh.. sad to say but we humans are pretty shallow (me inclded). :P

Dajie.. I was thinking of getting private too.. more flexible...

Anna.. that's good.. at least u don need to headache..

Cacphin.. don angry k.. calm down n talk with your father.. let him know the situation k...

Bear.. I always hv late menses lah.. didn c doctor leh.. How's yr Tummy now?? getting better?? Mine like ok liao leh.. hahaha..

morning gals...

bear, ya confirm changed le... already told e hotel think they fedup liao i change so many times haiz not i want de mah... my dad ar duno he haven given me e full list yet he jus ask me book hotel first... hope not too many bah cause my mum also ask her frens leh... now abt 8 tables liao le for my side exclude my colleagues and frens... e rest of my mum's frens ask them to go to church wedding... my dad duno leh he dun wan to confirm... btw u feeling better already???

Orh Tweety, ur menses always late? got see gynae? could be polycystic ovaries.. causing the delay in ur period.. sometimes can delay till a 40 days cycle.. in the meantime ur ovaries will release testosterone which make u more manly, i.e. muscles develop, ur hair grows faster, esp ur facial hair, u become more short tempered.. in the long run u can become infertile. so best u go see a gynae soon... not to scare u okie?

Anna, nvm change liao dun think abt it.. but must let ur FIL know that one more time he change date the hotel will impose a fine liao.. heehee... bluff him.. :P 8 tables for ur side very reasonable liao.. my hb has to give 10 tables... think my side abt 10-12 tables... u are a christian? or ur hb is one? which church are u gg to do ur wedding in? have u booked it yet?

Me better liao.. thanks for asking...

bear, wah so jialat meh late menses? but my cycle always like abt 38days de leh...

ya told hubby no more changes liao... my side tentatively 8 tables leh think at e end 10 tables or more... i'm a catholic hubby is not but he follows me to church lor... we're going to use e church i always go to at boon lay... not booked yet...

wa DH,
you are fast! hehee

oh sue,
take it easy..at least she had a peaceful passing.

hi anna,
oh it's better to change now than later while you still can make amendments ar..

oh bear,
u better take care ar!!

sigh.. talked to him nicely liao.. told him that the space is limited instead of talking abt the cost.. but he scolded me back saying that who ask me to choose such a small place.. where ballrooms are standard..
sigh.. he requested for the wedding cards, but dun be bothered to write on the cards, saying let the guests write themselves. what the stupid thing to do.. how to control no of pple???
sigh.. really dunno what to do liao..

bear>hmm.. cant remeber no of photos.. abt 40 plus maybe.. max tables for PP is 35 for my choice of ballroom.. but now alreadi up to 38.. still adding in.. if my dad refuse to budge..

queenie> chinese wanted face and all pp to be happy.. wanted to show off.. sigh..

Wah then why didn't u ask ur dad why nv earlier decide on the no. of tables he want? why now then want extra? and 38 tables already considered quite a lot liao. what u mean he requested for wedding cards but not bothered to write on them? i tot when u invite someone u gotta write the names down? so strange!!

Can PP change u to another ballroom? possible? u spoke to the coordinator yet?

Wow...looking at the photo tat DH sent out,do make me feel sad tat I couldn't turn up.

Bear,

How are u feeling,better??? In fact I love to dine at Jumbo.. & I oso find tat the way they take order quite hi-tech. Yummy... I like bamboo clam..usually steam goes with garlic.I think the one tat served to u was not cooked.

nihpcac,

Usually during wedding preparation sure will have lots of ups & downs fr each other or fra families... But always try to keep urslef
positive.

annabelle,
I'm so envy... able to have a church wedding.I'm oso a catholic but my hb not.He couldn't afford the time for the MPC.It muz b very lovely.Btw,had resend the contact to u again.

Hey people,
went for NLP course.Learnt alot & hope can apply besides my work for my personal r/s as well.
Tmw leaving for UAE til sun so dun miss me

sheryl,
i can feel tt u r handling a tough & frustrating situation here.It's fight or flight.I feel tt too many cooks really spoil the soup.

ah bear,
For chinese wedding dinners,is it caz both parents r contributing monetarily tt's why they hv or wanna hv so much say like nos. of tables etc?Caz my bil also AD in May but my pil has no say caz they r not contributing $.If i'm not wrong,my pil only requested ard 3-4 tables for realatives only.

For our wedding,they also didnt hv a say though they did ask if relatives r invited but we said no caz we wanna keep it really small.

Honestly,for us,we dont care if relatives or parents' frens knew we r married or not.Imagine a guest list of only 30 became 70 of our frens.

Gd morning, what NLP Dajie? heehee.. may be for u ur parents and PILs, they know that u are one fierce lady hence dun dare to ask too much.. actually for some chinese weddings, the parents dun foot a single cent.. my parents nor inlaws will be paying anything at all, yet, they have a say.. its a face thingy.. hard to explain to u.. u prob ask why dun we just ignore them? well 1) they ARE aft all ur parents, 2) i rather they have a say so that they can't complain, 3) its once a lifetime for them to show off, 4) cos i respect them lor... having said that, it doesn't mean i like them interfering with the wedding.. its more like i try my best to tolerate their antics.

yups Rachel i m feeling better... check ur mail box!

share my 5 cent view on the dinner thingy.

agree with dajie to some extend on the chinese dinner. but ultimately, every family is different, so we need to do accordingly.

I know my mum and dad are looking forward to the chinese dinner thingy and i respect their stand. Before i started planning it, i told my mum out front that i do not have the budget to do too many tables and I am also not keen to do some of the traditional stuff like distributing cakes, ping jin, ... etc.

I felt the need to compromise with our parents. If she wants something, I will tell her how much more it will cost and ask her if she feel this is really necessary. I throw the ball in their court and this way, they are happy cos they still feel they have a say on the dinner and I am happy cos I do make them see my point that some stuff are not necessary or too costly to do. I felt it is important to make them see things from our point as well.

of cos the fact that we are paying for everything ourselves without any monetary help from them is a big thing as well.this means we have more say in certain things.

At the end of the day, we do want everyone to be happy but we know it is not that possible either. so telling them and letting them know our restrictions is good. they will know why we are rejecting their request. Not cos we don want to do it for them, but due to other external factors.

Parents after all still care for us. Just that sometimes, they get too focus on certain things and we need to redirect them a bit.

having said all these, i have to admit i am no angel as well. I do play 'mind games' with my parents if they get too difficult.

If they insist on something that i don agree on, i will just not say anything nor do anything... so when they don hear any update on me, they will get gan chiong. I will tell them I am thinking of delaying the dinner. need to save up more $$.

morning gals...

rachel, received liao thanks alot...

chinese dinner is a very troublesome issue... cause both side parents wants 'face' thus wana have a grand wedding and such but they not forking out a cent so listen to some extent only... for my side i cannot see myself asking my dad to cut down too many tables cause he has onli one daughter getting married out lor so i understand he wan to be proud and showoff lor... so will try to accomodate... (hopefully not too many cause now hubby getting gan chiong...) =P

Wah Tea, ur turn to give words of wisdom eh? heehee... ya sometimes our parents just get too caught up with those stupid traditions.. esp when those san gu liu po tell them must do this and this, then they will come back to us insisting we follow dunno what traditions!! best of all they tell u one day before ur wedding.. hear liao also pissed...

Tweety, its not as simple as i wrote. u need to monitor ur cycle... when u have extremely short cycles and then very long cycles then u gotta worry... if u got spotting in the middle of the mth, then best u see a doc soon. may be we talk on MSN? easier to talk...

Anna, how many tables must ur hb give to ur parents? i think the standard outside is abt 10-12 tables... can start savings 1K a mth liao! heehee... stressful right?

BTW any gd place to recommend to buy wedding shoes? need to get my shoes before my 2nd fitting end of May.

bear, starting my dad say only relatives lor... so expected only abt 5 tables... duno now my mum wana invite church frens also so now abt 8 tables le haven add my dad's fren cause he say if invite is alot so he still deciding... think most probably 10 tables lar hopefully... ya super stressful luckily my home done up already if not even more cash issues...

for shoes rite... see if u wana custom make lor cause mine i did at 'seven' its a factory lar near paya lebar mrt... u interested i can give u e address...

bear: no lah, not word of wisdom. wedding is a happy event and we want everyone to be happy. but since it is not possible to please everyone, have to compromise.

Anna, yes please can i have the contact? heehee... how much did u pay for a pair of shoes? Seven better or Leaping Lizards or Essex Walk? think 10 tables still ok... i heard of the bride's family asking for 15-20 tables! siao right???

Tea, u really very wise today! heehee....

Anyway the mag is out... here's the link. http://app.mewr.gov.sg/view.asp?id=CDU1118 scroll to the last issue and u can see my du lan face.. :P

Cant get to sleep.. guess slept too much in the afternoon =p... I m off once again.. so happie =) tho i got to go back for ot later as well.. hehe..

anna.. hope ur dinner stuff haf been settled.. try asking if can squeeze in more.. btw post some pic of ur lovenest n let us see lei..

nihpcac... same apply to u.. hope u able to settle ur dinner stuff as well.. hmm just try ur best, tok to them nicely.. no point quarreling coz of this.. i guess each and everyone of us bound to meet with this problem sooner or later.. imagine dat rd, my cousin wedding, they actually forget to count in both sides parents table & ended up in a state of stress, worrying nt enuff n all their spare were opened.. but in the end, still during the AD, some pple din attend.. with spaces here n there..

many of my frens ROM r coming.. duno wat to get for them.. give mi some suggestion gals.. one holding it at merchant court pool side..

Bear.. thanks for all your advice ya..

Anise.. glad to c u here again.. hehe.. so long nv post arh.. I think u can get those precious moment stuff like album or marriage certificate holder??

Anna.. U sick ha?? R u ok now??

morning gals...

thanks for ur concern... table stuff not yet settle lar dun care first lar anyway still long lor my dad also take his time e most we accomodate only lor by inviting fewer friends...

bear, for shoes of course essex walk is better...
e price also nicer leh... keekee this shop is actually a factory space lar but they got samples let u see... later u on msn than i pass u e address.

anise, ya got photos... keekee but hor too busy to send e link will send this few days ok... been very busy at work than sick also... haiz...

tweety, ya haven recover lor than gotta OT this days... hopefully will recover soon...

wah.. today v quiet leh.. where are the rest arh???

Anna.. got c doctor?? poor girl.. need to work when not feeling well to.. must take care ya..

I got yr photos liao.. nice leh.. how much is yr reno ha??

Hi all, just pop in to update myself.... :>

me just got a 3 room flat in yishun from the WIS, chose my flat liao, able to collect keys in the next 4 months... hope that it will be smooth sailing cos understand that they will check our income... hehehe (pray hard)

So happie, tml will be my last day in my office... then have a week break (going penang) then back to work in a nice environment liao... hope that the new office will be a better environment(finger cross)...

Now will have to creak head over the reno stuff liao, need to seek all the seniors advice... kekeke! actually not sure where or how to start, very lost????

okie, gotto chao! take care gals!

Hi minne,

Welcome u to Yishun!! I'm staying opp khatib camp.How much did u pay for your 3-room flat??Actually if the house had been well finished,u able to save quite alot on reno. My pil planned to downgrade to a 3-room flat,dun know whether r they able to get it fr WIS.

Anna,

I love ur hse man... very very nice leh!!Thanks for sharing wif us.Hope u recover soon!!

Bear,

Juz to share wif you on wedding shoes.I bought a sliver stripped shoe for my ROM & oso used it for my PS,it cost $69.As for my AD,I bought a $29.90 white-covered shoe fr Sliverline & as for my dinner I wore back the sliver stripped shoe.Normally the gowns are long enough to cover the shoe.
Now both shoes are resting in my store room as i dun think I'll have any occasion to wear it again.And lucky I'm able to spend very little on the shoe.

Bear,

Juz clicked on the milieu's link. U looked so pro on the cover page.Plus the article abt ur job makes me proud of u.W/o you & your team, I dun think WE, SINGAPOREAN will have clean water!!!
* dun fly too high after reading this post hor... later fall dwn pain pain,hehe!

Hello gals, me on course that's why MIA.. tomorrow also...

Anna, sorry not online today.. send it to me next wk! heehee.. i kinda like Essex walk's stuff but i dun think its worth paying so much for a pair of shoes!! heehee... i have to start looking liao... haizzz... i got ur house photos! very nice leh.. when can we go over? heehee... sick must see doc ya? dun drag!!

Minne, congrats on ur flat.. why u worry they check income ah.. u need to show them proof of income i think. income tax for last FY.

Rachel, ya i will start looking for shoes lor.. normally i quite lazy one.. shoes wear until spoil then look for new ones.. can def say i m not those gals that horde shoes!! Aiyoh u feel proud of me? let me tell u those weren't my words.. the story is mine BUT they repackaged it to make it more 'PR'! :P i only showed u guys the mag cos i told u abt it.. other than that, not even my boss saw it... i dun really care for fame.

hee minne: saw you on the 3rm forum discussion. ;)

Yeah, agree with rachel, the article about bear's job is so cool.
hee

Anna: I also want to see your place leh.

Morning gals...

Minne.. Congrats on yr Flat.. y they need to check your income ha?? is there any criteria for 3 room flat??
Going for holiday?? Enjoy ya..

morning gals...

tweety, my reno cost 17k without flooring & air-con lor... feeling better already but still coughing and have sore throat... haiz...

rachel, thanks... any pics of ur house for us to view???

bear, ok when u see me online u msn me lor than i give u e address... seen doc last sunday le but seems like getting worse... lousy doc...

tea, sent u e pics le...

Anna.. 17k for 4 room flat?? not v ex rite?? Include all the walldrobe in kitchen rite?? It's really nice.. hehe...
Bad weather.. drink more water and have enough rest k..

Rachel. send me yr house photos also ya..

tweety, yah 17k include cupboards in kitchen, mbr wardrobe and featurewall headboard, built in study, tv console, feature wall for dining and feature to conseal storage vault. =P

Hi, rachel :> me have been staying yishun for over 10yrs liao, so wana choose a flat near my parents lor... my blk near chong pang market, a 4 storey flat and downstair is shophse... might be noisy lor, and i pd 84K for the 3room repurchase flat from HDB... saw from the website that there are still many flats available in yishun area mah, so should not be a problem lor...
I have not seen the interior of the flat, need to make arrangement with the office for viewing...

Bear, thx! quite excited that at last got a flat, but hor 3 room so very small lor... I applying for the additional grant from the progress package for low income family cos my hubby a freelance, so cpf contribution very little... and in order to have the additional grant, we need to submit the income proof for the past 2yrs (less than 3K) and after i calculate myself, i might exceed by alittle lor so might not be able to get extra 5K grant from the govt.... kekeke
But i bought the flat quite cheap lor, cos its old flat liao...

Hi tea, I thought your flat is 4rm lay, cos from the photo that you sent that time living room look so big...

Tweety, thx! criteria for 3rm is both combine income cannot exceed 3K per mth lor.... and if you want further grant from the recent progress package, HDB will check on your average income for the past 2 years, it should not exceed 3K and at least 1 person has to work for the past 2yrs... The grant range from 5k to 20k...

anna, me also wana see your lovenest lay :>

minne: wow, your flat is really very cheap.
oh, my 3rm looks big cos one of the room has been hacked to become the TV room and it is a corner unit. so we do have a bit of extra space.

hee, some of you mentioned that i do not have any pics of my bedroom and kitchen, will take an upload over the weekend.
hee

Anna.. 17k is worth it.. It's nicely done..

Minne.. so if monthly household income exceed 3k cant apply for 3 room flat ha?? ai yo.. i didn know that leh.. hehe...

Thinking of buying a digital camera.. Casio, canon and panasonic seem nice.. any recomendation??

harlow peeps
guess i miss da jie, she flew already liao rite.
finally have sometime to warm my chair liao hehehehe browse thru the forum and saw some ups and downs for you guys.

for those in the doen side,

sue, know that you frustrated a few days back so try to take it easy in the coming weekends.

for those with body issues im afraid i cant provide much info prob bear bear can be of more help. all i can say is pls do take care as the weather really is terrible.

for those in the ups,

well good for you all and enjoy the weekends ya.

the last gathering i was late and thou felt kinda lost for words but still manage to chip in a few lines here and there.

as usual update you all, yest went BS for fitting again and major changes for wifey's EG but her WG is stunning..i mean it looks stunning on her hehehe and also settle the hand bouquet and my shirt problem. am glad that the initial planning for BS side is almost over....now is the invitation cards printing hehehe and confirming on the no of pax and tables
i totally agreed with wat tea and da jie said but for my case i think im lucky coz my parents willing to pay for the dinner but everything is according to wat i want and my ILs juz want enough for their relatives which is not alot heheh. both of us wanna keep it a small event so every now and then when my colleagues talk about it i dunno wat to say also hehehe

but i guess its natural for parents to wanna show off or hold the dinner as grand as possible coz its like they are looking forward to this ever since we were born....

tweety, for camera wise i would recommend canon, nikon. coz its their speciality. if you can wait you might wanna wait till the end of the year for the it fair coz though might be paying the same price but will get more freebies and longer warranty too.

Been MIA for days cos been really tired, went to help out at the wake etc.Staying up for the nite...

Wonder if you all remembered I went to stay at a Farm in melbourne last yr in april,the lady who owns the farm is in town for seminar. Will be meeting her on mon for dinner, tinking of getting her a gift, wonder what to buy for her....Any suggestions?Cant bring food to aussie...

minne, sent already... wow ur 3-rm like wat tea said really good buy leh...

tweety, thanks ya this id workmanship quite good... and price reasonable... i've been to those cut-throat ones...