(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Jwen,

yes, maybe i will also have programme details for my jie meis 2... just in case, they doing nothing... end up i suffer... tat day, we must enjoy n be beatiful bride... hahha

Go see doc again. Too much coughing oso no good.
Drink honey wif lemon.

Hi Fleur,
Long time no see u hor. Thanks. Now u here, can tease u liao. haha....

hehe..... I'll ask my 2 SIL and 2 nieces(age 8) and 1 cousin, 1 close fren to be my Jie Mei. And those 2 nieces, haha.... give them lesser money. hehe.... No lah, all will be the same. But at least u ask kids to do things hor, easier. U asked adult ah, ha, wait hor. But oso depends lor. Some frens really very helpful.

cooldevil,

i hv sent. i just remember might have problem sending file exceeding 2mb from office to an external email addy so i have zipped the file up hope it will get thru. if u dun receive let me know, i send from home later today..

Hi zann
I receive yr zip file, I will try to download at my own home over the weekend. thanks.....U will be the first one to see my pixs if I can download successfully.......

guess after marriage is a brand new challenge :P it all depends, some ILs are so unreasonable but as DILs we should also remember that ILs are just like our own parents who can be quite protective of us....

linda, sad to hear your story...but i think when it comes to paying for wedding, it is a sensitive issue and most couples are actually paying for their own nowadays (we are doing that and we dun mind cos our parents are not able to contribute anyway the ang pows will be ours).

si dian jin, GDL and giving tables should be just tokens unless they're very rich and/or generous.

think you gotta do more middle-man stuff bout the negotiations lor....

...and if things get worse, you should consider renting a room, tell your hb, monetary sacrifice can help maintain family peace and marriage.

i'm not staying with ILs yet but the plan is for them to move over when they're old/sick...now just treasuring our time together 1st so maybe mine is 'sian tian hou ku' :P

rainnie, you and hb very filial leh, we meet our parents only bout once a month. sometimes too tired/busy, or just wanna spend some time together

ah shern, i mean after wed ..... we intend to do this lor....we wanted my mil to move in with us .. coz i dont have fil. But her mom dont want...so we have to go and see her quite often...this is the only thing when we want er ren si jie ;)

rainnie, oic but still very kuai leh
i like my MIL's cooking but too far, no car very troublesome leh, and my ILs like to go out jalan jalan so sometimes when we're free, they are out hehehe

welcome to the NOv brides thread Jwen!

Wow purple seems that you choose the young ones to be your jie mei...must be cute hor..
I have abt 2 -3 jie meis. (close frends)
Haven't decide how much to give them in the ang bao.

As for open door, maybe like wat Sallen & Ling suggest, put all in 1 or 2 ang bao then let them divide among themselves
166101.gif

I am going to use the tea pot & tea cups which my MUM used during her wedding for JING CHA. she just showed me yesterday, her TREASURE! still nicely kept...

Odae, I have intention of giving 2 times to my jie mei, one for helping out , one for open door.
166102.gif

Summersenz, I haven't collected my album too...most probably end of the Oct....
2 weeks before my AD

Shern and ladies
I agree, nowadays its very difficult for our parents to fork out $$$ to help us lessen our burden.... everything is so expensive now we cant ask them to help us if they dun have much cash for themselves........ as for me, both of our parents not working, so everything we bao..... I dun know my mum will offer to give us the ang bao she suppose to keep. If she dun, I wont blame her cos she has the very right to keep it. As for my in law, they will pass their ang bao back to my hubby ..... we intend to give some money to our parents if we manage to gain...old ppl like us to get them involved or think of them....they happy we happy and also can prevent misunderstanding or conflicts later on :P

As for me, so far so good, my in laws or my parents never give us any troubles or problems..... they let us decide and plan ourselves..

Hi Jwen,
My AD is on 13 Nov..heehee...that's y I'm very ganjiong liao yet hb seems nothing wrong like that. hai...
Hmmm...no nid to give meh? My mum juz told me last wk nid to give leh..asked her how much but she din say..

Hi Anne,
Tks for the contact but unfortunately I din call up cos all ppl ard me advised me to wear back my ROM pair since oni wore once plus that day ppl will not notice my feet - save some $$$. Anyway, do update me on ur shoes 'cos who knows I may wan to tailor make shoes for other purposes later on?

Hi Summer,
Wow! U really very bz in 'maintaining' urself hor? Hmmm..at least u ordi haf ur list drawn up so less likely to miss out any 'muz' do things. I muz go draw up mine quick quick!
Ouch! Wisdom tooth? Not scare ur face will swell? Last time my face swell for almost a mth with bruises leh..took more than a mth for the bruises to subside. Hmmm...be brave! Will pray hard hard for u!

Heheh hope you still remember me..sob sob ….Few days no log in, already you are talking about hongbaos etc.

Hi Purple28,
Hehehe so envy you that your mum and mil will be handling the GDL stuff. For me, everything on our own…hahahabut thank god they will be paying lah. This wedding thingy really burn our pockets bigtime! Must recuperate for at least 10 years…hahaha

Me wedding on 26 Nov. can’t wait for the day to come and be over…so tiring! Still have to juggle with home renovation. Aiyo nowadays I like siao char bo… hahaha

Hi Sallen,
Hope my opinion is not too late. Hope your part 2 PS is not over yet. To my knowledge as a MUA in the past, if your MUA’s skill can make it ah, normally we won’t put another coat of mascara to the false lashes. But confirm by curl your natural lashes first so that the false one can blend in. but if kiasu MUA like me ah.. I will normally applied another coat of transparent mascara to both the real and false lash to ensure full blending! Hahaha …. As for the lip pencil normally I won’t used that because must be very steady hand then used. If not later take pics can see line not definite….a lot of them used pencil but ultimately they will blend in with the lipstick so (personal view) must as well dun draw Hope this help.

Hi jwen,
A belated welcome to the thread. I am also quite new to the thread. Heheh

Wow, You even have a programme details & instructions written for all of them to follow…can you share with me the list? Heheh me very much to organise the gang but dunno where to start ley. Hehehe all my sisters very helpful but all dunno what to do yet.. most of them you must allocate then they do if not normally they just blur blur stand there. Normally I am like the da-jie-da so will arrange and allocate jobs. So that day I dunno what will happen. * sweat sweat *

Hi all again! Hehehe…

I have just attended a good friends’ wedding. Learn several ropes there because they super superstitious!!! Hehe ..

First the hongbaos…. I have got $18each for the kai men hongbaos there are 8 of us… also her mum also got give us (jiemeis) if not wrong is around $20 each(but I lost mine!!!) hahaha…over at her hubby place, the mum also got give everyone which is $18 each. Then when we finish the tea ceremony at her place, she and her hubby gave all helpers a $2 hongbaos (only as small token)..very siong hor?!!!

As for hongbaos for others will be during the tea ceremony. For any cousins, brothers and sisters whom are presented at the ceremony, they are required to give the tea to you and then you are suppose to give them the hongbaos.

Hi Fleur,
Had checked with the GP at my place, she say no such thing as can induce menses ley. she only recommend me postpone it!
do you know any GP that is doing that?

Shern,

Me also have the same plan. ie to move together when they're old or sick. No matter what they bring up our hubby, cannot leave them alone. It's a matter of time only.. my hubby is only son.. it's only right for him to take care of his old folk.. just too bad that i m the only child so he got 2 side to take care of. So.. start saving for the raining days lor

cooldevil, think i'm lucky too, so far they have no unreasonable demands, anyway i did tease my mum that if she keeps the ang pow, i'll eat bread for the next year :P hehehe....

jean, me only child too
but think i can tolearate my ILs better than my hb can tolerate my mum cos she's very very difficult to live with.....dunno how cos she's still my mum afterall....

bao bao,
i do at jasvy marketing at kallang bahru there

rainnie,
last year i bought them mookcake from breadtalk costing $30++ and they finish everything w/o even offering me so this year i jus buy cheap cheap one lor and since they dun want o eat then nvm lor.. next year dun buy liao.. and oso my hb never buy for my family too..
even if i shift out, the most is see mil once a mth onli when my hb come back to give her "allowance".. i jus need to face her few hrs.. ok to me

usually GDL is 2 wks b4 AD but if u wan auspicious day i think is 3 wks in advance coz my AD is 12 Dec and i having 3 wks b4 AD

coolgirl,
i had alreadi tahan his family for more than 6 mths liao.. jus bcoz of my hb if not i would have shift home long long ago

jean,
hope is realli "bitter first, sweet later" coz if not i will break down liao.. and if given a chance i would not want to have chinese wedding but go for a far far honeymoon.. like wat u say, its our wedding but we cant invite our fren instead having to invite alot of the relative that we onli see once a year or some relative i oso duno who is who.. isnt it very contradicting?? is my wedding.. of coz i hope to invite pple that i know and they will be happy for me and not relative that i dunno and come with a ang bao of $18-50 thinking that they r here to eat buffet.. my cousin got rec'd $12 ang bao b4 but bcoz no name was written hence dunno is who..

jean & shern,
^5.. i am oso the onli child of the family

actually, i do know that some IL r veri nice pple jus that maybe i suay to have this kind of IL lor.. i dun mind staying with them but i jus cant stand that eveything i do is so restricted.. cant do this cant do that.. even do must oso follow MIL's way of doing things which i find is ridicious lor.. eg: even when bathing.. i have to be the last if not FIL will complaint y heater not hot etc etc.. as there is a saying "if marry a chicken/dog u must follow them 4ever" so i guess is my fate that i have a veri caring hb who dotes me alot but have to face with his family lor..

linda, at least your hb is the one beside you every nite
hehehehe, you ILs sounds very demanding leh like from the 50's..... is your hb only son?

linda, guess that's why your ILs are like that. your hb sounds like a very sweet guy tho, diff from his family
so chin up girl! maybe next time your kids will soften their hearts...

shern,
hahah... with this kind of living condition i dunno how am i going to stay until 2009 and with kids.. i think i will go mad.. oso if realli got kids, i will get my mum to take care instead of MIL.. as she has sensitive nose which passes to my hb, his sis and his sis son so i dun wan my kids to kanna oso

hi odae,

need to give ang bao to elders on the AD when husband come and fetch us leh... my mum also tell need to give her this ang bao leh... but i also dun know how much to give.... aiyo, sian leh, everyday add 1 new thing...

hi shern
at least u still got discuss with yr mum abt the ang bao...I dare not open my mouth...ke ke ke...I let her decide, dun want to create any trouble and we have put aside $$$ for my parent's tables liao.....mi not close to my mum..... she only likes to complain to me abt my bros, sis in law, dad and etc... other than that we seldom talk lor....

Linda, my mil also.. she is very particular in cleanliness.. so she always ask me to bath even i just came from my home.. However she won't wash the t-shirt that I've changed.. i have to bring home & wash.. so can u imagine if i live with her.. think i'll be washing her clothes also after working when she is shaking legs at home.. ha..ha.. i sound so pathetic!! She think mil cannot wash clothes for dil 1. Alamak.. ha..ha.. we make u sound like the Cantonese "Yue Yu Chan Pian".. so cham!! Take a deep breath.. as & when u cannot take it.. go somewhere for a short trip. Find excuse to go home & stay for 1 week. Your hubby play a part also.. if he always side U, your mil will not like U.. so i always tell my hubby to sweet talk my mil.. then she will treat me better also. Must communicate with your hubby.. all credits gives to u.. all bad things is from him.. somex learn to '3 legs' parents in law. Wao Kao.. this sound like family politic.. no lah.. EQ..EQ.. this is family EQ.

My Hubby always tell me that forgive my mil coz she is a home maker.. her thinking stays in the 70s.. she is not that smart but she think she is. Forgive her coz her exposure is thru TV program or newspaper only. Linda, my hubby tells me to coax myself inside my heart.. i will forgive them for lack of proper bring-up & education & they are now my family member. Forgive them!!!

wow seems like u and linda's in law not good lei.... So "ke Po" to u all.......

u all very poor things......I'm the only daughter and my hubby is the youngest son and his family members all dote on him so I got a share out of it

cooldevil
actually my il are nice pple but our values & way of doing things are so different.. that's where friction come from..

coolgirl,
good for u lor..

jean,
initially when i stay with them i oso take my clothes home to wash as she will not wash for me but as time passes and i keep complaint to hb that its so troublesome and if continue i will shift back.. then he go syco him mum to help wash mine t-shirt and short onli then rest of the clothes i oso wash myself.. and the worse is i have to hand wash coz she dun allow me to touch her bao bei washing machine.. sometimes, i oso wash for my hb coz new clothes i buy for him one.. mil will throw into machine to wash then if stain other colour she will kao bei again..

jean,
same thinking as u... i think my il r still ok pple jus that we live together and she dun like the way i do things.. so there will be friction lor.. hence the best is shift out asap.. but i know i have to wait til 2009

Hi Twinkle & Ling,
Most prob will take ur advices of preparing 2sets of ang baos for jie meis.

Wow! u all so good - get to use ur mum's tea set. My mum refuse to & insist on getting one set for me leh! Hai...after the day, where to chuck it???

Hi Mist,
O! U oso facing the same prob as me ah? hai...I asked my mum wat shud I prep, she juz said nothing..den wen I asked more specific qns such as the ang bao thingy, then she said YES...haiyo..like dat preps will nv end hor?

Is that to say oso nid to give grandparents? during wen to give huh?

Linda,

Oh my god!! is there a chance you 2 move to live with your parents after marriage since U r the only child? I mean after marriage.

Hey Linda,
Seriously, if i were u, i wld psycho hubby to agree to shift out...
Worth spending that bit of money for rental to buy u peace of mind!

bigtoes,
is not abit of $$ but lots of $$ to be spend to shift out.. u will incur additional expenses like rental, utilities, daily consumables etc etc.. and we have almost spend all $$ on the coming wedding liao.. so have to save for the reno for our flat in 4-5 yrs time.. of coz i wish to shift but how???

jean,
i dun think so coz my parents live in a small flat onli.. not enough room leh... and furthermore, i doubt his parents will agree coz they might be thinking that he married into mine family (lu chui) even tho we married liao

Rent a room? wont cost more than $500 a month...maybe u can give tution on the side or something...I would if i were u...ur hubby wld be less torn having to applease both u and his parents & not take sides also...

bigtoes,
renting a room will not help if 2 years later we have kid how?? i thinking to rent a 3room flat but too ex liao.. if i rem correctly is $380 rental per mth exclude svc and maint fee, utilities, etc.. so each mth we will have to spend additional ard $700 on a hse and on top of this, my hb still have to give his mum allowance which cant be reduce in any circumstances

wow, YiYi,
u got so many red packets on ur friend's wedding..
i got mine on open door which was $39 after divide out 5 pax... also got 1 at my friend'd hubby side, $10.. other than tat.. no more...

hi Linda
Sorry to hear that .... but my mum will also get angry and scold me if I stain my own clothes when washing.......... i guess all mums are the same but not letting u to use the washing machine is a bit too much..... renting a room should be ok...cos when yr child is young, he/she will sleep in yr room.

Hi jean and linda
Dun get me wrong, what I meant is that they dotes my hubby so they always cook his fav food which is also mine when we go visit them every sat... my mum does that to him too...my hubby is lucky not me.....

maybe becos we not staying with them that why we have less conflicts......his mum did complain abt our kitchen bathroom floor very dirty. We told her we had tried our best to clean/scrub but the stains just dun go off...... One fine day, she brought her own detergent to wash for us also cannot so she convince that it not my fault lor..... I guess when we get older, we will be like them or maybe better cause we dun want our future DIL or SIL to feel so pressurizes..... take it as a lesson for us to learn........we as "wan bei" give and take lor

Linda, we still need to support our own family even after we get married cos both of our parents not working. His dad health also not good... So I can understand yr worries.... discuss with yr hubby and come out with a plan.... hope things will turn better then...

Hi Twinkle,
Ya, will "recruit" them. Cos, they oso keep "promoting" themselves. Keep telling me, "gu gu", I want to follow u hor, I want to sit wif u hor. But hor, got another younger one, cannot let her do cos she's born in the year tiger. So, will juz tell her, who ask u to be tiger ah. hehe.... That day she so silly, come to me and tell me, she found that her classmates same like her, born in tiger year. haha.... Had a great laugh over this. Then I said, I tell u a secret hor, I got a feeling hor, ur whole class oso born in the year tiger.

Hi YiYi,
Actually got good and bad. Good is, no worries. Bad is, u got to take any color they choose for u. Like my hub's pyjamas. MIL bought brown color. Really very "obiang". I see already, I really.... sign.... Forget it lah, open one eye, close the other lor....

So, u going for honeymoon? Plan to go where? After u, 2 days later will be mine....

Hi Summer,
Take out wisdom tooth, later no wisdom ah. haha... Kidding.

Ur hubby side tea set is bought by gal side ah. But I think is during GDL then give them, rite?
My mum dun even have the tea set anymore.
So, most probably will buy a new set.
Must ask her go buy nice nice one.
She so cute leh, said let's go buy on 9/9(lunar calendar), then me and hubby will "chang chang jiu jiu". Then I said, why not 8/8, then we'll strike 4D, TOTO & Big Sweep.

Cool devil,
U not so devilish anyway... me everything ok 1 lah.. my mil not bad also lah.. like what i said, different background.. different generation.. different thinking lor.. just want to let linda knows.. she is not alone.

Linda, hope u feel better after pouring it out. shiok shiok right. Like what hayashi said.. dun keep it to yourself.. will go mad 1.. ha..ha.. at night dun always stay at home.. go join course lah.. Hmm.. think the gov must come out some course.. how to improve relation with il etc.

Bao Bao.. u c what i wrote right.. better keep Mmm about it if u c my hubby.. i dun 1 my hubby to smack my backside leh :P

hi purple,
what to do... already tooth decay liao.. cant delay... got bad breath... wait my hunny dun dare to kiss me...hahhaa i also did fillings on my 8 big tooths early this mth.. i still left one wisdom tooth to extract out.. probably wait till after my big day... have to cut dwn on sweet stuff..cos i have sweet tooth...