(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi gals!!

GreatZ!! elaine and flowee...me wanna see!!! so i be there!

so what time are we meeting? so confirm merchant court?

flowee ah...please update me while we are at the outing..'cos there's so many girls here now and so many details...me seldom talk here..so lost in the cyberspace liao, so must help orientate me ok? give u muackz 1st..

elaine...i like xiao xin! so cute...hahah...cheer up my day!

Flyn, how's work?

Hi Astrud,
Hmm hmm...Actually, I tried the gowns at all the places except for Bridal Veil. Of all, I think Silhouette gown is the best and they have the widest range...But too bad, they are way above my budget..... I really like the crytsal and the duchiness satin look in Bridal Veil... I guess I will stick with them loh. I did not have a chance to speak to Michelle but talk to colin (her hubby) and her assistance. Both my FH and I felt very comfortable in that shop....
I suggest you book the EE early cos the earliest available date now is August....Maybe you can book the course during Sept period (since you fh is out of town).
Read from the previous message that you are scoting for a interior designer...my advise for you is to start early and make sure you done your home work to compare quality and prices... My renovation took about 5 months ! Dread it ! But the cost is quite low with lots of work being done...... If you want my recommendation of my designer, let me know...or I can share some tips with you....

Dear Lilian,

I really love the look of your nest..... really cosy and nice......... and I can't imagine you only spent $32K++ for such a wonderful house.

I have a few questions thou, hope you can help to clear my queries .............

1. You overlaid the tiles in the Living & Dining Room and laid laminate flooring over the existing tiles for all the bedrooms?

2. What is the brand of the laminated flooring all rooms? Does it come with 10-year warrabty?

3. Where are the 2 units of false wall in your house located? May I know whether they are full-height walls and what is the length?

4. Did you have false ceiling in the entire house?? Does our quotation include the downlights and the lighting panel at the Foyer Area?

5. What is the total length of the Kitchen cabinet, top & bottom respectively? What is the material for the Kitchen top?

6. How long is the vanity top in the Master Bedroom Toilet? What is the material for the vanity top?

7. The built-in shelfing for the guest room is it just the wardrobe or include others;

8. What is the over dimension of your walk-in wardrobe in the Master Bedroom? Is it full-height? Does your quotation include any wardrobe doors?

9. Does that mean that your quotation exclude air-Con, wiring and ducting works, fixing of extra power-points, heaters? Can you advise other than the bedroom doors what other items are not included in your home renovation?

Sorry for the long list of question.

Thank you in advance for your patient answers.

Hi Kiroro,
I din try the gowns at BV as well, but when i tried the gowns at Silh, my FH's eyes nearly popped out. So amusing...i 'd guess it's the novelty of seeing me in a WG.

I think Silh's gowns are really well-cut and the fabric used is good. Hmmm...i remember the prices for Silh and BV is very similar. Is Silh more expensive now?

The latest i check for EE is that dates for Aug are taken...we are left with Sept onwds. But FH is leaving for the states in Jun and will only be bk Mar next yr...looks like i hv to book a date in Mar or end yr when he's back for vacation.

Thanks for the advice on reno....i'm on the look out for designer now, but my parents will only move out in Oct/ Nov to a new flat so still no hurry yet. thinking of checking out Jay Ang and Wallflower coz they are into more Asian-chino cum zen designs that i like.

How's your int. designer like? what's his/her design forte? u mind passing me his/her contact?

Any tips for a newbie like me? what shld i look out for?

5 mths is really long...what happen? i'm trying to do mine by end of yr and complete by Mar....dun noe whether it is possible now....stress...stress

Sorry to interrupt!

Just like to let you know that Ray Ong of Photo Language gives SingaporeBrides card holders an extra 6 pieces of 8R prints if you signed up for his $1800 wedding studio/outdoor photography package which is inclusive of 30 pieces of 8R prints.

You can find out more about other perks and privileges here.

Hi Hazel77,
I'm just like u, seldom talk here but I enjoy reading this thread. I'll be going for the high tea to know all of u better.

Hi Flowee,
Look forward to see more of yr ROM photos. Really love yr dress! I've an appt with Divine this Thur evening. Will let u know the outcome. It is the first bridal boutique tt I'm checking out.

Sue

Hi!Yi, would you mind can I have a look at your new home at Jurong West? My e-mail address is [email protected]

You stay at Blk 692 and I stay at Blk 640 Jurong West St 61 (my parent's house).My new home will be at Sembawang and I haven't take the key yet. Could I have a look at your house also?May I have you contact no and b4 I come to your house have a look I will call you first.It is alright for you.You can give me your contact no. through e-mail.

Evon Un

Hi Astrud,
Same here....My FH thinks the gown in Sihoutte is really fanatastic..I enjoy trying the gown over there. (In fact, most of the places, their gown are really small size 6 or 8 and only Sihoutee have the beautiful gown in size 10 for me to try out properly)..However the cost of SH slightly higher than BV. Moreover, BV work with pp like CHris Ling and Kim who are very well-known photographer. Most important of all, I like their natural style...Both my FH and I are not into the posy kind of wedding photo. I like simple and elegant style so I think BV can provide that.... In fact, I find their services are really good.
Actually, I just book the EE begining of this month and at that time Aug is still available...It seems that lots of catholic are getting married.....
My designer is from Chapin Design..you can see their work in the website...I am satisfied loh...I paid $42K to renovate the whole house which is 171sqm... It is a resale masionette ....and I have to rewire and replumbering the whole house. I did hack lots of wall and such...if you are keen, I can detail out the work for u.... Do get the designer toquote for u.... have a rough idea what u want you house to be like and compare the price (rem to ensure it is the same quality)

By the way, have u book u banquets at Hilton ? How much is per table ?

Hi Lavendar,

Wow, tatz a real long list of questions but I would try to answer all!

Firstly, sorry for not being able to capture my entire house’s concept. Whatz not shown is the study room, walk-in wardrobe, guest rooms and the false wall (which is my display area).

· As my flat is a standard unit, I do not have any tiling done for the living/dining and bedrooms. Thus, I chose homogenous tiles for the living/dining area and Prego laminated flooring for the bedrooms. As for the warranty, got to check with hubby coz I’m not sure;
· As for the false wall, one is the one connecting my dining table and another one is full-length covering one of my shelter opening (i.e. a display area for me);
· I only have false ceiling in my living and foyer area. As for lights, it is excluded from the quotation coz the designer would go with the owner to choose and the owner has to pay;
· As for the length of the kitchen cabinet, I’m not too sure but my bottom cabinet is off-the-ground type which my designer told me is in trend now;
· The material of the kitchen and vanity top is solid marble top (I think so!);
· Actually the built-in shelfing for my guest room is just a wenge wood plank for me to display things;
· Wow, my walk-in wardrobe is real big. I have the size about 4 units of a 2-door wardrobe with a full-length mirror;
· But my walk-in wardrobe does not have a door coz expensive lah so we custom-made sort of a curtain from IKEA instead (thus creating a very Japanese look lor!);
· My quotation just exclude furnishing, aircon, my bedroom doors, lightings, taps, sink, heaters and other miscellaneous items but it include wiring, ducting, fixing of extra power points, drilling of our miscellaneous items like curtain rods etc;

Hope my answers help to clear your queries.

Feel free to ask me if you need further clarifications.

Hi Evon,

You made a mistake, I stayed in Blk 660A not 692.

But anyway, I have emailed you the link.

Njoy viewing!

We will be going to Goodwood Park Hotel for a Tim Sum Buffet on this coming Sat. I am not sure who are coming...Only know Flowee, Flyn, Ling, popples(Elaine), Hazel, Sue going...whose name is not here? Please report okie? so that i can make sure we reserve enough seats...or else some of the gals will have to sit on the floor...haha

Shall we meet @ 2.45pm at Goodwood Park Hotel? or is there any better place to meet? Suggestions?

By the way, all those who are coming, please make sure you have a least one of the gals' contact number ok?

CHIN LENG! U wanna come join us?

Hi, I am a Sept 2003 bride.

I have gone through my ROM yesterday (21 May) but have not do much research or preparation for the customary and renovation (Punggol 21).

Sincerely hope this forum will grow so that we can exchange tips from each others.

Hi Hazel,

So it is confirm to be goodwood park. I presume it is the chinese resturant on the right of the hotel ya?

The tim sum buffet is @ Garden Seafood Restaurant @ Goodwood park hotel...anyone knows where is that restaurant located? me no know leh..

by the way, the buffet is @ $16.80+++, so each person will be around $19.20. Please bring small change ok?

flowee..*hugz* u also help..so do we meet at MRT or the hotel?

Hi Kiroro,
Juz got bk from a mtg
. lemme quickly chat before i go into another session.

Hmmm...yep, Silh has a really conducive environment for gown fitting. in fact, subsequently, i had ambience in my list of consideration....so weird right?

i think Silh ties up with Andrew Choi for photography and he's the natural style sort as well. u may want to check him out...but i think u are right that if u get him in the Silh pkge, it wld be more expensive than BV's.

Guess most imptly is to feel comfortable with the designer and her/his staff...have u spoken to Michelle yet? heard that she has a pretty strong personality which not everyone can click well with. U noe that Colin, the nice friendly chap u met up is her hubby?

In all, i think the BV pkge is really inclusive, but speak with Michelle...try a couple of gowns then decide lah...anyway, u have ample time. Hope i dun sound imposing or too kaypoh:P

On EE, i think there must be sudden influx of Catholic marriages. the website says book at least 3 -6 mths in advance. think i can only book once my FH's travel schedule is confirmed. * sigh *

As for the hotel venue, we have tentatively booked 14 June and will be placing the deposits this wkend. The per table should be abt $738 nett but since we know some of the staff there, we might be able to get some frills...still not sure yet.

Thanks for the reno recommendation.I think i will check out Chapin's website. my flat is rather old too...abt 21 yrs old...there will be a fair amt of hacking, changing all floor tiles and rewiring/ replumbing to do as well.

Mebbe u can help me...did ur cost include design charges? Can u give the breakdown on how costs are like so that i have a benchmark for comparison? Does the $42K include furniture? I'm not even sure how much i shld put aside for renovating a 4-rm flat... See how blur i can be....

Glad to know someone who can share ideas and help

Hi hazel,

thanks for coordinating...it's really hard work..*clap clap*
i won't be joining u all tis time as i'm not feeling too good...
enjoy yourself gals...

beanie,
i visited the wedding present, le galleria atelier, emanuel b and Jazreel Low Collections...
the most comical was wen we went to JLC, the sales coordinator thought tat Chijmes was too ex for us... probably we were wearing too plain...just t-shirt, jeans (me wearing shorts) and slippers... we almost fainted/"peng san" wen she kept saying isn't it "too" expensive??

Can I suggest Tea Chapter (Neil Rd - Tanjong Pagar) instead of Goodwood din sum High-Tea, coz me cannot eat prawns(seafood)

Tea Chapter is cheaper + also got dian xin. Moverover got games to play. Since you gals meeting about 3pm+ to 5pm, I think Tea Chapter more wu hua.
coz you gals maybe would have taken lunch liao.

Flyn, how about it? Gals any comment? but if still wan goodwood also can lah..

hi gers

cherubies

r u feelin better yet???
muz drink a lot of water ok...

take care hor

haz

meet where???
anythin lor c where r we headin 1st...

elaine

u koe the way there rite 4 tea chapter???
as long as easy 2 get there can oredi...

sherine

pls bring along ur rom pixs hor

I would try to make it for the gathering coz itz the first time I am meeting you all!

Did you all met b4?

Hi Astrud,
I will be most willing to help you out on the renovation. The reason there is a delay with my renovation is because I insist that the workers come and touch up (after the house is 90%done) when I am around. Reason being the house is full of stuffs by that time (TV, hob, Hook, fridge, oven), i am not comfortable to leave the key to them. I am only available during weekend, so all the touch up work is done during sat..... That is why there is a delay.
42K does not include any furniture. Maybe you can leave your email here and I can write down the detail for u.
I would love to try the gowns at bridal veil. But it seems that they do not let pp try their gown during shoppping period. Only at first appointment, then the gal get to try the gown......How do I request to try the gown ?

Flowee,

thanks...
drinking so much water until want to puke...=0P
still locating my pix..it's in my pc but cannot locate the file...will send you by tonite...ok?

Hi Yi,
some of us have met before. This is a second outing... alot of info available from the gals and feel free to ask... the gals are very friendly, approachable...will learn alot...
have fun...

Cherubies...muz rest well ok?

by the way...most of the hard work to coordinate the outing was done by Flyn lah..me only helping her to post the final outing details..so *clap clap* for flyn..and Flowee helped too!

now we got Flowee, Flyn, Ling, popples(Elaine), Hazel, Sue, Sherine, Yi..any more?

Elaine ahh...aiyo, y u no say earlier? heheh...Tea Chapter got buffet?

so how? change?

Hi Flyn, Flowee, and Hazel,

Thank you so much for organising this outing.

For the first outing, how many gals went?

Hi Juju & Ling,

I had wanted to start a thread for Sep 03 brides but for some reasons I din't.... Juju, thanks for starting this thread. Now we Sep 03 brides have our own thread too!

I am planning to wed on 14 Sep 03. Cos' I m only getting keys (PG21) in June 03' so thought Sep is a good time to do my customary.

Good knowing you girls, we can now share tips with one another.

Hi Kiroro,
thanks for ur help.

Oh i see...so the delay in not exactly due to work not up to par. i'm real fussy person so i think my contractors would have a hard time working for me.
So how's the wkmanship on the overall?

42K sounds like a lot for reno, but i think i won't need to spend so much coz my flat is only abt 100 sqm.

Love to have more info from you if u dun mind. My email address is [email protected]. Pls ignore the angmoh name that will be reflected on the email address...my fren who set up the account "anyhow" entered a name...i'm Chinese not angmoh...hehehe...

If i dun recall wrongly, u can try the gowns at BV. I know of pple who have done so. i din coz i din noe i could ask for that then. i'm sure the BV staff will allow u if u insist on it...work harder on Colin -i'm sure it would work. i mean one might like a particular style but yet not suit oneself. i won't feel comfortable if i dun noe how the gown "feels" on me and whether it has a certain wow factor. Michelle usually won't attend to u before u sign up so u need to convince Colin or any of the staff to let u try something - at least 1 WG.

1st appt is when u try the gowns for the purpose of finding out the design that best suits u together with trial make-up, i think to visualize the holistic efx. Michelle will take note of what works and what not as well as what u like then for designing purposes. personally, i feel that it may be risky to make an early committment and b too late to opt out later on.

Try telling them u hv shortlisted BV and u need to try a WG to make ur final decision. All other bridals do that as well. Dun say this on the phone...Do it when u are at the shop.

Hi flowee and oink,

When are you all visiting my love nest hah?

Since I never met you all b4, how to recognize each other hah?

Is Sep 2003 the lunar 8th month? If it is, this thread is going to be busy!

I'm a Sep 2002 bride. Just popping by to say "Hi".

Sorry I haven got the time to look through this thread. I'm going to be a MArch 2003 bride. Can I join in now? heee....
by the way, who is also Mar03 bride??

cheers,
beebee

hI Poodle,

Yes, SEp 2003 is the lunaar 8th month. When's your date? :?

Lilac,

mine is six days after your wedding day. mine on 20 sept 2003. yours on sun right
Wow, you get your keys on june 2003 and wedding in sep 2003. I think you will be very buzy when that day come.

House and wedding together very tedious. Think you got to book all your wedding things before June so that you will be free to do your Love nest.

gers

yi

can we go over next wk???
which daz r u ok with???
anyone of u gers interested 2 view yi's flat 2???
as 4 recognin each other, call one of the gers when u got there oredi lor...
shdnt b any prob rite???

cherubies

its ok lah
take ur time 2 search 4 tat pixs...
i hvnt scan mine either sorie 4 the delay...
glad 2 koe u r feelin better oredi...
muz take care ok...

ling

no prob lah...
next outing u will organize ok???

oink

we go yi's place next wk ok???
dun say cant hor...

haz & flyn

so how???
where 2 go on sat???

gers

yi

can we go over next wk???
which daz r u ok with???
anyone of u gers interested 2 view yi's flat 2???
as 4 recognin each other, call one of the gers when u got there oredi lor...
shdnt b any prob rite???

cherubies

its ok lah
take ur time 2 search 4 tat pixs...
i hvnt scan mine either sorie 4 the delay...
glad 2 koe u r feelin better oredi...
muz take care ok...

ling

no prob lah...
next outing u will organize ok???

oink

we go yi's place next wk ok???
dun say cant hor...

haz & flyn

so how???
where 2 go on sat???

Hi Astrud,
Thanks for your advice. I will probably to that in September.... Intend to sign up in Sept. If BV does not feel right then, i will probably go for The Wedding Present or Sih.... They said that they have a show in Sept and invited me to attend the show... I will probably to that to view more of the gowns.
As for the renovation, I will mail u over the weekend. Oh, keep in mind..... be fussy...I regret I did not insist on certain things...But I did got lots of free stuff from my designer. His designer fee is part of the renocation cost. Get a few quotations and compare the price from there. if there are lots of diff, tell them ...times are bad, they will try to match to get the deal. How much are you intend to spend on the house ? tiling and hacking are be expensive. To summarise what I have done:
1. Hack 6 walls
2. Erect a new wall and cover with cultured stones
3. Replace all doors (6 peices) and wrough-iron gates
4. Polish the marble floor for living and dining room
5. retile kitchen and common bathroom with homogenos tiles
6. retile the master bath with slates
7. laminate all 3 room
8. painting of whole house
9. rewire and repumblering
10. erect a walk-in wardrobe
11. A glass panel for bath room
12. Paquet flooring for the staircase
13. Kicthen cabinet with solid top
14. A breakfast table and simple bar counter
15. A wooden platform at the living room
16. remove all cornices and and install new ones.

That should be the summary...hope I did not miss out any major items....

Yi,
Can I go also to see also? My sis staying in JW also but i dunno the blk no. I want to kay poh kaypoh even though i have no Love nest.

Flowee,
No problem.

So sat how?? Flyn and haz have headache already.

Hi Kiroro,
thanks for everything. i probably need to scout around for prices to see how much i can afford and be able to do.

Ideally, I want to do to almost everything you have done except on a smaller scale...just that i dun have to do item 12, 14 and 16 wld be install cornices..no old ones to remove. Additionally, i thinking of constructing partitions in the living room, dinning and kitchen.

Looks like I would be busting my budget...i shd think my budget should be abt $30-35K. Hope I can still fit all in....Do u noe which bank provides a good reno loan? Does the ID typically help to arrange for a loan?

Speaking of which...what is ur home decor theme?
i thinking of modern oriental with Asian touches...

Look forward to hearing more info fr u this weekend.

Meanwhile, take ur time with the bridal shopping and only choose when u are truly comfortable...my designer and i share a rather gd r/ship whereby i drop by to chit chat with him outside of the scheduled appts.

Cheerios

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">hazel_77</FONT> - Alamak!! Tea Chapter is veri veri chinese kind tat you DIY your chinese tea with the traditional style...A veri lovely place.

They go by per head ($4.50 or $5 I think $4.50) then the total number of people you can order the more ex tea. They dun charge the tea coz they count per head. eg a 10 people so you can order $45 worth of Tea.

They also have small dian xin like bao, nuts, tea egg, cream puff... can't remember liao. Price about $2 - 4 kind.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Flowee</FONT> - Tea Chapter is quite near Tanjong Pagar MRT. Yup, I know the way. Can meet at Tanjong Pagar MRT, then walk there loh.

hullo all,

huh? change location again??
elaine, it's tim sum hi tea, not totally seafood...u can skip prawns mah... anyway, me anything wan... aft that i'm going to rasa to see the evening wedding setting... tea chapter also near near sentosa hor?? alamak...me confused liao...so how?? dun ask me hor?? me qin chai wan.....

Hey, juz a thot... Since most of us would like to visit Ling's place, y not we cancel this sat gathering, then we go to ling's place for potluck?? or we order home delivery?? Is it ok ah, ling?? No obligation hor...juz a thot oni...hehhehe

Flyn,

are you talking about me or another ling??
is it Yi's house that you are refering to?

I also go where also can. so how?

Where are we going???

yah you are right, next year will be a busy year for me. But I guess if I have the banquet confirmed and photo shoot done earlier, then should not be a problem. Have not started really started looking around for banquet venue and bridal shop. Thinking of doing it in Sep this year or even end of the year. Do you think its too late?

aiyah...sorry ah!!! yah wat i meant is yi's place... sorry wrong no. hehehehe

Yi, will u mind us going over to ur place for put luck or order home delivery nxt sat?? No obligation hor...

Lilac,

BAsically, it is still early now. however, if you are going to hold your dinner at more popular places, i think it is time to start now. otherwise, it will be fully book since yours is on a weekend.

gers

yi u mind if we go 2 ur place 4 potluck on sat???
can make it a 2 person event instead allow 2 brin ur bf &amp; spouse along...

Me will also be having the customary wedding in 2003. Most likely in Sep or Oct. The date not fixed yet. Heard that the tongshu not out yet, and won't be out so fast. So can't really settle on a date :o(

I just ROMed on 17 May :o)

Because of the date thing, we still have not booked the banquet which is a bit worrying.. haha...scared not enough time to book :o(