(2003) Brides of year 2003

Flyn, Ling, popples(Elaine), Hazel, Sue, Sherine, Yi ( anyone i miss out??? )

had finalised our plans 4 the comin outin...
we will go 4 tim sum buffet @ Garden Seafood Restaurant @ Goodwood park hotel as scheduled...
the high tea will commenced from 3pm onwards...
i'll c u gers on 25th may @ 2:45pm goodwood park hotel lobby...
u can contact either haz or myself when u get there...
lookin 4ward 2 meetin u gers...

yi

besides oink & myself, haz, tinki, flyn & ling r interested 2 view ur love nest...
is tat ok with u???
can we make it on wed or thurs nite???

Great to find couples who are getting married in Sep next year. My date would most prob be on the 6th...going to do customary and ROM on the same day....now still deciding on banquet venue...been searching for a while...

From wat I noe, it is never early to start searching...for instance Hyatt is has all the ballrms tentatively booked on 6th Sep 2003...

Hello everyone,

Next Sat is not ok for me coz hubby says want to go either JB or KL leh! But Wed or Thurs is okay with me, just let me know what time you all coming over okay? Any changes, I would keep you all informed in advance!

So tat means outing confirmed at Goodwood Park?

Hi Yi,

Thank you so much for the time taken to answer to my LONG list of question.

Seems like you quotation is really good value for money. I will contact the designer.

Maybe next time if can take some pics for your Study Room, Bedroom and walk-in wardrobe, Guest Rooms, the fasle wall at the shelter opening )(bomb shelter, I suppose?)and show us lor.

Thank you once again.

hi everyone!

yi,

thanks!!! next wed or thurs is fine with me...do keep me informed.

flowee,

of coz can go! finally can see u in person @_@

oink

Hi Sep03,

when you say tentatively booked, do you mean those people actually paid deposit to "chop" the date? Cos' I have heard that some hotels will only blocked the dates for you for a few weeks and then you will have to make a deopsit if not they will release your date.

Actually, many couples have started to get hotels to block the date for them, but there are couples who already paid a deposit for the ballrm though...

...moreover, weekend dates for the "8th" mth is very "hot"...so it's never too early to tentative book the hotels and go down to look at the ballrms...

Hi hazel,

I should be able to attend if nothing crops up at the last minute. Coz my parents might be visiting my new place coz they haven't seen it since it was completed in Dec 2001 leh! Feel bad lah coz parents-in-law came over umpteen times and my parents not been there yet!

But I will surely try my very very best to make it okay?

Who should I contact when I reach there if I can make it? I never seen you all b4 leh!

Hi everybody, mi also getting married nxt year on
13 sept (sat). don't quite like the "13" but since
"shi fu" pick this day so no choice lor.

Not yet start searching for bridal shop, but already started searching for banquet.

Hi pacific,

how's your banquet search?...me looking at the smaller rooms coz thinking of having a cozy solemnisation cum dinner...

BTW, mind I ask you all a sensitive question?

How old is all of you hah?

I'm born in the year 1976 and will be turning 26 in Nov this year. My hubby same age as me and we are born on the same day, same month and same year! Fate maybe!

yi,

me born in 77. wow! serious? so coincidental. think really is fated. so u got also married on both ur bdays??

oink

hi gals!

me too me too! *raise hands and legs*

wedding date for ling and I same same

but i busy ....can't really chat here much...but will pop in

Hi sunflower!
So now there's also a thread for dec03 brides!
And are your wedding preps exciting too?

Right now we are sourcing for banquet venue, have more or less decided on the hotel, just need to see a few more to compare... other than that, still too early to do much else, except to daydream first lor!

Wow...how do u girls able to fix the date so fast? Shifus able to get the date for next year already?

Hi Gers,

Mine is end 2003, not yet fix the date. Might be anywhere between oct to dec.

I just got ROMed.

naturally, which hotel has u spotted?

I've booked with Conrad for June 03 (late june). Cannot be too obvious for certain reasons. But I think our dates did not clash , not to worry

Likelihood of choosing BV is high. They have a show this Sat and some promotion package going on if u sign within this month. Looks like we are quite similar in choices -> (kiroro) I've tried WEdding present: not fantastic and not comprehensive enough within budget. Fontienne at Suntec also have very ordinary and typical style.

BTw, me too is a catholic, so is my bf. I just sent out the form for MPC few days ago. EE is fast I agree but I dread the feeling of camping. So too bad.

So that makes 3 catholic brides to be.
cheers.

Hi kk,
Congrats on your rom! So now honeymoon-period lah! *wink*

i'm also ROMed, in feb02.

We're thinking abt getting panpac, will meet them this sat. Merchant court, marina mandarin, carlton, and marriott, are also pretty nice, though the latter is prob too pricy (still waiting for their email quotation...) So are u also "buoy-ing" any venues? We can share share our findings

kk, read in another thread that u mention tong shu isn't out, so cannot choose date yet... how abt getting the chinese fortune-tellers to pick a date first, i think they shd be able to give u a date now, so that u can place a tentative booking with your hotel/restaurent on that date(don't pay deposit first, just in case), and when the tong shu comes out, then double-check the date! Just a kiasu suggestion lah... hee!

Hi Flowee,
I'm really really sorry because I've a last minute appt with a bridal boutique. Therefore, I can't make it for this Sat outing. Can I join u on the next one? Thks for organising.

Hi Gals, enjoy yrself & hope to c all of u personally one day!

Wow!Yi, you are really good at finding a husband leh...
I am also born in 1976 and my FH is a year older... When are your weddings? Mine in Nov'03. :p

Mine in Nov'03. Booked Holiday Inn ParkView. Currently sourcing for contractors for my sembawang flat...headache leh...

Got good contractors to recommend?

Yi,

YOu bring over your marriage from teh previous live is it????????

My bf and I same year 1978 but different month. hehe

Anyway, looking forward to see your love nest>>

Ling

Pacific,

Have your found your ideal venue for banquet??

KK,

the shifu just need the couples date and time. both parents year of biirth. will do. They will tehn calculate a few dates for you to choose.

girls,

enjoy searching and planning for your wedding.

cheers!@@

apologies from mi bcos i have to fly to KL this afternoon (last minute decision by my boss) and will only be back on Sat afternoon...so i'll have to give this outing a miss...sorrie

U gals enjoy and have a good time k...

Sherine

hi naturally,kk,sweetie,

Yeah
excited. though still about 1 1/2 away. Mi now also sourcing out for banquet venue. Going to view the decor at Alkaff mansion this weekend....see how it goes.....
Going to Fullerton as well to view the decor soon....

naturally,
i'm also ROMed in FEB 02

sweetie,
you can try those list of contractors from HDBBAY http://www.hdbay.com/ Should be more reliable i think.

Anyone of you started to look at bridal packages already? Seems like a bit early?

~sunflower~

Hi Sept03 & Ling,

Due to tight budget..... cos will be getting my new
house next year so must save enough $$ for reno.

Tentatively..... are looking at Holiday Inn Park View and Plaza Hotel@ Beach Road.
i think these 2 hotel min table req is 25 table.

Wat is your budget & nos of guest ??

Pacific,

How is the booking at plaza hotel now? I dun know when i will start booking. Worried by then, the dates will all be taken up by other couples.

Naturally,

No special feeling after the ROM.. haha... we only plan for a tour in december. Now cannot go tour coz we are busy with renovations :o(

Merchant court difficult to book rite? And that time i went for a bridal fair there. Got their price list. Somehow feel that their prices have increased tremendously.

If i dun place deposit, what if the date that is going to be finalised later is taken up? Then i will still be stuck with this not-too-sure date.. hahaha...

Sweetie,

I got my own contractor to recommend to u. Interested? I just started my renovation on Tuesday. The contractor done up my brother's place before and the my brother sub-contract the whole office renovation and maintenance to the contractor.

Sunflower,

Alkaff mansion is near my workplace.. hahaa... my colleagues always go jogging and bypass there :P
But i personally have not taken a look there.

I already booked my bridal package. In fact i got my rom dress and bouquet from the shop.
So far so good :o)
Happy with their service :o)

Hi Yi,

Can I have your pictures too? I am also looking for a contractor for my resale flat. Most interested in looking at your walk-in wardrobe,u mention that u custom-made curtain for it! Me also dun intend to have doors too but yet dun wish to be too "expose" & messy, hope to get some ideas! Can email me at [email protected]

sunflower:
hey, we have our rom and customary at abt the same times!

Just a suggestion, have u looked at conrad yet? My friend will be holding her wedding there next mth, her reason for choosing conrad over fullerton was that conrad's stage was better. I quite like the idea of 12-per-table also, too bad no $$$ leh!

But personally i like fullerton, a new building with a rich history, it kinda lends a romantic and sentimental feeling, which i think is so apt for weddings... *dreamy look*
It's also out of budget for us, but never mind lah, i still hope someone else can have a fairy tale wedding there...

Sweetie:
U have already booked your dinner venue so early in advance... good to have one thing off your mind. Agree hiring contractors are such headaches, i think honesty and reliability are most impt though, good luck with your search!

And just to add to sunflower's suggestion abt HDBay... have u read the thread on them? I also used to think that having these 3rd party companies like HDBay or IDconnect is more reliable, but it's also possible that the downside would be higher costs, 'cos contractors may pass the middleman fees for HDBay to customers?

And just one more thing, make sure u have a proper contract with them hor! They are a bunch of tricky people, have things down in black and white, that's the only way to ensure they don't shortchange u! U may wish to get a copy of standard reno contract at any post offices, $5 each.

Hi Pacific & kk,

me also interested in Plaza Hotel leh. Been to 2 weddings there already and found the food quite good. And the fairly spacious reception area is a plus too. Any idea what's the rate for next year?

Hi kk,
didn't see your post earlier...

I know wat u mean by no special feeling... it's like a downswing after the rollercoaster feel of rom-ing, suddenly not much to look forward to... i even start wondering why we rom so early?

But at least u have the reno to keep u happily occupied!

Yeah, i heard abt merchant court being difficult to book... got your dilemma, true true, better not to get stuck with "not-so-sure" date! It's just kiasu mentality on my part!

kk,
Good tat you have settle on your bridal package! which bridal shop do u book with? I'm thinking of trying out X-Zen, heard that their service is quite good. Many satisfied customers.

naturally,
yeah, i also find that Fullerton has a very unique charm. Heard reviews saying their service is very good. Well, have to take a look personally to make any decision. Their price are quite steep actually, i tot Conard price is also quite steep?

btw ladies, i've got the banquet quotations for Merchant Court, Grand Copthorone Waterfront. If you gals interested i can email u. Just let me know

Sweetie,
good tat you are already into yoour house reno. So you can settle it once and for all before your BIG day!

Anyone of you here are future residents of PUNGGOL21?

~sunflower~

hi brides 2 b...

droppin by 2 say hi...

my weddin date shd b in either nov or dec 2003...
hvnt booked any bridal nor banquet yet...

naturally

nice 2 c u here...
so how's ur banquet venue comin along???
confirmed ur weddin daz will b 20th dec oredi???

Sunflower,
Me will stay in P21 too! Mine is at 6XX, ECD is dec03, shd expect to get keys by jun03... and where's your new place?

I just thot if u're considering fullerton, then maybe u can also look at conrad too, i think both are abt same price range, conrad's pricing is per 12 persons, u know right? So after converting to 10 persons, both are ard $850+++ range for weekends. Conrad seems to have better reviews though.

Thanks for offering to share the quotations, actually i also have merchant court's and grand copthorne's... and also for orchard hotel, panpac, marina mandarin, grand plaza, grand hyatt, four seasons, fullerton (sunflower, u want?)etc... haha, a lot hor? just for comparison lah, if u want to do research, might as well do it well! haha!

Hi flowee! Nice to see u too!

Date not really confirmed yet, will need to take another look at their ballroom before booking with them... and how's your search for id firms? Meeting another one this weekend?

Hi naturally,

*hee* *hee*...not only we are ROMed in FEB 02. We are also staying near to each other!!!
My block is oso 6XX. *hee*

We might be neighbours u know! yeah, hdb say our flat should be ready by earliest Mar 03. Maybe give them more allowance. as wat u said, get keys in JUN 03.

wow! u already done so many research
I will concentrate on those few that i mention. too many wait blur ar! :P

Hi flowee,
welcomes .....u are welcome to share all plans and excitements! :D

~sunflower~

Just to confirm...izit Flyn, Flowee, Ling, Hazel, Sue, Yi & me going for the Goodwood high-tea dim sum 2molo? Anybody else going?

Meet there at wat time ah? 3pm-5pm izit?

Me bringing me videographer's works, so anyone interested, plse come. Not to worry, we wouldn't eat u.

Hi beebee,

Welcome into our group. Just keep your postings coming. Wan to join us in our outing 2molo?

Me also a Mar03 bride.

elaine

its onli the 5 of us left coz flyn might nt b able 2 join us...
u ok with tat???

ling & yi

do u hv our contact number???

naturally & sunflower

tks 4 the warm welcome...

naturally

which ballrm r u viewin this wk???
i aint meetin any id this wkend...
still waitin 4 the 3 id 2 get back 2 us...
meetin up with some of the gers in the 2003 bride threats...
u gers wana 2 join us???

sunflower

i am nt stayin veri far from u gers...
juz opp p21 @ sengkang...
shd b collectin my keys in 2wks time...
shd b defer my collection of keys...

Hi Sunflower & Naturally,

me also your future neighbours leh...hehe future nest also blk 6XX but I am planning for customary to be in Sep 03. If you girls don't mind, can I share the quotations for the banquet if it is not too much trouble.

Lilac,

Yah, me been there before last year for my colleague's wedding. The food is nice :o)

The plus point is that the prices are in nett. And free flow of beer!

U can check out http://www.my-marriage.com/ and check out plaza hotel from under "venue" from there. The prices and menu for 2003 is out :o)