(2003) Brides of year 2003

meowie

LKF,
The shop close pretty late. Think last time i ever go at 8pm they still open. But i didn't get their contact number. Yes they do have other designs but i'm not very sure other designs also placed in this kind of box or not. All designs big and small are the same price

kristen

hi Cutiechar,
My PS same day as yours
20 Sept..better pray hard that it won't rain! I hope I will be lucky enough to take a nice pic with sunset. The BS told me it all depends on luck. Where will you be doing? One of my choices would be labrador park..

Ur mum just like mine..she told me white gold no value..insisted on buying me gold..Luckily my MIL bought me white gold..at least that would be somtehing I will wear more often..ehhe..

Teatree, when your wedding? Heh..mine will be an easy day for my FH to remember..no excuse of not remembering our anniversary hahaha..

It must be really fun going for PS rite? hmm...was your sis bored? I am thinking of asking my good friend to tag alone..
Where did you go for your outdoor shots?

micky_m

Have a nice time on your PS.... remember to share with me your photos ok...

Sorry if i left anyone out for my photos... please let me know your e-mail address again...

sandgirl72

wow.. our thread is getting more n more active as our big day draws closer...

hi piper

yeah in fact my hubby & I were very anxious to see the proof.

maybe we will bring a fren who will tap on our shoulder if we have exceed our budget for photos.. kekekeee

btw, which printer did U use? we too went to t-dragon to select our cards.. we got 2 colors - red (relatives) and cream (frenz)..we're printing inserts and our cost did not exceed the price range given by the hotel.. *phew wat a relief!

for my 'si dian jing or zhuan', my Dad recently bought me a diamond bracelet which I love it very much.. and got a solitaire diamond pendant from my Mom.. i dont need ear rings cos i got no ear hole.. hehehee..

sandgirl72

Hi cutiechair
so have U manage to speak to Jemina about yr mani / pedi on Thurs?

well for my indoor & outdoor PS, I did not bring anything related to make up cos my BS said no need. MOST IMPORTANT is to bring WATER (at least 2 bottles), some light snacks or bread to munch on..

will help U to pray for good and nice weather so that U can enjoy yr outdoor PS...

hi GIRL & kristen
don't worry la.. will also help both of U to pray for good and nice weather too..

hi teatree
i m very well awared of my double chin lor.. but my dear photographer just keeps reminding me about it lor.. until such a point, i tell him i can be the next "Emil Chou / Zhou Hua Jian" with sharp pointed chin after my 2 days of PS.. hahahaa

hi micky_m
will I be too late to see yr pics? thank U in advance.. U can click on my nick to get my email address.

yve

meow, the teaset is very nice!! got 2 cups with it?

are, if u can make it for this coming gathering, we will finally meet!!

piper

hi sandgirl,

I went to Tdragon as well....actually wanted the cream colored cards but his dad disapprove. In the end, we get all the red cards...save me the trouble to count how many red & how many cream cards to print.

We are printing them directly on the cards....too lazy to tie the inserts with the cards..but we printed the hotel's address as well just in case the old folks dunno the location. total cost abt $200++ for ard 250 cards.

Actually i find that all the gold/zuan signifies their "xin yi"...think how they treat me daily/after marriage is more impt than how thick/big the gold chain/diamonds are....just my tots lah...

teatree

hi kristen,

she's very tired towards the end, and i insisted that she wore my shoes and i wore her slippers. hehehe... evil hor. but my feet were blistered badly. anyway, she's okay with tagging along. she just said that next time she takes photos i have to follow her.

my wedding is 14 dec. hehehe yup yup guys always forget important (at least to us important) dates.

i went to holland v, my church and east coast park. where else are you thinking to go to besides labrador park?

my parents are also buying me only yellow gold. hiks hiks.... i don't think i would want to wear them cos i don't like yellow gold. my sisters have tried to plead white gold for me to no avail.

and my fiance told me that i'm getting yellow gold too from his parents. hehehe... maybe can open yellow gold jewellery store after this.

wenz

Hi Leo29
My GDL will be pretty similiar to yours except no trotter and XO so no need to return F&N Orange right??
As for gal side, is it a must to buy towel for my SIL and Shoes for my FIL and MIL?
The last time when we discussed GDL, they keep asking what we want but never tell us what they want.
Then what about trousers & shirt/belt for husband?? what dialect is that? I a bit blur already.

wenz

i also can make it on both days..

Gathering Attendance Update:
Sept 19 - Besse, Akira, Amore, Wenz
Sept 26 - Leo, Meow, Besse, Kopibean, Yve, Akira, Putise baby, Aloevera, wedsoon, Amore, Ann, are, Wenz

are

yve... ya, i've oni gone for 1 so din get to meet tat many novas. hope to finally make it too. ;P

meow... dun worry abt your dad's request, mine came up to 40 boxes & 36 cans. am paying on our own as well, for guy's side. mum oni paying for jia zhuang.

i'm finally done with buying things for jia zhuang! wat a relief! ;P

leo29

Wen,

I not very sure lei. I do according to my parents instructions and XO was my MIL idea. To me, all this is GDL stuffs are like 1 to 1 exchange. so if they never give then no need to return. As for the towel and shoe, not a must. All this are just a tradition follows. Just do whatever you are comfortable with. No trousers & shirt/belt for my hubby but my parents will buy him a ring for tea serving which i heard from them that it's a must.

Besse,

Me make up my mind on the honeymoon place lol... guess where.... no more Europe but New Zealand. As I'm departing in mid dec, was really worry on the weather so decided to drop it. I told my hubby, if my stomach Bu4 Zeng1 Qi4, next year then we will go Europe, hahaha....

sandgirl72

Hi Piper
good the morning! our cost for printing around 260 inserts is around $120. initially we wanted to print on the card itself but we're worried that it will have reflection thus makes it difficult for the elderly guests to read.

were U served by Connie as well? she is a very friendly and efficient lady. i find her always in the "ON" mode... hahahaaa

i do agree with U on the gold or diamond issue. Those are just for 'show' only.. wat matters most is how they treat U in yr daily life with them..

leo29

Are,

What jia zhuang u bought? Jewelry? Gold or white gold? My mum keep asking me to buy but i just can't bring myself to the shop. Hmm... shall do it next mth.

piper

hi sandy,

there's two types of print - matt & shiny gold. We opt for the matt one...think won't reflect light. I was served by Wendy (i think). It was quite crowded that day so all the staff were quite busy....Actually, on the whole, their staff are fairly ok lah.

Just check with u, when u print ur/his parents names in chinese, do u put "Father's name fu(1)-fu(4)" or "Parent's name fu(1)-fu(4)"? My FIL say must put down my MIL's name also...like tat won't the card be very cramped with info?

are

leo29... i nvr asked for white gold cos i know both sides wun allow. frm my mum, she already brought me to buy the 'rope + choc' long ago. no comments allowed so juz go & say ok oni.

as for hubby's side, MIL allowed me to choose, so i bought a necklace + earrings w small diamonds, & a gold bracelet lor. happened to go to lee hwa on their 1st day of 32% discount, so price was gd. had gone to abt 4 lee hwas before i bought cos each shop hv diff design. i like their gold design cos v modern, can wear next time.

i wld think u shd start soon. cos its not sure hv wat u like one. mine took 2 wks of intensive hunting! ;P

chicory

Seems like most of you have either gone for PS already or going to soon. I am still waiting for my turn in Oct
. Seems that mine is quite late.

Hi Naturally,

Thanks for sharing your outdoor PS locations, cuz' mine will be on a sunday too
. Need to find out more locations suitable for weekend PS.

Hi Cutiechar and Kristen,

Do share with me your outdoor locations after you have taken your PS, ok? Thanks in advance

Cutiechar, who is your PS photographer?

Hi tingting,

Have you gone for your final fittings and trial yet?

I need advice on where you all bought the groom's ties? Which dept stores or boutiques have huge collections? Thanks.

sandgirl72

Hi Piper
We put as "Father's name Fu(1) Fu(4)". I think it will be slightly cramped lor.. have Wendy faxed U the artwork yet?

maybe U can ask her to have 2 artwork, 1 with "Father's name Fu Fu" and the other with "parent's name Fu Fu".

then U will be able to see if the layout is crampy or not? or U can ask Wendy for her advice since they have printed numerous cards.

leo29

Are,

I will ask my mum to buy me white gold but.... don't know she will agreed or not. I should have visit those shops that having discount, i think last mth, I was just too lazy. Now Ai wan already becos I want to buy myself a diamond earing, pendant and braclet, should have get a good bargain if i buy during that period.

Min,

Have you confirm your food tasting date? My is on Oct 30.

Meow,

Did you keep Priscilla inform on our gathering?

are

leo29... i wld advise u to ask 1st. cos when we wer there, i wanted more 'modern' design but mum was quite stubborn so i decided not to fight to save ourselves the embarassement. ;P but she has her own thinking lah, cos pure gold more 'investment' mah, then next time i down & out can always pawn for $$! ;P

i think the promos r still on now for lee hwa and soo kee? we really saved a lot w the 32%. lee hwa has ltd pcs per design oni, so was quite lucky to get on 1st day. tis is real not gimmick cos i saw another set previously, but 3 days later, sold liao & no other shop hv! ;P

naturally

Morning gals!

Sandy and piper,
I went to t-dragon last evening, chose one cream card and another red card. We wanted something simple, so it was fairly easy to choose. All those different types of prints, insert papers, fonts etc made us quite blur!

Aiyoh, Piper, the proper way is to put Father's name "fu1 fu4", married women has to take husband's name, no status of her own one! *sob sob so sad* The only reason to put down both Parents' name is if they are divorced... but dun say that to your FIL in case u offend him, let your hubby tell him that this is wat printing co people said.

piper

Hi naturally,

tat's the problem...i oredi told my dear FIL tat when they put down the name separate, means they divorced or remarried...but he say like tat never respect my MIL.

He told me "It's only in the olden days , when women do not have status that they only put down their husband's name" He say like tat, then i speechless liao....
Think now the only way is to wait for the proof & pass it to him to edit.

meowie

Yve,
There's 4cups, was covered by the plate lah.

Leo,
The information wasn't ciruclate in the mails i sent. Maybe can sent thru Nova's so all can read and remind. Can you do that for me? My mouse spoilt. Using keyboard to move around. Very troublesome

mtmtmt

Hi wenn, oops I forgot about the belt & trousers & ring for HB from my mum. My mum Cantonese- erm, abit confused when she's supposed to give the belt & trousers (GDL or AD?)

The ring is given during tea ceremony.

mtmtmt

Anyone knows where I can get a nice jewellery box WITH COMPARTMENTS for pendants, bracelets, earrings- I have quite many of each supposed to stuff all nicely displayed.

I found Taka has leather versions but rather bulky, and Great World City used to have a very nice simpler box (but I waited too long now no more).

Not the usual jewellery store give the free heart-shaped or whatever box cos not enough compartments my mum will have to sew the rest of the pieces on very lehcheh.

Hi are... can tell your parents gold price dropped so much leh. My granma just passed me something she bought in '88... wah, now only 60-70% the original price she paid, if go pawnshop even worse price. I heartache ah.

are

MT.. no pt lah... cos to them white gold no value. i see no pt in fighting lor. anyway, i'm not a jewellery person, so one set enuff to last me a lifetime! ;P

wenz

Hi Leo29 & Are
So Jia Zhuang is different from Si Dian Jin??? I have already bought one set of jewellery for myself - is SDJ or JZ? For JZ, is it for GDL or AD??
Sorry until now still very confused by all these terms....

leo29

Ok.... Meow

Gals..., I just draft out the Ang Bao list. Did i miss out any?
-Xiong Di
-Xiong Di(Driver)
-Bridal Car Driver
-Groom's nephews???
-PIL???
-Open bridal car-Groom side
-Bride's parents
-Bride's Sis/Bro+gf/bf(Tea Serving?)
-Ah Yees
-Ah Yee open door
-Open bridal car-Bride side
-Photograher
-Video man

meowie

Wenz,
Think Jia Zhuang is suppose to be given by the girl side and SI Dian Jin is given by the male side. Am i correct?

feb

Hi Leo

Finally decided on your HM liao huh...Must be a relief liao lor...no need headache to see where u want to go...

How many days u booked to NZ and which travel agent?

leo29

Yap, meow you are rite.

Wenz,

All jewellerys bought by gal side are call JZ. No matter is you bought or parents bought. And to be send over to guy side during GDL. Nowaday ppl seldom do in this way becos many are not staying wif PIL. Last time they do in this way becos they want to show off to guy's side relatives. I'm not going to do in this way. Will bit by bit bring my things(Even the pillows, Bloster, bedsheet....) over to my new house so GDL will concentrate in distributing the cakes....

serene_sng

IM BACK!!! wow.. so many things to read...*faint*

Meowie,
I bought your flowers but i think i got the wrong sizes liao... you might like to take a look first..The teaset is really very pretty.. must go & buy!!!

I will be available for both dates..

leo29

Feb,

Decided but... haven't book. Waiting for the Natas show. Basically will go for more then 10 days trip and cover North and South NZ. But they got so many package, don't know which to choose. Did you cover N&S? Do you have the itineary? Can share share with me?

leo29

Gathering Attendance Update:
Sept 19 - Besse, Akira, Amore, Wenz, Serene
Sept 26 - Leo, Meow, Besse, Kopibean, Yve, Akira, Putise baby, Aloevera, wedsoon, Amore, Ann, are, Wenz, Serene

aloevera

leo,
u shld hv covered most of the angbao needed.. neber heard of giving PIL angbao leh..tot it should be the other way round, ie they give us during tea ceromony? btw, i heard tat we need 2 give ang bao to small kids & cousins who are still singles when we see the on our AD. izit true huh? like tat quite xiong leh.

naturally

Hi Piper,

In that case, then would u put down your mother's name also? If not, it would seem like your FIL give your MIL a lot of respect, but your father never... Actually wat your FIL said also makes sense, shows that he is not like us, blindly following tradition, heehee! Hope the proof will look okay...

amore

wenz... ya it teochew custom... but if u want normal cake oso can depends on ur parents and PIL... initially my mum wanted "Jia Nu Er Bin" as my mum is a hainan... similar to canto.. but leh my big auntie commented should follow guy side which is the teochew peanut sweets.. so we looking for peanut sweets for my mum... some normal HDB cake shop got sell... think u shld have seen it before... peanut and "mai ya" put together... like a lego block... got sesame one oso.... as need to order in big bulk... so need to find one that make dat...

piper

hi naturally,

i also dunno......then the english wording also have to put parent's name.

think will get my hubby to speak to him....

leo29

Aloe,

Other then tea serving, thoes Ang Bao given are for them to heng heng. Those that i put ?, i not very sure also. But I tot if we are suppose to give our parents AB then PIL should have also mah. Wait my hubby complain i not fair. If it's tradition law, then PIL lugi lor.

Not too sure is that a must to give for Kids and cousins. The kids you refering to your niece and nephew? But I heard my mum said in olden days, they need to give AB to all the kids, include neighbour kids. For me, i will just give to kids(niece, nephew and cousins), got related one.

leo29

Amore,

Sorry for being Kpo... But hor, you should follow gal side dialect becos this things are for our gal side relatives.

amore

aloevera... ya we need to give kids and cousins ang bao as long as they are not married... they are to servce us tea.... instead of us serving them... dat is the reason for ang bao for them... er the ang bao dun hafta b big... $10 or $12 can liao...

but on the other hand depends on family oso... for my family case.. I dun expect all my cousins to come in the morning as my AD is on a working day...unless those on sch holi... so the tea ceremony will only be with my aunties and uncles..... if they all really come... i oso beary siong... I have abt 20 of them... not married... not included nieces and nephews yet!

amore

leo.... dunno leh... dat's wat my big auntie told my mum....my mum say she want... just give it to her lor... she doesn't want anything... just this sweet and suckling pig on AD... so we just need to source of this and suckling pig for AD....

feb

Leo

I booked the 11 days with Farmstay in NZ. Yes it covers both North and South..Hope is not to rush for us.. Think the itineary is somethings like this :

Day(s) Activities

1 SINGAPORE - CHRISTCHURCH
Assemble at Singapore Changi International Airport for your flight to Christchurch.

(Meals on board)

2 CHRISTCHURCH - CITY TOUR
Upon arrival, you go on a drive through acres of well-kept parklands, gothic-style buildings and Elizabethan mansions, and discover why this city is also called "the most English city outside England". Your City Tour includes stops at the famous Cathedral Square and the rugged Cashmere Hills where you can catch a view of Christchurch city. If time permits, stop at the Mona Vale garden and Arts Centre to enjoy the displays. Tonight, you may like to try your luck at the Christchurch Casino.

Note : Smart casual attire is required for entrance to the casino.

(Breakfast on Board/Chinese Dinner)

3 CHRISTCHURCH - LAKE TEKAPO - MT. COOK - QUEENSTOWN
Travel through the Canterbury Plains, over Burke Pass, into the McKenzie Country. Stop at the Church Of The Good Shepherd, a small memorial set against a spectacular backdrop of snow capped mountains and turquoise waters of the lovely glacier-fed Lake Tekapo. Visit Mount Cook National Park Region, also known as "Aorangi" or "The Cloud Piercer". If weather permits, take an optional helicopter flight up to the Tasman Glacier and experience the thrill of landing on a sparkling white snowfield. In the evening, reach the major resort town of Queenstown, nestled beside the deep blue waters of Lake Wakatipu.

(Breakfast/Chinese Lunch/Western Dinner)

4 QUEENSTOWN
The day is Free for your leisure. Join an optional tour to send your adrenaline level soaring with action sports like white water rafting or jetboating in the rivers. Or join in the excitement of bungee jumping. More sedate activities abound for those of you who are not quite into thrill seeking. Experience the pleasures of horse riding or go on a day trip to Milford Sound to take in the breathtaking sights.

(Breakfast)

5 QUEENSTOWN - ARROWTOWN - WANAKA - HAAST - FOX GLACIER
As you head towards the West Coast of the South Island, your first stop is Arrowtown. You will make a brief stop to see its many original gold rush era buildings. Next stop is the glacier Lakes of Wanaka and Hawea before we head for Haast Pass. Moving on, arrive at the world-famous Fox Glacier in the Westland National Park. Experience the magnificent living remnants of the last Ice Age as you step into a stunning landscape hewn by ice. If time and weather permits, you may want to join an optional guided walk to the foot of the glacier or a snow landing helicopter ride.

Note : In the event of various circumstances, viewing of Fox Glacier may be changed to Franz Josef Glacier.

(Breakfast/Western Dinner)

6 FOX GLACIER - HOKITIKA - GLASS BLOWING AND GREENSTONE FACTORY - CHRISTCHURCH - WILLOWBANK WILDLIFE RESERVE
Travelling along the coastline of the West Coast with a view the green Tasman Sea, you will arrive at Hokitika. A stop will be made to visit a Glass-Blowing Factory to see the gorgeous creations of the skilful glassblowers. See the jade from the West Coast of New Zealand, at the Greenstone Factory. Here you will get an insight into jade manufacturing and carving. Continue the journey back to Christchurch via Arthur's Pass and the Canterbury Plains. In the evening, visit the Willowbank Wildlife Reserve for your dinner and a tour of New Zealand's nocturnal wildlife like the kiwi bird.

(Breakfast/BBQ Dinner)

7 CHRISTCHURCH - AUCKLAND - WAITOMO GLOW WORM CAVES - SHEARING SHED - ROTORUA
Today, catch a flight to Auckland. Upon arrival, you will be taken south towards Waitomo, where you will get to explore the breathtaking interior of the limestone-sculpted Waitomo Caves. Board a boat and journey deep into the depths of the caves until you are greeted by the sight of millions of Glow Worms, illuminating the darkness of the grotto. Next, visit the Shearing Shed where you will see scores of fluffy Angora rabbits being shorn for their highly prized fur. Thereafter, continue the journey to Rotorua. Round up the day with the ultimate Rotorua experience, the traditional Hangi Feast cooked in the steam boxes and hot water pool. Spend a delightful evening with entertainment provided by a Maori Concert, giving you an insight into the unique and fascinating Maori culture and folklore.

(Breakfast/Hangi Feast)

8 ROTORUA - LAKELAND QUEEN CRUISE - AGRODOME - SKYLINE SKYRIDES
This morning, see the sunrise over the steamy shores of Lake Rotorua on your Lakeland Queen Breakfast Cruise. Enjoy a hearty breakfast while taking in the morning breeze onboard a genuine stern wheel paddleship. Next stop will be the Agrodome, where you will be treated to a world famous stage-show featuring 19 breeds of sheep and the antics of working sheep dogs. At the Skyline Skyrides, take a thrilling ride in the Gondola high above the scenic city of Rotorua. For more excitement, go on an exhilarating ride on the one-kilometre Luge. Tonight, you may wish to round up your day with a soak in the hot mineral pools of the Polynesian Spa, at your own expense.

(Breakfast/Chinese Lunch)

9 ROTORUA - WHAKAREWAREWA THERMAL RESERVE - KIWIFRUIT COUNTRY - CAMBRIDGE FARMSTAY
Visit a natural wonderland of bubbling mud pools, erupting geysers and steaming hot springs at the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve. Catch a glimpse of the Polynesian culture at the displays of Maori carving and flax weaving. Thereafter, head towards Te Puke to visit Kiwifruit Country. Board the world's only "Kiwi-Karts" and begin your guided tour of the kiwifruit orchard. In the afternoon, head towards Cambridge for your Farmstay. Experience the hospitality of the locals with a stay with a New Zealand family. You may bring a gift for your newfound friends as a token for their warm welcome. The group will be split into smaller numbers to enjoy maximum comfort.

Note : If farmstay is not available, it will be replaced by a homestay. An overnight bag is required.

(Breakfast/Buffet Lunch/Western Dinner)

10 CAMBRIDGE FARMSTAY - AUCKLAND - CITY TOUR - KELLY TARLTON'S ANTARCTIC ENCOUNTER AND UNDERWATER WORLD
This morning, bid farewell to your farm hosts and head back to Auckland. Your Auckland City Tour takes you through this cosmopolitan city, which is also known as the "City of Sails". See the shopping district of Queen Street, the Victorian buildings at Parnell Village and the parklands of the Domain and Gardens. To fully appreciate the unique setting of Auckland, proceed to the summit of Mt. Eden for a bird's eye view. Make a stop as well to catch the best angles of the Auckland Harbour Bridge, one of the city's most distinctive landmarks. Next, visit the Kelly Tarlton's Antarctic Encounter and Underwater World. Board the heated Snow Cats to explore the frozen landscape of Antarctica. See colonies of live penguin play in real snow and ice. At the adjoining Underwater World, you can watch teaming schools of nursery fish swim lazily in their rocky subtidal reef. Travel deep beneath the ocean on the moving walkway in the unique underwater tunnel to see stingrays and other fishes glide overhead.

(Breakfast/Chinese Lunch/Buffet Dinner)

11 AUCKLAND - SINGAPORE
If time permits, you may do some last minute shopping before being transferred to the airport for your flight back to Singapore.

(Breakfast/Meals on Board)

Remarks
Actual itinerary is subject to change with or without prior notice

aloevera

leo & amore,
thks for sharing yr thoughts. actually i got to know this after mtg my AD photographer last wkend. he told us as long as we see these bunch of people, we shld give them lor cos we r consider "da ren" oledi on tat day.

leo,
hv 2 give AB to both our parents oso huh? btw, my mum said we dun hv 2 give ah yees n bros leh.. only she n my MIL need to give. was thinking maybe i give those who help us during the banquet??

wenz

Hi Leo29
Oh i c... I will also concentrate on distributing cakes...
I think my FIL will give me an Ang Bao for SDJ. Do we really need to buy 4 pieces of gold accessories using that $? Or can keep the $ for other purposes? Does it include ring?
Thanks for all these valuable info!!!

wenz

Hi Amore
Think better give normal cakes.... scare my mother will scream if she c something else on GDL...
so u, me & Leo29 all have Teochew husbands.... good good.... can check w both of you when in doubts...

leo29

Aloe,

Yap, suppose to be given by our parents and PIL but as a token of appreciation we will give our Ah Yees and Xiong Di as well.

Wenz,

Must buy lah.... Have to show him what you bought mah. Ring, not too sure lei. Me still haven't see the SDJ my MIL bought for me. Anyway me not teochew so not sure what SDJ consist of.

Feb,

Thank you very much....... Pai seh lei, let you type out so long 'essay'. Should have ask you to fax me.

feb

Leo

No lah...just copy and paste oni lah..u tot i type so fast meh...think if i want to type..will oni finish by tomolo liao..