(2003) Brides of year 2003

Besse,
You're welcome to visit. their workmanship not too good but acceptable after some touching up by them.

Meow,
Pebbles laid?Not too bad? Free then I drop by to see.

Leo,
Yeah lor, take watever they give. Times are bad, our guests cant be too choosy.

oh, me MIA again :p

hi sandy, i read a few good comments from a thread abt Jemina so i just went to try it out ;) & she is good...

hi cutiechar, i guess the area near changi beach is quite a popular spot for PS...we saw 3 couples there during our PS
i think there're more spots to shoot like the greenery with the lalangs, the tall tress that gives a forest kinda feel & the beach outside safra...marina south is a nice place too with the big patch of grass field ;)

piper, thx for the update...i've been so lazy...our dec brides list is growing fast & it's hard to catch up on you guys ya

hey, u might wanna check out chinatown...my friend bought a red shoe...those very traditional type...i think it's < 50 bucks...not very comf. but it completes the look...

for nicer ones, u can go to Hue @ Millenia Walk...i think they're having sale for that pair..cream, u bought the pair with floral embiodery huh...very nice...

i'll share with you guys my pic if i can get my proofs back tml ok...

jya ne (^-^)/~

Hi Chicory

Your welcome! Yes, got my shoes at Ck tang..2nd level, with crystal one but its gold colour lor coz no silver liao but anyway my EG gold so ok..keke
Yar, CK tang got mani ties but if you dont mind the brand or material then generally its quite good! My photographer is Lionel, yar from Silverlining.In fact Robin style 50% taiwanese so we din use him. whose your BS?

Hi GRIL!

tks for the weather praying..btw, I bought a pair of earring as well. but my hair no accessories.
did your hotel use T-dragon as their printer? I not sure whether can let them print or not.heez
Their no.62928338.call and check!

Hi teatree!

tks for the reminder..heez

blood is thicker than water rite?

Gathering Attendance Update:
Sept 19 - Besse, Akira, Amore, Wenz, Serene, Pris.
Sept 26 - Leo, Meow, Besse, Kopibean, Yve, Akira, Putise baby, Aloevera, wedsoon, Amore, Ann, are, Wenz, Serene, Min, ava, Pris.

Just added my name into the gathering, me not working so both date is fine with me, but where are we going for this 5th gathering?
please keep me update.

A few days before the wedding, the bride's family send dowry to the groom's family, or the couple's new home nowadays. Dowry is mostly composed of daily necessities for the new home, such as bedding, linen and dining set, etc. This is an opportunity for the bride's family to display their love for their daughter as well as their wealth.

http://www.chinabridal.com/etiquette/bed.htm

http://www.chinabridal.com/etiquette/bfaq.htm
(eh, completely different style from our sequence)

Hmm, I see alot of "errors" on those above links, sorry, ignore unless for fun!

Min,
the pebbles lay like not very fantastic leh. I still see the cement very obvious, somemore pretty patchy look. They may need to touch up a little up the cement dry already leh.

Ava,
Maybe i get the roses from you on the same day when we meet. Haha Serene may have bought the same roses back for me as well.

HI everyone,

im very upset... I DONT KNW WHT TO DO..!!!
1) Seating arrangment
Before i went to BKK, i told my in-laws to wait for us to come back before they write the invitation cards bcos the floor plan is with me.
Guess wht, they start to write the names and the table nos when they dun have the plan!!! I was very upset bcos they mess up cos i plan to have table 1 from my side (cos they have more pple so they have inner tables of the room.) Guess wht they say, jus strike off lor..i nearly faint.. &amp; have a big big fight with my FH! dammed angry!
2)Yesterday, my FH called me say want to change the table nos with the resturant bcos the plan have nos starting with 4 &amp; 7.. My in-laws say bad luck..!! WAU LAU!!! hot man!!!
I told him.. i wash my hands off them... now im having pre wedding blues... how!!??? help ME!

Serene,

*Tab tab* Don't be upset. More or less will have this type of unforseen circumstances one lah. What to do, they are your IL(If not happy also must open 1 eye and close 1 eye). Somemore is their son getting marry, they got the say.

Can you ask your restaurant to change the table nos according to what you want, eg change Table 1 to inner of the room? As for the 4 and 7, I think not very big issue, just ask the restarant don't displace this nos. If not, just tell your IL that the restaurant does not allow this, push the fault to the rest.

Me too was angry wif my MIL also. During the discussion, my mum request comb hair ceremony(Actually a must for Hokkein-Symbolise I grown up as an adult liao) but my MIL don't want. Actually my mum did try to persuade her but she just insist no need, so angry......

well.. i guess it would be easier if you let ur hb do the talking to ur in-laws. I feel that the couple shd be the one to plan the seating arrangement and both sides of the parents only need to pass the guest list to the couple.

For the table nos with 4 &amp; 7, I guess you could negotiate wif the restaurant to rename the table# 'coz I rem i attended a weddin dinner b4, and i don't see any table no with a 4 in it.

Cool down...don't let this spoil ur mood.

Hi Feb,

I' m thinking of going to NZ too in Nov.

Which travel agency did you sign up the package with? How much did you spend on NZ trip?

leo

if ur MIL dun want then u may not be able to hv the comb hair ceremony. cos acoording to a few elders i spoke to, is either both sides hv the ceremony or both side dun hv it.

serene

dun be upset...planning guest list n seating arrangement is always a headache. juz relax n I'm sure u cld overcome this.

sunnyling... oh no! i juz deleted the mail! but i ever sent to the yahoogroup list before, wonder if can check there?

anyway, i've already bought my wine, not frm them tho'. a fren recommended lindemans shiraz, &amp; there was a discount las wk at $13 (U.P. $18+) so we grabbed all we cld! ;P

btw... NTUC has a 5% further discount for every 6 bots purchased.

oh ya... there's oso a NATAS supplement with today's straits times, &amp; a 8-location travel guide with 8-days. so those going might want to chk them out.

Hi cynthia,

thank for the advise.. but i dun think they will let us arrange the tables for them cos they say wait pple want to sit tog or whtever! then some tables are not even full!!! my god.. i definitely will make a loss this time... all the while i dun want this wedding banquet...sianzzz...

lkf,

Ya lor, this is why i'm angry. If she don't want then my side also cannot proceed this ceremony. Past few days, my mum still grumble on this. Then I shoot back at her saying if she is persistant then maybe my MIL will give in. What to do, my mum is soft spoken when she talk to stranger and at home is like a Mu2 Lao2 Hu3, hahaha.... Actually i like to have this ceremony also. But later she console me saying good also lah, you will always be a gal. I think i must think of a way out. Maybe bring my grandma into the picture, hiak hiak hiak....

How abt you? Do you have this comb hair ceremony?

leo

both my mom n MIL r not too insistent wif this comb hair ceremony. they juz said tat if want to do then both muz do, cannot 1 do 1 dun do. besides tat the person who will do the combing muz hv a gd life.
me still deciding whether want or not cos i find it a bit troublesome :P. for me there's a time/date to do it.

now i really headache over my HM. initially hv decided on turkey but now 2 of my aunts commented tat it may not be a gd time to go there. both hubby n i thot we shld not take their words lightly, so got to decide on the HM destination again...sigh...natas fair is juz around the corner

lkf,

I should said timing is very important lor. If you choose the wrong timing, you may not be able to capture/see nice scenery and may not enjoy it especially due to weather(too cold or too hot). Last year my frd went to london during winter and she fall sick. So the whole trip was like hell man..... even her husband also cannot enjoy.

lkf... ya lor, agree w leo29 on timing. i'm damn scared of cold weather, so definitely cant go anywhere during winter, else will be end of winter, cos i'll freeze over! ;P

leo29... i'm oso hving probs w the candles, tea ceremony etc. both mothers hv diff mindsets, so hubby &amp; i try to dissuade them lor. at least 1 person give in 1 thing.

leo

huh? tis i really dunno leh...anyway juz wait n see wat my mom n MIL say :P

HM..not so much of the weather,me h hubby usu can tahan coldness n turkey's winter is not tat harsh. it's the terrorism thingy which my aunts r concerned cos it's juz next to iraq (altho' tat's like a 3,4 hrs flight from istanbul). actually the terrorists r everywhere but the fact tat 2 diff persons telling us the same thing make me n hubby feel really uncomfortable...we take them as a "warning" n we better heed the advice.

Are,

Your red wine is cheap lei... From where huh? I'm looking at wine below $15. Yesterday hubby went to Tommy shop, he recommend him to take the $16.50 Australia wine but i find it abit ex lei. Somemore still haven't incl. GST. Anyway, I'm still looking around.

Ai yoh, nowaday really got alot of ppl drink red wine lei. My frd who just married said his 60 bottles of wines finish during 3rd course... *faint*

leo29... hahaha... i was gonna reply 'NTUC'. ;P heard lindemans is from aust, which part then i not sure liao. me &amp; hubby not wine drinker, but it tasted alright to us, a lil sourish at first, so tot quite ok lor.

not sure if they will hv another promo on sat? cos the promo was las sat &amp; sun oni. look out for the papers or juz shop ard NTUC, they've got quite a large selection.

i showed a fren tommy's list, but she say nvr hear of the wines b4. NTUC &amp; carrefour will hv more 'common' wines i guess.

Leo

Me too.My mum also want to have the comb ceremony and my MIL say they never have such a practise..so what to do...I also do without it...So sad. I was thinking since we have gone through so many customary stuff, why do we go without this comb ceremony...But i never know cannot light the candles leh if dun have comb ceremony...

Hi cynthia

I have signed up with Chan Brother's during their in house promotion fare. The package is $2588 11 days with farmstay....When you deciding to go??

leo

thinking of joining ananda package tour initially but now becos' of the comments hv to think twice. even my not so superstituous hubby think so too...

hello? this thread has been so quiet since last sat.. where's everyone?

can check if anyone is doing the wrist corsages for jies meis?

Another prob:

The resturant say can change the nos.. but have to use hand to write... wow lor... faint..!!!Can anyone gives other suggestions..? *headache*
I think im getting pre wedding blues... HELP!!!

Are,

Ya lor, my friend also said she never hear b4.My hubby went to check out the price at Orchard supermarket, i think is $18-$20. Tommy price is abit cheaper.

lkf,

If go by package tour is OK. At least you got tour guide mah.

serene... maybe u can juz use PC to print out new numbers to stick on the 4&amp;7 stands. maybe they dun hv extra, juz the number of tables they have.

Leo, about comb-hair... I asked my mum who is available to do for me (she can't, and closer aunts can't either)- she told me to comb myself!

When her elder sis (my aunt) married, it seems she DIY, just mutter some phrases as she combed her own hair.

According to my mum, alot of people reluctant to help comb hair. Eg. 1 of my distant relatives who was popular for such duties- well, when BOTH the husbands of a pair of sisters she combed hair for passed... she as hair comber kanna all kinds of blame.

So she said the best is to comb myself if I want it. 1st time heard of this!

Recently she asked me why I SUDDENLY become so "fussy about tradition" and HOW I know all these (when she herself clueless). Thanks to this website

Hi Serene, just paste over the "4" and the "7" with a pretty flower design eg. a pretty chinese paper cutting? Then #4 becomes Peony flower table, #7 becomes Twin Ducks table or something.

Thanks for warning us about the tables, will be alert for such matters when I give my cards to my PIL. But hor, why do they want to assign table no. so early? Instead of at the reception, just fill up each table one by one? I tend to worry about empty seats. If you really don't like the table nos. incorrectly indicated by your PIL, then maybe try looking for heart-shaped stickers and paste over the offending portion only?

Really million of thanks... *hugss*

lkf,
The resturant normally have the table stand with the no with it.. so if change to no, then they have to jus write on a plain paper then paste over the no...

MTMTMT,
where can i get these pics...?? and also if eg. table 55.. how are we going to change it..?? please advise..

Hi Feb,
I juz called Chan Brothers to get the price for 11 Days and she quote me $3288. =( very ex. I'll be going during the holiday season either late Nov or early Dec tis yr. Feb, i suppose their in-house promo is last month?? Are you going during holiday season?

Hi Serene, I think have to scout Chinatown, idea is to find any "picture" or symbol to substitute any offending numbers.

Or paste over with printout words
eg. Four = Flower table
Seven = Silver table
Fifty-five = Fruitful
... maybe easier to remember? Just trying!

wow.. the thread moving very fast...me cannot catch up since ir ead only abt once every 3 -4 days.

BTW, Are and Leo29.. if you all really keen on the Si Dian Jin in white gold coclur...can try Poh Heng as they selling 916 gold but it's white in colour....so no need scared that there's no resale value.

I;m thinking of going Australia for my postponed honeymoon next yr's march due to hubby's wk commintment. Any recommendation as to which place I should vivst with a budget of 2k per pax?

Serene,

Why not have all the table number's written then...maybe you can name them all under names of flowers...I amy be doing that for my wedding as well.... but must think of at least 30 flowers loh ...

ann.. thanx for your suggestion, but i've settled all my 'gold' liao. ;P nvrmd lah... i not particular, the most dun wear lor.

there's a travel guide in 8-days that toks abt sydney, melbourne i think, u might want to chk it out.

toking abt table names, i hv a colleague who did a movie themed dinner, &amp; had his tables named after famous actor/actresses, and centrepiece on each table with film roll. muz hv been quite spectacular. ;P

LKF,
I went to the shop at beauty world centre again last night to get the rest of the item. The shop closed at 8:30pm and is located at #01-07 or #01-19. They have a website and i think someone has publish it here before. www.minah.com.sg

I jus got my invites back from my restaurant last night. Think can start writing the names anytime liao.

meow

thanks. i will check the shop out if possibe over the weekend. so u hv bought all the nec things liao? u r fast men
will be gng to the natas fair after work. My inserts are also done, in the midst of cutting the strings and tying them.

serene

oic. in tat case, u can still change the number by printing them in colours and asked the rest to replace them. It din occur to me tat i can't use these numbers will hv to check wif the hotel again. thanks