(2003) Brides of year 2003

feb

Hi wenz

My hubby also Teochew leh

For my SDJ, it consist of one necklace with a pendant, a ring, one pair of earrings , two bangles.

Hope this help.

putise

hi girls...

talking abt ang baos for helpers... me just completed my list... total $2200!!!
can you all help me to QC... tell me if you think too much or too little
THANKS!!

Ang Baos for Helpers:
Priest $40
Altar boys $12 each
Bridesmaids (gift)$30 each
Groomsmen (gift)$30 each
Groom's Siblings $38 each
Bride's Sibling $38
Ah Yees $38 ea
Brothers $38 ea
Flower girls $28 ea
Driver (Bridal car)$38
Driver (Other cars) $50 ea
Open Door $500
For little kids $10 ea
Choir $20 ea
Choir Leader $38
Organist $38
Brother to open door $28
Emcees $38
MU artist $28
Photographer $28
Church Decorators $38

leo29

Putise,

I can't QC for you now, still haven't discuss wif hubby. But can give some opinion base on my pass experient of being ah yee and what I now have in mind
Ah Yees - $28(Since they already have the open door AB)
Xiong Di - $38
Driver(Other cars) - OK
Bridal car diver - No comment becos we may borrow my friend merc so AB have to be big.
Little kids - May give $8
Brother to open door- May give $88
MU artist-OK
Photographer-OK

amore

putise... wah.. really a long list leh... ur recep will be ur ah yees? wat abt ur OIC? got any? er ur brother to open door abit too little?

putise

Thanks Leo & amore for your thots..

yeah my list v long 'coz i got church lah!!

ok... the AB for brother to open door normally how much ah?? i'm getting my own brother to do that and since i'm giving him AB as sibling and buying gift for him ('coz he's also one of the bestmen) then $28 shld be enough??

My bridal car will be my hubby's own car so driver only give $38 :p

my OIC is my SIL who is also my bridesmaid... and same as my brother, she's oredi getting sibling AB, bridesmaid gift + i paid for her bridesmaid dress, i think this one definitely enough!
oh and yes, my receptionists will be my ah yees... multi-task!!

how much you all budgeting for the Open Door AB?

amore

putise... hhahaa open door AB... i really dunno how "kan" my good frens can be leh.... think oso ard $500 maybe less.... i not alot of ah yees so should be enuff for them to split among themselves...

leo29

Putise,

Me planned initial AB to be $288. If they not satisfy then ask my hubby to add. Never tot of max budget but will not give too much also. Will ask my hubby to leave if they are too persistant.... hahaha....

mtmtmt

My AB rates based on specific persons' roles, will be roughly,
<u>FRIENDS &amp; FAMILY</u>
1. JIEMEI cum-OIC-EMCEE
$100 from HB (plus small gift from me)
2. JIEMEI cum-DECOR-USHER-
SHEPHARD (Round next table's guests for photo-taking)
3. JIEMEI cum-DECOR-USHER
4. JIEMEI cum-DECOR-RECEPTION (collect friends' angbaos)
5. VIDEOGRAPHER (professional, but friend)
$100 from HB
6. 4 XIONGDIs-cum help in whatever
$68x 4 from HB
7. RECEPTION (collect bride's relatives' angbaos- this cousin will have her HB helping)
$18x 2 from HB
8. RECEPTION (collect groom's relatives' angbaos- this cousin will have his gf helping)
$18x 2 from HB
9. OPEN DOOR
$18 from HB
= $862
<u>EMPLOYED</u>
Driver, MU Artist, Photog, Banquet Coordinator, Banquet Mgr, BS designer etc
$18x 6 from HB
= $108
<u>KIDS &amp; WHOMEVER EMPLOYED I MISSED OUT</u>
$6x 20 max? from HB
= $120
<u>PREPARED FOR PIL &amp; MUM TO DISTRIBUTE</u>
$6x 40 max? from HB
= $240

ie. in these denominations, easier to "bao" the AB and distribute:
$100 (Jiemeis, Video),
$48 (Xiongdi),
$18 (Recept, Open Door, Employed),
$6 (Kids and whomever PIL &amp; mum wants to give).
TOTAL: $1330

I didn't know must give siblings and parents.

sandgirl72

Hi naturally

who served U at t-dragon? sama sama we oso got red &amp; cream colors too.. we were so fickle minded on the type fonts, color of inserts...

Hi Piper

it seems that yr FIL &amp; MIL respects each other very much. don't worry la.. see how yr FIL reacts after yr hubby speak to him lor..

min_minnie

Leo,

Haven't fix my food tasting date. Cooridnator rushing us, we told him to need to set a date where both side parents could make it. Is yours on a weekday or weekend?

As for gathering, I available on 26th Sept'03.

Meow,
You bought the red cloth and long feng zhu oredi?

meowie

Serene,
Welcome back. Sorry can't get back to you that soon. My hard disk crash only manage to surf net now. Well can i take a look at the flowers? Can sent to my mail lor. You mean you bought your teaset from there as well? Er..i've already bought mine from BT Timah.

Min,
I haven't buy yet. You leh? Got your list ready or not?

cutiechar

Hi Teatree!

tks for praying hard for me! hope it doesnt rain!.wow you sis so good leh..I doubt my sis will want to go wif me. it seems like I don need to bring anything but then I think I will still bring lipgloss in case..hehe

Hi Kristen!

^ 5! we got the same date. so have you bought your shoes, accessories? I managed to get all the stuff from C K Tang yesterday..finally everything down..phew. so tired man.
yah! my mum insisted on white gold but my MIL is more sui pian. she is buying me white ones according to my hubby. sure my mum goes *nag,*nag,*nag... :p
hmm..labrador park is nice too. I haven think of where to go..keke
is your wedding Dec 03 btw? mine dec 27.your nick used to be cherie(kristen) ar? heez

Hi Girl

yah lor, have many doubts as you oso..but no worries, the gals here are most willingly to help us,come here more often to exchange info!
Hows ur preparations so far?

Hi Chicory!

No prob! will update you once its done! heez.
My photographer is Lionel from Acepix. until now haven meet him to discuss anything..jialat..hahaha
How abt urs? when you goin for PS?
My hubby bought all the tie from G2000, there is no huge collection but managed to get some similar to my evening gown. Try Metro, Ck tang, taka men's section if you dont the brand or material! : )

Hi Sandgirl

Yeah I have oredi called jemina. she is busy! but she will do my manicure and pedicure by another person, hope it turn out good. actually my sis just intro me her manicure spa..haven decided where to go yet.keke
so I guess I wont need to bring make up hor.
I was served by connie as well,she was so nice. she knew wat we know. thumbs up for her! we oso fickled-minded and we stay there for 3 hours,but she still smiling at us!

Hi piper and naturally

Yes, I agreed that the card shld consist of Father's surname. e.g. Mr and Mrs Tan. I think most ppl print that way. My card I did not even put my father's name and my FIL's name in the english portion. Their names are included in the chinese section only.heezz..
Piper you FIL veri modern! cool!

Hi Micky!

Me! Me! my email: [email protected]
waiting to see your lovely picS!

HEY ALL!

remember to post your lovely pics here hor after you got it!

serene_sng

Meow,

I didnt can scan &amp; send thru cos i dun have digital camera...how...?? I havent bought the teaset.. but the teaset pic is very nice...where you bought it...?? Beauty World shopping centre or BT timah....??

leo29

Gathering Attendance Update:
Sept 19 - Besse, Akira, Amore, Wenz, Serene
Sept 26 - Leo, Meow, Besse, Kopibean, Yve, Akira, Putise baby, Aloevera, wedsoon, Amore, Ann, are, Wenz, Serene, Min

chicory

Hi Cutiechar,

Thanks for the info
. I think i will go to Taka and CK Tang on sat to look for the ties. You bot your PS shoes at CK Tang? Are they for your AD as well? Is Lionel one of the photographers working together with Silverlining? Quite a number of Silverlining brides choose Robin right? My PS photographer is Linn Kong and PS is on 12 Oct. Ok, me will help you pray for good weather on sat, too

baobei

Hi, Sandy and Cutiechar,

thanks so much for praying for us the weather, really hope the weather on this Sunday will turn out great...and really hope everything will turns out good, and most impt of all, hope the pics will turns out nice..

Btw, cutiechar, u bought ur shoes at CK Tang? I am thinking of going later to take a look...did u buy any accessories??

Btw , your have started printing your cards...wow..seems that I was quite slack leh...i dun even confirm the guest yet...heee
YOur mentioned the T-dragon, can I have the address?...My hotel provides the cards to me, so can i bring the card for them to print??

Think I really have to speed up liao...hope your will give me advise when I not sure...heee

besse

Leo

me just went Orchard hotel for wedding dinner on Sunday.. not bad leh
.. oni feedback is don have the tao kee with veg... the tao kee not v nice.. maybe can replace with mushroom.. if your dessert is redbean with tang yuan.. keep it.. nice

wah.. u all still giving red packet 2 jie mei and xiong di? tot should be oni given by our parents and parents in law!?

Meow, Min

How's the reno? done? we should be almost done, just went homemakers bought the clothes hangar device, the washing machine, the curtains and confirm the platform. how much you guys gonna spend on the curtains ar??

Wow.. gahering attendence looking good.. why don we call that our NOVAS HENPARTY nite????

leo29

Besse,

Thanks for your feedback, will take note that. How is their service hah? Last year end i attended one of my frd dinner there, their service no good lei. Which ballroom you go, 1&amp;2 or 3?

AB to jie mei and xiong di, not a must to give. For me, i give as a token of appreciation.

HENPARTY!!!! Too early liao lah.

putise

meow...

i tried doing my flower girl's hairband last nite... SUCCESSFUL!!! actually looks quite good... my mom asked me if i bought it when she saw it...

on the ang bao thingy... must give parents AB one ah?? if so then confirm pocket big hole!!

me going down to The Card Shop later to see their cards... need to get cards for church..

leo29

Putise,

So... you going to have 2 cards(Church and dinner)? How about using something like bookmark for church invite? My friend do in this way, very simple and nice.

min_minnie

Besse,
My house fully done up. Only nitty gritty to be done. Buying of things like sauces, oil, rice ect to be placed in house. For curtains, we tailor made, spent S$1.6K. Now, can concentrate on the wedding preparation. Very tired when furnishing the house as go round during weekends sourcing for furnishing. More tired than working.

Leo,
Which ballroom will you be occupying? Are you getting the songs that the hotal has provided?

piper

hi hi...

need some advice....wat type of shoes goes well with Kua....i've oredi gotten a pair of silver strappy heels for my AD...think tat doesn't go very well with the kua....but i also dun want to spend a bomb on tat pair of shoes tat i'll only wear once...

meowie

Min,
You wanna share what you see from the shop when he show you the other set? I wasn't around remember?

Serene,
Then its ok. What size you bought? Very small or the same size as my wrist corsage center white rose? My teaset at beauty world shopping center. The one with Mac.
Thanks, i thought you bought a teaset back from thai. How got buy other things for your wedding like ang bao box?

Besse,
Min's reno done liao. Now left me only. My pebbles today then lay. Got problem lah...damn angry with El-fa. Will never recommend anyone to them. Min, you know what Ivan told Joseph? He say ask him to hack everything and ask them go find someone else. Mean right. You better drag your payment with them till everything is nicely done.

Putise,
Happy liao lah, so you finally manage to figure it out huh?

teatree

chicory, i know isetan scotts got many many ties. my fiance bought his there and we chose until headache.

hi cutiechar,

no prob. ya lor, next time she takes photos must be really nice to her and help her thru out the day.

oo ya, before i forget, bring lots of tissue paper expecially for the outdoor shoot. i brought 2 packets and they were not enough. sweat so much!

akira

meow, dun worry.. you aren't the only one still grappling with reno. My flat is not even here yet so I can't start on anything. I'm only praying tat I can get it by the end of this month.. else I can't make it in time for my wedding!!!

btw girls, seems like we are quite settled on 26 Sep being the gathering.. anyone got any good place to reccommend? or any special preferences for food?

piper

hi hi...think the list needs some updating...&amp; i very lazy to scan the thread for the new updates...kekeke...

<font color="ff0000">02 Dec</font>
enya, KAI , MM

<font color="ff0000">06 Dec</font>
dinny, Graceful Image , Oriental Hotel
Mrs Quake, Dang ,Crown Prince Hotel

<font color="ff0000">07 Dec</font>
jbride, KAI , Inter-Con
happygal, JLC , Amara
freesia, Le Galleria , Holiday Inn
Sunshine, BV , Beaufort
mickey,Thomson Wed'g Design, CrownPrice
wendyl, Bridal Concept, -
keropi, David Lim Lee, Ocean Garden

<font color="ff0000">08 Dec</font>
Roro, J&amp;C , Grand Corpt

<font color="ff0000">10 Dec</font>
Erin, Sophia , Tunglok Rest

<font color="ff0000">13 Dec</font>
Babydoll, Kai , Hyatt
Ting Ting, Dang , Carlton Htl
Ming, - , Sheraton
Iris, Ted Wu , Raffles Town Club
sos, - , -
sunnyday, -, -

<font color="ff0000">14 Dec</font>
mexx, silhouette, -
Cherub, Allure Charix, MM

<font color="ff0000">18 Dec </font>
piper, Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq, Milan , Hilton

<font color="ff0000">21 Dec </font>
sandgirl72, Seletar Broadway, Mandarin
Naturally, Le Galleria , Hyatt
bobomagic, Bridal Zone , Rasa Sentosa

<font color="ff0000">22 Dec </font>
renee, Bridal Veil, Hyatt

<font color="ff0000">25 Dec </font>
christmas, White link, Traders

<font color="ff0000">27 Dec </font>
cutiechar, silverlining bridal, traders
genie, -, -

<font color="ff0000">28 Dec</font>
EL, GHA , Holiday Inn
Mio, JLC , Hyatt
Babyblue, Divine Couture , Conrad
Pam, BV , Fulleton
rinoa, BV, raffles the plaza
Cream, GHA, Neptune Theatre Restaurant

<font color="ff0000">30 Dec</font>
loving3377, Jawn Happy Ever After, -
chicory, -, -

<font color="ff0000">31 Dec</font>
sunflower26, Dang, -

meowie

Akira,
I thought your house done liao that's why bought so many things at Philips sale.

Shall we go for budget makan place again? Dun think everyone wish to eat at the same pasta place again right?

min_minnie

Meow,
The teaset that we bought with the nice cover only left abt 1 or 2. The rest are the same design but the box not nice.
Your renov, how? So they hacking it and ask you all to find someone else? When we see Ivan, will 'Suan' him for doing that, ok? We ordei finish paying since nothing major on the renov. FH says dun want to owe them $.

Leo,
Think mine is ballroom 2&amp;3. Read from the forum that ballroom three a bit old. That time, I went to see is ballroom 2, I think. Now, just hope they do a good job on decoration. Any ideas what are our choice of wedding favors?

besse

Leo

I went Ballroom 3. service quite bad.. i asked for my chilli 3 times .. from 2 waiters and 1 captain.. no one brought for more than 20 mins... and when i raised the 4th time round, they brought me 2 plates and ONE BIG BOWL!!! was quite cheesed off.. so you gotta tell ur banquet manager to remind them of service..

Hmm.. AB may not give, but give them small token of gift as appreciation.

Now busy with GDL stuff.. must go buy the towels, the toothrbush and all essentials .. *sigh..

err.. it's a henparty for each other ma..
if not you think we got time to meet up in Oct meh!?

chicory

Hi Teatree,

Thanks, will go to Isetan Scotts and Taka on saturday after work to hunt

Hi Piper,

I am with Jawn Happy Ever After and hotel is MM. Thanks for updating

serene_sng

Hi meow,
i think i bought the small as your corsage..how...??sorry...

I didnt get the ang bao Box.. cos my sis say is not a must... then we bought some household things like chopsticks, etc (those zen style &amp; is very very cheap!!!) We didnt get any favors too.. save $$$...

putise

leo...

yeah me going to get a postcard type card for church... not going to combine the church &amp; dinner 'coz inviting different pple to each

I found a card i like at The Card Shop... cheap &amp; nice...only $0.80 each!! simple ivory with embossed dasies as border... think going to get that...

meow... yeah loh, finally managed to figure out.. last evening, bumped into amore at my office lift lobby and showed her the flowers i bought at spotlight... v happy that i know how to do... :p

besse

Leo..

For song, you can consider the instrumental one from the movie turn left turn right.. we might use that for 2nd march in..

Min..

How was El-fa's workmanship? maybe can go see your new place??
we also running ard 2 do the furnishing, still yet buy lights for dinner and wall for room.. spent 3 weekends on just that, bf still wanna shop somemore.. i GIVE up!! now realised that my study may be planned too tight for MJ

Meow

*sayang*.. at least now finishing touches liaoz right?.. watch the alignments of the downlights.. cos ours wasn't aligned v properly.. rest of carpentry can slowly touched up after we move in rt?

Akira,

ya, tot your place came liaoz, that's why you go buy so many stuff at Philips sale

leo29

Min,

No idea..., never ask them. Bo chap lah, whatever they give just take.

Besse,

Ya... that is a nice song... but mandrain song abit odd lei. We still have time.... to buy the GDL stuffs, no need rush lah.... Don't stress yourself....

akira

besse &amp; meow, I KS mah.. if dun start doing watever I can now will never be able to finish everything in time.. plus also cheap... now headache.. got to temporarily store at my PIL's place first.. lucky they understanding...

where do you think is a good budget makan place???

besse

akira

heheh... good 2 buy early.. i regret not buying stuff earlier.. now regret!!

Anyway, budget depends on how budget.. bugis junction has this terra cafe, juz opposite SEED, that has v good val set meal at less than 10 bucks.. keen?

meowie

Serene,
It's okay, you jus bring to me on our next outing can already.

Min,
I finally agree to let them use cement lor. Afternoon went to take a look, not really the idea one but think still not too bad lah. Later evening go take a second look again.

Besse,
I'll try to finish carpentry before my wedding lor. Tonight will look at the carpenter's drawing.

leo29

Besse... less then $10 is really cheap..... It's ok for me. Hahaha.... we really know how to run around huh, Istana park, Esplanade, Suntec, Shaw Tower.....

cream

Hi Piper

For my Kua,I bought a red slip on which I got it from Hue Scotts sometime back.I believe Metro or Tangs will hv similar one.

ava

Gathering Attendance Update:
Sept 19 - Besse, Akira, Amore, Wenz, Serene
Sept 26 - Leo, Meow, Besse, Kopibean, Yve, Akira, Putise baby, Aloevera, wedsoon, Amore, Ann, are, Wenz, Serene, Min, ava :p

I am coming! ;p