(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Shook: thank you.
so how, my wedding in on 10 may, does that mean have to give out by end mar? too early you think? didn't ask parents about this. your views? whats your plan? i didn't like my cards. but t-dragon manage to swop with me so i only paid for printing. can try, they quite flexible. i only paid about $200+ for hotstamping. if really busy, why don't you give them a try? save you the stress and some time? printing is even cheaper than hotstamping, $100+ depending on the number of cards you have i guess. as for my SIL i will just wait and see what happens. you are right, not worth it.

May: sorry, didn't get to see your pics yet. the free email account i have seems to have been wiped out of production, everytime i access, it says not in production. i will have to open a new one at yahoo then keep you updated. after that can resend me photos? really want to see it.

May: i open new account already. please resend link to [email protected]
also, does anyone have the updated list? can send to me too? was thinking all of us should meet after we get our photos, then can see album yah?

Chicory: You are engaging Beatles for your studio and Outdoor shoots is it? Are they doing your actual day as well? I'm still waiting to finalise on the actual day photography. Let me know their package for actual day ok?

I also experience the same thing at suntec. Those bridal shops are just so insistent.They will hold you by your arm and refuse to let you go. Sometimes, they even follow you for a distance before giving up! Scary! After a few times, I always turn around and say "Married already" and then they will just stop their nonsense.

Your friend is so unfortunate tomeet up with such an unscrupulous bridal shop. If I were her, I would either forgo the little deposit and go to a reputable one or if not, complain to CASE about the shop.

Performance at my dinner is out cos I'm having it at Crown Prince Hotel. The stage is quite small. What I plan to do is to have some music throughout the whole dinner except for the various 'breaks' in between for cake cutting, champagne session, toasting and speech sessions. I'll probably get those guy friends of mine to help out in other ways.

leo29... wah, u all play so big ah, dun dare to play with you all liao, dun hv so much money to pay 'tuition fees' leh!!!

yve... really works? good for your bro man. i've yet got my wish, which is to leave this dreaded place...
but i sure hope my other wishes will come true, like health & harmony in the family.

pris... dun lose heart, tok to your coordinator and maybe your prob will be solved?

wendyl... hi, not sure if you read my previous posting. but i will be having videography for both days of my dinners. my bridal is charging me $700.

When did you gals schedule your PS to be? Oh and will you let your photographer choose the location or you choose it yourself?
Mrs Quake,
Me is like you..very tomboy during school so got more xiong di instead of jie meis. Still thinking if they will perform for me or not....better to get them to do up some skeech so they busy preparing for it instead of getting ideas on how to sabo me :P

Sorry, type wrongly. Ya, NATAS is at S'pore Expo.

And Priviledged, sorry, shd be keys instead of leave.

Must be thinking of going home when I typed the message.

Hi pooh

Select Catering have something of ard $10 (www.select.com.sg). I was also scouting ard for a caterer for my church reception. If not, U can try Java Link. Unsure what website is. Quite good comments abt their food in other threads.

Pris

dun be so upset, sure got other ways out want lah. perhaps can talk to ur parents etc...

leo29

i finally finished the postings which i missed out yesterday nite. talk abt my package with santiago, i paid $1010 for deposit already. if really cannot get rid of it then hv to talk to them to c if i can exchange for some of their svcs like mtm men's suit, tea dress etc. really xian when come to think of this...

btw i am a cantonese n my hubby a hokkien
my actual day photography will be done by Yew Kwang n no video photography

hi flowee,

no lah, how can go on your behalf! :P
just envy companies with d&d for staff coz never joined such companies b4.
you let me know when you need the shoes.

hi popples,

another week to go huh?
relax and be a happy bride. not forgetting beautiful too.

hi jady,

relax coz the worst abt wedding preparation is getting uptight then you wun wnjoy the whole process at all liao.
stay happy and cheerful!

Hi beibei, yes, I'm confirmed for the gathering. Have blocked out the time already. I can share about NZ with you then if you're interested.

Abrinas, sweets, yes, I am looking forward to taking a break from work for a year. But I'm not sure if I'll get the no-pay leave. I haven't received any reply on my application yet. That's why there's still the option of resignation if I really have to. No choice, lah.

Priviledged,
I will bring paper to take down pointers of NZ!thanks so much!!so see you outside of Olio Dome.can call me when about to reach.me and shanice will see you there!

Yve,

Ya lor, miss you so much! Better don’t said like that wait ppl tot i……., hee…..
Can pray Tai Shui for others meh? Yesterday read a book and get to know that the duty Tai Shui is so powerful. He has command over all deities except Jade Emperor. Really cannot offend him man.

Congratulation! Must be very happy lah, FH got the ROM date already.

Are,

$700 for 2 days is very cheap. Mine, if I’m not wrong is $750 for a day. Don't like that lah, last time, I think 2 year back, I play 10 cent 20 cent also lei.

Lkf,

Oh, that is alots. You must pray hard lor, I mean for them to exchange other items for you. I have came across many cases like yours but most of them got nothing in return. Did you try to transfer to others?

hi iris,

my ps on 14th june. going to choose the places for outdoor shots ourselves.

seems like all of us spending a lot on this wedding. my all in-house but also exp. think will come up to about $5K for all the 3 items and if i add on more photos, i think the amt will be even bigger.

mrs quake,
i din know sophia hardsell. think perhaps it's b'cos i went down after my friend had signed up and i appeared interested so they don't have to hardsell.

Ya lor, i'm also afraid of all these hardselling bridal shops. always say married liao. There was this once when i was "dragged" into one of the booths at a wedding exhibition and the salesperson refused to let me go even though i mentioned that i still want to look around. In the end, she said that she will "fang guo wo" this time but no more extras if i signed up at the shop.

Hello ladies

I heard from Channel News Asia last night that Mediacorp Publishing has come up with a new bridal magazine for $7. Their first issue is a bumper crop with 388 pages !!!

Supposed to be available at the news stands today, but those that i checked this morning didn't have them.

It's called Style Weddings, and the front cover is a picture of Andrea De Cruz and Pierre Png.
I'll go look for it again at lunch time, and will "report" if i find it! MPH told me to try tomorrow tho ...

Oh yah, Her World Brides is out already.

I'm going on a shoe hunt again today ... i think my silver shoe doesn't match my bridal gown too well. Luckily Tangs sales is still on (ends this Sunday!)! They have quite a good selection of white / cream bridal shoes compared to Robsinsons etc.

Ah, so resignation is a choice out of no choice if yr no-pay leave is not approved? Then I hope that they approve your no-pay leave then.
I don't c why they don't approve - they r not paying u for 1 year n they still guaranteed to get back an employee at the end of the 1-year. Why not?

Me in career crisis - my boss will be xferred to Vietnam n will be there 3 weeks out of a month. I might be xferred back to HQ per request of my boss to my Group HR Director so as to keep me busy for the 3 weeks. But .. when I spoke to my HR Director, he tell me tt other than the usual duties tt I used to do last time (B4 i was out of HQ), i hv to do technical training as well. I was surprised cos this is not what was interpreted to me by my boss n i told him abt it. He reassured me tt any duties tt i will be asked to perform has to be approved by him 1st, so no worries. But can't help worrying....

I am getting married in Dec this year but haven't even confirmed my bridal boutique so I feel so behind here :p

Any recommendation of bridal boutique - I am not taking the photography and EG?

Jan: there appears to be something wrong with yahoo photos. i now cant access the site. When it is up, i will email the link to you.
Dont cry...poor thing. i dont really have any advices coz i have not been in yr situation. And if i say the wrong thing i might offend u. But if you visit the other topic on MIL and SIL issues, things can be quite bad. I am worry for you esp. when yr hubby will not b around. I strongly suggest tat u talk to yr hubby abt allowing u to go back to yr mom's place on weekends. At least u have a place to destress if the needs arise.

How long is Ching Ming anyway? I tot it last a month? I think u distribute yr card the end of this month. For me,i am doing it on 1 May but in April, we will start broadcasting it. I think no problem for e bed to be deliverd in April. If u plan to An Chuang, do it on 1 May lor. My MIL says May 1 is lunar 1st day - so it is a good day. According to her lunar 1st and 15th day are good days. So me wedding on 15 May is lunar 15th day.

Anyway, hubby and i are sleeping in our new house guest room on the cheap mattress. after all the hoo har, we have not an chuang and was told cannot sleep in our new bed. So we went to buy cheap mattress and sleep in the floor. The master bedroom got no floor space to sleep. W the matress pop up agst the wall and the king size bedframe setup. Sigh...every am i wake up w bedache. I really miss my queen bed at mom place. Sigh...i wish so badly to jump on my simmons mattress. Sigh....

Meeko: yes, my WG is mtm.

Pausini: office very small. i lunch w one colleague and gossip w her during lunch lor.
My kitchen cabinets uses blum system and hinges. i have some accessories - tat why more x? dunno..also.

hi tiara,

welcome! as we always tell newcomers, you are not too late in ur search cos some of us are either just being ks (like me!) or have to take early photo shoots.. i've not confirmed my boutique too... look around the more reputable shops and visit bridal shows if you have the time...think the new edition of her world brides has publicised quite a few bridal shows.

hi tiara,

Since u're not taking photography and EG, does that mean u can afford to splurge more on the WG??
Wow, if so, then u must check out designers like tan yoong, kai, kevin seah, ted wu etc! U can flip thru mags to get an idea of their signature designs or fixed an appt to see and try the gowns for yourself!
If u prefer not to splurge, can check out Dang and Le galleria, the gals here have been talking abt these 2 boutiques... btw, i'm with LG. Other boutiques i personally like are Jawn, Amanda Lee's, Flamingo, Sophia.
Do be careful with Taiwanese boutiques as they tend to hard-sell, but if u know how to drive a harder bargain, then it may actually be advantageous, i know cases where couples got huge discounts after rounds and rounds of bargaining with these taiwanese shops, they are after all, also hard-up for biz....

Actually there are more urgent stuffs to settle other than the bridal boutique... your actual day wedding dinner venue, actual day wedding photography, actual day make-up artist, and if u're christian, church venue? These got to be booked in advance if u have a preferred venue or photographer etc in mind. Have u settled your big day's date yet?

Leo,
Can pray tai shui for others leh.. give money can already lor..
FH set alarm clock to wake up at midnight to apply for ROM date.. time is 12.30, kinda late hor.. His reason is that so that his frens can join us during their lunch time.. Pengs, i scold him for thinking for his frens and not us.. Hopefully, the queue is no long, can chop chop start on time and can start lunch at 1pm..
Happy like a bird, need to send our rings for engravement now..

btw, latest news if that my trip is cfm from 24 mar to 17 apr.. sob sob.. so long.. FH is sadder than me lor.. ha..

Wow... so much to catch up!!!
Haven't got time to log on, have been very busy with work and wedding preparation. Thought I don have much things to do, now that the date gets nearer, then realise that there's so many coordination to do!
Went to make my Kebaya last min! Arrange for food tasting, invitation card, wine, beer, etc...
And the most headache, guest list. We thought we only need about 35 to 38 tables, but the final list comes out to 45 tables!!! Anyway, no choice lor.

Hi Kare,May,Pausini & Vin - Can I take alook at your pics. My e-mail:[email protected]

Piper and roro!
Just to drop a note to u gals, my colleague recently told me, the best wedding he's ever attended is at GCW, great ambience and food!

Yve,

Why wake up midnite? Book thru internet? I sua ku becos mine was 2 years back and we need to go down personally to book the date. 12.30 ok lah, just nice for lunch. Mine was 12.00pm if I'm not wrong. You want to engrave the date on your ring? Mine with hb name only.

Trip? You mean outstation trip? Wow, that is long. Pity your FH, must be very lonely during this period. Why must stay so long? What trade you are in? Just curious.

Yes! The new magazine Style Weddings is out! I have got myself a copy
Lots of beautiful pictures and useful tips of course
I got my copy from NTUC supermarket.

Her World Brides was out last week. Now only Female Brides is not out yet.

The newly launched magazine Style Weddings is out today! Do check it out.

One mag cost $7 and the cover is andrea de cruz with Pierre Png. Lots of beautiful pictures and useful tips. Worth a grab.

Hi vio,
Sure, can pass to me next tue

Hmm..actually I have one actual day photographer provided by the bridal shop but dunno whether to use him or not, still thinking. Thinking of getting OTR shoes too, went to OG (Orchard), they do have some selection of bridal shoes, but more for open toes and not covered ones.
Must find my shoes before PS in early May. If cannot find, have to MTM.

Hi kk,
How the magazine, anything interesting??

Oh, u having ps in early may? Me having ps in mid may

The magazine more like fashion magazine.. kekee... a lot of gowns lah, but not really the styles i like. Too sexy. Overall it is ok, at least something new since it is a new magazine

It has a lot of things in it, from gowns to shoes to honeymoon to even house deco!

Priviledged,
totally understand what u are going thru. Like you, I've no choice so I've to resign as well. Looking on the brighter side, its a break I guess for a while. (that's what I'm trying to convince myself as well grin) Let's continue to pray that you can get your no-pay leave approved

Abrinas, at least your boss has already promised that he will be rooting for you...hopefully you would not be over-stressed.

Pooh, how about Smiling Orchid ? Heard some good things about them, but I'm not too sure....

Hi Priscilla,

Sorry to hear that from you.... I have not been in for quite some time...Hope your problem be solve soon. Don't loose heart

Hi girls, jsut catch some breathe after the break from the course to check the posting.

Jan: there is so much i wanted to console u but i have no time now. Dun think too much ok. My BIL have a gf, sweet and lovely and when we have meal together with my MIL she always appear to be very helpful and me always stand there dun know wat to do. So it also post a threat to me. But i dun care lah, cos i am not going to live with MIL yet. But dun be like me ok. Since ur MIL like ur SIL, try to not stand in ur SIL way. No point, adding one good flavour to her and creating bad image abt urself cos u doesnt know wat the woman wld do to u. If u really feeling back, write in the forum and express ur angry. I think that helps and we will all give u the listening ears. Girls right!!!!

Shook: that is a good start! I try to break up jas77 slides so u can view them. i will not include the song in jas77 slides cos it will be too big. I will send u the slides file like slide1, slide2, etc so u know the flow. what song u want to put in the slides? better to have it convert to MP3. May be u tell the song see whether i have it?

Kare: no need baby pic. u have any pic that u feel like putting in and can work out a storyline also can lor.

Jazz: Wg & EG ok lah. dun want to think too much abt the PS liao. we just pray for the best lor.

May: After i have shifted my office to sci park. i have toget used to eat with new colleagues. guess wat, i was in the team will only male colleagues all the while and i am the only female. So i dun really how to get along well with female colleagues escpecially at work. dun say friends lah, close one are girlfriends, outside friends is ok but not work.

Cat: i will send u the link.

Iris: My ps is on 18 June...hehehehe...I also very scared to be sabo by the guys. I think I will involve them in my wedding prep tokeep them busy!

Erin: Sophia was slightly better than those at suntec. But the sales person keep persuading me to sign on the spot. When she sense the hesitance in my FH and I, she kept throwing in 'freebies'.

FH got a little impatient when she kept persuading even though we told her that we need time to consider since itis a once a life time matter.. FH also feel that it is incredible that they can throw in so many freebies just to get people to sign on the dotted line (Quote FH: Good things never come cheap, cheap things are seldom good!)

The ultimate came when she told me that she can give me a 20% off the total package price (on top of the goodies) if I sign up before the day is over! Upon hearing that, my FH's eyes widen and signal for me to get out. It was 'scary' for him because he feel that if they can throw in so many things for $3850 (after disc), then their price must have been super marked up to wait for people to bargain. This is the main reason why we never consider Sophia.

Roro & Piper: So envious that you got GCW for your dinner. The ballroom is very nice. Breath taking. Too bad I can't meet their minimum.

Tiara: Welcome. It's never too late to start. If you are not taking photography and EG, you probably would like to find a good florist for your corsages and bouquets and just rent or buy a WG from a reputable bridal shop. I think it's cheaper this way. You can try the shops suggested by naturally.

Leo,
Yeah, he booked through the internet. Tried a few times before the 3 months period, also cannot. Must really wait till 3 months before then the date is available at ROM.
Not engraving the date, cos we cannot decide to engrave the ROM date or the customary date. Anyway, I think better dun too, dun wan to make it easy to rem when is our anniversary.. My ring will have his name, and his will have mine..

Yep, outstation to Portugal, to set up an IT system. I am doing IT in a transportation company, so company set up biz overseas, we go and set up the system. The trip has been postponed many many times. Finally it is happening.. It is a joke here that until u board the plane, u can never be sure that u are gng.. heh, enough said about my Company's planning skills..

wedding gift? no lah.. But thinking of getting FH a watch as a birthday gift.. but if no budget, just wrap myself up and give myself to him lor..

drats!!! all these newstands around my office ALL dun have!!!

i went to every single one of them and still none !!!

i'm just afraid it'll be a crazy frenzy where it gets sold out within a few hours, like the HW Dec issue where they gave out free shawls and the Elle magazine's free tote bag...

hahaha yve... very innovative. i'm sure your hubby will like your 'special' present! maybe your hubby can fly over & join you for a while? wah... envy you leh, can go overseas, plus in IT industry, earning big bucks eh?

if you want to finish on time, do rem to go earlier on tat day, or some other day to verify lor. then you will get to do the ROM on your booked time.

leo29... prob wun do anything for wedding, unless its anniversary lor. i juz made something for hubby for our pa-tor anniversary, ROM anniversary will be after the wedding, so see how first lor!

is $700 very cheap? not too sure leh, but it is still a lot of $ & we finally decide to do it, coz i really want to keep the memories. but mine is pure footage, w/o editing or adding in anything.

urrrmmm... my standard is really very amatuer to play so big lah, i dun even know how to count how many 'tai' very well! & if i ever 'gau' 5 'tai', its by luck, coz i dun know how to aim for big game!
i still need loads & loads of practice, & to give 'tuition $'.

are, not earning big bucks lah.. just survived a retrenchment exercise.. now gng thru re-org..
verify means i bring down our IC and witness's ICs will do?

Cat: the site is down. think i can only sent it next week.

I wont be in 2morrow - coz it is my ps day. and this whole week is running cats and dogs. Oh dear, i very worried.

Just went for my manicure and pedicure yesterday. cost me $52 for frencg manicure and normal pedicure. Now must be very gentle and type slowingly. I have spend so much this week. went for haircut n color, facial...gosh all for ps. i am dead broke.

Hihi Jazz, Jan
Sent the exe file to u liao.
My mum said can't do wedding stuff in the 3rd moon. So gotta send invitation cards by end Mar coz 2 Apr is the starts of the 3rd moon.

Hihi Jan
Someone in the forum advise ppl to send cards 6 weeks be actual day. So it is alrite to send out invitation card end this mth lor.
I calculated the cost for printing inserts. Paper abt 10 over dollars + printer ribbon (dunno how much). So much cheaper than getting the printer to do the job. Bsides I plan to use purple color letters on my pink inserts. Not sure if printer can print purple color letters.
Gd dat T dragon agrees to swop card for u.

Hihi May
Y u pop up your mattress against the wall? Is it bcoz u haven't an chuang yet? I thot someone (is it Vin) said place the mattress slant a bit will do.
Have fun on your ps.

Hihi cat U can sew kebaya. Wow!!

hi 1027,

where's your office?
if yours at raffles place,
there's one newspaper stand at the mrt which sells the magazine
can take a look...

btw, allure charix (amoy street) is giving free ring pillows for the 1st 2000 visitors
but you would have to cut out the coupon from the magazine

yve... yup, i think all you need is the 4 ICs. are you aware you can go any day before your ROM? think meow did that rite? i din know & i was late somemore for my ROM, so everything was so messy!