(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi rinoa & chicory,

i've not signed anything, but at this moment i'm leaning very much towards Dang. squeezed my budget to accommodate that
I want to find my studio photographer before signing the package. but still haven't brought my bf to the shop, so final hurdle still not crossed..

Hihi Vin
I mean including kwa, u have 6 outfits. Wat u have is exactly wat I want, variations of gowns. Envy....

Hihi Pausini
I m not fated to view your montage lor. Think it is ok. U oso v busy wif your preparation, where got time to help me do montage.
Wow octopus, left right handle computer. My manager sits next to me, so gotta come into the forum secretly. During lunch time n sometimes I m despartely replying I treat him as invisible.
My hubby oso comes into the forum to view postings fm n to me. He does a serach for my name lor. He oso doesn't post anything. Now he oso busy wif new project n going reservist soon, so stop coming to the forum liao.
Sure can visit each other's love nest. I second your idea.

Hihi May
It is fine. Thx for the thots.
It is better to provide food esp to your helpers. They feel hungry moving ard wif u.
U doing tea ceremony when your hubby comes to fetch u? If dat is the case, u dun need tea dress. If your bridal boutique provides tea dress, wear it when u send your guests off.
Yes keep the communication going. Ya right, think we can afford to meet after wedding.

I now have:
2 votes for - Sensos Western Fusion Restaurant

1 vote for - California Bistro

So anymore votes?

Meow,
I think you better at least choose one so more easy to make decision.

Hi Delanni,
I had went to the PS with Lynn. She is all right during the session. Sharing with me how to pose for example, my right side is better looking than my left side. Always helping to pose in order not to show my double chin and fat arm.... hee hee. But the end result.... no idea leh, got to see photo first. Anyway, I am quite comfortable with her loh...have to lah since I engaged her for my actual day photography.

Hi Shook: Tentatively, I'm free on 19 Apr becos 18 Apr is Gd Fri, I'm not sure if my FH will be going back to M'sia for that long weekend. I'll meet up with you if I din go back to M'sia, k.

Hi Pausini: I've got yr montage. Thks a lot. I tried doing for my own on powerpoint with music but half way got stuck. The music continues to play but the pix din come out. I gave up liao.

Hi May: You lost weight huh? You look slimmer than the previous photos when u were in yr WG. U all very lucky to be able to 'chat' during work. I hv internet access but was really busy & therefore no time to surf net.

Hi Shook: My designer actually put in two layers of tulle underneath my WG to give the 'can can' effect. However, when I look at it in the mirror, it still look quite flat & therefore she told me that the maximum I can go is to add in one more layer to create the effect of a grand A-line. So I told her to go ahead with it. I'm the same height as you therefore she advised me not to go for too big can can.

Talk abt meeting up, I'll be meeting some brides from the Bridal Veil thread. So, I'll be meeting up with SLK & Peabrain as well if both of them can make it on 22 March.

HI all
this is the latest update of the votes.

3 vote for - Sensos Western Fusion Restaurant

1 vote for - California Bistro

Anymore votes or those who want to know what restaurant is on the list, please get back to my earlier posting on the top.

Hihi Sue

Ok tentatively 19th Apr. I will keep u, Pausini n Vin informed come closer the date.

My designer din say I can't take can can. She said I can't take gown wif many accessories as 2 many accessories will cover up my body as if the gown is wearing me. I dun like simple plain gown leh. I like gown wif accessories or pattern. The 2 EG dat I m fine wif has accessories n pattern on them. U prefer ballrm gown or A-line gown?

I dun have internet access @ home so access in office lor
. But gotta go into office v early in the morning, lunch in n sometimes go in during weekend.

Pls send my regards to SLK. She din come in to tis thread for a long time.

Wah pooh, u so early? U've been busy? Did not see u for a while?

Hi Priviledged

Actually not busy one but the counselling was settled for 19 Mar cos my reverend is busy with the building of our new chapel n this is the only date he has for the 1st meeting. Think will hv problems fixing the second one.
Hv u started to print cards? R u going to print church programs? I am wondering if I shd.

Girls,

I need to attend a course today & tm but is conducted in office so i can come back and check the posting during breaks. So my posting will be a bit slow.

Sue: what problems u encountered? may be i can help. u wanna send me ur draft montage? May be u give me some storyline what u wanna include in the montage. i see whether i can help to debug ur slide then let u continue from there.

Shook: if i can helpu. i will help.. not very hard to do lor...

Ok girls i need to go, class starts at 9am.

Roro: Where will you be having your wedding dinner?

Rinoa: No, I have not settled on the actual day photographer yet. Still waiting for my hubby.

Tingting: Let us know when you sign on the dotted line. Will be happy to meet up with you at Dang!

Hi tingting,

Me too same situation as you
, i have been to those bridal shops with my fren or alone. Need to bring hubby to those shops i short-listed before i sign the package. I also intend to finalise the studio photographer before signing the package.

Hi elaine,

very nice pics..no wonder people always say a gal is prettiest on her wedding day. u really did justice to these words!

have signed in & keft a msg in yr guestbk. but seems like only we left msg there leh..haha
now my mum hinting she 1 2 stay with us in our new house! i dunno wat to say...man, alot more to come!!

leafy, i tried calling David Loh but to no avail.

flowee, fri d&d at where? so gd, i miz d&ds now cos my current co. too small to hv d&d.

yi, where's the chinatown shop u say sell those traditional ceremony stuff ah?

Hi roro,

Something i am curious about OTR gowns, let's say if you have chosen a particular gown and your wedding is in Dec, will they keep the gown aside and not let anyone choose the gown or someone can still choose the gown you chose even if her wedding is before yours?

Hi Abrinas,
ya lor need to send a email out so logon and see see. Very busy so seldom logon.

Havent send cards for printing. Where u sending ur cards? May i know the pricing?

jady,

eh...true lor... Any girl will look prettiest in WG. *why huh?*

Quite difficult to get him hor? > I'll ask my sis to continue to keep a look out for his appearance. ;)

jady

i dun reali feel like attend the d&d coz most of my kaki had left the company...
its @ mandarin hotel orchard...

leafy

paiseh i hv no idea where 2 otr cs from mum...
perhaps u can check out OG...
they hv many nice clothings for mum...

Pausini: No lah, i not mgr post. Just lucky to have my own room. All of us in the office do xcept the temps. So bascially we leave in our own world, unless there's office meetings - we can dont talk. So very quite and bored. But got this forum so life is so much better.

Yes, we shld defintely invite each other to hse warming parties. That will be nice. Mayb we can all play mahjong together too..

Wah, your sis FH and yours so click ah...they must b comparing notes of the 2 sisters hor.

Shook: i also agree tat my designer shld have highlighted to me abt the gathers of my EG. Dunno why they didnt. Sigh..they r very nice people and i like the material of my EG very much, just the design (cant complain coz i chose, right). Coz the emphasis is on the gathers, my gown is without beads or accessories. Very plain hor. So i am thinking of getting a Cheong sum done in China so i got another outfit to wear.

My hubby knows i visit this forum, but he too busy to come in to look c.

Sue: Your comments make my day. hee...thanks. send my regards to SLK. long time no hear from her.

Pausini: i forget to tell you that my kitchen corian top costs me S$ 1244 for 12 1/2 ft length and L-shape labour.

Me sending to my restaurant's printer to print. 250 pcs around S$85 (printing only, cards provided by restaurant). Church wedding cards around $230 incl materials.

Abrinas, yes, we will be printing an order of service for the church service, with the full text of the hymns, and the scripture reading so that guests don't have to flip the hymnals and non-Christians can also see the scripture reading for themselves.

I haven't done anything about the invitation cards yet!! A little laid back, but also cos my Fiance's not around, so I'm reluctant to do anything without consulting him first. We did already come up with the wordings and layout, so all we need to do is to pick up the cards and find a printer. I'm also desperately trying to finish writing my Masters dissertation by mid-April and all this is causing me much depression.

O dear, depression? Don't worry so much, u will finishing writing your dissertation and anyway, printing just take a couple of weeks. your Fiance will be back in April rite? Think u shd wait for him n do it together with him. At least there's someone to share your burden with.

Nearly quarrelled with my FH yesterday. He said he wanted to write the duties of the coordinators for our wedding day but the papers r in front of him but his eyes r pinned to the black box. Can't stand it.

hi chicory,

maybe can share that it seems to be the practice for LG to reserve the gown for the bride, even if the wedding is sometime later.. when i went there to try on the gowns, there was one OTR that they say has been reserved for a bride, and i can't even try it on.. that bride's quite lucky..that was a new piece!

hi elaine,

your website was great.
thansk for sharing.

hi flowee,

itz fun to go for company's d&d rite?
my company does not have d&d for staff but there is d&d for members, so we have to work lor.

buying any special dress or doing any special makeup for it?
today is wednesday liao, mid week already, so happy!

hi jady,

I ckecked with hubby on the shop then let u know, if I'm not wrong it is stall no. 97 at the chinatown market complex.

it is managed by an old couple and is hidden at a corner so gotta to search properly then can find.

Hi all: I'm on leave today becos my FH's parents are here to meet my parents. Going for my food tasting later on & collect my cards. Now, I can hear the wedding bells...it's getting nearer & nearer for us!

HI Shook: Actually, I like those ball gown type. They look so princess-like. However, I know I can't take it becos of my height. That's why, I'm going for A-line which flatters me more. My designer told me that the max I can go for is a grand A-line. Next Wed is my 2nd fitting, I'll try to take some photos to show u. SLK will drop by when she's free in the BV thread.

Hi May: Dun mention leh. That's the impression I got when I first look at yr pixs. I think your EG looks perfectly alright & I dun find it plain becos of the gathers. I like my gown plain plain one. On yr actual day, you can do something to your hairstyle to accessorise your gown. My friend set her hair & the hairstylist clipped up section of her hair with those diamante hairclips. She looked really gorgeous on her wedding day.

Hi Pausini: Thanks for offering your help. Unfortuately, I changed to a MAC recently & my FH have re-formatted the old hard disk. So, everything is gone.
He said he'll use Flash to do it.

Hi Flowee Jie,

There, that pair lor. Remember that sunday u go orchard and i go bugis? Then i couldn't find any at bugis so me and kkk go to tampines? I bought one pair of silver heels mah. After that, then never go shopping liao :P

Hi sweetie,

The sequins are something like glass n also shiny n oso like silver in colour.

Sequins are something in circular shape that shines lor.

Wendy

Thanks for signing in my guesstbook & also the compliment
ya, dun know why like only you gals sign my guestbook...maybe my other friends too shy??

<FONT COLOR="green">Jady</FONT> - Huh?? your mother wans to stay with u guys? Normally is hubby's parents tat get to live with couples? Maybe u can let your mother know tat if your hubby's parents knows tat, it's not veri nice.

<FONT COLOR="orange">leafy</FONT> - My lovestory is actually my proposal story, I dun know wat to write, courtship story like too long liao, so decided to write a few hours stuff

<FONT COLOR="red">flowee</FONT> - wow! d&amp;d? so luckly
can wear nice nice liao
I have never attend any d&amp;d even though I work few companys liao
I guess most of the company I work is the small kind

Hi Pris,

I'm all rite for any place. Sorry, where are they located at? hehe &amp; which 1 is less ex?

Leo, hehee think only 2 of us ask for the pricing hor? kekekeke
18668.gif

twink|ets ~

Hi Wendyl,

One suggestion: Why don't you ask you designer to sew a minimal amount of sequins on your bodice first to see how you like it. If you like it, then you can ask them to sew more. if not, then you can ask them to take it down. That will give you a better idea whether you look good or not.

wendyl... are they like 'round fish scales'? if they are, i oso choose 1 PS gown with strings of tat running down. tot it was a bit dated, till i tried it. i tot it looked really nice coz it was shimmering and shiny &amp; hubby liked it very much. so as long as you like it, dun hv to worrie abt fashion lah. ;P

twink|ets... think pris mentioned tat they are at esplanade level 1 or 2.

Hi tingting,

Oh, she sure is very lucky to be able to find a suitable new OTR gown. If you like LG, maybe you can consider their OTR since they reserve it for the bride and no-one is allowed to try it on. With your height and figure, i think you will be able to fit most OTR designs and gowns. I wonder if Dang also practice the same as LG.

me just got news from my HR that I can't take the ONE day marriage leave cos my ROM and customary is more than one year apart...
already leaves so little..now only one day marriage leave also being deprived of...wat to do...

Me got 7-days marriage leave maybe diff fm u, i don't hv ROM. Don't be sad ok? Myabe they will change their mind? Maybe u can talk to them again. U got how many days a year? Why not enuf cos now only March?

hi chicory,

i find the gowns at LG a little too heavy-set for my liking, and I most ptob won't be taking a bustier gown, which most of their OTR gowns are..so my choices are quite limited OTR.

wonder if Dang wld mind if i first sign on a OTR package then change over to MTM if i can't find something suitable? Think they also have new additions on the rack once in a while rite?

abrinas,
so good!!!envy....me only one day marriage doesn't matter it is for ROM or customary...can't change cos this is HR policy..me only 12days leave per year leh..pathetic or not??after I take 13days for honeymoon i will left with 5 days only...

CHicory &amp; Tingting: When I signed up, Dang told me that my MTM gowns will not be loan out to others before my wedding. As my wedding is only in Dec and my PS is in June, she wanted to give me assurance that my gowns will be kept in the store for me unless I choose to bring it home after the PS, which she allows.

Chiocory: So envious of you for having good figure. I never thought of getting OTR package because I know no bridal shop will have a brand new gown of my size. Guess this is theproblem for a big girl.

Just to check with you ladies, how much do you/ will set aside in total for bridal package, studio &amp; outdoor photo package and actual day phot package? I did a quick calculation and realise that my costing for these 3 items will cost about $6200!

My colleague went to 'a-not-so-reputable' bridal shop and got all these 3 items in for 2988 (Of course, gown cannot keep lah)! Nevertheless, it's amazing how the bridal shop can give hime all these at such a low price!

Actually, under comparison, the difference of $3000++ can be quite scary. Lucky till now, my FH never complain. Don't know why leh...I feel a little guilty for 'spending so much' due to my 'vainity' and 'taste' for 'better' stuff. What do you girls think?

Hi vio,
Yes, can send me the pricelist to my email at
[email protected]?

I went to Ricino at Orchard Point to look at their shoes. The salesperson told me that there no longer MTM bridal shoes cos of bad experience when customers reject the shoes after it was made.
They only MTM the design on the rack, ie. provided that you can find the desired shoes at the rack. Their shoes are more expensive than Leapin Lizard, cost $160 for a simple sandals with beads! Leapin Lizard range is around $129 for a pair of bridal shoes with patterns.