(2003) Brides of year 2003

Wow, this thread is becoming more active, great!

Tiara, i also have not confirm my bridal package. You are still not too late
. Hopefully i can decide by this month. Now busy researching on studio photography.

Mrs Quake, i have not decide if i want to engage beetles cuz' i intend to visit their studio to see more of their works. Will help you check out the actual day photography. They are on digital though i prefer non-digital. Me too, now we also say we married and show them our rings whenever we pass by these bridal exhibition

Iris, i hope to choose the outdoor locations too. I think most photographers allow you to choose up to 2 locations but you have to tell them in advance i guess.

hi chicory,

yup, i saw the news on the bridal mag yesterday. maybe will take a look at newsstand later today..hope to see lots of nice gowns in it!

Hi Meow,

Thanks for your e-mail, juz would like to find out... do you have to pay any deposit when you confirmed with Nick Goh for the photography on the wedding day? If yes, how much??

dun worry, the stands should have them now

heard that it is a bi-annual magazine
hopefully, it's different from the 'normal' bridal magazines ; )

Thanks Abrinas, Sweets.

Abrinas, don't worry. When the boss expects more of you, you know that he thinks you are capable.
But I do understand why you worry. If I were expected to do so much, I'd not be too keen. Being newly married, we need to adjust to our new roles as wives and daughters-in-law etc. But prayer really helps when you're really stressed. More stress, more prayer.

hi tingting,

Yah, hope so too, hope that there will be more gowns from other bridal boutiques featured.

Mrs Quake, i have the details for Beetles' actual day photography.

Basic Package ($1500)
---------------------
300 4R photos (colours & b/w)
CD rom with all exposures return

Premium Package ($2000)
-----------------------
1 album of 30 pcs 12R Collages
300 4R photos (colours & b/w)
CD rom with all exposures return

I think it's out of my budget. But the collages are a real good deal. I was told that they are having a roadshow in April, details in Style Wedding. They are still working on the promotions, may have discounts to their photography package.

tingting, you want to consider beetles @ works for your studio photography? I can email you the details if you want. I find that it is a very good deal as they return all exposures in a CD-rom without topping up.

Yve,

So you are in IT dept. I think Amore also in IT line. You don't have to worry lah, IT very Chi Xiang one.

No need to wrap yourself up. Just tie a big red ribbon on your head will do.
Hahaha....

Are,

$700 for 2 days lei. Cheap..... Taking video wouldn't make you regret one lah. You can convert it to VCD and keep very long. Can let your children see next time also.

You will learn very fast if you play big big,
. You must do homework lah. Ask those expert how to make big big tai then note it down. On and off bring it out to memorise. This is what I do last time. I siao one hor. Sometimes, even now I still have to recall how to make Da Shi Xi, Da Shan Yuan....

hi chicory,

thanks! pls email me the details. I'm also looking at berryhappy photography..the prices are more competitive as compared to others. you may want to look at their packages online (see SB's dir).

Chicory & tingting: The prices are out of my league for actual day photography. FH will kill me if I blow our budget once again. I'm seriously considering (or rather, decided) Sok Eng of berryhappy but FH still need more time.

Yve,
What are say is true. Jus bring you and FH's IC plus your witness ICs(total 4 ICs) go down any day before your ROM and register. It save you many hours of waiting. Anyway, that time i went down to submit ICs, still need to wait at least 30-45mins.

Shirlynn,
You are welcome. I jus paid $200 for deposit by cheque. I jus saw my photos on his website yesterday. Too bad didn't get any commission.

hi mrs quake,

oic. yah, my friends managed to get the 20% discount cos they say x'mas promotion.

hmm... these taiwanese bridal shops huh. so bad one. i shd have bargain more.

shouldn't have settled on my bridal shop so quickly b'cos i'm afraid of the trouble. guess no choice liao. have to be contented with what i've gotten. hopefully, my friends and i can 'work' together to prevent any unhappiness from occuring.

So u all sourcing for actual day photographers ah? I'm considering Alan Dai and Kim (a female photographer which my friend recommended) cos my budget quite low, only around $500 - $600. Any other recommendations around this budget?

Thanks for all the concern.
Me planning to booked with Furama hotel cos their pricing is so much cheaper then M hotel and the ballroom is so big and grand.
Me going to Furama this Sat to see how is it lor then I will confirm with them cos they only required me to pay $2k for deposit. But me still need to borrow from MIL abit scare she don't have.... Well will get back to you all on my latest news. Cheers..!

Hi Meow,
Me reply back to you already to your e-mail, go check it lor....

hi totoro

kose and shiseido blotters r good...
can get from department stores, i think! Their various counters! :P

hey abrinas, which field r u in? HR? i used to work in HR

hi sweets,

thanks for ur advice... yep will let my hubby wear a light pink shirt inside... how abt tie? darker pink? maroon?

hehe priviledged,

i also take paper n pen, cassette recorder to seek ur advice abt NZ? can? ahhah kidding abt the recorder part!
cos may be interested to go also leh, free n easy one. Thanks in advance!

Shanice

May.. haha.. me too! I will be going for my second appt with my derm, as well as do manicure and pedicure this Sunday, followed by haircut and colour. What girls do! Now if only I am slimmer. Sigh sigh.

Jan.. I second what Pausini said and all. Most of all, be sincere. You don't have to pretend to treat her extra well, just so to beat your SIL. Just be yourself. She will have to accept you. And so what if she does not like you as much as your SIL? The most important thing is your husband loves you a lot. Like my case, I'm the last of the daughters in law in my family. Fourth in fact. A new addition in an already close knitted family. Not easy to crash myself in. After much thought, I think there's no way I can replace my SILs, so I must as well just live my life, just do what's right and then let the rest take care of itself. You can never make everyone happy all the time.

Hi Sweets!!!

and to all who interested in seeing how my pet dog (1 yr 8 months old Jack Russell Terrier) looks like.....

i've uploaded some pics of my female Jack Russell, Wangwang! She's definitely cute!!!!
n notti as well, eh... i mean active! hahahaa... she loves to carry a toy bone in her mouth, bring it to us (show off!), put it down in front of me, wait for me to throw it somewhere for her to fetch.. she'll make growling noises if i choose to ignore the bone and her "effort" ahahahahah... maybe she wanna show off that she can FETCH.. as if i can't hahaaaaha

Click on the link below to view her pics! Do leave some comments... many of the pics were taken with her when i was still plump... hahahahaha :P

http://www.fujifilm.com.sg/html/publicBrowse.php3?id=3e709e849c1d7

Shanice

Hi 1027,

Hope u will get the magazine today! I dun think it is that hot lah. Last evening i still see 2 newstands at clementi selling the magazines and still plenty of them

Hi Jus,

Yah, it is a bi-annual magazine. This edition is for March to August 03

chicory,

You can go to berryhappy's website for her price list. It is listed on the SB's directory. I was interested in her full day digital photography at $850. For that price, you get 360 shots. She will save all shots in duplicate - B&W and color in a CD. You may choose between the 2 sets for her to develope into 4R hard copies for you. I don't know if the price still stands as she told me thatshe may have to up her price already.

erin: since a few of you have signed with Sophia, maybe you all can bargain as a group. That may earn you 'better freebies'. You can also 'watch each other's back'.

I have seen Alan Dai's work. His pictures are sharp and bright. Outdoor pics are good too. However, I still prefer Sok Eng's style.

leo29... wah! worse than my studies leh, i dun even memorise so hard for my exams!!! hahaha... was planning to go 'intensive' training next time when i move in with hubby, coz can play on PC & he can teach me. now i dun let him sit beside me coz i panick, & sometimes throw tiles tat he can't understand y!!! hahahaha... me now play is as long as can 'gau' can liao! ;P

sunnyling... wah, dun tekan me leh... we both stay in sengkang leh, i get hubby to send you back lah!!! hahahahaha...

Hi Sweets n Priviledged

Thanks for your all consolations. I felt better liao

Hi Priviledged

I guess u r rite. Yep, me praying very hard abt it n coincidentally n with God's blessings, my boss is a Christian, Presbyterian to be exact.

Hi Shanice

I m a secretary. Was in this line for nearly ... wow .... come to think of it, I was in this line for nearly 10 years.
Old old liao

I hv a wide range of bosses/ companies - from lawyers to Hong Kong ship conglomerate to sickening german (just this one that I worked 4, no offence to others)
to dirty n sickos Indians (just this company I worked for 2 - u know the type whereby they keep scratching their crotch - yes, it is true they scratch their crotch even in front of women)
to a nice n godly Singaporean man who is like a father to me (cos I don't hv one but I m cool with that)
. A good description of all my bosses on a good Friday morning

HI girls,
I saw my pictures from the PS. I dun like it at all. the 1st look make me sick looking at myself. it doesnt turn out wat i want. i think shld blame myself. i shldnt expect too much... i look very fat, the make up like too natural to me. too myself.... Am i crazy? i dun even dare to place the pix at the dinner. i am very stress up, very disappointed abt myself for not sliming down. Not making at effort n now trying to put all the blame on the photo, the photographer skill and make up artist fault. I am trying to talk my inner self to look at the bright side, to face the fact that "heh pau, u are fat, want u want them to do? they can make u look like u are 45kg" very sian!!!!

Mrs Quake and tingting,

I saw Sok Eng's work and price list on SB's directory, i like her style too. However, i find that a few pictures are not so sharp, but most of them still sharp and nice. How you find Nick Goh?

Erin: Don't worry, i think Sophia should be considered a reputable bridal shop, so i don't think they will do anything to jeopardise their reputation. But i guess you must be firm with them so that they don't "bully" you

Tingting, did you buy Style Weddings? Anything interesting inside? I am going to buy today.

are

Which part of SK you stay ah?? But 3 digit not much liao leh I already give discount liao cos I know you. OK then additional 5% disc ok???

Hey you can play at yahoo for MJ, I also go in there when I am free. Play with ppl all over the world and chat with them.

Can I hv you gals comments please?

My restaurant offers a few themes which I really don't know which one to choose.

They hv 2 types of back drop - gold or white. Combination of flowers include Lilies, roses and gerberas (look like smaller versions of sunflowers). I cannot take lilies cos i will sneeze, so only left with roses n gerberas. Roses r either pink or red or combination of both. I quite like gerberas cos they r really cheerful n roses r quite common. What do u all think?

I have been very inactive for the past 2 months. Please pardon me.... if I am not wrong, I have only posted 2-3 times in this thread....

Was really tied up with work and some personal stff... I just went for a minor hand surgery the day before and will be on mc till 24th... So now I can spend time in this forum... Hahhaha...

Can I join you gals on the 28th?? Hmmm.... so excited abt it. Afterall, it'll be my first time meeting you all....

I will be collecting my house keys on Monday and I am considering engaging a Fengshui Master. Any of you have any contacts here?? Will it be very expensive to engage a Fengshui Master??

Hey sunnyling, are, wen & leo29, you all play MJ too!! Thats great, I am a mahjong lover too.... But I normally play 30, 60. Dun dare to play so big...

Hi Erin,

It's okie lah, i was a little scared by Sophia's aggressiveness, but honestly their WGs impressed me...
My FH attended a biz associate's wedding early this year at Fullerton, they also took Sophia's package, he says the bride looks very stunning in both gowns, my guy can be VERY critical at times, so when he says it's good, u have to believe him, heehee! So don't take the negative comments on the sophia thread too badly, cos also got real-life success cases mah!
And like wat Mrs Quake says, u are lucky to have frens also with Sophia, can band together as a group for better bargaining power!!

U want to check out O studio's actual day package? Their place is very near sophia, I think it is $580, i signed up last oct during their promo when it was $500. But it's not by Jaki lah, it's by their inhouse photographers... jaki the boss can't possible engage sub-standard people to ruin his brand reputation right? At least i hope so lah!

Or Yew Kwang? His website is http://www.yewkwang.com , think he puts the pricing on his site, shd be abt $500 too.

U can call them for appt to view their portfolios before deciding lor!

hi chicory

din manage to find the mag at places like popular n the newsstand outside mrt..maybe they haven't fully distributed yet..will check out again today or over the weekend...

for sok eng's package, i'm actually looking at the 500 prints package, cos i'll need more than 360 shots for a whole day's wedding...that is $1000 if u want her to print a set of photos for you..if u just take the CD-rom, it's $850.

Shanice, no problem with the NZ thing. I'll try to bring some accomodation books and maps with me. A little dated (3 yrs old) but still OK, I think. I can tell you where to get them when you're in NZ too!

Abrinas, I too cannot take lilies. They give me asthma! Gerberas are really nice. It doesn't matter to have 'common' flowers. After all, if they look nice, nobody really will think about how common they are. Are you going for the white theme then?

Hi May - Ok Thanks!Will wait for you email. Me too, spend so much in a week. But after the photos comes out, you will find all the $$ you spent is worth it. Remember we all want to be Mei Mei bride. Hope you enjoy your PS.

Hi Shook-No, I don't know how to saw Kebaya, I went to the tailor it.

Hi Kare-Thanks for sending the link. Hey, your nephew and niece are really very very adorable.
Your gowns are nice, and you definitely don't look "big". Think I am bigger size then you, but hey don't worry we dont need to be skin and bones to look good. Seriously I think you really look great.

Good morning ladies,

it's friday again!!!
how do all of you find the magazine?
anyone has redeem the ring pillow?
am thinking of going down later... hee hee

hi 1027,
how? manage to get the magazine?

sunnyling... me next time will stay ard rivervale mall area. play on yahoo? never heard of leh... maybe when free can go try...

serrich... hope you are feeling better now? do join us for the gathering!

hi tingting,

Oh... ok, later i will go check at the mama store below my office and MPH.

I guess becuz' you have church wedding so need more photos, i dun have so 360 shots should be enough for me
. Is it cheaper for her to print the photos for you or get outside shop to print?

hi chicory,

i don't think she marks up that much, but if u print urself you can decide which ones to print (u may not want to print all). but being the lazy me, i'll just get her to give me a set...it'll be quite a headache to go through 500 pictures on the computer screen! : )

serrich... oh ya.. u were asking abt fengshui rite? juz my two-cents worth, me and hubby quite believe. but knowing our house is so small, we dare not find an expert coz 'fraid tat he will make demands tat we are unable to accomodate, design & function wise. besides, i dun think they are v cheap these days.

so wat we do is read some books and juz adopt those tat we feel comfortable with, like sink higher than stove, & not too near fridge, doorway must be bright... etc.

Hi are

I also quite near Rivervale Mall leh so we can jio and call everybody to play liao. You see now we already got 4 Kaki liao. You, Me, Leo29 and Serrich.

Serrich

Your hand is ok liao? Dun bcos of MJ hurt again.

are,

But I remember reading from somewhere that for stove and sink (either one) have to be placed at the worst and best position of the kitchen... Hmmm something like that lah... cant remember much.

I intend to have my altar facing my maindoor. But I have a pillar in front of my maindoor... heard that having a pillar facing the maindoor is no good.. but we like the design of the flat so no choice lor... Now I am not so particular abt the layout of my housebut I am more concern abt where is the best location to "an Guanyin"...

Serrich,

You are welcome to join our gathering. Me also first time meeting them becos last gathering I cannot make it.

What happen to your hand?

Sunnyling,
Don't scare Are lah. Wait next time the moment she see us she disappear like rocket.

sunnyling, are, wen,

We got 1 more kaki liao. But hor, check back our list and found out serrich stay very far away from us.

Wen,

Now then I notice you are another Ox here.

sunnyling... onz! i can offer my hse for playing once my reno is done & furniture in, prob in june!
hahahaha...

serrich... oh, u got altar. then i think better get someone to choose a gd position. think tats quite impt. think oso muz consider time & date to 'an' rite? i oso read before abt the 'best/worst' positions, but its calculated from wife & hubby's some statistics. too complicated, so hubby & i din bother. oso coz my kitchen is 'triangle' shape, so design was a big headache, can't afford to hv another set of rules!

Sunnyling,

You forget 'Wen', she is going to kill you. Heehee..., just joking.

Serrich,

The master who pick my wedding date is also a fengshui master. But hor, he very ex lei, if I'm not wrong, should be one thousand plus.

hi tingting,

yes, i agree with you, i am so lazy too... i wouldn't like to browse the computer for 500 photos too... so she will put all 500 prints in an album for you? The prints are in 4R rite? So you have decided to engage her? I went to look at Photolanguage's website yesterday, he is good too.
Can you email me his package details? I have emailed you Beetles' packages.