(2003) Brides of year 2003

18 days leave not bad liao.

Wah, 13 days for honeymoon!! I envy u ...
Where u going?

Me not going honeymoon
cos has to start scouting reno for my hse.

no no no..i meant my leave per year only 12days plus i bring forward balance of 6 to this year so total 18.

we going to NZ.will confirmed and booked end this month now pending for hubby's manager for further discount...

when i start your reno?

Hi Shanice, U look great..like the fourth pic ..silvery colour one..make u look slim..
like the other blueish pom pom one..like princess..

wow, u really slimdown a lot..how did u do it? can share?? i still look fat leh..how?

Hi Pris

Same question like Leo and twinklets about the pricing...Hee Hee

Hi twinklets,Leo

I will be the third one lor...

Hihi Pausini
Seriously u can afford the time to help me ah. Where do I start? I haven't collect my ps photos yet.

Hihi May
How nice to have your own rm. Total freedom.
Hm... envy dat u getting a cheong sum fm China. Cheaper, better quality n workmanship.

Hih Sue
Ya boy wedding bell getting louder. I have tis confused feeling of scare n happy. Dun understand y.
So u like flair ballrm gown too. The chief designer fm White Link picked4 me a flair ballrm gown wif many accessories 4 my ps. It turns out v beautiful leh. So I thot can go 4 ballrm gown. Now v confused. Sigh...
V envious of tall ppl like May

Hi beibei dun be sad,
then u have to plan ur leave.

I have 39days leave i think already take 3 days this yr so left 36days. I have 3 days marriage leave.

May spend 16days for my wedding and honeymoon so left not much also.

hi serene,

dun hv it w me now. can i give it to u on tue?
btw wat's ur budget like?

mtm shoes abit costly leh..think i'll start shop ard for otr ;p

hi mrs quake,

maybe ur FH hasn't seen the cheaper shops cos u bring him to the more exp ones?!
just joking!

my est. cost for the 3 items also come up to about $6000. really quite scary...but i think it's better to be safe than sorry...so better go to the more reputable ones...

Hi Mrs Quake, my wedding will be held in GWC. is ok dear, u splurge these kind of money once in a lifeTime, just dun go beyond ur budget!

hi chiocory, i think we just have to Trust & have faith in them.

Tingting: FH is aware that we can get a package for $3000++ but after he steps into those shops (mostly taiwanese style), he would switch off as they hard sell.

I also think so; better safe than sorry since it's a once a life time kind of thing.

Roro: What is GWC? Sorry ah...not very good at acronyms.

aiyah elaine, u know my mum lah, u think she care & u think i can tell her that? then she say she lata kana stroke agn, i die.

let me guess: Grand Waterfront Corpthorne? I like the full length glass window a lot! but pity i can't meet the minimum number of tables...

yah, plus i dun even know how to pose for cameras, so need to get photographers who really know to capture ur best features..

I will start scouting around for someone to do my kitchen cabinets n window grilles straight after wedding n hopefully, they can do it for me in July. My air-con coming end June 2. Then must go buy lightings also.
Nvrmnd lah, just plan yr leave properly lor. If really no choice, c can take no pay leave or not lor.

Wah, Pooh, 39 days!! If u take 3 days n then add on 3 days marriage leave, still come back to 39. U still got 23 after wedding/honeymoon.

Let me see, me got ...... 26 for this year, took ard 4 days, bal 22. Add marriage leave ard 29 days. More than enuf lah. After wedding finish, will on n off take for hse works.

Hi Feb,Are and Twinklets,
Me really not too sure about the pricing cos never been there before but believe its reasonable pricing lor the most one person around less then $20-30 lor.

Wow, you all really know how to ask question leh, but don't know whether can call to ask about their pricing.

Hi Shirlynn,
Me maybe going to give up M hotel cos they are going to increase the pricing to extra $20 per table and me need to confirm by this week then me won't be affected by the price increse but me don't have so muchcash to pay them the deposit now so me considering Furama hotel lor, but hope you not angry lei, cos you give up the date to me and me maybe not taking it anymore........I am really sorry....

gd afternn

yi

u wana 2 go???
u go on my behalf lor...
d&d is no longer a fun thing 2 mi since my kaki last the company...
dun tok abt dressin n make up...
dun hv anythin in the theme of Retro n din bother 2 look ard...
i super heck care liao.... :P

btw might need 2 borrow ur pair of weddin shoes...
let u koe again ok...

jady

dun think so muz...
i supposed u cant do everythin accordin 2 all her ur mum's 'wishes'...

kk mei

oic paiseh gettin old liao dun remember things liao...

wenn

cool.... nw u hv 2 pairs of shoes...

popples

muz keep ur cool n b a happi bride mah...

ur headache will b over soon!!! n headin 4 ur HM liao...

Hi Blurblur,

U can shop for the shoes at Metro (Tampines branch is better) and OG (Bugis). U can find really nice ones there and the price is reasonable too.

pris... u hv to pay cash for deposit? can't you sign card? maybe you can negotiate with them to lower the deposit amt? it will be such a pity coz u wanted M hotel so much rite?

Tingting, heavy-set due to the materials? I think LG gowns are mostly bustier because alot of brides like bustier. That's what Cindy told me, she says alot of brides ask for bustier when they go to Dang, as their mindset are fixed that they want their wedding gowns to be bustier as alot of bridal magazines feature alot of bustier gowns. Most probably i won't be getting bustier WG too. Maybe can ask Dang if you can sign for OTR first, but if can't find anything suitable, jus top up the difference and switch to MTM. But if you switch over to MTM, the time maybe abit tight for them. I do not know if they have new OTR gowns, i thought the gowns on the rack are MTM by past brides, so the gowns maybe 2nd or 3rd hand?

Mrs Quake, I know MTM gowns will not be loaned to other brides before your wedding, but i am wondering about OTR gowns, if i choose an OTR WG from Dang, will she keep the gown aside for me and not let another bride use it before my wedding even though my wedding is still many months away?

I think if i signed up with Dang and engage Picture Box, including actual day photography will be around $6k too. Alot hoh? If i want to budget myself further, i can sign up with Flamingo and engage Beetles @ works, then i only need to spend about $5K.

Yes, usually those bridal shops that can provide all three items at around $3K+ only use in-house photographers and make-up artists, then they are usually the hard-sell type, even if they say their MTM gowns will not be loan to others before your wedding, can you trust them? My hubby also doesn't like those hard-selling shops, so he thought all bridal shops are like that and dare not go bridal shopping with me though i have assured him many times that the shops i go to does not do hard-selling
. And i know from the start that i do not want in-house photographer, so i have never considered those bridal shops at all. I think it's once in a lifetime thing, so worthwhile to spend abit more on the gowns and photographer you like, but of course still must budget ourselves lah

I know of a fren who took a $3k plus package, MTM gowns and suit, in-house photographer. In the end, the MTM gown is not satisfactory, took OTR gowns but no refund. She doesn't like their in-house make-up artist, engaged outside make-up artist and hair-stylist on actual day, no refund too and spent extra. The last straw is her hubby's suit supposed to be brand new MTM, but found out that they took an old jacket and altered to his size, managed to get bridal shop to refund $500 on the suit. So got to do PS twice as the first PS was taken with the first jacket. So it's good to go to a reputable bridal shop though it may be slightly more expensive.

May: like tat how to interact with colleague. u have lunch partners? ur kitchen top is cheaper than mine but ur overall kitchen cost is higher than me. why har? I wasnt good at mahjung. On lah..

Sue: flash is better than powerpoint. If ur FH can do it, best still. The result will be better than mine.

sue, did u ask me where is my dinner held in masia? Very far is at perak. Take 8 hrs coach to reach there. I may need to go back next weekend to settle my wedding card and give out the cards to my relatives. At 1st, we are thinking to call and confirm the guest list and other stuffs. Look like it will create more problems so after discussing with FH, best way to solve it wld to go back and deal with it. FH wldnt be going with me as he will be starting work at a new coy soon. cant take leave and that week is NATAS fair, he need to setup system for the travel agent.

Shook: u mgr dun mind u online?
OK, what kind of storyline are u thinking to place in the presentation? One sample;

1) Baby -> toddler -> schooling days -> courtship -> ROM -> wedding pre -> wedding photos

How abt this storyline? This is the simplest, common used by many couples. I can help we need to start early so we can have time for changes.

U need to give me all the photos u think u want to include in the slide in digital format (if u have!) then i can start planning the slides for u.
Do u have song u really like but not for march in. can used it for the slides.
We can start from here.

Chicory: You can check with Dang about the OTR gowns before you sign with her lor. Like what roro say, it's once a lifetime lor but still must spend within budget lah. If you really like Dang, then sign up with her lor even if it means spending additional $1k for the photographs. No point forcing yourself to sign up with Flamingo if you don't feel good.

e also...from the start never consider getting those package with in house photographer and make up artist...I went to Sophia and experience hard sell plusall the in house service...FH immediately switch off! SIgh...

Your friend very poor thing leh...How come she never tot of exchanging all the unneccessary stuff for MTM gowns and stuff to take home?

Pris,
My girlfriend attended a wedding dinner on monday and she said the food is nice. Ballroom is new cos they have just renovated last year and big reception area. It is such a waste to give up. maybe you can check w banquet manager if he can do something for u.

Have sent you the contact. Let me know if you didnt receive.

Abrinas, you collected your keys already? Wah, *envy*. NVM no honeymoon. You have a lifetime to have a honeymoon together. ;)

Beibei, don't worry, you'll enjoy NZ. I studied 4 years there. Wish I could go back for honeymoon, but I think funds will be too tight. I'll be on no-pay leave or I'll be quitting my job with effect from 2 days after wedding, so NO PAY for both of us. I'm taking 'engagement' leave for my photoshoot and 2 days marriage leave right before the wedding day, then I'm leaving. Hahaha.

me not going for honeymoon so early liao due to financial constraints .. perhaps will juz go to islands nearby to hv a short one .. see if got $$ then we go NZ later ...

priveleged,
i got the same tinking as u last time when i ROm ... juz in case anything happens .. at least my marriage leave not wasted .. :p

hehehe..

priviledged,
thanks for your assurance...hope i can tahan the coldness there cos June is start of the winter..
this is first time I am travelling so far leh..

btw u confirmed hor our gathering on 19/3/03?
see you!

opps i made a mistake
it shld be GCW. yup .. is Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
i choosed the place cos it can cater for huge stage and i need dat as my Jiemeiz will be performin a dance item.

Wow Roro, you really got hao jie mei! Got life performance for your wedding even! Sigh! What to do, I very tom boy during school time and so only got mostly male friends.

hv MIA for quite sometime. really missed out alot
btw i changed my nick from novlkf22 to jus lkf. dun think i wld be able to join ur gathering cos' my section is currently undergoing some restructuring and there's lots of followup.

now i am trying to transfer my deposit with santiago cos i found a wedding gown which i liked a lot. really headache and heartache when i think of my deposit.

Pris

is there no other way out for the payment? most hotels wld allow payment by credit card, no harm asking them. can u pay like half by cash and half by credit card or not? will not be so taxing as compared to one lump sum by cash. perhaps u can speak to ur corodinator n c what he/she can do for u to accommodate ur needs. surely there will be a way out...

Hi Priviledged

Yes, I got my leave end of last year, 2nd week of Dec. U must be looking forward to your wedding n quitting your job at the same time
Ya lor, honeymoony even in Singapore

Maybe I will be like pucca ie. go nearby islands maybe I want to go Bangkok or Pattaya or if not, we might go Sydney. Maybe in september if not, dec. I wld like to go for a course n it might start in Nov so see how first.

O yes, b4 i forget, the NATAS fair is up again from 21-23 March at Suntec. Hall what I can't remember cos I saw it from the advert in the MRT this morning. Entry fee is $3.

Pausini, is there any other way of doing it? My SO said he does not have any baby, toddler photos! So exasperating. I want to do a montage too, but can't get enough ideas. Or enough photos for that matter.

sad. i cried my eyes out last night. the acts we call xiao dong zuo have become so good my FMIL loves her very much. in fact, she passed remark to relative that she liked her much much more. after hearing that i cried so badly because i know her so much longer than this girl. i was with my FH for 8 years before we decide to get married. this girl only know them for 2 years than get married already. you mean all these years i haven't been nice? so sad. i very dejected and tired. don't really look forward to this wedding now. keeping things as it is now seem so much better.

May: why must we avoid whole month of april? does it mean we cannot give out invitation cards etc? i thought once after ching ming will be ok? now very worried. i order bed to come in april after ching ming. didn't consult parents etc how? only after april then can collect ps photos. no scanner. don't even have pc. i used company's pc for internet all along. sigh.

Pausini: check with t-dragon if they are willing to swop cards with you ie you use their cards and give them your restarant cards then you only pay for printing.

Roro, that's very sweet of your frens. It is so fun to have frens perform at your wedding. Yes, i agree that the stage with its outdoor view is very beautiful.

Mrs Quake, that's what i think too. No point signing with a bridal shop i am not comfortable working with and then regret my decision later. I can actually take Dang's package without photography and then engage Beetles direct. I think i may still save some money this way. We were ever stopped by a bridal shop at an exhibition at Suntec and the way they do hard-selling gives me the phobia of attending wedding exhibition ever again and i never want to step into bridal shops that do hard-selling.

She took the MTM package, but she says at the point of signing up they did not tell her that the MTM WG is a simple one without much details, if she wants more elaborate details, she must top-up $$, and the WG wasn't to her satisfaction, so she decided to take OTR which looks nicer. And the wedding photos did not turn out well, i think she is still very upset about the photos. One thing she did not do much bridal shopping.

You can get your guy frens to do a dance performance or something too... i think it will be interesting

Girls,
I've jus read an article on the magazine. I hope this info helps:

Before wedding, parents of Hokkien brides have the additional "home essentials" which shows that the bride is preparing to be a homemaker. These includes tea sets, kitchen utensils, sewing instruments, face basin...

Teochew brides:
It is believed that the earlier bride leaves the better the luck - and some have woken as early as 3am to ensure good future ahead,

Cantonese bries is attended to by a 'woman of luck', usually a woman who is blessed with a happy marriage and children, for the hair combing ritual. The bride is bathed in water infuse with pomelo or grapefruit, in order to cleanse her of evil influences. The 'woman of luck' will utter auspicious words or a traditional poem while combing the bride's hair four times.

Each stroke of the comb has significance: First sweep represents 'from beginning to end', second,'harmony from now till old age', third 'plentiful sons and grandsons' and the last 'good wealth and a long-lasting marriage'.

according to hakka tradition, the groom's mother and sisters should look away or hide in another room as the bride walks in, in order to avoid confrontation in the future.

These are those that i have.

Came to this thread cos' I'm gonna be a Jun bride too ;)...

By the way, is the NATAS Fair at Suntec or at S'pore Expo?

Very tired… after a day drive to M’sia! Just have some free time to pop in and read the posting.

Wen,

I play 50 cents and $1. Before CNY was 30, 60 but during CNY we play 50, 1(New year happy lor, play bigger) and after that no one want to go back to 30,60. Very siong lei, if loss, all in hundred.

Pris,

The price you mention is reasonable. Never been there before so ask first in case it’s a high class restaurant that we need to spend more then $100. :0

Lkf,

Just about to write the word “Missing” to look for you and you appeared. Hahaha…. Try to come lah! Want to see you,ox. You intend to transfer to which bridal shop? Transfer deposit???? I doubt so lei. How much you pay?

Yve,

Also very long never see you here already. Where are you??? How is your job? Are you joining us for this gathering? Also want to see you, ox.

Wah, you all planning HM liao....I have the opposite problem...not leave, but must find new career after relocation as well....bleah, really dun look forward to the whole interviewing charade again....

Talking abt HM, I've no idea where we are going, cos 1 of the tasks my FH is in charge of is to plan the HM, and I've challenged him to plan a surprise one for me, since he is not very good at planning surprises....grin...I think its somewhere with a beach, since we both dun want to fly too much and he's told me to prepare swimwear....kekeke

ok 108 more days I think....called my mum today, and she was still lamenting that their guest list is not up yet....think I'll definitely be working frantically over the next few months for sure...

Shanice, your ethic custumes are so cute, you really really very skinny now...congrats!!! I also think the silver gown is nice on your, in fact, you really look good in mermaid cuts.

Priviledged, wah...u can take no pay leave for so long ? that's so nice of your organisation....I'm sure you are excited about the upcoming break!!

HI leo29,
Yap its around there lar the pricing, won't until $100 per person and its not a high class restaurant too, so don't worry..!

Hi Meow,lkf,wen,Are,

If I am not wrong the deposit I have to pay is around $3k and thats alot and plus me and hubby don't even have credit card so no choice to give up......so sad..!

But going down this Saturday to see how lor, if they allow me to pay bit by bit then maybe can consider or else not possible at all.
BTW thanks for all the concern.

hi sweets

hahahaha yah i find the ethnic costumes cute, yang gui fei style n the indian one ahhaah..

talking abt honeymoon... we not going so soon.. cos we really wish to go aust or NZ but winter...
(( so after winter then we plan to go.. delayed honeymoon!
(( n my hubby bz at work ..hard to take leave... maybe just a few days ... we can rest @ home or spend time housebreak my doggie at new house... hahaha...

i have a jack russell terrier called WangWang Aka Wangyang aka Mini. kekeke...a female one!

hey any suggestions for accessories for my ROM dress - pink satin tube long dress? keke... thinking of those "drop" necklace , silver ones with those costume jewellery diamonds. my hair is half bun so choker looks weird...

i also dunno wat colour should my hubby wear.. he wanna wear jacket leh... hahahahaa grey jacket can? c how lah...

Shanice

Shanice,

Show us pix on Wangwang leh...she sounds very cute...but jack russells need a lot of attention rite ? cos they very high energy doggies hor.

I think grey goes well with pink...maybe can get him to wear a light pink shirt to match your dress ? so fun !!

Hihi Pausini
My manager din say anything abt me going on line. Dat's the thing I like abt male superior. As long as u produce results, he doesn't care wat u do. Of coz I also zi tong, do my job n try to go on line when he is not ard or not looking in my direction or during lunch time.
The eg of the story line u gave is exactly wat I have in mind. I collected some childhood photos. Asked my huuby to get his. Gotta asked my hubby to scan the photos. But won't b ready so soon coz my hubby going reservist next wed. Now the priority is to inserts for the cards.
There r a few songs dat I like but gotta get the CD 1st.

Hihi Jan
Dun cry "hug" "hug" xia yang xia yang. Dun let your SIL's words n action affects your wedding mood. Prove to your MIL u r also a gd DIL when u stay wif her. Most of the old ppl feel v happy when u show concern 4 them. Buy the food your MIL likes, talk to her, hold her hands, accompany her when she goes marketing,...
My mum oso said can't do anything in the whole of 3rd moon. So she is bugging me now for invitation cards n accompany her to buy guo da li stuff, ang chung. Recently I feel like vomitting after eating She asked me how come. I told her I m under stress. Stressed wif work, wedding preparation n stressed by her.
Dun think T-Dragon will swop card wif u. They can't sell your hotel's cards to other clients. Y u dun like your hotel's cards?

hi hi...

I am around, just quietly reading your postings.. Been busy with work lor.. Leo, u miss me so much uh?? :P

I still got my job lor.. For the moment, morale is quite low here.

Can't promise about coming for the gathering on 28 Mar, as it depends on my biz trip.. If I am in town, I will come..

Oh yeah, I have been some place near the guan yin temple to pray to Tai Shui.. Are, yes, dragon also fan tai Shui.. So I prayed for my brother (dragon), fh (ox) and me(ox). Amazingly, my bro got a job offer within a week.. coincidence?

And FH has booked out ROM date for 6 June also.

Hi gals, how are you all doing? Been really really busy these days that I hardly get any chance to browse the website...

Just want to check if anybody can provide me with the latest Maybrides excel? I've changed my handphone and would like to update the number. (email is [email protected])

Jan, sorry to hear abt your MIL and SIL. Don't worry, I always believed that if you're good to somebody, you'll eventually be recognised and appreciated for it. Just be your normal self and don't be stressed by your SIL.

Shook, so it's kind of not "ji li" to do anything in March? Gosh, I need hurry on getting my stuff then.

Pausini, how's your WG and EG going?