(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Vin: I'm very kiasu leh...I go facial every alternate week & in March & April, I intend to do it every week. It is just the normal cleansing & minimum extraction if the skin is clear.

Hi guys!

Im back!! MIA for awhile.. too busy with work.
Surprise to see a groom in our forum! Welcome Novgroom.. so sweet of u..
Did anyone went to the Bridal showroom on the 9/02/03? Can u pls comment?
Meow,
i jus saw your email, i will look into it.. thanx!
Your photos are so nice!!! Wht package u take from nick?? So what abt your actual day photography? U also let nick take or include in your bridal package?? Have source out.. very lazy..

Im ok with both dates (Meow: If I MIA again, could u pls msg me thru hp to let me know.. thanx)

Serene,
Finally back huh? Ok i'll sms you if we got something on. As for the date, think we need to change to a later date in March. Think many of us busy with gown selection. By end of feb, i'll come out with 2 dates again to choose.

Sorry, never attend these bridal shows anymore, scare once you step in, they'll pull you to take a seat to discuss on their package. As for the package, i took $1500(actual day). ROM package($195) will be rebated or i'll change to a montage also can. So Nick will be my photographer, my bridal package doesn't includes any photographer.
So i need to spent additional. So leh? Decided liao?

Hi Serene Sng,
Did U mean the Graceful Image Bridal Show....

The show started late cos the models were late...
They got pretty gowns but i guess very "taiwanese" lor...
My Hubby & me left b4 the show even started...
Cos their gowns not my style...lots of Organza, very feminine, dainty type...
Thank goodness, my hubby agrees wif me...

Hi Novgroom,
Species near extinction oledi....
I really envy your partner. You are too patient!

My hubby even thought excuses suggesting we pratice the Western style...(The groom only see the wife's grown on the actual day of wedding)...
[Maybe it's not a bad idea though, but photography will be a problem no grown mah...]

To all renovating their home,
Lucky for me...i mine re-sale at Bishan...quite new & move-in condition...simple white floor & wall wash, built-in cabinet & wardrobe, air-con.

All we added-in was..a nice day-bed sofa,some lamps, appliances & our favourite cosy bed made up of 3layers of King size Quilt (very comfy esp during cold days wif air-con on)...no bed cos parents say cannot "Ann Chuang" b4 customary wedding...
Plus, my hubby "2nd wife" -home theatre system, DVD & CDs (can't comprehend why guys go NUTS about it)

So that's our weekend hide-out & frens gathering place...(Can't help it lah! No budget to do major reno...maybe later lor!)

Hmmm... seems like 4 hours of fitting a bit long huh? hehe.. so how manys hours did you all took for the first fitting?

Meow,
Void Deck more troublesome than Mac leh.. hehee.. If I have the wedding at Mac, I can order Happy Meal for all my guests.. hehe.. somemore they will have a free gift to take home in the end.. haha.. For void decks, I still need to get catering.. :P Why your hubby don't have the patience? Isn't it nice to see your future wife wearing all sorts of beautiful dresses and parade i front of you?

Serene,
Thanks for saying that I am sweet *blush* *blush* haha.. I did went to the bridal show on 09/02/2003. The gowns are nice looking, but I think most of the dresses are not very suitable for the actual wedding. Good to see but not good to eat.. :P Some of them looks too casual, not grand enough.

Hi DK

How are you?

Don't keep on praise me leh.. wait my face turn red red then die lar.. hehehe..

Patient not good meh? The best things is to spend time doing things together right? That's what we are doing at that time..

So you have not bought any mattress right? If you don't mind, you can look for me when you are buying, I can help you in some way.

Meow,
Some ROM photos U got there...

Hey from the list i recieved from the emails, looks like i'm the one with the most experience wife in "Nov 2003" forum. " Pieh Sey Lah! my ROM in 1999.
Some frens give up waiting for my wed day to arrive...Hee! Then now i'm giving them a surprise after so long...

hi!

mrs quake, i'm with california under UOB Lady's card. i try to go once a week but i've skipped my gym regime for 3 weeks

hey, i'm planning to buy a sit-up bench for my FH as a valentine's day gift to keep him & myself in shape
not a bad idea rite? ;)

meow, I also took the $1.5K package, can't remember wat was in there exactly without refering to the contract liao. anyway I did't ask for any special deals so mine is the standard one I guess.

leo, the 20+K you spent include furniture or not or just carpentary works etc?? think I might just live without reno after all cos planning to spend about 15K on electronics already. have only been saving since Sep 01 or so.... met my hubby for only 8 mths or so before getting married so not much runway for savings. hee hee

Novgroom,
Maybe for the first few gowns he'll walk over and look. Then jus go back go back to his seat and sit down. Not much comments on him. Sometimes see his expression like very tired, so i try to do it fast.
He used to be very patient, now not really very patient.

You are very clever to think of buying happy meal, some more got wedding favours right? What if the share is too small and all requested 2 shares?

Out of curious, what are you working as? Selling beds or mattress

Akira,
Wow, you got your contract liao? So you've place deposit already? I didn't leh, he didn't ask from me. You know he has his own shop now and he's giving out free PS fr April only to 6 couples?

This thread moves so fast, it's really difficult to move with you. When I read about Shook's unwilling PIL, I wanted to comment about my similarity but already the topic has moved on to face. LOL! So hard to catch up.

May, I think you must have missed my posting. May I get to see your pictures? Thanks!

Question for everyone here: Do you intend to celebrate your anniversaries on your ROM date or on your Dinner date? For me, I'll be celebrating on my ROM date, which is in March.

About the face, I've actually wanted to go with SKII Whitening mask, but afraid of splurging so much to get more breakouts and no whitening.

I actually have some acne scars (red and pitted) and I have made an appointment with my derm for a consultation on Microdermabrasion (so ex!!!!) but girls on another board advised me against it. Still, I'll go with my appt and look into other options like Laser Resurfacing.

Still, I'm tempted to go for facials with Jessica (on another thread). Since she uses Dermalogica products, I have more faith, but still afraid that I'll get breakouts after facials, which I'm prone.

Like Vin, I'm very free (not much wedding planning going on). But good also because I'm so busy with work. But, but, I've yet to find the very elusive corset!!!! My first fitting is next Wednesday and I still can't find my corset.

Oh also, I've gone with everyone's choice and just signed up with Qin Zhong yesterday as my actual day wedding photographer.

Pausini: Are you using a very moisturizing shampoo? I've previously used Dove and love it a lot for its moisturizing effects, but I find my hair dropped a lot more. Now I use it occasionally only.

With regards to renovation, I don't have much to contribute since I'm not getting my house until later this year, but if anyone has any recs for wall-papering, I'm all ears!

Hi RHS,

Yap! I had my trial makeup for ROM last year May. I just hope that i won't get fatter else need to alter measurements all the time.. hahahaa....

Hi Vio,

Ur package no MTM Gown?

Hi Fishball,

How many designs did u actually bring along? I wanted to bring along 5 magazines, scared being too kiasu leh.. kekeke...

Wow, even groom's suit settled? thought this one will come much later? What about the pants? Taken measurements?

When is the scheduled 2nd appt?

Hi Meow,

How long have you and your hubby been together? Hmm.. will I be like him in future? :P I better reflect myself.. haha.. Well, I don't have much comments on those dresses also.. cos the other ladies already make a lot of comments and I quite agree to it.

You know.. some wedding dinner also don't provide enough food for the guest.. so what if the happy meal is not enough.. the main idea is not to eat, but to celebrate the special event.. hhahaha..

I work in mattress company, so I can give some advise. If you want to buy from me, it is also possoible. :D

now that jbride has mentioned it, i also have the UOB deal for california fitness, but think got to book ur timings there rite? and heard tt it's very hard to get a slot successfully, so have never tried it...

Novgroom,
So you work in that line. No worry, definately i need to get a new bed for my house. You sell Bed frame too?? Which company you work with? Maybe can advise us now. I believe most of us need new mattress.

Me and hubby been together near to 5yrs liao. I also lost track how long we've been together.
You better pray you won't be like him.
Anyway, have you seen my photos? Let's play a game, anyone can guess the age of my hubby? No prize awarded.
Clue: He didn't put on makeup hor.

Jus wondering, how old is your bride? I jus got your details. Think you can check your mail now.

the UOB deal for california fitness is just 2 times a month rite? me with planet fitness ... trying to make it in time for v day!!! ahahahahhahaha yeah, think me and bf just enjoy eating so much, we bought the latest edition of makansutra to plan our outings on weekends!!!!!

Hi kk,

of course u can bring as many designs as u like, on that day, you'll narrow down to a few after you've tried some gowns. I juz brought the design I printed from theknot.com

My hub's suit is rental only and so happened to fit in some of their suits, but they did take the measurements. My 2nd appt/1st fitting will be in April. Then I'll see how well my gowns go.

I'm sure you'll enjoy your 1st appt too! It's fun trying the gowns! But tiring too!

Hi Meow,

Yup, my company do sell bed frame too.. If you really interested in buying somthing from my company, maybe you can e-mail me. I don't want to do any hard selling here.. haha.

Heehee.. I guess your hubby is 29 years old now. Okay, I will make sure I won't be like him.. will always be very patient towards my wife.
Well, she is 28.

hope all of you have a nice holiday yesterday.

as for me, i got my family over to my love nest for lunch.
gonna be missing for awhile coz i'm gog for my short trip to bangkok tomoro (oops, shd be today!). will be back only on sun nite.
hope that i'll have a nice time shopping and eating away in bangkok.

btw, is the gathering on 5 march confirmed?

me will be going for my short trip to bangkok today and will MIA till sun.
hopefully, this thread can be revived as it seems that all 2003 Jan brides have disappeared.

may all of you have a nice valentine day this friday. i'll be celebrating mine in bangkok this year.

not forgetting to wish all of you: -

HAPPY VALENTINE DAY (in advance)!

Enjoy your day this friday!

Been really busy these days with my getting of the gastric flu and packing last min for my trip. I'll be off to Korea for a leisure trip 'cos my hubby going there for Biz trip for one week. Will talk to you gals when I'm back next week.

Btw, for those who wants to go Canada, be sure to check and ensure you have available dates to fly. CX has the most frequent flight to Canada but when I was booking my flight, I had to fly on Sun (25th) 'cos Sat (24th) is fully booked.

Have a nice day! Cheers.

May & Shook: thanks for advice on shoes. the pair for outdoor, must it be heels? can wear track shoes? flats can? as for the facial, hmm... i usually break out after facial so definitely cannot do it a few days before. thinking of going for back scrub too. but scared of breakout. envy vin. she must have good complexion. i detest going facial because the extration part usually take a while ( i have alot to extract!) and very painful. my skin is not good. read in her world magazine, carita at wisma got this body scrub or something similar, $150 per session, supposed to make your whole bodey glow after the session. very tempted to try.

JAzz: envy you. going on holiday. altho i just came back in jan and with all the public holidays i still feel so drain and tired. wish i am on leave today.

kare271: have not decided when to celebrate anniversay. must discuss matter with hubby. however, i am more concern when can go for 2nd honeymoon! terrible, have not even gone for 1st but already looking forward to 2nd one!

Got a question for all regarding quilts. is it true that quilts cannot be machine wash and can only be handwashed? i still haven't settle my bedroom set and accessories. planning to do it this weekend so need some helpful advice. is it too early to buy all these stuff like pillow, bedsheets etc? i haven't buy my bed yet.

Tingting: so envious of you - never put on weight...I tend to eat more with my FH because the idea of eating more variety when there is 2 persons. SIghh. Now got to try and lose all those weight.

Pam: Thank you very much. I have received the different packages. Will probably look through with my FH first before making an appointment with the bridal shops.

If I'm not wrong, bedok has a stadium with tracks. FH used to stay in Bedok and he would go for jogs in that stadium. If not, you can try taking the stairs each day when you go home instead of the lifts. That may help too.

FH also tell me that if I seriously wants to lose weight, I should have the discipline to set aside a certain day and time to go to the gym but so far, it's still tough for me.

Erin: How's your visit at Sophia? Do let me know.

jbride: I have been going to the gym since january once every week but FH thinks that that's too little. I have not been going for 3 weeks liao because of CNY. ;p Now got to start my engine once again.

You can try the sit up bench but some of my friends who bought some gym equipments such as treadmills told me that after a while, they lay off the equipment too due to a reason or another. The equipments will then become white elephants in the house and take up space. So it still boils down to discipline.

tingting: I think the UOB california card is only valid for 2 times a month but you need not book a slot. Can just step in and register yourself.

Hi Yi,
Sorry le!! I trying to insert my pic but dont know why got error leh!! Try many times also like that! So, dont know how to do. Wish you have a nice trip and happy Valentine day to all Jan -Brides.

hi gals!

hate to say this, but I'm not going to be a oct bride already...

reason being FH's mother + grandma "pangtang" and went to check the dates we chose and objected to them.
so we are going to hold it in sept instead...

don't know whether to
or

wish you gals all the best and be the most beautiful brides!

Akira,

With the electrical appliances and other la la cha cha things, we spent nearly 30K. By right should be over 30K but lucky our washing machine and fridge was spondsor by my hb sister. Sofa was 2nd hand from her sister also. 1 yr old only, her sister said throw away very wasted. Acutually the colour and design cannot go with our hse but close one eye lor, we intend to buy new one when we getting married, which mean this yr.

hi kk,

yah i'm no MTM. but i like GI's design so not at all sad lah cos if MTM does not come out to wat u desired - hv to take oso!!

yes, looking forward to seeing u gals ;) n autumnheart - dun b too sad...sept is chinese 8th mth - gd date!!

priviledged,
You have to check with your photographer if you have to keep a seat for him.mine didn't want at all as he claimed he would be 'running'all over the ballroom so no time to eat.as for makeup and hairdo it is about one and half hr.

me also doing my actual day schedule two months ago so amending here and there all this while!

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)

Confirmed attending
pooh
abrinas
kiroro
pucca
beibei
priviledged
beanie
totoro
joyful

cutie-on ??
whitely?-?
cutie 22-?

tentatively:taddess

so we have 9 person at the moment!
so next fri we are meeting already!!

can taddess make it??the rest cutie,whitely and cutie 22?

oh vio, GI's gowns are nice! I dun mind taking OTR if I've signed up w them too! But too bad... else I'll have less worry. GI is at least better than my IW.

autumnheart,
although u may not be an Oct bride anymore, u r always welcome to chat n meet up with us! We dun mind making more frens too!

May u be a beautiful Sept bride too!

Hi Fishball,

Heee..roughly how long did u spend in the shop trying the gowns during ur 1st appt? How long is the 2nd appt away from the 1st one?

Hi Autumnheart,

If i were u, i would be happy coz i can be a 2003 bride earlier

Well, stay happy and sweet and be a beautiful bride

We can still talk in this thread even if u are no longer an oct bride

Hi Vio,

I agree with Fishball. GI's gowns are nice! I signed with WA before i come to know about there is a shop called GI.. kekkeeke....

Hi fishball n kk,

great!! so glad to heard tt both non-GI's customers love their designs - i made e rite choice to drop SB!!! hope all things work out smoothly!! tks tks ;)

leo29... wah, you so lucky, got 'sponsorships'. we oso waiting man, already got a few small items. we willing to take watever anybody can give us! hahaha... and no need to think abt 'system' liao, can't afford. i noe hubby a bit heart pain, coz he eyeing 1 set, & all his frens move hse all nicely furnished & complete, but bo bian lor, everything come @ one go, we dun hv much savings, oni can do wat is really necessary lor...

same goes for honeymoon, not planning for a far trip, juz somewhere near and short. next year then make it up lor... ;P

tat's wat u get for a short r/s.. no savings! so pathetic right?

meow... ur husband 26 years old?

hi gals, still trying to recover...now i am coughing....so sian....still come to work...sigh...

Pausini: the corian people came...cant stand the supervisor...i actually told him off...he actually offered me a short term solution to solve the huge gap between the wood and solid surface top. Said that they will put a piece in between. i told him pt blank that i cannot accept it - i said you are telling me a size M to wear a L-size t-shirt and then putting padding. he wasnt even apologetic to the mistake. cant stand him. anyway, i sick so my face very black. Me hubby too. i told him i spent so much for a CORIAN solid surface and get such standard! Anyway, they remove the top and carry it back to the factory to fix it. They need to cut the excess and polish it back nicely for me. because it was one piece and L-shape. It was too big to go in the lift, they had to carry down the stairs - 20 floor down. It was also carried up 20th floor when they came to instal it 2 weeks ago.

I will be back later. going for lunch.

Are,

Lucky me and hubby not that type of really bother about good sound system. So we just buy a normal one which cost us less then 1K. No need to be sad and envy others, you can buy one at a time when you save enough. What to do, young couple are often run out of cash. Earn 2k spent 2.5k, hahaha.... Survey already pointed out singaporean no saving. How about getting loan? Alots of my frds did that. I don't know how much they loan but every mth they just need to pay $200+. Sound OK.

As for our honeymoon, no planning yet. But most properly will to western country. Definitely will cost us a bomb. Just hope we can recoup the expenses from the Ang Bao.

May: bad attitude. they deserve what you gave them. terrible. i don't understand why when it comes to renovations, we are expected to compromise. i find it ridiculous and unreasonable and definitely not acceptable. don't compromise. they didn't do a good job. if they did, they wouldn't have to make these extra trips and it's their own fault they have to carry it up 20 floors again. maybe you can tell them lor, if cannot mistake cannot accept then they would have to repeat this up and down 20 floors until you are satisfied with the product you purchased! sick and tired of compromising, we paid, it's not as if the thing came free of charge. must insist our way.

May, haha! Carry up and down 20 flrs?? My god! Actually, I had some displeasure with some of my reno wks too but some I close one eye. Me and FH not very gd at being assertive and fierce and sometimes, we worry that these people may come bk with more probs for us....
Yesterdy cam bk to work and then went up hse in late pm to clean some more. Soooo depressing and sooo mang chang..... that's how bad and stressed I am now. My new job really stressing me out but what to do? Cannot say quit in these times, not when I'm the one more $$ stable, and obligations at my family side too.....
I'm with BI too but not using their prdts bec I'm still trying to use up all those other prdts I had bought from the various beauty salons and they are not cheap!
If any of you willing to splurge, I suggest going for laser treatmt. It's the latest in-thing to facial and much more effective. They hv various mtds but they all basically use laser to stimulate your collagen growth. I went for 1 try on a subsidised rate and my skin (which is prob-prone) had visibly improved. But each session cost btw $300-500, depending on where you go and the recommended no. of sessions is abt 5. I'm trying to save to go for another session (no more subsidised this time).

meow,
the flowers not very dry.. looks terrible.. cos its alot of freesia.. so we threw it away..

novgroom,
u got cheap mattress or not.. cos me got king coil bed but for the wedding need new mattress, so i just want to subsitute for a while..heehehee

If any of you are looking for a caterer, might want to try Creative Eateries, the catering arm of Patara Fine Thai, Al Dente Trattoria, Hot Stones and Intermezzo.

Tried them during my sister's wedding last month. Loved it so much that we're using them again, for my cousin's birthday. Chose Patara, thai food, $15 per pax. Food is yummy... different from the norm, we had the famous stuff chicken wings, green curry, olive rice, various thai dessert. Decor wise is not too bad, quite stylist. And the best part, choice of disposable and melamine crockery
The only con is they're not halal certified hence I can't use them
Oh and drinks are charged separately.

You can contact Foo Pei Pei, 90079632, say you're recommended by serene's cousin. She'll be able to work something out for you

HI Jan2003,

My skin not very good lor.. just dun hv pimples coz too old to hv it laa... my skin super dry...
not good.

Fr the back scrub, the one I hv is less than S$100/- maybe you you can call up and ask for more info

Vin: in my next fitting, i will ask bridal is they can alter for me on the spot. if not, to b safe i will go fitting earlier.

I dount i will lose weight to be skinny. Althou i dont mind. hee..hee... face long not nice like horse. But my face very small leh..even my designer says that i must chose those pom pom hair style so that my body dont look too big...

Kare: i already sent the pixs, can you check.

Jazz: i also sent the pixs to you. so nice you can go korea for a week. i also want to go.

Jan: i like what you say about asking them to climb up and down my 20th floor till i am satisfied. Ha...ha...yeh, if i still not satisfy i will them so. When they remove it, the workers kept telling the supervisor (who is a big moroon), they climbed all the way up carrying the top. like i care. The standard and service is horrid and i am dealing directly with Corian dealer not even going thru Classic Kitchen! I still have not paid up the balance of close to S$ 400. Dont feel like paying them.

abt the quilt, i think it depends what u buy - polyester, i think can wash. But u also must check if your washing machine can spin a queen size quilt. Otherwise, you will spoilt the machine

Peabrain: thanks for your caterer recommendation. Will keep them in mind if i have any house warming.

Maya: nowadays, i bochap already. Sick and tired of being angry. I just scold. all this terrible workmanship and attitude. I scold until me whole face and neck all turn red. but i still have not master the perfect art of scolding.

Dont mang mang, think abt how clean the house and satisfy you r after cleaning. Also housework good form of exercise, u know.

Sue: r u sure u shld go facial so many times? It really helps? must burn a big hole in your pocket. I now only go once a month.

I am new to this thread.
Am an Oct bride too

Actual day 24th Oct
Bridal gowns by Ted's Collection
Raffles Hotel
Photography by Everafter (by Albert Chua)