(2003) Brides of year 2003

Novgroom,
I really envy your wife too. My hubby never bother about all these things. I'll say you are those "si xin" person.
Yeah, you too can join us on our next meeting.

Leo29,
my photographer is Nick Goh.
, bouquet small meh? My florist told me brides use small bouquet not those big ones. Maybe i too big size lah, so bouquet look smaller

Yve,
Can't see my mani meh? Yeah lah, a bit blur but still can see some outline of little flowers. Maybe Nick focus more on my proposal ring.

Are,
I only know what i want for my balcony and living room, as for kitchen....no idea. Maybe ask them to help me think of something. But i've decided not to use parque(no idea how to spell) or laminating flooring.

Meow, oh yeah.. me cork-eye.. now i rem that flower on your index finger nail. nice leh.. i mean i cannot see your bruised nail.. were u the one who had a bruised nail?

hi everyone - i'm still pigging out on the new year goodies..there's always so much leftovers! shopping is a good exercise dun u think?
though it slims ur wallet more than ur body.. me also looking for toning my flabby arms n fat thighs...

a popular diet is high protein n low carbo..cos meat will make u full more easily..but there are several side effects, including bad breath!

meow, agree with the girls that you look lovely. I also just signed up with Nick for actual day upon your advice. thanks

leo, wow silver lining would make a good choice since you're eyeing sexy gowns. me not so good figure so gotta to hide and camouflage

novgroom, your bride is sure one lucky lady.

are and meow, me also starting to look at reno stuff... tot I didn't have to do much but in the end the estimated budget was mind-blowing despite buying an almost totally renovated apartment. :p

Hi maya,
Some mum have this kind of thinking. But u not going to stop working rite. Bet she just scare to lost a support. I dun come form a well to do family. Only when we started to work, it get slightly better. At least my mum do not have to worry whether she have enough to go on for the next month. I promise my mum is still give her household allowance and continue to pay one of her insurance.

Girls, thanks for the concern. I dun think my mum wld want him to come. however, i am if h find out and i didnt invite him. he wld have all the excuses to bomb us back and even if i invite him i dun seem to find someone who can control him and dun let him to drink.

Now, i dun know what shld i include in my wedding invitation card. shld i include him name? totally ignore him? what if i invite him last min but didnt include him name in the invitation.

Hi Elmo,

First of all, welcome to May 2003 thread.

Hahhaha... you are just like me. When my wedding ard the corner, everyone keep asking me, how's your preparation, like you, I don't know what should I do at all.

Well, my wedding is just over very smoothly, simple yet grand. And even up to now, evyerbody still remember and talking abt it.

If you need help, just let all of us know yaa...

By the way, your preparation already at which stage???...
Think you should hv choose your bridal package, finalised your gown (if it is MTM), your banquet, start to buying stuff for your wedding, hv you choose your invitation card?? And how abt your renovation????

vin

HI Pausini,

Wow situation make you very diff. ler.. if you invite him in last min but didn't put in his name is not nice.

But if you don't invite him but put in his name and he didn't turn up.. everyone others will start to wonder why...

HI May,

Hhaha... you buay tahan want to scrub your house??? You must be those very clean and tidy gal erh....

I like this too.. then my bf complain that I got "jie pi"...

HI Elmo,

Oh yaa... better confirm your photographer if you haven't make any decision, this year is rather a popular year... seems like all weekend hv couple getting marry.

Then if you know how is confirm coming fr your wedding dinner, you can try to plan who should them sit together with. Is a quite pacnic job.

Then you can try to look for the hand bouquite that you like, keep the picture and show to your bridal shop when you go down for discussion.

Vin: i dont mind losing some 2 days b4 wedding and actual day.

Jan: yep, i fell ill last night. Had fever and felt horrible. Fever broke and i am back for work half day today. Still not feeling too good.
Yes, plse insist to try the gowns with accessories on your 2nd fitting. I think u shld wear your actual shoes for ps.

Sue: thanks for sending our regards to SLK. NZ is nice too for honeymoon.

Shook: Not going to china for honeymoon. i will be going there for work 2 weeks before actual day. cant imagine going back again.

Maya: dont think too much. $$ no doubt essential but it is not a guarantee to a happy marriage. So what if you r more capable then FH, he may strike rich 10 years down the road n you will be tai tai.
As long as he appreciates what you are contribute now and sayang you with lots of love tat is impt.

BTW, do we need a helper for outdoor ps? And how many days in advance of the actual day should we collect our gowns?

my bride is lucky huh? sigh.. that's means I am the unlucky one lor.. haha.. Well, maybe she is lazy to source for it. So if i also lazy.. we may end up having wedding at McDonalds. hahha...

You know.. yesterday we went for our first gown fitting and we spend about 4 hours at the bridal studio. I think she tried out almost 20 plus wedding and evening gowns.. by the time she starts trying out the first evening gown, she is so tired that she say she will choose that.. hehe.. lucky i have brought my mother and sister and also one of her friend along. So they force her to try more. My sister used to MTM her dresses so she did a lot of talking with the designer regarding the MTM gown and my bride gives very little comments. In the end, my sister ask "Am I the one getting married?" hah. Lucky we managed to confirm both the wedding and evening gown on the first visit.

What details do I need to send to Meow?

May: Take care... But sometime fall sick help to lose a bit of weight! i'm very bad hor! New hse got alot of cleaning to do. Are u going to move it after the hse is done of after marriage?

Actually, I dun mind living together before marriage. i think is a very good time to help the couple to get used to each other. It is a totally diff. Now my hse is ready, we stay over during weekend and i realise my FH love the hse too much and he is a cleaniness freak that i cant take it sometime. All he know what he reached the new hse is to do cleaning. even if we happen to stay over for a few days he wld start complaining that the floor is sticky, this is dirty that is dusty. He dun seem to stop working on it and he wanted me to clean this and that. for me i just want to relax in my new hse, watching TV. Sometime, i just got so angry that i refuse to do anything.

BTW, do u gal drop alot of hair each day. especially those who have long hair?

HI May,

HOw many days in advance you need to collect you gowns? It really depends on the arrangement btw you and the bridal shop. For me, I collect it 2 days b4 my wedding day and do the alteration on that collection day.

Fr outdoor ps, your photographer will arrange all, not worry, just bring yourself with your smiling face and happy mood is more than enuff...

Put on hydrating mask the night pc your photoshoot. Or ask your beautician to put on some mask or any product that make you looks more radiant.

Fr me, I just sleep less than 1 hr on my wedding day. I think it should the mask help up coz I went to the beuaty salon and the beuatician do put on some products to make me looks radiant and the products can last at least 3 days to a week.

And I put on the hydrating mask on the night b4 I sleep and when I wake up, aft wash my face I put on the mask while I'm bathing. My face looks excellent. Try it. Maybe it help.

wah meow... u look so different.
nice pics... and yr bouquet is really small.
hope we get to meet up soon...

btw, where did u get the gown from?

HI Pausini,

I drop hair when I comb my hair aft bath. My hair used to be up to waist lenght. BUt I just cut it b4 my wedding day, right now is just up to bra straps lenght.

My friends who having long hair drop hair aft they do the 2nd time re-bonding.

Pausini: yah, i am telling myself the good thing abt falling ill is i got no appetite which means lose weight. but very "tongu". now my head is pounding and i feel very cold. i am just waiting for the half day to end so that i can go off. Need to go to new house. The kitchen people coming today. need to scream at them but my form not so good. somemore i got mahjong session tonite. Horrible, hor, sick still want to gamble, hee...

I think u need to be firm with your decision. if you decide not to put your dad's name in the wedding card, dont invite him. If you do, then you got to invite him.

Since your mom says no need then i dont think you shld invite him loh. It is your big day, you shld be happy and not worry abt this and that. Also if he does make a scene, he will not only embarrass your family but your IL's as well. Not nice. Lots of friends and relatives are there, people always remember bad things and will gossip.

My best friend's wedding, her sister made a scene it was terrible. Thankfully, only her family, IL and friends know abt it. i still remember thou and it is not pleasant memory. Just my thots again, ok!

Oh, i also drop lots of hair. So i got a hand-held vaccum to suck the fallen hair up. Wah, your FH rare leh, so clean...hee...
BTW, housework is a good form of exercise so you may be motivated to help him out. I am banging on to tone up with mopping, scrubbing etc.

Yes, i do plan to move in when reno is done.

Vin: oh, i will check with bridal how many days in advance then. they can do alteration on the spot?
Mayb it is my new house tat why i so paranoid and cant wait to go on my fours to scrub everything clean clean.

Ok, i am suppose to go facial two days b4 wedding so think face will be radiant lah. u sleep less than 1 hr b4 actual day. why, u partying?

akira... toking abt budget man... me & hubby now deciding to move into a near empty hse coz all our $$ will be in the reno! ;P

meow... hmm... i'm different fr u, i insisted on having parquet (oso dun noe how to spell) for my rms lor, coz i dun like cold floors. so hubby can oni choose homogenous for living. ;P my balcony is tiny tiny, so wun be doing anything 'cept the floor...

Hi Mrs Quake,
Same here......I also put on weight after I started dating my bf. After 9 years of "eating when nothing better to do" habit, both of us put on alot of weight.
I am not with any gym and intend to join one but due to my working hrs and place of work, it is almost impossible for me to get into a gym routine. To make things worse, I have very low metabolism too. *sign*

Hi Tingting,
I think by eating more veggies with the protein diet can help eliminate the bad breath side effect.

Let's hope we are all successful in achieving our ideal weight by the first fitting of our gown.

Tingting: Don't worry. You are not the only one bingeing. My dept is filled with New Year Goodies and when people start eating, I can't resist! Urggghhhhhh....

Pam: I used to exercise a lot when I was studying and my metalbolism rate was high. Believe me, I could finish half a loaf of gardenia bread worth of sandwiches. That's about 6 slices of bread with veggies and fillings at one shot! Now that I've started work, I became desk bound and do not exercise or walk as much to burn off the food I eat. Sigh. With this change of lifestyle, who wouldn't become fat? Where are you working? I'm sure there must be a sports complex near your place.

Meow,

Enquired for u liao..
At Phahurat Market(near Chinatown), it's something like our Arab St cum Concourse but at a larger scale..there are a lot of shops doing wedding favours and printing cards just like the one in Siam Sq..
Went to 2 shops there, prices are very much the same depending on which designs:
for 450 cards, abt 11B - 16B(without bargaining) includes printing of words(if I din hear wrongly), tying of gold strings
(if tie string ourselves, takes abt 2 days)
for 16B, it's the more complicated designs(very nice)
for siam sq, it's abt 15B per card but extra 500B for printing of words(takes abt 1 week)

I got their name cards so if u want, I can pass it to u..

For those who intend to buy wedding favours from BKK, it's abt 13B-18B in Phahurat market and 25B in Siam Sq..order takes abt 1 week. They got very nice wedding favours and they do everything like wrapping individual items and tying them..quite cool..we wanted to get but as they take a week and we are coming back soon so no time..they also can post mail back but we prefer hand carry..
first 1kg - 500B
next 1kg - 100B

Hi rhs,
Thanks for the warm welcome.. Jus wondering if there are any Oct brides holding their wedding dinner in Hyatt, or using J&M for their Bridal Package?? These are the ones I engaged for my upcoming big day!

May: Drink alot of water. take some medicine so it will not turn up too bad. sometime a little medication at the start help to recover faster in later stage.

Dun start screaming at the worker. Still CNY, i dun think they wld like to be scolded. tell them nicely, act pitiful that ur kitchen turn out this way, some workers very nice will listen and help u. Most impt.. drink alot water to cool down. hee hee

for my dad case, i think will discuss with my FH and MIL. See what they say. I think my mum is up to me. True that pple only remember bad incidents. SAD!

My FH mention abt the hand-help vaccum too. may be he is getting one soon to get rid of all my drop hair. oh, the magic-cleaner is also very useful. highly recommended! especial when u are too lazy and tired after work to vaccum the floor and do mopping. it pick up alot of dust and hair.

Vin: wat brand of hydrating mask are u using. so good. I havent start sourcing a beautician to do my facial.

Meow,

Hee...., I make the right guess that it was taken by Nick Goh, I mean from the cover page. No lah, you not really big size what. It's quite common with your height.

Akira,

I don't have good figure also just that I more daring lor. As for those addition fat, I need to do alot of workout before my wedding. Actually I was very impressed by Divine gown but have to drop it becos of their ex price.

NovGroom,

Which bridal shop you sign up with? Lucky you! Get it done during the first fitting. Doesn't your wife feel awkward with your mother and sister around when she try on the gown? I mean may have alot of comment.

Email meow([email protected]) the following details so she can compile it and send you a copy with our details also.

Nickname
Real Name
Birthday
ROM Date
Actual Day
Venue of Banquet
Email Address
Contact Nos
New Home Location(Eg Punggol)
Name of Bridal

wow clyne still on holiday huh?? me very envious. thanks for the update on wedding favours

are, actually I've a good mind not to renovate after all and just buy lights, furniture and electronics cos actually my house comes with flooring, cabinet etc all done up already. just tat we tot of adding feature wall, false ceiing, maybe change the tiles in the toilets etc. but after looking at estimated budget i'm having second tots. btw which contractor are you using?

novgroom, 4 hours gown fitting??? wow, dun think I can take it either. both my hubby and myself also v chin chye so wedding preparations have been rather easy till now. both of us share the responsibilities since we are quite used to working out details. But sometimes when both of us also dun have a lot of ideas its tough thinking of ideas to make the occasion a memorable and enjoyable one for the guests and ourselves. :p

Hi May,

Yeah, they alter on the spot for me..:P Am the latest one who took the gowns last minutes. As the designer claim that is not nice to alter many time so my MTM gowns alter once at the waist area only. And the shop hv the sewing machine in the shop, so that they can do it immediately.

You looks ok, don't slim too much, it won't be nice especially if you slim down too much on face, it will make you looks older. I've a friend who's body is fatter than be but the face is too slim, looks like the horse face, it not nice already.

Hhaha... new house you already want to scrub, then if you stay there you must scrub it every week erh...

Where is your house???

Hi Pausini,

I'm using dermological hydrating mask. Excellent. I've try SKII as well, also very good.

By the way, the SKII mask still selling at the shop that I mentioned to you b4. Is 20% cheaper than the market price.

I started my facial less than 2 mths b4 my wedding. So is up to you when to start it lor. If you want I can introduce my friend to you who used to be working in SKII but right now open her shop at temple street using dermological products. The shop will start by nxt monday.

Hihi Jan
4 indoor ps, bring your actual day shoes in case the photographer takes pictures dat show your legs. 4 outdoor ps, bring a pair of comfortable shoes will do.
When u collect your gown depends on X-Zen.

Hihi Maya
If $ is the issue, then u continue to give your mum the same amt of $ u give her monthly. cut dwn your own expenses lor.

Hihi Pausini
Yes, my hair drops especially after washing my hair. Read dat it is normal to drop 100-200 strands of hair a day. I just pick up my hair when I c it on the floor.
I tried using the magic cleaner, it doesn't pick up long hair.

Hihi May
Take care, drink more water. Gua gua rest @ 9. No mahjong ok.
Gotta go facial 2 weeks b4 wedding day. Think Vin was referring to applying mask, not facial. Right Vin?

Hi Shook,

I do facial just a few days b4 my wedding. But the facial is mainly for radiant and hydrating only.

Then I put on hydrating mask again on the nite b4 my wedding day and on my wedding when I wake up while am bathing aft wash my face.

I also do back scrub on the day I go for facial. Then while am doing facial, I do manicure and pedicure...
I only do one back scrub as my beautician said that my back is ok, don't need to do so many times.

Then I also go for aromatheraphy massage at least once a mth.

akira... haha.. we are doing juz the opposite! me & hubby gave up on feature wall, coz of $$ & lack of space, & we decided to live with the *ugly* HDB toilet & kitchen tiles lor... bo bian. i will be using a few contractors, instead of 1 ID, coz all 'related' somehow, so hv to use them to ensure best quality for our $$ lor... now thinking really hard wat else we can do without so can save $$... wish my hse like urs, then i wun reno @ all liao... ;P

Hihi Vin

Do u have break out after facial?

Both my beautician n bridal boutique advised me to go for facial 2 weeks b4 wedding so dat there is time to recover fm the break out.

A bride in the forum said dat she had back scrub few days b4 her wedding. Her back had v bad break out dat it wz still visible after her make up artist covered wif powder. She regretted 4 the rest of her life.

Well well may b u have better skin.

Vin: envy u! Sometime cant find anytime for all these. not that i am busy with work have to stay late. Is FH want my coy, sometime i want to go some place his face turn colour!
. he need alot of attention. I hope have more time for myself to do thing. Sometime simply cant do thing together. Sorry, i din catch the shop u mention, dun mind post it again.

Shook: sama sama. hair also drop during bathing but it is like alot to me. FH asked why i keep dropping hair, told him 100-200 normal. He freak out! He thot i am not healthy or use cheapo brand of shampoo so hair drop so much. I tried the magic-clean and it works for me leh. Pick up all the hair, and the dust n the floor that i dun have to drag my Vaccum cleaner out. the vaccum cleaner can be very noisy.

Hi Shook,

NOrmally I won't hv break out, but there's one time I took medicine (coz am sick that day), aft the facial, my face has some red mark.

Once my beautician know, she didn't put on strong products on my face.

And for a few days b4 wedding facial, it is mainly for radiant looks only. No extraction at all..

As for back, I don't hv pimples all the while, so she just do the normal clean up, scrub and massage for me.

Your beautician should know your skin better. So just seeks for her advise yaa... from what I understand, the radiant looks products can just last for a few days till one week. It depends on our skin.

actually, i did not put on weight since i started on this relationship...rather my bf becomes fatter cos i wld always give him what i can't finish n he ends up eating more than 1 person's share..

will try to walk around more often in office, like to pantry (for water only!), check pigeon hole more than once a day, to washroom, walk to printer...at least can exercise the bums a bit!

Hi kk,
I think 2nd/3rd visit will also be as exciting. Because there will be something new, right? 1st fitting, trial make-up, etc. Plus, that means we are getting closer to D-Day!

cookiecorgie, I think Blythe also with J&M

Wow, today very active huh? I jus came back from shopping in Orchard. Today i'm off from work. Hee

Novgroom,
You're very funny, dun think will end up at Mac, maybe only void deck lah hor?
As what leo29 has mention, jus sent to my email will do.
You sure have patience to sit there and wait. My hubby looks tired after i try 10+gowns. I'll be going for my first fitting of PS gown this thurs.

Grace,
Glad to hear you are back again. Where have you been? How's your flowers? Did they turn dry? My gown was from my bridal, best from the worst i guess before i giveup on them.

Are,
i agree the floor will be cold when air con is turn on. But somehow when i see my friend's house who stays there for nearly 5yrs now. There's chip, scratch and cracks on the flooring. Heart pain to see this in future. At least you've decided what you want for living room. I've not think of what i want yet. Balcony, i'll be having some water feature to make it cosy.

Clyne,
Thanks thanks very much for the info. I'll copy them and try to find them. But i dun think i'll ask them to print. Takes a week loh...dun think i want to wait so long. Rather tie myself, unless i'm going to stay so long. I also scare they print wrong character. You know...their english super powerful, what if got a thai alphabet?
Post mail back??? Need extra charge or not? What if broken??

Yve,
Yeap, i'm the one with bruise finger.
My bruise index finger was in my left hand. The one taken was on my right. At least Nick knows not to take from my left, there's still blue black on the skin, so it looks awful too.

Akira,
Great to hear you'll be taking Nick too.
Which package you sign up with? See got diff or not
. Reno sure cost a bomb thou i've not ask for quotation yet. Think our pocket gonna burn a big hole.

Hihi Pausini
The article dat I read said dropping hair is like changing skin. So it is normal to drop hair. New ones will grow to replace the old ones.

Hihi Vin
Or I mean facial wif extraction. Dat have to do 2 weeks b4 actual day. Every time I go facial, my beautician will do extraction follows by mask.

hi flowee,

ya lor, so sweet of the sb gal to suggest a place for hubby and i to celebrate v-day in bangkok.
so happy that today is my last day of work for this week.

gonna really rest well this holiday liao.

yap, cut my hair short so as to look younger and also signify a new start too.

enjoy the hari raya haji holiday!
gonna get my family over to my love nest and cook up something for them to eat.

HI Shook,

Ya ya, the extraction I do it 2 weeks b4 my wedding then 3 days b4 my wedding, I went for another one for radiant purpose lor.

You started to do facial every mth now?

Akira,

My house was like yours where flooring and toilet was done up by HDB. I tot we don’t have to spend so much on the reno but in the end we still have to forge out twenty over thousand. Mostly for carpentry work and air-con lor. Very very big hole in our pocket,
. But lucky, we planned it quite well where we start saving 5 yrs ago and all this come from our joint account.

Yeogp,

All of us here already confirmed the banquet venue. So i think it's tough for you to get someone take over your package. Will keep a look out for you and keep you inform if there is newcomer that haven't book the banquet. What happen? Nov 02 is a good day lei! Sorry for being KPO.

Mrs Quake,
Have u recieved my email on the package?
My job requires long hours in front of the computer hence this isn't helping.
I live in Jurong and work in Bedok hence this leaves little time for me to work out. And I work shifts on alternate weeks as well, which makes it worse.
Do keep me informed on which bridal shop u like.

hahaha... meow... u are rite, parquet is not easy to maintain, but i guess i'll juz hv to close one eye, or both! ;P water feature is nice, 'cept i'm too lazy to clean it! ;P think will get some plants instead...

hv you gone 'tile shopping' yet? it will give you a clearer pic of wat to expect, coz the floor will make a lot of difference to the entire hse. tat's how hubby & i came to our 'concept' also.

Are,
No i've not been to tile shopping. Any idea where i can go? I know there's lots and lots of tiles to choose from. But i think i need some expert to tell me the pros and cons of both homogenous and ceramic tiles.

hello gals...

envy envy leh - u all get to try, design gown liao but mine OTR n they'll only call me in Apr noe

kk, i can understand ur excitement!!

hi kk n all,

I've juz went 4 my 1st appt. So far so gd, d process, I mean. I brought d designs I like and tried some more gowns. Then decided/confirmed my WG, EG, PS date, groom's suit n even flowers!

Now, pray that d gowns will turn out nice later! Hope 2 c u gals at our 1st outing n we'll talk more then!

Hi May: Dun mention. I'm concerned with SLK & I'll sms her to see how she's doing. So can help you all to send regards to her. My friend who had her PS recently said that it'll b gd if you hv a helper to carry all yr barang barang like mineral water, blotters, powder etc.

Hmm..as for gown collection, I think most pple do it two days or the day be4 PS. & Pls take care hor & rest well. Take more vitamin C.

Hi Pausini: Did u change yr shampoo or diet lately? It'll affect one. You might want to get one of those hair tonic from Watsons or Guardians if it continues. When I starting dieting & lost weight, I dropped quite a long of hair & it was scary seeing those dropped hair when I wash hair.

Hi Shook: You've got pimples on yr back? I'm using the IPSA back pimple treatment. Comes in two bottles, one for treatment & the other for whitening. Ya, don't go facial too close to wedding, better do it a week before. Like what Vin said, if you go 3 days before, just make sure they dun extract.

I went for my wisdom tooth extraction this morning. Can feel the pain now because no more anesthetic. Difficult to eat too so hopefully can lost some weight.