(2003) Brides of year 2003

maro

Hi ladies..

KPO here.. coz saw the word "GI"..
I'm sept bride2b but a bride from Graceful.
My pkg also OTR but i top up $$ to have my WG MTM.
Actually we r very KS. Already had our photoshoot. Now waiting to see our photos on the 22nd Feb. Very excited. :)

vio.. can share with me what's in yr pkg?

fionau

Hi Yi,
Maybe give me your email address. I email the photo to u. Anybody who want to share my photo, do give me your email address. Thank u.

are

leo29... already considering all sorts of loans, coz we not getting help frm either side of family. dun want to commit too much. times are uncertain, dun want to suffer next time, so gotta suffer now first! ;P

kare2711

Hey May, Thanks!!

And Vin, yah, but I've not made my appointment yet

ava

WOW!
this has been a busy forum

Miss of all you!
So busy with work and preparing for holiday and then the house came... aiyoh... tell you I'm a little lost now!

See that most of you are thinking of changing the gathering date to March
I would be able to meet after March 10 (but not the wknd of 14 - 16 'cos attending EE)

Maybe this time, if the guys would like to meet up I'll ask my FH to come along :p bet Nov groom will be happy then!

Anyway, just wanted to come in and say i miss chatting and hope to catch up with all soon!

Take care and stay healthy!

ava

Meow!

thanks for sharing your photos!

you looked lovely
the gown suits you very well

Glad u had a memorable day!

vio

hi cath n bonnie,

sorry abt my earlier remarks made abt SB - din mean their gown not nice or anything. honestly i've not been 2 their boutique or seen their gown b4. only saw their pic bk in 1999 at wedding fair.

i dun like their hard sell tactic, n i really love GI's design - tt's y dropped SB.

Hope i din 'offend' any1 yah ;)

smile ;-j

erin

Hi everybody!

Mrs Quake,
Well, my friends and I had a fun time choosing the gowns. The designer showed us a variety of gowns. They were very nice and hence my friend has difficulty in choosing her gown. Luckily the designer was very patient with us. hee hee... we spend about 3 hours just to choose the wedding and evening gown.

The package was rather exp. They have a few packages but the cheapest is already $3988 which is OTR. Actually, the stuff we could bargain for differs as my friends and I have different needs.I managed to get 10 extra photos cos I didn't want the portrait. Also managed to get parents' jacket, extra corsages. My friends asked for more gowns and they managed to get a discount as they signed up during the promotional period. Negatives for selected photos are returnable. No charges for dry-cleaning. 1 free anniversary photo every year (8R) and they promised "pai Dao Man Yi Wei Zi" without extra charges.

If you want to know more, can email to me at [email protected].

tingting

it's quite funny...taiwanese shops seem to be rather expensive..me quite bad at bargaining, so not sure whether will be able to drive a good bargain..

Erin, so that means u've already settled on Sophia? would love to hear more about the package there...will be sending u an email shortly.

mrs quake, me still got quite some toning up to do..so still got to sweat it out.. :p

Happy Valentine's Day everyone!

kare2711

May: Have already. Thanks so much! I love your gowns, and so do my SO. I love the backs of your gowns. Love the flowers on your WG. May I ask if you wear corset? And if you do, did your Bridal shop sew it in your gown? Sorry for the myriad of questions! And I agree with the rest, you're slim and nice
Just perfect for the day!

dk

NovGroom,
I might need a new mattress for the "Ann Chuang" can U help?

To ALL,
Hmmmmm...Looks like i not the only one trying hard to save money...Frens keep saying:" I very auntie! Cos i keep trying all ways to get cheap but good things"

For those buying stuff for the new place..Here's some tips...Go slow...Compare prices & look out for Warehouse Sales or Display sets...Might be able to get really New sets if U are lucky...
I got my "display set" microwave (new from silted box)last year for 60% off the original price.
Got my day-bed sofa coffee table from a warehouse sales 50% off ..tip-top condition too. Elect appliances - try distributors cos their price is much cheaper compared to major shop even when sales times.

I very "auntie' hor.heee...much alot of $$$ saved leh!

Meanwhile...U guys get lucky & happy shopping..Anyone here strike the "Ang Bao Draw Toto"? Wow, if strike anything also buy ah!!!

meow

Ava,
When will you leaving? Remember to bring us something to share with.
Can do me a favour? I sent you a mail ok? Thanks

Girls,
My hubby is 32yrs old this year. So Novgroom, my hubby same age as you except i'm 7yrs younger than him.

Grace,
what happen? Why not that dry? Must dry for about a week leh? Since you got a king coil bed, how come still need mattress? You confuse me, is there a diff? Novgroom, can you explain?

dk

Meow & Novgroom,
My hubby is also 32 this year! But Meow's huuby really look young....Any secret to such youthfulness?

& Meow,
i think Grace means She needs a New mattress...for "Ann Chuang" right? Grace?

fishball

hi kk,
actually I'd spent an hour trying gowns b4 in Dec. This month I spent about 3 hours 'fixing up' my gown designs. Remember Serene said that she apent arnd 4 hrs during her 1st appt? I guess it depends on how many gowns u wanna try. If not tired, then try more lor. kekeke... but I paiseh let them take so many gowns out n le them put back again... scared they not happy...else I'd 1 2 try all the downs there!

My 2nd appt wd be my 1st fitting of gown n they told me it'll be 2 wks b4 PS. 2nd fitting is 3 days b4 PS. But I dunno if WA have diff 'rules'.

Hi Jus,
welcome to this thread! How's yr preparation so far? We are starting to get really busy!

novgroom

Grace,
Actually the "Ann chuang" mattress is suppose for you and your hubby to sleep on it for good. How can you get a cheap cheap mattress to subsitute, wait your mother kill you leh.. haha.. how long have you been using the king coil bed? Get a new one lar.

DK,
What you want me to help you? I don't help people "Ann Chuang" one. hehee e-mail me if you want to get something from me.

Meow,
Your hubby same age as me ar? hehehe.. I thought I am the oldest around here. Now at least I got some kakis.. haha.. DK same age as my bride leh.. How long have you know each other?

shook

Hihi Vin
I have facial every 3wks.

Hihi Sue
Where can I get IPSA back pimple treatment? How much does it cost?
Have a gd rest. Sure u loose wt after the extraction of wisdom tooth

Hihi Kare2711
I will celebrate my anniversary on ROM date coz it is my hubby's birthday too.
Is it a must to get a corset?

Hihi Jan
Any pair of comfy shoes will do, as long as u dun step on your gown.

Hihi May
Wow u v assertive leh. How I wish I can b like u. The contractor deserved it anyway.

mrs

Erin: I'm definitely interested to know your package! Saves a lot of leg work! Do they tell you who are the photographers they wok with? So far, my FH and I are most impress with Andrew Choi's work.
You can reach me at [email protected]

Tingting: Actually, I don't really like to bargain too. It defeats the purpose of have a price tagged to the package because you will never know whether the stuff you get really match the value you are paying. What happen if some one else pay the same price as you and got more photos or better perks because she is a better bargainer or she got an 'easier' sales person?

As for losing weight, you are luckier as you are looking at toning up only while I'm actually looking at shedding some kgs! I guess no use sighing in front of the pc, other parts of my body muscles should start moving instead of my fingers on the key board!

jady

Hi gals, i just pop by to remind u ladies of our outing nxt thur(20/2)..

auntie here old liao, can u all let me know who's confirmed going again?

jady
serene
poki
fishball
blythe right?

who else ah? rhs, cookie, autumn, vio,cath,1027 ???

kk

Hi Fishball,

Ohhh, so looks like the average time spent is around 3 hrs then.. kekekee... wow, can imagine the tiredness! Even when i go shopping, sometimes i lazy to try clothes coz need to put on, take out, put on, take out.... kekeke...

Oh, coz what i heard from some is that 1st fitting normally quite fast? And they also need some time to sew up the beads, etc etc?

Hi Maro,

Wow, u had ur PS so early?? Where did u have ur outdoor PS? Can share the locations with me?

Hi Jus,

Welcome to the thread!
Ur wedding date is 2 days before mine

may

Kare: thanks for your lovely comments. I also like the flowers very much. according to my designer they had a hard time looking for it.
No, i did not wear a corset. Cant wear one becoz of the low back. The designer inserted i think 8 fish bones in my gown so that kinda act as a corset for me. Do you have any fish bones or structure for the top of your gown? Also if you notice my gown is the can can type not tight fitting accept for the top so it hides my flaws in a way. I cant wear those a-line and tight fitting gowns. U also take some pixs to show us leh during your next fitting.

Shook: No. lah...my gongfu not that deep yet. mayb sick so very mang loh... just scold and very picky.

r u the one that chose Alan Dai for actual photographer? Wondering does he do journalistic shots?

grace

DK, Meow, NovGroom

i need the bed cos of the belief lah... the king coil one only 1 yr only... cannot replace cheap mattress for a while? must forever?

meow, the freesia looks so terrible... i dont know why.. think it will work for roses.. thanks anyway.

anyway..happy valentine's day.. to all here.

serene

HAPPY VALENTINE DAY!

Jady: I will be going for the outing
on 20 Feb

Just went for my second gown selection last Sun..finally found a outdoor gown and evening gown for PS! phew*

Hm..initially wanted to take a tube top gown with beads all around in spiral..but hubby said make me looks fat..so didn't take...chose another one that makes me looks slimmer...too bad can't chose the first one cos the design is rather unique but do not have a long train as compared to the second one that I chose..
I chose ivory color for both actual day and PS gowns..wat abt you gals?

Fishball: This time I spent around 3hrs at the boutique cos also select MTM shoes (abit disappointed cos tot that we can decide on the design that we like, they have standard design to choose from)

Gals: How many inches of shoes do you intend to wear for PS and actual day?

erin

hi mrs quake and ting ting,

have emailed to the two of you. Most probably will settle on that.

Ya, it depends on your bargaining power. both my fh and I are not good bargainers so we did not get as good a package compared to my friends.

There are 3 inhouse photographers. My fh said the photography quite good.

If u r going there, be prepared to spend a few hours there. 1st, they will have the photographer to talk to u about his work, then u talk to teh designer and they show u some gowns. u might want to try. finally, then they talk to u about the package. a bit of hard-selling there. But there r quite willing to compromise if u dd is reasonable.

That's my report. Hopefully it's of use.

beibei

can anyone one of you inside the 9persons attending the gathering email me your hp number?just in case anything crops up i can either call or sms? [email protected]

where shall we meet?at the entrance of Olio Dome?
maybe i bring my ROM photos??

erin

Have a great Valentine's Day.

hi mrs quake,
the email bounced. anyway, i've sent it to the latest email add u gave. hope u receive it

rhs

Happy V'Day everyone!!
Hope u have a very romantic day today. My FH sent me a vase of roses to my office this morning!! So paiseh ...

Jady, I confirm going on 20th

Serene, most prob I wear 1-2 inches. Cannot wear higher than that cuz FH only slightly taller than me. And I think short heel better because we have to walk a lot those days and the gown is a bit heavy

Jus, welcome!! My wedding is 1 day after yours!

My office is so quiet today. Some ppl are either on leave or MC. No mood to work already ...

Have a nice weekend!!

sunnyling

sorry for MIA for so long been really busy b4 CNY and I just come back from my holiday trip.

Btw Happy Valentine Day to everyone here
17477.gif

Meow

I want to see your photo pls email to me can?

piper

hello everyone! HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!

been quite some time since the last message...noticed a few new joiners...WELCOME & enjoy the preparation process...dun freak out!

shook

Hihi May

Wow 8 fish bones in your gown. Does it make your gown feel rigid n uncomfortable to wear?

I no gongfu so got bullied by the curtain supplier n short changed by my bridal boutique one way or another

Yes, I chose alan Dai for actual day photography. r u referring to black n white photos 4 journalistic shots?

jus

Happy Valentine's Day, everyone!

Fishball,
Yeap, getting to be busy...
difficult to really juggle between work and the preparation, especially, now I am transferred to a new department...
wonder how you girls manage it...
would be sourcing for a printer soon...

rhs,
wah
so nice of your FH.
this year, we both agreed not to buy anything for each other.
saving for marriage... (jia lak) hee hee

just wondering, what have you girls prepare?
need to gage if i am too far behind the 'norm'
otherwise, would be stressed up towards the end...

Serene,
I am also sourcing for shoes
know that leapin lizard offers customised shoes
how many pairs would you be getting?

kare2711

Hey Shook.. facial once every 3 weeks. Hmm.. do you see a huge improvement in your skin? I've just made appt to go for a facial next Monday.

I've found my corset! Finally! So relieved. I'll definitely be bringing my camera so that I can share my wedding gown photos with all here.

meekoo

hi gals!

gosh.... i missed a lot lot! very busy with work cos feb is a short mth.... trying damn hard to get sales to hit target.... only half way through now....

going for my PS tomorrow! hope it will turn out good.

i go facial every 3 weeks but i found their eye treatment not very suitable for me.... everytime after the eye treatment, the very next day my eyes tend to swell! and this eye treatment is a package with my facial.... wonder can i change to something else...

i had my hair treatment every mth too... sign for a package which is very worth. cos my hair is almost bra line and each treatment only about $70 average. 2 types of treatment - Spa and Hot iron treatment.

having trouble with the contractor too.... so trouble that even my husband cun sleep some nite!

sue

Hi May: it doesn't burn a hole in my pocket becos I took the package from FIL. It's $58 each session & that time, they said I need 19 session. Moreover, they threw in 12 times of free eye treatment. So I make use of the opportunity to go more frequently. Actually, the more u go, the less extraction they have to do becos skin is cleaner. But, I hv lots of marks on my face now trying all ways to make them lighter.

Hi Shook: You can get IPSA from Robinsons. The pimple clear is $45 & the whitening is $55 I think. I remember I paid $95 for both. If you have Robinsons card, can get 5% discount.

Hi Kare: Where did you buy yr corset? Is it necessary? I'm not sure whether to wear one or not. Did yr boutique advise you to wear it?

dk

NovGroom,
Coming 2-Mar, Me & hubby ROM for 4yrs oledi...
We were classmates since mid 1993...Sparks only started in mid 1994..Wow! almost 10yrs! i din even realised...time really flies!

NovGroom, are U born in the year of the Pig? My hubby too. It's not suprising cos the Chinese believe that the Pig & the Rabbit made good couple. Lots of my frens alot hubby 32 this year..

Dun mind me asking...I find it really strange to have a man so anxious about their forthcoming wedding. Normally is the lady who gets really excited about it. I really look forward to such interest in my hubby...he he does, it really is a miracle.

kare2711

Sue, yah my boutique asked me to get one. Otherwise, I wouldn't even bother. I bought it in The Lingerie Store at Palais Renaissance. If your boutique never asks you to buy, I think don't bother. Especially for me, I'm a C cup, it's even more difficult to find, becase Wacoal and Triumph ones don't fit me. Was a headache to me for a very long time.

Meekoo, what's the name of the salon you go to? $70 sounds like a good deal!

jan2003

Shook: got your point on the shoes. now very happy. got a call from FH. he will be back on today! last day of cny. yesterday very sad because no valentine's day celebration for me. slept super early but got a call after midnight, told me he's at the airport and coming home. so happy i cried. so silly and today i am super happy. cannot sit still. need not work, so i thot share my happy news with you all. even if it's for just a few days it's better than nothing.

May: keep us updated on your kitchen top. terrible of them and very silly of them to give shoddy work. don't they know word of mouth is a very powerful advertising tool. at this rate they are going,hmm.... don't think they can last very long.

Vin: thanks for feedback on quilt. will look out. my future washing machine can only take 5kg load. you think can wash quilt?

novgroom

Grace,
For the Chinese Tradition, "Ann Chuang" bed should last as long as possible. That's why it is so important to "Ann Chuang". Maybe you ask your parents for advise.

DK,
You know your hubby for 10 years already? He must be very tired going after you. hehehe Is it Pig and Rabbit made a good couple? When I search those feng shui web pages, they always say this couple below average, need a lot of patience to maintain.

Well, my bride is not familiar with all these wedding issue. So so entrusted me to coordinate everything. Me not very excited lar, if everyone allows me to hold the wedding at McDonald's I don't mind also.. hahaha. So far I have got the bridial studio done, banquet done. Now looking around for photographers and and music pieces for the dinner. Did I miss out anything?

erin

hi yvonne,

saw that u have signed up with sophia. would it be possible to share any info with me under the thread of sophia wedding collections?

P.s. i apologize to the rest for posting something irrelevant here.

sue

Hi Jan: Can definitely understand how happy you feel. I drag events like valentine's day, x'mas or birthday where I've to spend without FH around. Enjoy yrself these few days.

Hi Kare: Wow, envy you...cup C. I'm only A so have to put padding if not I look so flat. Must be very expensive to buy from the shop in Palais Renaissance. I'll see what my boutique says. Thanks for the update.

autumnheart

jady, can't make it cos i'll be in bangkok.

jus, my prep done are:
- book hotel and paid deposit
- signed up bridal package

in march, i will be doing the design of the gowns, signing up and confirming the date of PS and designing my invitation card.

my ROM+actual+tea recept day is 6/9.