(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Mrs Quake,

Andrew Choi ties up with LG and Dang at least..so you shld be able to see his portfolio at these shops. Both LG and Dang have quite nice gowns, and they are quite ok to have you try on their gowns too..get the designers to pick the gowns for you to try on instead of the sales pple..then u'll have a better idea of what suits you.

actually i din find Kris, or rather her boss very open to negotiation.. maybe bcos my date is a weekend, so the bargaining power is not that great. couldn't get waiver of corkage charge for all wine, e.g. But otherwise, I agree with your assessment of Kris. Felt she was a bit inexperienced though...I signed up with Carlton eventually cos the hotel looks newer and the sales person there looks more composed n mature.

I'll be going to the GI bridal show too.. : )

SOS: Hi! my wedding's on the same day too!

Hi Yi,

Yah...feel so weird, esp when we have to give to our single friends.

We went Japan (Tokyo and Hokkaido) for abt 9 days. Wow, so cold...and we enjoyed ourselves very much though things there are much more ex!

Well, still in the midst of showing the album to our family/friends/colleagues...hopefully will be able to scan them and put up to let you all see

Good that you have a friend who's going to do all these for you. Since i have an actual day videographer, he did the CD-ROM for us cos it's in the fees paid to him.

thks for the encouragement...

must be too much new year goodies...cos i am breaking into a flu now. body aching all over. hopefully will recover faster.

hmm...forgot to tell u all that i hv gotten my actual day photographer too. videographer will be a fren.
anyone having a church (christian) wedding? what's the procedure and duration? can someone advise?

thks in adv & 3 cheers for all of us, superwoman!!!

hi flowee,

yap, hubby and i did a calculation and discovered
that we really spend ard S$1.5k for angpaos this
year liao. :P Anyway, we got back S$400+ each fr
hubby's parents this year.
guess pil will still continue to give us angpaos
even after our wedding which helps to defray part
of our loss. hehehe

o, you went kk mei's place during the cny ah?
never chio me!

i was at my mum's place on the 3rd day as hubby
goes to his colleague's place and i dun wana go.

hi jady,

i'm leaving for a short trip to bangkok next thur
till sun and then to our dream europe tour after june this year.

looking forward to relaxing, eating and shopping
at bangkok next week. hehehe

hi kk mei,

sorry hah, never return your msg this morning.
for me, hubby picks me up in the morning, then we
go back to love nest, open door, take some pics,
then to pil's place, tea ceremony, tehn back to
love nest change to teadress then back to my mum's
place lor.

anyone has lobang for buying cheap scented candles?
i'm thinking of buying about 150 for wedding favours.

scent shop selling one (without holder/cup) at $4.50!
:o

meow... no lah, not sentosa tis time. was planning to book a changi chalet, then go fish at the jetty & go ubin lor. i've never been to ubin! ;P but sentosa is nice. me and hubby stayed there on weekdays b4, real nice when there's no crowd, do try it. its a much cheaper alternative to a short holiday. dun have to sun tan, there are a lot to do, especially now.

ya.. i've missed both outings man. maybe now can make it on 21st cos our chalet has been postponed.

Hihi Pausini
Wat is white fish har?
I can't read the recipe for slimming, cough, high blood....guess they r in Chinese rite. My company does not have Chinese software

Hihi May
Sorry, I dunno where your love nest is. Anyway, I m not familiar wif Sengkang area.
I have not confirmed my gown. I took my ps in Nov, actual day is 6mths dwn the rd. Definitely there r newer designs coming up. So I dun wanna confirm my gown. BTW I get OTR gown. So can wait for latest design.

Hihi Meekoo
Great 2 hear fm u again

sorrie gals, if u just received an email from me that meow sent...mistake(something wrong with my pc).

i oso want to go holiday!!! envy all those gals..

meow, i decided better nt tan, otherwise got tanlines, then if yr gown is lowback or tube type, can see the lines and diff shades.. ugly...

are, u better wear long sleeve when fishing..

both dates are okie with me too.. so novas, do yr choosing.

1st date: 21st(fri)
1)Meow
2)Grace
3)Are

2nd date: 1st March(sat)
1)Meow
2)Grace

Shook: which receipe are u refering too?
Cannot see ah. Aiyo, are u running winxp? May be have to install Chinese language add on. remember i used to have the english version over this forum. May be u can just copy it.
Ok how abt that. U visit this website and see whethee u can see the receipe.

I get to know the receipe from Mediawork programme. i attached the link so all can go in and have a look.

http://www.sphmediaworks.com/goeast2/

I hope it will help.

May: can u see the chinese receipe? I hope it will be clearer.

dear all

jus to share with u gals - i dreamt of my own wedding last night and everything went on smoothly except one - i missed my second march in and i was wearing my wg throut the dinner. i was so upset tt i miss wearing my eg that i woke up.... luckily it was a dream...

Tingting,

Thanks for the info. Do you know the price range at both LG and Dang? My budget is between $3-4k.

My dinner is on a monday and maybe that's the reason why I had it easier. I actually managed to negotiate for waiver for all wine and hard liquor brought in and also some other stuff. In exchange, I traded in my free flow of beer for only 50litres of beer.

Actually, my job requires me to deal with hotels and also organise functions such as D&D (for 1300 paxs). So I suppose my experience in dealing with hotels does help in my negotiation. ;)

As for Kris' 'inexperience' in handling events, I'm not too worried yet as I'm pretty used to handling dinners myself and would perhaps dictate what I want and what they should look out for during my wedding dinner.

Let me know if you need any advice when it comes to dealing with the hotel.

Pausini: i went to arab street to buy the crystals for the accessories. spent about S$100+. i bought more than i need. but ok lah, can keep.
After i finish making, i will take pictures and show u all ok.

yes, i can see the recipe in Chinese. i using office 2000 but running on windows 98.

Shook: oh i c about your gowns. Actually, OTR good, u try and see what u get. mtm quite scary coz you not sure if it is suitable for you or not. Plus, your ps you get to wear lots of gowns other than yours like fashion model. i didnt go for otr coz everyone says that i mtm better, no have proportionate figure. most of the otr gowns i cant wear...too small for me.SIGH.

Ya lor, Beibei. Think u r rite. Let's all look fwd to being busy in March!!! Very fast, Just 22 days more to March.

I selected my actual day photographer liao. He's actually my friend's friend. I like him cos he very funny n might help to make mood not so intense.

Anyone of u using videographer? Me thinking of asking my BIL to double up - can save a bit of money n anyway, he has a videocam.

hi hong,

ya lor, but we gave only S$4 to single friends as "yi si yi si" only. :P

glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon.
you bought anything from japan?
my colleague oso went japan for honeymoon last ot and she got me a hard rock cafe camisole.

my short trip is only on next thu to sun to bangkok. going to relax, shop and eat till i drop. hehehe
me looking forward to my real honeymoon only after june this year coz me not able to take leave from march to june.

I have finished showing all my relatives and friends the actual day fotos liao coz we carried it wif us when we go visiting during CNY.
but i have no scanner to scan the wedding photos and actual day photos leh!

o, so good you have engage a professional videographer to do it for you. we did not in order to save cost so hubby's colleague doing for us although not very profesionally done, still ok lah!

Mrs Quake- eh, with a budget of $4k it is hard to get a package with Andrew Choi. If i remember correctly the cheapest package for LG is $3788, and for Andrew Choi u need to top up $800. If u take off the rack with Dang, maybe can make it..i can fwd u Dang's package if you like. If you have the time, maybe u can wait for the bridal exhibition on 27 Apr?

will keep you in mind when my dinner preparation starts..

Hihi Pausini
White fish is found in the recipe for mee siam. I still can't read the recipe in Chinese. My company impose a restriction so dat we can't download software.

Hihi May
Exactly the reason y I opt for OTR gown. I v vain so love to try many many gowns then let my hubby n the staff fm the bridal boutique to comment which 1 suits me best.
I oso dun have ideal figure. The bridal boutique can alter 4 u one.
Dun u get OTR for your ps?

Thanks, Tingting. Would appreciate if you can email Dang's package to me.

Let me know again when you need help for hotel. BTW, are you buying your own wine or taking the hotels's housepour? My advice is buy your own. It'll be much cheaper. Of course you have to make them waive the corkage charge lah...

Hi Vin: I din go back very long. Went back on Mon & came back last nite. Yah, is yr actual day photos ready. I can't wait to see.

Hi May: Thanks, I saw your pix. You tall & slim, very nice. Your WG is very sweet & I also thought of having purple for my EG. Maybe a lighter tone. SLK's mum had a stroke in early Jan & she was very busy that time rushing to the hospital everyday. Moreover, she just got her house and busy with caring for her mum and renovation. I'll sms her to see how she's doing.

Hi Pausini: Ya lor, I'm the eldest so my sister reminded me on the 1st day of CNY that next yr, I must give to her before going back to M'sia. This yr I don't have to give yet becos not even ROM. I have a friend from NZ and she sent me a very detailed list abt NZ. I'll fwd to you.

HARROOO..

erin: due to some reasons, let u know the venue later cos i have not finalised the contract details yet. btw, how much are u paying for amore?? what is the frequency??? i find the location a bit far to travel for exercise leh.. down town...

my hubby not around leh for another 2 wks. heard that there are bridal shows coming up???quite sian to go myself leh...sigh....any good ones can recommend??? btw, where is white link located????

Just wonder do you allow a November Groom to join in the discussion and gathering here?

Anyway, any November Groom here?

Meow and Gals,
Sorry, I can't make it for both dates, gotta go for facial session on 21st Feb to prepare for my ROM and on 1 Mar, I m out of town.. for a super mini honeymoon..

Nevertheless, keep me updated of your latest happenings ya..

By the way, who else is getting ROM this month?

Hi sos,
There are 3 bridal shows coming up.
9 Feb - Graceful Image @ Mandarin singapore
21 Feb - Whitelink @ GWC
23 Feb - Lezen Creation @ Amara Hotel
White Link is located at Marina Square Level 2.
I think bridal shows are great place to get bargains on bridal packages.... I also missed out quite a few last year.
I think you can still sign up for the bridal shows by calling the boutique up to enquire. Ur hubby not in, can also drag ur frens or mum along. My mum went with me to one of the bridal show last year.

Mrs Quake-I'm intending to bring in my own wine n hard liqour..hopefully my guests are not good drinkers! oh yah, hotels always said mixers are free flow. Does this refer to drinks like vodka lime, etc? forwarded the Dang package to you already...take a look..

SOS- better book ur dinner venue soon...when i was sourcing for my venue several places were already booked.

hi...

sos: i'm paying $120 for aerobics package which includes 12 lessons which has to be completed within 3 months(any choice of aerobics such as step or hi-low impact aerobics or kick-boxing). Will be going for kick-boxing or Hi-low aerobics lessons with my friends. Distance still ok cos my friend will be driving. Most prob, we will go to the Bugis or Simei branch.

There's another package, the power package, which allows you to take up lessons such as aerobics, dance, pilates or yoga. This will cost $180 which incl. steam bath, shower and usage of gym. They will also monitor your fitness condition if u signed up this package.

I'm a poor student so can only sign up the cheaper package.

Think ting ting and Mrs Quake r going to Grace Image Show. Perhaps u could arrange to meet up with them there.

Hi sos-if you are intending to attend the GI show u can call up the shop to get an invite. When my colleague called up just b4 CNY there were few places left..if you wanna meet up just drop me an email and i'll fwd my contact no. to you..

I have been following this thread for quite some time. I must say it's very interesting and informative!

Hi May,

Can I KAPO and take a look at your photos too? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks!

hey gals... I have sth on until 8pm on 20th Feb... so cannot join you gals already... but i guess if you all are still hanging ard at 8plus, I can pop by to say hi...

Hi Sue:

Thanks. looking forward for ur info on NZ.

Shook: I havent figure out what is that. i try to find out what is the white fish for u.

I'm a Dec bride too. Pretty surprised so many of u have already firmed up your bridal package. I just started looking around a week ago. Hope to decide on a boutique by early Mar.
Is it too early to start reserving wedding day photographer ?

Hi Flowee Jie,

It is ok lah. Normally when he do the mopping, i also walk around.. hahahahaa...

Hi Yi Jie,

Is it a custom to go to love nest after picking up bride, then go pils' place? I thought it is after picking up, go pils' place then go love nest then go our parents' place? Because i dun remember my brother going to his love nest after picking up my sis in law. But that is already 7 years back.. hahaha..

hi mex,

Well, I was pretty surprised initially too. I've only started looking around during X'mas time.

Don't think it's too early to reserve wedding day photographer even though i have not booked mine yet. dec is rather a popular month for weddings so i think you could start looking out for photographers.

welcome mex! most of the shops i spoke to said it's best to have 6-9 months' time fr ur wedding date for the gowns and photos..that's why i'm stretching my timeline to end apr after the bridal exhibition! keeping my fingers crossed on that..

haven't sourced for a day time photographer...really interested in those kind of journalistic shots, but the photographers are usually quite ex...any good recommendations anyone? will be good if can book the person early..but at worst get a fren who's quite good with cameras..

U gals are so active lately, hehe!

Mex, welcome! Well, by my KS standards, it's never too early to book photographers/make-up artists/wedding venue etc... unless they don't want your business, then i've got nothing to say!
Once u fix your actual wedding date, u can start to check out photographers!

Abt bridal shows... only been to 2 shows last year, one lesson learnt is that u must be EARLY, so can grab good seats, or rather grab a seat... cos usually latecomers end up standing thru out the show! And usually u can get free complimentary tickets if u visit the bridal shops beforehand, and ask for tickets.... i only knew this AFTER paying for the tickets.... Also if u are holding the banquet in the same hotel of the bridal show, u can check out the waiters' attire, so your groom can avoid wearing the same colour or same type of suit.

Hope u all have fun at the bridal shows!

hi kk mei,

dun know leh, mil says must go back to love nest after hubby picks me up so we go back lor coz anyway our love nest is quite near to il's place too.

actually, i think quite up to individual. we actually dun have to go back there and change after the tea ceremony at il's place but because i feel more at ease at my love nest and since quite near, i prefer to change at my love nest and then can rest for awhile b4 proceeding to my mum's place.

Sue: Oh no..sorry to hear about SLK mom. Send my regards to her.

Thanks for your compliment. U r all so kind. So what color did you choose for your gowns?

Jazz: R u still thinking of going to Canada for honeymoon? I am exploring the option. Hubby does not want to go Europe or US. But he says Canada can consider. So i plan to start on my research. Hope you can help me here.

Shook: Very unlikely can go Europe for honeymoon. Hubby not willing to, no matter how much i try to talk him around. SIGH. I am also thinking of going to Korea too? Just hope it wont be too hot in May.
When r u planning to leave for honeymoon? immediately?

My bridal will provide me with only one OTR gown for PS. Or a Kua. So i dont have the luxury like you to wear so many OTR gowns.

Pausini: u need to check weather in NZ. R they having winter in May?

Hi May:
Not planning to go striaght after the wedding. Wanted to wait for the best season to go. Guess Spring or autumn would be a nice season. My FH also dun want to go Europe. One too expansive, 2nd he wants to visit a place where he understand what they are taking. May change to Aust. I also dun know.... anyway, both of us have never being there.

Canda is a nice place. good choice.

oh yes, girls. Have both ur parents meet up to discuss abt the wedding gifts?

Welcome to our newcomers! /clipart{bounce}

Novgroom, there is a male member here. His Padre but somehow he mia for quite sometime

Eileen,
Do join us for our meet up session.

I was so 'xian' at work today that I decided to plan my wedding day schedule for the bride and groom.

Does any of you have any idea how long a tea ceremony for about 6 pairs of relatives will take?

Also, how long does it take for the bride's hairdo and make-up to be done?

Do we have to provide a seat at the dinner for the photographer? What about lunch?

Hi May, sure, let me know what info you need. I plan only to go to the Rockies, spending abt 2 weeks in the western area. Found out some websites for cheap accomodation and car rentals. Can get apprx SGP $600 to $700 for two weeks of car rental. For air tickets, my colleague was saying, wait for a few more weeks, you might be able to get another UOB credit card promotion to get the tickets to Canada.

How long are you intending to go? If you're spending about 3 weeks there, recommend you to go both Vancouver and Toronto. Can I view your wedding gown picts? Thanks!

Pausini, not yet for me... dunno when they'll meet up leh. Any recommendations to get them meet up?

Sue, hope SLK's mum is ok... please send her my regards, thanks!

yi

wow nt bad u guys din spend 1.5k on ang pows after all... :P

u will b headin 4 ur HM next thurs...
hv fun n remember 2 share ur HM pix when we meet up the next time...

oh so paiseh abt tat...
kk mei invited the sk gers 2 her love nest but onli 3 'grps' turn up if i aint wrong...
mi went over veri late liao ard 6+...
kkk is buz cleanin the hse liao so paiseh 2 walk ard in their hse...

kk mei

how come askin yi abt the sequences liao???
u hv ur timin 2 b @ kkk's pl liao rite...
can 'aga' from there lor...
:P

hi tingting,
GI called me to give me a number. should be going with sis. but i am down with flu today!!
..so whether can recover in time for the show... the GI person told me to be there at 1.30pm so early meh????the show starts at 2 right??? wat do we expect??? models parading the gowns??? are there GI reps to talk too???