(2003) Brides of year 2003

shook

Hihi Cat
Ai yoh, my grandma v cute, she said tis yr the last yr u collect ang pow. Next yr, your baby's turn to collect ang pow. I said how to? Come to think of it it is 9mths fm May to next yr's CNY. Also can't wat, unless hit jackpot the 1st time then baby wanna come out a little bit earlier to collect ang pow

jady

glad evry1 enjy the cny. i've been eating & eatg till now i put on weight liao! so obvious, my god!!

ya loh, all of us here who r getting married this yr hv to give angbao nxt yr liao....who said that 1st yr no nid to give ah?:p

yi, 1.5k quite alot leh, u give all $50 & abv ah?

jady

hi gals, i'm bk!

welcm to autumnheart & cookiecorgi!
sure u can join us & do update yr details with cath.

we've confirmed our 1st gathering on 20th feb , dinner at seah st deli, meet outside cityhall starbucks at 6.30pm.
i'll finalise the no. of gals nearer to the date.

how's cny for evry1? me eat & eat now plump liao! cry!

this sat going for 1st bridal appt, feel so strange..:p

jan2003

Shook: you so funny! I just heard that women in general only have 9 openings in a year to get pregnant. Not everytime timing correct to hit jackpot. our relatives all have very ambitious plan for us leh. some even proposed we have twins! my gosh!
my FH don't know will be where next year. i don't want to think about it. he's no longer in japan now. in india. not a very nice place for communications. the last time we spoke, i kind of feel that someone else is listening in. the last time in myanmar, confirm the man who connected us was listening to our conversation, i felt so horrid because we both can hear him breathing!

May: please send link to [email protected]
very excited to see your first fitting.

Cat: cannot leh. my parents say first year must give ang pow. even if FH not around or we plan to be not around (which they advice us not to) must still prepare ang pow for distribution. parents will distribute on behalf! no escape at all! urgh!!!!!!!

maya

Hi ladies! yeah, I'm already starting to feel depressed now looking at what married life will look like during CNY.....I wanted to stay home on 3rd day to relax, vegetate, watch TV. I normally do that while single where I have the hse to myself. Now hve to go visiting to IL's relatives. Also had work to do so brought my wk along. They must be thinking this DIL very hardworking but if I don't bring something to do, very bored, having to put on smiles, eat & eat (and get fat!) while everyone gamble. I don't gamble so can't join in and I don't speak their dialect so diffc to chat with them.
Aiyah, must be the weather but very sian leh. Thinking abt all these adjustments after married life - travel to wk longer, hve to do hsewk, learn to cook?, adjusting to living in new home, need more $$.....thots of running away from it all have crossed my mind recently. Any of you ever felt this way????

autumnheart

I don't know if I can make it on the 20/2 cos I might be going to Bangkok for a business trip.
Will confirm by next week.

BTW, if I go BKK, anyone needs those chopsticks as wedding favours? I might be able to help! (No promise though)

serene

Hello gals,

Hello cookiecorgi, welcome !!

Jady: I also put on weight liao..ate too much goodies ..going to select my outdoor gown and EG this Sun...dunno whether can fit in..have to cut down on carbo these few days and less meats..

Cath & autuumnheart: enjoy yr trip!! ENVY, feel like gg for a trip also but saving money for wedding..so no choice...got to wait till honeymoon...probably end of the year.

priviledged

Hi Totoro, Delannie, Kiroro and Yvonne, don't worry. I think among the June brides, I'm going to be the most panicky. Seeing your schedules here is already making me worried that I will be too busy in April/May when everything is happening for me, including key collection to my flat and renovation.

I'm looking forward to the gathering on 21st Feb.
Anybody remember what time it is supposed to be?

may

To those that have requested, i will send the link shortly. Dont laugh ok. Me hubby not very good photographer and some of the shots turn out to dark, most r the wedding gowns ones. That why very few wedding gown shots.

cat

Hi Shook-Hahaha..Your grandma really very cute. Errr.. if really hit jackpot first time, next yr won't "Lugi" leh. Try lah!

Hi Jan-Tot my FH travels alot liao, seems that your FH travel lagi more. You so poor thing, must be very lonely. But there's pros and cons also rite, like when he comes back you feel closer to each other..

Hi Maya-Cheer up, it's beginning of the year. Don't let all these spoilt the whole year. Think about the good things, your wedding, how beautiful you will look in that nice WG, your honeymoon....

pausini

Hi May: My email : [email protected]

Shook: i look so different now. I hope i am still like last time. *sigh*

Maya: i guess is not only the CNY thingy, like u mention is also the lifestyle. Now, both of us make the attempt to go back to new place on weekend or sometime weekend so we can "experience" the life of our own, at the sametime trying to adapt each other lifestyle. There is another thing that i realise, that i dun know how to cook for the portion of two. I used to cook for my family of 5. so the portion is rather huge then when i try to cook for two of us. it doesnt turn out to be the usual standard. so sometime i just give up, i told my FH let eat outside.

Btw, do u give ang pow to friends too? i told my close friends that i do not practise giving ang pow to them. i will only give to their kids next time.

beibei

Hi Priviledged,
think we put between 645 to 7pm okok!

Maybe I call them to make a reservation bah since we have 9person at the moment right?

grace

okie here it goes....

those who cannot make it on 22Feb/weekends
1)okeanosmao
2)twinklets
3)clyne(tentative)
4)are

those who can make it on weekends/not weekdays
1)amore

pls help fill in...
i can meet on weekdays(except mon & wed) and weekends.

may

Vin: I uploaded my photos at yahoo photos. Took me a while to be familiar with it. The next batch i will upload my house pixs. Hopefully, will be ready by next week, then i email you gals, ok.

Eustoma: The photos are taken by hubby using a digital camera. Not ps. My bridal is Jawn Happy Ever After. Can you give me your email?

Shook: oh i c. u got a studio? Purposely have a baby to recoup ang pow quite scary right? But i do hope to have one bb next year - the year of the monkey. Unfortunately, for me i not getting younger - biological clock ticking.

Jan: is it? didnt know that we only got 9 chances to get pregnant... yucks, heavy breathing in the background. did you guys speak in mandarin? Then at least the guy dont understand. Whoa, your FH very busy hor, fly here and there. earning big bucks?

Cat: MIL quite old already and she is still working, i dont feel good taking such a big ang pow from her, that why give her back loh... this way i feel better. I dont give her $$ and my hubby hardly. So not nice to take $$ from her.

Maya: i know what u mean. i plan to move in to love nest early next month...but the thought of how to go to work makes me so sian. plus housework and bills to pay. Now, i really appreciate my mum doing all these for me.

Y

yi

hi wenn and jady,

we have to give both sets of parents and of course
siblings who are not married and close nephews
more so thatz why altogether we spent abt S$1.5k.
heart pain leh! hehehe
but anyway, hubby coughed out the $ instead of me.
hubby even gave me an angbao too!

so how much angbao you all collected this year?
last year, I collected more than S$1k.

abrinas

me yet to decide which printer to use. Priviledged, issit a must to print programmes for church wedding? Hv to decide if to print programmes so tt i can print tog with the cards. Anyway, i don't know what to print on the programmes.
Do u all think it is better to use printer recommended by hotel? My FH says it will be easier.

Meeting between parents also not fixed yet. Anyway, issit a must?? My FMIL already told me what she wants and what she will give my mum. My mum also told me what she wanted. Me and FH will be buying them anyway.

Me still hving sore throat and some more, sore eyes
Want to eat also cannot.
*boohoohoo*

Me seeing my proofs this Sat. very excited.
Hope they turn out well. *crossing fingers*

Think all of us will start to be very busy in Mar cos very near liao. Must paint hse next wk.

Where u all going for Valentine's?? It's next Fri. Patoh 2 long until long time nvr celebrate liao. FH says waste money - $10 a stake of rose.

ava

Hi Gals!

Happy New Year!

Sorry me so busy & fell sick on the eve! Just recovering.

I won't be able to join you glas this time round when you meet up 'cos i'll be on Holiday!
in NZ!

Do keep me informed and let me know

btw, collected my keys already
the house is not bad
quite happy

Will try to come in and chat soon!

take care!

pooh

me for i still need to plan for my honeymoon, printer, customary stuff, gowns (have not decide the design yet), table arrangement and the song for my march in?

Any suggestion on songs? i need a long and nice one as i will have sword barriers during the march in and it take quite sometime.

beibei

abrinas,
think it would be good if both side parents can meet up so that everything can be written in black and white.your parents can request for things they want..it is what they called'ti qing'.

me fixing the date for parents to meet on 9/3/03.put it earlier so that one more thing off my mind.

Must update us on the photos ok?u able to keep the samples?if yes bring on 21/2 lah!

you must take care ok!drink more water!

me not celebrating Valentines'days...ald 'lao fu lao qi'liao...furthermore got to save more money for wedding!

hong

Happy CNY!
Was busy during CNY period
Well, had some 'unexpected' guests and thankfully the amt spent was still within our budget. Spent between $600-$800 in total

Prob we can start sharing photos here since our weddings are over?
Juz my two cents worth....

kk

Hi Jady,

It is true leh, some pple say no need to give ang pow on first year of marriage. But then, me and hubby and both sides parents dun believe in this. So we will start giving next year

Hi Yi Jie,

Just to find out, how much u give to ur parents and pils? Heee.. i am thinking whether what i have planned to give is too little.

Me and hubby a bit mad. We already started counting how much we need to spend on red packets next year. We ended up with a figure of $600. Luckily my hubby side a lot of malaysian relatives, and few kids, so we can give them ringgit instead

I think my bigger sum will be spent on red packets to both side parents and my 4 nieces and nephews.

pausini

Hi May:
Remember the sliming drink i introd last time.
I managed to find out the receipe. they are in chinese however, it doesnt turn out if i do a cut and paste here. I got some other, like for high blood pressure, Skin Allergies, Constipation, etc. Those who want it can give me ur email address and i send over. They are all chinese medicine and written in chinese.

vio

hi serene,

so hv u thought of honeymoon destination?
i'd love cold places since my wedding is almost during yr end. but i've got fren who wen on 12day europe tour - cover a few countries, commented whole trip was too rush n tiring - touch n go, lotsa of travelling on coach fr city to city!

honeymoon supposed to b relax - time to rejuvenate aft e long wedding preparation rite

mrs

Hi All!

Glad to find this thread. I'm getting married in Dec too and my church wedding is on 6 Dec adn dinner is on 8 Dec. SO far the venue for dinner has been settled. We are holding it at Crown Prince Hotel.

Now I'm shopping for the Bridal Package. Need some recommendations from you ladies here. Thanks!

totoro

i not too sure yet.
but i will be meeting up with nick goh and choon huat next week..

any one uses them before?

gwen

Hi ding dong,

Less than 2 months is an understatement for me. Now I have less than 1 month to my wedding!!! *stress*

Like excited bride, I've written mot of my cards. There's still a number of frens whom I've yet called to find out if they can make it.

The next week or two will be focused on the catering and the RSVP.

All the best, March brides!!

maya

Abt the angbao part, I think it is ok NOT to give to friends that are your peers. Next yr, when it's my turn, I plan to give only to kids as far as possible. Not to peers, cousin peers, or single colleagues. But there are some cousin peers I may have to give bec it's done so in the family. Those no choice lor.
What's the rate now har? I heard minimum now at least $6?? No more $4?
Not moving in to hse until after wedding. Mom don't allow. So looks like it's a maj adjustment for me, esp since the place is further for me. My FH stays quite near to our hse so he don't face that kind of distance prob. Already warned him that I will prob'ly be very mang chang trying to adjust to new lifestyle. Actually our hse layout almost similar to FH hse and he wanted to put the furniture almost the same way as his mom's place. I refused. Bec I don't want the feeling of it being my IL's place. Also, part of me wants him to understd what I will be going thru too so he must go thru some adjustments himself.........mean of me hor??

kk

Hi Wenn,

Hee.. i know why Yi Jie spent so much on ang pows. Coz she received a lot previously, so now she got to give back a lot too

naturally

Hi all, how is everyone's CNY so far? Nice to see more Dec brides, welcome to the thread gals!

Renee,
Good to see u here, i'm just 1 day before u!
Hibiscus is an excellent choice, it's a very pretty ballroom!

Freesia,
i went on a weekday evening, it wasn't a long visit for me, just had to confirm design of WG and EG, decide on fabric and colours, that's all. Doreen will show me samples of embroidery on the next visit, which is 1 mth after the 1st appt, she will also take my measurements then. I haven't confirm design for tea dress cos she says tea dress and hubby's men suit can wait til around march. So your hubby need not go with u on 1st appt, cos won't need to take his measurements yet.
Don't need to worry, I think Doreen is very flexible, if u can't decide on the design during the 1st visit, u can always go back 1 or 2 weeks later? U still have a lot of time to decide!
If u want, can email me to discuss more (click on my nick above), we are the only LG brides hor?

pam

Hope you all had a wonderful New Year!
Yes, I am feeling very late in my prep. Now I am confused as to which boutique to go to.
I have seen JLC, Twd Wu, X-Zen, Inspiration Collection and Ivory Aisle. Going to see EB and BV next and will be attending GI Bridal Show. So I guess I am making myself confused in this case. So far I like Ivory Aisle best in terms of price and dress design. But yet to make up my mind. *sign*
I must agree GH has lovely ballrooms for weddings. Been to a few weddings there and like it very much in terms of ambience and food.

pausini

I thinkt he lowest ang pow rate is still $4 due to the economic. Well, i did rx $4 this year. Like some of said, depend how much relative gave and next year will give back the same to their children. actually wanted to track but is like so many pple give u ang pow at the same time and we really lose touch which is from who. I think i will still give cousins but not friends and colleagues of same peers. So pai seh!
Maya: ur mum is very strict. It will be easy to adjust a whole new life of two of u then to live together with ILs. I can sleep till the sun shine at my buttock but if i am at my FH place, i have the pressure if i overslept. I told my FH i can never sleep late at his place. We have to get up early no matter how late u sleep. My MIL wants all to get up and have breakfast. Stress!!! I am glad i do not need to live with her now. however, FH is the eldest son and he is very fillal so i may need to live with them next time!

pausini

Hi May,
Ur WG is lovely. especially the back! U MTM WG and EG? Ur EG is also very nice. I still havent select my WG and EG. the last selection wasnt very good. i dun really like it. Hope they have new stock.

shook

Hihi Jan
I prefer twins, pain n trouble all @ 1 go
but maternity leave 2 mths only. V lugi. Best of all if can get twins of a boy n a girl

Wow, your FH travels all over the world. Wat profession is he in? Next CNY u go wherever he is. Give excuse dat he wants u to accompany him. Ang pow c/o your mum n mil if they insist u muz give.
Ai yoh, so scarry one, ppl listen to your conversation. I dun face tis problem when I call our office in India. May b u call your FH instead of him calling u.

Hihi Maya
Hiak hiak hiak. My love nest oso almost same lay out as my hse. And the furnitures oso arrane in a similar way. But 4 living rm only lar. Bcoz dat arrangement saves space lor. In fact it is my hubby who arranged the furnitures

Hihi cat
I oso hope hit jackpot 1st time leh

Hihi Pausini
Bet u still look as gd as b4. Dun sigh.
Envy dat u can cook. I can't. I wanna learn. My hubby said never mind, eat @ his mum's n my mum's place save $

Hihi May
The studio is actually a small storerm. Dat is how it is labelled in the floor plan.
I oso hope to have a baby next yr. I v old liao.
Your evening gown is nice. Like the color. U came out wif the design or the designer?

shook

Hihi Maya
I even received ang pow of $2 man. Some even siam. Not a single cent. But on the average is $10. May b ppl think it is the last time 4 me. So more generous lor.

Hihi Pausini
My mum oso doesn't allow my hubby n me to stay together now. She even commented dat I address my hubby as hubby. She said we have not gone thru customary yet. Not husband n wife, should b fiance n fiancee. I wld look 4 my dad 4 support. Then my dad would say my mum "old-minded"

priviledged

Abrinas, you SHOULD arrange for your parents to meet. It will help avoid any misunderstandings. They will appreciate it too and make it easier for you and your FH. If not you may find yourselves caught between the parents when the day draws nearer and one set of parents starts to make more and more requests and the other set of parents get frustrated. It happened to one of my friends.

As for the church programme, we'll most probably choose a nice wedding bulletin cover and print on an insert or print directly onto it. Nothing too fancy. It will include the order of worship, the Bible readings, the text for the hymns and the acknowledgements. I think it is good for all the guests to be able to follow the service and see the Bible passages and hymn which we have chosen because they are meaningful to us.

ding dong

Wow...excited bride and gwen,
you are so far ahead already....now more stressed.
And work is also piling...for no reason.
Realy pray that things will be ok.

jady

kk,

ya, i asked my mum & godma they all, all say i next yr must give angbaos liao...

evry yr since i started working, i'll give angbaos to my parents. each of them fr $280 to $380 depending on economy..haha. so nxt yr i'll still give the same to them loh. only extra is to my nephews/cousins/his side loh...

yi, so sweet of mike. i must go tell my hubby liao.:p

pausini

Hi Shook: Ur dad very open minded. Luckily my mum very open-minded also. Or can i say may be i am all the while very sensible child to her. So she very very seldom question my decisions or anything i do, unless i am very extreme. At certain time where i am arguing with my FH whether to have dinner. I wanted something grand, knowing we may not afford it. I told my mum, she said it is ok for her not to have dinner. she even suggest i go for holiday instead. when time goes by, i change my mind of getting a grand dinner cos it is too tiring.
when the wedding date is drewing nearer, i more sian... i shld have listen to my mum to just go for honeymoon and no dinner.

kk

Hi jady,

Oic.. kekee.. i think depends on my own pocket too... normally spend a lot to buy new year stuff, so end up budget very tight. Like this year, not even shifted into my love nest yet but spend a lot on new year stuff already

Actually it is a custom that hubby got to give wife ang pow. It is just a matter of whether hubby follows or acts blur.. kekeeke...

may

Pausini: send me the receipe. use the same email that i have emailed the pixs to you. i see if i can read the chinese words.

yes, both my gowns are mtm. but the back of the WG is designed by the designers. I like the back too esp the flowers...so sweet...it actually has a very long train...u cant see from the pictures.

Shall take more pixs at my first trial early next month.

Shook: the evening gown, i saw it in a magazine and asked them to follow. The back design was suggested by the designer. i like the color too...it looks purple but actually at a certain angle it is blue. It is sort of like Thai silk with a sheen effect. Very nice to wear coz it is light and dont get crease.

shook

Hihi Pausini
Yes my dad has very modern thinking. I always say tis is bcoz he was born in Singapore. My mum was born in China. I said she doesn't respect human rights. When my grandfather (my mum's father) was still around, the girls would eat last. Even the little boys eat b4 their mothers and grandmother. C how absurd it is.

Hihi May
Oh tis is the 1st fitting, so there r more things to b added to your gowns is it? Woo... I love gowns wif 2 colors effect. I picked one for my ps but the beautician cum chief designer din choose dat for me.

kiroro

Hi Delannie,
I am using Linn Kong for both my studio photography and actual day photography. When is your PS ? I met her once only... but sort of like her work so we confirmed on her.... More over, her price is quite good compare to others.....

pausini

May: Have send u the file. Like ur gown very much. U not fat wat! aiyo, u didnt see me! *sigh* when i try the gown, my arm look very big. They let me tried all the gowns that cover my arm but i look worse. MY FH said i look nicer with bustier. *sigh* *sigh*

meow

Grace,
Most dates are fine with me except for 18th and 19th. Why not like that, i'll set 2 dates. Then see which date has the most attendance. OK girls?

1st date: 21st(fri)
2nd date: 1st March(sat)

Hope Jing will join us before your ROM.
Though i think you may have already benefit(view something?) something from me hor?
Jus joking