(2003) Brides of year 2003

i might change my bridal package liao cos seems like my fh and i are too busy to travel all the way to jb. In addition, the situation with M'sia seems quite bad now. Now, don't know whether it's possible to tell my aunt that we would like to reject her offer since it's a gift from her. She has paid a deposit of RM488.

My mum said that it should be ok since my cousin should also be getting married within these two years. Anyway, she will call her and see how things go along. I just hope that my aunt won't get angry.

Thanks for 'listening'to all my nonsense. Just very troubled.

hi sos,
if i'm not wrong, they do have models parading the gowns and there will be GI reps for you to talk to. Think there's also refreshments too

Hello Everyone!

Wow! The forum is so active now. I was down with a cold yesterday and so did not log in.

Tingting & Pam : Thanks for forwarding Dang's package to me. Much appreciated.

Tingting: Mixers are actually mocktails (non alcoholic). They are made from juices with soft drinks usually. If you want cocktails (alcoholic) to be served, you can try bringing in your own vodka, cherry brandy, rum and etc if the hotel is willing to do you this favour. I have emailed you my hp number. Maybe we can meet up at the GI show?

Sos: Sorry to hear that you are down with flu too. I hope you are better already. Email me our contact number if you want to meet up for GI show.

Erin: I'm sure your aunt will understand. Don't get too worried about it. You are still holding GI's package right?

Anyone here goes to California fitness at Republic Plaza? I'm looking for companions now - for mutual encouragement! Anyone going, please let me know.

Hi Flowee Jie,

Coz me and kkk arguing over the sequences, and we want to see who is rite and who is wrong.. kekeke.. for fun only lah.

I have the timing to set off from my place, dun think have timing to reach kkk's place.. hahahaa.... i am not sure also lah, all these things my mum handles wan :P

Me both sides haven't met, even tho I ROM already. Don't know how to handle this as my mom is a bit diffc. She never really accepted my FH. Am thinking that I will get both sides to meet during food tasting which is supposed to be this mth. Hopefully they can thrash out all those gift exchange thing. And hopefully my mom won't make things too diffc for my FH...

Mine: Hmm.. not yet met up. Will do so on our ROM. Killing two birds with one stone.

I have been missing so much action here. Think we need to create a board at Yahoo or something and we should all put our photos in there. May, may I have a look at your photos too? my email is [email protected] Thanks!

Pausini, I went to the website but hmm.. I'm bad at Chinese. Do you have a copy of the recipe in English?

Really missing everyone here!

the flu bug has been quite menacing..gotta take care n down lots of water n vit C!

sos- the show starts at 2, but u can view the photos n other "exhibits" before that..guess will be less crowded than after the show, and maybe u can get better attention fr the sales reps. but i won't be able to go early cos my church service ends only at 1pm.

erin- i believe everything will be alright..just put the decision across to your aunt in a very nice n apologetic manner..she'll understand! to go the extra mile, maybe can rope her in for some of the planning..

mrs quake- sure we can meet up..anyone else who'll be going too! i'm actually contemplating signing on a gym, but not sure which one n whether i can sustain enuff to make my $$ worthwhile..
will let you know when i've decided!

Erin and Mrs Quake: Take good care of yourselves!

I will be at the GI show with my FH.... Hope those of us who have not found a suitable package get something out of this bridal show... if not at least have a good time.

Actually, I like to find out how many of you here have not got a package and which are the bridal shops you ladies are considering.

Mrs Quake: I have not found a package yet. I have been to Ivory Aisle, Ted Wu, Jazreel Low, Enamuel B, X-Zen, and Inspiration collection. Going to Graceful Image Bridal Show tomorrow. Will also be visiting Bridal Veil next week before deciding by March.
So far I am seriously considering Ivory Aisle.
Will keep you updated on my selection.
If you wan the prices of the packages from these shops, juz let me know and I can forward them to you.

Greetings from BKK..

Reached BKK last nite and went to Chatuchak Market this morning but couldn't find anything I wanted but bought many other things instead..=P
this place is really big but we seemed to be walking back the same place(in circles)...When we started walking in the morning, pp spoke to us in English..in the afternoon, they started to speak to me in thai..errr..does that mean I'm getting tanned???

Meow,
couldn't find any wedding invites in Chatuchak, will try siam sq..

Thanks clyne, Thanks very much for your help. Its ok if you can't find it. So what did you buy from the market. Hope the shopping trip is a fruitful one.

Hi all brides,

It's me again.. Phew... I finally settle the two most important things...

I have confirmed Hyatt Hibicus room and Julia Wedding News for my bridal. Heard a lot of bad comments about JWN but when I'm there it's based on the overall that I like the place, ppl and package.

How are all your preparations?

hv been mia for quite sometime. luckily it's still not too late to wish all of u a happy goat year ahead.

don't think can log on so frequently nowaday, busy with work. can only log on at home but by that time most of u hv already gone home.

btw, i'll try to make it for our 2nd gathering.

Hi May: My WG is off white & I've not finalise the design for my EG. I would like to have it in lilac or maybe red. Don't know yet, when I confirm my design then I'll let you know the colours. I tot of going to NZ that's why my friend has given me the infor on NZ. If not, we are thinking of Eastern Europe but that might be too costly.

Hi Pausini: Both our parents have not met yet. My FH parents will be coming to S'pore in March to meet up my parents to discuss the wedding. Luckily, both our parents want the wedding to be as simplified as possible & hassle free.

I'll pass all your regards to SLK, really hope she is doing fine.

Havn't been here for a long long time! How's everyone?

Recently I saw the quotation from York Hotel, quite attractive, anyone signed up with them? Any comments?

hi everyone!!

haven't posted for quite a while!!! good to see so many dec brides to be!!! i haven't gone for my 1st appointment, so haven't really felt any excitement yet leh .. rather abit of disappointment, bcos i didn't lose much weight!!!!!! saddoooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

now just thinking of who should be the jie meis to help me out that day!! how many are u gers having?

Me bac fr my HM at Banyan Tree....the resort was simply beautiful n the ambience is unmatched. Luv the spa n massage...made me feel like a queen. It was so romantic to hav tea while soakin in jaccuzi. On 2nd nite, we had a BBQ in our villa...had a great time there.

BTW, collected my actual day fotos fr benny ang but sorry gals, havent scan them yet. Will definitely share them wif u gals once i get my fren to scan them.

N another gd news 2 share wif u gals is tat we got our 3rd dog. We'd 2 beagles initially. Just after our weddin, we got our 3rd furbaby, a mini schnauzer.

Hihi May
I plan to leave 4 honeymoon the 2nd day after my actual day. Hopefully can get flight or package dat leaves on 13th May. How abt u?
U have 3 gowns 4 ps?

Hihi Pausini
My parents n in-law have not met up yet. My MIL said anything we need juz let my hubby knows. Think she will only meet my parents on my actual wedding day.

Hihi Sue
Send my regards to SLK.

been to my bridal yesterday. cfmed WG and EG design already. WG is heart-shaped bustier tied up at the back like a corset, EG is red halter with low back.. the halter was from a EG that I tried on. it was gold, but I can't take gold as the banquet's tablecloth is gold too.. too matching leow uh?? so change to red.. fh has also choosen fabric for his suit.. measurements taken, next appt in April.
hope i dun put on weight during my business trip till then..

with the colors of the EG decided, will go look for a pair of gold 3 inch shoes now.. can go with both the WG and EG..

on the gathering.. weekends are good for me, esp sat afternoons as fh as classes then.. for weekdays' nights, not tues, thurs or fri..

yeah, this wed is a holiday!!

Hi Shook,

You ROM already and both side parents hvn't meet up????

Ur PIL not yet go to your house and "ti qin"???

Hi Pam. that's a lot of bridal shop visits! Graceful Image bridal show is my first one. Visiting Lezen Creation and Dang this weekend. May make more appointments for this week. Did you see anything you like at GI's show? I only like the maroon EG. Some of the A-line gowns looks good but couldn't really see much details cos I was seated at the side.

Erin & sos: Were you there as well? How did you find the show?

Tingting: You didn't miss very much. Somehow, I wasn't very impress by the 'promotion' package at all. The price is about the same as Dang's normal package; with a difference of $100-200.

Enya: It's still CNY, so perhaps that's why you haven't lose much
I'm also try to lose weight cos I'm quite a big girl - 1.67m at 65kg. Hoping to lose at least 5 kg but it seems so difficult cos I love to eat ;P Anyone has 100% effective method of losing weight?

HI Maya,

Is your food tasting a few mths away b4 ur wedding? Then is ok to let them meet tp on tat day.

Why ur mum dun really like ur FH (sorry if I ask the wrong Question). If your FH's parents is those easy going person, then suggest to your FH, ask him to invite ur parents out and claim that is his parents willing to meet up for discussion lor. Or ask ur FH to ask ur mum what she need for ur wedding.

Hello Enya

Don't be discouraged....U must motivate yourself to do it! Start on a regular exercise program wtih at least twice a week of exercise. If you find it hard to motivate urself to exercise, then mayb u like to join a gym or aerobics class. With the amt of $$ spent, u sure be very motivated to go! =p Also watch ur diet at the same time too!.... It's still some months aways from ur PS, rite? So still have sufficient time to do it! Cheers!

HI Meekoo,

Always feel tired?? Maybe you can do exercise more often? Will feel better.

For the gathering, let you all gals decide as I can meet up anything except mid april to may as I will go for honeymoon.

Cat: nowadays I just take whatever comes my way. He needs his job to keep us both afloat so even if he has to fly often and I really dislike it, I just accept. Guess in life, cannot have everything. Quite lonely at times but got used to it by doing stuff to make myself occupied. Nowadays much better already. Thank you.

May: yes. After hearing the breathing, I spoke english but in maynmar, they charge US$ per minute, very expensive and they don’t allow you to bring in handphone then. As for the part about big bucks. I wish too. But realised nowadays a lot of jobs require travelling and they “cheat” on employee’s off days like make him fly on Saturday and then reach there and start work on Monday. Then they don’t replace his leave since officially I feel he was on the job altho he was flying to it. It’s very unfair and no pro family because they robbed us of time together on weekends. I detest such lousy methods.

Sue: Sorry to hear about SLK. Please help us send our regards to her. Let us know if she needs any help too.

Shook: If you are canada, then you might want to check out the flights schedule. I understand that not everyday got flight to canada. Have a friend who just went there for holiday and came back. she too Cathay Pacific (CX). Had one complain about this route using this route ie the unbalanced flight distance. CX stops over in HK. From HK, it takes about 12 hours to get to Vancouver. There was no individual inflight movie services and she was bored to death. So you might want to bring think of how to pass time especially if you are the kind who cannot sleep on the plane. If i am not wrong, Jazz already booked her CX tickets.

Who else is going Canada? When are all of you leaving? Maybe you gals can all leave together and take the same flight. bet it would be fun!

Hi Pausini,

For me, my PIL go to my "ti qin" 4 mths b4 our wedding.

NOrmally nowadays bride's parents won't ask anything from groom side. I hv some friends who fork out money for the wedding themselve. So when the bride side ask for "si dian jin", they js ignore it as the money is come out from the own pocket.

Hi Sue,

Sorry to hear abt SLK's mom. Pls send out regards to her erh. Ask her to take good care. If need any healp jus inform us yaa...

Btw, my wedding photos is ready but still got one more set I don't hv the soft copies, the one using anolog camera. And I haven't scan all my photoshoot album. Will up-load it once I got everything yaaa....

May: just manage to access my email to see your pics! i simply love your wedding gown. very beautiful especially the back!!!!! You look very good in your evening gown too and i like the rich violet colour of your eveing gown and my gosh you are slim. have some bad news to share. i went for first fitting on saturday. cannot fit into the gown. it was too tight, cannot zip up.

i was pretty upset at the bridal shop. everyone just attributed it to the chinese new year for me putting on weight. very upset.

hello everyone!

wow! more dec brides are joining us now

let's keep our thread bz
17282.gif

hi enya,

i've been putting on weight & neglecting my exercise routine lately
i guess it's time we motivate each other to work real hard huh

hi jbride & freesia!

Where do you girls go for your exercising/ gym routines? I'm with California Fitness under my company scheme. Now trying to find companions for fitness sessions.

I think 6 pairs of relatives will only take ard 30 mins, max. Give abt 5-8 mins per pair. This is how I estimate.

Went to choose my photos on Sat. They turned out quite well n spend a sum on getting extra photos.

Was very happy abt the photos but very upset now.
Ofc got retrenchment exercise n a couple of my gd friends got axed. So upset. Very upset.

HI gals

I am new here and would like to seek your kind advices on my bridal package.
The package from my bridal gown shop actually includes a tea dress. But after having gone thru everything in vain, they
dun have anything I fancy and I decided to get it tailor-made elsewhere. They refused to make a new one for me.
I am thinking of asking the shop to deduct the tea dress out from the package. (before this, I already had many problems
getting the right gowns for evening and day, quite frustrated and disappointed with their selection)
But their staff told me that tea dress is something "complimentary" in the package and hence cannot deduct. Is it true??
does this applies for most bridal shops? I had to fork out some $500 for the tailor made dress and it's already out of my
budget.
any advice? thanks a lot

Hi all, it monday once again.

Jan: dun be too upset. U still have time to slim down lah.

Maya: If u scare u mum would make things difficulr for u. Wld u think it will be better to discuss the wedding items with her 1st before u plan for a meet up.

Shook: I am surprised both parents never meet each other? Infact, both of our parents have met up quite a few times. May be my mum and my FH mum are very pleasant personality so they have alot to chat about. So during dining never boring.

Jazz: One way is to meet up during the food tasting but my resturant mgr told us that we can come of our food taste latest a week b4 wedding. wah that is too late. actually CNY is also a very good excuse to get both parents together for dinner. unless one party feel that it is still too early for such discussion lor.

vin: yah, now couple will forked out $$ for all their wedding. But for the "four jewelleries" isnt it right for the PIL to give?

Well, I am the eldest and the 1st one getting married, so mum have no experience on this. luckily she didnt anyhow listen and consult pple and introd all the rojak traditional. I think she will only ask for the "4 gold"(up to my MIL too see whether she will give), tables for banquet, one ang pow each for all my uncles (mum's brother - is my dialect traditional. one ang pow for all my uncles so they can buy things for me. She say no need too big a small token can liao), a new suit for my brother, as a give from my FH to his BIL.

Infact, we have being discussing this for quite sometime. Cos i meet up with my MIL quite often too so she will also ask me. So i will briefly tell my FH & my MIL what my mum wld want. So sometime i will be like a middle woman, i guess this build up rapport with both parents. Infact, both parents will be meeting up next friday to discuss abt all the items. guess time is running short and my MIL start to "Kam Chiong" but both of us still idle. haha

Hi abrinas,

Great to hear that the photos turned out well.
so how many photos u choose? ANy how much extra u pay? Did u managed to get some samples to show us?

Dun get too sad u still can keep in touch with ur gd frens.

Hi Squeezed,

Most bridal shop wld not deduct $$ for the items ur doesnt want. infact, u are always in the disadvantage if u manage to get any deduct. not worth at all. Why not u ask for other things. like increase the nos of photos? Do they still have any new stock coming in so u can make selections?

Happy New Year! Sorry for the late wishing. MIA very long from this thread already. Very busy before CNY, have to buy things for my mum's house and my own hse. Nearly ki xiao.

Yve,

Glad to hear that you've choosen your gown. So good hor! At least you can proceed with other things.

Meow,

Both date I cannot also. Why not we change it to late Mar. I think everyone is busy after CNY.

hi flowee,

yap, departing for my short trip this thur.

dun consider that my honeymoon as itz not my
dream destination. think the trip to europe after
june then is my real honeymoon. hehehe
waiting for that so much!!!!!
never mind, at least can shop,eat and relax for a
few days.

hi kk mei,

dun worry so much abt the sequences coz urs in
oct rite? things will fall into place nearer that
date. hubby and i very easy wif such things, we
dun worry over such things until nearer the date
so that we wun be so busy and confused over thing.
it seems that hubby and i have a pretty easy and
relaxed time preparing for our wedding.

anyway, the best part i loved abt my wedding is the romantic and memorable march-in.

other than that, wedding is quite hectic.

Hi Vin, long story but in brief, mom doesn't think FH is good enough for me bec I'm financially more stable. We are paying for most of the wedding stuff ourselves and of cse most of it is coming from me. So she not happy. Don't feel need to discuss things with IL if the $$ is coming out from me anyway...........

hi vodka,

you are back!

glad you enjoyed your honeymoon so much!
me gog for my short trip on thur, hope that i wld
enjoy the shopping and eating just as much. hehe
wow, got another dog huh?
i oso like mini schnauzer alot but gotta depends
on hubby coz hubby finds them abit troublesome
especially if we gotta to have kids in the near
future.

HI Pausini,

The "si dian jin" should be given by the PIL. But my one of my friends (actually is my ex-colleague), her PIL don't really like her, tat's why she never gv her "si jian jin".

Even the money to buy "li bing" (the wedding cake during dowry also fork out by themselve.

Fr me, my parents never ask for "si dian jin", just those a ang pao as cake token for me to buy cake for my relatives and neighbours lor.

And my PIL did gv a ang pao to my younger brother for him to buy shoes (this is their traditional).

And my PIL did gv me one set of "si dian jin" in Diomand and one full set of "si jian jin" in gold. And she also gv me a ring and a chain a with pendant in gold during our tea ceremony on our wedding day.

We are the one who paid for our wedding banquet and bridal package abd all others necessary expenses such as photographer and videographer. But my PIL did gv us S$10,000/- for pocket money and my parents as well but my parents gv us during our tea ceremony in Malaysia.

But luckily we stay with PIL. We just do the renovation for our room (1 bedroom and one TV room) only. And now, we just need to buy those food for dinner for the maid to cook. So save quite a lotz of money and hassle. And I just need to go to market to buy food for the week and sometimes my MIL will go to cold storage to buy for us. So I got my own free time others than spend 2 or 3 hrs a week in the market. And aft work, I dun need to rush back to do all the household chores, all will settle by maid. So, am consider myself quite lucky.

Hi Squeezed,

Welcome to this thread.

Agreed with Pausini, don't think any bridal shop will deduct money for the items you don't want. They will always claim this is complimentary for you. And if not because you take this package during this period of time or you sign up immediately or whatever shit, they will charge X amt if you want to rent a tea dress from them.

Maybe you can try to wait for a while since your wedding is in May? Or Maybe you want to change to others items if they allow you to do so.

Hope to hear your good news. Good luck when u bargain with them.

HI Maya,

Sorry to hear your difficulties. Don't be sad yaa...

Even don't need to discuss anything with IL if the moeny is come out from you side. But is better for them to meet up, else your mum will even mad coz she might think that your FH and IL side is not sincere or never respect them ler. At least don't let your parents and ur FH relationship getting worse.

Cheer up, be a happy bride, ok..

Pausini: the lady say i must maintain from now on, cannot slim or put on. i wonder why leh? is it because from now till actual day, no more alterations allowed? also they don't allow me to take pictures of my gown to let my FH see since he is out of town. why others can leh? very confused. Envy you for the good relationship between your family and FH's family. My case more like Maya's. sad.

Maya: you are in the same boat as me. my mum has been making things very difficult for me. she refused to attend session plan for meeting up so i have been delaying it. nearer then see how. in fact, my parents don't seem interested in the fact that my wedding is just 3 months away. life is as per normal, no mention of the upcoming event at all. sometimes i wonder if i am getting married or not. i thought should be a happy event for the family but except for myself who has been busy, no one mention anything. my mum has not been co-operating since day 1 so i have been quite sad lor. Same as you. many things i come out with the money. in fact, since my parents are not interested. i have to fork out the money to buy jewellery for myself and take it as dowry.

Vin: really envy you. you have a good life. happy for you too. at least you and hubby can have more quality time together without having to do chores.

hi everybody!

have settled the thing with my aunt. she grumbles a bit about it but otherwise she's ok. Says she wants to give me something mah. guess she'll give me a BIG red packet in Dec

hi enya,
guess a lot of us trying to lose weight or to tone up. so it's alright. we still have about 10 months to go. I'm going to start my first aerobics lesson on friday morning.

Hi Mrs Quake,
No, I haven't been to the fair. Anyway, I've sold the deposit so now I have to start shopping again. Now will perhaps consider Sophia wedding collections. Two of my friends signed up with them so i'll be going down to take a look too.

Hi Pam,
can write to me about the packages? my email is [email protected].

Hi enya,
think i'll be having 3 jie-meis (my close friends from sec. sch) to help out.

Hi pooh

I chose extra 30 pcs. Paid another $1800. Quite a lot isn't it? Me did not expect so many 2. But FH says all looked quite nice so quite difficult to part with any n once in a lifetime, nvrmnd.
Cos I had so many, I will hv 2 albums - one is normal, one is magazine style. Magazine style they r doing it free for me. They cannot give samples to me yet cos they need them to match against the negative. So cannot show u all next week. Will get them 1st week April.

Ya, trying not to be sad but u know, just can't help it. *boohoohoo*

HI Jan,

Sad to know your story as well. But don't fork out money to buy jewellry for yourself (my opinion laa), save the money for other stuff. Coz nowadays, seldom got ppl see what is your "jia chuang" already. In fact, you can get a nice accessaories from your bridal shop to match your gowns.

I didn't even get a single things for myself. My parents asked me to get $$ from them to buy jewellery, I din do so at all. I you are the type who don't like to wear jewellery, then save the money lor.

Don't be sad, maybe they think is too early to be happy for you or busy with the wedding stuff for them. Of coz you will be more bz than them lor. Coz you need to choose your gown everything maa...

Others than "yi qin", both side of our parents and family just getting bz less than a mth b4 our wedding.

Me and my hubby also, others than go to bridal shop and hotel for discussion, we got nothing to do. That's why even last minutes (a few hrs b4 my wedding), I keep on asking my friends and myself, did I missed out sth that I forgot to do as I told them seems like you all more bz than me ler.

Feel easy, maybe your parents already know what they want to get fr you but js they never tell you.

If you need any help, just let me know, I'll be gratefull to help up.

Hi Cath,

Pretty quiet here ya? kekekee...

So excited! I am going to try my gowns on Sunday! Wonder how it'll turn out. Hope things are fine!

hmm....maybe we should change our date. Maybe March. Any suggestions on date then?

Yve,
That's great news. Look like you're the first to confirm so many things.

Any updates on other girls?

As for me, i'm preparing the deco for my tealights. I jus tie a ribbon on the tealight holders. Have to make at least 50pcs jus in case i really have 50 tables. Well now i've make half of them. After then, i'll start making my wedding bears clothing. Dun think i'll end up very nice. But i believe you'll still get to see them.

Shall i sent a link to all girls to view my ROM photos or shall i bring it along on our meeting??