(2003) Brides of year 2003

abrinas,

My hotel will only call me in march to pass me the cards and inserts.Shd be using the printer which tied up with my hotel.got good comment on their service and printing.

Have u done up your seating arrangement??

Finger foods caterer for church??me also sourcing one for my relatives lunch on actual day...any one can recommend?

Hi Fishball,

Dunno got anybody give me ang pow or not this CNY leh.. kekekeke... pai seh to take also :P

Hi cath,

happy Birthday and have a great day!

Abrinas & beibei, I got Java Link for my church catering. We've tried their food and it was quite good. For over 300 guests they also provide invitation cards from American Wedding Treasures, so that's quite nice. We're only having a tea reception because dinner is right after, so we don't want our guests to be too full and then come late for the dinner.

Abrinas, my cards will come from two sources - the hotel and Java Link. We have already decided on the wording, so maybe end March, I'll go and collect the cards and send for printing in early April. I think the printer will only take a few days to print, so should be no problem. 2 months' notice for wedding invitations should be fine, so by early May we shall be sending the invites out.

Wow…heeeeeheeee….thankies fishball, 1027, bonnie, rhs, poki, kk for the well wishing. =) I'm soo happy.

Fishball, I guess the weather is quite ok in feb, around 20 deg C.

1027, how cheap can the branded goods be? Me don't noe how much to bring.. heard it's a great shopping paradise cos its duty free.. and nokia phones are 30-40% cheaper. Wonder if they have new models there or not.. :\

me going there cos of my parents in law have a customer who stays there and keep asking them to go over to set up biz, so they goin there to see see loh..me also scare of the war btwn iran/iraq. =( but my friends, who are stewardesses, said that it's safe lah..sigh, me scare of so many things even before travelling.. like don't noe will get abducted or not, the ppl there good or not, the stares, the environment, etc etc. heard it's an islamic country and we need to dress conservatively. :x I must go bring lotsa long sleeve T liao. Me also trying to get emergency numbers just in case..sigh~ oh ya, I wonder y the air ticket quite ex leh.. around $1200 by SQ.. if only I'm going hongkong or bangkok instead.. :o

hi cath, hapi bday!
envy, u can go dubai. there's a hotel there in the sea which i dream of going..:p

1027, thks for the suggestion anyway. if the gals got no other suggestions, maybe we'll just stick to Seah St Deli. gals, can?

hi jady,
thanks.. we wont be staying in hotel but at somebody's place. I hope it's safe..

seah st deli is at seah st huh.. at bugis?

hello bonnie,

come 2 think of it, tt time wen meet up w elaine, still dun hv much 'knowledge' in wat extra stuff we required - no experience lor heee.... so cos we holding 2 dinners n anticipanted e chinese dinner will require more beer, we swopped between our 2 pkg lor.

now tt we've 'equip' w more info fr frenz n e thread, there's seems to hv alot things i need
hope they can accommodate my request w/o having to pay xtra!!

HAPPY B'day MS Cath!!! next yr hv to add MRS liao ;p i've not been to dubai but heard it's beautiful!!! hv fun yah....

hey serene,

noe wat my doc n others told me abt e cramp? it usually will go away aft 1st child birth heee...... but i hv tis unlucky colleague, dun hv b4 child but aft haaaa......

Priviledged,
WOW!!u so fast think of the wordings??where did u get the idea of your wordings??can share??

me too...be sending out invites in early may.but would u be asking verbally those u are inviting if they are able to attend your wedding?

haven't engage actual day photographer (camera man)yet. can anyone please give me an indication how much it would cost? and is it too early to book now?

I just bought my tickets (off-peak period) to Paris from the Qantas promotion. It's $790/ticket after admin fee and airport taxes. Really happy abt it!

tingting and erin,
i think sophia is only expensive on paper, their packages are comparable to other taiwanese bridal shops in tanjong pagar, if u were to ask for discount... Can't help commenting on sophia, cos i got my biggest headache from them... they gave me a big discount on the prices and threw in freebies, and the gowns they let me tried made me feel like a princess (though my FH said it was just the lighting and ambience effect
) Anyway, i was really tempted, but their hard-selling made me wary, plus FH was concerned that they are a new shop, wat if they close down? hehe... touchwood, but i think erin's frens need not worry abt that, cos their business seems rather good.... Just want to say this, if u shd want to consider sophia, let me know, i can tell u wat discounts and freebies they offered me... *wink*

Erin, are u sure the wedding present has an inhouse photographer? Or was it Wedding News instead? I think the current WN photographer is good, he used to be from YC, most of the YC brides signed up because of his good work...

And GI allowed u to try gowns? But when i was there, there was only one bride doing first fitting.... *sulking* Never mind... GI not fated to earn my $$.... :ppp

i agree that the PS is really fun.

i havent think of the word yet. Will collect my cards in Mar. Like wat beibei say i will verbally ask my frens 1st then before 1 mth of my wedding date i will send out the invitations.

hi gals, seah st deli is at raffles hotel. the food there is western (like billy bombers@bugis).price range is 10++ loh, normal western food price. of cos they hv sandwich,burger,think less variety of spaggeti/pizza too.

Hi Kare & Sue - yah lor, can shake leg first. But maybe as the date gets nearer, we will realise alot of things haven't do! Panic!!! Kekeke...

Hi Oso - It's not too early to book actual day photographer now. In fact nex yr is a hot yr to get married. So most of the good photographers are booked liao. If I am not wrong the average cost range fm $800 - $1200 (normal package,not photojournalistic). Depending on the reputation of the photographer. BOOK NOW!

Hi woodstock - Hey, you manage to get the tickets. I was trying to book for my Sis-in-law, but full liao. So when are you leaving for your honeymoon? I maybe goin there for honeymoon also. Your wedding date same as mine, maybe we will bump into each other in Paris.

Hi Cath,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

Huh..how abt Tokyo Sin at Matrina Centre if you gals prefer Jap food? The price is around $10+ dollars..usually I jus take a set and it is very filling...how?

Yeah!! Friday liao..just back from a heavy lunch break cos boss give treats for CNY(think he wants to save $, eat now not so expensive) got lao "Yu Sheng" Very full..think no need to eat dinner tonite..there's go my idea of cutting down on food intake...hehee...tomorrow taking measurements for MTM gowns...think must not eat too much..if not, will have a big tummy..hehee

hi naturally,
i knew that my friends got 20% discount from sophia cos they booked during the promotional period. din know what other freebies they received though.

oh, btw, just checked with my friend. apparently, i made a mistake. it is wedding news and not from wedding present.

GI allowed me to try cos perhaps we were the only couple there at that time.

Ya must do all these then won't have double chin...now to think about it i didn't make an extra effort to do my poses...hope my photos turn out nice...

Hi serene, thanks! =)

Wow, you taking measurement so early.. I tot mine is quite early liao.. yrs even faster. Have u decided the design of gowns u are making?

taddess,
I got it lah!!!

you had your indoor PS on 12th or 19th right??but weather no good so you got to postpone the outdoor PS to March 8!

me so blur!

I really enjoy PS very much though it was tiring!felt like a princess cos makeup artist changed my hairstyle,gowns,makeup etc!!

Hi cath

wow you went for measurement so fast? so when will be your trial make up? by the way who is your make up artist and your indoor/ outdoor photographer?

did you make an appointment with the bridal shop before going down?

Hi vio

me too....seems like there are things to request but i never do so when i sign the package
especially the beer.

btw the way , you sign up your bridal package with who?

beibei, my wordings are very traditional and formal. We wanted to put our parents first so we are going to start with "With praise and thanksgiving to God, Mr and Mrs ABC (my fiance's parents) and Mr and Mrs XYZ (my parents) request the pleasure of the company of ..." etc etc.
The Chinese wordings we copied from other people's cards with similar format.
What took the longest to work out was the details and how to present them, like the RSVP part, the 'please don't be late' wordings and the layout. But we took some old invitation cards from other friends to use as models and mixed and matched the ones we liked. We had to do this early when my Fiance was in town last year so there would be less rush for us in April/May.

Hi Cat,

My travel agent told me that the peak period tickets moved very fast. The off-peak ones are still ok. Luckily mine was off-peak. Maybe you can try calling my agent at 68233038.

Why don't you book yours too. I was actually thinking twice of going Paris cos of budget restraint but now, after I see this attractive offer, I made up my mind to go.

Priviedged,

This is wat I fear most!to use the correct words esp for the'Don't be late'wordings....still thinking of an appropriate word to write.In your case would you be writing those very traditional way of addressing especially your relatives?I hate it leh..think my parents and parents in law also dun know the correct way to write the addresses..think got to seek help from one aunt of mine who will be assisting me in the traditional thing..but I will let my dad inform her we want the most simplified way of tea ceremony etc..

Hi bonnie,
Noe wat, vio also has a package with SB liao but is considering Graceful Image at the same time. If she decides to stick to SB, then the 3 of us will have the same wedding date and same bridal studio liao! Cant imagine that it is such a small world. =P

I havent gone for my measurement. Have booked a date for measurement end of Feb. My makeup artist is YiQun and photographer is Ah Wai. Ya, need to make appt b4 going down cos think their appt is quite packed at nite and during weekends. Was wondering if you wanna shall the package you have signed with them?

Hi cath

did you take up their actual day photographer?....so when will be your trial make up? you chose Yi qun or they just assign to you?

hmm...i dun mind to share the package =p

so you have in mind which type of gown already? cos apparently i have no idea yet leh.....me now very nervous liao.....like have prepare anything yet....

wah if really vio goin to go for SB than mine will be exactly the same as hers.....:D

hi bonnie, cath,

tt's 'amazing' hee.... yup, i've SB pkg but most probably won't go to em. Hv appt w GI tis evening n will decide by mth end which bridal svc to use.

I like GI's gown but photographer like andrew choi, robin n [O]Studio which they do not tie w GI
Dang Bridal promo w e photographers til mth end!!

Hi bonnie,
I choose the makeup artist myself cos my colleague has recently used her. Most prob, my gown will be bustier kind and evening should be spaghetti or halter, that depends… I’ve send u a mail on the package I’ve signed wif them.

Hi vio,
How much deposit have u placed with SB?

sure bonnie, but cld only do it probably tmr or mon yah ;)

i've signed bk in 1999 n was their last day at e fair - din really wan take e offer as we only wanna 'take a look'.... but they hard sell lor - terrible!! tt's why they agreed only take $200 dep.

how to preserve the flowers?
mine going to wither soon...
thanks meow =)have u got yr photos? me collecting mine tomolo..

hi serene....

beibei

Yalor...u mean all this while you were thinking i was saying something else??? Anyway huh...who is your photographer huh...mine is Sam...

The budget maybe not over $700.

Sweetie,
My ROM is last year (2nd Nov - same as my wedding banquet). I have booked my wedding banquet & my wedding gowns.. going on the gown trial in March!

I really need a good video / camera man cos im very fat so need their expertism to let me look more slim... hais.. bad rite...

Here are the confirm gals going for the gathering on 5th Mar (venue not confirm yet):
Eileen78
Flowee
Jady
Popples (Me)
Wenn
Yi

Beanie? Cherubies? Ling? Anymore interested?

Flowee - Can you help sms to ling, asking her if she can make it on 5th mar, coz I dun have her no. I'll sms Beanie...she mention she might be interested. btw, Beanie came for the 1st gathering

i heard wedding present is good, because the designer there is rather creative and daring .. seen his work for the EGs .. really not bad. not like those mamasan style ... i prefer his work to emmanuel ... seems like gowns from emmanuel-not much of any signature style?

naturally .. me still trying to lose weight .. not much difference with chinese new year around the corner!!!! so saddoooo .... so i'm still hoping for a bustier for WG .. and halter / v-neck for EG ... probably a-line ... what about u
? tea dress me no idea yet ... chin chye ... i like kebayas .. that would be really something different!

i've come to the conclusion tt it's not possible to find the perfect bridal shop..:p

think i will try to get a better idea of what sort of gowns i want before deciding on the shop..i'll be going down to LG for a 2nd time to try on the gowns and see how Christine advises me..Doreen won't be in this weekend..any comments on Christine btw?

is it a must to change into a tea dress? bcos i'm having the church ceremony after the tea ceremony so it's quite a hassle to change out and back into the gown...also to avoid smearing my makeup n messing my hairdo...

gown style..at first i thot i won't want a bustier cos it's quite common n i thot of an off-shoulder (tt pple say it's passe), but now having 2nd thots after trying a bustier n thot i look pretty good! : )

i'm starting to watch my diet..bye bye to hokkien mee, char kuay teow, carrot cake n KFC..now make conscious effort to take soupy stuff during lunch, avoid snacking by guzzling water..skipping lunch sometimes by visiting bridal shops...hopefully i dun binge when the wedding stress comes on!

Just wanna share, cos i read thru the clause of the Quantas air tickets promotion, i manage to get the tickets for Paris but before i put my credit card number, i read the clauses.

There is this thing abt seating that even if u confirm ur seats & pay now, in the event that the flight is 'overbook' then becos of whatever reasons, they reserve the right to remove u from the flight to the next available flight of the class of seat that u have book for. I heard of friends who were denied of boarding as well & were asked to wait.

Not sure if this is a std clause for promotion tickets but i tot its better to be a bit more careful cos you wouldnt want to upset the honeymoon schedule..

regards

huh? tingting, dun skip lunch leh... if u dun take enough nutrients, it will show in your skin and hair... must have a balance lah, okie?

Last week when i met up with Doreen, there was a nice young lady attending to another couple, so i guess that's christine? I've not been attended to by her before, but dun worry, she looks warm and friendly!
For package price matters, u may want to wait til lady-boss comes back...

For changing into tea dress, i've posted something before, but dunno which archives is it in? Anyway, i think it depends on the sequence of your customary ceremony, if u follow the tradition of serving tea at groom's side first, before returning to bride's family to serve tea, then it may be more proper to change into tea dress before "hui niang jia", to signify the change of your status (put it this way, if u return back to your niang jia in exactly the same manner (same gown) as when u went out with your groom, wouldn't u look like a returned good??
hehehee...)

However some couples, in order to save time, have opted to jin cha at bride's side 1st, then proceed to groom's side, and followed by church. In this case, technically speaking, there's no "hui niang jia" on the actual wedding day, so no need to change into another dress lor.

Enya,
might as well wait til after CNY, then start lose weight program!
Me getting a sore throat already, strange leh... i didn't eat the CNY goodies yet, dun tell me merely THINKING and DROOLING over them will give me sore throat?!?

I love the idea of halter v-necks! So cool!
Too bad i dun look good in them, i've got bony shoulders, very ugly leh! I think straps also emphasize shoulders, so will be having bustiers for both WG and EG, ballgown for WG and empire cut for EG...
I'm also quite chin chai for teadress, after all only wear for a short while... maybe just a simple slip dress with a shawl?

pop dear

i did mentioned 2 beanie sometime back when i saw her online...
told her 2 sms mi if she is interested...
as 4 cher, she mentioned she had nite classes but nt sure if she is hvin any on wed nite...
nvm i sms her n let her koe again...
ok i will sms ling n let her koe 2...

Grace,
Sorry, i was busy yesterday. So didn't see your message here. Hope it works well for your flowers. Cannot don't blame me huh, i'm a first timmer too.

Photos taken by my dad is out. Jus collected it this morning. Very bad i'll say, my face too oily liao. Can even reflect light haha
Glad i didn't ask my friends to help, else i'll cry

Photos from Nick will be out soon. Maybe by next week i'll get to see them.

Serene,
As mention earlier, my photographer is Nick Goh. Have you decided the type of photographs you want as in Journal style or Traditional style. Norm, traditional will be cheaper maybe cheapest $680. Videography not cheap too. Think roughly cost about $1k or so. Ever ask for quotations from them but never get reply. Can try those listed in this forum loh.

Me also got a prob when taking photos and video. Friends say i look fatter on them than real person. Why say yourself very fat? I dun consider myself thin too. Me the fleshy type.

: ) i'm a real glutton when it comes to food, so i really have to curb myself! i've put on 1 kg per year since i started work at my current workplace 2 years ago..bcos all the aunties keep bringing their goodies to share with us! :p

not sure what style to take...bcos altho i'm tall i have bad body posture so it limits my choices...heard that yoga or pilates can help improve posture is it? any recommendations?

hope that i can get my bf's side's approval to be 2nd at tea ceremony! but in that case won't it symbolise tt i won't be returning to my family after i get married?? hmm...

oh, just to share with you gals..today i went to a shop that does customised jewellery...i haven't been to the usual shops yet, so can't compare. Although u r supposed to be able to design ur own rings but we are quite lousy at this, n since we saw something we like on the shelves we sort of just decided on that...their rings are supposed to be more solid and made of "real" stuff & they have stringent control over the quality of the diamonds...n they taught us to see the serial number on the diamonds n how to see them...cos i'm a greenhorn at this it was quite a fun experience... : )

Due to unforesee circumstance, my fiancee and me need to postphone my wedding banquet @ 02 Nov 03. I have a wedding banquet deposit that need to to be transfer.The location is at Marina Mandarin Hotel can cater for 20-25 tables ballroom. anyone Interested can email to me : [email protected]