(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi vio

yah mine is bridal suite...hehe......we will sure to meet each other...hehe....

we can also discuss wif each other when we gotta me our coordinator. :D

Hi tingting,

Agree with enya, amor meus at esplanade has got fabulous cheongsums! But then, price-wise also "fabulous".... though no harm taking a look, right?

I'm with Le Galleria, in fact just decided on my designs yesterday!
Doreen has got some cheongsums on the racks, but i dun have the figure to wear a cheongsum, so never try... u must have a nice figure, hehe!
Why dun u give her cheongsums a try?
Actually, if u like Dang, u can ask if they charge extra for adding crystals? Then u can have the glam look u want!
Another alternative is to get your gowns from separate bridal shops, but u may end up paying more.... Or u can change some items in the package, for instance, i opted for MTM rental of my WG and EG, instead of MTM keep, so that reduced the price, plus SB.com cardmembers get $200 off at LG...
Just some suggestions!

vio

my coordinator is not elaine but ethel...ya....by the way, beside the standard package, do you manage to get additional stuff from elaine? if yes, eg?

cath

hmm...i not sure if can make it...will let you guys know.

hi naturally,

i am very tempted to sign up either Le Galleria, Dang or Graceful Image. very impressed with gowns at at LG and GI, but haven't seen their cheongsams thou i know they have it. hven't seen much of Dang's WG, but i know they are good for cheongsams...think all 3's OTR WG are good enuff, so prob won't be having MTM WG. And LG's WGs are mostly bustier, so if i want other cuts I wld have to MTM..therefore my dilemma..

hi erin,

welcome! i'm seriously considering GI, but they are having a bridal show soon, and I'm waiting to see if they have some promotions that will meet my budget...so prob can't take up your offer till i attend it...are you going? eh, if you have the package details, can you email it to me? my email address is: [email protected]

Hi Kare2711,

Yah, me too. Not much things to do leh??? People keep asking me how's my wedding preparation, but frankly I got nothing much to prepare right now. Except to go for fitting for my gowns. Maybe as it gets nearer then will find that many things not done!!!

For ur cramps, perhaps u like to get hot drinks for the whole day? Hot drinks does help to ease my pain if there is any, normally on second day. One hot drink is pretty enough to last me thru' the whole day. While u lie on the bed, u can try to do exercises like cycle in the air. This helps me a lot too

Hi Fishball,

Found out from mil that she changed new notes already.. hahaha..so i will change 15 notes from her.. kekekekee...

hello all,

May & Shook: thanks for the note on chinese sw. but my house no printer so.... will see how it goes at the printers. may just save cost and print direct on card. plus what shook said is true, most of the guest just throw the invites after they see. i trying to cut cost. will check out goldheart this weekend. he's not around so how to buy his size? hm..... u think its too late to buy in apr? they say those who just gave birth or get married cannot attend because "siang chong" of red mattes. similarly, those that of "white matters" like death etc also cannot attend lor. very troublesome because how to tell people "sorry cannot invite you because "siang chong" epecially if they don't mind or worse still, good friends!

Jazz: thanks for name from lee hwa. will check out both goldheart and lee hwa this weekend. sigh. trying to get one thing done at a nice. tough.

Sue: too expensive. may just skip toyko. one meal US$10 is a bomb. i have to work out and see how much money left after buying the rest of the stuff required and after banquet loss! now have not even bought my bedroom set yet. very panic alreaady.

Cat & Kare2711: envy both of you. so many things settled. should now relax and get ready to be happy brides. also fortunte for all of us here, you all can act as our advisors!

Any idea what happen to SLK. hope things are doing great on her side. been a long time we see here in this forum?

hi kk,
ya, it's easy 2 change with own mum or mil. Maybe this yr's ang pow that u collect shd keep, so can recycle the new notes 4 yr wedding...hahaa

thanks 4 yr invite 2 yr hse, but i paiseh 2 come cos I wun know anyone n den hor... oso hvnt meet u b4 leh! keke... next time lah, we r near near mah.

Free?? How I wish I cld be. I'm sooooo stressed.....with wk and with hse reno. My new job (since Jan) is killing me. Last few nites stay until 9+. If system didn't lock out, maybe I wld have stayed later. Hse painting still moving along slowly. Wanted to do fanciful stuff with invitations but now, forget it, will take what hotel offer. Thinking of settling honeymoon later as I believe there will still be offers later, a few fairs are coming up anyway.

Yesterday, went to see my photos. Mixed feelings bec they didn't turn out as good as I expected but bec of that, I end up w/o having to buy extra. My package has 30 photos, there were some 100+ shots but we managed to chose 30. Shop tried hard to get us to buy extra but I really have $$ prob and stood very firm. Modesty aside, I'm actually quite photogenic and was worried that I will lose control in selecting extras. There were more than 30 that were really nice but not that many that I had a difficult time to stay within my quota. Album will be ready only in 3 mths time....long wait......

Hihi May
Yar boy, my bank a/c goes like roller coaster(dwnwards). I oso spent >$10k on buying furnitures n electrical appliances. Still got carpentry work not done yet.
Yipee....goes honeymoon together
16314.gif
. Dat gonna b fun.

Hihi Jan
If u wanna buy ring fm Goldheart, I can lend u my VIP card. But check wif the staff if wedding band is entitled to discount. I bought mine @ CityLink fm Ken. He is a v nice guy. Look 4 him if u go there

I am so gald i am back here to check out the posting once again. I was MC MC MC. and i am so sick of myself for being sick.

Thanks for all the concern.

Shook: I was the "ah yi" for jas77 and after her wedding i was sick for more than a week. My mum and my BIL said probably her wedding have crashed me that is why i am sick. Or may be other reason, viruses etc. never know u see.. who would bother to do searching whether ur friends' birthday would crash. may be that day is not a good day for me lor, furthermore i was so busy with her wedding preparation and i probably overwork. Actually, u dun have to be sad abt the offer u get from white link. u still have time to negoitate with them. A batch of friend (2gether with me) did a presentation slide from jas77. something like from their childhood to their courtship, ROM then the wedding. is a very short one but at least there is some highlights at the dinner. Infact we njoy the nite very much. Now everyone is looking forward for mine cos i am the next one getting married.

vin: how is ur wedding? do put up your photos. we are long to saw urs! *wink*

I wanted to go japan for honeymoon. still thinking whether we can save enough for the trip? anyone going to new zealand? I give up Europe, after being to France. i think Europe is almost the same everywhere. Someone recon me Turkey.

hi tingting,

thanks for ur compliments...think my sis will be happy to hear that as well.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hello Erin,</FONT>
welcome! when will ur big day be? have u booked your dinner etc?

Long time no "talk". Me have been out of action for a long time too, juz got the house ready....and alot of cleaning up to do....Thank God everything is now nice and ready. One headache off my mind....

Yeah, quite scary how having a wedding can deplete all your entire savings hor???
So many things to buy, esp with a house. So when would you gals be going for food tasting and getting the hotel invitation cards? Time really seems to be approaching very fast to June.

My outdoor ps will be on the 8/3...they all say "san ba" Photoshoot very fun, at first couldn't help burst out laughing at the awkward poses but later when we had warmed up...it was fun.

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)
confirmed:

pooh -can?
abrinas-olio dome
kiroro-olio dome
pucca -olio dome
beibei-olio dome
priviledged -can?
beanie-olio dome
totoro-olio dome

cutie-on ??
whitely?-?
cutie 22-?
joyful-?
tentatively:taddess

Hi beibei,
I'll be there.

Joyful, don't worry about the timing. For example, for me, everything is more or less on hold until late April, when my fiance returns from the States. I think we should be able to get the food tasting, cards, church programme printing, MTM suit for him, PS, HDB key collection, flat reno (minor stuff), shifting in etc etc etc done by our wedding date on 28/6.
Haha. Sounds like A LOT!!!!! We're praying for smooth sailing.

As it is, other things that can be done individually have been done already.

Hi tingting,

i've been to GI too, there's a lot of OTR to choose from, and i agree that their gowns look good, but then they wouldn't let me try any gowns, so too bad lor.... Did they let u try the gowns?

I think u shd visit the bridal shops again, check out the cheongsum workmanship for each shop, since u will need to MTM one (am i right?) For WG, check if they have gowns close to your size, some gowns won't look as good if they're altered too much.

Actually u're rather efficient... so fast narrowed to 3 choices already!

meow...
cara n jane told me abt yr flowers..but i dont know wat colour is the flowers and what colour is the nail. my flowers on the fourth finger of both hands. then everyone ask why only 1 finger per hand hahahah....as for the flowers, its cheap if compare to market price. i checked with some flowerist.. and it cost abt $120... but yours cheaper leh..heeheehee...

wats this packet of food? my flowers still okie.. at home - no aircon.

jingjing, welcome to our thread...
as for the shoes, u can try Hue if i am not wrong. on the same floor as Blush in Scotts Shopping centre. Nice beautiful shoes..

All .. I saw the papers today and there's a new promotion from Qantas. NZ included. Pretty cheap. For example, $648 for one ticket to Paris or Rome. Not worth it for HK as it's $420. And this does not include holiday surcharge. So if you are leaving Singapore in June for Paris, then it would be $648 + surcharge (around $150 to $200) plus airport taxes. But still a good deal if you want to do Europe. London is more expensive at $988 (around there). Hope that helps some brides here.

Now I'm rather relieved. Cat, I'm also always asked how's my wedding preparations. Hmm.. don't know how to answer! Nothing to prepare ah (yet)!

Hi piper and naturally,

my big day's on the 10th Dec (Wed). Have booked my dinner at Tunglok Restaurant at Liang Court.

yes, naturally, my aunt does dotes on me but honestly I was surprised to find out that she actually bought a package for me.

Oh yes, btw, does anybody know of any ideas about decorating the banquet venue? I'm thinking of getting a florist but does not know any. Any recommendations?

Hi guys!!! Im Serene a nov bride too!! Pls give comments....!!
My email is [email protected] / [email protected]
Well, see that everyone is on the move. Reaaly happy to see so many nov brides...!!!
Im looking for a actual-day photographer and videocam man... Any suggestions???
But cant too expensive...budget-constraint... hais....

WOW! 23 brides in all!
16349.gif

enya 02 Dec , KAI , MM
dinny 06 Dec, Graceful Image , Oriental Hotel
jbride 07 Dec , KAI , Inter-Con
happygal 07 Dec , JLC , Amara
freesia 07 Dec , Le Galleria , Holiday Inn
Sunshine 07 Dec , BV , Beaufort
mickey 07 Dec ,Thomson Wed'g Design, CrownPrice
wendyl 07 Dec, Bridal Concept, -
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Erin 10 Dec, -, Tunglok Rest</FONT>
Babydoll 13 Dec , - , GH
Ting Ting 13 Dec, - , Carlton Htl
Ming 13 Dec , - , Sheraton
Liza 13 Dec , - , Raffles Town Club
piper 18 Dec , Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq 18 Dec , Milan , Hilton
Naturally 21 Dec , Le Galleria , GH
bobomagic 21 Dec , Bridal Zone , Rasa Sentosa
cutiechar 27 Dec , - , traders
EL 28 Dec , GHA , Holiday Inn
Mio 28 Dec , JLC , GH
Babyblue 28 Dec , Divine Couture , Conrad
tintin , Jawn Happy ever after , OCC
loving3377 30 Dec, Jawn Happy Ever After, -

Erin, which package has your aunt booked for you? so envious..got such a doting aunt...wish someone would sponsor some of my wedding costs too...kekeke

posing was awkward cause the poses the photographer ask of you is awkward...chin out...the placement of the butt and so on and so forth...hahaha

Hi Cat &amp; Kare: Thank God there are people like me! I tot I'm the only one who is so free with wedding round the corner. Everytime pple see me, they asked "How's preparation?", I'll tell them nothing much to prepare. Gowns, banquets, photographers all settled. Just need to go facial &amp; rest well to be married off!!

Yah, saw the CX ad today. Still considering the one to London.

haha..guess when i am focused on something i can get it done faster! well, i'm prob just tired after running thru so many shops for the past few days..would really love to settle it..

i din ask to try on the gowns at GI, bcos there were brides ard trying their gowns so it was pretty crowded. i think i have to run through the shops again and try on more gowns to make a decision..

btw, anyone heard of J&amp;M bridal?

erin: doreen fr Le Galleria gave me a florist contact you may want to try - Secret garden (www.secretgarden.com.sg tel: 62272465)

Hello gals,
So many mails on shoes!! I am a shoe frantic too!! My hubby banned me from buying shoes since last yr...used to buy a lot of Charles &amp; Keith shoes...think most of my shoes come from them..that's why my hubby always try to walk another way to avoid letting me see the shop when we go shopping..hehee..I always pop-in to kapoh

Vincci shoes? Never heard of it..maybe can go kapoh one of these days to Citilink to see see and look look

Hi vio, kk &amp; 1027, thanks for the advice on the cure for menses cramp..will try it out, usually it is not so bad unless I drank cold drinks a day before

For dinner, can we take the Jap food...more quiet and less fattening..hehehehe

thanks all ladies for the concern, am feeling better now.

1027: Do take care too, saw the new article that this is the flu season..got to drink more water and take care..
very impt since we going to get married soon..must be "pretty" lah
(this is to all gals)

Cath: have received yr second email on the collation, thanks!!

wendyl: of course i know u are referring to photoshoots la ... alamak, just that some people are very pantang, so photoshoot, we avoided 7th mth, actual day, we try not to choose 6th mth 7th mth lar .. alamak!!!

naturally: me also like cheongsam and kua, but me no figure to wear .. so abandoned that idea liaoz ... probably going for kebaya instead! what about u!?? are u making a tea dress?

erin: i signed up with kai .. his contact for the florist is greenpoint (tel: 63529060/63529061). maybe u like to check that out?

tingting: have u checked out places like the wedding present, emmanuel etc etc? i think the EGs by the wedding present is not bad ... but the WGs there are so-so ... but its just my personal opinion!

Grace,
The food is for the flowers to help them to stay longer. I jus throw them away last night. I didn't change the water while i was away. But i manage to preserve my flowers for later use. The colours still retain even when its dried. Very nice.

Welcome Serene,
What's your buget?

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)
confirmed:
Confirmed attending
pooh
abrinas
kiroro
pucca
beibei
priviledged
beanie
totoro

cutie-on ??
whitely?-?
cutie 22-?
joyful-?
tentatively:taddess

taddess,
I agreed!!my indoor shoot in Nov was really so amusing!!I kept laughing for the Japanese costume cos the photographer kept saying chin out,breathe in,turn this way etc!!

Laughed until my tears dropped!!
think outdoor is much more relaxed!

HI YI,

CONGRATS TO U &amp; MIKE!!!(few of us here dunno say how many times liao..haha)
rmbe to show us yr photos on our gathering on 5th march.

elaine, date is fixed on 5th march. can u compile the attendance list &amp; gathering place?

Hi blythe, Thanks for your email.

October 03 Brides:
04 Oct: jady, (1027, Piggy, leafy)
10 Oct: blythe
12 Oct: cath, vio, bonnie
17 Oct: fishball
24 Oct: Serene, (Teri)
25 Oct: rhs, (catlim)
26 Oct: kk, poki, (HF, lorraine)
30 Oct: blissz

morning ladies,
it’s Friday! So happyy.. hmm, I’ll be going Dubai during on the eve of cny with my pil and bf for a biz trip. Anyone been there b4 and wat do u think of the place huh

hi Cath,
Happy Bbbbbbbirthday! So happy huh? It's Friday and yr b/day!

Dubai? Not me. Only transit at Bahrain. But my frens who've worked in Dubai all said it's hot! As in you can sweat the moment u bathed. Haha.. my advice: might as well not bathe. kekeke...

erin,
Very nice of your aunt... piper, same thots as u! if only we had an aunt like erin's!
Lucky gal, u are spared the headache of bridal hunting! So have u visited your bridal shop yet?

tingting,
Tell u wat, if u want to try gowns at GI, tell them u intend to take over a fren's package (i.e. erin's), but u can only decide AFTER u try the gowns! Otherwise, doubt they will let u try.... they told me they only allow those who sign up to try gowns... maybe u can asked erin to inform GI before your visit?
Just a suggestion! (dun mind me for being KPO hor?

J&amp;M... think no one in our dec bride list is with them, i've not been there either, but think i read in some other threads that J&amp;M has got very affordable packages. Speaking of other threads... just a little gossip, there's a upset bride at Julia's.... u may want to take heed?

Enya,
U're still keen on a kebaya... from amor meus??
My LG package includes a tea dress, but i won't need to decide on the design yet.... and u? Have u decided what style of gown u want from Kai?

hello !!

just went to kuishin-bo last night ... apologies for recommending the place. They only serve buffet dinner now at $28.80 +++ per head. Quite expensive i feel .... you girls may want to change location after all.

cath, dubai's duty free shopping is even cheaper than singapore. but some of the branded goods like gucci and ferragamo are quite behind time... think they're past season stuff so that's why so much cheaper than changi airport. dun know about the weather coz i didn;t step out of the airport...

you so lucky to go there for a biz trip !
But its quite unusual that your company is sending a female employee to a middle easter country tho, esp amidst all this terrorist &amp; war tensions. When will you be back? The UN is having an inspection of kuwait's nuclear arms on Mon and George Bush is making an announcement on Tues. Both of these events could erupt in war, so please be extra extra careful ok? Get your bf to escort you and dress conservatively. (imagine: i got the stares just for wearing a v-neck t-shirt with jeans when i was at the airport!)

Happy birthday cath !!

Ladies, i'll be busy busy busy today. may not be able to "chat". If i dun come back, my next posting may be on Monday!

Piper: my aunt got me a package from jb. Think it costs RM4888. I haven't even checked out the place yet cos I don't have time to go down yet. But think should be ok cos my cousin had hers there and the photos turned out nicely. Not sure if it is "Elegant" or "Santiago".

ting ting and enya: thank you very much for the contacts of the florists. Really appreciate it. Guess will have to start looking around.

ting ting: so you went to GI already. It's alright if you are not getting the voucher from me
Actually, I have 4 friends who are getting married in Dec 03 too. Two of them have signed up with Sophia Wedding Collections, The other two signed up with Santiago and The Wedding Present respectively.
Feedback that I've got is that Sophia Wedding Collections had nice WG and the photography is great but a bit exp. Santiago offers quite a great deal of stuff whereas the photographer at The Wedding Present is very experienced and takes wonderful pictures. Depends on your requirements. Happy looking around!

Actually my not only for indoor, my outdoor also got chin out then cannot see double chin (i told him any pose also can, main thing: cannot c my double chin!!
), suck in yr stomach, don't move, smile etc. the photographer keeps teasing my FH that he so fierce like going to beat somebody up!! Once my FH smiles, he snaps. But truth is - quite fun. Like that once in a lifetime, must enjoy. Outdoor same same ah!!
Don't believe, ask pooh.

Privileged

Wah, so many things to do when yr fiance is back. As for the church program, r u printing? I don't know whether need to print or not. Izzit a must? I may print the cards in beginning Mar. FH needs the cards b4 school closes 4 June holidays.

When u all printing the cards? Who u all using? I need finger foods caterer for my church. Any suggestions???

hi naturally,
Actually I went around hunting for bridal packages, signed up with GI before I know my aunt bought a package for me. So I wasn't spared the headache too
Just wished that I was informed earlier so I can be spared of all these troublesome issues like trying to sell away the deposit.

ting ting: I am willing to help you call GI if u really want to go down and try the gowns. But I think this is not necessary cos when I asked them whether I could try the gowns, they are fine with it. Guess it depends on whether the shop is crowded or not.

Cath, happy bday!! You're going Dubai issit? Heard that it's a shopping paradise because it's tax-free. But do take care, ok? Dun go anywhere alone.