(2003) Brides of year 2003

hello gals....

Cath, I signed pkg w GI liao....update list k ;)
so won't vie make-up artist w you n bonnie hee... ;p

hm....looks like most of u gals wen for fitting, measurement etc. envy leh....mine think Apr-mayb cos i took OTR lor

hv u gals confirmed actual day photographer oready?

din post recently as was very bz @ work ...

went for my mtm gown fitting last wkend ... EG is great !! ...
no alteration needed ... juz add details oni ... WG needs a little alteration though + details .. hopefully can see the final outcome in mid feb !

a bit lost now, wat are we suppose to do nx ? finailsing on guest list & helper list ??

Hi vio, that's great! One thing done
I also haven't take measurement. Suppose to be last week but my designer had to postpone it until tomorrow. Yah, I signed up wif Chris L. for my actual day

pucca,

hope u doing fine!!

glad your mtm gown fitting turn out to be positive!!!

think u can list out helper lists and duties to be assigned to them.For guest list you can tentatively write out who u would like to invite.(I use excel sheet)

have you booked your photographer and videographer??

as for invitation cards,think hotels will only call u three months in advance.

do I leave out anything??hope not!

Meow,
Thanks. Me hope to buy candles, candle stands, ring pillow(pillow also can..just sew ribbon on it), flower girl basket, some fabrics(if nice n v cheap),ribbons, accessories(if any), wedding favours(maybe)..oh yes, something to keep my ang baos..
Do u think the market have the above?
of cos house deco provided I can carry back not forgetting clothes, foodstuff and most imptly BRAS!!! Heehee..

hehe, guess the bridal industry is very competitive! But precisely because it is so competitive, regardless of all that offer-while-it-lasts talk, even if u return one or two mths later, they are likely to give u the same discounts (just dun appear too eager!) So dun feel too pressurised by their business tactics... take your time to find your ideal bridal shop!

Clyne,
Thats alot to buy. Some items have and some i not sure. Later i list what have and what not ok. Lunch time up liao. Need to run again. Jus keep checking ok. Me will tell you details.

Hi Abrinas,
Take care of that cold. Chinese New Year coming. For many of us here it will be the LAST time we can receive ang pows - must cash in!!!
Next year must probably give already.

I'm having finger food too, with my caterer Java Link. But before the church solemnization is quite odd leh. Your guests may not be in the celebratory mood, and it may be difficult to round them up for the ceremony when they're mingling and catching up with old friends. The older generation might not think it is good either because the wedding hasn't taken place yet. Like for my folks, they didn't even want the tea ceremony for my side to be before the church ceremony, as is usually done. So now we are having our tea ceremony in a room at the church after the wedding service while the guests are having the reception. My FH's tea ceremony will be before the church service.

Good afternoon..feel sleepy after lunch..hehe

kk: My coordinator kept the wedding gown for me since I have already decided on this OTR gown for PS cum actual day...think she will let me have another fitting nearer the PS date so that she can alter to suit my size
For the other gowns, I think she wil do so...as for the Victorian & Jap style..it is a standard dress, so no need alteration, they will use safety pins to hold if too big for our size.

Cath: Yes, decided to take the OTR for wedding gown and MTM my evening gown(same design as the wedding gown that I like
) Hmm..have't choose the color yet cos designer said got new colors coming in, she will let me select on 9 Feb, most probably will take those that show two tones of colors at different angles (forgot what the name of the fabric), not so thick compared to normal satin material
Most likely to choose a combination of baby blue and pink (must wear a bit red red if not the elderly will be displeased)..hehee

1027: Get the details on the package so that you won't miss out anytin
so that they cannot charge you for somethings that are already in the package.

Vio: congrats, You finally decided on the studio

you can go down to the shop to see see and look look now if you want..think the shop usually have different designs coming in in each mth
You can take a look first if you want to
sure they won't object to it..

Have fun trying the gowns!! Can be quite tiring!

Thanks, Privileged. Hope that my cold will be ok b4 CNY. Ya, u r rite. last time we are receiving.

Ya, tt's what my FH says too, quite odd isn't it?? But i was thinking maybe some ppl might be hungry, rushing there fm work and etc. Cannot please everybody can I?? My tea ceremony will be as normal ie. go FH for tea then my hse then church. The usual.

Hi pucca, glad yr gowns turn out well.

I've booked my photographer. As for videographer, may get friends to do it. can save the money for something else.

My boss coming back tomo so cannot post as much liao

hi 1027,

yup, serene is rite - they shld list down every single details on 'contract' which's a purchase order form w no., how much deposit u paid, balance etc. btw, which bridal boutique u signed w?

thks serene, ur wedding later then mine but oready done so much. how nice ;)paris de bridal izit @ tanjong pagar?

As our marriage date approaches, just in case anybody hving church wedding or any solemnization ceremony (sorry, cannot remember for sure who hving liao
), u still hv to go to ROM to register yr marriage. Please check out their website www.rom.gov.sg

Also, in addition to what was there, please bring along the minister's letter (for church wedding) for their verification purposes. I call them to check liao. Also, pls confirm tt the minister who signed the letter is the one who will be solemnizing yr wedding cos if different n u want to change later, they will charge u a fee. For other solemnizations, think they need the JP's letter or a letter from whoever is solemnizing yr wedding. Just thot u all might be interested to know.

Hi vio, Chris' basic package is $2600 ($2000 if from bridal) and premium package is $3800. If u sign up on ur 1st appointment, he'll give u discount. We didn't know this at first, just happen that both of us decided to sign up on the spot after talking to him. To our surprise, he gave us discount! Hehe ...

Serene, agree with u! Trying gowns is tiring *and* confusing. And after several gowns, I got confused and dunno which one to choose

Grace,
ya man..will have problem bringing back provided I can find all the things..
Most of the things must hand carry some more..
FH say he wants to buy more T-shirts and bermudas to last him for next 2 years(that is if he doesn't put on weight)..

hahahah...after get married sure put on weight one... after eating all the good food u cooked...

wink wink.. so buy a size bigger.. unless he kam ceng kind...(eat alot but still skinny as ever)

clyne.. like tat ah... if now have belly then i think u better buy 2 size bigger.. this year wear size, next year wear bigger size...heeehehee

better not say yr fh to much... mine oso fat liao hahahah...

I'm back from my wedding too liao!
Tat day is real tiring man!
Guess I dun really enjoyed tat day except for the march-in which was real memorable and romantic coz I have rose petals, bubbles and dry-ice effect. In addition, it makes me feel like a princess coz all eyes are on me!

I oso got my nephew and niece to march in infront of me too.

Saw the video taken by hubby's colleague and is was real cute!

my hubby was really sabo by my 6 sisters tat morning. ;p
I have also enjoyed the 2 days stay at the hotel which was real relaxing.

BTW, wherez all the 2003 jan brides hah?

Thanks Abrinas for the reminder. That's another thing my Fiance and I have to do when he comes back. We can only book from 3 months up to 3 weeks before the wedding date, right?

hi wenn,

Yap, I enjoyed my wedding march-in alot coz its so romantic and memorable!

Yap, oso can't wait to see the actual day fotos too!

hi flowee,

yap, back to work liao and only gog for HM on 13 Feb so gonna work like hell again lor!

Oh, my hubby never get drunk but coz his sworn brothers went up to our bridal room and sabo us, tatz when he gets drunk though! ;p
yap, got video taken by hubby's colleague and its real funny to watch.

Hi Yi,

Welcome back!! glad that you enjoyed your march-in...i'm sure it will bring back lots of sweet memories...now i believe what my banquet coordinator told me that first march-in has the first kiss kind of sweet experience..hehe...

me back to work now...really sian. still in the holiday mood. quite enjoyed my short trip to bangkok..really plently of shopping to be done...imagine shop till no time to eat the irresistible shark's fin & bird nest!! the only downside is that i actually fell sick on the first day of the trip...

are u gals intending to give ang pows during the lunar new year ? my mum says that it's better for newlywed to give ang pow in their first year...it'll bring blessings & good luck...so my hubby & i have to start preparing the $ these few days...

with the closing of jan 03, hope that this thread will not discontinue...still remember that we're supposed to share our wedding photos ?

i been falling sick since the very first day of jan!

1st- widsom tooth cause infection
2nd - widsom tooth extraction
3rd - down with gasrtic flu
4th ( now) - down with cold and flu!!!@!! very siau siau

and some re-structing in sales team in my company.... try to cut down on sales person and form other dept! very threating! just request to transfer to client service team which still need do sales but through tele-marketing and commission is damn little!

i really feel like quitting.... felt very depressed and rejected.... i had also postpone my PS due to keep falling sick........ what a new year to start with!!!! : (

Clyne,
Do you knwo how to get weekend market now? Take BTS at wherever near your hotel to Mo Chit BTS then walk backwards direction for about 5mins then at a bend, you see a wo lu place with a lot of ppl. Bingo, you've reached. Else take cab lor.

My advise, bring along an extra luggage and pack in with your existing one. Else but from there, not very ex too. As for your list, here goes:
candles - candles as in what you looking for church wedding, have to try. Floating candles... a lot.
candle stands - may not have too. Try shopping at department store.
ring pillow(pillow also can..just sew ribbon on it) - think they have, need to search.
flower girl basket - weave basket have
some fabrics(if nice n v cheap) - confirm got.
ribbons - i bought mine there. They sell in rolls, not metres. They also have the one congra on it.
accessories(if any) - Paper roses (i bought a lot home) tied ribbons with many colours and paper birds.
wedding favours(maybe) - chopsticks confrim have.
..oh yes, something to keep my ang baos.. My ang bao box. Heart shape standing upright with a slith. Got twin heart too. Even got matching wedding guest book(signing purpose)

Try tell me where you stay, then i can tell you where else you can shop. They also sell Swaroski beads too. Some other place

Wow..u guys sound more excited than clyne!! But is good, can share, make me want to go.. but never went there before.. abit mountain tortoise..

Meow,
So how can i pass u all the details??? thru email or icq??? From the past forum, u guys got meet up one har..?? like very interesting hor...Wow so many to know about photography..*headache*
But i know that with u & all the gals here, i will not lose out! But if i miss out anything, u have to point them out for me. Do u know any good magazines to see those bridal gowns???

Akira
is ok... maybe someday, u will be like them help to remind me..

Clyne
have u went to your first appt yet??? Is your Fh friend a pro??? Have to think twice...cos my sis friend ask her friend to take the video cam for them (not pro) in the end the screen keeps going up & down...We also push it to after CNY... Let's Relax first!!!

Gals, how to choose a wedding gown that doesnt make a person look so fat..??? Advise please..
See the magazines but they always present slim slim gals to wear.*headache*

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all of you!! In case I got busy the next few days & got no time to wish all of you Happy Goat Year!

Hi meekoo: Poor thing, suffer now & tomorrow will be better . I also have to go for wisdom tooth extraction on 11 Feb. Had very bad toothache last week & I tot it was heatiness becos took too many CNY goodies. But dentist said two wisdom tooth are coming out & not enuf space. Yah, both of us have a painful start to the new year so let's wish that the rest of the year will be sweet sweet. I'll have to bear with the pain until after new year so now live on painkillers. Dun quit on impulse because it is really difficult to find a job. My friend came back from overseas in June & till now still jobless. We shld be glad that we still keep our job.

Serene,
Your details just sent to my email add will do. Once i add your detail to our list, it'll be sent back to you and everyone will get an updated copy.
Yes, some of us have meet up before. That was last year, our first meeting. Not everyone turn up of course due to work and some other reasons. The second was a manicure session. Again only those interested turn up and another 2 new girls too. So hopefully by the third meeting, we'll have more ppl coming.

You'll get your chance of going overseas won't you? Maybe not Thai, but other countries maybe?

Photography....knowledge...me not very good too. Jus know a bit here and there. Digital and norm camera is also another headache. For me, i prefer norm. Looks sharper. Of course depends on individual too. Definately must compare their portfolio and price to deter the "right" one.

As for bridal magazines. The best to ask is not me. I dun really read them much but jus look at photos. I personally like Martha Stewards. They do have some craft tips which can be use for weddings. Of course i didn't buy them, jus read them at Kino. Many choices there. Jus drop buy to see.

Mag always feature nice nice gown on slim models. Then got ppl see mah. Your bridal package is MTM is it? Sorry, mine OTR. Some of my colleagues comment OTR sometimes is good. You get to wear many designs and see what suits you. But as for MTM, think once you design that, then you die die must take that right? What if after made its doesn't look nice on you? You know they dun bear the resposibilities?

Amore, think you can help Serene? Your MTM right? Who else huh?

Clyne,
think i forgot to comment on that too. Same as what Serene had said. There's good and bad for asking friend for help. Its jus my personal comment, please dun quarell with hubby ok? Me always end up like that, but he give in. That's why my package got rebate mah when i took up actual and ROM together.

My views: To ask friend, its jus like asking a favour done for you. You can't complian if the end result turn bad, cos he's your friend and you can't ask for much(requirements like i want to have this inside my photos...) somemore his service is free to you. Video even worst. My hubby's friend ask him and his gang of friends to help them take Video. The video cam was late becos of me(need to doll up as videocam is with hubby).
Then mostly are junk, either picture went up and down, shaking, blur.....

Girls, i got my link for my ROM photos finally. But think you all have to wait. I need to sent my photographer those i want so that those ugly ones will be taken away dun let everyone see funny faces. Overall, Nice. Definately better than what my dad took. My head can even chop off but a quarter.

Thanks Jing, i've receive it. I sent the list to you tonight ok? I save it at my home PC.

You got more quries, can ask. Will try to answer them ok?

Hihi Meekoo
Sometimes unlucky things seem to come together @ one time. But once it is over, all the lucks come to u. Wish u gd luck in the yr of goat.
Dun quit your job until u find a new job. Times r really bad.
"hugs"

Hihi Sue
No more CNY goodies, especially bau kua
. Try gaggle wif salt water. It may help to sooth your swollen gum.

Meekoo: poor gal. can totally understand you. bad start for me too. have been falling sick. just recovered only but many people around me are sick so i hope i won't get suck back into the circle of getting sick already. have been eating medicine since 1 jan and it is already upsetting my period cycle. so sick!

Shook, Sue and May : how are things on your side? have you all started on the wedding cards printing already? i got the sample cards from the hotel and now i don't know what to do. when must we start printing cards?

Meow,
I'm staying at Bel-Aire Princess at Sukhumvit, nearest station is Na Na..Dunno hotel good or not cos got no choice..Free one cannot complain..but I extend another 3 days..
The description u gave on how to get there is much better than the info on the web..I only know where to stop and just follow the crowd..=P
Seems like they really sell a lot of things ya?
Do u think Siam Square is worth the visit? Heard MBK is a better place..After looking at the places to go like not enough time..
intending to go places like Chaptuchak market, pratunam market, MBK, chinatown, Siam Discovery, Siam Center and Square and Dept Store..me going for 5days(last day won't do any shopping)

they also sell Swaroski beads?? How much is that?

morning ladies...

meow... u always go BKK ah? know the place so well... hehee i went there oni last wk oso not familiar... go there for work...so no time to shop
....bought mangoes though ha... but think next month(Mar) will need to go BKK most often... i wanna see ur photos!!!!!!... heheee

serene... princess cut or A line will make a person look slimmer... eh u read more from this wed site www.weddingchannel.com.. i rem going into the wedsite they are toking the diff cut of gown for diff figure....like pear shape good in wat gown blah blah blah....

Meow n Serene,

I also know that..FH say he used to be a pro..haiz..still trying to convince him saying that wait he last min back out then how? things like that..haven't ask his fren yet, he thinking after CNY then ask so still got time to change his mind..As u know, guys always take their time to ask....

I only going for 1st appt after back from BKK..

Hi Meekoo,

Hope u are getting better. Guess after the extraction the body immune system is low and virus is fierce so pple get sick very easily.
take great care ok. just treat it as a slimming session. Take alot alot of rest ok. Drink alot of water. Barley water, all the cooling water.
I lose 2 kg, so try to maintain it.

Jan: How come u get ur card so earily. I havent got mine. I saw alot of posting and i am quite confuse with the hot stamping and the insert. which one is cheaper?

Hi: Oh no so many people are falling sick. u gals better take care.

Meeko: dont worry. The new year (year of the goat) is coming so it will be better luck for you.
I also agree with the gals, dont quit...sick tahen and stick on. The ecy is still veri bad outside.
I am bored with my job but no choice got to stick on.

Sue: My advice to you eat as much as u can before your extraction. After that, cannot eat very "tong gu".

Jan: i am still busy with my house...things like never settle smoothly one.

Last weekend, the elctrician came to instal my lights. Found that our dining lights cannot align properly. Somehow, it looks loop-sided. Electrican told us there is something wrong with the holes in the glass cylinders. So had to go back to the shop to change. Seems like that batch of shipment all the glass cylinders are like these...defects. We end up taking their display set. Told hubby no make sense that we paid so much for their display set..but hubby says dont be picky, as least we know for sure the display set is ok...hmm....

And then my kitchen cabinets also got problem...Sigh....u can see my other posting under the thread..Classic Kitchen.

Wedding Cards..i havent start yet...think i will tackle in March. 2 months enough lead time, right?

Hi May,

renovation is like that lor! take it easy. I got a display set for one of my room too. The shop attendant told me they still have stock then came out say no more. actually that is not the one i wanted to get but my hubby go and tell the person we want the lights. So i am very pissed off with the shop and my hubby. However, some of my colleague told me they like the lights!

Classic Kitchen is quite good. what happen? may be is near New year that is why. Are u urgently wanted to move in? if not give them sometime, may be after New Year so they wldnt rush to finish ur cabinet with bad workmanship.

hi all... sorrie, MIA for a while. me juz bac in office aft 2 days MC (again!). think my body now full of medicine man, keep falling sick. but bo bian, the virus is in my office. my colleague MC 1 wk come back, i kena. now tat i'm bac, my other colleague on 2 days! sheesh... hope tis cycle stops soon...

would love to meet up with you gals, aft missing the 1st 2, but 22feb i oreadi got 2 things on, oreadi racking my brains how to fit them in, dun think i can fit in a 3rd! ;P

actually, far as i know, 1st year of marriage still can collect ang baos, but oso muz give. so tis yr is the last 'profit'! ;P

Yap, really enjoyed my 1st March-In coz it played my favourite song "I finally found someone" and with all the rose petals, smoke and bubbles, really dreamy and romantic leh! Guess tatz the best part abt wedding liao!
Plus all my sisters and brothers are real helpful too, they assist us in all ways that made our day so smooth and us fuss-free! Really wana thank them all!

Jen, btw, what do you all do with the money you get from the tea ceremony hah? Hubby gave it to me and asked me to keep it leh. BTW, did you breakeven or loss from your wedding banquet?

Me oso back to work liao, me gog to Bangkok for shopping and relaxing on 13 feb so wld be celebrating V-day at Bangkok this year!

Hows your shopping spree at Bangkok? Bought lotsa of things?

Yap, hubby and I wld start giving angpaos this year. Luckily, i strike lottery last Sunday which is 2 days after my wedding which can helped us through the angpaos giving! hehehe

Same here, I hope all the jan 03 brides wld still visit this thread and keep it alive although we are all Mrs liao.
Just like we have to keep our marriage always fresh and alive, full of surprises!

HI all,

Today will be my last day of work..till next wednesday..HIPPEEEEEE!!! so I won't be logging in anymore. Just wanna wish all of you here a very HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Have not been doing anything for my wedding, that's y I've not been posting lah. Hopefully, things will get moving after the new year.

Enjoy the festive season.

welcome back Yi, will be going for my honeymoon tomolo! yipee!!

i also enjoy my 1st march in, really felt like a star with all the eyes on us!

btw, talking abt distributing ang pows, do we have to give frens who are not married? or only their children (for those who have)?

hi Sunshine! WOW! u have such a long break. really envy u leh. No such luck for me cos lessons start on tues and at 8.30am.

Anyway, hereby wishing everyone here a HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR! Enjoy the break and the goodies. Hee Hee! Will have to diet and exercise after the break.

Hi totoro
Yep, after u confirm date, ask JP for a letter confirming tt he/she is going to be the one solemnizing yr wedding, then u can file notice with ROM. they will give u a date to go down n collect the dox.

U r welcome, Priviledged. Yep, can only book fm 3 weeks to 3 months b4 wedding date.

Hi cherry,

where are you going for HM?
sorry forget already although i think u mention b4. :p

yap, felt like a princess during the march-in and my bosses also commented that we look like princess and prince. hehehe

i dun think we need to give to friends that are not married but cousins that are not married even though older than us need to give rite?
I have asked for a list of the angpaos amount from my 2 sisters so as to know how much to give. hehe

Luckily, I strike lottery on sunday to offset the angpao $.

think getting married really makes me luckier.

i won a lucky draw prize of S$100 and also a small lottery on sunday. Plus, I got a S$300 worth of shopping vouchers from a friend as wedding gift although he did not attended my wedding.

Guess the lottery is in time for me to give angpaos. hehehe