(2003) Brides of year 2003

yuckssssss......white tux? He think really "bai ma wang zi" hehe....

But can find out hows their svc, design, is there limitation for the material they use for the EG/WG?

Plss...appreciate your help.

nicloe,
i only heard that new otani has a restaurant call taiken-en & the feedback is the food is good.. nope have not attend dinner there... only went to marina mandarin, grand copthorne waterfront, amara recently,, sorry, can help u much

alysandra,
ok, will try to catch him as they are very busy these few days, so far, i understand that service is good and they can oso loan u ur mother's & MIL's dress...
as for the white tux, i think that's wat they call the taiwanese-style???

Grace,
i'm thinking of getting that. Any idea why not to get that brand?

Ava,
Me anything, you decide lor. We go concourse right? What about Arab st?

Meow..

go to both...arab street for cloth & ribbon...

concourse for flowers and ribbons... can compare prices...

meow,
cara say not to get sally hansen, not so good.
Apparently, its the ingredient.

ava,meow...
when u all going to concourse and Arab street?
Buy the all those stuff to make out? heehee i kpo...

Grace,
we go jalan jalan to compare prices. Since ingredients not so good, then what is good? Dun tell me those they sell. Think its too ex for me.

Ava,
Ok, you know some places including concourse got sell those artificial eh..... those used to deco the candles for christmas? Get it?

Hi May,

Ya, is cheap... he let us choose any colour that we like from ICI and Nippon. One importamt point is he very "qin cai", not very calculative.

Meow

actually those r the only places i know
maybe can go to ikea... next time

Grace...
we are on a secret mission ;)

Ladies actually, if you don't paint your nails that often... using Sally Hansen or Loreal or Maybelline is ok... you'll only spoil your nails if you use them regularly

Grace,
the one u bought is it Nailtek or something? Can buy from outside?
Yours like can last v long.. The next day after mani, I clean away the nail polish cos there are lots of bubbles on my nails as well as those I ruined.. I applied nail strengther instead..

Ava,
talking abt candles.. Do u know where to buy unity candles besides from bras basah? Thinking of buying plain ones and then deco it myself..

meow..
i dont know wat other brand but thats wat she said.. so mayb as ava say if u dont paint so often.. the rest is okie.. another thing is that she say dont use quickdrying ones.. use the normal ones.

ava,
wah... secret mission..hmmm sounds exciting...
looking forward to see the results..

clyne...
yah its nailtek.. i dont know if can buy from outside.. if can let me know oso heehee cos $54 is expensive..but it gave me hope..heehee of nails with no ridges..
i oso dont know why mine lasted.. cos when i bought the nailtek thing, she apply straight away...

ava,
you need me to bring one sample over? glasses?

Clyne,
Sure or not? Got bubbles? Mine also have but only appear yesterday. Not very obvious thou its very small, not even 1mm. Guess Jane's work is better loh. Next time i sure ask her to do my nails.

Unity candles? Is it those thick thick candles? Spotlight also have.

Clyne,
yeah
it's better to make it yourself

i usually buy the plain candles from ikea

the big one
only $4...very cheap!
after deco...less than $10

it'll make a very nice keepsake

Grace ;)
Meow will share with you the evidence when it is ready ;) he ehe ehe

Hi oct-bride-to-be

Those dates (22 (Wed) & 27 (Mon) Oct) you have shortlisted are weekday so many hotels are still available.

Agreed with fishball, it's depend whether the date is ideal for the two of you.

alysandra,
have u tried visiting other shops yet? my advise is that if u r not sure,, go & visit the other shops, talk to the designer, and most imptly, try on their gowns... this is impt, so u'll know what types of gowns they can offer u...

if the shop is really good or have good business, they won't pressure u to take their packages, they won't keep adding freebies to entice u ... just my 2 cents worth lor

Ava,
we not using those real ones this time right? Then can share with others mah, else how to? Oh my, i'm on a mission to impossible or im-possible?

Finally.... have time to come in and read the posting. Yesterday went JB(work) so today have many paperwork to settle. Only now have some free time to snake here. Very sian, hope it's 6pm now. 1 more hr to go.

Are,

Me same as you, already miss two gathering. Hope can meet them up soon.

Sunnyling,

Sad to hear that! But lucky you are alright. My hb last time also ride motorbike, school time and I was so afraid to take his bike. Lucky now don’t have to encounter this type of fear.

Hi Gals, I'm bk too!

Elaine - of cos i rmbr u! my eye ok liao.

Flowee-decided not to shortlist Jenna as her quote is on the higher end & we r very tight cos house & banquet together nxt yr. but i havnt tell her yet, so u dnt tell her 1st ok.

Yi-glad to hear everythg well for u. don't stress too much else pimples pop out then cant be mei mei bride liao.:p i also want to see yr pics!!

now slightly more relaxed cos getting key nxt mth then ask those designers/contractors go take actual measurement then give us final quotation. but all wkends will spend on looking at taps, hob/hood, aircon, fridge, washing machine, storage heater ,etc....very tired comparing. but these few things hv to buy 1st to be installed together with reno. hvnt look at bed, sofa, all that yet.

Meow,
I also think so..Jane did a better job..Mine really got small bubbles here and there..wonder why..Errmm..quite obvious leh..

I know spotlight also have but always run out of stock..I need white colour ones..

Ava,
Ikea selling for $4 only!!! That's cheap..
Where will/did u buy the candle stand? Ikea too?

Clyne,
yep
bought in June this year... not sure if still same prc bu should be lah

stands also have... but they keep changing
just look around

if i go i'll let you know what i saw okie

hi wenn and elaine,

yap, i'm glad that my food tasting went on smoothly too!

sure, will try to scan my photos after i collected them.

hi jady,

these few weeks no outbreaks so touch wood, hope that it stays this way till after my wedding!

i'm really glad that i spread out my house reno and wedding a year apart coz now house all done up and ready liao thus can concentrate just on wedding! Plus, my all 3 semester papers also cleared so no more studying for me! hahaha

hi kk mei,

where are you?

hi flowee,

passed 3 fav bridal bouquets designs to my studio and they say they will try to do for me provided the flowers are not seasonal flowers!

got the designs from her world brides and wedding travel!

so glad that x'mas coming coz me having a small gathering at my love nest with my family.
this weekend gotta to xperience more cookies making so as to make nice cookies for my nephew on x'mas eve. hehehe
x'mas day will be spend house visiting my muslim friends' houses!

Hi Yi Jie,

I check the forum everyday! kekekee.. dun worry, i won't MIA :P

So u have ordered the cakes? Who u order the cakes from? Must be many boxes? kekeke...

U must be very excited hor? How i wish time flies so that it'll be my turn soon. Hee!

Hi Fishball,

Yah lor, the brownish and greenish lor. kekeek.. that time my hubby catch one glimpse of the pink colour EG hanging inside. He has sharp eyes! hahaha...

Hi Nicloe,

Just feedback... My sis's friend who just got married last yr had real bad experience w White Link. Her gown did not turn out as what she wanted & the make-up is too white! Why dun u find out more fm those gals under the White Link thread, not sure if the comments given were favourable or not.

Hi kk mei,

OIC, you check the forum daily!

Thot why you not ard leh.

Nope, haven't order the cakes yet but think will be ordering from bengawan solo coz itz cheaper mah!

o, for my mum's side, itz abt 40 boxes but dun koe abt hubby's side though!

not really very excited lah coz i koe that day sure cannot enjoy coz sure very busy and tired one!
rather looking forward to honeymoon though! hehehe
aiya, time will flies and soon it'll be your turn soon! be patient!

Clyne,
will look out for you too. Dun think you need it so urgent right? Me going shopping this friday, can tell me your requirements like size(thickness and height), price(dun exceed $).

I believe those bubbles can only be seen when reflected under light right? I guess my thumb's nail is the most obvious as compare to others.

hi ---

22oct is eve of public holiday. so rather surprise it is still available. many still have 24, 25 availbale too. Really dunno what to do.have to count how many who are not goign to go for hols..

thanks for all the concern, makes me feel so much better.

May: yah. i will be staying with FIL and bitchy SIL after our wedding. fiance's parents are very traditional. they want whole family to stay together especially so that brothers can stay close forever! i am ok with his brother and parents so far but that sister in law to be can be a pain in the neck. she doesn't lift a finger to do any housework. imagine her mother in law mopping the floor while she sits there watching tv. i just hope that next time they don't ask me to do her share because i believe everyone should do their part. sigh. i really don't get along well with her at all. fiance is worried we will fall out too. one thing good is that she hardly talks. she treats you as invisible. hahaha! so if i can just convince myself to do the same to her sloppy lifestyle i guess there wouldn't be much sparks flying.
you all must pray for me. agree with you. renov is hell. i think i mop their house so many times more than they did their whole life living there and yet still complain to say dusty. sigh. cannot satisfy everyone i guess.

Sue: no problem. if my fiance is here i wouldn't want to fly up there too. waste money. but all these reno have been giving me stress. been feeling real down and tired. think i need a break or else don't think next year have any more steam to continue this journey. promise myself i will enjoy and eat and have fun.

Vin: way to go. cleaning up is really a terrible task. do get hubby to help you out as much as possible. keep us updated on your wedding bands hunt too.

Pausini: thanks for the feedback and advice. you are right. have to give in. his parents are ok so far. it's his SIL whom i am having trouble adjusting to. guess it's different liftstyle and living habits to i will have to learn how to tolerate. it's just that i am a clean freak when it comes to the house. i like my home clean and tidy and she is the total opposite. she has piles of unwashed clothes stacked up on the floor and used plates just dump in the basin waiting to be washed. there is no maid in the house and she doesn't even mop or clean the floor or any part of the house. i thought this is quite unacceptable especially since now that you are married, you should do your part to keep the place clean. it's also a form of personal hygiene? lucky she is not my wife!

Jan: Sorry to hear about your bitchy SIL. Sigh, I guess most SILs are not super nice people. My SIL also likes to make comments here and there. She is very opinionated, which piss me off sometimes. Anyway, just try to accomodate lor, like what pausini does, i also complains to my mum to pour my grievances. Don't really want to complain to my hubby to stress him out.

Vin: Your painter contact is quite good. I might consider when I start my reno. I am busy sourcing for reno contacts now, so afraid to commit into the wrong company, heard so many scary stories.

May: I understand your feeling of a fairy tale princess, I had the feeling too when I first tried the gowns at a bridal studio

just join this forum... i am also a may bride... anyone wedding on weekday? mine on 8 may.....

heard about any comment on orchard parade hotel - club chinois? i had placed a deposit with them but kind of regret... feel like changing but will the deposit is non-refundable...

Hi Vin: Hope u find yr dream wedding bands soon so that u can concentrate on other things. I will be in Segamat when u hv yr wedding in Sheraton. If not, I can get my FH to drive me to Jementa.

Hi Pausini: March shld be ok for photoshoot if yr studio does not need to send the negative overseas for developing. Looking @ the excel sheet, I think I'm the only taking photos in April. To lose weight, dun eat rice or eat less rice (like what May said) & exercise regularly. It's work for me, I've shared with Jan previously.

Hi Meekoo: Welcome! We don't have any 8 May bride yet. Got 3 May & 10 May so you are in between. We have compiled an excel sheet for May Bride, can give me yr email address so that we can include you in the circulation list? Also let us have yr details such as bridal shop, photographer etc.
I've been to Club Chinois twice for wedding dinner. Why are you regretting? The food and service is very good. I dun think the deposit is refundable, u can try to post a message in SB.com to see if any one is willing to take over. I see that a lot of pple do that.

Hi jojok, i did went to the whitelink thread but till now nobody reply me (hmmmmmm...).Do u have any bridal shop in mind that their service n clothing r not bad n most important, they r not too expensive... hahahahaha

Meow...

help look out for these items okie?

see if have nice ones within the price range

if you can lah
but if you busy
it's okie ;)

1> Candle Stands (Less than $10)
2> Candles (Less than $5)
3> Ribbons (Less than $5 for 1 roll)(worth buying if it's nice ;)

Hi Nicloe,

Not sure of the pricing now cos heard some boutiques had increased their pricing after Sep. Based on my last research, if u want package below $4K, u may like to consider Emmanuel B, Dang. Those below $5K includes Silver Cloak (however they may try to work w/i your budget), Blush Blush, Wedding Present, Allure, Flamingo, Inspiration etc... Pricing also depends if your WG & EG are MTM or OTR.

Personally, of all, my preference is Silver Cloak cos the designer is very professional & you have a different feel for her gowns - its really beautiful. My next recommendation wld be Flamingo cos the designer is very friendly & nice. Gowns are nice & feminine touch.

Hope these wld help u in your search...

morning jojok!
how are u??

hi nicloe,
i think those below 4k are shops like jazreel low, J&M, graceful image, milan etc.. but if u decide to add more photos, your costs will increase...

AA,
GCW is ok, not bad, but for my colleague's dinner, their stage was at the glass panel corner & they pulled back the curtains to show the exterior,, but i find a bit odd.. food-wise is ok lor..

Hi oct-bride-to-be

Well,I dun think many people will be going away for holidays cos it's near exam period....

I prefer Oct 22 cos it's a public holiday the next day....any difference in pricing for eve of public holidays??

Btw, have you booked your bridal yet??

Jan: SIL must be very spoilt and has no initative. It is going to be a challenge living with such a person. For long term planning, i think u shld think of getting your own love nest. It is tough living with ILs plus now got a bitchy SIL. It is horrid and you sound like you will be bullied by her.

I think i am very lucky, my hubby got 2 sisters and i get along with them quite well. but then again, i do not live with them if i do, i think also got conflicts.

Yes, dont think too much...enjoy your holiday in Japan. Let us know the good time that you will have there.

SLK: when r u collecting keys? Is yours those 30-storeys new flats that i can see along KJE? Better start doing all your homework now. Me and my hubby are so tired...it is very stressful. because it is your first house, you want to get the best and the nicest...but then budget is a problem so need to really balance out. A good iD company will also help to reduce the stress substantially. I kinda regret not having an ID to help. My friend did the design for my flat and i used a contractor to do the work. It is tough because i need to do alot of homework and research and then advise the contractor what i want. Now, i finally understand why people say reno is nightmare compared to wedding preparations.

Meeko: welcome. why r u regretting chosing Orchard Parade?

Clyne,
Wah! Such a nice picture, not to say the candles. I dun think i can find such beautiful ones as shown Those looks very expensive leh.

Ava,
What ribbons? How thick? I bought one roll very thin, about 1mm and it cost me only $1.40.

hi jojok, silver cloak is new right? i'm still considering whether to pay them a visit or not.

so far, i've visited amanda lee, flamingo and margaret's brides.

will be visiting silhouette, graceful image and silverlining next. followed by federick lee and dang.

allure charix, kai, tan yoong, jawn happy ever after will be visited next yr.

considering whether to visit silver cloak, j&C, j&m. anyone can give any comments?

hi wenn,

what abt the service? talking abt location, it's not really as inconvenient as many tot right?

why do u think it's odd? u mean the exterior or the stage?